Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(284 Reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation60%170 out of 284reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
346 Questions | 564 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone but...

03/04/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have used this phone now for about 3 months. It's a great phone if all you need is a phone. If you want to use it for more than that you will have 2 main problems. First, there is so much bloat-ware that when it all updates there isn't any room on the phone to install programs from the Android Market. I have called ZTE directly for tech support and all 3 times I spoke with people who gave me "solutions" that don't actually work. What I discovered is that the only way to fix this issue is to root the phone and delete some of the system programs. Second, the keyboard works both in verticle and landscape mode but if you use it in landscape mode there isn't enough room left on the screen to see what you are typing. So, technically it works but not very well. I don't know how to root it so I finally gave up and went back to a Samsung Smart phone. Last product I will buy from ZTE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
florida
KTBB123
Posted 03/05/2013
i would suggest not to root the phone.My friend had done rooting and in few weeks he started facing many issues with the phone.I heard that when you root the phone,it would not have the warranty.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 42 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

It is a good smart phone

07/08/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good smart phone, phone doesn't have much mermory so i would upgrade to a bigger sd card. It is my first smart phone, the service is great it is with at&t no drop calls, the last phone i had it would drop call all the time it was with a different carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!

01/24/2013
By ,
Bishopville,SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this phone for a few weeks. It is my first smartphone. Thinking on switching back to a regular phone. Battery life is terrible. Cannot share other peoples picture on my wall on facebook. Another thing is that the memory on this phone is terrible. After downloading a few apps, it said that memory is low so i had to delete some of the apps that i have downloaded. The only good thing about the phone is the reception that i get through at&t.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone
07/09/2012
By ,
nowhere, nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great phone. Its kind of hard to figure out all of the things it can do but its a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible battery and email does not sync

06/19/2012
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The camera on this phone is great, as is the easy-to-use text messaging. However, if you want to connect Hotmail, good luck...it doesn't sync up properly, so if you delete a message on your phone, it will not delete from your Hotmail inbox. The battery life on this phone is horrendous. This morning, I made one phone call for six minutes on a fully charged battery and when I was done, the phone beeped saying that there was only 5% battery left! Last night, I went into the store with a 21% battery life left, did not even use the phone, and 35 minutes later, came out to a 3% battery life. This phone is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Hmm... Interesting.
Posted 08/31/2012
You say that you made a six minute call on a fully charged battery and after the call you had very little battery life left? Sounds like you got a bad battery when you bought your phone. Either that or you didn't handle it properly and didn't bother charging the phone the first time before using it. Now if you had taken the phone back and gotten another one with a different battery, you would probably have much better results.
It sounds to me like you just left a bad review without checking to see if the battery was at fault. Since you didn't bother to do this, your review really doesn't hold it's validity.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 46 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

terrible phone!

12/10/2012
By ,
Punta Gorda FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is the worst! The battery will not hold a charge, and texting is a nightmare.
I have had the phone less than 90 days and the verbal texting option is already broken, claiming it 'can't connect' while sending other texts. There was nothing in the manual about how to adjust the verbal text option to one's own voice, when it did work.
Now, the nearly merit-less 'merit' has begun editing typed texts without my permission.
It violated my freedom of expression, by substituting "darn" for a stronger one (while I was describing the phone, of course) and put the word "double" in place of "download," twice, just to name a few examples.
There have been misunderstandings with loved ones, as a result of these shennanigans.
Having to drag an "unlock" button across the screen to answer calls, means I am constantly missing them, as the feature does not always work. And, forget setting your phone to voice command, so you can use it in the car, unless I missed some way to answer said phone without the drag-across unlock button.
The manual is only minimally helpful, so don't count on looking the problem up, unless you can get online, every time you want to adjust something, to read the complete manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Worthless

02/04/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone last June and for the first month, I loved it. Then I started having space issues, so I bought an SD card. But that didn't solve problems because the phone comes with preinstalled things that you cannot move to the SD card or delete, even if you don't use them. By September the phone started to occasionally turn itself off and then back on again. By occasionally I mean sometimes once a week and sometimes 3 times in an hour. The space continued to be an issue and limits the use of the internet, the whole reason I got a smart phone. Once the phone runs out of space it shuts down all of the programs until you go and delete everything you can to make room. Tonight on my way home from work the screen went completely black, the buttons at the bottom of the screen would light up but not the screen itself. I was not able to turn it off or back on. When I got home I was able to remove the battery and when I put it back in the phone started to work again. Hopefully it will last long enough for me to find a reliable replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
brookyln,NY
Posted 04/30/2013
Even I use lot of apps on my phone and as the result of it, the phone started to display low memory space, then I backed up the data and after master reset the phone and my phone works fine!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 48 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice phone for the price

07/28/2012
By ,
San Diego, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an Android, you can get apps from Google Play Store. It will not take Flash Player, so watching TV or anything that takes Flash Player is a no go. You can watch some TV apps and You Tube. Great for you if you want an Android and don't need Movies or TV. Haven't been able to go to Itunes. I love the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Grandson Is very Happy with this Phone

07/22/2012
By ,
sedan, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for high school age grandson . he says he is very happy with it and it does all the things he wants it to do. It would have been nice if I had bought it a little earlier when it was $99 instead of the $129 I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Just ok

06/26/2012
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had this phone for a few months. Purchased the AT&T version and the straight talk sim card. AT&T service was very good in my area. The phone was decent but had issues. The internal memory is very small making it hard to download aps. The phone lagged a bit too. It did freeze a few times too. Just upgraded to the Samsung galaxy proclaim which runs on Verizon and for me it's like night and day. Phone itself is so much faster! It has tons of space for aps. I find it a lot better.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boonton, NJ
Thanks for your review
Posted 09/06/2012
I have to thank you for your candid review of the Merit Z990G. I am also considering the Samsung Galaxy, and I think you just helped me make up my mind.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Reliable Android phone!

