Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1166 Reviews) 969
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,012 out of 1,166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
960 Questions | 2,334 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

option

06/25/2012
By ,
marion, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
though straighttalk terms do not allow streaming on there connecting this is a good phone for users....for u out there that need more battery time than 5.5 hrs...samsung makes a 2400mah battery for the samsung illusion and an extended battery back for this illusion. The illusion for verizon and the proclaim for st are the same phone just branded differently..i am using the extended battery 2400 mah and the extended cover also in my proclaim...i verified that they would be able to be used and samsung cs confirmed that they are the same phones, and the battery and cover could be used with my proclaim....these items were purchased and the work perfectly...so there are the extended options also ...always better to be able to get a company branded and oem specific from company making the phone....makes for better performance...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Olathe, KS
not true
Posted 10/10/2012
Before I bought this phone, I had the Smart Talk Galaxy Precedent. I streamed music and I used it as a wifi hotspot multiple times to stream netflix onto my Galaxy Tab 2. I had no problems with it. And now my phone is this one, I streamed Netflix on it with even less problems. I haven't tried it as a hotspot yet.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Better than expected

10/02/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone comes with a 1 GHZ Processor and 512 MB of ram also has 1 GB of internal memory with a 2 GB micro SD expansion card included you can put up to a 32 GB micro SD card in it for a very nice amount of storage .
Its fast and so is the video gfx in it you can have many things running at once no problems at all also plays games nicely,youtube netflix pandora things like that work great.
i use WiFi for netflix and youtube but i have tried youtube on data and it worked fine.
Uses Android 2.3 and the touch screen is very smooth and responsive no lag or hangups compared to lower hardware phones.
It runs on Verizon networks i switched to it coming from ATT and live in the boonies KY and i get perfect signal very clear
If it is your first andriod then all you need is a google acount to use the app store and just about any app i have looked at is supported with this model. also i was surprised there is no bloatware on the phone it comes with the default google apps which is very nice.
I like how easy it is to just plug into my computer and have access to the sd card and can put my movies or music on no problems at all - make you a folder in your sd card name it music or movies drag them to it and your phone auto detects them and the location, also it handles the most common format's of files for movies n music mp4 mp3 ect ect ..
The Camera for me is the only thing on it that isn't so great not bad but not great , it comes with a 3 MP camera and it does not have auto focus or a built in flash, pics don't look good in low light at all but in a well lit or daylight they come out good enough. If nice pictures or
if the built in camera is very important to you , then you will probably be disappointed.
Battery life is typical as any smart phone, last a long time if your just making calls and texting. and reduces the more you do , games streaming surfing playing around, you have to keep in mind its not a flip phone its like a mini computer. turn off data wifi gps when not in use helps
GPS works great and very easy to use also the voice recognition is amazing it just works period
i use it for fast texting just talk and it types it in for you, love it.
activation using the website was very easy to do , also i kept my previous number as i have had it for years and transferred it over very smooth , Straight Talk website said it could take up to 2 days to transfer a number but mine went thru in under 20 mins of activation which was great.
word of advice if you are keeping your number instead of a new number when activating you need to know your account number and password of previous provider if you don't know this call them don't guess or leave it blank so you wont get any delays activating your phone.
I did a lot of searching and comparing and for the money it is a great phone and a lot better than expected i am very pleased with it actually surprised if your looking for a smart phone and no contract it really is the way to go .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I love this phone...!!!!

07/03/2012
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to learn, quick response, easy to correct a typo, and I love the fact that you can go from 1-5 screens..... I was with Verizon for years...loved the service..but I wanted more out of my phone and wasn't willing to pay extra for Web access and on-line time/upgrades... I purchased the Samsung T528 GSM first...but after 1 week..I found this Android phone. PLUS- on the Verizon network & GPS, MP3, plus all the apps. for Google.. I just had to drive an hour to the only Walmart closest to me that had them!! WELL WORTH IT!! I may never use my laptop again!!!! I did a lot of homework b4 buying this phone...Sure paid off!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

