Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1165 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,011 out of 1,165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
959 Questions | 2,322 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

My first smart phone

12/22/2012
By ,
Pelican Rapids
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never had a smart phone,I have wanted one but wasnt sure I could ever figure one out with all the things they can do.My son told us about Stright talk,so the search for a phone began,I looked and researched phones for this plan for several days,and my search always brought me back to the Galaxy Proclaim.When we got our phones, I got one for my husband also it was so easy to set up,and playing around with it was fun and simple, It is fast reliable and were so happy with this phone.There are so many added apps on it the brightness is so good and clear, I have a hard time seeing little letters and numbers but this phone has it all big test buttons beautiful slim desigh,The ringers it comes with are really nice and loud oh just got a call gota go, Only had it a few weeks but I have high hopes it will keep doing a good job, I have my own small dog grooming business so a good cell phone is a must.Try it youll like it and if for some reason you dont you can return it.Love this plan and phone Thank you Stright Talk.Satisfied !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Maybe I got a Dud??

08/13/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I will be exchanging this phone for a new one in hopes that I just got a bad one. My problems are that my phone conversations lose connection and not in the "dropped call" sense. I can hear the other person just fine, but they can only hear me cutting in and out. This gets very annoying as it seems to be happening with more frequency. I've also noticed the battery getting very hot, sometimes during charging and sometimes with mobile data. It's a little glichy with the screen during phone calls...usually it is intuitive and goes into sleep mode while in a conversation and the screen pops back up when you take it away from your ear....occasionally it doesn't do this and I am left pushing buttons and tapping the screen to no avail and unable to end the call.
Other than thaaaaaaaat... I really want to LOVE this phone. The talk to text feature is great! It's super fast, I've downloaded plenty of apps and have yet to buy a bigger sd card for it. It's been difficult to find covers and accessories for, but it seems like they only make them for iPhones now :( I am really hoping that the new phone solves my problem with the call cutting out and battery issue, because I specifically chose this phone as it uses Verizon's towers. I will update you when I get the new one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Just push power button to toggle display...
Posted 08/26/2012
To turn the display off or on immediately, just push the power button on the right side of the phone for an instant, and it will turn the display on or off right away. This is how to save the battery by turning off the screen immediately, or back on if you want to check for missed calls, etc., or if it does not come on when you take it from your ear, or pick it up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 83 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

What a Great Phone, Price, and Service

10/28/2012
By ,
Moline, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, I have only one slight complaint. I wish the screen was just a bit larger. I am coming from a Samsung Mesmerize which is about 1/2 inch bigger, but really it's not a big deal.
I am really excited about reducing my phone bill by $40.00 a month, currently I pay $85.00 a month for 450 minutes, unlimited text, and 2 gigs of data/internet. I have tested this phone and service over the last two weeks to make sure it works in my area and it has been great and in some places better reception that my US Cellular paid account.
I plan on porting my number from my US Cellular account to Straight Talk this week. If you are planning on getting Straight Talk, I highly recommend this phone. Please read the terms and conditions of your account at Straight Talk's website before buying however. If you stream YouTube videos, or Pandora, or things of the such, they can throttle your speeds or drop your service as it is a violation of their Terms and Conditions. This is really used for going to websites such as Facebook, Walmart etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE, WORKS ON VERIZON TOWERS

11/14/2012
By ,
Tacoma, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far the phone is great, still haven't quite mastered the setup, this is new technology for me
my first smart phone....at 68 I am a little slow learning new things...but overall I love my new
phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!

11/24/2012
By ,
Ottawa, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first got this phone , I loved it, but after having it for a little over 2 months I couldn't send or receive picture messages. I called the Straight Talk customer service & technical dept. & they had me reboot my cell n then told me to wait for up to 72 hrs for it to work properly.....it didn't work & everytime I would call in they would say the same thing & tell me that everything was working fine on their end. After arguing with them for almost a month they finally sent me the exact phone to replace it & it still did the same thing so I just got sick & tired of it & called n talked to the manager. Even tho it was after the 2 week return policy for cell phones, the manager refunded my miney. I definitely WOULD NOT recommend this phone to anyone at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

