Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(284 Reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation60%170 out of 284reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
345 Questions | 561 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great value for the money

09/21/2014
By ,
Kenefic. OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For many years all I would buy was a Razer Cell Phone. It did everything I needed it to do. The screen was bigger than the others on the market, and the keys were larger. I was in love with that phone UNTIL I FOUND THE ZTE MERIT STRAIGHT TALK. The screen is extremely large, the numbers when turned sideway also seems larger. Even I can take super pictures, and texts are easy to write and send. Since first purchasing this ZTE MERIT I have used nothing else. The only thing I changed was the SD card because the 2mb was full and I was trying to install an app but I read a message saying not enough space. I still love my phone. This phone was easier to learn than even the Razer. Would I look for another brand of phone? Not in this lifetime and the next doesn't look any better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Low Internal Memory

08/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone for a while (>12 months), and it has served me well because I do not have any music, photos, videos, or apps on my phone. If you are interested in having those things, do NOT buy this phone. You will just waste your money as there is NO way to get additional internal memory. You can not even delete apps like Twitter, Facebook, Docs to go, Books, etc, even if you do not have any use for them. To make matters worse, these apps will periodically update themselves thereby eating into your memory. You will thus be spending significant amounts of time deleting the updates in order to have some memory to work with. Bottom line is if you want to fully utilize your smartphone by taking advantage of apps, camera, music player etc, DO NOT buy this phone. Find another phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Do not buy this phone

08/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not be lured in by the low price-- this phone isn't even worth that.
Very limited storage, lots of pre-installed apps one does not need but cannot delete to free up space. I am also unable to move the useless apps to SD card.
I will randomly be told that my text message inbox is full when I have 2 or fewer messages, which I must then delete. And restart the phone. And if I'm lucky, I will receive the incoming text that prompted the "text message inbox full" notice several hours later.
Now, after about a year, the touchscreen has randomly failed. I cannot unlock the phone. Two restarts later, it still will not unlock.
If you only want to place calls, this phone may be (barely) adequate for your needs. But anything else is nigh impossible with this poor excuse for a cellphone.
In short, DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

zte merit z990g prepaid cellphone

07/24/2014
By ,
bowling green,ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like everything I see and use on this phone. It elimanated contract monthly fees,a lot of them
I did not need. thanks for a phone suited to my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great. Love it

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get better service with this phone than my old phone. Love it. Everything that I expected and more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, and fast, not for you tech guys.

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could use more internal memory, but love the at&t service for our area.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Better manual would be helpful.

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my phone for about ten days. It is my first touch-screen phone, I have always had a flip-phone. We do have a laptop and a tablet so I am familiar with touch screens and commands. I still have some problems with the phone that I cannot resolve even after reading all the ZTE information and asking for help on the internet. I have yahoo mail and I cannot find a way to screen spam. Both my laptop and tablet do not receive spam but the phone receives about 100 a day. There is nowhere to indicate which emails are spam either. I also cannot find a place on the phone to forward text messages. Phone is easy to carry and sound is reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great smartphone for beginner

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone as a first smartphone for my 2 teenage children, they love it so I love it. The only problem we had so far was the newsfeed on their Facebook would not load. Eveerything else would but not that. Than one day, one of them worked. Don't know what made the difference, but still trying to get the other to work. I may have to break down and call customer service, or research it online. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

junk

06/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can save a lot by buying a basic phone.
Can't download anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not bad, really

05/27/2014
By ,
Roanoke, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is great if you aren't expecting $$$$ iphone quality. The pre-installed apps are a real pain because you can't uninstall them or move them to the SD card. However, it takes great pictures, and looks and works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

constantly restarts itself

05/20/2014
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone constantly restarts itself no matter what im doing, texting, in a call, browsing the web. It even shuts off when im not using it. Waste of my money, point blank.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Cheap!!!

05/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got it for a first phone for my kid. It's pre loaded with a bunch of apps that you don't need and they take up all your memory. So after a few people text the phone it wouldn't let it go threw saying data full. Only a good phone if all your using it for is to call people it will be fine. That part works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Easy to use

04/24/2014
By ,
New York,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, and when something is not understood there is a little andriod figure that explains how to do something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone did not even work in my city.

04/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straighttalk needs to improve on how to know if the phone works in your city.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Merit Z990G

04/14/2014
By ,
Longview, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent yet sturdy phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

it's ok

04/09/2014
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If all you want to do is talk and text, then this is the phone for you. But don't expect much more than that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Average.

04/07/2014
By ,
Friday Harbor
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is average. There is nothing special about it, the camera is pretty good. which is what i really cared about. the only problem i would say i had with this is whenever i try to get on facebook it just shows me a white screen with a status box.. and when i tried to download a game it force closes every 5 minutes or so..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone was great!

03/23/2014
By ,
Duluth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a refurbished phone that was suppose to come with an unlimited phone card through Straight talk. When I picked up my phone at Walmart, there was not a phone card included in the package. I called the manager, and was given a phone card at no cost. Overall I was very satisfied, and would order again using the site to store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Iona cell phone

03/22/2014
By ,
gloster,ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

03/16/2014
By ,
tomahawk wi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
get signal every where thats what i wanted & lots of free apps
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next