Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.295 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(271 Reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
65
3 stars
35
2 stars
29
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation60%162 out of 271reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
329 Questions | 544 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
65
3 stars
35
2 stars
29
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

better than the 4G phones

11/02/2013
By ,
Gaston S.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got first one from my granddaughter it started freezing up so went to get a 4G phone had it about a week and a half Took it back and got new ZTE phone back Could not be happier
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY SOOOO SLOW

10/27/2013
By ,
Vermont
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone is junk. you cant load pages at all. touchscreen clicks and zooms on things instead of scroll. doesnt go back when you hit back. home screen icons take atleast five seconds before coming up after you hit home button
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

I would recommend this for great coverage n price

10/18/2013
By ,
Upper Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone met or exceeded all my expectations for a cell phone..I love it. I use it for everything. Works great for mp3 music downloads works great for my weight watchers apps. I have not had any problems with it since receiving it for a gift for Christmas. I have never had any trouble getting service from anywhere I have gone. My phone was purchased with AT&T tower connectivity which runs off both Verison and AT&T towers. Even in dead zones I get coverage. Overall great phone for anyone wanting cell phone without the BIG cell phone bills. $45 bucks a month gets you covered
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Like, Hate, Love

10/11/2013
By ,
Nothwestern PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first, I thought this phone was neat, then I hated it. Now, I really do like it. At first I was fascinated with being able to do Facebook so easily, as well as email. There are some settings on it that are weird tho. Like the alarm clock. If you forget to select the day (Sun -Sat) it won't go off. The calendar is also different from all the other phones I have had. A bit less user friendly, but I have adapted. This phone also comes with all this "junk" already on it that takes up valuable space and I don't use it, and can't delete it. Twitter, Orkut, etc. Space it probably my #1 issue with this phone. I have downloaded Facebook, intellicast and CAD and that's it. My phone is maxed out. There is only certain downloads you can move on to the memory chip... I have a 4 GB and its pretty full. I did ask for a bigger one for Christmas (They make up to 32 GB for like $24-- which they say this phone could take). I am not sure of that will help or not, as I really wanted to download an app for food tracking. Anyways, the phone size is nice. Smooth. It fits in my hand nicely. I have dropped it twice in almost 3 months. I bought a case for it, but it makes it extremely bulky I hate to use it since I just put it in my pocket and don't have a clip holder. It charges fairly fast. Where I work isn't exactly cell phone friendly, so it drains the battery. It also depends on my use as to how fast its gone. I have a car charger and 5 wall chargers, so its easy enough to keep charged. (WHY so many? Because you don't need a ZTE charger!!! ZTE uses any LG charger! (That's fairly recent). I fell for the hype and bought NEW ones, and here it uses LG! So I put all that I have to good use! I really don't think it is worth the high price Walmart and Straight Talk try to get for it. I bought mine at Ebay for less, and I am glad I did. Sure, I don't have a warranty, but as my family has found, you pretty much have to buy another one when any of these phones die out. My one side of the family has kept their Verizon phones, received SIM cards, and paid a small fee to add them to Straight Talk, and love it. (I also got a SIM card for this phone from Straight Talk for FREE). Oh, this phone also runs off of AT&T. I had Verizon in this area before, and I switched. There is just no service with them in this area any more. The only place I have been and this phone not had good service was at my aunts in Butler PA and that is quite a ways from where I live. I did let my bro-in-law get on it to help me download some apps. He signed in to his My Google account on my phone, and it was pretty tense there for several weeks. It caused my phone to UPLOAD ALL HIS contacts, photos, etc! Really bogged down my phone. When I called him about it, he had me delete all my contacts.... which deleted his, but then mine were gone and I could not pull them back up! It took me an hour to figure it out. And, all his contacts are still on my phone, and I can only see them once I pull up contacts a certain way. The only way to get rid of that is set the phone to factory settings. I had finally gotten it where I wanted it, and was not starting over! So be careful no one signs into your phone under their access... for anything! For all this phone's challenges, I really do like it. I hope it lasts me forever. It has enough of a smart phone to make me happy, and enough of the basics to round that off, and also keep me happy. Perfect in the middle for me. Just make sure you keep it charged, and that you buy the biggest chip it can handle. Oh, and dealing with Straight Talk? After I got my account set up, my mom and my plans merged to my account, I set up auto refill on paying, and I don't deal with them. I just don't have any need. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

not good

09/30/2013
By ,
Tampa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased 2 phones at the same time and one was always cutting off almost immediately for no reason. My son's was good for about 4 months and mine went 6. Tried to replace the battery but the phone itself wasn't able to hold the charge at all. Felt like I wasted the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

I am totally disappointed with the camera.

