Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1165 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,011 out of 1,165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
959 Questions | 2,322 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 161 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Decent Phone for What It Is

01/10/2014
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My spouse and I have both had this model for a little over a year. Neither of us had ever had a smartphone before so we didn't have grandiose expectations as to what it would do. On the whole we've been pleased with both the service and the phones. But if you are coming from a contract carrier and have had an iPhone or uber fancy Andriod phone before, you might be disappointed in this phone. It's not the newest technology on the block. But you are getting what you pay for in this case.
We've each had a few issues with our phones. Sometimes my husband's phone overheats and shuts off. I think that it is because he as a silicone cover for it. Silicone is an insulator which means that traps heat on one side. So the heat of the phone isn't being dissipated like it is designed to do. My theory is that the phone is designed to shut off when the temperature reaches a certain point.
While I'm talking about temperature, I should note that the phone seems to run kind of hot when the 3G is turned on. But 3G also sucks your battery life, so it should be shut off when not in use anyway. I suspect that when my husband's phone randomly shuts off it is because he's left the 3G on (not that he'll admit that though).
My phone has only randomly shut off once or twice but it did randomly de-activate itself one time. I have no explanation for why that happened. In the afternoon I was gleefully chatting in Dallas, then when my flight landed at my home airport the phone had completely "forgotten" who it was (it thought it's phone number of 000-000-0000). I tried rebooting it a bunch of times but it didn't help. I finally called ST customer service who suggested that we re-activate the phone. I was talked through the procedure and suddenly my phone worked! None of my other data (apps, pics, address book, etc) was lost. The phone just forgot its phone number and what network it belonged to. Should it happen again, I'll know exactly what to do and it won't be more than a little hassle and a moderate annoyance.
Those are really the only issues we've had with these phones. They might sound like bad issues but no phone that I ever got from my old contract carrier worked right out of the box the first time either. This is the only phone I've owned in the last 12 years which I haven't had to send back at least once as a defective. That's why I probably give the phone 4 stars in spite of all the trouble we've had.
As for the functionality of the phone. It does what it does fairly well. I can basically do all the things on it that I do with my Kindle Fire or iPod Touch. I wish it had a forward facing camera and a flash for the camera. But for a sixth the price of an iPhone, I'll give up those features. I'd not use them very often anyway. As long as you have sufficient light the camera is pretty good. The call quality is pretty good, although I have had a few bad connections in the last year. The phone operates well with a touch screen protective film (that film actually saved my touch screen once!).
The phone operates on Verizon. The service is much better than when I was with AT&T plus we're getting much more service for our money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 162 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the money!

08/03/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for two weeks. It's a wonderful phone for the price, and you almost can't put a price on the freedom you feel not having to be in a cell phone contract. I've had absolutely no problems with the way it operates, and it has not frozen up even once. Battery life is a little disappointing, as even with minimal use you'll be down to about 30% battery left the end of the day. But that's typical for an Android. Overall, this is the best phone I've ever had for the money spent. It's one of the most worthwhile and useful purchases I've made in the past couple years.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 163 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Do not go with Straight Talk

02/06/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Do not go with straight Talk, buyer beware! Straight Talk has the worst customer service of any carrier I have used. I was on the phone for two hours to activate my phone, number transfer and add my three month phone card. I called on a Friday, went through the series of options, until I got to talk to a real representative. The number transfer was fast, within two hours. I called back a week later to ask a question concerning a prepaid section on the phone where you can check your phone services balance. I was on the phone for an hour. I was transfered to two representatives until I finally got an answer, Straight Talk has no apps or a prepaid section to add cards. The only way to add cards is to go online or call Straight Talk. Good luck calling Straight Talk.
The phone is great with features I have not figured out yet, but in due time. The instruction book that came with the phone is not very good. If you have any questions it is better to look for the answer online. I highly recommend the phone, but go with a different carrier.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 164 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

nice phone

11/14/2012
By ,
Natchitoches, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my wife to replace lost (LG L55C) phone, and she feels it is even better than the old one in terms of functionality and navigation. Thin and light, it still has a nice sized screen and the camera takes decent pics/videos. I would recommend this phone for those unconcerned with having to impress your friends with the "latest" model phone from the trendy company that bears the same name as a fruit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 165 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
01/05/2013
By ,
College Place, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have previously allways had contract phones. We most recently were with verizon. The phones were great and so was the service but the price just is outrageous. We each had the htc thunderbolt which was a great phone. I was reluctant to switch because I didnt think the phone would be that great. I was mistaken The phone is awesome does everything the thunderbolt does for a fraction of the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 166 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
07/25/2012
By ,
Port Charlotte,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good phone, my 1st smart phone. Love the android. Does not work with the barcode app, camera not good enough for that, but everything else works great, no dropped calls on the verizon network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 167 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Very good phone ...