good phone, question service from Straight Talk

11/29/2012
By ,
South Dakota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These reviews should really be written about 2 different things: 1. the PHONE, a Samsung Proclaim smart phone 2. the SERVICE PROVIDER: in this case, Straight Talk, via Verizon’s network. So, 1. The phone is fantastic. Speedy, holds a charge fine (hint: download an app for monitoring/regulating your battery use, it will help a lot). 2. I was able to activate my phone after 3 scary failures to do so within a few minutes, through the S.T. web site. No issues at all since activation. If you have wifi, consider playing with the phone on wifi only, downloading apps, etc. for a couple days before activating your $45. “phone” card. If you don’t like the phone as a mini-computer, or if it is not working correctly, you could then return it and save $45. Otherwise, good luck getting that $45. back from S.T. Once I did activate and get a new number from S.T., I’ve had no problems, all seems to work. WHAT CONCERNS ME MOST are the hundreds of reviews about how terrible Straight Talk customer service is, if you do have a problem at some point. I believe one issue is that people burn through their “unlimited” data plan (which really is limited to 2gb according to reviews) and then their phone stops working when S.T. shuts it down. Then the customer has the nightmare of trying to reactivate their phone by calling S.T. in India or some other foreign land. Look at their forums or search for Straight Talk service problems and see what you find. I have downloaded another app which controls data use and will tell you when you are reaching the limit of “unlimited” to I hope avoid this issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Basically obsolete android 2.3

04/07/2013
By ,
charlotte, nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this and quickly learned why it was obsolete in 2013. Android version 4.0 is the current version and this is only 2.3! I do not know all the changes but some weak points are:
Small print is blurry when compared to other brands. Even older androids.
Voice recognition works fair but could be better.
Main function button sticks out on the RH side and is way too easy to push thus cutting off calls.
Touch buttons across bottom are not visible until you hit them! You have to learn where they are somehow.
Will not allow my bank's app to be installed...Could be a StraightTalk problem. Other phones allow this. Therefore I cannot deposit checks. The bank says all android phones should work so again I think it is ST causing this.
No rear camera.
No camera flash.
Takes a lot of light for good pictures, otherwise fuzzy.
I will say that communication range is excellent, both wi-fi and wireless.
Audio is good.
Mine is using Verison. It's the only way to go. Other ST phones use Sprint. Stay away from those.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Agree on some points, disagree on others.....
Posted 04/08/2013
Although there are many phones currently on the market that are more advanced than the Proclaim it is far from obsolete. One can make calls, text, play games, pay bills, etc on the Proclaim. It is intended for moderate users who don't want or need the latest and greatest.
Memorizing where 4 touch buttons are is not a difficult task. If someone can't do that then they probably shouldn't own anything other than a flip phone.
It does have a rear camera.
It's definitely no Galaxy S3, but it's not obsolete.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 88 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

What a dissapointment!!!

11/16/2012
By ,
Lockney, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Proclaim is a joke! I bought this phone thinking all of the reviews were great info... For the first month it was great, but then I started having trouble calling out. After calling straight talk everyday for a week I gave up. I was told on a daily basis that the problem was fixed and wouldnt happen again. So I hung in for a while, but enough is enough. If that problem could be solved, it would be a perfect phone to me. But if you can't call out what good is it. My wife,my son, and a really good friend also have this phone and they are all having the same problem. I am a faithful straighttalk customer, so I will try another phone. Thinking about trying the Optimus Zip, lots of good reviews... Hope this helps anyone thinking about purchasing the Proclaim!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone-great price-inexpensive service

08/23/2012
By ,
Central Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been with trac fone and straight talk for years. Moved to the Galaxy Proclaim from a great Nokia E71 (move faster Nokia, you're being left behind!!# and am pleased with the phone and Android 2.3. Ported number over in one hour with ST's web site. Better coverage with the VZW network for my area than ATT also. Have to watch the battery drain by using minimal apps #email only) while mobile. Keep a car charger handy or plug in to computer to keep battery topped up. WiFi is a lot faster than the "3G" connection and will keep you from getting spanked by ST for hogging bandwidth. Would highly recommend a skin for the screen (Zagg is the best) to minimize scratching. No problems with Android 2.3, just have to patiently learn and note limitations (very few) and various quirks. Overall no major problems and very pleased with phone & ST service.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Central Illinois
Posted 09/10/2012
The Proclaim will allow you to group all your email accounts together and sync with the main servers.
0points
Customer Avatar
Alton, IL
Posted 08/28/2012
Hello. I also have a E71, and i love it. But, its ruined and i need a new phone. I was looking at this one and thinking about it. Does it have a way to get all your emails in one place? I have emails from yahoo, gmail, etc. Also is it hard to get used to? My husbands touch screen drives me nuts. Its touchy and opens things I didnt even touch. Just curious since you are upgrading from the same phone as me. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 90 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent Phone For the Price

