Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1163 Reviews) 966
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
321
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation87%1,010 out of 1,163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
321
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

1 GB of internal Memory. 1 GHZ Processor

06/08/2012
By ,
Adirondack Mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 GB of internal Memory. 1 GHZ Processor
The internal memory is the most overlooked spec on any phone. Depending on the version of Android you are running, you may not be able to store programs on your SD card. All the other phones I looked at in this class only have 500 MB.
This phones hardware is matched perfectly to Android 2.3.
Bonus! -->>> VOICE RECOGNITION input that works without training. Just amazing.
This model is on the Verizon Network. CDMA 1xRTTI for more detailed info. This was my main reason for giving up my Net 10 LG 800. I now have a good signal inside my cottage with a tin roof.
It runs Netflix perfectly over my WiFi along with Live 365 internet radio.
I loaded Skype onto it and it would make calls over my WiFi but the calls kept dropping ... which could probably be fixed with some research. But with unlimited call time, who needs Skype anymore. .... The call quality and sound is excellent and it works great as a speaker phone.
The included music player gives me the option to play my music files according to their file structure on the SD Card so I do not have to mess with playlists and tags.
I do not have a Google account and have downloaded my apps from Amazon ... Except for the Nook Reader which I downloaded from the SlideMe website.
The SD card will show up as an external drive when plugged into my Win 7 PC.
GPS: I live in the Adirondacks and hike and bicycle ride a lot. With a proper app, this plots my course and records speed, distance and other info. In my first critical test of the GPS, I found the repeatability to be within about 6 feet. More than good enough for tail survey work. It will use the battery up quickly on GPS but that is the nature of the beast. It seems that there is a learning curve in understanding how to manage the battery properly and I'm still down at the lower end. I'm willing to buy spare batteries for this feature. I learned to navigate Coast Guard Aircraft using 1950s vintage Loran A hardware, time delay charts, and calipers... This just blows me away!
Camera: Good quality. It needs bright light otherwise the blacks are a little blotchy and some other colors are mottled. I have not had it out in bright sunlight in which I would expect it to make very nice pictures. Maybe I should say that it is only a little bit lesser quality than my friends 5 MP I-phone camera. I am a serious photographer and am probably being too critical of the photo quality.
It has no flash but the exposure setting is easy to adjust.
The real drawback of the camera is that it will not load any of the camera apps from the Amazon store. I was at least hoping to get Cam Scanner to make PDF documents. The upside is that it takes fine document photos that are readable but just not post processed like CamScanner would do.
Do not buy a Droid phone because of the camera MP size. 3 MP is a great size for most common purposes. 5 MP is only a marginal increase over 3 MP and some of the 5 MP Droid phones have smaller memory and slower processors.
I still have a lot to learn about this phone and the Android OS but this appears to be the best piece of hardware on the market for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2,612points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
springfield, mo
Battery life
Posted 03/04/2013
I have had the phone 3 weeks, but within the past week, I cannot keep the battery charged past 6 hrs. I do not have any apps downloaded, I have done all that the instruction booklet suggested to extend the battery life. I called Straighttalk, (what a joke)....after 100 calls and hours of wait time, I got ahold of representative. They said I would have to send phone back. All I wanted to to see about getting a new battery to see if that was the problem. I dont want to have to buy one after 3 weeks, sure dont want to worry about charging it everytime I need it during the day, especially if I cant be available to charge in wall or car. Any suggestions???????? Any others have this problem?
0points
This DOES HAVE 1GB of INTERNAL
Posted 10/28/2012
Zzuebe, you are misspoken.
I am looking at this phone in my hand as we speak and internal memory is at 1GB.
-3points
Customer Avatar
East Tennessee
Memory...
Posted 10/26/2012
Guys (and gals)... pay close attention to the specs on this phone. The toturial that you see online shows the memory of the SDcard, not the phone... This phone only has 512 internal memory... the rest is on the card...
-3points
Customer Avatar
Georgia
apps
Posted 08/20/2012
Can apps be installed on the SD card on the phone.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Adirondack Mountains
Some more experience witht hte camera
Posted 06/18/2012
I just posted some full size photos in the questions section. Wal-Mart has not approved them as of this time.
I also wish to add the following to my original review.
I think it is the best cell phone camera I have used so far. But it only works good in bright light. It has no flash.
I tried an HDR app to try and improve dynamic range. It took one or two seconds between each of the shots and actualy made a picture that looked good on the camera screen but was blotchy looking full size on my computer. This app is pushing the limits of the processor.
I tried a Document scanner app and it did not help much. The camera barely makes fine print readable when photographing a letter sized document.
I have not yet found any camera apps on the Amazon App store that will download for this camera. Bar code scanners will also not download for this phone. I think this has something to do with its lack of auto focus and other processing power issues of the phone.
Bottom line is that it will take really great pictures of your kids outside on a sunny day. The pictures become more grainy as the light decreases. Don't expect to use this to work with any camera apps.
+24points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great for Beginning Android Smart Phone

