Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Huawei Cell Phones, Ascend II features a 3.5" touch screen for bright and clear web browsing and messaging. A 5MP camera and video recorder built into this Straight Talk cell phone lets you document your life on the go. This pre-paid cell phone runs on the Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor to ensure a fast, intuitive response. Your Straight Talk Huawei Cell Phones, Ascent II also features Bluetooth wireless technology, instant messaging, 3G/WiFi connectivity, access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, MP3 player and FM radio. This Straight Talk cell phone also supports microSD cards up to 32GB and provides a gravity sensor, tilt and shake feature and a phonebook with up to 1,500 entries. Includes Lithium-ion battery, charger, 4GB microSD memory card, activation card, service guide and user manual.
Average Customer Rating:
2.753 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(243 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
41
3 stars
35
2 stars
21
1 star
93
Customer Recommendation47%113 out of 243reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
41
3 stars
35
2 stars
21
1 star
93
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

WORSE PHONE EVER!!!

07/11/2012
By ,
Oxford, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS PHONE STINKS!!! Well for starters I was informed this phone was on either Verizon or At&T...well it's on the SPRINT network and I don't like Sprint and don't get any servicewhere I live from Sprint towers. I had no service from PA to NY or from PA to OH and every place in between. The touch screen doesn't work half the time and when the phone rings the volume is all the way up and I still cannot hear it even when it's in the holder handing off my hip with no additional sounds around. The other problem I have is when I am ever on the phone the touch screen seems to work well because it will hang up on the person I'm speaking with and dial someone else for no reason at all. Half the time I cannot even get onto the internet becasue the connection always seems to be lost. PHONE IS NOT WORTH THE PRICE AND STRAIGHT TALK WILL DO NOTHING ABOUT IT.
However, I do like Straight Talk for the most part as long as I can get a phone on the verizon towers since that is the only type of service in my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TN
Alright, but Not great phone!!!
Posted 07/14/2012
Even though I like the phone, because this is my first android; I have had nothing but problems. Now I can not access the internet and lost all my apps I purchased. The phone is only allowing me to make and receive calls. I am so mad right now!!!!!!!!!!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Could be a great phone if Sprint has towers in you

08/29/2012
By ,
Okla City, Oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had 2 of these phones, the 1st one crashed for no reason! The 2nd one worked fine for 6 days then it lost internet conectivity, it could not be brougt back I cleared the phone out and started all over it still didnt work so I returned it. What I have found out about thes Android phones Straight Talk sells thru Wal Mart are on either Sprint or AT&T (Hauwei & Samsung are thru Sprint, ZTE Merit is ther AT&T in my area which is Okla City,Okla) If you dont have a computer to help with the Google acount you may be screwing up. Your Google account is very importaint on the overall working of this phone. This phone worked great the spell checker was great used in texting or emails, the camera took great pic's and it came with a hands free headset (Junk) the 4gig sd card is to small and internal storage is to small. This phone does have an extended warentee that the other Straight Talk androids dont have. People DO NOT buy a ZTE Merit Z990G it's total junk with no warentee period!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible Phone!

06/27/2013
By ,
Denver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone in late December and within the first month it started randomly closing my internet searches on Google. Then in the fourth month I had it, it shut down on me, then upon rebooting, led me to a black screen with a green loading circle. Not wanting to deal with customer service, I managed to fix this problem by taking the battery out and restarting it while holding down the home key. All was well for about two months, then it did the same thing only this time, I couldn't fix it. So, I called Straight Talk customer service where the lady told me to take the battery out then before turning on, hold down the volume up key and the lock button on top. Then from there I had to completely wipe out all my data on my phone and do a factory reset. Thinking the problem was solved, I was happy. Now, it does this everyday! I hate having to factory reset everyday so I'm investing on another phone! I hate this phone! One of the worst straight talk phones ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

BEST PHONE EVER

07/24/2012
By ,
HappyInGA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before I got this phone and I was a bit scared of the outcome. This is the best phone. I have two or three bars in my house but it works just fine and outside it has all the bars. This phone can do everything an Iphone can do without the price!!! I watch YouTube videos, go to Facebook,check my emails and the list goes on. Please don't rely on the other reviews, get the phone and see if it works and if it doesn't simply take it back to your nearest Warlmart. Just make sure to keep it charged because the phone takes alot out of the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+323points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Android For The Price

