Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1168 Reviews) 971
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,014 out of 1,168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
963 Questions | 2,334 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Works good on the "can you hear me now?" network

01/19/2013
By ,
Richmond, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works with america's best network and I have signal at my house in the boondocks. A few little modifications and this little phone works great. DOES NOT SUPPORT WIFI TETHER MODE. Unless your are a very techy person, you will not be able to tether your laptop or tablet to this phone via WiFi to share the 3g data connection. (you can share it via bluetooth or USB simple enough). It took me awhile to figure out how to gain root and administrative rights which allowed me to open up wifi tether functionality and a little more system control (my phone now can go 24hrs between charges as long as I am not tethering).
Anyhow, over all a very good phone after you work some bugs out.
BTW, will you please fix the advertisement Wal-Mart
"The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor. "
Just cut and paste.
"The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GB Internal Memory"
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Value

03/28/2013
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a great phone for the money, but it lacks a few features that I had on my other phone. THIS REVIEW IS JUST MY OPINION.
I like to store "quick texts" so I don't have to type them every time, and if it has this feature, I can't find it. I have not seen anything about it in the manual so I guess it doesn't.
Also, it is hard to push the letters and numbers with your finger when texting. I make way too many mistakes, but it can be set for automatic corrections. It knows what you may type next and gives suggestions. When you do make a mistake, you have to use your finger to put the curser on the word(s) you are trying to correct, and if you are not real careful, it will bring up a menu instead of putting the curser on the word. It is VERY SENSITIVE to the touch. A little too sensitive in my opinion. But enough with my negative opinions. You can't find a phone with these features for the price. Over all, I recommend it, but plan on spending some time to learn how to use it efficiently. Here is a great link that has an excellent VISUAL tutorial. http://tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/straighttalk/home.seam?locale=en_US&deviceId=852&cid=776102 . Just copy it and paste and you may learn some things.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

My 1st smart phone, I bought 2 of these

02/21/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Over all both phones work pretty well except when the screen won't go upright from being on it's side. I have to tap the phone a lot to get it to go the right direction. I bought 32 GB (class 10) memory cards for them so I can put MP3s on the phones. It's easy to transfer the music files from my PC to the phone. It plays the music pretty well so it's like a portable MP3 player too. I have to charge it at least twice daily even when not using the phone so don't believe what they tell you about how many standby hours it gives you. I found some nice, free apps on Google Play including a free virus scanner which I advise you to get. Get yourself a better charger than the one that comes with the phone. I found one on eBay for a couple bucks. I am however able to charge this phone with the supplied charger cord by plugging it in my USB port on my PC. That's also how I transfer music files.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome!!!!

01/24/2013
By ,
woodville,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these phone for my husband and when wegot my daughter loved it also and she went and bought her onee. Our biggest thing isit run off of verizon towers has most of straight talks phone run off of AT&T which doesn't get service in our area . But love the phone would recommend it :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Best phone I've ever had.

07/06/2012
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smartphone, easy to set up, easy to use, great sound clarity, very good download speeds, what more could one want? Go to the android store and start setting up the apps you may need, it is compatible with the vast majority of apps there, and they make the phone far more palatable. I've adjusted how I pick up calls, downloaded a different keyboard, have dozens of apps ranging from camera apps to Office apps (you can open any office document on this phone), to adobe, to youtube... the list goes on and on.. I can download a book from project gutenberg for free, and start reading it in minutes. This is one heck of a device, and it performs nearly flawlessly. Get a car charger, and get an additional charger for your office, battery life is mediocre, but can readily be lived with... Also, buy a screen protector, everything is on the touch screen, and it will scratch up fairly fast without it. Finally, I purchased a 32GB SD card, so I can install anything I want on the phone... with all the apps, I can open 100% of the files I have on my primary computer drive, so the large SD card is essential to make this phone fly... Love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone.