06/11/2012
By ,
Birmingham, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cell phone after making the decision to upgrade from the Nokia E-71. I compared the Proclaim against the Precedent, which I had purchased for my husband in April. He liked his and was impressed with it's abilities and functions. Capabilities of the Proclaim were greater although not vastly from the Precedent. My selling point on this particular phone model is that it is VERIZON based which has better coverage in the tri-county area. The Precedent is Sprint based...my husband has not had any complaints, but I'm on the road more often due to family responsibility and health services career. The call reception and placement has been perfect so far with the Proclaim. I have had no problems connecting to my PC. We have watched Netflix on the Proclaim in the doctor's office and in the car/field trip on bus without drag, lag, or interruption as it connects via 3G/WiFi. All in all I love this phone and the Verizon base sells it without the Verizon headache and astro-bill. Only negatives I have encountered would be the Proclaim didn't come with a rubberized skin as my husband's Precedent did, it eats battery life if the GPS/Internet/Bluetooth features are engaged (they can be disconnected from primary screen), and it has no flash for the camera. The camera/video is easy to operate, photos are easy to edit and send/post to social media. I would buy this phone again, although I do wish it was closer in price to the Precedent. The $50 difference is that of a little over a month's ST unlimited card, but the difference of Verizon coverage seals it for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+849points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Carthage, Missouri
what is wi-fi
Posted 09/02/2012
does the wi-fi come with the phne? or how does it work?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

great software,great hardware,ADOBE FLASH!

07/11/2012
By ,
cedar rapids iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the samsung proclaim to replace my samsung precedent. The precedent was a great phone, dedicated camera key and the power button is on the top of phone. My new PROCLAIM is way faster and the unlock screen is better. Also when you make a call and put it to your ear the screen just goes black as to not press buttons then when you pull it away to end call or pull up keypad it just reappears (you don't have to hit unlock) With the precedent you would have to unlock by pressing the power button to to end call or get to keypad. I have had NO problems with this phone. No camera,freezing, or shutting off randomly. I loved my PRECEDENT, the only real reason for the switch was because I get better reception on VERIZON towers. Now that i switched to the Procaim I am even happier because it has built in documents viewer and ADOBE FLASH ! The phone speed and internet connection are extremely faster than the Precedent. But the power button is on the side of phone and doesn't have a dedicated camera key(you have to touch a button on the screen to take a picture). This phone was hard to get, so if you really want one, you may have to drive an hour or two to find a store that has one left in stock. Walmart has been OUT online since July 5th. I ordered mine on July 4th, picked pay cash, then took my email from walmart to the store, they scanned bar code off my screen, and I payed cash. Then the phone arrived at my walmart for pick up on July 10th 2012. ALSO this phone can install firefox and many apps that my precedent couldn't. If you have a precedent and you wished the screen was wider, get this phone! The screen size is perfect! The PROCLAIM also has some very new software included that some high end phones don't even have yet. WiFi DIRECT allows you to connect to a printer w/wifi and print things, also you can connect to other wifi devices and transfer videos,contacts,music, BUT AT Speeds that blows bluetooth away. This is not hotspot, as far as I can tell, trust me i tried to teather like that and it didn't work. BEST phone I have ever had! good luck trying to get one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+254points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent option