01/16/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything it's supposed to do. The only cons to this phone are the processor and the fact that it runs off of Sprint towers.
The CPU is 500 MHz....could use a 1 GB. I have a lot of Android Apps installed. Does fine unless I try to run to many at the same time. It does occasionally "bog down" when you over do it on multitasking, but there's usually no need to.
Sprint has pretty poor coverage overall. If you use it mostly in an area that has good Sprint coverage, no problem. When traveling, it seldom drops calls.
Battery life doesn't do as well as it should unless you have a good app to kill those unneeded tasks Android insists on starting up, whether you want them or not. I use Advanced Task Manager and Speed Boost together and get pretty good battery life.
Great GPS....Google Navigation and all the Google Maps features work great. I never have upgraded from the 4GB SD Card and have plenty of room for lots of Android Apps, a lot of Music and cached map data.
WIFI reception is better than most. Auto-connects with any WIFI Hot Spot you have in memory.
There are better Android phones available, but they cost 3 to 4 times as much.
I'm happy with mine, with the exception of it running on Sprint towers. That's because Sprint has poor coverage around my home. Anywhere else, it does fine.
I recommend this phone to anyone who can't afford to spend $200 or more for a phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

You can Watch Youtube Videos!

07/14/2012
By ,
Norfolk,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is nice! The screen is larger than a Samsung in size! If you want an up to date phone that has WIFI and also has a free 4G SD card for extra storage,free hands free headset, the latest Android apps, you can watch YOUTUBE videos! Endless themes from the Google Play Store,custom ringtones from Zedge, Adobe pdf reader, and more for only $45 dollars a month! Everyone will be jealous you have this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+346points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
New Philadelphia, OH
SIM?
Posted 05/02/2013
Does this phone have a SIM card? Does it operate on AT&T towers?
0points
Customer Avatar
?
Posted 04/18/2013
does this phone have a sim card? that comes in and out like att does?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Outstanding!

08/21/2012
By ,
Phoenix, Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, I was nervous after reading the negative reviews. But I have to say this phone surpasses my expectations. I live in Phoenix Az. and the reception and signal is great! What is most impressive, is the battery. I had the LG Optimus Q and the battery would run down and the phone would bake with heat. This phone charges in half the time. The speaker is phenominal and is user friendly. I hope this company comes out with bigger screens!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

I love this phone coming from just a flip phone.

07/08/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is not called Hauwei Ascent II it is Huawei Ascend II their own company messed it up with spelling it wrong. Besides it being wrong on here, it is a great phone for the price. I spent less than $132.00 or so with tax, phone and phone insurance. My other phones have been older phones, and flip phones and this phone seems to have what I wanted and more. Very easy to use, I think anyone can use it being young or older.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+272points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone is terrible or the ST sprint tower.

04/22/2013
By ,
Logandale, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have 3 ST phones 2 are on GSM ATT net wk and one is Verizon Netwk. We needed to upgrade one of our phones currently a GSM. Thought we were getting a GSM phone but this one runs on Sprint towers. This phone is cheap, i dont care for the On/sleep button. it is a bit hard to push. Also on the virtual keyboard the keys are really small making texting difficult and clsoe to impossible for my husband. I cant give the phone much more of a review than that B/C it does not come in at all in my area. ST said it does wk in our zip code. apparently it accesses the Sprint towers and we have almost no service within a 70 mile range. At home it mostly goes to voicemail. Will be switching for a GSM that does have better service. If you are switching to ST do your research on the phone and make sure the carrier will come in where u use it. ALso my other phone with them that is on the Verizon towers looses service all the time and it has no service in parts of AZ/NV that i travel to often.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone!

07/15/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone!! I was thinking of going to another company but when I saw this phone and the price, I decided to give it a try and it was a very smart decision (if I say so myself.. :))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+199points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota
?
Posted 09/24/2012
Make sure this phone works in your area, while the walmart site says it will work in your area, it doesnt always work. I ordered the phone, and when it got here I went to activate it only to find that it is not supported in my area.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Hendersonville, TN
Really cool phone!!
Posted 09/23/2012
My dad has this phone and he is going to get me one very soon. There really isn't anything wrong with it. It has an app store, and you can get a pretty good GPS app on it. Over all, it's a good phone that can do almost anything an iPhone can do.
+4points
Customer Avatar
Westminster Maryland
Straight Talk Hauwei Ascent II Prepaid Cell Phone
Posted 09/13/2012
how do you add air time on the phone if there isnt a button on the phone to do that and how will it tell you when you minute days are up etc?
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone
07/21/2012
By ,
Franklin, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alright so i had been looking at this phone for a while. i checked my zip code on this site to make sure i would have coverage and of course walmart said that i would. so i was very excited to see that my local walmart had this straight talk phone i couldnt believe it because they were out of stock online forever so i purchased the phone a couple of days later i tried to activate it and they told me "the technology of this phone will not work in your area" what sort of technology does this phone have?? lol anyway well i had to take the phone back and everything just dont believe walmart's zip code check because it obviously dont work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+42points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible phone

