Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Made with a 3.5" touchscreen, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you bright and clear web browsing and messaging. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone gives you endless ways to customize your phone. Plus, the 5MP camera and video recorder on the ZTE Straight Talk Phone allows you to capture all your special moments. With GPS capabilities, the ZTE Straight Talk Phone lets you know where you're going, no matter where you are. The Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor on this straight talk cell phone ensures a fast, intuitive response. With Straight Talk Cell Phones, the ZTE Merit Z990G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone is the choice for anyone who needs more than the basics of a cell phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(280 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
30
1 star
62
Customer Recommendation60%168 out of 280reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
335 Questions | 556 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
69
3 stars
35
2 stars
30
1 star
62
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Beware! Internal storage is ONLY 160MB!

01/16/2014
By ,
West Union, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pro: Good phone if you do not wish to install apps. Great for phone calling, texting, social networking.
Con: Very low internal storage of 160MB. This is only < 20% of a Gig. If you download any apps do not get anything higher then 10MB or your storage will be low and you will need to dump the apps. Bloatware on the phone cannot be deleted. SOME downloaded apps can be moved to the sd card but that is fruitless because those same apps will take up space on the internal storage so having a sd card is useless.
There are MANY MANY complaints of this phone on the straighttalk forums. In the Samsung forum every inquiry has a mysterious canned request from straighttalk to take the privately with them thru email.
The other thing I had noticed and did my own research on straightalk that the phones that are listed only the iPad phones list their internal storage on the website. All the other phones that they offer DO NOT list the internal storage space. Wished I known this before I purchased it from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
30179
Posted 05/25/2014
I want to end my service with Verizon, because of using a lot of data staying on Face Book. On the unlimited Straight talk Plan, is the data unlimited?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Love, love , love!

08/22/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for about a week now and I absolutely love it! This is my first smartphone and I couldn't be happier with the purchase. The phone is easy to use, but does a lot! Everything is so much easier with this phone. I have had no trouble with it freezing or resetting as I read in a few other reviews. I went with straight talk (and with this phone specifically) because a very helpful walmart associate said that of the straight talk phones, this one got the best service coverage. He could not have been more right. The service coverage is awesome and the phone itself is fantastic. It makes social networking, texting, browsing, and anything else you may need simple and fast. Activating my service was quick and simple. I did it online and within 10 minutes the service was active. I have not had to contact customer service for anything yet, but I have read several reviews stating that the customer service is horrible. I guess we'll see...the phone, however, is worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Merit--Great Phone for the Price

07/23/2012
By ,
TooHotMyrtleBeach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched this phone before I bought it, I also went and entered 93 zip codes from SC, NC NY and NJ and all but 3 said that this phone worked in those areas. So I bought the phone, then went on a trip from Myrtle Beach, 'SC to New Jersey and I never lost coverage or data use.
So far it has been a great phone. I was worried about memory, but I simple went and bought a high MB MicroSD card(problem solved#.
Took photos while on my trip and they came out great. #FYI: You do not need a high pixel camera (on phone or regular camer#, unless you plan on blowing them up for a poster or are on a crime photography team. Just an FYI)
Browsing has been fine. No problem there.
Downloading apps thru Google Play Android Markert. No problem there.
Since this is a GSM ATT phone I foresee and have had no problems.
So if you are wanting a good Android for a good price and one that works very well on the East Coast #that I know for a fact) I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+160points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Question
Posted 10/11/2013
Did your phone show roaming when you were out of your area code? If you took pictures, could you send them? The prepaid phone I have now doesn't let me send pictures if I am in Roam.
Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY, SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE

08/19/2013
By ,
Pittsboro, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did not want to pay Verizon's prices anymore, so I purchased this phone. It has been nothing but trouble. Let me first say, that I'm very careful. Have never dropped it, got it wet, etc. You cannot get rid of the preinstalled apps. or move them to an SD card which leaves you vertically no space to download any additional apps you might want. I have put on 2 and get messages that my phone is out of space. Phone now rejects incoming text messages due to no space which forces me to have to delete pics and messages (even if I have no messages, I still get incoming texts rejected). Phone #1 began rebooting itself over and over. Only way to get it to quit, was to take out battery and wait on shipping label to return it. Phone #2. doing same thing PLUS now when I make a call, I can see they've answered, but I cannot hear them. Sending the phone in again, but may just use it as a back up or give it to my son. Going back to Verizon. I travel and this phone is not reliable at all.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

A "dumb" smartphone?

