Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

With the Straight Talk Samsung S425G Cell Phone, you can communicate with your family and friends with ease. The Straight Talk Samsung Phone features a color display for easier navigation. This LG Prepaid Cell Phone not only has basic functions such as an alarm clock (with vibration alert) and auto redial, it has all the extras you want, too. The slider QWERTY keyboard of this LG Prepaid Cell Phone lets you keep up with fast messaging. Equipped with mobile web, you can keep up with emails and social media sites on the go. The voice command makes it easy to find any feature on the LG Straight Talk Samsung S425G Cell Phone. With the Samsung Prepaid Phone you get access to the mobile web and an MP3 player and Bluetooth wireless technology. The voice recorder lets you capture your favorite moments of family and friends. This Straight Talk Samsung Phone also includes everything you need to activate: one battery, one charger and a services guide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.634 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation73%30 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 124 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Finally a good phone!

05/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my fourth phone. I had an old Samsung that did not let me know I had voicemails or texts
so I swapped for a new phone. It was too basic so I spent another $25 and got the next one.
It did not even have speed dialing (let alone voice commands) plus it was sometimes fuzzy and not real user friendly. I finally spent some time online and looking at the reviews and found this phone. It is crystal clear and can even pick up on my back porch which has never happened before. It is a little fancier that the picture looks because it has a slide out qwerty keyboard when you turn it sideways the picture goes sideways too. I am SO GLAD that I persisted until I got a good functional phone. My phones did not automatically switch over when I called like it is supposed to work. The way to get a Straightalk person is to go online at Straightalk.com, click on support and contact us. The little box on the right is a live person who if they cannot fix the phone they will give you another number and pin. WAY TOO HARD!!!! (You don't need to login.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really great phone, works very good, looks and feels great. I bought a couple of them to have as spares.
Everything works as it should and phone appears to be very durable and sturdy. It charges very quickly and holds its charge for a long time. It's not a smart phone so don't expect the browser to work like one. The browser is very limited and won't do much, also the phone is not wifi as described.
This really is a very nice feature phone and is perfect to use with the all you need plan. If you don't need a smart phone this feature phone with full keyboard will work great for you. Decent screen size very bright and easy to use.
Price should be lower at Walmart.com since it much lower at Straighttalk.com, if Walmart lowers the price to the Straight talk price they would sell more of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Sorry phone

07/10/2014
By ,
hardesty ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One sorry phone out a lot of money taking it back .This s425g will not work on Verizon towers and very few att towers
one sorry phone will not work on Verizon towers and very few att towers I was out a lot of money on this phone .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone was fantastic!!!

11/13/2013
By ,
Rockford, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the older version of this same phone and operating system and I couldn't be happier. This model lasted me almost 4 years! I was so heart broken when it finally died. The phone has a sliding keyboard which I loved. The phone connects to the internet quickly and only loses signal inside brick / bunker style buildings. If your not into touch screens or you only want to pay for a $30 phone card THIS IS YOUR PHONE. Downside is the occasional drop in coverage in heavy brick buildings, what is considered a sub par camera and no apps. This however didn't bother me. I can't speak highly enough about this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

I am not happy with my phone.

06/23/2013
By ,
LaPorte, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My phone does not give an alert (ring) when I get texts or voice mails. It only rings when I get a call. I took it back to Walmart to the man who sold it to me. He tried it and couldn't get it to ring. He then called Straight Talk and they told him that this model does not have an alert for incoming texts or voice mails. It does have a place to set these alerts, but the straight talk guy assured him that this model does not have that capability! So strange that they would build in a place to set the ring tone, but not add the capability to use it. I also have had no luck checking e-mails or getting on facebook with this phone. It won't accept my password, which is the same one I use on my computer at home. My old, old slide phone had all of these capabilities plus a video camera. I was very disappointed that this phone only has a camera, not video.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice Phone

08/25/2013
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave up the "smart phone" because I was paying for a bunch of stuff I never used. I am happy to be back to dialing with real number buttons and the slide out key board makes texting much easier for me.
Two questions answered after reading a lot of reviews prior to purchase. First this phone DOES alert when a text message is received. And altho product specs say it does have Wi-Fi, it does NOT. That is the reason for the four star rating instead of five. Would be such and easy thing for Samsung to add.
All in all this is a nice phone for the money and has the features I really need. I also love that my phone bill went from $200 a month for 2 phones down to $65!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

unit works, just have difficulty moving contacts

06/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
inserted SD card from previous phone only to find this phone does not seem to know an SD card has been inserted... tried another card as well. would like to have my 250 contacts from the SD card usable. Don't yet have enough experience to know whether to recommend it. Do wish it had more than 9 speed dial numbers available
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Fantastic Phone!!!!

