Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

With the LG 505C Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone, you can communicate with your family and friends with ease. The Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone features a bright LCD color touchscreen for easy, intuitive navigation. This LG Prepaid Cell Phone not only has basic functions such as an alarm clock and auto redial, it has all the extras you want, too. The slider QWERTY keyboard of this LG Prepaid Cell Phone lets you keep up with fast messaging. Equipped with mobile web access and three home screens, you get customized wireless on the go. The voice command makes it easy to find any feature on the LG 505C Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone. The voice and sound recorder acts as an easy way to make reminders to yourself or record your favorite moments with family and friends. This Straight Talk LG Phone also includes everything you need to activate: one battery, one charger and a services guide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.752 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation79%105 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Best Phone Around, Period!

07/17/2012
By ,
Maui, Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the LG 505C for my wife to replace her Samsung R375 which was terrible. The LG is far and away THE BEST CELLPHONE I have ever seen in its design and user friendliness. At first I was surprised at the compactness of the phone and wondered how difficult typing would be, but its keyboard is the best slide out QWERTY of any phone, somehow having larger keys, and with the combination of the touch screen offers a versatility that is unmatched anywhere. I also liked that the opening screen informs you of all your message status (voicemail and text), and that the alternate screens take you directly to your text messages and contacts. Whoever designed this phone knew what the user needed! All this, plus Verizon coverage, too! I took a lot of grief from my wife with the Samsung, but now she's happy, and that says a lot, trust me! I use a Samsung Proclaim, a supposed smartphone, but the LG, which is not a smartphone, makes my phone look like a dumbphone. If you don't need a smartphone, the LG 505C is definitely the smart choice!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+390points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Prattville, AL
Hate it to
Posted 08/23/2012
I hate the R375 as well. Can't wait to replace it. Thanks for the information!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

there are some up's and down's

06/25/2012
By ,
Memmmmmphissssssss
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The up's are that the phone have a nice view on the screen, and easy to text message with the slider keys , and touch screen is pretty good. THe downside to this expensive phone is The browser is kinda slow, and the view with that is small .. so theres not alot you can do regarding the browser ... you can do a status update on your fb but it may take a little while .. and it takes some time to get a good picture to come in on the browser or never .. takes too long to get focus .. all and all if you want a phone that makes calls and tex it is good as the other just cost more . also, the battery life is short . if you like to piece together a puzzle when you not on the phone,, well if you get this phone using the browser is like putting together a puzzle with all the wrong pieces so all text and call fine ,, otherwise nothing else to it ... camera isn't that great either... if you are a camera lover and getting great photos with ease this phone is not good for that either.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+152points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Miami, FL
Hello!
Posted 07/11/2012
Hi, this is Sara with Straight Talk Wireless. If you have any questions or concerns about the product or the service, just copy your blog concern and include it in your email. Please email your info to ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straightalk.com. We are here to assist you.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Best Phone I Ever Owned

07/25/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this device. It's got it all, QUERTY and touchscreen with fast access buttons below the touchscreen; *great* for bypassing menus on the screen, effectively giving you shortcuts to actions. The screen gives you the maximum real estate, while the overall size of the device is compact but not too small for a large hand. I was worried about the keyboard keys being too small for large fingers, but I've had no trouble texting, at all. I was a bit shocked at how fast I adapted to the touchscreen; within minutes, I was sailing thru the menus like I had been doing it for years. It's obvious that this device is the result of some ergonomic evolution. This was a replacement for a T-mobile phone; and boy, it blows the t-mobile stuff out of the water. Before I had trouble with coverage, now with this LG 505C and Straighttalk coverage, I've had just about no problems at all. Previously at home I had spotty reception with T-mobile; with the LG 505C, that's history. Better coverage than I've ever experienced before. All in all, just about the best buying decision I've made so far this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Purchase of LG 800g and LG 505c

08/06/2012
By ,
West Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased two LG 800g's [hubby & son] - after trying for a week, I'll update.
I got LG 505c to have a different carrier - that way we should have service [hopefully] when traveling.
We had Verizon Wireless before and paying just for talk - our bill was as much as we are paying now for talk, text, and some data.
Porting of our numbers was very easy [did on our computer] and very fast - couldn't believe how fast and we did this in the evening hours - in a matter of 15 minutes each.
So far, we are liking the phones but new technology gets complicated - we haven't had texting or data plus touchscreens - wow, what a way to confuse older folks!"
LG 800g runs off of AT&T towers
LG 505c runs off of Verizon towers
Service would depend on the towers in your area - so check it out.
If you're a traveler, you might want to check out "service" in the area where you travel, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Posted 08/16/2012
After owning LG 505c for 17 days now - here's the latest...
Battery life seems to go VERY, VERY fast - need to keep it charged daily or more often.
New to texting - trying to learn where the keys are located, unlike a keyboard.
Haven't tried data - will before card runs out - never had Internet with old Verizon plan.
Amazed on how heavy it is - guess with slide-out - it stands to reason.
My hubby & son love their LG 800g - which we purchased at the same time on $30 cards.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great features! Good price. Overall good purchase.