07/22/2012
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is a perfect entry level android phone! It might not have all the bells and whistles of the newest phones out there, but it's perfect for the average user who would like an android phone without a contract! The cell phone reception for making calls is fantastic for me. I haven't had any dropped calls outside of where i used to drop even with verizon as my old provider. Battery life is "ok" ...pretty standard for smart phones. The more you have it on and using it, the faster that battery is going to die. I would say if i'm using the net or playing games and such, i would get about 5-6 hours of battery life. So,it's highly suggested that you invest in a couple extra micro usb power cords. One for the car and one to just keep on you in case you're at a friends house or something and you need a fast charge. I also found all the button placements on the phone to be superb and haven't had the issue where a thumb or finger hits something and kills a call or shuts the phone down, like i've had with other phones. It seems there is always something with a button somewhere that is annoying on phones, but this one was great and i've had zero issues. So far, no lock ups or other goofy things using the operating system either. If you are looking for a no hassle android phone ,look no further. I thought this one was better than the LG Optimus, with the way the screen looked and the way the phone handled, but that's purely my preference. ** Oh and i believe this is the only phone straight talk offers that uses the verizon network for it's 3g service, which is probably why i get great reception most of the time. If you travel a lot, then knowing this up front could be a big boon, because sprint network is kinda meh in a lot of places that aren't close to big cities. Hope this info. helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 168 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrific Cell Phone

02/05/2013
By ,
ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's exactly what we were looking for in a cell phone. Sure, it's not the I-phone, however, for a 60+
couple it's ideal. It has all we want and more! We have nothing negative to say about Straight Talk. When I called to cancel with our previous provider, I had to wait on the phone for 15 minutes. The same complaint we have seen about Straight Talk. When first getting started we had to call them a couple of times, the wait was not unreasonable, and they were very helpful. We paid $45 a month for just talking on the phone with our previous service. Now, we have it all, for $45 a month! We would make the purchase again. Note, there is a difference with provider's (phone lines) on which phone you purchase. We use the Verizon lines, and have absolutely no problems...yet? The map on the outside of the phone package let's you know the phone company.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 169 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice Phone, Straight Talk Service is Lack Luster

11/05/2012
By ,
USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had an issue with straight talk turning off my service, even though the account was up to date and I had auto Pay set up each month to my credit card. They turned off my phone without warning, had to rest my phone and account, and in the process lost any saved voice mail and text messages.
Argh! They apologize, but can do little to help you. And walmart won't trade phone for another after 15 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 170 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice Android smartphone

07/21/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great on the Verizon network, 1ghz processor is fast enough for me, syncs with Outlook using Android-Sync
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 171 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

manufacturer defect

12/27/2013
By ,
Siloam Springs, Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased one of these phones and with in 3 weeks the charger port started goin out and completely went out with in 5 weeks of purchasing it. Straight talk replaced it with the same model and with in a month the charger port went out on it also. Straight talk is replacing them with the Samsung galaxy centra due to a very large amout of returns because of this issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 172 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for a great price and fantastic plan

08/24/2012
By ,
East Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone and it was so easy to start using. I love that it uses Verizon towers. Straight talk and this phone are a great combo. Verizon wanted over $100 to use a smart phone on a simple plan. Straight talk is $45 unlimited use. So glad my contract ran out with Verizon. I am saving sooo much money!!! And I have a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 173 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Samsung Galaxy Proclaim

11/04/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took a little time to get the phone up and running. Should have just called Straighttalk directly rather than registering it online because I'm sure it took a lot longer than necessary! We like the phone. It has a simple design that will hopefully make it easy for my mother in law to use. She seems to like it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 174 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Wow! What a phone!