08/12/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is the absolutely the worst phone I have ever owned. First of all, when turning it on or rebooting, it won't completely load so I have to take the battery out several times before it works, secondly, it freezes alot and acts sporadic at any given time. The battery is downright awful. Huawei should just stop making phones period if this phone reflects their other phones. DON'T WASTE YOU'RE MONEY ON THIS PHONE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Really good phone for the price

08/02/2012
By ,
West Chester, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My friend keeps asking me how much I got this phone for and he won't believe me. XD
He keeps saying how there's no way I could get that phone that cheap!
The only problem I find is that there isn't much space on it (but that just means I need to get a bigger SD card). And that the phone dies pretty quickly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

You get more than you pay for!

07/19/2012
By ,
Douglasville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone because of the screen size and other features that the other phones don't have and this one does for less money. It is a wonderful product for the money! The ONLY problem was the camera. Does not take good pics....but that's it! I live in subs ATL and I have a signal always!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone
08/08/2012
By ,
Torrington, WY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was so excited to get my new phone that I ordered from Wal-Mart. So, I drive 36 miles to my nearest store - pick it up - get it home and activated it. WELL - tried to activate it and well GEE that phone don't work in my zip code. Funny thing was that when I ordered it on the web site it said that it would work in my zip code. I had o problems retuning the phone or getting a refund. But I was sooooo disappoited that it didn't work and I had my heart set on that phone. I think somebody needs to fix something on the web site. Or at least check it out first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+14points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone is bad please read

08/02/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The processor is slow and can't handle multiple web pages.
The battery over heats when using for more than 8 min.
The package is misleading, it says it holds a long charge but doesnt.
I literally have to charge it every three hours for it to stay alive. If you dont ever call anyone or text anyone or go on the web, yes the battery will probably last 12 hours.
But if you want to lead a normal life the battery will last 1 hour.
Other than that... Straight talk is great service but they should find better phones for consumers to buy than this peace.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/27/2012
That's what Standby means.. It will stay with a battery if you're not really using it..
+1point
Customer Avatar
214
Booty....
Posted 08/16/2012
Phone is wack...holds no charge,if u use it. Wifi is wack...im in the city and connection is lost 8 for 10 of the time.
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone....Typical Problems

08/13/2012
By ,
Madison, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is a great phone i had a little problem but after i rebooted it it works perfectly fine. Battery life is typical for any android phone over all i recommend this phone to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Good But Not Great

07/23/2012
By ,
Murfreesboro, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is pretty nice and works well. However, the battery life is pretty short. It will MAYBE last a day. Its short battery life is pretty much due to all these apps that run (google, wi-fi, maps). Some of them you can't turn off so there's really nothing you can do about it using up the battery juice. I get really good reception at my house, but in other places (work, two minutes away) I'm a little worried because I don't even get one bar of service. It seems to go in and out. I'm hoping it's just one area and it will get better. The camera is 5.0 megapixals but the color looks pretty gray... So far I like it though... it has a lot of cool features for a Huawei phone. For texters, it's great! LOVE the swype feature!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone
07/17/2012
By ,
Lewiston, ME
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone its self is very nice the touch screen works good, and has many apps. The only thing is the service, I have seen this problem happen to most the people who have this phone. It runs off Sprint towers, which aren't to good. I liked my old straight talk phone better just for that reason, but overall I love the phone. Just as long as you don't mind a few dropped calls here and there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone

Nothing but problems!

07/26/2012
By ,
Cordele, Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone gets hot then shuts down, not able to turn it back on without putting it in the freezer to cool off. Tried taking it back to Wal-mart the day I bought it and was told this is normal for these phones. Service is also terrible, always dropping calls!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Asheville, NC
Doesn't Walmart always accept returns?
Posted 03/11/2013
I bought a $250 Nexus 7 for my Dad, I asked the electronics clerk and the checkout clerk if I could return it if my Dad couldn't get the hang of it (87th birthday present), both told me I had 15 days to return it.
Addendum - can't get my Dad to put down the tablet, best present I've given him in a long time.
0points
Customer Avatar
Iowa
??
Posted 08/01/2012
Did they atleast let you return it ?
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next