Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Huawei Cell Phones, Ascend II features a 3.5" touch screen for bright and clear web browsing and messaging. A 5MP camera and video recorder built into this Straight Talk cell phone lets you document your life on the go. This pre-paid cell phone runs on the Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor to ensure a fast, intuitive response. Your Straight Talk Huawei Cell Phones, Ascent II also features Bluetooth wireless technology, instant messaging, 3G/WiFi connectivity, access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, MP3 player and FM radio. This Straight Talk cell phone also supports microSD cards up to 32GB and provides a gravity sensor, tilt and shake feature and a phonebook with up to 1,500 entries. Includes Lithium-ion battery, charger, 4GB microSD memory card, activation card, service guide and user manual.
Average Customer Rating:
2.753 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(243 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
41
3 stars
35
2 stars
21
1 star
93
Customer Recommendation47%113 out of 243reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
41
3 stars
35
2 stars
21
1 star
93
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Once I can get it to boot, then it works okay

11/07/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Sorry! App com.android.huawei.keypadprogramming. (process com.android.huawei.keypadprogramming) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again."
I've been 'please trying again' all morning ... eventually the phone will reboot, then I just leave it on. However, the battery 'unexpectedly' ran down last night, so now I have to go through an hour or two of reboot frustration. (And whatever you do, don't press "Force close" ... useless waste of battery power and time.
I'll buy another brand next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

The Phone May Be Good....

07/19/2013
By ,
Leoti, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
But I can't really say. The stupid app on the Walmart site said they were able to be used in my zip code...............I get the dang phones........I ordered 2 of them........and I CAN'T use them in my area. The Straight Talk tech I talked to was extremely rude and not helpful at all and I've been a customer there for several years!!! So now I'm dropping them...........this is the final straw..........and switching to Net10!!!
I think Walmart should remove that handy little app that tells you wrong from they're site and if it remains no one should use it. Take my advice and call the company and ask first............if you can get any help or even a human being to talk to!!! Now I have to return the phones and it's a royal pain to do. So no.............I wouldn't recommend these phones to anyone without checking with the company first to make sure you don't go through what I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

One star review is being generous!

07/18/2013
By ,
Earleville, md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone was junk. Had to be rebooted 3 times in the first day. Green circle appears and you cant even shut the phone off, when you remove battery and reinstall it reappears immediately. Worked great for less than an hour. Returned and got a samsung galaxy centura! Way better phone for a little more money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone
07/18/2013
By ,
wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it is a good phone as far as working. But I was told this phone would work in a certain area code, and it does not. It was a waste of money for me. Useless. It is on Verizon tower and will not work in the area I need. However, in a Verizon area it is a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone

07/17/2013
By ,
georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The service offered with the huawei ascend II didn't work in the area I live in. Therefore I had to return the straight talk huawei ascend II cell phone. I was very disappointed because walmart website stated that the phone would work in the area I live in. The phone is based of of sprint towers and i live in a area based of of verizion towers. I did love the features of the phone and didnt want to take it back, but the main purpose for the phone was not being used.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst phone i ever got.

07/17/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews before purchasing. I have had nothing but problems since i got it the battery only last 5 hours and thats when im not using it. It freezes alot and i do not get service in my house or at my job..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

USELESS!!

07/16/2013
By ,
Anderson, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has a keypad programming error that straight talk is very much aware of but they continue to sell it via Walmart's partnership. The keypad error cannot be resolved! The reps at Straight Talk even indicate it can't be fixed!! Good luck resolving it through Straight Talks customer service, I was to receive an empty box four or more months ago to send this phone back, no box yet! They were just going to replace it with the EXACT same phone, just to have the same programming issue. It is an issue with the phone, not just mine. I know another person who has this phone and she gets the exact same error I get on my phone. If you buy this phone, know you may be without a phone and still pay for service. I have been without my phone for 3 days now. Straight talk's email address is a bad address, so I cannot communicate with them anymore. The only way I can get my phone to work is to reset it back to the original factory settings, losing everything all over again. I just did this yesterday and once again, I have to do it today! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! DON'T BUY ANYTHING EXPENSIVE WITH THEM, THEY OBVIOUSLY DON'T STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS!!! I'd like to say I use this product everyday but I can't, the phone won't allow for it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone
07/16/2013
By ,
Kilgore, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped working after 2 days, had to send back in to Straight Talk. Still waiting for another phone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anderson, IN
good luck
Posted 07/16/2013
they were just to send me a box to send my phone back, that was like 4 months ago, no box, still!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

difficult for a beginner

07/14/2013
By ,
Houma, Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not enough info for beginner like myself to set up and use to the extent the phone is capable of. Wish some directions came with it. Will find the info on a website when I have time to sit at my computer and work it out alone. No one at Walmart available to help either.ATT has people always available and skilled to demonstrate. Other than that I'm pleased with the phone's reception and ease of picture taking and sending.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

THIS PHONE IS HORRIBLE!!!

07/14/2013
By ,
Evansville, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS PHONE IS THE WORST PHONE I HAVE EVER OWNED...IT IS SLOW, I HAVE HAD TO DO A COMPLETE FACTORY RESET AND REBOOT 3 TIMES SINCE I'VE HAD IT WHICH HAS ONLY BEEN A WEEK....IT CONSTANTLY FREEZES AND SHUTS ITSELF OFF....DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible Phone

07/11/2013
By ,
Dartmouth,MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone 3 months ago and have had nothing but problems with. I can get the phone to turn on half the time, the keypad (touch screen) barely works & doesn't take good pics. I bought this phone because it said it would work in my area and I always have service but the phone cant seem to make a call. I will never buy this phone again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

WOW...