03/09/2013
By ,
Mt. Carmel, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe this phone is the best phone I've ever had! It is simply amazing! I have been a Straight talk customer since 2008. This is hands down the best model to start with if your like me, and new to the smart phones. This phone is very quick and can easily multi-task on almost every option. The memory and processor are perfect for my day to day life, and the apps I tend to use. The talk to text feature is exciting! Works for the best of us, smart phone rookies! The touch screen is easy to use, and believe it or not, fat finger friendly! All in all, if your looking for, or looking to get a new smart phone, here is the one for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 175 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Would NOT recommend this smartphone!!

11/07/2012
By ,
cheyenne wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Samsung Galazy Proclaim when it first came out early in June 2012. I bought the extended warranty through Walmart (which I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone making a straight talk phone purchase!) The phone worked well for about 3weeks then started making horrible buzzing noises while talking and sometimes losing the call completely even though I had full signal. It also would get really hot while in use and the battery life was almost non-existent. Things only continued to get worse to the point the phone wouldn't hold a charge for more than 4-5hrs even when not in use. The good news was it did come with an SD card so I could back up all of my apps/contact/etc before the phone then decided to not charge at all...I am assuming it was a bad charging port. When I called and spoke to a Straight Talk representative they said I would have to send the phone back to them (two weeks without a phone!!# before they would send me a replacement. Luckily since I had purchased the extended warranty through walmart I will be able to return the phone for a gift card refund #I have yet to do this so I am unable to tell you how smooth the process will be, but the customer service at the time I called them about the problem was excellent!). Overrall this is a TERRIBLE phone for the price and I would NOT recommend this phone. Hope this review helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 176 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
01/26/2013
By ,
Tigard, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this phone. Have had about 2 weeks now. My first smartphone, my kids have been telling me for years now to get one. The plan costs the same as Cricket's "dumb phone" and it's on the Verizon network. To cool. Great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 177 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible service

02/15/2013
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone for daughter for Christmas. Less than 6 weeks after she had it, they deactivated it. They claim it was used for streaming or traffic bumping. She swears up and down that she didn't do anything like that. The only thing we can figure is that she was on the phone for hours at a time talking and they didn't like that. They informed me that the phone was permanently deactivated and we violated their TOS and that was that. She had 45 days prepaid plus $150 for the phone. I've never been so disgusted with a company in my life.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 178 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT phone for the price!!! A+++

02/02/2013
By ,
Piqua,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I switched to the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim from the ZTE Score by Cricket. I ditched the score because the bettary life was HORRIBLE! I have learned that all smart phones typically suck battery quicker than "dumb" phones but only because/if you use alot of apps frequently. On the ZTE Score I was lucky to make it through the work day without my battery going dead and that would consist of heavy texting and checking facebook 2-3 times throughout the day. With the Galaxy proclaim I use it about the same as I did the score and it lasts me until I'm ready to go to bed at night and I plug it in and let it charge all night. Another plus of the Galaxy is the memory! With my ZTE the memory was horrible. I was lucky to get 5 apps downloaded without the "low memory" warning coming on, with the Galaxy I have yet to see a "Low memory" warning and I cant even begin to tell you how many apps I have downloaded and the fact that the Galaxy Proclaim runs on Verizon towers is just the icing on the cake. I would definatley recommend this Android Smartphone to anyone wanting a smart phone on a budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 179 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

DECENT PHONE

01/25/2013
By ,
Coatesville, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'M OLD AND TAKES ME A WHILE TO LEARN, BUT I AM SLOWLY FIGURING IT OUT, IT WILL DO THE JOB FOR ME AND IT DOES HAVE A FEW MORE FEATURES THAN MY LAST PHONE, SO I GUESS I'LL KEEP IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 180 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This Android smart phone is great!!!!

01/15/2013
By ,
Mount Vernon, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used basic cell phones for ever and this is my first smart phone. I had to wait until StraightTalk had an Android powered phone that worked on the Verizon network.
I bought one for my wife at Christmas time, and was so impressed with it that I had to run out and buy one for myself!
This phone is extremely easy to use.
The only complaint that I have, which is not a big deal at all, is that you can not control the volume level and ringtone selection of text messages seperate from other notifications. It groups all notifications together as one single ringtone.
All in all, I give this phone an A+ rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
161-180 of 969 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  7 8 9 10 11  ...  49 Next