Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1163 Reviews) 966
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
321
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation87%1,010 out of 1,163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
321
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Everything you need in a phone, w/o the high price

07/16/2012
By ,
Glen Allen, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first discovered straighttalk 2 years ago I was thrilled to get a prepaid phone which ran on Verizon's network (I travel around the state a lot for my job and Verizon is the only way to get it done). I also loved that I had the choice between $30 or $45 each month depending on my needs, I found that $30 was "all I needed" in those days. When ST started coming out with Android based smartphones I was excited, until I learned that they were running on AT&T or Sprint. Neither of those networks would suit my needs, so I stuck with my "high school dropout" Verizon based phone (still a great phone, full keyboard and everything). When I learned that ST had a new Verizon based droid, I drove the the nearest Walmart that had one in stock and bought it. Just to make sure I didn't activate it right away, I carried it for a couple of days alongside my old trusty, and at every turn it had as good (sometimes better) signal on the screen. I finally accepted that it was going to work, so I switched the number to the new phone. I did have to switch to the $45 plan, but IMO it is worth it. I don't regret it for a minute. I went and got a screen protector and a case for it right away. It does everything a Droid should do, it meets my needs and exceeds my expectations. It does all of this for $45/month and NO contract (I got so fed up with the contracts, their restrictions, early termination, and misleading details). What that means is that if something better comes along (though I doubt it will) I can leave whenever I choose. One more thing, a lot of people complain about ST customer service, I just don't get it. The number transfer was almost instantaneous, a couple days later it got "knocked off" because that was the original service end date (I switched the phone number a few days early). One quick call to ST (well two, the first time I got knocked out of queue) and the lady on the phone was able to get me up and running. Definitely get a battery saving app though, it will help you out a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 122 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

WOW WHAT A DEAL AND WHAT A SAVINGS.....

08/28/2012
By ,
Placerville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and and my wife have been with one of the top 2 carriers for years and with gas prices and food proces going up and up we looked to make budget cuts and the cell phones was one that we thought would have to go forsure, but thanks to Walmart we are still chatting and on top of that we are using the internet unlimited and using 411 unlimited and texting and talking for $45 per phone a month wow what a deal. Our phone bill with Verizon was $215 a month and that droped to $90 a month with no contract and we owned the phone we may not have a I phone but I would rather eat and pur gas in the car that play with my I phone or Droid plus the Samsung phone I have is faster than most of my friends phones most of my friends are with Straight Talk now. I asked a Verizon customer service agent about the towers from Straight Talk being Verizon and he told me that yes there were Straight Talk used Verizon towers I asked what was the difference and he said that you pay for better custormer service when you call in and that was it we left Verizon and have not looked back and now we can eat out and fill up our tank and go grocery shopping thanks to Straight Talk. Thanks for the savings STRAIGHT TALK ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 123 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!! Buy it from Wal-Mart though!!

08/20/2012
By ,
Winder GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome!! we 1st bought the Straight talk Galaxy Presedent and that was a huge mistake! So we ended up paying the extra $50.00 and got the Proclaim and MAN what a diffrence! this phone is quick. it has never frozen up. It uses verizon towers which is the best!! We have even had singnal where no one else does..There are hit and miss phones, this is a hit! ALWAYS buy it from walmart! Do not buy from straightalk just incase you have problems with the phone! Stay away from the samsung president and buy this one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 124 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

First Smart Phone

03/03/2013
By ,
Rittman, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. My daughter has had many and she was thrilled with this one I purchased for myself. The android apps allow alot of helpful apps. Especially heytell when downloaded is similiar to a walkie talkie, no texting involved. The phone is fast and clear videos are great no skipping and sound is great. It works great with my Facebook and emails. I also downloaded the bible app on it and works great easy to read. I am very pleased with my phone so much that when my other daughter wanted a new phone she purchased one just like mine. I went with straight talk due to Verizons inceasing cost, I don't like being tied down to two year contracts and with hidden costs. The monlthy fee here is 45.00 plus state tax and nothing else. I highly recommend this phone and it works off Verizon towers so you get a strong signal. I have nothing negative to say about this phone. I would highly encourage you to purchase this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 125 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
10/26/2012
By ,
HOPE, ARKANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely satisfied with this phone. It beats what I was expecting. I would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting a good quality Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 126 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Value

