Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1163 Reviews) 966
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
321
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation87%1,010 out of 1,163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
321
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

1 GB of internal Memory. 1 GHZ Processor

06/08/2012
By ,
Adirondack Mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 GB of internal Memory. 1 GHZ Processor
The internal memory is the most overlooked spec on any phone. Depending on the version of Android you are running, you may not be able to store programs on your SD card. All the other phones I looked at in this class only have 500 MB.
This phones hardware is matched perfectly to Android 2.3.
Bonus! -->>> VOICE RECOGNITION input that works without training. Just amazing.
This model is on the Verizon Network. CDMA 1xRTTI for more detailed info. This was my main reason for giving up my Net 10 LG 800. I now have a good signal inside my cottage with a tin roof.
It runs Netflix perfectly over my WiFi along with Live 365 internet radio.
I loaded Skype onto it and it would make calls over my WiFi but the calls kept dropping ... which could probably be fixed with some research. But with unlimited call time, who needs Skype anymore. .... The call quality and sound is excellent and it works great as a speaker phone.
The included music player gives me the option to play my music files according to their file structure on the SD Card so I do not have to mess with playlists and tags.
I do not have a Google account and have downloaded my apps from Amazon ... Except for the Nook Reader which I downloaded from the SlideMe website.
The SD card will show up as an external drive when plugged into my Win 7 PC.
GPS: I live in the Adirondacks and hike and bicycle ride a lot. With a proper app, this plots my course and records speed, distance and other info. In my first critical test of the GPS, I found the repeatability to be within about 6 feet. More than good enough for tail survey work. It will use the battery up quickly on GPS but that is the nature of the beast. It seems that there is a learning curve in understanding how to manage the battery properly and I'm still down at the lower end. I'm willing to buy spare batteries for this feature. I learned to navigate Coast Guard Aircraft using 1950s vintage Loran A hardware, time delay charts, and calipers... This just blows me away!
Camera: Good quality. It needs bright light otherwise the blacks are a little blotchy and some other colors are mottled. I have not had it out in bright sunlight in which I would expect it to make very nice pictures. Maybe I should say that it is only a little bit lesser quality than my friends 5 MP I-phone camera. I am a serious photographer and am probably being too critical of the photo quality.
It has no flash but the exposure setting is easy to adjust.
The real drawback of the camera is that it will not load any of the camera apps from the Amazon store. I was at least hoping to get Cam Scanner to make PDF documents. The upside is that it takes fine document photos that are readable but just not post processed like CamScanner would do.
Do not buy a Droid phone because of the camera MP size. 3 MP is a great size for most common purposes. 5 MP is only a marginal increase over 3 MP and some of the 5 MP Droid phones have smaller memory and slower processors.
I still have a lot to learn about this phone and the Android OS but this appears to be the best piece of hardware on the market for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2,612points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
springfield, mo
Battery life
Posted 03/04/2013
I have had the phone 3 weeks, but within the past week, I cannot keep the battery charged past 6 hrs. I do not have any apps downloaded, I have done all that the instruction booklet suggested to extend the battery life. I called Straighttalk, (what a joke)....after 100 calls and hours of wait time, I got ahold of representative. They said I would have to send phone back. All I wanted to to see about getting a new battery to see if that was the problem. I dont want to have to buy one after 3 weeks, sure dont want to worry about charging it everytime I need it during the day, especially if I cant be available to charge in wall or car. Any suggestions???????? Any others have this problem?
0points
This DOES HAVE 1GB of INTERNAL
Posted 10/28/2012
Zzuebe, you are misspoken.
I am looking at this phone in my hand as we speak and internal memory is at 1GB.
-3points
Customer Avatar
East Tennessee
Memory...
Posted 10/26/2012
Guys (and gals)... pay close attention to the specs on this phone. The toturial that you see online shows the memory of the SDcard, not the phone... This phone only has 512 internal memory... the rest is on the card...
-3points
Customer Avatar
Georgia
apps
Posted 08/20/2012
Can apps be installed on the SD card on the phone.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Adirondack Mountains
Some more experience witht hte camera
Posted 06/18/2012
I just posted some full size photos in the questions section. Wal-Mart has not approved them as of this time.
I also wish to add the following to my original review.
I think it is the best cell phone camera I have used so far. But it only works good in bright light. It has no flash.
I tried an HDR app to try and improve dynamic range. It took one or two seconds between each of the shots and actualy made a picture that looked good on the camera screen but was blotchy looking full size on my computer. This app is pushing the limits of the processor.
I tried a Document scanner app and it did not help much. The camera barely makes fine print readable when photographing a letter sized document.
I have not yet found any camera apps on the Amazon App store that will download for this camera. Bar code scanners will also not download for this phone. I think this has something to do with its lack of auto focus and other processing power issues of the phone.
Bottom line is that it will take really great pictures of your kids outside on a sunny day. The pictures become more grainy as the light decreases. Don't expect to use this to work with any camera apps.
+24points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 82 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Wouldn't buy again

