Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(280 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
30
1 star
62
Customer Recommendation60%168 out of 280reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
335 Questions | 557 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
30
1 star
62
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great. Love it

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get better service with this phone than my old phone. Love it. Everything that I expected and more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, and fast, not for you tech guys.

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could use more internal memory, but love the at&t service for our area.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Better manual would be helpful.

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my phone for about ten days. It is my first touch-screen phone, I have always had a flip-phone. We do have a laptop and a tablet so I am familiar with touch screens and commands. I still have some problems with the phone that I cannot resolve even after reading all the ZTE information and asking for help on the internet. I have yahoo mail and I cannot find a way to screen spam. Both my laptop and tablet do not receive spam but the phone receives about 100 a day. There is nowhere to indicate which emails are spam either. I also cannot find a place on the phone to forward text messages. Phone is easy to carry and sound is reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great smartphone for beginner

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone as a first smartphone for my 2 teenage children, they love it so I love it. The only problem we had so far was the newsfeed on their Facebook would not load. Eveerything else would but not that. Than one day, one of them worked. Don't know what made the difference, but still trying to get the other to work. I may have to break down and call customer service, or research it online. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

junk

06/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can save a lot by buying a basic phone.
Can't download anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not bad, really

05/27/2014
By ,
Roanoke, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is great if you aren't expecting $$$$ iphone quality. The pre-installed apps are a real pain because you can't uninstall them or move them to the SD card. However, it takes great pictures, and looks and works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

constantly restarts itself

05/20/2014
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone constantly restarts itself no matter what im doing, texting, in a call, browsing the web. It even shuts off when im not using it. Waste of my money, point blank.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Cheap!!!

05/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got it for a first phone for my kid. It's pre loaded with a bunch of apps that you don't need and they take up all your memory. So after a few people text the phone it wouldn't let it go threw saying data full. Only a good phone if all your using it for is to call people it will be fine. That part works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Easy to use

04/24/2014
By ,
New York,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, and when something is not understood there is a little andriod figure that explains how to do something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone did not even work in my city.

04/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straighttalk needs to improve on how to know if the phone works in your city.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Merit Z990G

04/14/2014
By ,
Longview, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent yet sturdy phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

it's ok

04/09/2014
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If all you want to do is talk and text, then this is the phone for you. But don't expect much more than that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Average.

04/07/2014
By ,
Friday Harbor
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is average. There is nothing special about it, the camera is pretty good. which is what i really cared about. the only problem i would say i had with this is whenever i try to get on facebook it just shows me a white screen with a status box.. and when i tried to download a game it force closes every 5 minutes or so..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone was great!

03/23/2014
By ,
Duluth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a refurbished phone that was suppose to come with an unlimited phone card through Straight talk. When I picked up my phone at Walmart, there was not a phone card included in the package. I called the manager, and was given a phone card at no cost. Overall I was very satisfied, and would order again using the site to store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Iona cell phone

03/22/2014
By ,
gloster,ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

03/16/2014
By ,
tomahawk wi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
get signal every where thats what i wanted & lots of free apps
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone

03/09/2014
By ,
Morehead City, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this phone. The only thing that keeps me from giving it 5 stars is the small internal memory. I was, however able to download the apps I needed but not all I would like. Can't beat this phone for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

this phone not worth the cost of it

02/23/2014
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had trouble with this phone from the start. Sent it back to company, seemed better but continues to act up. I have had it for 14 months now. I have straight talk plan. I can't clean screen with lens cleaner or wipe with a cloth. Texting goes crazy after cleaning screen, can't compose text even after taking the battery out. Can't download any games. I put in more memory, can't say it's worth the cost of doing so. Phone works ok otherwise. Knowing what I do now ZTE is not as good as a brand like Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Review too soon to make a valued rating

01/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did have difficulties activating my phone online, but was able to complete the process by calling customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Beware! Internal storage is ONLY 160MB!

01/16/2014
By ,
West Union, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pro: Good phone if you do not wish to install apps. Great for phone calling, texting, social networking.
Con: Very low internal storage of 160MB. This is only < 20% of a Gig. If you download any apps do not get anything higher then 10MB or your storage will be low and you will need to dump the apps. Bloatware on the phone cannot be deleted. SOME downloaded apps can be moved to the sd card but that is fruitless because those same apps will take up space on the internal storage so having a sd card is useless.
There are MANY MANY complaints of this phone on the straighttalk forums. In the Samsung forum every inquiry has a mysterious canned request from straighttalk to take the privately with them thru email.
The other thing I had noticed and did my own research on straightalk that the phones that are listed only the iPad phones list their internal storage on the website. All the other phones that they offer DO NOT list the internal storage space. Wished I known this before I purchased it from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
30179
Posted 05/25/2014
I want to end my service with Verizon, because of using a lot of data staying on Face Book. On the unlimited Straight talk Plan, is the data unlimited?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 260 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next