09/11/2012
By ,
Conway
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I am very happy with my Samsung S425G Straight Talk Phone. I wanted a phone that had a slide out keypad and 3G. I am very pleased with my choice. My signal is great and my phone is very easy to use. The browsing is faster than I expected and all the features of the phone are awesome. Pics look great, texting is a snap with the keypad, and I can get my email messages on the go now.
***Here are a few things I found out about Straight Talk that will help you with choosing a phone:
I did a lot of research before purchasing my phone and I found out that straight talk is kinda like "trac phone" basically. Straight Talk is a plan that uses networks like Sprint, AT&T, Verizon, and T-Mobile. The type of straight talk phone you buy determines the network you will be using and there is NO ROAMING. I asked a lot of questions on the Straight Talk website and looked on You-Tube and Facebook and found out that the straight talk phones that end with a "G" use the AT&T network. I had a plan with AT&T and knew that as long as I found a phone that would use their network I would be sure to have signal everywhere I go.
Also keep in mind that Straight Talk phones come with a maufacturers warrantee but this only covers defects that would have occured during construction of the phone. Manufacturers defects. The only place you can get an extended warrantee for drops, humidity, basic usage damage, etc.. is Walmart. I recommend the extended warrantee. Its cheap and it covers accidents and everyday usage damage. After paying for a phone the last thing you want to do is have to buy another one because you dropped the first one in the toilet :)
Make sure you do your homework and find out which networks work best in your area and the areas you travel most then find out what phones use that network through straight talk. These are crucial steps that will assure the best product for you and your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+165points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jemsj4
Posted 10/22/2012
Phones with "G" after the number are either ATT or TMobile. Sometimes on the box is a GSM-A. If the letter is A then it's ATT. IF it's GSM-T it's TMobile. Phones with a "C" after the number are CDMA. CDMA-V will be Verizon, CDMA-S is Sprint.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

perfect for 'old school'

08/02/2012
By ,
19148
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good reception. it is a basic phone with texting,take pics. no apps none of that stuff. for an old school person like me, it is perfect!!! dont need any of that touch screen stuff. i want to make a phone call,answer the phone,text people,take a picture. done. if that is you, believe me you will love this service and phone!!! cool ring tones for free too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone For A Good Price

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone!....keyboard lights up so us blind people can see better.....easy to navigate....has really kool ringtones....im very satisfied with this product....a friend of mine also bought the same phone....and she loves hers also....I would and will recommend this phone to anyone who happens to be in the market for a prepaid phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone

06/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressed with the voice clarity and the volume when listening. Haven't used all the options yet but I'm sure they will be easy to figure. Just a good, basic phone, just what I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for my needs!!!

07/18/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this phone today and successfully transferred my Straight Talk phone number and account to this phone. I have found this phone to be very good for me. The browser is pretty fast and I set up the email to use my Hotmail account.
Camera takes good pictures and I am able to type multipage texts without being stopped at 160 characters. I like that I can put a mini SDCard in without having to take back cover off.
Volume is really good and I hear people on the phone really well. I am glad I bought this to replace the R455C slider phone I had before this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Excelent Phone :)

08/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome! The only thing that would be a problem with it is it doesn't load the internet very fast. Other than that, this phone works great, and is very easy to text with. Its also the same phone as the Samsung evergreen, and you can get phone covers for it which is a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

This model uses AT&T/T-Moble towers.

11/03/2012
By ,
85132
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent coverage, no dropped calls. I have been waiting a long time for this. Also excellent for texting.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not happy. Samsung ruined a great phone.

05/13/2014
By ,
OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the thrid phone generationally speaking of this type from Samsung that I have bought, and changes have been made that I am not happy with. The layout of the keys in the keyboard area has been changed. A bright lime green has been added to some of the characters on the keyboard and are now a distraction. When looking at the calls listed in the Send area, the call you are on expands into a bright blue, seeming to jump around and is a distraction. Some of the keys in the keyboard stick and are hard to press down. The plug for the power cord has been cheapened and it is hard to get the power cord to plug in. They changed the power plug type to the same plug shape that my Plantronics ear bud heeadphones use, but have propriatized the wiring so that I cannot use either my old Samsuung power cords, nor do my ear bud power cords work. I now own tons of power cords that are worthless or only charge the earphones, and only one that will charge the phone - the one it came with. Samsung took a good phone and both cheapened it and stylized it in a manner that made it childish. I don't care for how the phone is arranged in terms of screens (software). WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT! I doubt I will ever buy Samsung again in a phone. I don't trust them anymore.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Bigger screen then my old LG

12/23/2012
By ,
Womelsdorf, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just switched phone service and wanted a phone similar to what I had so this is what I choose. My husband just pointed out that it has a bigger screen and the key pad works a little easier too. One thing I thought it said wifi capable, but its not no biggy I have other devices for that use, but it is bluetooth which I'm trying to get use to as well. So far I'm very happy for what I need to use it for so if you want a phone to use on the internet do to using up data fast this ones not really for that use, but everthing else is great. Thanks ;0)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

easy to use

02/12/2014
By ,
decatur, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this phone the slide out is great and the pictures turn out pretty good. it rings loud and the speaker volume is good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

Real easy to use

07/13/2013
By ,
Montrose, Co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this phone for a few days and I found for a beginner texter, it was easy to use. I live remote and the cell service is not good and this phone tends to roam alot more the my other phone, but the phone is very clear once it finds "home". I also recommend to download the S425G
manual from a web site for the full usage of this phone since the Straighttalk guide is very vague.
Over all I love this phone and it is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

love this phone

02/19/2014
By ,
chatsworth, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use. sturdy and not delicate feeling. very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S425G Prepaid Cell Phone

S425G Prepaid phone

01/10/2014
By ,
Taunton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone so much I actually "downgraded" to get it back. It's AWESOME!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next