01/12/2013
By ,
Great Falls, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been through 3 of these phones within a matter of 3 months. Each phone I purchased had either a bad charger, a bad charge port, or both. I sent 2 in for refurbished versions and the company wont replace them. They proceed to tell me they will give me a downgraded phone (not an android based phone) as a replacement but there is a reason i got an android based phone. I am overall disgusted with straight talks customer service. I paid for the warranty but I dont even think walmart will replace it. Very poor quality. Im extremely dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 83 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone, but one problem

03/15/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this phone and am glad I got it. It was easy to learn to use and I love that the screen is big. The camera and video are AWESOME for a phone under $200. I recorded a 20 minute long video with no problem and it shows great quality when I played it back. Super easy to transfer the pics and video to my computer (or youtube, facebook, email, text). Love all the features of the phone, easy to use. Only problem is with TEXTING. Phone has a full digital keyboard, but the keys must be too small because i'm always having to fix texting mistakes. It is really annoying when I always have to press backspace to go fix a mistake. I hit a key, but the wrong letter always pops up. Other than that..the phone is great. Oh it was also annoying setting it up the first day. It didn't work and I had to call customer service to have them fix the problem. It took about 10 hours to fix.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 84 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone - Easy to Use

01/28/2014
By ,
Wenatchee, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for beginners; very intuitive and adequate given I can't afford an iPhone and have no means of comparison. However, for the price, I am very happy with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 85 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I Love THis Phone

07/30/2012
By ,
Mechanicsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was never interested in owning a smart phone, but because of my job I needed to be able to send and receive e-mail on the go. I researched and found this Samsung phone. Ironically it runs on Verizons network which I used for years until I transferred to Straight Talk saving $80 a month.
The phone takes a little getting use to but nothing you can't figure out with a little trial end error.
One of the best features for me is the volume in the ear piece. With my other ST phone I had a hard time hearing callers. Overall for the price this is a great phone. You will be happy with this product...I sure am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 86 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great first smart phone

09/29/2012
By ,
Edinburg, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a Tracfone user for many years and loved their triple minute program on my last phone but I wanted to give a “smart phone” a try but I didn’t want to be tied down to a two year contract. The Straight Talk $45 a month (30 day) program was the best deal I found. With the Proclaim phone being on the Verizon network I knew I would have great coverage in our area of Virginia. Because Straight Talk is a subsidiary of Tracfone my phone member port was a breeze, maybe 20 minutes to have the phone up and running.
As for the phone itself being an Android 2.3.6 and running 3G I’m always connected. Yes 4G is faster (I’ve heard) but the 3G really works well. Using Google Play for apps (so many are free) is a breeze. I own an IPod touch and getting away from I Tunes is a blessing. I like the IPod Touch but Apples I Tunes software is a joke. This is my first Smart Phone and I’m sure there are better faster phones available but if you don’t want a contract and a fee of $45 a month sounds appealing take a look at the Proclaim.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 87 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for me a beginner.

04/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this phone! I love it so much I told my Aunt to get one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 88 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Months in use later

10/25/2012
By ,
mrwarmouth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will only post a review after I use a product for awhile. This phone has been the best for me in my area so far. And believe me I have been through a few on AT&T, T-mobile, Sprint, Boost Mobile, Metro-PCS. The Samsung Proclaim with Straight Talk on the Verizon network gives me the absolute rock solid talk quality that I am looking for. Any one who calls me or I call them on other networks I find myself repeating, "what cha say, say again" over and over in a conversation or dropped calls. And everythime I lose a conversation it's them, not me. But when I talk to a Verizon user the sound quality is Land line quality crisp and clear. Which is a major seller for me. I can tell anytime if a friend of mine has switched from Verizon to another, the quality is lost. Use to believe it was the phone, no more its the carrier you use. I get a signal no matter where I am or structure. Countless times friends of mine who are premium customers of AT&T, SPRINT, T-Mobile ask to borrow my phone due to no signals on theirs. Browsing the net on this phone is pretty snappy also. The phone is pretty durable having a cheap plastic cover and a screen protector, I have dropped it a few times and still no damage. The camera and video mode not to shabby either. Phone not too big, not too small, just right for me. Dont overlook this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 89 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone is terrible!