09/06/2012
By ,
Anderson, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reception is GREAT!! I love that it works off the Verizon Towers. My last phone was the LG Optimus Q and I loved it except I didn't get good reception because it used the Sprint towers. I had to get used to not having a slide out keyboard for the Proclaim but love, love, love it. I found a Black Silicone Skin Case CASE-SAMS720BKS For Samsung illusion /i110, Galaxy Proclaim /
s720c from cellphoneshop.net for only $2.99.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Lemon

09/24/2012
By ,
Redding, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had my phone for two months and suddenly one morning it restarted itself and it stopped getting service. I was one the phone with customer care for an hour the second time I called and it was the same, ma'am dial *22890 or *22891 and it just kept saying programming failed. I probably took the battery out 10-12 times for him! Finally he had me factory reset which made me lose all my pictures, etc. The phone still didn't work. He told me I would have to g to Walmart and get a replacement. I still have yet to get new one since Walmart is 2 hours away from me. I guess I paid $45 for service that I'm not even receiving. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good entry level droid

10/20/2012
By ,
Earth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has the features one would expect with android phone. Lots of apps. Decent build quality, but terrible battery life if using it more than just talking/texting. Will not last more than 4 hrs if used online very much. Using Verizon network seems OK. A basic feature missing is a visual in a blinking icon or light that you have a missed call, or text. After I purchased they rolled the price back 30 bux a couple of weeks past the 7 day price match. I think Walmart should have a better price protection than 7 days !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the $

12/12/2013
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this phone for our daughter as she dropped her old Verizon prepaid in the loo. She loved her qwerty, but as this smart phone was so reasonable she decided to give it a try. Short story, she loves it. She loves that she can talk her texts (BTW it bleeps her inappropriate words - she thought that was extraordinarily funny) and it only took her minutes to manually switch over her contact info. She figured out how to get her music on there now and is very adept with the phone - it is very intuitive and easy to navigate. We did get the $12 protection plan - and hope not to use it. We are using Straight Talk with unlimited everything for just under $50/mo and highly recommend that plan. It was easy to purchase, delivered over the Internet and though I had trouble initiating the plan online, I got a message that the phone didn't work in our area (when I ordered the phone it said it did). Anyway, a quick phone call to ST and a super freindly and helpful fellow, John w/ a middle eastern accent, took care of everything. From there, less than a minute later I heard a shout from upstairs as DD's phone stopped working. I told her to turn off her new phone and turn it back on, as instructed by John, and walah, phone worked - with her old #. Awesome. Note, also that DD is convinced that her Galaxy is far superior to my iPhone 4, which is also on the ST plan - and I've had zero trouble a year in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone for Great Price!

09/08/2012
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone, to see if I would like to switch from verizon to straight talk. The answer? YES! This phone is amazing, and it goes off verizon towers so it gets service everywhere they do! It even works off the verizon network extender if you have one of those. The phone never freezes and is very fluent, no jagged scrolling. The screen is really bright and crystal clear. The touch sensitive buttons make its seem that much nicer. The internet is really fast and the call quality is superb. BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Value Save Some Money

02/14/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a while to make the decision to buy the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim but now that I have it running I am really glad that I did. When my phone first arrived I could not get it to start up. After playing with it for a few hours (I am a male of course I did not call customer service) I was able to get it to start up by holding down the volume button and the start up button at the same time. I accepted the next screen that came up (I do not recall what it was now) and after a few minutes it started to go through start up process and it has been running ever since.
I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who is interested, I am glad I have mine and really use the e-mail features it has and younger kids love all the games you can download.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Deal

02/15/2013
By ,
Marietta, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone is very easy to set up and figure out. Just takes playing around with it for a while. I had to order it online because every store within like 50 miles was 'out of stock' in store. It's a nice phone for the price. The only thing I don't like about this phone is the camera. It doesn't take the best of pictures in low light, and it has no flash.. or front facing camera.. but, that's okay. :) It's easy to connect to Wifi and the 3G is pretty quick. I live out in the sticks in upstate SC. Verizon is THE only service that picks up out here. It's not the "top of the line", but it's still very nice and I love it. :) Very pleased. God Bless Y'all & Go Clemson!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Deal!

09/28/2012
By ,
Asheboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been paying 160 a month for myself and my husband with one smart phone and one dummy phone thru verizon wireless. Now we have 2 smart phones and pay 45 a piece a month (90 together) with 2 smart phones and this particular phone runs off verizon service. I live literally in the middle of no where and can still make a call, have 3G and text as much as I would like. You cant beat this deal. I love the android service and this phone is great! Def a keeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I'm very happy with this phone.

