Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(284 Reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation60%170 out of 284reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
346 Questions | 564 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
31
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Value, but has Problems

08/09/2012
By ,
Alaska
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Biggest problem is there is a lot of interference when I use the Speaker when talking with others. No problem listening to things on my end, but all my friends complain of interference when the speaker is on. My husband has a ZTE Merit as well and the interference is unbearable if we talk to each other using the speaker. No issues if the speaker is off.
I would love to know if this happens to others. Your friends probably won't complain, but do ask them if they are getting interference if you turn on the speaker.
I have had none of the problems with recharging that others have written about. It does need charged everyday, I've read that's not uncommon with Smartphones.
The internal memory is limited and I get "memory low" warnings all the time and have to clear out some apps. This has nothing to do with the small size of the SD Card. I'm talking internal memory. There are some preinstalled apps that cannot be moved to the card, so it's not easy to resolve and I'm just living with it.
I can use it with my car bluetooth, but have to manually dial and then can use the car speaker. It does not let me give a name to call, so somethings off there.
I have a gmail account and it works pretty good. It will sometimes freeze up if the message is long. THen I have to turn it off and on to get it to work again.
I'm going to keep this as long as possible and then go with the SIM option and buy a good phone if ST doesn't come out with a better Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Small Internal Memory

08/22/2012
By ,
Somewhere, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am very disappointed with this phone. This phone makes great calls, has great service, and takes good pictures. However, it is an android and I expected more. My biggest complaint is the internal memory. This phone is continually notifying me that there are updates available, but I cannot install them because the phone shows the memory at near full before the installation has completed. In addition, the phone may support microSD cards up to 32GB but, there is very little that can be saved to the SD card making it virtually useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Merit

08/09/2012
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sceptical about buying this phone, but am glad I did. I have not regreted it one bit. It not only meets my needs and price, but it exceeded my expectations. I would recommend this phone to my friends!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Do not buy this phone

08/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not be lured in by the low price-- this phone isn't even worth that.
Very limited storage, lots of pre-installed apps one does not need but cannot delete to free up space. I am also unable to move the useless apps to SD card.
I will randomly be told that my text message inbox is full when I have 2 or fewer messages, which I must then delete. And restart the phone. And if I'm lucky, I will receive the incoming text that prompted the "text message inbox full" notice several hours later.
Now, after about a year, the touchscreen has randomly failed. I cannot unlock the phone. Two restarts later, it still will not unlock.
If you only want to place calls, this phone may be (barely) adequate for your needs. But anything else is nigh impossible with this poor excuse for a cellphone.
In short, DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible battery and email does not sync

06/19/2012
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The camera on this phone is great, as is the easy-to-use text messaging. However, if you want to connect Hotmail, good luck...it doesn't sync up properly, so if you delete a message on your phone, it will not delete from your Hotmail inbox. The battery life on this phone is horrendous. This morning, I made one phone call for six minutes on a fully charged battery and when I was done, the phone beeped saying that there was only 5% battery left! Last night, I went into the store with a 21% battery life left, did not even use the phone, and 35 minutes later, came out to a 3% battery life. This phone is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Hmm... Interesting.
Posted 08/31/2012
You say that you made a six minute call on a fully charged battery and after the call you had very little battery life left? Sounds like you got a bad battery when you bought your phone. Either that or you didn't handle it properly and didn't bother charging the phone the first time before using it. Now if you had taken the phone back and gotten another one with a different battery, you would probably have much better results.
It sounds to me like you just left a bad review without checking to see if the battery was at fault. Since you didn't bother to do this, your review really doesn't hold it's validity.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Just ok

06/26/2012
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had this phone for a few months. Purchased the AT&T version and the straight talk sim card. AT&T service was very good in my area. The phone was decent but had issues. The internal memory is very small making it hard to download aps. The phone lagged a bit too. It did freeze a few times too. Just upgraded to the Samsung galaxy proclaim which runs on Verizon and for me it's like night and day. Phone itself is so much faster! It has tons of space for aps. I find it a lot better.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boonton, NJ
Thanks for your review
Posted 09/06/2012
I have to thank you for your candid review of the Merit Z990G. I am also considering the Samsung Galaxy, and I think you just helped me make up my mind.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible Phone

07/08/2012
By ,
Monticello, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be a great phone after reading reviews but it is terrible. Bluetooth will not pair, I can't get on the internet unless I am in a wi-fi area and I can't open picture texts. I am so disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/13/2012
Maybe it's your phone.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Miami, FL
Hello!
Posted 07/10/2012
Hi, my name is Sara and I work with Straight Talk Wireless. I noticed your concern on this blog and I would like to help you. Just send me your name, contact number and your phone serial number or cell number and I will resolve this for you right away. I work here and I too have a TracFone. At times there are problems, but with the right people to help, your issue will get resolved. Just copy your blog concern and include it in your email. Please email your info to ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straightalk.com.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 28 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone for texting