10/07/2013
By ,
Morrisville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having Verizon service for 20 years, my husband and I switched to ST. I have not been happy. We both have had reception issues. We live in a metro area, so there are many towers around. The reception issues have to do with the phone. I contacted ST and they had me send in my phone for a replacement. They had to receive my phone before they would send me another one. So, I did not have a phone for a week. This phone is no better. Plus, it was labeled as a refurbished phone. I often have to cut my conversations short because of the bad reception. I've been told that I sound like I am rattling rocks in a tin can, talking in a tunnel, etc. Very annoying to me and to the person I am talking to. Bottom line: phone is cheaply made - go ahead and spend a little more money and get a better phone. Also, not so impressed with ST customer service, either. If I had it do over, I would've stuck with Verizon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Basically obsolete android 2.3

04/07/2013
By ,
charlotte, nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this and quickly learned why it was obsolete in 2013. Android version 4.0 is the current version and this is only 2.3! I do not know all the changes but some weak points are:
Small print is blurry when compared to other brands. Even older androids.
Voice recognition works fair but could be better.
Main function button sticks out on the RH side and is way too easy to push thus cutting off calls.
Touch buttons across bottom are not visible until you hit them! You have to learn where they are somehow.
Will not allow my bank's app to be installed...Could be a StraightTalk problem. Other phones allow this. Therefore I cannot deposit checks. The bank says all android phones should work so again I think it is ST causing this.
No rear camera.
No camera flash.
Takes a lot of light for good pictures, otherwise fuzzy.
I will say that communication range is excellent, both wi-fi and wireless.
Audio is good.
Mine is using Verison. It's the only way to go. Other ST phones use Sprint. Stay away from those.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Agree on some points, disagree on others.....
Posted 04/08/2013
Although there are many phones currently on the market that are more advanced than the Proclaim it is far from obsolete. One can make calls, text, play games, pay bills, etc on the Proclaim. It is intended for moderate users who don't want or need the latest and greatest.
Memorizing where 4 touch buttons are is not a difficult task. If someone can't do that then they probably shouldn't own anything other than a flip phone.
It does have a rear camera.
It's definitely no Galaxy S3, but it's not obsolete.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 91 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
06/26/2012
By ,
twin falls idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a smart phone on Verizon, had an android on the sprint network service very minimal. Now I have great service. Thanks Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 92 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Really good phone so far

06/13/2012
By ,
Enterprise, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waited a long time for a android phone from straighttalk that used the verizon tower. So happy they finally got one. I love it so far, have had it a month and now my husband is going to change over too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 93 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent Phone with great coverage!

09/02/2012
By ,
Junction City Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone after being frustrated with Straight Talk's AT&T's phones. AT&T has been LOWERING data speeds on all of it's no-contract companies around the country.
Simply put, this phone has far exceeded my expectations. The audio is loud, crisp, and clear. The screen resolution is certainly not the highest, but certainly looks great. And of course you get the great Verizon coverage with 3G available everywhere, not only in major city's like AT&T.
If this phone really needs anything else it would be a scratch resistant screen. The screen is made from clear plastic that definitely needs a screen protector to keep it looking nice. Also an auto-focus camera would be a plus for using label scanners etc. The current camera will not work with bar code apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 94 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Bargin

09/29/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great entry level smart phone. I had this phone for a little over a year. It is user friendly. It works off of Verizon towers so the service is great! At one point I lived in a rural area and had no problems with service. If you like to add a decent amount of apps you might want to upgrade the memory card. I didn't do that and the phone did freeze up at times and some apps didn't run properly because the memory was almost full. Especially YouTube. I had to re start the phone sometimes to get it to run. The battery went after about 10 months but if you buy the protection plan they will replace it. Other than those issues the phone was good. The only reason I am replacing this phone is because the charging port went bad. If it hadn't I would still be using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 95 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

My first smart phone

12/22/2012
By ,
Pelican Rapids
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never had a smart phone,I have wanted one but wasnt sure I could ever figure one out with all the things they can do.My son told us about Stright talk,so the search for a phone began,I looked and researched phones for this plan for several days,and my search always brought me back to the Galaxy Proclaim.When we got our phones, I got one for my husband also it was so easy to set up,and playing around with it was fun and simple, It is fast reliable and were so happy with this phone.There are so many added apps on it the brightness is so good and clear, I have a hard time seeing little letters and numbers but this phone has it all big test buttons beautiful slim desigh,The ringers it comes with are really nice and loud oh just got a call gota go, Only had it a few weeks but I have high hopes it will keep doing a good job, I have my own small dog grooming business so a good cell phone is a must.Try it youll like it and if for some reason you dont you can return it.Love this plan and phone Thank you Stright Talk.Satisfied !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 96 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Pleased