04/01/2013
By ,
South Bend, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first android (WOW!) phone and bought it blinded by starry eyes that blinded me. It failed about 8 months after purchase when the back button broke inside the circuit board - no repair.
Here's what I learned while it worked: This phone is handicapped by grossly insufficient memory and while it claims you can add a micro-SD card, you can't really USE that card for loading many aps because the phone comes with a ton of pre-installed google based aps that can't be uninstalled and they use all the VERY small internal memory needed to download or run other aps. Basically, the Merit could've been a good basic "android for beginners" choice but instead, they made a "dumb" smartphone that can run the mostly useless google aps that come with it. To use this phone, you will NEED to learn very careful memory management skills.
I gave this phone 3 out of 5 only because I bought it as an education and it taught me all the things that I wanted and it wasn't. I definitely would NOT recommend this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Posted 04/02/2013
There is no problem with the phone because this phone has an Internal Memory of 512MB RAM & 512MB ROM. And, the default applications installed on this phone will use some part of Internal memory which cannot be moved to SD card. If any applications downloaded will also take some internal memory so, that's the problem that all ppl will face with this device. So, the better solution to solve this issue is delete the unwanted applications.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

So far, so good!!

06/25/2012
By ,
Greenville, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these phones just yesterday and so far my daughter and I love it! I am not a cell phone techie, but it was very easy to enter all my contacts into it. I had another touch screen phone that I did not like at all, but this one has been very easy to use. The screen is not so sensitive that it opens everything that is touched. My daughter had hers all set up and ready for activation within 15 minutes of taking it out of the box. She activated boh of them through the Straight Talk website and all went well and fairly quickly. Both of these phones were activated and running within 2 hours. I think I have my husband convinced to switch to this phone from another Straight Talk phone he got yesterday! I had to call Customer Service to complete the activation of his phone and they were very nice. I had some concerns as I knew they were not located in the US, but the woman I spoke with was very easy to work with and was very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Montpiler,ohio 43543
is good for montpiler,ohio 43543
Posted 09/29/2013
does this phone ran off at&t and good for around the Montpelier,Ohio 43543 area or not bc i know sprint and version dont work the good over there
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very disappointed.

08/07/2012
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first one of these I bought wouldn't charge right so I exchanged it. This one is the exact same way but I realized that the reason that it sometimes charges and sometimes not...heat. When the phone gets hot or even overly warm, it will not charge. It gets hot easily so it's almost impossible to charge while you're talking on it because the heat from your head and your hand holding it is usually enough to do it. The battery life is poor yet it takes a long time to charge it. The internal memory on the phone itself is terrible. The preset apps take up so much room that almost every other app you download in addition to those HAVE to go on the memory card and you can't put every app on the SD card. Sometimes I even have to remove an app to have enough memory to download and install a new one that can go on the memory card then I have to download the one I removed again. It has also started freezing after about 3 weeks. I would NEVER buy this again. Actually I'm hoping it breaks so I can use the insurance I got on it and get a new one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chesapeake Va
Love it
Posted 08/30/2012
I have been with Sprint for 16 years, lost my job and i needed a cell phone for others to contact me.....my first phone was a cheap Motorola which was good, then i upgraded to the Samsung and now this phone. I am very pleased with this phone so far and have had no issues as the others have described. My Wife has an HTC Evo and yes it really does not compare to that phone but i love it, works great at making and recieving calls and the Bluetooth pairs well with my Motorla Oasis which now sounds way better then when it was paired up with the Samsung RH. I do wish they included more internal memory which is my only gripe.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE, GREAT PRICE, GREAT SERVICE!

07/07/2012
By ,
Trenton, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this Android (ZTE Merit) from my local Wal-Mart for my wife. I was a little skeptical from hearing about the short battery life and the fact it runs on AT&T and not Verizon. My wife has downloaded everything onto this phone, been surfing the web, playing games, etc. and without charging it for over 24 hrs. and the battery life was around the half way mark. It never has froze up, never had any problems with downloading programs, no dropped calls and the battery lasts just as long as any other phone. We have been with Straight Talk for going on 2 years and the service has always exceeded our expectations. Great phone, Great Price, and Great Service. I highly recommend the ZTE Merit. P.S. As far as the battery life follow the instructions on how to save your battery which comes with the phone, that is what we did and we have had no problem with the battery draining to fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+251points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

One small design flaw....one MAJOR problem

03/07/2013
By ,
Fenton,MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This had the potential to be a good phone, instead, "Smart" is not a word I would to describe this phone. It is made with only 160 MB (No, not 1.6 GB, 160 MB) of internal memory. It is loaded with progarams you cant remove. Problem is those programs update, and as they do, your internal memory shrinks. It lasted me over the 15 days they give you to return it, but shortly after I just kept getting error messages that I'm low on space. Had plenty of room in the SD card, but doesn't matter. Without internal memory, you cant download/update anything. my top bar is loaded with error messages. I have plenty of RAM and space on SD, but becuse the phone itself has fiiled its own memory with things I don't even use, its worthless. You can go through every program, delete the updates, download/update what you want, then transfer that to SD. But that doesn't seem too much like a "Smart Phone" to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Root the phone
Posted 03/27/2013
I have the ZTE Merit and I rooted it, installed SuperUser and Link2SD, which allows me to use a partition on my SD card as an extension of the internal memory, allowing me to make as much internal memory as I want for virtually unlimited apps. Link2SD also allows you to turn the locked bloatware into a standard app that can be frozen or deleted.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the price!