06/18/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive been with straight talk for a long time. Like many of you I needed Verizon because the other carriers just didnt cut it in my area. Up until recently if you wanted Verizon, Straight Talk didnt offer an Android phone. Now we are in luck they have this Samsung Galaxy Proclaim as a great option. Ive tried doing the bring your own sim using it with the The AT&T Fusion. That phone was garbage. It lagged and froze etc. We then tried the ZTE Merit. The Merit was a step up from the Fusion but still AT&T wasnt cutting it in my area. NOW I have this Galaxy. Im in heaven with this phone compared to the other two.
The phone itself runs WAY smoother than the Fusion or the Merit. The touchscreen is super nice and responsive. There is plenty of internal memory for the few apps that cant be moved to SD. No freezing and taking time to load. Another great thing is that the WiFi doesnt go in and out (happened with the Fusion). The Galaxy camera isnt too bad either. Takes decent pictures in sufficient lighting, I use it for Instagram and quick pics all the time with no complaints.
Now for the service... I cant really judge how its going to be at your location but here where I am and for many others, Verizon is superior to the other carriers. I will never get another phone that runs off any other towers. Even when I have one bar with verizon I can talk on the phone with no problems. Try and talk on the phone with one bar through AT&T and your call gets dropped.
All in all I recommend this phone by far over the other options. We've already ordered another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+397points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KENTUCKY
wont charge after 3 months of use.
Posted 04/15/2013
THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE TRASH IN CELL PHONES, I HAVE OWNED CELLS FOR YEARS THIS WON'T CHARGE PORT WONT' CONNECT, MUST CHARGE VIA OTHER CHARGER. TOUCH SCREEN IS TERRIBLE. I WILL DISCARD AND BUY ANOTHER PHONE AND WILL DEFINITELY NOT BE SAMSUNG. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOU TIME AND MONEY ON THIS PIECE OF TRASH!!!!!!!
-4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

LOVE this phone

06/12/2012
By ,
Chesterfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, an android phone that works in my zip-code! The service is great, runs on Verizon's network. (Only one problem so far, caused by user error, and Straight Talk tech support spent the time with me to work through the problem.) So far, I'm loving it. This phone is easy to navigate and apps easy to download. This phone does everything that the really expensive smart phones do and I'm sure there are things it does that I haven't discovered yet.
I'm not a tech savvy person so the 133 page user manual, download, isn't as helpful to me as it could be. I've had to learn the phone with a lot of trial and error. Still a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+550points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Best pre paid phone in my area.
Posted 06/16/2012
Recently got this phone after returning the starighttalk LG phone using sprint towers. Service is excellent in my area with verizon towers. Phone is faster then LG for same price, has more internal storage and much better battery life over LG. Only complaint i have is no slide out keyboard, hardly a deal breaker when u can use swype. To be fair i blame the LG poor battery life due to fact it was constantly searching for service when i went indoors. I would reccommend this phone to anyone looking to go pre paid.
+16points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I really love this phone.

06/16/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first Android. Seemed like ST was never going to have one that worked on Verizon towers. I have an iPod Touch, so the learning curve was not too steep. Fast internet, lots of features, a lot I still haven't had a chance to check out.
Put a battery-saving app (free) on it right away. And a really cool free app that shows the constellations for where you are looking. Also Gas Buddy.
Anyhow, I'm having a great time with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+485points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
40701
Worst phone!
Posted 03/08/2013
I have owned many cell phones and most were Samsung, this phone has been nothing but trash , from the first day. Rings, and announces text messages, when neither are valid, just a blank screen. Also does not send or receive many text. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER SAMSUNG CELL PHONE PERIOD. This LEMON has weaned me from ever owning another. I have spread the word to all I know who use samsung cells as to this piece of overpriced JUNK!!!!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Garrettsville
Amazing phone!
Posted 11/24/2012
This phone comes with it all! Multi-taking(means you can surf the web while talking or txt while calling), 5 home screens, 3 mega pixil camera. A 3 mega pixil camera is good for me because I am a skateboarder and I need that, This phone is all I need to stay connected anywhere!
0points
Customer Avatar
NC
Kat
Posted 08/16/2012
Where do you find the free battery-saving app? And also the Gas Buddy? Thank you!
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Loving This Smartphone

