Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone has a color display and a QWERTY slider keyboard for easy messaging. The Straight Talk Samsung phone also features access to the mobile web, a 1.3MP camera and video recorder, MP3 player and Bluetooth wireless technology. Your Samsung prepaid cell phone comes with a MicroSD card reader for up to 16GB memory cards, hands-free speaker, voice dialing, voice/sound recorder, auto redial and an alarm clock. This Straight Talk Samsung phone lets you to enter up to 1,000 contacts into its phonebook. The Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone allows for up to 6 hours of use time and 12.5 hours of standby time. Includes a battery, charger and services guide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation82%23 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent phone-great coverage-easy to use

10/12/2012
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone at the local Wal Mart store with the $30 All You Need service plan. I ported my old number and activated the R455C completely on line. The porting and activation process was seamless with no trouble. I initialized the porting/activation process on a Saturday night and the R455c was ready to be activated the next morning. There is information on-line on how to port a number to Straight Talk and this information was very helpful.
The R455C works great. Coverage on the Verizon network is excellent. I have not had any dropouts or static and the audio is crisp and clear. I didn't buy the phone for taking pictures but the camera is easy to operate. The camera zoom works as long as the resolution is not set to maximum and the exposure can be adjusted to compensate for low light. Texting and browsing is easy with the slide out qwerty keyboard. The battery capacity is good for about 4 days with average use. The browser included is ok but I did install the free Opera Mini browser for easier accesss. This was for my personal preference. Some users may find the included browser adequate. I did buy a phone cover to protect if the phone is dropped.
I had been a wireless customer of AT&T for more than 15 years but had became weary of the monthly charge increases and what appeared to be less coverage. With this new phone my service on Straight Talk is much better, the audio is much improved, and my bill has been reduced by half. If you don't need or want a Smart Phone or Android this phone will meet your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Would be a decent phone if it worked as it should

10/04/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have had the phone for 2 weeks now. It works as a phone, but just has a couple of really annoying design flaws. 1. The backlight dims too dim, and randomly won't brighten when I press a button as it should. I have to move the slider to get it to. 2. The Vibrator is virtually useless. Unless you are holding the thing on your skin, you'll never feel it. 3. After the first alert of a message, it doesn't alert you again. Frequently, there's a VM or Text waiting and I had no idea. 4. The SD card is inside, requiring you to open the phone to get at it. 5. The buttons are small, and difficult to press, and the keyboard layout is only fair. The toggle one, in particular, is a little difficult to use. 6. Music quality is fair.
Sound quality is decent. Bought the phone because it's on the Verizon network, and sadly, ST seems to be steering away from that. Coverage has been good, equivalent to my old Contract Verizon phone. The phone does NOT work with the Samsung Kies software
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Marietta, GA
To set message alert frequency
Posted 10/14/2012
To set number of message alerts go to the main menu and select messages, scroll down to 7. Msg settings and select. In Msg settings select 1. General, scroll down to 6. Message Alerts. The choices are once, every 2 minutes, every 15 minutes, or off.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone!!!

10/22/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my R455c! It is a great phone. I've had mine for probably about 7months now and I have never had a problem with it freezing up or anything. I've even accidently lost it out of my sweater pocket into a full tub of water and it didn't even show up any water damage on the phone. Not to manging Ive dropped it on the cement a few times getting out of the van cause I forgot it was on my lap. It still works like new, I would recommend this phone to everyone. I love straight talk!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone
11/06/2012
By ,
richmond, va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good phone so far i only had it for a month but i have 2 friends that have this phone and are very pleased with it. had to order on .com no longer sell this model in store. this phone is a verizon phone
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone
09/09/2012
By ,
Martinsville,Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recomend this product to people that does alot of texting and browsing on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

