Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1165 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,011 out of 1,165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 101 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

$45.00 a month - cant beat Straighttalk!

07/06/2012
By ,
Albemarle, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I upgraded my phone to this Samsung SCH-720C. It works on the Verizon network, fantastic. The only complaint is short battery life, otherwise, good value and functions for the money. The soft keyboard is easier than my former slider. I make good use of the home screens. The applications work well. Again if you plan to stream music or video keep a charger handy. A car charger would be a good investment too. I got the 18 month extended coverage which I definately recommend. My former phone suffered a broken screen and the extended plan was very worthwhile.
Overall - there are latest and greatest androids on the market but for the money I am delighted with this phone. I have recommended to my family members.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 102 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The best phone and plan value anywhere

01/19/2013
By ,
Joplin. MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years, I have had many phones and carriers, some ok some not. The biggest and most profound change was when I went from a dumb phone to a smart phone. I did a lot of searching and comparing of product and plans. Yes, the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is running on an outdated Android Gingerbread system but it is way more than adequate for me. Especially with the guts of the Proclaims phone and a fast 1GHZ processor. It downloads and performs beautifully. At $149.88 price and $45 a month Straight talk for unlimited everything, Consumer Reports says it is the best value out there. I did buy one for my wife as well. I would advise you to get the replacement insurance offered at time of purchase as it is very inexpensive. Also get a rubberized plastic skin because you can hold and handle it more safely. I bought mine on Ebay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 103 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Better than expected

10/02/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone comes with a 1 GHZ Processor and 512 MB of ram also has 1 GB of internal memory with a 2 GB micro SD expansion card included you can put up to a 32 GB micro SD card in it for a very nice amount of storage .
Its fast and so is the video gfx in it you can have many things running at once no problems at all also plays games nicely,youtube netflix pandora things like that work great.
i use WiFi for netflix and youtube but i have tried youtube on data and it worked fine.
Uses Android 2.3 and the touch screen is very smooth and responsive no lag or hangups compared to lower hardware phones.
It runs on Verizon networks i switched to it coming from ATT and live in the boonies KY and i get perfect signal very clear
If it is your first andriod then all you need is a google acount to use the app store and just about any app i have looked at is supported with this model. also i was surprised there is no bloatware on the phone it comes with the default google apps which is very nice.
I like how easy it is to just plug into my computer and have access to the sd card and can put my movies or music on no problems at all - make you a folder in your sd card name it music or movies drag them to it and your phone auto detects them and the location, also it handles the most common format's of files for movies n music mp4 mp3 ect ect ..
The Camera for me is the only thing on it that isn't so great not bad but not great , it comes with a 3 MP camera and it does not have auto focus or a built in flash, pics don't look good in low light at all but in a well lit or daylight they come out good enough. If nice pictures or
if the built in camera is very important to you , then you will probably be disappointed.
Battery life is typical as any smart phone, last a long time if your just making calls and texting. and reduces the more you do , games streaming surfing playing around, you have to keep in mind its not a flip phone its like a mini computer. turn off data wifi gps when not in use helps
GPS works great and very easy to use also the voice recognition is amazing it just works period
i use it for fast texting just talk and it types it in for you, love it.
activation using the website was very easy to do , also i kept my previous number as i have had it for years and transferred it over very smooth , Straight Talk website said it could take up to 2 days to transfer a number but mine went thru in under 20 mins of activation which was great.
word of advice if you are keeping your number instead of a new number when activating you need to know your account number and password of previous provider if you don't know this call them don't guess or leave it blank so you wont get any delays activating your phone.
I did a lot of searching and comparing and for the money it is a great phone and a lot better than expected i am very pleased with it actually surprised if your looking for a smart phone and no contract it really is the way to go .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Review 104 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

ok but...

06/16/2013
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I bought this phone I thought it was pretty cool but the first complaint I had with it was there is no flash for the camera and the pictures blur really bad. So if you change the scene to sport so they dont blur then the pictures exposure get really dark and since there is no flash you are very limited on when and how you can take pictures. That was a big issue for me. Second the screen is pretty small so movies and videos are almost out of the question. Finding a case for this phone is extremely hard also. Last I owned this one for ALMOST a year and it started getting very "glitchy", it would force restart constantly, it would master reset on its own, the keyboard would act funny, it would put itself in drive mode so you cant answer calls and the battery doesnt last long. I had to carry the charger everywhere. I would get about 3 hours of use before it went completly dead.I would definately recommend the LG optimus prime showtime cell instead. It compares closely to the Iphone 5 and it is the same price as the proclaim.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 105 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

No 3g signal

10/19/2012
By ,
Nevada, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most of the time, I have no 3g signal. I have called StraightTalk numerous times, and they give me the runaround. I have to turn it off, and power it back on so many times a day to get any bars that it's crazy. Sometimes I have one bar, and I cannot receive or make calls with only one. My other phone, a Motorola, never had this kind of problem. StaightTalk's blog on their website has so many complaints exactly like this that there must be something they aren't telling buyers. I thought I was getting a good deal by not having to pay AT@T a large fee for their data plans. However, what good is a smartphone from StraightTalk that one pays a lot less for and gets the whole deal, but you can't use to make or receive calls?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 106 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone a few minor issues