05/21/2013
By ,
Greenville, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed to upgrade my phone to something better than I had. After much research, I decided to choose the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It was the best phone for the price, and had many useful functions. I am a storm chaser, so I need a smartphone that can run my radar programs, satellite data and much more, in a timely manner. I just got back from intercepting 8 tornadoes in Kansas this past weekend (May 18/19) and this phone worked phenomenally. 3G data, quick browsing, ease of use. Apps load quickly, they work efficiently, and multitasking is a breeze. The only real problem I had was sharing video clips in text messaging. I keep getting an error that the file size is too large when I shoot in full res. Other than that, this phone works like a charm. I love it and would definitely recommend it to someone else. The phone fits in my hand very well. The photo shows one of the tornadoes I intercepted while on the chase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+201points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posted 11/08/2013
I bought this phone and returned it two days later. I have another Straighttalk phone (basic) and wanted to upgrade to a smart phone. I have had no problems with my basic phone for 2.5 years. This phone, for some reason, dropped reception in my kitchen (the other phone had not had that problem) and I only got 2 bars wi fi reception on this phone when my computer in the same areas got 5. And it was slow to connect. Perhaps it's just where I live but I thought a newer phone would have better, or at least , as good, reception. CUSTOMER SERVICE…speak way too fast (located in some other country..all had similar accent) and I had to go through 3 reps, getting the same WRONG answer, one supervisor (also giving same wrong answer…telling me my contact numbers would not transfer. 2 out of 100 contacts did! And the correct answer is that they can if original phone is blue tooth compatible). The next day, when I called to cancel the phone, I got a GREAT supervisor, who spoke slowly , was understanding and actually helped me. And the next rep gave me clear instructions on how to delete my info. also (before returning phone). I found the speaker phone extremely, annoyingly, tinny, which added to my irritation trying to get help from customer service. I'm sorry b/c I do not want to pay high monthly charges, and was very happy with my old flip phone service from Staighttalk, but also need a phone that works and customer reps I can understand and who know what they are doing. Not that I have to know better and persist through 3 or 4 to get a correct answer.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellant for the price

11/17/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome for the price, anyone on a budget and inside of a Verizon service area, this is the phone for you. It has excellent data speeds and very good call quality. The supposed limit for the "unlimited data" is around 2 GB a month (which is a lot!) but i have used much more than that with no service disruption. The only thing i could ask for is a front camera, and the option of stock android (instead of Samsung's "TouchWiz"). I have purchased the extended battery for this phone, which extends the battery by many many hours, along with the app "JuiceDefender" which manages power to get you even more battery life, i have no problem getting several days of use between charges. I have also added the app Go Launcher which replaces the TouchWiz UI and makes the phone very fast and responsive. I have also rooted this phone, which nobody needs to do, but anyone familiar with with the topic, it is very easy to do and lets you back up apps and underclock your phone for more battery.
Well hope this review helps somebody and helps them choose the right android for them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+155points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lavonia, Ga
Thank you
Posted 02/04/2014
Thank you for an excellent review and the extra information on apps, etc. :)
0points
Customer Avatar
NC
Micro Sd card default storage
Posted 12/26/2013
Is there a way to make the SD card he dafault storage on this phone. I did that on a Hauwei, but I can't remember how I did it.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