09/25/2013
By ,
Klamath Falls, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a week and so far I like it. It has been easy to figure out all of the functions and it works well. It is priced well at $70. The features are similar to my husbands LG (straight-talk) smart phone that costed about $150. The quality is slightly less than my husbands phone, but it still a good phone.
Pros: The 3 home screens are VERY useful. LOVE the QWERTY slide-out keyboard (which is partly the reason I bought it). It is very easy to text on! Love how the screen switches directions when the phone is turned for easy viewing. Love having a touch screen.
Cons: The touch screen works pretty well, but is not as sensitive to touch as my husbands LG Smart Phone. It takes a little getting used to, however I am already figuring out the best way to touch it and make it cooperate after only having it a week. The phone is a little small. It fits well in the hand of an average woman, but if you are a man that has bigger hands, the size may bother you.
Over all it is a good purchase. I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

LG 505C slider cell phone using the $30 Plan

11/06/2012
By ,
Southeastern USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves his phone. The service was easy to set up and when I needed to call into the Straight Talk customer service they provided just what I needed to finish the set up.
We ported our numbers from a name brand company and did not have a problem as we were already out of contract.
I got our phones on the Wal Mart website and had them delivered to the store. I got them on "price roll back" so we saved money on the phones and the no shipping charge.
Since my husband just wanted a phone with a key board and did not want a smart phone I got him this one, it runs on the Verizion towers.
We are saving money using Straight Talk and are getting more phone services than we did with the company we switched from.
The only complaint I have is that Wal Mart does not offer any extra accessories for this phone. I found the total screen protector and snap on case at two different sites online.
So far we have found no reason to regret our decision to change service. Straight Talk offers several ways to pay for our service so it fits our needs well. I usually go to WalMart at least once a month or more to shop so it is easy to pick up the service cards and load them into the phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

This is a very good cell phone.

10/19/2012
By ,
Elmira, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased for me as a replacement phone for my anniversary. This Cell phone is a great phone for people who do not wish to have smart phone capabilities. You are able to purchase either a $30 or $45 phone card so you are able to control how much you spend. This phone is easy to use. I have had a week and have had no issues with dropped calls. The camera takes decent pictures. The call quality has been good. This should be a good upgrade to a touch screen phone. It has both a touch screen and a querty slide out for easy texting. I notice the price was reduced by $20 since my husband purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good but Small!!

07/07/2012
By ,
The Swamp, Fl. Go Gators!
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is ok, seems to be pretty good quality so far but dont fool yourself by thinking it's as big as a smart phone. The pic is misleading because its a full screen/touch screen phone. It's actually smaller than my blackberry and I compared it to an old flip phone I had and it was the same size as that too. But I will be keeping it as I'm not a phone junky and pretty easy to please. Overall, I like that I can have phone service for half the price as my old verizon contract service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+134points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
PHONE BEING SMALL
Posted 09/11/2012
Getting a faceplate cover from ebay, especially a "bling" one goes a long way to improving holdability of this phone.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Battery Life

06/29/2012
By ,
indianapolis,in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really like the phone. it has a great battery life, easy way to text. It is not a phone designed to browse, it is better equipped for calls, text messaging and taking pictures, great value. in my area, it is using the verizon network and call quality is awesome compared to sprint and att.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+229points
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

08/14/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
down sized from my LG Optimus Q smart phone, great for phone calls, and messaging, 4 0r 5 day battery life, can't beat $30 month plan, over all good basic phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Why did you downsize from the smartphone?
Posted 10/14/2012
Why did you downsize from the smartphone?
0points
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Battery life - poor on mine!
Posted 08/16/2012
I don't get that many days on my LG 505c for battery life.
Battery goes down VERY VERY fast - need to charge daily for a little bit of use [text just a couple times and down it goes].
Maybe I got a bad battery with mine - sometimes my fingers sting but hubby thinks it's in my mind - maybe not!
Haven't tried the data yet ... just got phone and $30 card the last of July.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Lots of features and easy to use.

11/21/2012
By ,
Hesperia, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the overall design and user friendly features on this phone. The touch screen allows me to access my favorite contacts with just a one touch command. The slide-out keyboard is convenient and assures accuracy when dialing or text. I can create my own ring tones and customize my groups easily. A great phone for the money and I've already purchased one for my wife!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk can't be beat for value.