09/28/2013
By ,
Lakeville, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The camera takes a second or two after you hit the "take picture" button, before it actually takes the photo, and the quality of the pictures is very poor. The battery on this phone is also very poor quality, it only lasts a day and a half with minimal use. I have only had the phone a week and a half.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Problems since day 1

09/23/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had asked the salesman about this phone and he said they get lots of returns. Figured if I had problems I'd just return it. Had several problems right away but worked thru them. Then 2 days after my 16 day in store return it started really acting up. Won't hold a charge, takes hours to charge, often Internet won't work, on and on and on! I can't return in store and I cant go without a phone so stuck with this phone. Skip this phone!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone
09/16/2013
By ,
Pine Bluff,ARK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works absolutely great!!! I have had no problems with it. I would recommend it highly to others!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not at all worth the money.

09/10/2013
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife has had this phone for over a year and it has been a headache the entire time. The main problem is that the OS will not allow you to send most apps to the SD card. She gets the "internal memory is low" message constantly. She even has to keep her contacts list pruned to not overload it. She called the Straight Talk people who were ABSOLUTELY NO HELP.
I found some suggestions online to "root" the phone, but I am NOT a compute programmer and refuse to mess with the coding in the phone.
We've been doing some research and the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim seems like a much better product for the price.
FYI- Buyer Beware on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Return

08/30/2013
By ,
Syracuse, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this phone because it kept turning off by itself and freezing.
It is not compatible with many of the aps out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Android Starter Phone

08/24/2013
By ,
Sylva, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty cool phone. I have had the ZTE Merit (through Net10) for one year now. I have had very few issues with it. If you speak often on the phone, the battery does drain quickly. The internal memory space (about 2GB), fills up quickly. Find a Radio Shack, I went to one and they had a sale going on for a 36 GB memory card - Reg. $80 Sale: $30. This card works perfectly for extra storage. Only problem here is that some of the apps on google play do not offer the option of transferring the file to the SD card, in this case, it will affect your phone's memory. However, the audio equipment works very well, decent camera function, and the ability to surf the web with a good screen resolution.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY, SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE

08/19/2013
By ,
Pittsboro, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did not want to pay Verizon's prices anymore, so I purchased this phone. It has been nothing but trouble. Let me first say, that I'm very careful. Have never dropped it, got it wet, etc. You cannot get rid of the preinstalled apps. or move them to an SD card which leaves you vertically no space to download any additional apps you might want. I have put on 2 and get messages that my phone is out of space. Phone now rejects incoming text messages due to no space which forces me to have to delete pics and messages (even if I have no messages, I still get incoming texts rejected). Phone #1 began rebooting itself over and over. Only way to get it to quit, was to take out battery and wait on shipping label to return it. Phone #2. doing same thing PLUS now when I make a call, I can see they've answered, but I cannot hear them. Sending the phone in again, but may just use it as a back up or give it to my son. Going back to Verizon. I travel and this phone is not reliable at all.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

A good inexpensive phone lacking battery capacity

08/19/2013
By ,
Rolling Prairie, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using the Straight Talk ZTE Merit for 2 weeks I find it to be a very good value and a more than adequate phone. I repalced an iPhone 4 because of poor service at my home location. The ZTE is intended to reduce my monthy smart phone costs by more than 50% and improve service through a different set of towers with better service in my area. It does both. Being in the "over 50 crowd", I do not download a ton of music, but do have some older music on my computer that I have not yet learned to tranfer to the ZTE. Hopefully I can do that and play it through bluetooth on my car radio speakers (something that I did with my iPhone). The greatest downside of my ZTE is battery capacity. I would estimate that it will only function about half as long on a charge as did the iPhone 4. Since I am a light use user that is a minor inconvienence. But if I were a moderate to heavy phone user, I think the phone would require 2 or even 3 charges per day. The phone can show you what phone features use what percentages of historic battery power and also recommends changing settings to reduce battery draw, but there goes functionality. So if you are in your car several times a day, just plan to keep it plugged in all the while or for sure and/or top off the charge at lunch time. As a "senior", I find the phone at least as simple to use as the iPhone. The GPS mapping and turn-by-turn voice direction is a great feature that my older iPhone did not have. No need for a separate satellite maping device in the car and after it is set with the destination address it is "hands free". The same bar code reader/price comparison app that I used on my iPhone functions well on the ZTE. So far, so good! Two months of lower monthly phone services charges will pay for the phone. After that it is all gravey!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

not worth it

08/17/2013
By ,
AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive had this phone for about 9 months and I have nothing but problems with it, it turns off on its own atleast five times a day and the screen goes completely black every time you make a call so you can hang up or push buttons or anything. Not to mention I spent $200.00 on a phone with this many issues. Not happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone, easy to change over my old number

08/07/2013
By ,
central,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy online set up, great price,I have not had any problems w/ straight talk, great features on the phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

DON'T BUY THIS PHONE!