It's all good

07/25/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I stepped up from a "dumb phone" (Samsung SGH-T401G) and wanted an Android phone but what pushed it over the top was the Verizon coverage.
My previous phone ran off AT&T towers and usually got 1 bar in my house. Not sure if it was the phone and the network or a combination of the two, but call quality wasn't great with the T401G. The other issue with the T401G was sometimes my texts would be delayed for hours -- or even days -- before people got them. I never knew when -- or if -- people were getting my messages.
But it's another story with the Samsung Proclaim. I've had it for about 3 weeks now and would heartily endorse this phone.
Calls are _much_ clearer and overall coverage is better with more bars pretty much everywhere. I carried on a conversation inside a store one day without a hiccup; that blew me away because I could _never_ do that with my old phone.
Text messages seem to arrive and get delivered promptly. My old phone could only handle 200 sent/received messages before I had to delete them. Not sure what the limit is with this phone but I haven't had to remove anything. (I also got an app SMS Backup+ that backs up SMS, MMS, call logs and contacts to your Gmail account, so you can archive them should you delete them.)
The speech-to-text function works well. If you need to send a text but can't type, it'll give three choices of what it thinks you've said and generally gets it right with one of them when you speak clearly. I'm trying out the Skyvi app for that Siri-like experience; so far, so good but haven't done anything too crazy with it.
The speed is another bonus. I can get my home/work e-mail pulled in fairly quickly, especially when connected to wifi. Watching videos on YouTube works fine.
Other perks, using the GPS and the various mapping apps that are available for directions in car and on foot. I don't use my car GPS anymore. Right now I'm favoring the Waze app to help me avoid traffic. Loving it.
Then there are all the tons of paid/free apps that are available on the Google Play site. You can select apps then install them to your phone the website. Mind blowing. Google Play also lists the applications you've installed.
I like to take pictures -- the quality of the camera images is excellent in my opinion -- and share them on Facebook/Instagram. Another cool app is DMD Pano for panoramic shots.
I use DropBox to transfer files between my PC and phone. I have a couple ebook readers (Moon Reader and Aldiko) that are handy for reading while on the train. I use the My Tracks app to keep a log of my runs.
For podcasts, I just found the Podkicker app which lets you subscribe to podcasts and download/stream them. So far, it's been the best iTunes alternative I've found.
There are plenty of good free games as well.
The downside to the phone is the battery does run down much quicker than my old phone, but that's par for the course with most Android phones. I do have a "battery saver" app installed that shuts down certain services to save juice. I can probably go an entire day of moderate use without recharging but just barely. I usually bring my charger with me to plug in while at work. The big energy sucker is the GPS, so I leave it off when I don't need it. I bought a car charger (Rally 7413) to plug the phone in, which I would recommend for other folks.
I would have liked is a forward facing camera for Skype but there are some products like the Vainworks Stand that can fill that void. (I may buy one in the future. Since I got my phone, Skype and games are the only thing I basically use my iTouch for.)
This is the same phone as the Samsung Illusion so if you need a case, that should help. I bought a Body Glove one off Amazon and it's perfect. I also bought a screen protector 3 pack off Amazon as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+174points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Interactive Tutorial for the Samsung Galaxy Procla

06/16/2012
By ,
Auburndale, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone purchasing this phone, go to the web site listed below. It will walk you through anyting you need to do on you phone. It is the best tutorials I have ever seen.
http://tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/net10/home.seam?locale=en_US&deviceId=845&cid=9959068
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+170points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

So it's not an Iphone, but it's 45 per mnth unlmtd

06/30/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got my first smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim! Probably the best $200 I ever spent.
The 3G is plenty fast and on the Verizon Network. The Wi-fi is excellent. Downloaded Facebook, Netflix, my email account, and the YouVersion Bible app and life just got easier without sitting in front of a computer for long periods of time.
This phone is an exact replica of the Samsung Illusion and you will need to buy a case for the Illusion for this phone until they get new cases and screen protectors in the Proclaim name. I got my case from Radio Shack for $7.99 and used the Universal Screen protectors that I cut myself to protect the screen.
This is probably one of the best Smartphone Deals on the market right now. Don't let anybody tell you that "it's a 'Prepaid Smartphone' and it won't be anywhere as good", it's all you will need with no contract and you really will "Feel Richer"!
Here is the link to the Samsung Illusion User Manual because there is not one for the Proclaim yet, same phone.
http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201111/20111118053218033/Verizon_Wireless_SCH-I110_Illusion_English_User_Manual.pdf
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+105points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Adirondack Mountains
Yes, Thankfully it is not an I-Phone
Posted 07/18/2012
Yes, Thankfully it is not an over priced I-Phone with I-Tunes and other proprietary junk.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I actually really Love this phone...

11/01/2013
By ,
NC, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been an Android user for years now, and of all the phones I've had (which I enjoyed), I have to say that this Proclaim has been my favorite.
There is plenty of storage on the actual device that I wouldn't need an SD card - however, since I'm an avid picture-taker, I do keep one in it.
>> The camera does not have a flash - nor does the phone have a LED indicator. Not having a flash for the camera is a bit of a downer, but if you have adequate lighting, the camera does take pretty pictures.
The processor is much speedier than my DROID2 ever was.
>> Battery power has lasted the whole day as long as the GPS is OFF.
With GPS on, it will drain much more quickly.
My girls are 10 and 12 now, and when I finally take the plunge in getting them their own cell phones, I will indeed purchase this phone - or it's newer model, depending on when I get around to the actual purchase.
The speakers have performed pretty well, too. Nice and clear, crisp sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+92points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
help
Posted 12/04/2013
does this phone have the dual camera where u can take front facing pics. I am trying to find a phone for my 15 year old son
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

What a great Phone !!