My 2nd Straight Talk Phone

06/27/2012
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first straight talk phone broke in half (it was 2 years old) so I went looking for a new one. I wanted a NON-smartphone and for it to be CDMA. There's this model and the LG 505C. All of the stores in my area are out of stock on the LG phone so I went with this one. My previous phone was also a Samsung so I figured there wouldn't be much of a learning curve with this one. When transferring my number to this phone, there was a slight hiccup and I had to talk to customer support. Slightly annoying because I only have the one phone so I had to call from my computer. I finally got it working and put in all of my contacts and went to put in my user names and passwords for facebook and gmail, the only two websites I have any desire to access from my phone. Facebook worked flawlessly. Gmail, however, wouldn't work at all. I put in my user name, my password, and clicked "sign in" and nothing happened. I tried from the web menu, and directly entering every possible gmail web address I could find, Gmail.com, mail.google.com/gmail, http and https, so on and so forth. Same results with every address I tried. I tried calling customer support, which we all know is a joke. The first time I called, the lovely gentleman with an accent so thick I could barely understand him, had me clear the cookies, cache, and history but couldn't figure out why it wasn't working so he politely told me to call google to see if they're having an issue with their mobile website. I politely told him to have a nice night and hung up. That's literally the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard from any customer service agent. I talked to two more customer service agents. One told me that since I had activated my phone less than 24 hours ago (it had been like 12 or 13 when I spoke with hiim) that the browser might not be functioning properly yet. The other one told me that if I want to use the internet, I need to get an android phone. I told him that Gmail is a website listed on the Mobile Web Menu and I should therefore be able to use that website. He read another script about my phone functioning properly since I can call/text from it.
Since I can't get the gmail issue resolved, this phone is going back and I'm going to try to get my hands on a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It's Straight Talk's only CDMA smartphone thus far.
At any rate, the hotmail and yahoo mail websites both work on this phone so if you have no interest in using gmail, this phone is fantastic and I'd highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Another option
Posted 07/13/2012
Have your tried going to m.opera.com to download and install Opera Mini to the R455C? Do this and try accessing your gmail using Opera Mini to see if this fixes your issue of not being able to log in.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Does what I need it to do.

03/14/2013
By ,
Hamlet,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't need a smartphone(or a big phone bill).Calls don't drop,texting is fine,feels sturdy.Battery life is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Overall a Solid Feature Phone

10/29/2012
By ,
Mount Pleasant, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone 3 months ago to replace the LG 231C. I wanted a verizon network phone and I was tired of texting with T9. This phone works perfect for what I wanted it to do. The coverage is great and it functions well for what I need it to do. It is Java enabled so you can download Google Maps and Opera Mini. The battery life lasts about 3 days for me with regular use. The phone is a little slippery to hold but I bought a rubberized case from ebay and it makes the phone feel and look awesome. I would buy this phone again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

I don't need an Iphone

01/25/2013
By ,
murfreesboro,tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't text but I am able to do that. I "talk" with my phone and use my bluetooth headsets.I don"t
need an Iphone . This phone does what I need it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great basic phone.

10/29/2012
By ,
Havelock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I needed was a phone I could use to make calls, text, and check my e-mail and this phone works great for that. Would highly recommend if you don't need all the bells and whistles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone
03/14/2013
By ,
Griffin Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is great for the person who is not used to texting. It's simple to use and has great features like a good size querty keyboard and bluetooth compatibility. Since it uses Verizon service, I don't experience dropped calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Amazing

07/19/2012
By ,
Huntingdon, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I barrowed this from my mother on the way to my son's doctors appointment in Hershy. I instantly loved it and asked her about it. I'm not big on aindroids and i love the slide out keyboards. Its easy and has the screen lock button that i need because of my son likeing phones, and its nice and loud when someone calls. The only problems i have with it are the buttons take a lil bit of getting use too, and i cant find the speaker phone if it has one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
rocky mount virginia
phone concern
Posted 11/07/2012
ik about the speaker phone i was wondering if the head phone insert was for regular head phones do you kno if it is? and i was wondering if you can play music and text at the same time
0points
Customer Avatar
rocky mount virginia
i have a concern with the media
Posted 11/02/2012
i want to know if the phone has a regular 3.5 mm earphone hole i really like my music and i wondered if you can play your music and text at the same time my current celluar device is the sch r375
0points
Customer Avatar
Illinois
Posted 10/22/2012
The speaker phone button is rite next to the send button it has a pic of a speaker on the button.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

03/13/2013
By ,
Marion VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this phone it is easy to use and it is my main phone --I have no land line so I need something dependable
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone!

