Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.29 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 262
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation60%169 out of 283reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
338 Questions | 558 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

AWFUL!

11/30/2012
By ,
Norton, MA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the worst phone I have ever purchased through straight talk. only 512 mb internal memory, good luck trying to download apps, there is never any room for apps., even for updating. Check your ATT coverage map before buying, I did not get a signal even though the map said I did. there is no speech to text, spend the extra 50 bucks and get the samsung galaxy proclaim instead, its on the verizon network, has everything. this phone is just plain useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone for texting

07/20/2012
By ,
hudson new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone is excellent i can control good its the best phone i ever had :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone
07/29/2012
By ,
Mineola, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst phone I have ever had. I'm on my 2nd and my husband is on his 3rd. They over heat and stop charging. Storage fills up even if you haven't added anything. It stops excepting txt messages b/c it is full even when there are no txt messages. I DO NOT recommend this phone for anything except the signal is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Ohio
ZTE MERIT Z990G
Posted 08/23/2012
This is the worst phone ever! I purchased a 32GB storage card for this phone and it still fills up quickly. Cannot download apps because not enough memory. Don't waste your money. I should have paid the extra and bought the Galaxy!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone
10/11/2012
By ,
endicott, n.y.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am in my 50s so I wasn't sure I would like a touch phone. But my kids have helped me use this phone. And I love it. Thank u straight talk!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great smartphone for beginner

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone as a first smartphone for my 2 teenage children, they love it so I love it. The only problem we had so far was the newsfeed on their Facebook would not load. Eveerything else would but not that. Than one day, one of them worked. Don't know what made the difference, but still trying to get the other to work. I may have to break down and call customer service, or research it online. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

NEVER BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!

11/19/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have had this phone for less than 2 months. it's shuts off on it's own. every single app on it crashes even the phone calls crash if that's even possible. i installed an app tonight and had to restart it cause everything had crashed again and it showed that i never installed the app but the app store showed that it was installed. battery is horrible. pixels are going bad left and right. sound quality is horrible. touch responsiveness has almost completely left the phone. every part of the phone lags. way too little internal space and ram. processor is as slow as can be. i have had a lot of phones and i can honestly say this is by far the worse phone i have ever had. only reason it gets 1 star is because i HAVE to put at least 1 star to right a review. i honestly think it doesn't even deserve 0 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone but...

03/04/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have used this phone now for about 3 months. It's a great phone if all you need is a phone. If you want to use it for more than that you will have 2 main problems. First, there is so much bloat-ware that when it all updates there isn't any room on the phone to install programs from the Android Market. I have called ZTE directly for tech support and all 3 times I spoke with people who gave me "solutions" that don't actually work. What I discovered is that the only way to fix this issue is to root the phone and delete some of the system programs. Second, the keyboard works both in verticle and landscape mode but if you use it in landscape mode there isn't enough room left on the screen to see what you are typing. So, technically it works but not very well. I don't know how to root it so I finally gave up and went back to a Samsung Smart phone. Last product I will buy from ZTE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
florida
KTBB123
Posted 03/05/2013
i would suggest not to root the phone.My friend had done rooting and in few weeks he started facing many issues with the phone.I heard that when you root the phone,it would not have the warranty.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 48 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very pleased with this phone

09/15/2012
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone has everything I need and I'm happy with the purchase. The sound quality is excellent and, after owning for a month, I've yet to drop a call. Camera is great and the sound (w/o headphones) playing MP3s is actually better than my iPod Touch.
It took me some time to realize I had to turn off the wireless before the phone "fell asleep". If I allowed that to happen, the phone would hang on getting data. The phone has little quirks that are easy to figure out.
So far, I've run into no problems with memory, but I am disappointed I can't unload the bloatware the phone came with. To avoid internal memory issues, I move each app I download to the SD card in Settings under 'Manage Applications'. I still have a tiny bit of space, but I plan to purchase new SD card soon.
I can definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

It is a good smart phone

07/08/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good smart phone, phone doesn't have much mermory so i would upgrade to a bigger sd card. It is my first smart phone, the service is great it is with at&t no drop calls, the last phone i had it would drop call all the time it was with a different carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Easy to use

04/24/2014
By ,
New York,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, and when something is not understood there is a little andriod figure that explains how to do something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!