07/11/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this phone online 4 months ago. It worked really well for a month. the second month the phone continued to time out the internet browser and froze consistantly... I could live with that so I continued to use the phone. next month the phone got worst and worst. well four days ago it froze and timed out once again and when I tried to turn the phone back on it gave me a loading screen... COME ON!!! I guess I cant complain too much because I paid 54 dollars for it.... you get what you pay for...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

brand new out of the box programming error!

07/11/2013
By ,
Moultrie, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WalMart advertised this phone to work in an area and it didnt. It turned on and come on fine. I turned it off to charge then when I tried to turn it back on to activate it it had a com.android.keypad.etc error on it. A website said to reset the phone you had to do this and this and this but DONT LISTEN TO THE WALMART WEBSITE WHEN THEY SAY IT WORKS IN YOUR AREA!
Straight Talk themselves were no help when it came to the problem with this phone.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible

07/10/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is the worst phone ever after 1 day of having the phone the screen went black it took numberous tries to reset the phone and in 2 days the screen went black again, this should not happen. Worst phone ever!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice phone!

07/07/2013
By ,
Monroe MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for two years, and I love it! I did upgrade the memory card, but it works great and takes very nice pics. Some apps are not available, but I do not know if that is because of the phone or the service, but honestly, it is not a huge concern to me, I dropped my phone, and it broke the glass, so I am getting a new one, I have dropped it so many times before, but this time, it caught the corner of a brick, it is a good phone. It takes a beating and still goes on. It is easy to use, very important for someone that is not really wanting to get a real complicated phone. Perfect size, I do not lose it in my purse, easy to hold, and I can see what is on the screen. You simply cannot go wrong with this phone!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

worthless. don't waste your money

07/06/2013
By ,
Hamilton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone on 4/30/2013 and the only problem I had with it was dropped calls inside my house, which cleared up over time. Still had problems with people not hearing me though I could hear them. But that's not the worst problem I have had with this phone.
This phone has been working fine for the past month and half. Several days ago it started running slow and freezing up on me. I cleaned out any of the app data that built up (as I have done many times in the past), which has always solved the problem. This time, however, when I received a text message and tried opening it, it never would load up. So I tried going back to the home screen and it froze on a black screen and wouldn't do anything. I removed the battery and waited 5 to 10 mins then put the battery back in. This didn't correct the problem either. I keep receiving the error message:
'the application com.android.huawei.keypadprogramming (process com.android.huawei.kepadprogramming) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.'
When I use "force close" (the only button on the screen to press) it just goes a black screen with the green loading circle and never changes from that. Not only that, but it shows that I have no phone service whatsoever. The only way I have been able to correct it is by doing the "wipe data/factory reset" by holding the power and two volume buttons together then selecting that option. I done this the first day it started acting up, and ended up having to do it a totally of 5+ times just that one day alone because every time the phone tried to update the pre-installed google apps it has on it, it kept crashing the exact same way. So, I did the factory reset on it again and then turned off the automatic app updates so that wouldn't happen again, which worked for a few days. I went to look at my phone again just now, which has been working fine all day and it had the symbol at the top of the screen where it had tried to update an up regardless of the fact I had it set up not to, and now my phone is crashed yet again.
I just had the phone back up and running after it crashed this last time, and not even 15mins from getting it running again and straightened out. It crashed again!!!
Save your money and find a better far. If this keeps up I'm switching prepaid phone companies and going back to ATT.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

I have had this phone 4 months.

06/30/2013
By ,
Meadville, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is a waste of your money. Reception is terrible. My wifes cheaper phone has more reception than this HOO HOOEY phone. If you are looking for a camera/ radio then it is ok... I personally would steer away from this phone. I can barely hear incoming calls and hard to hear person you are talking to. Yes I have the volume maxed all the way...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible Phone!

06/27/2013
By ,
Denver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone in late December and within the first month it started randomly closing my internet searches on Google. Then in the fourth month I had it, it shut down on me, then upon rebooting, led me to a black screen with a green loading circle. Not wanting to deal with customer service, I managed to fix this problem by taking the battery out and restarting it while holding down the home key. All was well for about two months, then it did the same thing only this time, I couldn't fix it. So, I called Straight Talk customer service where the lady told me to take the battery out then before turning on, hold down the volume up key and the lock button on top. Then from there I had to completely wipe out all my data on my phone and do a factory reset. Thinking the problem was solved, I was happy. Now, it does this everyday! I hate having to factory reset everyday so I'm investing on another phone! I hate this phone! One of the worst straight talk phones ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone bad advice

06/08/2013
By ,
EDenton, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone was given to me as a mothers day gift; But when I tried to activate it the phone would not work in my area. If you are going to purchase a smart phone to use with the straight talk service please by the phone only from the walmart store. It might be a little bit more but a least you will know it works in your area. Extra advice when purchasing a straight talk phone for your area look a the bottom of the phone you will see cdmv or s or at. This means v stands for Verizon, s for sprint and so on.This lets you know what tower the phone will be working off of. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

WORST PHONE EVER

06/03/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont let these people fool you, this is the worst phone ive ever had. Within 3 days of having it I had problems with it. The screen turned black and wouldnt turn back on. I got it replaced but that didnt help. This phone has constantly hung up on people, i can be on the phone talking to someone and the screen shuts off. It turns off all the time. Ive had to reset it alot. So i would suggest to anyone that wants a good phone they can keep for a few years not to get this one. You will regret it big time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next