10/20/2013
By ,
Omaha, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only used a flip phone.. and it worked just fine.. so I was reluctant to upgrade to a smart phone.. (they looked complicated). My grandkids encouraged me to get one.. so I looked at the Walmart straight talk phones / reviews and picked the Samsung Proclaim. I'm 73 years old and this phone just amazes me.. It is so easy to operate and enjoy. In addition to the phone.. I can check the weather, sports scores, stock market and latest news with a couple of touches .. even read a book or watch a movie when waiting for an appointment.. and yet it fits in my pocket !!
Thank you Samsung, Straight Talk and Walmart for having such great product.. and at such an incredibly affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
07/16/2012
By ,
rural arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had many phones and carriers, i started with bell, att, alltel, verizon, then finally straight talk, using the nokia 6790 and my wife had the e71, well this samsung galaxy proclaim with straight talk and verizon towers is the break through for excellent coverage and a very reasonable plan for an android phone on a prepaid carrier, over half the price of major networks contract plans, and still good to excellent coverage, especially in remote areas such as mine in the ozark and boston mountains of rural arkansas, and as for reveiws on battery life, well all phones out there are really close to the same, depends on all the features you run, if you run a lot of features or apps without turning them off, then you will use a lot of battery, but this is with any phone, so be conservative with all that you run on your phone, i hope this helps, i bought this phone off of others reveiws, and glad i did, thanks for those reveiws, great phone, very good service
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+104points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good value; few oddities

06/21/2012
By ,
va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good phone, overall, so far; (Staightalk is a good service; I've had it for over a year, with no failures, such as was the case with my Blackberry, and I'm saving a LOT of money.)
LCD uses most of battery, so set it on low, and set timer to turn phone off for shorter time. Battery life is NOT as long as advertised, according to my experience.
You had better get a car-charger, etc.; I assume the USB cable that comes with it will charge from your computer; haven't fully read the 'lil book.
Concerns:
1. one SMALL button @side for on/off, rather obscure.
2. battery charge-port: no cover; is OPEN, prone to get dirt/moisture; should have cover like most phones, similar to the micro-SD cover.
3. You MUST buy the insurance AT purchase time; can't be added. I SUGGEST YOU BUY, FOR WITH THE OPEN PORT FOR CHARGING, IT IS LIKELY TO FAIL due to dirt/moisture over the months. cost is $39 for 18 months...get it.
4. IF camera is a priority: only 3megapixels, unlike some Samsung with 8MP; video may only be set to a little above 'good'/NO HD, 720p etc....camera is 'outdated' to start with, IF the camera is of importance to you.
5. Camera: no button handy; must use LCD; IF you need a quick shot, NOT so quick.
Panorama feature isn't working on my camera setting, currently; gotta find the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+89points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/09/2013
just so folks know... I have an open port for charging my Blackberry and in over 2 years I've never had problems with moisture and/or debris entering itJ
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone and great service

08/08/2012
By ,
Easley, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first Android Phone and My first time using a prepaid service. I have been on the Verizon Network for Years And was wanting to upgrade to a Smart Phone, but was not willing to pay for the pricing. When I found Out I could get the Verizon Network with this phone for only $45 a month I jumped at the offer. I have had this phone and service for a month now and I have not had any issues. I have had the same signal strength on this phone that I had on my other Verizon phone. Web works great, as well as messaging, no dropped calls yet either. When my wife and kids contracts are up I am switching them as well. My only regret is upgrading their phones and signing contracts to get their phones without researching this option first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

My 1st Android phone

10/20/2013
By ,
Bend, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I have purchased a Straight Talk phone as well as the first time I have bought an android phone.
I did the entire purchase of the phone and plan as well as activated it... ALL ON LINE, it was so easy.
I did my homework on what the best smart phone for my needs, and what service would work for me.
I left another major carrier becasue the rates were to high for me if I wanted a smart phone plus I had to sign a contract. WalMarts' Straight Talk phone are, in my opinion, the best price and the best rate plans out there.
If I had to give a negative, the only thing I can say is:
The phone DOES NOT come with a user manual. It comes with a "Service Guide" book that doesn't give the first time owner of a smart phone enough proper information. I had to hunt on the internet for a 136 page manual and download it to really learn and know the phone...but that's more Samsungs fault than Walmarts.
I have only had it for a week, but love it already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+94points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone on Verizon network!

