Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.29 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 262
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation60%169 out of 283reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
338 Questions | 558 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

this phone not worth the cost of it

02/23/2014
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had trouble with this phone from the start. Sent it back to company, seemed better but continues to act up. I have had it for 14 months now. I have straight talk plan. I can't clean screen with lens cleaner or wipe with a cloth. Texting goes crazy after cleaning screen, can't compose text even after taking the battery out. Can't download any games. I put in more memory, can't say it's worth the cost of doing so. Phone works ok otherwise. Knowing what I do now ZTE is not as good as a brand like Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Review too soon to make a valued rating

01/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did have difficulties activating my phone online, but was able to complete the process by calling customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Beware! Internal storage is ONLY 160MB!

01/16/2014
By ,
West Union, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pro: Good phone if you do not wish to install apps. Great for phone calling, texting, social networking.
Con: Very low internal storage of 160MB. This is only < 20% of a Gig. If you download any apps do not get anything higher then 10MB or your storage will be low and you will need to dump the apps. Bloatware on the phone cannot be deleted. SOME downloaded apps can be moved to the sd card but that is fruitless because those same apps will take up space on the internal storage so having a sd card is useless.
There are MANY MANY complaints of this phone on the straighttalk forums. In the Samsung forum every inquiry has a mysterious canned request from straighttalk to take the privately with them thru email.
The other thing I had noticed and did my own research on straightalk that the phones that are listed only the iPad phones list their internal storage on the website. All the other phones that they offer DO NOT list the internal storage space. Wished I known this before I purchased it from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
30179
Posted 05/25/2014
I want to end my service with Verizon, because of using a lot of data staying on Face Book. On the unlimited Straight talk Plan, is the data unlimited?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Disapointed

01/14/2014
By ,
Excelsior Springs, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not like this phone. I have had nothing but trouble. I am on phone #3. i checked lots of things out and it said it was a good phone. Well both phones just gave out on me. Service is no good. No memory. The list just goes on. I am very unsatisfied. Will not be getting this phone ever again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Has never failed to work

12/21/2013
By ,
Bella Vista, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had my ZTE Z990G phone for 2 years now. It was my first smart phone and still the only one I have. Takes great photos/videos and sends them easily. Verbal test messages work great too.
Does not voice dial but I can live with that. Small enough to fit in my pants front pocket but large enough to finger text easily. ATT sales people just smile and say, "There is not way we can compete with the price of Straight Talk". Plenty of storage for phone numbers, music, etc... Best part is I'm not locked in to any contract and unless Straight Talk goes crazy with their charges I will never switch. A few days before they auto draft my bank they text me with the charges which has always been $45.00 but with taxes and fees totals $49.24 for unlimited everything!! Great phone and great plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

LOVE <3 LOVE <3 LOVE <3 IT SOOOO MUCH

12/19/2013
By ,
WATERTOWN NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY HUBBY BOUGHT IT FOR ME FOR CHRISTMAS AND OUT OF ALL THE CELL PHONES STRAIGHT TALK MAKES THIS ONE IS THE BEST <3 THE PICS ALWAYS COME OUT PERFECT AND NEVER LOOSE CALLS OR MISS TEXTS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good

12/12/2013
By ,
Mexico,MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, no problems
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

The savings is not worth the trouble!

12/05/2013
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, the phone is junk. I've had nothing but problems with it for 2 months. The service is horrible. No connection 75% of the time, no bars half the time, and texts don't always go through. The straight talk customer service is a joke. No one knows what they are talking about, and I've never talked to a customer service rep that I could understand. I came to straight talk to save money, its saving me $80 a month for 2 phones, but it is NOT worth it. I just spent $250 on 2 new phones and I regret it everyday and will be looking for another service as soon as I can afford to buy new phones. Save yourself the time and hassle and find another phone and service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Worked great while it laste

11/27/2013
By ,
Sarasota, FL.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife and I both have this phone for 14 months and have been very happy with it. Mine however has just puked and is on its way back to Walmart. Thank goodness for the 2 year warranty that we purchased. Overall a great phone while it lasted. Internal memory gets full rather quickly but Have a 16 GB card in it which worked well. Definitely buy the extended warranty on any of these phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Is going to be a present for Christmas

11/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks like nice phone. Received in good time and hope to use it for a Christmas present for someone who has wanted one for some time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PHONE

11/14/2013
By ,
springdale ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone less than 9 months and it will not work, the memory is askew, cannot be fixed, the text message is full when it has been deleted and cannot be repaired, it was the worst 100.00 I have ever spent
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone

11/13/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good phone but it only last about 18 mths.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

better than the 4G phones

11/02/2013
By ,
Gaston S.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got first one from my granddaughter it started freezing up so went to get a 4G phone had it about a week and a half Took it back and got new ZTE phone back Could not be happier
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY SOOOO SLOW