07/30/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you need a reliable phone, don't waste your money on this one. I am constantly getting error messages on this phone and low storage messages. You cannot put any Apps on it at all! As far as text messages, you will have to always delete them to get new ones. I am forever turning it off and on because it freezes and it's unusable.
The Internet stinks, also. It is so slow and usually times out.
I DO NOT recommend this phone! I'm returning it and getting one that is more reliable! Very disappointed in this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Beware of the low internal memory

07/26/2013
By ,
New York
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone for several months now, and it was my first attempt at a smart phone. In the beginning, I had my doubts about keeping it because it was sort of glitchy and had to be charged every single day (which I was not used to at all). However, I kept it, and overall would be pleased with it if not for the ridiculously small amount of internal storage. I have very few apps on the phone, and have moved all I can to the SD card, but there are some that it just won't let you move. So, between the preinstalled Google stuff (that I can't get rid of) and will probably never use most of it, a battery saver app, a task manager app, and FB, the phones about done for. FB won't move to the SD card and doesn't work right anymore because I cant update it. I can't update anything, even the apps on the SD card because I have 11mb of available storage left on the phone. 11mb! According to my phone there's 162 MB of useable storage and I'm using 151 of them. I can't even download anything new and put it on the SD card because there's no space left to download to because it goes to the phone first and then you move it to the SD card. I would love to know how people get so they can fill up the SD card with this phone. I bought this phone for $130 maybe 6 months ago, and now will have to put out another $200 or so to get a phone I can live with and actually do things with. I don't even dare to sync it to my regular email account because my email would have this phone maxed out of memory constantly. However, after all of that - this is the one big flaw of this phone. If you can live with it, it's not a bad choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not too shabby :)

07/18/2013
By ,
Fort Worth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was nervous about a prepaid smartphone. I may not use this phone to its fullest capacity but I have enjoyed it. Memory fills up fast once you start downloading apps, texting galore, etc but I was able to transfer onto a larger memory card (2GB to 8GB) and the phone is not as slow. I bought the memory card separately. I don't use music on mine. I mostly call and text, as well as Facebook, Twitter, Camera, and Google search. GPS is helpful on a whim!! Email is used minimally but has helped me get out of jams. Text messages can fill up fast if you don't delete them regularly and can affect the speed of the phone (3G, general "thinking" times). You also have to change the settings of your notifications if you don't want the memory to fill up quickly. Facebook notifications, new email notifications will constantly have your phone beeping and soon, the status bar will say you have lil disc storage space. Just turn off the notifications and your memory space is saved. I learned the hard way but am more satisfied now.
The button on top is to turn the screen on and off when needed. For example, on a call, the screen will go dark so you don't accidentally push buttons while on your call. However, after your phone call, if the screen doesn't "light up" again automatically, just push this top bottom to turn on the screen. Or you can push it to light up the screen if you need to make a [dial pad] selection. I mention this because I had seen a review that complained they were "stuck" after making a call...this is how you fix that ;)
I wish some of the pre-installed apps can be removed if you don't need them (e.g., Orkut and Docs-to-Go). I know not everyone twitters or even Facebook chats so you should be able to delete it if you don't use it. No luck. Just delete any data it may use and that's as good as it gets. I figured if you need a smartphone to view docs (business person or busy teacher), I would prob recommend to get a higher capacity phone or tablet. Just my lil opinion. If docs were that important, get a tablet or something. You don't have to live on your phone.
I loved the quick home delivery of this phone (less than 24hrs!). I wonder if I happen to live near a warehouse or something but that was really cool. I highly recommend the StraightTalk ZTE Merit Z990G for good ol' fashion, simple smartphone fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone quit working in less than 24 hours.

07/11/2013
By ,
Morton, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son has this phone and loves it, but my phone went into a stuck loop that would not quit. I took it to the Walmart cell phone department and they could not believe it. Nothing would make it stop going from the same two screens over and over and over and.....
So I can't recommend this phone with my experience.
I got a different phone they exchanged in the store.....Samsung Galaxy Centura and it is a real GEM! It even connects with my car and makes it a car phone! When I can't figure out what to do with a function, i find it on you tube and so far everything is great with the 'second' phone. :)
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Decent phone for the price.

07/10/2013
By ,
Watertown, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With this phone it's you get what you pay for. If your not going to fork out a couple hundred on a phone and your in a budget of 100 or less for a phone. This is the perfect choice. This phone has everything I personally needed in it; talk, text, facebook, youtube, web surfing, and downloadable apps. I've never had functioning problems with the phone yet and I've owned it for over a year now. The only issues I've had with the phone is the low on storage space. Which I get maybe once every three weeks. All you simply do is delete some text messages, and clear the data on your internal apps, such as facebook and youtube. This phone is based off 3G network so it works the majority of the time on that when wifi isn't available. Overall, it is not a bad phone. I might upgrade in the future, but for now and the price it was a perfect purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 251 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next