Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1168 Reviews) 971
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,014 out of 1,168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome!!!!

01/24/2013
By ,
woodville,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these phone for my husband and when wegot my daughter loved it also and she went and bought her onee. Our biggest thing isit run off of verizon towers has most of straight talks phone run off of AT&T which doesn't get service in our area . But love the phone would recommend it :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 122 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Best phone I've ever had.

07/06/2012
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smartphone, easy to set up, easy to use, great sound clarity, very good download speeds, what more could one want? Go to the android store and start setting up the apps you may need, it is compatible with the vast majority of apps there, and they make the phone far more palatable. I've adjusted how I pick up calls, downloaded a different keyboard, have dozens of apps ranging from camera apps to Office apps (you can open any office document on this phone), to adobe, to youtube... the list goes on and on.. I can download a book from project gutenberg for free, and start reading it in minutes. This is one heck of a device, and it performs nearly flawlessly. Get a car charger, and get an additional charger for your office, battery life is mediocre, but can readily be lived with... Also, buy a screen protector, everything is on the touch screen, and it will scratch up fairly fast without it. Finally, I purchased a 32GB SD card, so I can install anything I want on the phone... with all the apps, I can open 100% of the files I have on my primary computer drive, so the large SD card is essential to make this phone fly... Love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 123 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone.

09/06/2012
By ,
Anderson, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reception is GREAT!! I love that it works off the Verizon Towers. My last phone was the LG Optimus Q and I loved it except I didn't get good reception because it used the Sprint towers. I had to get used to not having a slide out keyboard for the Proclaim but love, love, love it. I found a Black Silicone Skin Case CASE-SAMS720BKS For Samsung illusion /i110, Galaxy Proclaim /
s720c from cellphoneshop.net for only $2.99.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 124 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Lemon

09/24/2012
By ,
Redding, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had my phone for two months and suddenly one morning it restarted itself and it stopped getting service. I was one the phone with customer care for an hour the second time I called and it was the same, ma'am dial *22890 or *22891 and it just kept saying programming failed. I probably took the battery out 10-12 times for him! Finally he had me factory reset which made me lose all my pictures, etc. The phone still didn't work. He told me I would have to g to Walmart and get a replacement. I still have yet to get new one since Walmart is 2 hours away from me. I guess I paid $45 for service that I'm not even receiving. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 125 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good entry level droid

10/20/2012
By ,
Earth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has the features one would expect with android phone. Lots of apps. Decent build quality, but terrible battery life if using it more than just talking/texting. Will not last more than 4 hrs if used online very much. Using Verizon network seems OK. A basic feature missing is a visual in a blinking icon or light that you have a missed call, or text. After I purchased they rolled the price back 30 bux a couple of weeks past the 7 day price match. I think Walmart should have a better price protection than 7 days !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 126 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone for Great Price!

09/08/2012
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone, to see if I would like to switch from verizon to straight talk. The answer? YES! This phone is amazing, and it goes off verizon towers so it gets service everywhere they do! It even works off the verizon network extender if you have one of those. The phone never freezes and is very fluent, no jagged scrolling. The screen is really bright and crystal clear. The touch sensitive buttons make its seem that much nicer. The internet is really fast and the call quality is superb. BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 127 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Value Save Some Money

02/14/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a while to make the decision to buy the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim but now that I have it running I am really glad that I did. When my phone first arrived I could not get it to start up. After playing with it for a few hours (I am a male of course I did not call customer service) I was able to get it to start up by holding down the volume button and the start up button at the same time. I accepted the next screen that came up (I do not recall what it was now) and after a few minutes it started to go through start up process and it has been running ever since.
I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who is interested, I am glad I have mine and really use the e-mail features it has and younger kids love all the games you can download.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 128 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Deal!

09/28/2012
By ,
Asheboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been paying 160 a month for myself and my husband with one smart phone and one dummy phone thru verizon wireless. Now we have 2 smart phones and pay 45 a piece a month (90 together) with 2 smart phones and this particular phone runs off verizon service. I live literally in the middle of no where and can still make a call, have 3G and text as much as I would like. You cant beat this deal. I love the android service and this phone is great! Def a keeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 129 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect!!!!