07/20/2012
By ,
hudson new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone is excellent i can control good its the best phone i ever had :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Sweeeeet

07/21/2012
By ,
Johnstown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had this phone for over a month now. It does everything i want it to: good call quality and reception, texting, internet, video watching, apps, etc. The only reason i gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the internal phone memory space could be bigger. I put a larger sd card in it and keep all my apps on the card, not the phone...and i still have to pay attention to keep the phone memory space clear enough. Other than that I love this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone
10/11/2012
By ,
endicott, n.y.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am in my 50s so I wasn't sure I would like a touch phone. But my kids have helped me use this phone. And I love it. Thank u straight talk!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good entry level android

06/22/2012
By ,
Palestine Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have the AT&T pre paid version of this phone running on a Straight Talk SIM card. My main gripe is that the internal memory only has room for a hand full of basic apps, or 1or 2 larger apps like "angry birds". Also battery charge life seems short especially on WIFI but this may be the norm for newer smart phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

A good beginners phone.

09/20/2012
By ,
Toledo,Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I`m new to android phones,but I found this one easy to use.This is my second ZTE Merit.The first one I had,had problems with,the screen would go blank when I made or received phone calls.Contacted Straight Talk support,told them the problem.And they said they would replace it.All I had to do was send the defective one back.They set it up so fedX would pick it up at my home and they paid all shipping charges. Within 4 days I had a new phone.A quick call to Straight Talk and my new phone was reactivated with my original phone number.They even extended the Due date for it.I had absolutely no problems with their support team.Very courteous and I understood them without a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

ATT ZTE MERIT Z990G Low Stgorage Capacity

08/31/2012
By ,
Kenesaw, Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased two ZTE MERIT 990G cell phones from Wal-Mart on July 27, 2012, I charged the phones overnight. The next day, logged, on to Straight Talk followed the instructions and ported my old numbers, I was surprised the phone and numbers were active within fifteen minutes, great service.
The ZTE MERIT phones after one month have been great phones, easy to operate and program. My wife and I are in our late seventies and this is our first smart phone.
The only problem I have had so far is witth the Internal Storage Capacity, the advertisement states 512 MB. With nothing downloaded on the Internal Storage, I show only 163 “MB” of Total Internal Storage Capacity and a low Internal Storage Capacity keeps popping up. I have replace the 2GB SD Card with a 16GB SD CLASS 4 CARD.
If I have any problems in the future I will return and post on this site.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice phone for the price

07/28/2012
By ,
San Diego, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an Android, you can get apps from Google Play Store. It will not take Flash Player, so watching TV or anything that takes Flash Player is a no go. You can watch some TV apps and You Tube. Great for you if you want an Android and don't need Movies or TV. Haven't been able to go to Itunes. I love the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Grandson Is very Happy with this Phone

07/22/2012
By ,
sedan, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for high school age grandson . he says he is very happy with it and it does all the things he wants it to do. It would have been nice if I had bought it a little earlier when it was $99 instead of the $129 I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the price!

07/06/2012
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first fancy phone. I left verizon and went to straight talk to save money. I have had this phone for about 3 weeks and I am totally happy with it. I do live out in the country and when I am driving into town, I do have a couple of dead spots where I get dropped calls (with Verizon I didn't). I just know where those spots are and don't use my phone until I get through them. I bought the 3 month unlimited and so far it is worth the savings even though I get a few dropped calls. I do have to charge this phone every night. If I don't, I may not make it through 2 full days. I don't know if I just got a bad battery or if its just the way it is. It comes with 2 GB memory card which did not take long to fill up. I have a couple of apps on there and 2 short videos, and about 5 pictures and it says I have low space. So, I am buying more memory. For the most part, I am happy with this phone. Of course this is my first Android so I don't have much to compare it to. It is everything I expected it to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

so far so good

08/31/2012
By ,
stoystown, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me a little while to get to know this phone but so far I really think it is nice. ONE THING THOUGH!!! You should download a battery saver or this thing will need to be charged during the day. While you are out and about if you don't need the wi-fi or data I would turn them off so you do not need to charge it during the day. good phone but must be configured for battery life.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone
06/30/2012
By ,
Altoona, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this phone to anyone. It's very easy to set-up and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

very happy with purchase

07/17/2012
By ,
Andrews Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have minor trouble with call reception but living in the
country, this is often a problem. Great features, wonderful
camera abilities and video as well.
I'm not terribly good with technology and this was fairly easy
for me to learn...I'm buying another for my daughter. Texting
features are grand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Reliable Android phone!

09/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant about purchasing this phone at first due to the inconsistent reviews however I took a chance and must admit that I am very satisfied with this phone. The wifi and 3g connections are consistently solid. YouTube and Pandora load quickly when connected via 3g as well as Web browsing. I have had this phone for two Weeks. I will update my review if I find any issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 264 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next