10/14/2012
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I'd like to thank all reviewers who took time to share their experience. I relied on your feedback when deciding whether to move forward with switching to Straight Talk and this phone.
My wife and I were both Verizon Wireless contract customers, paying $200 total per month. We are now paying $100 total per month ... couldn't be happier about this savings.
This phone runs on the Verizon network as well, we've had no service issues since the switch. The phone does what we need it to, access to apps is great, the camera is not great as has been noted numerous times. If you happen to get into a coverage area that is not covered by the Verizon Network, you won't be able to make or receive calls ... there is no roaming. They've got excellent coverage in my experience, so I'm willing to accept this possibility.
I had a question for Straight Talk Customer Service which I submitted on a Saturday morning. They responded within 2 hours and gave me the answer I needed. I was impressed.
Be aware if you are a heavy user of streaming that you can't stream unless you are connected to WiFi ... the phone can technically do it, but it's expressly forbidden in your Straight Talk agreement and you will be shutdown. I'm not a heavy user in that way so no problem for us.
Overall I'm very pleased with the phone, the value of the plans, and the service. Did go ahead and purchase the 2-yr warranty on both phones, small price to pay for peace of mind.
I have recommended this to friends and family as a way to save money and enjoy a solid smart phone. If you want and/or need all the bells and whistles, this is not for you. Otherwise, go for it, you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 97 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

MY FIRST ANDROID AND I LOVE IT!!

09/11/2012
By ,
Decatur IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Proclaim for 2 months now and I have ZERO complaints about it!! LOVE IT!! It is my first Android phone and has been VERY easy to figure out. I love StraightTalk also!! Buying this phone in order to switch to StraightTalk was a BIG DECISION for me...I was out of contract with my previous carrier, so I dropped them & I also removed my landline phone which I had had for 34 years! (I ported my landline number to this phone--took 2 days to do that-worth it to keep a number I've had 34 years!) I am saving a TON of $$ each month!!
Also--Everyone please note: If you go to the StraightTalk FACEBOOK page and post a question (like all of the questions I see posted here)--within minutes you will have replies from alot of very knowledgeable people!! I haven't seen a question posted yet that didn't get answered in a speedy manner!
GREAT PHONE! All I can say is BUY IT!--You won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 98 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

ok but...

06/16/2013
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I bought this phone I thought it was pretty cool but the first complaint I had with it was there is no flash for the camera and the pictures blur really bad. So if you change the scene to sport so they dont blur then the pictures exposure get really dark and since there is no flash you are very limited on when and how you can take pictures. That was a big issue for me. Second the screen is pretty small so movies and videos are almost out of the question. Finding a case for this phone is extremely hard also. Last I owned this one for ALMOST a year and it started getting very "glitchy", it would force restart constantly, it would master reset on its own, the keyboard would act funny, it would put itself in drive mode so you cant answer calls and the battery doesnt last long. I had to carry the charger everywhere. I would get about 3 hours of use before it went completly dead.I would definately recommend the LG optimus prime showtime cell instead. It compares closely to the Iphone 5 and it is the same price as the proclaim.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 99 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

What a Great Phone, Price, and Service

10/28/2012
By ,
Moline, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, I have only one slight complaint. I wish the screen was just a bit larger. I am coming from a Samsung Mesmerize which is about 1/2 inch bigger, but really it's not a big deal.
I am really excited about reducing my phone bill by $40.00 a month, currently I pay $85.00 a month for 450 minutes, unlimited text, and 2 gigs of data/internet. I have tested this phone and service over the last two weeks to make sure it works in my area and it has been great and in some places better reception that my US Cellular paid account.
I plan on porting my number from my US Cellular account to Straight Talk this week. If you are planning on getting Straight Talk, I highly recommend this phone. Please read the terms and conditions of your account at Straight Talk's website before buying however. If you stream YouTube videos, or Pandora, or things of the such, they can throttle your speeds or drop your service as it is a violation of their Terms and Conditions. This is really used for going to websites such as Facebook, Walmart etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 100 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent Phone For the Price

03/08/2013
By ,
Fort Stewart, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these phones for my girlfriend about eight months ago and liked it so much that I bought one for myself later. At that time they were $180, and I was very happy with the quality for the price.
Its 1GB of internal memory means it doesn't suffer lag time like most cheap smart phones. Its battery life is better than most smart phones. I charge it every night and occasionally during my lunch break, and it rarely goes below 50%.
If you buy one I'd suggest looking for CDMA-V on the packaging, this means it runs of Verizon's prepaid network. I've had excellent service except in some very remote locations. For $45 a month its probably the best cell phone deal you can ask for.
If you buy this phone here are a few tips:
-Opera is a much better web browser than the one the phone comes with.
-The phones GPS will work better if you get the GPS Status App.
-If you have trouble receiving picture or multimedia text messages, turn off the Auto-Retreive option.
-Create a new google account for with your phone or it will try to add all the old email addresses you haven't used in years to your phone's address book.
-Buy a screen protector. If it gets scratched up, no big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
81-100 of 967 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  49 Next