09/15/2012
By ,
Union City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Phone, I Recommend this to everyone. It is not only user friendly, but does everything I need it for and more. I have my schedule, E-mail, Camera, Voice Recognition and with the apps I even have my Grocery list It has everything at the palm of my hand!! I was surprised with the quality for the money. I was considering going to a contract and getting the Iphone. Not even a suggestion anymore. Don't want it. This phone is perfect. I live in a limited reception ( Very Limited) area and have had NO issues with service at all. The best part is I get unlimited service with no contract and an AWESOME phone. The only down side I see about this phone is the battery life. I use my phone all day long and I do need to charge it every nite. I could save some energy by limiting the back round light and others settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 130 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Deal

02/15/2013
By ,
Marietta, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone is very easy to set up and figure out. Just takes playing around with it for a while. I had to order it online because every store within like 50 miles was 'out of stock' in store. It's a nice phone for the price. The only thing I don't like about this phone is the camera. It doesn't take the best of pictures in low light, and it has no flash.. or front facing camera.. but, that's okay. :) It's easy to connect to Wifi and the 3G is pretty quick. I live out in the sticks in upstate SC. Verizon is THE only service that picks up out here. It's not the "top of the line", but it's still very nice and I love it. :) Very pleased. God Bless Y'all & Go Clemson!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 131 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

A straight Talk must buy.

09/01/2012
By ,
Blackfoot ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dont waste your money on other Straight Talk phones. The samsung battery is a great performer. Too many features to name with this phone. It will take you weeks to discover all of the features. Great Ringtones and text features. It has Swype and auto correct. The most impressive feature on this phone is the voice command. Samsung knocked it out of the park with this feature. It will dial the number you tell it to. The voice command will text your messages for you, and its accurate. However if you talk like an alligator hunter it could be challenged :-) Luv that show.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 132 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone! Would recommend

01/23/2013
By ,
knoxville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Straight Talk Galaxy Precedent phone and was pleased with it but unfortunately I lost the phone a few days ago. Decided to try another phone just in case the old phone does show up and I don't have two of the same kind. So far, I have only had this phone two days but am delighted with
my purchase. This phone uses Verizon cell towers and so far I have have very good reception.
Very few Straight Talk phones uses Verizon--many use Sprint towers. I would recommend this phone. Check what carriers are predominate in the area in which you will use phone the most.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 133 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Terible battery life, and I knew going in, however

11/10/2012
By ,
Cadiz, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Android for pre-paid customers on Straight Talk that prefer Verizon. I read all the reviews before purchasing, and when it hit $150, I jumped on it. Im an experienced eBayer and they are selling used for that! Almost all reviews said the battery was an issue, and I even went through a tutorial to learn to manage the apps...however with NO apps installed other than what came installed...and after charging the battery for 5 hours per instructions, I was nearly dead after 3 hours just talking. Other than that, even a non-techie like me finds it easy to use. I do wish I didnt have to keep hitting the on-off button after the power-saving 15 second "display on."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 134 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

02/05/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android and I love it. I'm used to the slider keyboard and thought I wouldn't like the touch screen but got used to it quick. I'm really impressed with the voice texting and how accurate it is. I'm really happy with Straight Talk too. I've been with Verizon for years and decided to switch over because they wouldn't give me a deal plus I have friends with straight talk and no problems. This phone still uses the Verizon towers (Sprint not so great I hear) and I'm saving $40 a month which makes up the cost of the phone in a few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 135 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great value but some apps don't work.

08/21/2012
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fantastic purchase for people on a budget who want a loaded smartphone and no-contract service. The only drawback I have found so far is lack of autofocus on camera so it cannot scan QR codes and barcodes. I installed about 10 different QR code and barcodes reader apps but none worked because the camera could not autofocus to the point where the picture was crisp enough for the app to pick up the QR and barcodes. Also, the camera has no flash. Other than that it's a GREAT value and I have lots of different apps installed that work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 136 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent phone in the VZ net @ 1/2 the cost

08/04/2012
By ,
East side of Columbus, Ohio suburb
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me start by saying that this is the first "smart" phone that I have owned.
The phone is an EXCELLENT VALUE!!!
You get the Verizion Network and if you buy the $45.00 per month plan with unlimited talk, text and web you get the the same service and network at 1/2 the price Verizion charges. My wife and I just left Verizion after being a loyal customer since 2001.
With trial and error I have learned how to use most of the features of the phone, but, with out a doubt the best feature is the "talk to text" feature. You can speak what you want to text and the voice recognition feature on the phone will type the text for you.
The functions are easy to use. The battery life seems to be good depending on how many applications are open. The camera and "sharing" of pics to text or email is easy to use and the clarity of the photos is good as well.
Customer service at Straight Talk is a bit slow, but, my momma said patience is a virtue. Once I got through to CS they are very helpful and resolved any ?'s I had.
The phone was not available in my home town and I drove nearly 100 miles (round trip) to purchase the phone and am happy i did.
I would VERY HIGHLY recommend this phone !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Indiana
post doesn't make sense
Posted 10/30/2012
it you love this ph so much then why only rated one star????? confused here!
+16points
Customer Avatar
Clarksville, TN
Great Review but why one star?
Posted 08/15/2012
Great review but why one star?
+27points
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, FL
One Star?
Posted 08/06/2012
If you like and recommend it as an excellent value, then why did you only give it one star?
+27points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 137 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone & works on Verizon network

