Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

With the LG 505C Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone, you can communicate with your family and friends with ease. The Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone features a bright LCD color touchscreen for easy, intuitive navigation. This LG Prepaid Cell Phone not only has basic functions such as an alarm clock and auto redial, it has all the extras you want, too. The slider QWERTY keyboard of this LG Prepaid Cell Phone lets you keep up with fast messaging. Equipped with mobile web access and three home screens, you get customized wireless on the go. The voice command makes it easy to find any feature on the LG 505C Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone. The voice and sound recorder acts as an easy way to make reminders to yourself or record your favorite moments with family and friends. This Straight Talk LG Phone also includes everything you need to activate: one battery, one charger and a services guide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.752 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation79%105 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
09/10/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a great little phone and my first LG (I've always had Samsung). I looked at all the reviews and knew I needed a C model that would work on Verizon networks. This phone was within my budget and is on Verizon so took a chance with it. My first touchscreen so in my opinion, it's decent but scrolling doesn't always take me where I need to go. I wind up in wrong place sometimes because it won't scroll right. I like the keyboard for texting although had to trim thumbnails because keys must be pushed down pretty good. All in all for $82.00 ( including tax and 2-year replacement plan) it was the best deal there. Reception is great and can talk easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 22 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
04/22/2013
By ,
Clayton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone before everyone else switches to Straight Talk to test it out. So far it works great. I get service everywhere I need to, which was a concern since we are right on the Canadian border. I get better service at our camp than I did with my other phone. It was very easy to activate and figure out how to use. Camera takes a decent picture. One thing I have noticed is while texting with the touch screen there is a minor delay in the letters coming up not that big of a deal. Secondly my battery isn't lasting that long. The first time it lasted 5-6 days now it's lasting 1-2 but it could be at half then I wake up and its completely dead, this I will be looking into. I would recommend to anyone looking for a cheaper phone. My fiancé is looking for his phone now to switch. My family members will also be switching in a few months to save some $$!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
greensboro
I WAS happy with this phone when I first got it...
Posted 09/30/2013
but now I want another one that allows me to take pictures and put on FB. I read in one review that you could take a picture and send it to your email and then post it to your fb acct. but after waiting so long to log onto my email from my phone I realized there is not an email option on my phone to send my pictures. I don't want to pay for another phone just so I can post pictures. Somebody please help.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone - Poor Straight Talk Customer Service

10/03/2012
By ,
Rossville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had the LG 505 phone activated for one day but so far am pleased with the phone. But getting it activated and dealing with CS @ Straight Talk is another story! It was so difficult I'm making a point to do this review to let you know what you are in for when you get a S T phone. I tried to activate it online but it wouldn't update an error correction, so I had to call the CS no. and even though I pressed "1" for English, I got someone who spoke another language. After repeating something several times I think I was told, "Ma'am, it is absolutely necessary that you understand me for me to complete this transaction". OK, so I had to keep entering long strings of numbers several times and every problem imaginable cropped up - and after finishing, the phone didn't work. I had to call back and was offered the call back option instead of holding the estimated 20 minutes, so I waited for them to call me back. When I was called back, it was an automated call with a recording that said all csrs were busy and would be with me as soon as one was available. I held on waiting for several more minutes. This is not the end of the nightmare but it's the end of room to write. Many ppl I know could never have made it through the activation process it was so complicated and frustrating. If I have to deal with CS very much I will have to go back to Verizon. Never knew I had it so good there.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Noel, MO
Posted 04/05/2013
I agree completely about the poor customer service! I would even go as far as to say it's the worst customer service I have had to deal with! I've gotten so angry with them i have considered switching companies justbecause of that, but I lookaround and realize it's the best for the money.
0points
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Customer Service - Horrible
Posted 10/05/2012
Agree - CS [customer service] - it is HORRIBLE!
Depends on where you are routed - Philippines is easy to understand but not others.
We had Vz - unless they drop their prices - will "not" go back - ST seems to be fine.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 24 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

basic phone of touch screen,

11/17/2012
By ,
georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only had for two weeks but very happy no problems. phone is a bit small but works well. this is my first touch screen. it responds well.
easy to use. like the fact its only $30.00 a mth.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 25 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone!