09/22/2013
By ,
Manchester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife had a Proclaim for almost a year when she started to have problems with it. When she called Straight Talk, they wanted to replace the phone with a Centura because they said the Proclaim was no longer available. They would not give her another brand of equal value. We argued that the Centura was $50 cheaper than her Proclaim and how could they replace her phone under warranty with a cheaper phone. We got nowhere with them and had to take the cheaper phone. The Centura is a piece of junk. She was going to buy another brand phone for $150 when we saw that the Proclaim was available again and for $100. Even though it did give her problems within a year, she loved the phone and wanted the same one. Even though it does have the 2.3 OS, it still performs better than the new 4.0 or the 4.1. It doesn't have all the hang ups and glitches that the more expensive ones do. I have the LG L86C for $199 and I like the Proclaim better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Flippin, Ar.
I Proclaim....
Posted 12/04/2013
This is a pretty great phone. I am a first time smart phone user, but the phone did everything I needed it to do. I really do love the phone. I was added to my son's phone plan and got and iphone5. So keep in mind some of these comments come after using the Iphone.
I face book quite a bit, and the proclaim worked just fine, the screen was a tad small alltho it worked just fine. I could hear very well and other could hear me clearly. The one problem I had was the speaker for listening to music, but it was not bought for that. Also I was not happy it did not have a flash on it. Great phone and now 100 bucks cheaper than I paid!! Great price I used the phone for almost a year and a half. No mechanical probs.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome Phone to the maximum

09/27/2013
By ,
Smyrna, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone not only met, but exceeded all my expectations. It may be a small cell phone of only 3.5 inches screen size, but it packs a powerful punch. Powered by Verizon services, means that the speed is highly exceptional and way better than I thought it would be. Super fast speed. Crystal clear display, and the camera takes some of the best pictures I have ever seen. My HTC EVO 4G with a forward and back facing camera couldn't deliver the photo quality of the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. I love that this phone does not lag and hang like my other cell phone did. The only feature that this phone does not have, is the weather located beneath the time on the home screen, but I downloaded the weather channel app to make up for that. It also does not keep rebooting itself like my other cell phone. All in all, there is nothing you wouldn't like about this great phone. I would buy it again if my other one ever got done in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Really good phone so far

06/13/2012
By ,
Enterprise, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waited a long time for a android phone from straighttalk that used the verizon tower. So happy they finally got one. I love it so far, have had it a month and now my husband is going to change over too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Carry a long extension cord

06/18/2012
By ,
Texas -Yee Haw
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited to see that I could finally get a "smart" phone that would work on Verizon, as they are the only carrier that works where I live.
I upgraded from the $30 plan, which you have to time right because Straight Talk does not have the capability to "upgrade" your plan and just charge you the difference, and if your on auto-pay like I was, you have to cancel it and re-sign up once you upgrade to the pricier plan. If Straight Talk would upgrade their sub-par customer service, the sky would be the limit for them, but that is another subject.
I switch my number using their website, worked fine one day, then quit working. Had to call, sigh. They got it reset, of course I lost my voicemail and had to set it up, and it has worked since.
The phone is pretty good, I wish I could put my ring tones for notification of text message, you have to choose from the phones list. A couple of other small quirks, but like any phone it seems like they never consult the people who use them when they design them.
I would have rated this phone 5 stars except for its enormous appetite for power. I have to charge it EVERY DAY! I could understand if I talked all the time, but even sitting on my counter for a day, and maybe checking about 5 times if I got a text, not making a phone call the phone is beeping about 24 hours later and wants to be plugged in. The booklet suggests that you turn off the WiFi, Data and dim your screen so you can't read it to save power. Get real, why did I buy a smart phone to make it a dumb phone? Owning this phone reminds me of those old cars that I used to drive, the ones where you always looking for a gas station, with this phone, your always looking for a plug!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
i know
Posted 11/26/2012
I have the same problem with every phone I have ever owned, I too have to charge every day ! What a pain. jk (-: I have an Iphone 3gs with straight talk (at&t service- boooo) and charge it constantly, wish it was every 24 hours. Iphone is worse, just plug it in @ the house, probably costs pennies a year
0points
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Try using Juice Defender
Posted 11/17/2012
Try to avoid a task killer like the other commenter suggested, those always cause problems. This phone is on Android 2.3.6 it is able to close apps by itself. The biggest drain is actually the cell radios, you normally don't need those on all the time so JuiceDefender turns them off and re-enables them when you need them. It makes the battery last incredibly long. I had the same problem until i found this app.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/26/2012
You need to download the Advanced Task Killer, Android phones run like a computer, the applications never shut down, they constantly run, Draining your battery. Using this app will shut them down and keep your battery life way up!
+2points
Customer Avatar
WI
Don't all smart phones use a lot of battery?
Posted 06/19/2012
I personally thought maybe to be fair you should have given a 5 star since the review is on the phone itself. I think most customers know a smart phone is a battery hog, we want to know how it perfroms :o) Thanks for the input!
+5points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Love my Phone! (Samsung Galaxy Proclaim)