07/20/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my families third account with Straight Talk and we have been satisfied with the coverage area, phones and value. Straight Talk continues to lead the way for reliable and value in my opinion. This LG 505C is a great touch screen phone. My daughter love the phone size and it has lots of options and is perfect for texting and for social networks. I would recommend Straight Talk to anyone looking to save money on other expensive phone services and I would recommend this phone for the in crowd looking for a cool phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good basic phone

09/14/2012
By ,
Middleburg, Fla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased my LG 505c a few days ago, so far, so good. I believe it runs off Verizon towers so call quality is not too bad. Battery life is above average. I have not been able to connect to the web yet. Message says unavailable when I click the browser icon. This is not a smartphone but good for calls and texting.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

great touch/slider combo

07/13/2012
By ,
La Porte,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the phone is great so far.the camera takes good pictures even though i don't use it as much.the slide out keyboard is easy to use and can get used to it quick.the screen is a bit sensitive but it's not an issue.browser seems to do great with the time i used it.the battery does run out a little quick but also not an issue.the price surprised me as phones with the same features can cost alot more.overall it is the best straight talk phone i have owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
08/11/2012
By ,
Lake City, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had my phone for almost a month and haven't had any problems or issues so I'm happy so far. I do not use the internet much but have been on a few times and it seems to connect without a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Very good economical phone.

11/13/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one because I dropped my other one in water. This is a good phone for the money and does everything I need. What better recommendation than I bought it twice. This phone is cheaper if you buy it online and pick up in the store. You will find that with other phones from Walmart too. The Sales persons are very helpful with setting you up in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
03/21/2013
By ,
Northwest Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As for price this is a great phone. Calls clarity is pretty good, except on the occasion of the "feedback" like talking into a bad mic. You can access Facebook and do posts on your fb acct. but...you can NOT post pics with this phone to a fb acct. I called Straighttalk and was told to contact FB. Fb has not responded at all. So, I called LG and talked to the technical folks there. I was told..."The only way to put pictures on your FB acct to be seen on your LG phone is to do the following: take a picture, send it to an email acct, save from email acct to computer, then save from computer to your FB acct." "This phone does not carry the option to download pictures to any FB acct." I was sooo bummed, that now my phone is for sale on a swap shop! I will be upgrading to a Straighttalk phone like my husbands'...the Samsung Proclaim! It has almost everything I am looking for #minus the real qwerty keyboard...it has the virtual one...grrr#, and...I can post pics from the phone to my FB acct. This is a real great phone for the person that wants to get used to a touchscreen. Hope this helps someone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
07/03/2012
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this phone for the price and thought of all the features as bonuses. IM IN LOVE WITH IT! Favorite phone ive ever owned
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not at all what I wanted

10/05/2012
By ,
Summerville, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this phone for 2 days. This is not the phone that i wanted but when I went to Walmart to get the one i did want they didn't have it so i got this one. The screen is very small. when you go on the internet it distorts the screen a lot-especially with email. It takes forever to get a picture to load. It has great service though for making calls and sending texts. The shutter speed on the camera is quick but it's not great quality. You can't listen to music and do anything else on the phone at the same time. you have to stay on the music player screen to keep listening. I can't get it to stop saying "New message from..." when i get a new text or a phone call. Even if the phone is on silent, it still rings when someone calls me (that has already gotten me in trouble at work) the touch screen is VERY touchy! you can't scroll down just a little bit it's either stay where you are on the screen or go all the way to the bottom. All the pictures from my memory card can't be viewed on this phone so I had no way to view them except on Facebook.
It's going back today and I am going to try out the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Posted 10/09/2012
Sorry that you are/were disappointed with the LG 505c.
I have the same phone [not SMARTphone being the low price and features].
First phone for... touchscreen, texting, and data. Yea!
Takes time to get use to touchscreen - calibrated until it understood my touch.
• Screen... 1 1/2 x 2 7/16
• FaceBook... rather use PC
• Camera... decent being 1.2 MP
• MP3... never used [it's my phone!]
• Ringing... check out your settings
• MicroSC card... haven't used yet - got 16 GB
• Calls... haven't had any dropped
• Texts... with slide out QWERTY or on screen
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG 505C Prepaid Cell Phone
09/10/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a great little phone and my first LG (I've always had Samsung). I looked at all the reviews and knew I needed a C model that would work on Verizon networks. This phone was within my budget and is on Verizon so took a chance with it. My first touchscreen so in my opinion, it's decent but scrolling doesn't always take me where I need to go. I wind up in wrong place sometimes because it won't scroll right. I like the keyboard for texting although had to trim thumbnails because keys must be pushed down pretty good. All in all for $82.00 ( including tax and 2-year replacement plan) it was the best deal there. Reception is great and can talk easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next