03/08/2013
By ,
Fort Stewart, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these phones for my girlfriend about eight months ago and liked it so much that I bought one for myself later. At that time they were $180, and I was very happy with the quality for the price.
Its 1GB of internal memory means it doesn't suffer lag time like most cheap smart phones. Its battery life is better than most smart phones. I charge it every night and occasionally during my lunch break, and it rarely goes below 50%.
If you buy one I'd suggest looking for CDMA-V on the packaging, this means it runs of Verizon's prepaid network. I've had excellent service except in some very remote locations. For $45 a month its probably the best cell phone deal you can ask for.
If you buy this phone here are a few tips:
-Opera is a much better web browser than the one the phone comes with.
-The phones GPS will work better if you get the GPS Status App.
-If you have trouble receiving picture or multimedia text messages, turn off the Auto-Retreive option.
-Create a new google account for with your phone or it will try to add all the old email addresses you haven't used in years to your phone's address book.
-Buy a screen protector. If it gets scratched up, no big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Does everything I need to do

11/19/2012
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smart phone was a BlackBerry 8230 flip phone. I got it because it was supposed to have access to email, internet, etc. Well, I could never get the email set up. I tried everything, followed every instruction and it would never work. Also, the phone reception was not that great and definitely not what I expected from a BlackBerry. Finally got tired of fooling with it and decided to get another phone. I can't afford an I phone and did some research and found the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. Seems to have gotten good reviews by most people and I found mine at WalMart and it was on sale (Yeah!) Well, I must say, I am very pleased with this phone. Reception is very good, phone quality is 10 x's better than the BlackBerry and everything works! I can get email - all my emails and it was super easy to set up!!! It also takes good pictures and is faster than my laptop when searching the internet. I must say, I am very happy with my Galaxy Proclaim.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
08/21/2012
By ,
Mid Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a month now and can make a decent review now based on my usage. I use the phone in Mid-Michigan north of Lansing and in the areas just north of Muskegon. The voice service is on par with everything else I have used in the area. It is actually NOT as good as I would have thought considering it is on the Verizon network. I have had verizon in the past and have most recently had the gsm based Samsung Precedent prior to purchasing this one. I do not see any major difference in voice service between the gsm and cdma. The hardware is better but you can see that from the specs. The phone still has the same issues that you see and hear reported everywhere when it comes to these android phones. It does freeze up now and again. Twice now the alarm has started to go off when the phone is reaching critical battery levels. And it doesnt stop right away. Not sure why, but even taking the battery out of it didnt stop it and it was still going off when I put it back in. The 3g is handcuffed compared to other 3g speeds on my friends phones. But it is what it is when you are talking no contract walmart phone here. I stream pandora, check email, watch youtube, normal everyday phone stuff. I have also been able to teather it to my ipad and laptop without rooting or jail breaking it. Simply download the ap from the marketplace.
My opinion on the phone is this... The hardware is better than the Precedent but it is also 50.00 more expensive. If you have the Precedent and are dying for a new phone I do like it, but if you can wait, I would hope ST is going to be coming out with another VZW phone, perhaps for back to school if they were smart. One thing I can say is that I am not a huge fan of the Samsung handsets. I had always been partial to LGs when I had vzw but my last two phones, (I have had three now) ST phones have both been Samsung, the Precedent and Proclaim. Its good not great, but for the price and what you get, both the phone and the service essentially meet your expectations knowing it is not an iphone, high end android, or anything special. I like the phone, but I did have slightly higher expectations for the call quality and 3g knowing it is on the Vzw network. Not significantly better than the gsm Precedent I had been using for the prior year. It is what it is, and as long as you have reasonable expectations I think the phone is just fine for the average consumer like myself who uses their phone for everyday utilities, email, social networking, etc. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