07/06/2012
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first fancy phone. I left verizon and went to straight talk to save money. I have had this phone for about 3 weeks and I am totally happy with it. I do live out in the country and when I am driving into town, I do have a couple of dead spots where I get dropped calls (with Verizon I didn't). I just know where those spots are and don't use my phone until I get through them. I bought the 3 month unlimited and so far it is worth the savings even though I get a few dropped calls. I do have to charge this phone every night. If I don't, I may not make it through 2 full days. I don't know if I just got a bad battery or if its just the way it is. It comes with 2 GB memory card which did not take long to fill up. I have a couple of apps on there and 2 short videos, and about 5 pictures and it says I have low space. So, I am buying more memory. For the most part, I am happy with this phone. Of course this is my first Android so I don't have much to compare it to. It is everything I expected it to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great for the price

06/19/2012
By ,
New Castle, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this phone. I moved and had very low signal on my Optimus Q because it uses Sprint towers. I read the reviews on this phone and they said the Merit used AT&T towers. I went to my local Walmart and it wasn't there. I went here and it wasn't online either so I ordered directly from StraightTalk. The phone came quickly with free FedEx Overnight Delivery. Easy to set up online on my account and they had it registered and working within a few hours.
The only bad part is that the lower left part of my screen broke in my pocket. I contacted StraightTalk and they said they will send me a replacement phone, so now I will be waiting on that. StraightTalk has had excellent customer service the few times I've used them. I mainly use their online customer service because their call center is in another country and I have hearing problems as it is, and trying to get through an accent is difficult. Text knows no accent... lol
It's a great Android phone, you won't be sorry buying it, just make sure you find a hard cell phone case. mine was in the mail on it's way to me when the screen broke. Day late, dollar short...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+227points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
rolla,missouri
theresa
Posted 03/07/2013
i just bought this phone a few days ago and so far i love this phone. ive downloaded a few apps i like. the sound is great quality. the text is good it works great the only downfall i have so far is the short battery life. i had to charge it up 2 times in a day. but maybe it will get better as i get use to it plus i cant put the phone down either. i play with it like a new kids toy. other than that i cant think of anything to really complain about oh the short memory is also a downside but i went and bought a 32g memory card to solve the problem
0points
Customer Avatar
Menomonie,WI
Posted 10/22/2012
I Have Had Problems With this Phone Since I got it. This Phone Is junk it has little to no internal memory so you cant even update apps that come with it because after you do there's always a low memory indicator or there's not enough internal memory to even up date it but if you don't the phone will shut off and reboot at random times and tell you there are updates available. Good luck listening to music or playing any games on this phone. I give it not even one star maybe half a star at best
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

12/24/2012
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for my teenage daughter for Christmas this year. Since she hasn't opened the gift yet I don't know how she will like it, but I found it to be a great phone. I took everything out of the packaging so that i could charge the phone and load the $45.00 card and add some of her music from our computer. I took pictures that turned out very well, music downloaded quickly and the phone activated in minutes, sending me a text message on my cell phone. It took some time to familiarize myself, as my android is much more basic that this phone, but overall, I'm very impressed. It isn't quite as large as an Iphone, but has many of the same features and plenty of apps possibilities with google apps. I called myself, tone quality very good- no raspy annoying noise, music played beautifully with ear buds she has from her ipod. I bought her a micro sd card to enhance the storage that she can put in when she wants to. Overall, highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Exceeds Expectations

06/26/2012
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously had the LG Optimus Q. That phone was the only android at the time and works off Sprint network. The service was HORRIBLE in my house. Never had a dropped call or anything just could surf the web and get on FB like I wanted to. So finally they came out with this one that is $50 cheaper than the LG. I can say that it does everything that the other phone did. It is way faster and I can watch youtube in my house without it buffering AT ALL. I absolutely love it. The only difference I can tell is that when I try to make a song a ringtone it won't let me because it says it is too big. On the other phone I could do that. The song has to be a short ringtone...like 30 seconds or less. I can live with that. Wonderful phone for the price. Don't be fooled into buying more expensive phones....this one is great and just as good as the more more expensive ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ringtones
Posted 07/06/2012
you can use myxer.com (free) to make songs into ringtones and to download ringtones.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great. Love it

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get better service with this phone than my old phone. Love it. Everything that I expected and more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Merit has met all my expectations!