03/03/2013
By ,
Houston,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first got the phone I wondered how I would feel about it six months later. Now I know, I like it better with each month that goes by. It's size is great to fit inside my a suit jacket pockets or the inside pocket of my purse. I like all the features this little phone has. It may be small but it is magnificent!! Best small phone I have ever owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 26 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
07/06/2012
By ,
Henderson, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone, Love the touch pad and slide out qwerty keyboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 27 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good, tight little phone..no WIFI capability :-(

12/17/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a tight phone...compact..fits in your hand/pocket easily...touch screen is basic..but gets the job done...HERE IS A WARNING:...go to the ST website FIRST...and see if this phone WORKS in your ZIP CODE.....my other phone got FRIED>>> (Samsung s390g).....in a fit/hurry..I ran up to the WalMart in my zip..got this phone...(assuming..that if it was sold in my zip code..it would WORK in my zip code)..after activating this phone..I only got 1-2 bars of signal strength..I called Tech support..THEN I was TOLD..this phone is NOT compatible in MY ZIP... Sure enough, when I when to the ST website..enter my zip..this DID NOT come up.....
I LOVE everything about this phone..EXCEPT it has no WIFI capability..if it did, then I could have used the WIFI in my house for better strength..
Has a good browser..not the fastest..but if you need it, it will get you to wherever you need to go...everyone that I talked to on this phone said it was good and clear..texting was easy also...weird..but this phone does NOT use SIM cards..has to be activated thru codes/etc. given to you with tech support ...(.use another phone to call them....)
I LOVE actual QWERTY keyboards...this one is not too big or too small..perfect for a girl/woman's hands...also can use the lowest/cheapest monthly plan....because it is NOT a "smart" phone..but like an almost "smart" phone....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 28 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not for internet use!

12/04/2012
By ,
Crossville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Am on the second 505c phone. Both drop the internet, tho the second one stays on a little longer. Cannot use the qwerty keyboard on forums, just the onscreen keyboard, which is a trip in itself!!!
Sound cuts out, but not sure if it is this phone or the other or both. The thing locks every time you turn around. Trying to use the touch screen is a joke as it can randomly take off to the top or bottom, whichever it chooses. Trying to use the touch screen to advance pages on a forum will wear your finger out and I usually can't get it to the right page...not easily anyway. All this is after being told reprogramming will fix the problems...it doesn't!!!
I am sure there are things I haven't remembered, as I have found both phones frustrating, even after finding out the tricks to operating them. The second 505c is slightly better than the first.
Don't intend to keep this phone, but am trying to figure out which one to try next...not a fun thought after this experience.
I wish they still sold the little flip phone I first bought, it was much, much less problematic and better on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 29 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
11/01/2012
By ,
Auburn Hills, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent sound quality, excellent keyboard, screen too small for my eyesight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Try these...
Posted 11/02/2012
I have this phone... I will try to help you - hopefully.
Go into:
Settings
Display Settings
Scroll down to:
Font Settings - [try out different font styles for readability]
Then scroll down to:
Dial Font Size - [change from Normal to Large]
I have found that if I turn the phone sideways - it is much easier to read FaceBook, etc. You might try this.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great

07/09/2012
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phone works great. Love the slide out keyboard. I really like Straight Talk's service. Their CS is pretty good when you can understand what they are saying.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 31 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
08/25/2012
By ,
Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After hours talking to Straighttalk customer service, it appears my phone is defective. I have to send it back and then they will send another. What a pain!! I like the phone but some things were annoying. I would set speaker on, but it wouldn't stay on, kept going off. Also, I would unlock it, but the lock button kept coming on. If I have the same problems with a new phone, I'm returning it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 32 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not a great a phone alot of technical issues