03/28/2013
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a great phone for the money, but it lacks a few features that I had on my other phone. THIS REVIEW IS JUST MY OPINION.
I like to store "quick texts" so I don't have to type them every time, and if it has this feature, I can't find it. I have not seen anything about it in the manual so I guess it doesn't.
Also, it is hard to push the letters and numbers with your finger when texting. I make way too many mistakes, but it can be set for automatic corrections. It knows what you may type next and gives suggestions. When you do make a mistake, you have to use your finger to put the curser on the word(s) you are trying to correct, and if you are not real careful, it will bring up a menu instead of putting the curser on the word. It is VERY SENSITIVE to the touch. A little too sensitive in my opinion. But enough with my negative opinions. You can't find a phone with these features for the price. Over all, I recommend it, but plan on spending some time to learn how to use it efficiently. Here is a great link that has an excellent VISUAL tutorial. http://tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/straighttalk/home.seam?locale=en_US&deviceId=852&cid=776102 . Just copy it and paste and you may learn some things.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 127 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

So glad I got this phone

03/18/2014
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it once, and I was so pleased with it I bought it again. I like the size - it fits in my pocket easily, shape (rounded corners) and weight of it - enough that you can feel it, but not so much that it's heavy or unwieldy. It's not difficult to order cases to fit it, and armor suit makes a screen protector for it.
The Proclaim I had got wet. Turns out Proclaim phones don't like being wet. After drying in rice and jumping through hoops with customer service, it just wasn't getting any better. I was thrilled when it came back in stock, and ordered one as soon as it did.
The screen size is ample for my needs, and it responds well. It is very much able to be customized, which drives my friends crazy when they try to borrow it (hee-hee). I don't use many heavy memory apps, so the memory is more than enough for me. Some of the factory installed apps are at least marginally useful. The standard voice recognition program is excellent once it gets enough of a sample, the downside of a new phone is having to go through all of that again. The music player has a tendency to play every sound file (including ring tones, blah) but there is a work around for that.
Overall I really like this phone.
The only thing that is less than stellar is dealing with Straight Talk customer service. It's blind luck to get someone on the phone who actually understands what you are trying to say and is able to do something about it. Apparently their computer system is not accessible to every employee using it - which is devilishly annoying at best. Luckily I've only had to contact them when my phone was of the way out.... and now for the reactivation issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 128 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone

08/17/2013
By ,
Walker Creek, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone about a year ago for my birthday. It does everything I want it to from surfing the internet to listening to music. I like all the apps available for free on the google play store, compared to the free apps on iTunes, well there is really no comparison. There is also a lot of useful and just plain cool widgets that make using the phone much easier. The only real problem I have with this phone is you have to make sure and exit most apps manually or else they keep running in the background and drains the battery. I recommend this phone to anyone who wants a smartphone but can't pay a high price, and also needs the Verizon network.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 129 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great upgrade for my purposes

11/21/2013
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upgraded from an Alcatel606...
Better coverage thus utilizing Verizon towers.
Still learning all the additional features, but fairly self explanatory with quick read of included manual.
Better keyboard than the Alcatel unit and larger screen.
3G speed is more than needed for moderate web use, but on the occasion that I've tested it, it was plenty fast enough. Can't imagine paying contract prices and dollars for more advanced phone...not worth the dollars to me. I have a desktop and a laptop at home for more involved computer work.
Love the email account access to the accounts I have...
Only negative, widely publicized, is battery charge duration...even managing the apps and functions that draw the most, it does seem a bit shy of normal. I like the tool in settings that tells you in a percentage format, what is using up your battery charge.
The unit comes with a USB /120V cord and I have access to charging points throughout the day and night, so no big issue. Just keep recharging in the midpoint of your mind, and you will enjoy this Proclaim cell phone as much as I am thus far.
Bluetooth pairing is painfully simple and phone has good quality voice clarity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 130 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT !!!!!