08/08/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this Phone!!!!!!!! I wouldnt take anything for it!! THANK YOU STRAIGHT TALK for FINALLY putting this phone out! It does EVERYTHING, and the battery last a good while. I just plug it in everyday. I love the speak to text feature and the voice messeging feature. I can voice dial and speak anything to come up on Google search. I watch You Tube, and it looks and sounds great with no distortion. This phone runs off Verizon towers and I have NO dropped calls in the rural south. The ZTE Merit runs off Att with some drops, and the LG Optimus runs off Sprint with very bad service in this area. The Commercials on this phone make me laugh because I feel richer having it!!!!!!lol I even have a friend who had the LG Optimus and did not like it. I told her to call Straight Talk and tell them she needed a Verizon Samsung Galaxy Proclaim for her area and they let her exchange it! She had Walmart find one in another town and had it sent to her local walmart and she exchanged and is very happy now. That is a GOOD thing about Straight Talk, they have a 1yr. Guanantee on their phones. My friend had her Lg Optimus for a half a yr.!!!!! Straight Talk DELIVERS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
08/28/2012
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Samsung phone is a good phone - I think. However, Straight Talk customer support is the worst ever!!!! I was trying to transfer a phone number to this straight talk phone and only encountered problems. It takes forever to get through to customer service - one time I called they said the wait would be at least 3 hours. Also, the representatives are foreign so you are likely to get someone who is very difficult to understand. Anyway, they sent a new sim card to change the number and then put the same number back on the phone. After another hour on the phone a representative said they would send another sim card. I never received it and called back again (another hour long call). The representative said the phone would work right and with the right number. The phone worked - with the same number again! I give up. After having the phone for a month, I was only able to use it about 5 days and they took away almost all of my minutes, texts, and data in the process. In my opinion, Straight Talk customer service reps do not know what they are doing!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Duluth, MN
Took away?
Posted 09/04/2012
I have no doubt that encounters with customer service can be long and frustrating at times. But since you have to purchase the $45 unlimited plan, I don't see how they could possibly take away almost all your minutes, texts and data.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Auburndale, Fl
Posted 08/31/2012
Comment is in the wrong place, the Samsung Proclaim does not have a sim card. I changed phones 3 or 4 times with Straight Talk and always kept my same number, and it ported my number in less that 15 minutes.
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!

12/05/2012
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I both bought this phone four months ago. The idea of not have a contract for a smart phone seemed great to the both of us. However, 2 days ago my husbands phone became stuck in airplane mode and wouldn't allow him to make/receive calls. After talking with 4 straight talk representatives and 3 hours later I was finally told to do a system restart. This is not resolve the problem. As of right now the phone still does not have any service. I found a forum on straighttalk.com where A LOT of people were having this same issue. The issue was never resolved for them either. Apparently this is a defect with the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. Take my advice and do not get this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