01/24/2013
By ,
Bishopville,SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this phone for a few weeks. It is my first smartphone. Thinking on switching back to a regular phone. Battery life is terrible. Cannot share other peoples picture on my wall on facebook. Another thing is that the memory on this phone is terrible. After downloading a few apps, it said that memory is low so i had to delete some of the apps that i have downloaded. The only good thing about the phone is the reception that i get through at&t.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone
07/09/2012
By ,
nowhere, nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great phone. Its kind of hard to figure out all of the things it can do but its a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible battery and email does not sync

06/19/2012
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The camera on this phone is great, as is the easy-to-use text messaging. However, if you want to connect Hotmail, good luck...it doesn't sync up properly, so if you delete a message on your phone, it will not delete from your Hotmail inbox. The battery life on this phone is horrendous. This morning, I made one phone call for six minutes on a fully charged battery and when I was done, the phone beeped saying that there was only 5% battery left! Last night, I went into the store with a 21% battery life left, did not even use the phone, and 35 minutes later, came out to a 3% battery life. This phone is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Hmm... Interesting.
Posted 08/31/2012
You say that you made a six minute call on a fully charged battery and after the call you had very little battery life left? Sounds like you got a bad battery when you bought your phone. Either that or you didn't handle it properly and didn't bother charging the phone the first time before using it. Now if you had taken the phone back and gotten another one with a different battery, you would probably have much better results.
It sounds to me like you just left a bad review without checking to see if the battery was at fault. Since you didn't bother to do this, your review really doesn't hold it's validity.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 54 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Worthless

02/04/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone last June and for the first month, I loved it. Then I started having space issues, so I bought an SD card. But that didn't solve problems because the phone comes with preinstalled things that you cannot move to the SD card or delete, even if you don't use them. By September the phone started to occasionally turn itself off and then back on again. By occasionally I mean sometimes once a week and sometimes 3 times in an hour. The space continued to be an issue and limits the use of the internet, the whole reason I got a smart phone. Once the phone runs out of space it shuts down all of the programs until you go and delete everything you can to make room. Tonight on my way home from work the screen went completely black, the buttons at the bottom of the screen would light up but not the screen itself. I was not able to turn it off or back on. When I got home I was able to remove the battery and when I put it back in the phone started to work again. Hopefully it will last long enough for me to find a reliable replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
brookyln,NY
Posted 04/30/2013
Even I use lot of apps on my phone and as the result of it, the phone started to display low memory space, then I backed up the data and after master reset the phone and my phone works fine!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 55 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

terrible phone!

12/10/2012
By ,
Punta Gorda FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is the worst! The battery will not hold a charge, and texting is a nightmare.
I have had the phone less than 90 days and the verbal texting option is already broken, claiming it 'can't connect' while sending other texts. There was nothing in the manual about how to adjust the verbal text option to one's own voice, when it did work.
Now, the nearly merit-less 'merit' has begun editing typed texts without my permission.
It violated my freedom of expression, by substituting "darn" for a stronger one (while I was describing the phone, of course) and put the word "double" in place of "download," twice, just to name a few examples.
There have been misunderstandings with loved ones, as a result of these shennanigans.
Having to drag an "unlock" button across the screen to answer calls, means I am constantly missing them, as the feature does not always work. And, forget setting your phone to voice command, so you can use it in the car, unless I missed some way to answer said phone without the drag-across unlock button.
The manual is only minimally helpful, so don't count on looking the problem up, unless you can get online, every time you want to adjust something, to read the complete manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice phone for the price

07/28/2012
By ,
San Diego, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an Android, you can get apps from Google Play Store. It will not take Flash Player, so watching TV or anything that takes Flash Player is a no go. You can watch some TV apps and You Tube. Great for you if you want an Android and don't need Movies or TV. Haven't been able to go to Itunes. I love the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Grandson Is very Happy with this Phone

07/22/2012
By ,
sedan, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for high school age grandson . he says he is very happy with it and it does all the things he wants it to do. It would have been nice if I had bought it a little earlier when it was $99 instead of the $129 I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Decent phone for the price.

07/10/2013
By ,
Watertown, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With this phone it's you get what you pay for. If your not going to fork out a couple hundred on a phone and your in a budget of 100 or less for a phone. This is the perfect choice. This phone has everything I personally needed in it; talk, text, facebook, youtube, web surfing, and downloadable apps. I've never had functioning problems with the phone yet and I've owned it for over a year now. The only issues I've had with the phone is the low on storage space. Which I get maybe once every three weeks. All you simply do is delete some text messages, and clear the data on your internal apps, such as facebook and youtube. This phone is based off 3G network so it works the majority of the time on that when wifi isn't available. Overall, it is not a bad phone. I might upgrade in the future, but for now and the price it was a perfect purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Merit Z990G

04/14/2014
By ,
Longview, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent yet sturdy phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

it's ok

04/09/2014
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If all you want to do is talk and text, then this is the phone for you. But don't expect much more than that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 263 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next