06/21/2012
By ,
26101
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been very happy with my ZTE Merit purchase, so far. I have owned this phone for about 2 months and have not had any issues with it so far. I use it everyday!
My previous phone was a Blackberry Curve from Verizon and I had numerous issues with freezing. I have had none of those issues with this phone.
Super fast downloads. I use PhoneZoo and ring-tones download in about 10 seconds. Streaming music does not lag at all. The pre-loaded Apps are pretty cool and the phone comes with the Google App store where you can find many free Apps.
Only downside is the battery life lasts only about 36 hours but as long as you plug it in before bedtime, you should not have a problem. I am going to be looking for a better battery.
Other than that, this phone is great for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Big Disappointment
Posted 05/15/2013
I bought ZTE Merit for basically the Internet Service. I don't text or talk on the phone much. I do like TuneIn Radio and stream to get nationwide channels. Don't watch videos or stream too much because Straight Talk will cut you off of your Internet service after advertising they have unlimited Internet, text and phone. They will not tell you their plans to do this. I call about why and I get a guy called "Richard" from India. Good luck with this.
+1point
Customer Avatar
spooner
How long does the video record for?
Posted 07/25/2012
What is the period of time this phone records video?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Better manual would be helpful.

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my phone for about ten days. It is my first touch-screen phone, I have always had a flip-phone. We do have a laptop and a tablet so I am familiar with touch screens and commands. I still have some problems with the phone that I cannot resolve even after reading all the ZTE information and asking for help on the internet. I have yahoo mail and I cannot find a way to screen spam. Both my laptop and tablet do not receive spam but the phone receives about 100 a day. There is nowhere to indicate which emails are spam either. I also cannot find a place on the phone to forward text messages. Phone is easy to carry and sound is reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very good value.

07/24/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am very happy with this phone. The Price of the phone combined with the Straight Talk unlimited plan is a very good value. It must be a very popular phone as it was out of stock at my local Walmart and out of stock at Walmart.com, so I got mine directly through the Straight Talk website.
Coverage and reception has been great with this phone. It runs on the AT&T network which is actually what sold me on buying this phone and switching my service to Straight Talk.
The only minor gripe I have with the phone is that for some reason I can't watch or stream video from some websites when browsing. I don't know if all smartphone's are like that or what the problem may be, but overall it's not a huge issue as most of the major sites like YouTube have an app or a mobile site where the video works. Other than the minor video issue this smartphone seems to be able to do everything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

reboots constantly

09/13/2012
By ,
Columbia, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really happy with this phone initially, lots of features and a really good value. However, I am on my second one in a matter of 2 days due to its constant restarting. The first one I bought within 20 mins of opening it and charging it restarted about a dozen times. I put up with it thinking that it would improve. It didn't. I returned it the next day to exchange for a different one thinking that maybe it was just this particular phone. Within an hour of being fully charged it restarted twice. Better than the first one but still glitchy. When I returned the first one the sales associate who helped me (awesome customer service btw) said she had never had any similar complaints and it was their most popular model. Since I had problems I looked online and have found several reviews from other consumers reporting a similar problem so I know that while not a common one it is an issue with the phone. If you are lucky enough to get one without this problem then aside from the lack of memory due to bloatware I think you will be happy. If, on the other hand, you happen to get one that is defective save yourself the headache and just buy a different brand of phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

ATT ZTE MERIT Z990G Low Stgorage Capacity

08/31/2012
By ,
Kenesaw, Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased two ZTE MERIT 990G cell phones from Wal-Mart on July 27, 2012, I charged the phones overnight. The next day, logged, on to Straight Talk followed the instructions and ported my old numbers, I was surprised the phone and numbers were active within fifteen minutes, great service.
The ZTE MERIT phones after one month have been great phones, easy to operate and program. My wife and I are in our late seventies and this is our first smart phone.
The only problem I have had so far is witth the Internal Storage Capacity, the advertisement states 512 MB. With nothing downloaded on the Internal Storage, I show only 163 “MB” of Total Internal Storage Capacity and a low Internal Storage Capacity keeps popping up. I have replace the 2GB SD Card with a 16GB SD CLASS 4 CARD.
If I have any problems in the future I will return and post on this site.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, and fast, not for you tech guys.

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could use more internal memory, but love the at&t service for our area.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 260 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next