04/11/2013
By ,
Crystal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smart phone and I really like it. It has many great features which makes this phone good you can watch netflix on it surf the web, check e-mail, download several free aps from google play, search using voice commands and that is just a few of the things you can do with this phone. The only downfall is that this phone is very sensitive and takes awhile to get used to. There has been several times when the send button got accidentally touched before I finished typing in the phone number I wish to dial. The zero is very close to the send button and sometimes it thinks I pressed the send button when all I did was move my finger to get to the zero without even touching it it just sensed my finger was close by and activated the send button but once I got used to the phone it turned out to be a great phone for me I love the features and I keep finding out more things this phone can do. I accidentally dropped it on the hard cement and it still works great. Overall this phone is a great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 107 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone!

06/21/2012
By ,
WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, an affordable smartphone that works in my area! This is a great little phone. Plenty powerful and very functional. I haven't found anything I don't like about it yet, especially the price of the phone and the monthly service. Absolutely fantastic!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 108 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Everything you need in a phone, w/o the high price

07/16/2012
By ,
Glen Allen, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first discovered straighttalk 2 years ago I was thrilled to get a prepaid phone which ran on Verizon's network (I travel around the state a lot for my job and Verizon is the only way to get it done). I also loved that I had the choice between $30 or $45 each month depending on my needs, I found that $30 was "all I needed" in those days. When ST started coming out with Android based smartphones I was excited, until I learned that they were running on AT&T or Sprint. Neither of those networks would suit my needs, so I stuck with my "high school dropout" Verizon based phone (still a great phone, full keyboard and everything). When I learned that ST had a new Verizon based droid, I drove the the nearest Walmart that had one in stock and bought it. Just to make sure I didn't activate it right away, I carried it for a couple of days alongside my old trusty, and at every turn it had as good (sometimes better) signal on the screen. I finally accepted that it was going to work, so I switched the number to the new phone. I did have to switch to the $45 plan, but IMO it is worth it. I don't regret it for a minute. I went and got a screen protector and a case for it right away. It does everything a Droid should do, it meets my needs and exceeds my expectations. It does all of this for $45/month and NO contract (I got so fed up with the contracts, their restrictions, early termination, and misleading details). What that means is that if something better comes along (though I doubt it will) I can leave whenever I choose. One more thing, a lot of people complain about ST customer service, I just don't get it. The number transfer was almost instantaneous, a couple days later it got "knocked off" because that was the original service end date (I switched the phone number a few days early). One quick call to ST (well two, the first time I got knocked out of queue) and the lady on the phone was able to get me up and running. Definitely get a battery saving app though, it will help you out a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 109 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I have one and bought this one for my husband.

04/03/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this same phone but bought this one for my husband. Great value for the money. I also paid more money for mine. The only thing you have to be careful of with Straight Talk is knowing which cellular service you particular phone runs off of. Some are At&T,Sprint, Verizon. That is the answer when it comes to dropped calls and other issues. My 1st Straight Talk phone ran on AT&T and was not good in my area. This Samsung runs on Verizon which is better in my area, no more dropped calls. I have been really pleased with the phone. Funny that I used to be a Verizon customer for years paid $150 + a month to share 1400min and text with no internet. Now I have unlimited everything for less than a $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 110 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

WOW WHAT A DEAL AND WHAT A SAVINGS.....

08/28/2012
By ,
Placerville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and and my wife have been with one of the top 2 carriers for years and with gas prices and food proces going up and up we looked to make budget cuts and the cell phones was one that we thought would have to go forsure, but thanks to Walmart we are still chatting and on top of that we are using the internet unlimited and using 411 unlimited and texting and talking for $45 per phone a month wow what a deal. Our phone bill with Verizon was $215 a month and that droped to $90 a month with no contract and we owned the phone we may not have a I phone but I would rather eat and pur gas in the car that play with my I phone or Droid plus the Samsung phone I have is faster than most of my friends phones most of my friends are with Straight Talk now. I asked a Verizon customer service agent about the towers from Straight Talk being Verizon and he told me that yes there were Straight Talk used Verizon towers I asked what was the difference and he said that you pay for better custormer service when you call in and that was it we left Verizon and have not looked back and now we can eat out and fill up our tank and go grocery shopping thanks to Straight Talk. Thanks for the savings STRAIGHT TALK ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 111 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!! Buy it from Wal-Mart though!!

08/20/2012
By ,
Winder GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome!! we 1st bought the Straight talk Galaxy Presedent and that was a huge mistake! So we ended up paying the extra $50.00 and got the Proclaim and MAN what a diffrence! this phone is quick. it has never frozen up. It uses verizon towers which is the best!! We have even had singnal where no one else does..There are hit and miss phones, this is a hit! ALWAYS buy it from walmart! Do not buy from straightalk just incase you have problems with the phone! Stay away from the samsung president and buy this one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 112 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone!