10/27/2013
By ,
Vermont
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone is junk. you cant load pages at all. touchscreen clicks and zooms on things instead of scroll. doesnt go back when you hit back. home screen icons take atleast five seconds before coming up after you hit home button
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

I would recommend this for great coverage n price

10/18/2013
By ,
Upper Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone met or exceeded all my expectations for a cell phone..I love it. I use it for everything. Works great for mp3 music downloads works great for my weight watchers apps. I have not had any problems with it since receiving it for a gift for Christmas. I have never had any trouble getting service from anywhere I have gone. My phone was purchased with AT&T tower connectivity which runs off both Verison and AT&T towers. Even in dead zones I get coverage. Overall great phone for anyone wanting cell phone without the BIG cell phone bills. $45 bucks a month gets you covered
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Like, Hate, Love

10/11/2013
By ,
Nothwestern PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first, I thought this phone was neat, then I hated it. Now, I really do like it. At first I was fascinated with being able to do Facebook so easily, as well as email. There are some settings on it that are weird tho. Like the alarm clock. If you forget to select the day (Sun -Sat) it won't go off. The calendar is also different from all the other phones I have had. A bit less user friendly, but I have adapted. This phone also comes with all this "junk" already on it that takes up valuable space and I don't use it, and can't delete it. Twitter, Orkut, etc. Space it probably my #1 issue with this phone. I have downloaded Facebook, intellicast and CAD and that's it. My phone is maxed out. There is only certain downloads you can move on to the memory chip... I have a 4 GB and its pretty full. I did ask for a bigger one for Christmas (They make up to 32 GB for like $24-- which they say this phone could take). I am not sure of that will help or not, as I really wanted to download an app for food tracking. Anyways, the phone size is nice. Smooth. It fits in my hand nicely. I have dropped it twice in almost 3 months. I bought a case for it, but it makes it extremely bulky I hate to use it since I just put it in my pocket and don't have a clip holder. It charges fairly fast. Where I work isn't exactly cell phone friendly, so it drains the battery. It also depends on my use as to how fast its gone. I have a car charger and 5 wall chargers, so its easy enough to keep charged. (WHY so many? Because you don't need a ZTE charger!!! ZTE uses any LG charger! (That's fairly recent). I fell for the hype and bought NEW ones, and here it uses LG! So I put all that I have to good use! I really don't think it is worth the high price Walmart and Straight Talk try to get for it. I bought mine at Ebay for less, and I am glad I did. Sure, I don't have a warranty, but as my family has found, you pretty much have to buy another one when any of these phones die out. My one side of the family has kept their Verizon phones, received SIM cards, and paid a small fee to add them to Straight Talk, and love it. (I also got a SIM card for this phone from Straight Talk for FREE). Oh, this phone also runs off of AT&T. I had Verizon in this area before, and I switched. There is just no service with them in this area any more. The only place I have been and this phone not had good service was at my aunts in Butler PA and that is quite a ways from where I live. I did let my bro-in-law get on it to help me download some apps. He signed in to his My Google account on my phone, and it was pretty tense there for several weeks. It caused my phone to UPLOAD ALL HIS contacts, photos, etc! Really bogged down my phone. When I called him about it, he had me delete all my contacts.... which deleted his, but then mine were gone and I could not pull them back up! It took me an hour to figure it out. And, all his contacts are still on my phone, and I can only see them once I pull up contacts a certain way. The only way to get rid of that is set the phone to factory settings. I had finally gotten it where I wanted it, and was not starting over! So be careful no one signs into your phone under their access... for anything! For all this phone's challenges, I really do like it. I hope it lasts me forever. It has enough of a smart phone to make me happy, and enough of the basics to round that off, and also keep me happy. Perfect in the middle for me. Just make sure you keep it charged, and that you buy the biggest chip it can handle. Oh, and dealing with Straight Talk? After I got my account set up, my mom and my plans merged to my account, I set up auto refill on paying, and I don't deal with them. I just don't have any need. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

not good

09/30/2013
By ,
Tampa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased 2 phones at the same time and one was always cutting off almost immediately for no reason. My son's was good for about 4 months and mine went 6. Tried to replace the battery but the phone itself wasn't able to hold the charge at all. Felt like I wasted the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

I am totally disappointed with the camera.

09/28/2013
By ,
Lakeville, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The camera takes a second or two after you hit the "take picture" button, before it actually takes the photo, and the quality of the pictures is very poor. The battery on this phone is also very poor quality, it only lasts a day and a half with minimal use. I have only had the phone a week and a half.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Problems since day 1

09/23/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had asked the salesman about this phone and he said they get lots of returns. Figured if I had problems I'd just return it. Had several problems right away but worked thru them. Then 2 days after my 16 day in store return it started really acting up. Won't hold a charge, takes hours to charge, often Internet won't work, on and on and on! I can't return in store and I cant go without a phone so stuck with this phone. Skip this phone!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone
09/16/2013
By ,
Pine Bluff,ARK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works absolutely great!!! I have had no problems with it. I would recommend it highly to others!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 263 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next