11/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't need a fancy cell phone: I only need a cell phone primarily for calling and sometimes texting. Especially like the clear screen and the slideout QWERTY keyboard. This phone has everything I need, and I've been a StraightTalk customer for over 3.5 years - have always been very pleased with the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Stop before buying this and read

11/01/2012
By ,
Springfield OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you want a phone to make phone calls, this is the phone for you. If you want something to browse or read email, buy something else. I went from an android to this because of CDMA dropped calls continually. Well, I haven't dropped a call yet. So that works great! However, I like to text. I got used to touching one screen and texting someone. I never remember having to hit so many buttons to send one text in my life. I am so tired of trying to find a contact by the time I get to the screen to text someone, I forgot what I wanted to say. What a pain!!! The only easy way I found to text is go to the recent call list then message them. There is no way to change the menu shortcut buttons. I would love to put a text button for one of the shortcuts. No option to do that. This phone is prehistoric to say the least. When will this company put the menu screen for the home screen? Wouldn't that just be one less step someone would have take to message someone? In my opinion, this phone should cost $49.99. It is WAY overpriced for the functions of the phone. I just saw an Android on here for the same price. That makes this price ridiculous. Look at the picture of the phone on the ad. Doesnt this look like the menu would be the home screen? Wouldn't that be easy to do? So why haven't they?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maine
not to start a riot
Posted 11/02/2012
Just want to say, Research before you buy... I don't understand with a basic phone how you think you are going to get too many options... It is a basic phone with a inexpensive talk and text plan!! Thats it... It's not meant to "Surf the Web" Do a google search on the phones next time.. You can find most info you need
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight talk couldn't get phone to work

12/31/2012
By ,
Ridgewood, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't necessarily know if the phone itself is bad, it seemed to be a problem with Straight Talk. They couldn't get the phone to make/receive calls. I even exchanged it and got a replacement in person from a store, instead of online. I had been calling customer service and trying to get them to fix the issue every day for a week with no results. Only randomly did they get it to work one day, and then the next day when they updated something, I lost the ability to make calls again. Then after another few days of continued horrible customer service, they got it to randomly make calls again, and then as soon as I hung up, they sent me a text to update the phone again, and I lost the ability to make calls again. They said they their highest tech support people had no answers. They also kept saying they'd escalate the request, and then nothing would come of it.
I was really disappointed cause I wanted Straight Talk to work out since the $30 plan is a great price for what you get, but if Straight Talk can't seem to figure out how to program phones to work, it's not worth it! I think if you're lucky enough to not have to deal with customer service you may be ok. But from my experience and from other reviews I've read online, their customer service is pretty clueless and hard to deal with and get any results.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

IF U WANT SOMETHING FANCY THIS IS NOT !!

01/20/2013
By ,
SPRING HILL FLORIDA!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BUT ITS ALL I WANTED DOES THE JOB,FOR 80.00 U DONT GET A LOT BUT THESE DAYS THIS PHONES ARE GETTING VERY RARE,RUNS ON HORIZON SO U GET DECENT COVERAGE,AND FOR 30.00 A MONTH U CANT GO WRONG!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone
12/24/2012
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera is 1.3 MP so just ok, the more light you have in your photo the better. I bought this phone cause I'm on a tight budget as is most people these days and I wanted the option to have a phone that takes the $30 and $45 card plan. It is not a good phone to get if your thinking of spending a lot of time on the internet. The buttons on the qwerty text board is a little hard to push but you get use to it. No stroage, so I bought a 4GB sd card for it for just a few $$ so no biggie there. All in All this is a good phone. If you want a phone that does it all then better buy a smart phone , if you want a phone for calls and texting this phone will get the job done.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Ok phone but self destructed after 3 months

10/23/2012
By ,
Covington, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had a Verizon phone and was with them for several years but decided to switch after being charged overages for a few months when I had never been charged before. I got this phone b/c it was the cheapest one available with this keyboard and uses the Verizon towers. I was happy with it other than not being able to program the direction keys from the home screen (I like to have the calculator, calendar, etc. available with just 1 push of a button not have to search thru all the tools and everything). After 3 months of it working fine I exited the internet and the phone cut off. I tried to turn it back on but it just showed the Samsung logo and the load progress. When it would get full it would shut down again, even when plugged up to a charger. I was told it was defective. Even while I was on the phone in the store I was told I had to send it back to get a new one and it had to be the same model, not even one that's the same price. So I'm waiting for it to be delivered. Its been over a week. I'm NOT happy at all right now. The Verizon phone I have is almost 4 years old now and still works (as a calendar/alarm clock since I don't pay for the service anymore). I expected the same from a phone that is very similar.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung R455C Prepaid Cell Phone

Outstanding "Dumb Phone"

05/01/2013
By ,
Eastern, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't need a smart phone, this is the one to get. I bought this phone for my wife and she has really put this phone to the test. The phone works great and its on the Verizon network and it gets great reception.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next