good phone, question service from Straight Talk

11/29/2012
By ,
South Dakota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These reviews should really be written about 2 different things: 1. the PHONE, a Samsung Proclaim smart phone 2. the SERVICE PROVIDER: in this case, Straight Talk, via Verizon’s network. So, 1. The phone is fantastic. Speedy, holds a charge fine (hint: download an app for monitoring/regulating your battery use, it will help a lot). 2. I was able to activate my phone after 3 scary failures to do so within a few minutes, through the S.T. web site. No issues at all since activation. If you have wifi, consider playing with the phone on wifi only, downloading apps, etc. for a couple days before activating your $45. “phone” card. If you don’t like the phone as a mini-computer, or if it is not working correctly, you could then return it and save $45. Otherwise, good luck getting that $45. back from S.T. Once I did activate and get a new number from S.T., I’ve had no problems, all seems to work. WHAT CONCERNS ME MOST are the hundreds of reviews about how terrible Straight Talk customer service is, if you do have a problem at some point. I believe one issue is that people burn through their “unlimited” data plan (which really is limited to 2gb according to reviews) and then their phone stops working when S.T. shuts it down. Then the customer has the nightmare of trying to reactivate their phone by calling S.T. in India or some other foreign land. Look at their forums or search for Straight Talk service problems and see what you find. I have downloaded another app which controls data use and will tell you when you are reaching the limit of “unlimited” to I hope avoid this issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

awsome samsung galaxy proclaim android

06/25/2012
By ,
northcentral MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have never had a android before, closest i came was the nokia surge 6790 smartphone. figured i would get one and trry it. for downloading games and youtube and pandora was retty fast for me over verizon 3g network does buffer i little, only get 1 to 3 bars in my area. i use my wifi alot at home and everything streams very fast, no buffering, even if u press the HD icon for utube vids which is very clear. but am very impressrd with this phone, espesially since it is verizon. also phone does not feel cheap like the precendent and other straightalk phones. i will have this android for a long time. a car charger is a good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

love this phone!

09/04/2012
By ,
upstate, South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I have been a straight talk customer for years , I love the price and excellant service. I mean $45 bucks for unlimited service is the best. Now the phone, I love it , it is extremely easy to use. I am a grandma and not techy really. My first ST phone was a Samsung R451 slider and I thought it was great but did not do much with it. I really like the Samsung quality so I got the Samsung T528 touch screen and it was not that great and it had an unfortunate incident with a cup of coffee so my daughter talked me into this for the android technology. She has one and loves it. This is my first smart phone and it is wonderful. Very easy to use and understand and with it working with verizon towers I always have at least 3 bars or more anywhere. I live very close to the mountains and the signal is very good. The only thing that I wish I could change is the battery life, I do have to charge it most every day BUT I use it a lot to check all my emails, text and I do have quite a few games and apps on it. I don't really agree with those who say that the storage on the phone does not hold much, I have lots of room still on the phone and I add all my games and apps to the sim where ever possible. All my photos and music are set to go there automatically now . I did get a 16 GB card and even with all that is on there and I still have LOTS of room. Do your self a favor and purchase the extra service contract for just $20 bucks and your piece of mind . I found 3 rubberized hard cases and 4 screen protectors at Amazon.com for less then $25 bucks so my phone will be taken care of well. The virtual keyboard is very easy to get use to, took me about an hour, so if you are looking for a great first android, without a high price tag and excellent service......... Buy this phone you will NOT be disappointed really.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

07/15/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has been working great for my wife. Battery life isn't bad and she is finding the phone easy to use (her first smartphone). And not being tied to Verizon's absurdly expensive pricing but still being able to use their network through Straight talk is a big plus. By the way, this phone is the same as the Verizon Samsung Illusion, so any cases or batteries that fit the Illusion will work with the Proclaim.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome Android!

09/19/2012
By ,
Lexington, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android, so having said that, keep in mind some of these issues might be chalked up to inexperience. My biggest negative is lack of informative materials; the manuals included with the phone don't begin to assist any android newby with comprehensive instructions/tips. While some of it is intuitive, some of it isn't at all. Do yourself a favor and download a much more useful resource here: http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/SCH-S720ZKATFN#.
Another problem is the overload of ads that pop up with the games. I'm not sure if this is a function of the game makers, Samsung, or Straight Talk. But it's aggravating! Could be that's just what you get when you go with free apps. I need to do further research on this.
I've seen this phone touted as a good one for those new to the world of droids. I would agree. Even my boyfriend, a die hard iPhone fan, is impressed! I think it's a great value for the money, and expect this will be all I need for some years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SC
re: manuals
Posted 05/28/2014
I have been a Straight
talk custumer for several years. I now am looking for my first smartphone. I had the same problem with lack of instructions with my phone. I REALLY need it with a smartphone since it may well be smartter than I am without printing out online manuals. It seems a though an instruction booklet with all that info should come with it.
0points
Ads
Posted 09/19/2012
Most of your free games are ad supported. Only way to stop them is to uninstall the game or purchase the paid version.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Same phone as Verizon's Samsung Illusion

