Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1163 Reviews) 966
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
321
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation87%1,010 out of 1,163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
321
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 161 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

02/05/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android and I love it. I'm used to the slider keyboard and thought I wouldn't like the touch screen but got used to it quick. I'm really impressed with the voice texting and how accurate it is. I'm really happy with Straight Talk too. I've been with Verizon for years and decided to switch over because they wouldn't give me a deal plus I have friends with straight talk and no problems. This phone still uses the Verizon towers (Sprint not so great I hear) and I'm saving $40 a month which makes up the cost of the phone in a few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 162 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

simple to use and service always avalible

03/01/2014
By ,
bethel pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought one for my 8yr old granddaughter who lives in the mountains and seldom got service but with this phone she always has service also got one for my sister also had service issues not anymore and her 6yr old son loves it he uses it to play games im going to buy my two more for other family members
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 163 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smart Phone if it's your first!

02/18/2014
By ,
Salem, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Smart Phone and I couldn't be happier. It offers all of the basic features that I would need. It is easy to use and navigate. Access to thousands of apps. There are 4 of us in my household that use Straight Talk and we each have this phone and no one has had any complaints. I would definitely recommend this phone to anyone considering an upgrade to a smart phone.
This review has been written as part of a deed for the Straight Talk Rewards Club but all opinions are my own. Please visit straighttalk.fancorps.com to learn more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 164 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone for Great Price!

09/08/2012
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone, to see if I would like to switch from verizon to straight talk. The answer? YES! This phone is amazing, and it goes off verizon towers so it gets service everywhere they do! It even works off the verizon network extender if you have one of those. The phone never freezes and is very fluent, no jagged scrolling. The screen is really bright and crystal clear. The touch sensitive buttons make its seem that much nicer. The internet is really fast and the call quality is superb. BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 165 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Lemon

09/24/2012
By ,
Redding, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had my phone for two months and suddenly one morning it restarted itself and it stopped getting service. I was one the phone with customer care for an hour the second time I called and it was the same, ma'am dial *22890 or *22891 and it just kept saying programming failed. I probably took the battery out 10-12 times for him! Finally he had me factory reset which made me lose all my pictures, etc. The phone still didn't work. He told me I would have to g to Walmart and get a replacement. I still have yet to get new one since Walmart is 2 hours away from me. I guess I paid $45 for service that I'm not even receiving. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 166 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone & works on Verizon network

02/28/2013
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My household has 2 Proclaim phones. Great Verizon coverage, far better than Sprint in my area. Battery life could be an issue if you don't manage it & don't want to charge daily. Shut off wifi, blue tooth & gps when not using those features for starters. No sense having the phone burning battery to keep these going when you aren't using them. I only activate wifi at home & accessing the internet. Only turn on BT in my car. A little effort to turn things off when not in use goes a long way toward longer battery life. I also downloaded Easy Battery Saver app from the Play Store & it optimizes setting to save battery too. Since installing that I can get through a day of light usage & still have 80-90% battery left vs 30-50% before installing it. If you're constantly on the internet, you will wipe out the battery after several hours. For intermittant internet, you should not have issues running out of battery. You could also get an extended battery too for the Proclaim/Illusion for under $25 & I considered doing that until I wised up to turning things off & installed the battery app. The complaint of low memory I saw is unfounded, as you can plug in a 32gb card & have a tons of storage if you set things to go the card. I try to put all apps on the card instead of the phone to keep built in memory available. If you get good Verizon coverage where you use it, I say get this phone. I also got a Skinomi screen protector & Bodyglove case for my phone & am happy with those too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 167 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent phone and service

03/05/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one and have had a very good experience with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 168 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone

03/03/2014
By ,
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great up grade phone. The camera quality is okay but rather difficult to maneuver for self pictures. Great for talking and texting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 169 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Lousy battery

10/15/2013
By ,
Southport, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Phone is nice. Very easy to navigate through. Only pitfall is battery life. It's not what was advertised. I hardly do anything but talk and text (limited on both talk and text) and the battery dies down very quickly. Even when left on all night with no apps opened the battery drained down to 1 bar by morning. Other than that, I would recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 170 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

03/05/2014
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome phone!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 171 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Terible battery life, and I knew going in, however

11/10/2012
By ,
Cadiz, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Android for pre-paid customers on Straight Talk that prefer Verizon. I read all the reviews before purchasing, and when it hit $150, I jumped on it. Im an experienced eBayer and they are selling used for that! Almost all reviews said the battery was an issue, and I even went through a tutorial to learn to manage the apps...however with NO apps installed other than what came installed...and after charging the battery for 5 hours per instructions, I was nearly dead after 3 hours just talking. Other than that, even a non-techie like me finds it easy to use. I do wish I didnt have to keep hitting the on-off button after the power-saving 15 second "display on."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 172 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Deal!