12/21/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Note that this is my first "smart" phone and I have only previously used flip phones, mainly for their durability.
I have been using this phone for 3 weeks now and am very pleased with it, it does all I need it to do and is pretty user friendly. I haven't yet looked at the manual but I feel pretty good about using most of the options that this phone provides. I really like the speech to text feature and most of the time it understands my deep southern accent LOL. I have dropped it twice so far with no protective case on it and it's still working so I'd say it's probably a durable phone but only time will tell.
If you're like me and upgrading from an older style phone I'm certain you'll love it. If you've had more advanced phones than this model then I don't know what you'll think of it.
My only complain is the battery life. It lasts me all day when charging every night so no huge deal but I was used to charging my flip phone once every 4th or 5th night. I didn't de-rate this phone because of this as I'm sure it's typical to all the new "smart" devices as they're doing so much more than the older "dumb" phones are doing.
I’ve not played games on it or watched videos so I can’t elaborate on those uses on this phone but I’ve so far used it to check e-mail, look up things on the web, check the weather and play Pandora radio which I’m loving that internet radio LOL. My Ipod has taken a back burner now with this new phone and Pandora radio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect!!!!

09/15/2012
By ,
Union City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Phone, I Recommend this to everyone. It is not only user friendly, but does everything I need it for and more. I have my schedule, E-mail, Camera, Voice Recognition and with the apps I even have my Grocery list It has everything at the palm of my hand!! I was surprised with the quality for the money. I was considering going to a contract and getting the Iphone. Not even a suggestion anymore. Don't want it. This phone is perfect. I live in a limited reception ( Very Limited) area and have had NO issues with service at all. The best part is I get unlimited service with no contract and an AWESOME phone. The only down side I see about this phone is the battery life. I use my phone all day long and I do need to charge it every nite. I could save some energy by limiting the back round light and others settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone! Would recommend

01/23/2013
By ,
knoxville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Straight Talk Galaxy Precedent phone and was pleased with it but unfortunately I lost the phone a few days ago. Decided to try another phone just in case the old phone does show up and I don't have two of the same kind. So far, I have only had this phone two days but am delighted with
my purchase. This phone uses Verizon cell towers and so far I have have very good reception.
Very few Straight Talk phones uses Verizon--many use Sprint towers. I would recommend this phone. Check what carriers are predominate in the area in which you will use phone the most.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

A straight Talk must buy.

09/01/2012
By ,
Blackfoot ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dont waste your money on other Straight Talk phones. The samsung battery is a great performer. Too many features to name with this phone. It will take you weeks to discover all of the features. Great Ringtones and text features. It has Swype and auto correct. The most impressive feature on this phone is the voice command. Samsung knocked it out of the park with this feature. It will dial the number you tell it to. The voice command will text your messages for you, and its accurate. However if you talk like an alligator hunter it could be challenged :-) Luv that show.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Terible battery life, and I knew going in, however

11/10/2012
By ,
Cadiz, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Android for pre-paid customers on Straight Talk that prefer Verizon. I read all the reviews before purchasing, and when it hit $150, I jumped on it. Im an experienced eBayer and they are selling used for that! Almost all reviews said the battery was an issue, and I even went through a tutorial to learn to manage the apps...however with NO apps installed other than what came installed...and after charging the battery for 5 hours per instructions, I was nearly dead after 3 hours just talking. Other than that, even a non-techie like me finds it easy to use. I do wish I didnt have to keep hitting the on-off button after the power-saving 15 second "display on."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

02/05/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android and I love it. I'm used to the slider keyboard and thought I wouldn't like the touch screen but got used to it quick. I'm really impressed with the voice texting and how accurate it is. I'm really happy with Straight Talk too. I've been with Verizon for years and decided to switch over because they wouldn't give me a deal plus I have friends with straight talk and no problems. This phone still uses the Verizon towers (Sprint not so great I hear) and I'm saving $40 a month which makes up the cost of the phone in a few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great value but some apps don't work.

08/21/2012
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic purchase for people on a budget who want a loaded smartphone and no-contract service. The only drawback I have found so far is lack of autofocus on camera so it cannot scan QR codes and barcodes. I installed about 10 different QR code and barcodes reader apps but none worked because the camera could not autofocus to the point where the picture was crisp enough for the app to pick up the QR and barcodes. Also, the camera has no flash. Other than that it's a GREAT value and I have lots of different apps installed that work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 972 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  49 Next