01/28/2014
By ,
Mocksville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my son's phone - he is now in the Marines - after he left for boot camp, he was not able to take the phone with him - I kept it charged for him - somehow (maybe my fault) the phone got over charged, and the battery "puffed out" and blew off the back of the phone - I called and spoke to the Wal-mart insurance department and presented the claim. It was accepted, but before I sent it back, I bought a new battery just to see if it would still work. Well, he got home from boot camp, and while it worked, it didn't work properly. He loved this phone. We looked at others on the site for Straight Talk phones, and some were a little higher in price, but he was just so satisfied with this phone, he said just to get the same one. So, I turned in the claim, sent in the phone, got a full refund and then turned around and bought the same phone. He is still so satisfied with this phone. And when I bought it the second time, it was on sale for less than $100.00. For all of the bells and whistles you get with this phone, and it being a Verizon service phone, you can not beat this phone. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 113 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
10/26/2012
By ,
HOPE, ARKANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely satisfied with this phone. It beats what I was expecting. I would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting a good quality Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 114 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT !!!!!

07/02/2012
By ,
Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone !!! And runs on Verizon which makes it PERFECT !!!! I have not had a smart phone so I think this is the greatest !! It was very easy to figure out and use !! Here is a link to a tutorial it answers anything you need to know once you get your phone
http://tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/net10/home.seam?locale=en_US&deviceId=845&cid=9959068
I highly recommend this phone and your not out of a hundred bucks a month !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 115 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome Phone, On Verizon Network, 1 GHz Processor

07/16/2012
By ,
Cedar Bluff, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim, Bought 2 days ago, So far A Awesome
phone !! Works off the verizon network... I used Google's app to move My contacts off Outlook 2007 to my Google Account, Then Just Select Add friends point it to your google account, Presto all your contacts all 600+ are moved!! I mention this because It took me awhile to figure this out... Google dosen't charge now for the app, I think they did to start with. My old phone Nokie E5 Had Abetter Camera, No Flash on this one... But they gota give us a reason, to come back... Over all great phone, Great Value....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 116 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

No 3G access

10/19/2012
By ,
Central Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Having spent literally hours using Straight Talk online, dealing with a 'support person' who seems to have difficultly grasping basic English, I have to give both the phone and the service a very low rating.
I like the phone, it can send and receive calls, access the 'net via wi-fi but despite claims to having 3g in our area - It doesn't.
That's misleading and was the sole reason I selected this phone / carrier.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+23points
Review 117 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

dissapointeed

11/13/2012
By ,
Ossipee, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for two weeks and it died. Started out by telling me I had no service anywhere then started turning itself on and off. then it reset itself to Decemeber 31st 2004. Now all it does it turn on and off. I am very dissapointed in this phone. I wish i had bought the same phone i had before i had not one issue with it. I would not reccommend this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 118 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

First Smart Phone

03/03/2013
By ,
Rittman, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. My daughter has had many and she was thrilled with this one I purchased for myself. The android apps allow alot of helpful apps. Especially heytell when downloaded is similiar to a walkie talkie, no texting involved. The phone is fast and clear videos are great no skipping and sound is great. It works great with my Facebook and emails. I also downloaded the bible app on it and works great easy to read. I am very pleased with my phone so much that when my other daughter wanted a new phone she purchased one just like mine. I went with straight talk due to Verizons inceasing cost, I don't like being tied down to two year contracts and with hidden costs. The monlthy fee here is 45.00 plus state tax and nothing else. I highly recommend this phone and it works off Verizon towers so you get a strong signal. I have nothing negative to say about this phone. I would highly encourage you to purchase this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 119 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone, But.....

06/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this phone alot! It runs smoothly and verizon service is wonderful. I always have service with this phone. I would have given it a 5 except the battery life is short. I downloaded Easy Battery Saver to see if that will help. Other than the battery the phone is great!
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Posted 11/17/2012
Try Juice Defender, it really helps with the battery.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 120 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This does not run on the whole Verizon network

01/18/2013
By ,
Benton,Il
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I waited for a long time for a smart phone that runs on the Verizon network. I have found out that this phone only works on the Verizon networks that Verizon owns.. if Verizon is leasing network time on some other CDMA network this phone will not roam onto their network. Example Central Ky or Eastern Ky.
Very frustrating to be traveling and find the phone just stops working.
As for the Quality of the phone I find it hard to dial and text message on the keyboard. Sound quality is ok and I have yet to find a Bluetooth or wired head set that will sound good with the phone, I am not sure if it the phone or the head sets.
Battery life is very poor, you have to charge the phone often if you use the web much.
I do wish that straight talk would offer a better phone on the Verizon network also that the phone would work as Verizon phone works.
I have had my phone for 4 months. if I had know all this before I purchased the phone I would have tried something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
101-120 of 969 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  4 5 6 7 8  ...  49 Next