07/02/2012
By ,
Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone !!! And runs on Verizon which makes it PERFECT !!!! I have not had a smart phone so I think this is the greatest !! It was very easy to figure out and use !! Here is a link to a tutorial it answers anything you need to know once you get your phone
http://tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/net10/home.seam?locale=en_US&deviceId=845&cid=9959068
I highly recommend this phone and your not out of a hundred bucks a month !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 131 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

dissapointeed

11/13/2012
By ,
Ossipee, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for two weeks and it died. Started out by telling me I had no service anywhere then started turning itself on and off. then it reset itself to Decemeber 31st 2004. Now all it does it turn on and off. I am very dissapointed in this phone. I wish i had bought the same phone i had before i had not one issue with it. I would not reccommend this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 132 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome Phone, On Verizon Network, 1 GHz Processor

07/16/2012
By ,
Cedar Bluff, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim, Bought 2 days ago, So far A Awesome
phone !! Works off the verizon network... I used Google's app to move My contacts off Outlook 2007 to my Google Account, Then Just Select Add friends point it to your google account, Presto all your contacts all 600+ are moved!! I mention this because It took me awhile to figure this out... Google dosen't charge now for the app, I think they did to start with. My old phone Nokie E5 Had Abetter Camera, No Flash on this one... But they gota give us a reason, to come back... Over all great phone, Great Value....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 133 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

No 3G access

10/19/2012
By ,
Central Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Having spent literally hours using Straight Talk online, dealing with a 'support person' who seems to have difficultly grasping basic English, I have to give both the phone and the service a very low rating.
I like the phone, it can send and receive calls, access the 'net via wi-fi but despite claims to having 3g in our area - It doesn't.
That's misleading and was the sole reason I selected this phone / carrier.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+23points
Review 134 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This does not run on the whole Verizon network

01/18/2013
By ,
Benton,Il
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I waited for a long time for a smart phone that runs on the Verizon network. I have found out that this phone only works on the Verizon networks that Verizon owns.. if Verizon is leasing network time on some other CDMA network this phone will not roam onto their network. Example Central Ky or Eastern Ky.
Very frustrating to be traveling and find the phone just stops working.
As for the Quality of the phone I find it hard to dial and text message on the keyboard. Sound quality is ok and I have yet to find a Bluetooth or wired head set that will sound good with the phone, I am not sure if it the phone or the head sets.
Battery life is very poor, you have to charge the phone often if you use the web much.
I do wish that straight talk would offer a better phone on the Verizon network also that the phone would work as Verizon phone works.
I have had my phone for 4 months. if I had know all this before I purchased the phone I would have tried something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 135 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Works good on the "can you hear me now?" network

01/19/2013
By ,
Richmond, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works with america's best network and I have signal at my house in the boondocks. A few little modifications and this little phone works great. DOES NOT SUPPORT WIFI TETHER MODE. Unless your are a very techy person, you will not be able to tether your laptop or tablet to this phone via WiFi to share the 3g data connection. (you can share it via bluetooth or USB simple enough). It took me awhile to figure out how to gain root and administrative rights which allowed me to open up wifi tether functionality and a little more system control (my phone now can go 24hrs between charges as long as I am not tethering).
Anyhow, over all a very good phone after you work some bugs out.
BTW, will you please fix the advertisement Wal-Mart
"The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor. "
Just cut and paste.
"The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GB Internal Memory"
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 136 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

My 1st smart phone, I bought 2 of these

02/21/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Over all both phones work pretty well except when the screen won't go upright from being on it's side. I have to tap the phone a lot to get it to go the right direction. I bought 32 GB (class 10) memory cards for them so I can put MP3s on the phones. It's easy to transfer the music files from my PC to the phone. It plays the music pretty well so it's like a portable MP3 player too. I have to charge it at least twice daily even when not using the phone so don't believe what they tell you about how many standby hours it gives you. I found some nice, free apps on Google Play including a free virus scanner which I advise you to get. Get yourself a better charger than the one that comes with the phone. I found one on eBay for a couple bucks. I am however able to charge this phone with the supplied charger cord by plugging it in my USB port on my PC. That's also how I transfer music files.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 137 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone, But.....