It's all good

07/25/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I stepped up from a "dumb phone" (Samsung SGH-T401G) and wanted an Android phone but what pushed it over the top was the Verizon coverage.
My previous phone ran off AT&T towers and usually got 1 bar in my house. Not sure if it was the phone and the network or a combination of the two, but call quality wasn't great with the T401G. The other issue with the T401G was sometimes my texts would be delayed for hours -- or even days -- before people got them. I never knew when -- or if -- people were getting my messages.
But it's another story with the Samsung Proclaim. I've had it for about 3 weeks now and would heartily endorse this phone.
Calls are _much_ clearer and overall coverage is better with more bars pretty much everywhere. I carried on a conversation inside a store one day without a hiccup; that blew me away because I could _never_ do that with my old phone.
Text messages seem to arrive and get delivered promptly. My old phone could only handle 200 sent/received messages before I had to delete them. Not sure what the limit is with this phone but I haven't had to remove anything. (I also got an app SMS Backup+ that backs up SMS, MMS, call logs and contacts to your Gmail account, so you can archive them should you delete them.)
The speech-to-text function works well. If you need to send a text but can't type, it'll give three choices of what it thinks you've said and generally gets it right with one of them when you speak clearly. I'm trying out the Skyvi app for that Siri-like experience; so far, so good but haven't done anything too crazy with it.
The speed is another bonus. I can get my home/work e-mail pulled in fairly quickly, especially when connected to wifi. Watching videos on YouTube works fine.
Other perks, using the GPS and the various mapping apps that are available for directions in car and on foot. I don't use my car GPS anymore. Right now I'm favoring the Waze app to help me avoid traffic. Loving it.
Then there are all the tons of paid/free apps that are available on the Google Play site. You can select apps then install them to your phone the website. Mind blowing. Google Play also lists the applications you've installed.
I like to take pictures -- the quality of the camera images is excellent in my opinion -- and share them on Facebook/Instagram. Another cool app is DMD Pano for panoramic shots.
I use DropBox to transfer files between my PC and phone. I have a couple ebook readers (Moon Reader and Aldiko) that are handy for reading while on the train. I use the My Tracks app to keep a log of my runs.
For podcasts, I just found the Podkicker app which lets you subscribe to podcasts and download/stream them. So far, it's been the best iTunes alternative I've found.
There are plenty of good free games as well.
The downside to the phone is the battery does run down much quicker than my old phone, but that's par for the course with most Android phones. I do have a "battery saver" app installed that shuts down certain services to save juice. I can probably go an entire day of moderate use without recharging but just barely. I usually bring my charger with me to plug in while at work. The big energy sucker is the GPS, so I leave it off when I don't need it. I bought a car charger (Rally 7413) to plug the phone in, which I would recommend for other folks.
I would have liked is a forward facing camera for Skype but there are some products like the Vainworks Stand that can fill that void. (I may buy one in the future. Since I got my phone, Skype and games are the only thing I basically use my iTouch for.)
This is the same phone as the Samsung Illusion so if you need a case, that should help. I bought a Body Glove one off Amazon and it's perfect. I also bought a screen protector 3 pack off Amazon as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+175points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

$45.00 a month - cant beat Straighttalk!

07/06/2012
By ,
Albemarle, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I upgraded my phone to this Samsung SCH-720C. It works on the Verizon network, fantastic. The only complaint is short battery life, otherwise, good value and functions for the money. The soft keyboard is easier than my former slider. I make good use of the home screens. The applications work well. Again if you plan to stream music or video keep a charger handy. A car charger would be a good investment too. I got the 18 month extended coverage which I definately recommend. My former phone suffered a broken screen and the extended plan was very worthwhile.
Overall - there are latest and greatest androids on the market but for the money I am delighted with this phone. I have recommended to my family members.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone when IT WORKS!!!!!!!

01/05/2013
By ,
Conway,ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These phones have major problems. It will cut out to where people you are talking to cant here you. Or the people you are talking to sound like they are talking from a CB radio or under water. I thought it was just my phone but my wife's phone does the same thing and several people I work with phones do too.A couple of them have sent them to straight talk to get fixed and come back the same as it left. So they went a week with no phone for nothing. If it wasn't for this problem the phones would be great. I would recommend you buy a different phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Really like this phone

09/29/2012
By ,
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using this phone about 2 weeks, and so far, I REALLY LIKE it. It's the 1st smart phone I've had, but everyone else in my family got I-phones, and to me, this one seems more user-friendly (can take out the battery if needed; can add bigger micro memory card (it comes with 2G); connecting it to my computer was a snap to add music and ringtones to the phone; etc.) My greatest frustration so far, and maybe because Idk how to do it right is sending and receiving attachments. They don't seem to want to open up and then will open HOURS later or received by others HOURS later. I don't get that at all. When I have time I'll call StraightTalk and see if they need to update my phone. Also, I have international calling, but cannot send international texts. That's kind of weird, but ST says they have only 2 phones that can send international texts. It's hard for me to believe that a smart phone can't do that. Btw, this is the ONLY ST smartphone that uses Verizon...which was critical for me...and I'm SOOOOOO HAPPY, after many, many years with ATT, I finally HAVE RECEPTION and can use my phone ANYWHERE...even at HOME!!! We're going to finally be able to cancel our home phone service!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Better than expected