09/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant about purchasing this phone at first due to the inconsistent reviews however I took a chance and must admit that I am very satisfied with this phone. The wifi and 3g connections are consistently solid. YouTube and Pandora load quickly when connected via 3g as well as Web browsing. I have had this phone for two Weeks. I will update my review if I find any issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good bang for the buck

10/26/2012
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoy this phone... AT&T service via ST is very good. Phone is easy to use, screen is large enough to see what you are doing and be able to type on simulated Qwerty keyboard. Of course you have all the Android apps and the internal memory is decent for the price. I had the ST Optimus Zip and was not able to get Verizon coverage in some areas, so switched to this phone. I think this phone is MUCH better IMHO. The screen is larger, print and graphics appear sharper, and the touch screen is much more responsive on the Merit. For the difference in price, and unless you need a slide-out keyboard, I would advise to get the Merit. The voice quality on this Merit is a bit variable, but still o.k. Use a credit card (most have this feature) and double the warranty to 2 years! (Don't need the extended warranty). This was a great buy for only $129 bucks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Decent phone for the price.

07/10/2013
By ,
Watertown, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With this phone it's you get what you pay for. If your not going to fork out a couple hundred on a phone and your in a budget of 100 or less for a phone. This is the perfect choice. This phone has everything I personally needed in it; talk, text, facebook, youtube, web surfing, and downloadable apps. I've never had functioning problems with the phone yet and I've owned it for over a year now. The only issues I've had with the phone is the low on storage space. Which I get maybe once every three weeks. All you simply do is delete some text messages, and clear the data on your internal apps, such as facebook and youtube. This phone is based off 3G network so it works the majority of the time on that when wifi isn't available. Overall, it is not a bad phone. I might upgrade in the future, but for now and the price it was a perfect purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone!

11/07/2012
By ,
Cambridge, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 13, and I use this device everyday. Great price and Value. The only problem is the memory. It is hardly even enough to install 3-5 applications (30 MB) and when I shut my phone off and back on, every application installed on the Micro-SD gets erased, then I have to re-install it through the App store. The charging jack gets messed up after a while, so you have to be careful charging it. On a standard use, the battery lasts a full day or two. 5 MP camera is great quality, the external speaker is pretty loud, so need to get headphones, and it's pretty much damage-proof. I've dropped this multiple times, and still no damage! Internet browsing is fast, and It's the best phone I've ever had. I would recommend this device to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Does everything I wanted to be able to do.

08/02/2012
By ,
St. Albans, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never owned a smartphone before. After talking with friends and family, I determined this phone would allow me to do everything I wanted and needed to do. I'm very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone was great!

03/23/2014
By ,
Duluth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a refurbished phone that was suppose to come with an unlimited phone card through Straight talk. When I picked up my phone at Walmart, there was not a phone card included in the package. I called the manager, and was given a phone card at no cost. Overall I was very satisfied, and would order again using the site to store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

08/21/2012
By ,
Queensbury New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone! I know everything there is to know, and use every function available on this phone. Was considering iPhone 4s, but found this droid smart phone for a fraction of the monthly cost. Great camera, and big screen. Only a few minor quirks, one being that it has a very sensitive screen. Screen protectors are highly advised. Also, extremely small storage space. But both issues can be fixed at a very low amount of money. Love the phone, I use it all day, everyday. Would strongly reccomend to even the most advanced techies!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

very happy with purchase

07/17/2012
By ,
Andrews Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have minor trouble with call reception but living in the
country, this is often a problem. Great features, wonderful
camera abilities and video as well.
I'm not terribly good with technology and this was fairly easy
for me to learn...I'm buying another for my daughter. Texting
features are grand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Overall Good

07/15/2012
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ONLY issue I have with this phone is that sometimes the CPU gets bogged down and lags a little.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

FORCES CLOSE And Has NO memory.

07/01/2013
By ,
Tyler, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first month or so that I had this phone it worked okay.... But then it began to forces close. It got to the point to where I could not even call anybody because the App to call was always forcing closed. What the point of a smartphone if you can't look at the Apps that you want to? The phone had absolutely no memory! I can not download the apps that want because of this. The Camera quality is very bad, and does not have a front camera... The battery life is pretty much non existent. I could have it fully charged then an hour or so later of just listening to music it is dead. The phone screen very easily cracks; I dropped it once on carpet and the whole screen is busted now. Now pay in mind I dropped it very recently, and all this stuff happened before I dropped it so that is not the reason for it messing up. I have had this phone for about 2 years now, and I am finally moving on to a new phone. I will still be staying with Straight Talk because I like their service, just not this phone. Looking forward to my new LG Optimus Showtime by Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 264 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next