08/16/2012
By ,
PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone about a month and I hate it. It has internet connection issues, the calendar will tell me I have event(s) when I don't! The calibration on the touch screen is way off and I have tried several times to fix it and could not. When trying to touch something the wrong thing will come up, or you will have to touch the icon over and over for it to work. The only thing I like about this phone is the slide out keyboard. I had the samsung touch screen straight talk phone, before and I wish I would have kept it. This phone might be good for someone new to phones, but otherwise I think you will be disapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Posted 08/24/2012
Having SAME issues - 6 more days b4 I can't exchange - need to decide - quick.
Calibration "doesn't" work - first time owning a touchscreen with slider with text & data.
Think phone is a bit heavy - more than my flip one.
QWERTY keyboard is nicer to text than the ABC keys which I keep hitting "send" instead
Always like LG phones but not sure about this one!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
11/26/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is very user friendly and does so much more than I expected. My husband got one too and we both love the!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 34 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
10/12/2012
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price of this phone is it very basic. NOT smart phone quality. For talk and text is is a great phone, for internet, it is annoying, I gave up on the net. I'm going to buy a better smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Posted 10/16/2012
IT IS NOT A SMART PHONE - THEY COST WAY MORE!
Smart phones REQUIRE... $45. cards!
Have had this phone since last of July with $30. cards - it's been great.
NO problems with texts, calls, or data.
PROBLEM could be your area in which you are using phone...
Did you check out your zip code for phones to purchase based on zip?
If not, there's something you could/should check out.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great upgrade

03/27/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the simple $20 straightalk LG 100C phone for a very long time. I decided to finally upgrade to this phone after I saw the good reviews. I wanted a bigger display screen and it's a good price for this type of phone. The slider keyboard is awesome for texting and web browsing. I did not like the idea of having a completely touchscreen phone. The touchscreen works well and has great options and graphics. The downside to this phone is that the battery doesn't last quite as long as other phones, but if you keep it charged overnight it is fine. Also the phone is a little heavy and doesn't seem to get as many reception bars in some areas as my other phone, but it still works just fine everywhere. I would recommend this phone and I am keeping it until I find a better one! Satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
09/23/2013
By ,
Tehachapi, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone is awesome. My husband bought me the phone when my last phone (Motorola) pretty much die after about one month of use. I started playing with the buttons, different screens came up, and it was very easy to use all functions. I love this phone!!! Would recommend this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 37 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Very bad product

05/24/2013
By ,
Delaware, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Granted, I had an Android before this one, so I may be a little bit spoiled...but this even stinks as a regular cellphone. Even with the slide out qwerty keyboard, texting is an annoying task. You need the slide out qwerty to dial a phone number, because the virtual keypad is useless, with the barely functional touchscreen this has. The only good thing I can say about it is that it operates on the verizon network.
Do yourself a favor and, if you can, spend a little more money on your phone. This one was cheap, but I've gotten better ones for free. I don't even use this one anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 38 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

good phone for good price

10/02/2013
By ,
Fort White Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy. Works well. Battery lasts for days, almost a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 39 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Very basic phone

09/01/2012
By ,
Seattle, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a little too basic for my needs now. It is very easy to use and perfect for someone who just wants a basic phone. I find most LG phones are pretty good, and this one is too.... for a beginner touch screen user. The slider keyboard is very easy to use, not too small...a very nice, simple touch screen phone. I returned it for a later model touch screen phone, one I am hoping is a little more up to my speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 40 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

LG 505c

03/08/2013
By ,
gray, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This LG505c is a poorly made phone...........the quality of this phone is unbelievable i had one of those free phones for low income families and it was much more sturdy and could hold up. I do however enjoy a touch screen (limited on what you can do with it though) and a slider in one. I had a droid but i hated the keypad for typing and texting. My final thought on this phone is that it probably will not last even a year, and for that reason I wish i had just bought another smart phone!!!!!!!
P.S. BUYER BEWARE IT HAS BEEN OVER THREE DAYS AND THE WONDERFUL STRAIGHT TALK COMPANY SAID I COULD CONTINUE TO USE MY OLD (straight talk phone) UNTIL MY NEW PHONE HAD MY OLD NUMBER TRANSFERRED TO IT. I HAVE HAD NO PHONE FOR THREE DAYS AND I PLAN TO TAKE THIS ISSUE UP WITH A SUPERVISOR.... :S questions below on the rating are N/A
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
21-40 of 109 total reviews