06/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this phone alot! It runs smoothly and verizon service is wonderful. I always have service with this phone. I would have given it a 5 except the battery life is short. I downloaded Easy Battery Saver to see if that will help. Other than the battery the phone is great!
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Posted 11/17/2012
Try Juice Defender, it really helps with the battery.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 138 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome!!!!

01/24/2013
By ,
woodville,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these phone for my husband and when wegot my daughter loved it also and she went and bought her onee. Our biggest thing isit run off of verizon towers has most of straight talks phone run off of AT&T which doesn't get service in our area . But love the phone would recommend it :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 139 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Carry a long extension cord

06/18/2012
By ,
Texas -Yee Haw
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited to see that I could finally get a "smart" phone that would work on Verizon, as they are the only carrier that works where I live.
I upgraded from the $30 plan, which you have to time right because Straight Talk does not have the capability to "upgrade" your plan and just charge you the difference, and if your on auto-pay like I was, you have to cancel it and re-sign up once you upgrade to the pricier plan. If Straight Talk would upgrade their sub-par customer service, the sky would be the limit for them, but that is another subject.
I switch my number using their website, worked fine one day, then quit working. Had to call, sigh. They got it reset, of course I lost my voicemail and had to set it up, and it has worked since.
The phone is pretty good, I wish I could put my ring tones for notification of text message, you have to choose from the phones list. A couple of other small quirks, but like any phone it seems like they never consult the people who use them when they design them.
I would have rated this phone 5 stars except for its enormous appetite for power. I have to charge it EVERY DAY! I could understand if I talked all the time, but even sitting on my counter for a day, and maybe checking about 5 times if I got a text, not making a phone call the phone is beeping about 24 hours later and wants to be plugged in. The booklet suggests that you turn off the WiFi, Data and dim your screen so you can't read it to save power. Get real, why did I buy a smart phone to make it a dumb phone? Owning this phone reminds me of those old cars that I used to drive, the ones where you always looking for a gas station, with this phone, your always looking for a plug!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
i know
Posted 11/26/2012
I have the same problem with every phone I have ever owned, I too have to charge every day ! What a pain. jk (-: I have an Iphone 3gs with straight talk (at&t service- boooo) and charge it constantly, wish it was every 24 hours. Iphone is worse, just plug it in @ the house, probably costs pennies a year
0points
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Try using Juice Defender
Posted 11/17/2012
Try to avoid a task killer like the other commenter suggested, those always cause problems. This phone is on Android 2.3.6 it is able to close apps by itself. The biggest drain is actually the cell radios, you normally don't need those on all the time so JuiceDefender turns them off and re-enables them when you need them. It makes the battery last incredibly long. I had the same problem until i found this app.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/26/2012
You need to download the Advanced Task Killer, Android phones run like a computer, the applications never shut down, they constantly run, Draining your battery. Using this app will shut them down and keep your battery life way up!
+2points
Customer Avatar
WI
Don't all smart phones use a lot of battery?
Posted 06/19/2012
I personally thought maybe to be fair you should have given a 5 star since the review is on the phone itself. I think most customers know a smart phone is a battery hog, we want to know how it perfroms :o) Thanks for the input!
+5points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 140 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

nice phone

03/18/2014
By ,
williamsburg ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phone was what it was supposed to be shipped on time. received in good condition
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
121-140 of 967 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  49 Next