10/02/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone comes with a 1 GHZ Processor and 512 MB of ram also has 1 GB of internal memory with a 2 GB micro SD expansion card included you can put up to a 32 GB micro SD card in it for a very nice amount of storage .
Its fast and so is the video gfx in it you can have many things running at once no problems at all also plays games nicely,youtube netflix pandora things like that work great.
i use WiFi for netflix and youtube but i have tried youtube on data and it worked fine.
Uses Android 2.3 and the touch screen is very smooth and responsive no lag or hangups compared to lower hardware phones.
It runs on Verizon networks i switched to it coming from ATT and live in the boonies KY and i get perfect signal very clear
If it is your first andriod then all you need is a google acount to use the app store and just about any app i have looked at is supported with this model. also i was surprised there is no bloatware on the phone it comes with the default google apps which is very nice.
I like how easy it is to just plug into my computer and have access to the sd card and can put my movies or music on no problems at all - make you a folder in your sd card name it music or movies drag them to it and your phone auto detects them and the location, also it handles the most common format's of files for movies n music mp4 mp3 ect ect ..
The Camera for me is the only thing on it that isn't so great not bad but not great , it comes with a 3 MP camera and it does not have auto focus or a built in flash, pics don't look good in low light at all but in a well lit or daylight they come out good enough. If nice pictures or
if the built in camera is very important to you , then you will probably be disappointed.
Battery life is typical as any smart phone, last a long time if your just making calls and texting. and reduces the more you do , games streaming surfing playing around, you have to keep in mind its not a flip phone its like a mini computer. turn off data wifi gps when not in use helps
GPS works great and very easy to use also the voice recognition is amazing it just works period
i use it for fast texting just talk and it types it in for you, love it.
activation using the website was very easy to do , also i kept my previous number as i have had it for years and transferred it over very smooth , Straight Talk website said it could take up to 2 days to transfer a number but mine went thru in under 20 mins of activation which was great.
word of advice if you are keeping your number instead of a new number when activating you need to know your account number and password of previous provider if you don't know this call them don't guess or leave it blank so you wont get any delays activating your phone.
I did a lot of searching and comparing and for the money it is a great phone and a lot better than expected i am very pleased with it actually surprised if your looking for a smart phone and no contract it really is the way to go .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

No 3g signal

10/19/2012
By ,
Nevada, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most of the time, I have no 3g signal. I have called StraightTalk numerous times, and they give me the runaround. I have to turn it off, and power it back on so many times a day to get any bars that it's crazy. Sometimes I have one bar, and I cannot receive or make calls with only one. My other phone, a Motorola, never had this kind of problem. StaightTalk's blog on their website has so many complaints exactly like this that there must be something they aren't telling buyers. I thought I was getting a good deal by not having to pay AT@T a large fee for their data plans. However, what good is a smartphone from StraightTalk that one pays a lot less for and gets the whole deal, but you can't use to make or receive calls?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The best phone and plan value anywhere

01/19/2013
By ,
Joplin. MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years, I have had many phones and carriers, some ok some not. The biggest and most profound change was when I went from a dumb phone to a smart phone. I did a lot of searching and comparing of product and plans. Yes, the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is running on an outdated Android Gingerbread system but it is way more than adequate for me. Especially with the guts of the Proclaims phone and a fast 1GHZ processor. It downloads and performs beautifully. At $149.88 price and $45 a month Straight talk for unlimited everything, Consumer Reports says it is the best value out there. I did buy one for my wife as well. I would advise you to get the replacement insurance offered at time of purchase as it is very inexpensive. Also get a rubberized plastic skin because you can hold and handle it more safely. I bought mine on Ebay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Very impressive phone.

03/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had struggled to use the junior version of this phone, The Galaxy Procedent, and kept thinking I was just too old to use modern cell phone technology. Boy, was I ever wrong. My calls are clear and easy to understand (I’m not going deaf), the contact file doesn’t stick/freeze, the aps works, including the ones that connect to the internet. I’ve rediscovered radio thanks to Pandora, and YouTube makes otherwise wasted time an opportunity to learn or be entertained.
I’m not a huge camera person, but this one is better than the one I paid twice as much for only 2 years ago that was nothing but a camera.
The only drawback might be its small keyboard except for the fact that the smaller size is also a great convenience to me. This unit fits in my pocket and hand so nicely. Perfect size. I really like this cell phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 969 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  49 Next