07/04/2012
By ,
Wyoming
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to have an LG Vortex on the VZ network that I liked except for all the bloatware, which is something this doesn't come with. Without being contracted to a specific provider you don't have all the stuff that comes with a phone linked to VZ or ATT.
That being said, this phone has done everything I expected from it and it's a shame it has had bad reviews from people getting duds which can happen to any phone, any electronic, any brand. This is my second Samsung phone and I have had great luck with them.
It has a good amount of storage space for lots of apps and it is fairly fast, running Gingerbread 2.3. The battery life (like any smartphone) is not awesome but if I put it on wireless at home then I usually only go through half the battery. I charge it every night any way, just because that's the nature of smartphones. It still gets better battery life than my LG Vortex did (a whole 8 hours).
I have two issues with this phone, and one is probably just my individual phones as I haven't read any other complaints about it. When I use the camera it often will not close and I have to shut the phone off to turn the camera off. This also means that sometimes I can't take a picture when I want to. Not a huge deal, but kinda irritating. The second is that the screen is easily scratched so I recommend buying a gadget guard screen protector immediately (same as the Samsung Illusion).
Other than that, this is a good phone on a good network.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect

07/13/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom bought a much more expensive smart phone of a different brand from her cell phone provider. My phone seems to do everything of value that hers does. It isn't complicated and it has everything that I've wanted. The GPS works very well too! It is a bit smaller than some other smart phones I've seen, but I think it's perfect for me. As far as technology goes, I'm not a computer genius, but I like to be able to do pretty much about everything on a phone. I think unless you're obsessive about having all the options, you'll find this phone is perfect. My most common uses: email, internet browsing, checking the weather, playing games, using the alarm clock (app that I had to download for free), checking movie times, etc.
My only fault with it is that I have to hit several buttons to make a call, but I've set up speed dial for my most common calls and it only requires 2 hits to make those calls. You must know that this phone works off VERIZON towers only, so make certain that you have Verizon wherever you want to use your phone. Wal-mart doesn't sell covers for it just yet, but I found one online.
Where else could you have EVERYTHING that the other android smart phones have for just $45 a month?? I love my phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
07/12/2012
By ,
Abingdon, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm glad the fact that I still get service and it is a very cool phone. In my home, the strongest wifi connection is my room and if you have it turned off and allow the 3G kick in, you have automatic web connection! Best part about it. :) The service and good coverage, however, the disappointment is in MY area back in the woods, the radar will go down to one bar. But overall, it's the greatest phone I've ever owned. Great battery life, nice feel with a phone cover, great video quality and camera quality. But I had read through reviews and thought to myself, if this phone uses verizon towers, it should have full bars no matter where you go since Verizon is the BIGGEST nation wide coverage in America. I will sometimes get full, sometimes just 4, but in the downtown areas near the back woods, the reception is 1 bar. Overall, LOVE LOVE LOVE the phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Troy, alabama
Didnt Work For Me
Posted 09/25/2013
I Bought this phone in December and i had to get a new one in September. The back of the phone began getting extremely hot every time i charged it. It would only stay charged for about two hours. Eventually it gave me a mesaage that said "too hot to charge battery". Ieven bought a new battery but that did no good still got same message. I just bought a new phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone, But.....

06/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this phone alot! It runs smoothly and verizon service is wonderful. I always have service with this phone. I would have given it a 5 except the battery life is short. I downloaded Easy Battery Saver to see if that will help. Other than the battery the phone is great!
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Posted 11/17/2012
Try Juice Defender, it really helps with the battery.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
06/26/2012
By ,
twin falls idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a smart phone on Verizon, had an android on the sprint network service very minimal. Now I have great service. Thanks Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 970 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  49 Next