02/28/2013
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My household has 2 Proclaim phones. Great Verizon coverage, far better than Sprint in my area. Battery life could be an issue if you don't manage it & don't want to charge daily. Shut off wifi, blue tooth & gps when not using those features for starters. No sense having the phone burning battery to keep these going when you aren't using them. I only activate wifi at home & accessing the internet. Only turn on BT in my car. A little effort to turn things off when not in use goes a long way toward longer battery life. I also downloaded Easy Battery Saver app from the Play Store & it optimizes setting to save battery too. Since installing that I can get through a day of light usage & still have 80-90% battery left vs 30-50% before installing it. If you're constantly on the internet, you will wipe out the battery after several hours. For intermittant internet, you should not have issues running out of battery. You could also get an extended battery too for the Proclaim/Illusion for under $25 & I considered doing that until I wised up to turning things off & installed the battery app. The complaint of low memory I saw is unfounded, as you can plug in a 32gb card & have a tons of storage if you set things to go the card. I try to put all apps on the card instead of the phone to keep built in memory available. If you get good Verizon coverage where you use it, I say get this phone. I also got a Skinomi screen protector & Bodyglove case for my phone & am happy with those too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 138 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Can't beat it for the price!

09/26/2012
By ,
Divine Corners, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, completely satisfied with this phone. It's one of the best you can get with a prepaid cell phone plan.
3G is plenty fast enough and Wifi works great as well. The only slight pain in the neck
is the typical Samsung "incremental ringtone". You can set your ringtone at max volume but it will start at half volume for the first 2 seconds before jumping up to full. Several of their phones have the same "feature"....if you can call it that. It's supposedly to prevent the sudden loud burst of sound. That's fine, but they should have the option of defeating that if the user wishes to.
Other than that, nothing to complain about. It works with Verizon cell towers...so the signal remains strong in rural areas. Overall an excellent value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 139 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the $

12/12/2013
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this phone for our daughter as she dropped her old Verizon prepaid in the loo. She loved her qwerty, but as this smart phone was so reasonable she decided to give it a try. Short story, she loves it. She loves that she can talk her texts (BTW it bleeps her inappropriate words - she thought that was extraordinarily funny) and it only took her minutes to manually switch over her contact info. She figured out how to get her music on there now and is very adept with the phone - it is very intuitive and easy to navigate. We did get the $12 protection plan - and hope not to use it. We are using Straight Talk with unlimited everything for just under $50/mo and highly recommend that plan. It was easy to purchase, delivered over the Internet and though I had trouble initiating the plan online, I got a message that the phone didn't work in our area (when I ordered the phone it said it did). Anyway, a quick phone call to ST and a super freindly and helpful fellow, John w/ a middle eastern accent, took care of everything. From there, less than a minute later I heard a shout from upstairs as DD's phone stopped working. I told her to turn off her new phone and turn it back on, as instructed by John, and walah, phone worked - with her old #. Awesome. Note, also that DD is convinced that her Galaxy is far superior to my iPhone 4, which is also on the ST plan - and I've had zero trouble a year in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 140 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I love this phone!

10/11/2012
By ,
Picayune, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Samsung Proclaim! I cannot believe that I have finally found a phone that does virtually everything an I-phone does, without the contract and high pricing. The Proclaim is easy to set up, easy to use, and gets great service, all for 45 dollars a month! The only negative thing I have to say about this product is that if you leave the wi-fi and bluetooth on, the battery will go down quickly. I have heard that a longer-lasting battery can be purchased, but I have not looked into that yet. I was afraid to buy at first, but since my husband has been yearning for a smart phone, I bought two for anniversary gifts for us, and we both love them. Thanks Wal-mart, and Samsung, for a great phone at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
121-140 of 972 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  49 Next