09/28/2012
By ,
Asheboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been paying 160 a month for myself and my husband with one smart phone and one dummy phone thru verizon wireless. Now we have 2 smart phones and pay 45 a piece a month (90 together) with 2 smart phones and this particular phone runs off verizon service. I live literally in the middle of no where and can still make a call, have 3G and text as much as I would like. You cant beat this deal. I love the android service and this phone is great! Def a keeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 173 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect!!!!

09/15/2012
By ,
Union City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Phone, I Recommend this to everyone. It is not only user friendly, but does everything I need it for and more. I have my schedule, E-mail, Camera, Voice Recognition and with the apps I even have my Grocery list It has everything at the palm of my hand!! I was surprised with the quality for the money. I was considering going to a contract and getting the Iphone. Not even a suggestion anymore. Don't want it. This phone is perfect. I live in a limited reception ( Very Limited) area and have had NO issues with service at all. The best part is I get unlimited service with no contract and an AWESOME phone. The only down side I see about this phone is the battery life. I use my phone all day long and I do need to charge it every nite. I could save some energy by limiting the back round light and others settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 174 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent value for price

01/02/2014
By ,
Lexington, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for my wife after her prior Straight Talk phone had many frustrating OS freeze and stalls requiring frequent rebooting. She has had no problem with this phone. It was easy to transfer the phone number to this phone and activation was quick. The phone handles basic phone functions well and also does Facebook and Youtube fine. You may want a phone with more memory if taking a lot of pictures or video, or if installing a lot of memory greedy apps.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 175 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

TERRIBLE PHONE

01/02/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone because I wanted a smartphone without paying the Verizon price. I typed texts that were "pending" and not sent until the next day. I was sent texts that I received days later, if at all. I had to charge the battery AT LEAST once a day. All I used the phone for was a few phone calls, 6-7 texts a day max, and I checked Facebook, my email and The Weather Channel. I had the screen brightness turned up half way but it kept going back to the lowest setting. Even though it was my secondary phone, I couldn't rely on it. I don't know if I got a lemon but I'll be much happier after it's returned. I hope WalMart doesn't give me a problem. Only had it a week. I guess it's true that you get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 176 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

A straight Talk must buy.

09/01/2012
By ,
Blackfoot ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dont waste your money on other Straight Talk phones. The samsung battery is a great performer. Too many features to name with this phone. It will take you weeks to discover all of the features. Great Ringtones and text features. It has Swype and auto correct. The most impressive feature on this phone is the voice command. Samsung knocked it out of the park with this feature. It will dial the number you tell it to. The voice command will text your messages for you, and its accurate. However if you talk like an alligator hunter it could be challenged :-) Luv that show.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 177 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Worked good at first.

03/28/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first couple weeks I didn't have any problems with the phone. Everything works as expected/advertised. Around 35 days after my purchase the gps stopped working. The only way to fix it was to turn the phone off and back on, which didn't always work. Tried resetting to default and several apps that supposedly could fix gps problems, neither worked.
Couple weeks later the mobile data stopped working. Tried turning off/on, resetting, and finally a factory reset, nothing worked. Phone might as well be a brick now as I only used it for the data.
Samsung offers no support for this phone regardless of the warrenty. The phone numbers on their website are bogus, and the email forms won't even let you put this model in as an option. I will not buy anything from samsung again. Big waste of money and effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DC
Posted 04/02/2013
IT IS NOT THE PHONE ,IT IS STRAIGHT TALK DATA MR..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 178 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Verizon service plus a decent phone

02/06/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Samsung Galaxy Nexus before this phone. The larger screen was nice but the larger size made it a hassle to carry. This phone works well, internet is slower than 4G but still okay, and the screen is brighter without sacrificing battery life.
I'm 100% satisfied and have had it for a couple months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 179 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

02/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product/plan has the worst customer service! When you finally get to speak with someone they are very little help. They can not even tell you what your new phone number is if you make a number change. If you request a supervisor it takes over 30 minutes IF you are lucky to even talk with someone. Seriously considering getting a plan where I can talk with someone when I have questions. Sometimes cheaper is not better!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 180 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great value but some apps don't work.

08/21/2012
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic purchase for people on a budget who want a loaded smartphone and no-contract service. The only drawback I have found so far is lack of autofocus on camera so it cannot scan QR codes and barcodes. I installed about 10 different QR code and barcodes reader apps but none worked because the camera could not autofocus to the point where the picture was crisp enough for the app to pick up the QR and barcodes. Also, the camera has no flash. Other than that it's a GREAT value and I have lots of different apps installed that work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
161-180 of 967 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  7 8 9 10 11  ...  49 Next