06/19/2012
By ,
colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was literally on my way to Wally World to get a ST Android phone as it was time to join the Android nation. I checked one more time at ST web-site to see what phones were available at my friend's farm in NE Iowa. before it was strictly the "c" (CDMA, i.e. Verizon) network, of which ST didn't offer any Android phone for. Until now. I talked to an online rep and she indeed said it was a deal with Verizon for this Android model only. SO I bought a Proclaim, took it to the boonies to the farm, and lo, was able to get 3g speeds for e-mail, surfing, etc. This is fantastic. As it's my first Android phone, I'm a bit inexperienced but wow am I loving all this phone can do! I'm even disconnecting my home Comcast wi-fi as this does pretty much everything I need (the rest I can do at work or a hotspot). Phone is solid (I'm a Samsung fan), call quality is great, features like GPS work great, but it does drop calls, esp. if I'm walking and talking. V.v. happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

BAD FIRMWARE

11/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When this phone works, it works great. That is until the firmware (The software that makes the phone parts work ie. microphone, speaker, etc) take a turn for the worse.
This phone has an inherent bug that most of the Samsung Phones of this generation suffered from; however, this one continues to suffer from it. Straight Talk does not update firmware and this phone comes with the original bug filled version.
Do not be surprised if in the middle of the call at anytime, yes anytime as in first few seconds to hours into a call, that the person on the other end can no longer hear you. No it isn't your signal, it is the phone turning it's microphone off.
I have had 3 of these phones after returned 2 of them to straight talk and this is only in the last 5 months. All of the phones have this problem and it is randomly occurring.
If you can deal with this problem, then this phone is a great starter Android phone and does play Netflix and youtube without issue. It works great on the internet and is wifi enabled as well. This does not come with tethering or hotspot as that is against the ToS of Straight Talk.
The phone requires the 45$ unlimited card that IS NOT unlimited internet. You are restricted to 100MB a day and 2GB data a month. This phone works on the Verizon network and was Straight Talk's first Verizon network phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+99points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Hillsboro, OR
Samsung Proclaim 2012
Posted 09/16/2013
I have had this phone for a little more than a year and so far so good with a few niggles but mainly those are "user" mistakes not the company. My phone kept overheating but that was due to me not setting the display timer for an earlier shut off time and I did not set the display to 30% with the automatic dimmer. Otherwise my music system is awesome on this phone although I paid $180 and it is now going for $100 it is worth the money. For what you get the phone is worth it and even though the 3G is hit and miss with connectivity in certain areas it is still a great gaget for the money.
0points
Customer Avatar
Pasadena, Tx
Over the air programming bt Straight Talk
Posted 04/01/2013
If you're having problems with your ST phone(s), dial *22890 for over the air programming. Listen to the recorded message as the phone reprograms itself. Follow directions to restart phone...it works. My phone is a Samsung R375C andruns on Verizon towers. It looks like a blackberry, without a touch screen. Not dropped calls, & I have been with Straight Talk since they first came to Pasadena-La Porte, Tx....4 years. Very satisfied, with one exception, calling 411 is answered by a "robot" which doesn't always recognize / find what a person is asking about.
+1point
Customer Avatar
New England
minor correction
Posted 11/18/2012
Thanks for the informative helpful review.
I just have one minor FYI.
This is ST's first Verizon ANDROID. They've had non-droid CDMA verizon phones for years along with their non-droid GSM AT&T & T-Mo phones.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome Phone

06/17/2012
By ,
East Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome phone. The signal is great. Runs on Verizon. Haven't had any problems. Activation took a couple of hours. Just continue to try the number you were instructed to until phone works. Already used email refill and that took about 12 minutes total. I am very pleased with the phone, service and monthly cost. Can't beat it. I know there is still a lot to learn on this phone, it has so many features. I would definitely recommend!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
1-20 of 967 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  49 Next