Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1168 Reviews) 971
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,014 out of 1,168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I like the phone.

01/05/2014
By ,
Independence,Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's great if you like smaller phones. It offers very many apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 362 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

love that my text can be sent by voice

03/06/2013
By ,
Truckee Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great phone . i have arthritis and texting can be difficult love the vocie texting just wish it could also do the numbers. Unfortunitly the speaker didnt work properly so i had to send it back
Now must wait for letter from them so i can send in the phone THEN wait for a new one What a HASSEL i will buy my phone in the store seems easier to return for any reasons
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 363 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Pretty good for the price.

03/06/2013
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pros;
A good beginner smart phone
Easy to setup
Can port your phone number
The cons I have experienced are;
No auto-focus camera (can't scan barcodes or qr codes effectively)
battery charge isn't as long as I would like (esp. when using the gps functions)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 364 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone, But.....

06/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this phone alot! It runs smoothly and verizon service is wonderful. I always have service with this phone. I would have given it a 5 except the battery life is short. I downloaded Easy Battery Saver to see if that will help. Other than the battery the phone is great!
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Posted 11/17/2012
Try Juice Defender, it really helps with the battery.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 365 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Really like this phone

09/29/2012
By ,
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using this phone about 2 weeks, and so far, I REALLY LIKE it. It's the 1st smart phone I've had, but everyone else in my family got I-phones, and to me, this one seems more user-friendly (can take out the battery if needed; can add bigger micro memory card (it comes with 2G); connecting it to my computer was a snap to add music and ringtones to the phone; etc.) My greatest frustration so far, and maybe because Idk how to do it right is sending and receiving attachments. They don't seem to want to open up and then will open HOURS later or received by others HOURS later. I don't get that at all. When I have time I'll call StraightTalk and see if they need to update my phone. Also, I have international calling, but cannot send international texts. That's kind of weird, but ST says they have only 2 phones that can send international texts. It's hard for me to believe that a smart phone can't do that. Btw, this is the ONLY ST smartphone that uses Verizon...which was critical for me...and I'm SOOOOOO HAPPY, after many, many years with ATT, I finally HAVE RECEPTION and can use my phone ANYWHERE...even at HOME!!! We're going to finally be able to cancel our home phone service!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 366 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

very good smartphone -- only problem is camera

12/28/2012
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the phone has been great in all respects except the camera -- very poor resolution and no auto focus -- camera does not work for scanning bar codes since it does not focus -- other than the camera, I have been very happy with the phone -- for the price it is unbeatable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 367 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

It's a good phone.

03/06/2013
By ,
Atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't had any dropped called, but as someone else stated, it is easy to hang up on someone while talking because of a side feature that your finger may touch accidently that causes you to end calls. Needs charging everyday. Battery life doesn't seem to last that long. Overall, it's a decent phone. The price value is about $50.00 to high, but I needed a phone desperately and wanted one on the Verizon network through Straighttalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 368 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Reasonable price with good internal memory

01/19/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm very happy with this phone for the most part. I bought it to replace the ZTE Merit because the Merit didn't have enough internal memory to function normally. This phone came with a little more than 1GB of internal memory, and I love it. I've downloaded all the apps I want and still have more than 800MB left.
I'm using a 16GB SD card and have moved most of my apps to the card. The phone works great with Ford Sync, and the battery life is really good - I really only charge it in the car while I'm driving.
The one thing I don't like are the controls on the front of the phone for Home, Back, Settings, etc. They're just little icons that aren't raised or backlit so they're basically invisible unless you manage to press one of them, then they all light up briefly. After using the phone for a few weeks you learn where they are, but the design could have been more user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 369 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great working phone on a reliable network

12/28/2012
By ,
Corona, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this phones specs are a bit lower than my last phone however my last phone had many problems
this phone has been very reliable and its on verizons towers so the coverage is much better
the battery life is not great but you can always purchase and extended battery
i would recommend this phone on straight talk for anyone that wants a pretty good phone with great coverage for a low price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 370 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone love it

02/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so a few months ago i went and purchased my first Smartphone and i just want to say i really love this phone and all the cool features it has the only thing i didn't like really is that the battery tends to drain to quickly so i ended up getting a battery booster in the Google app store i also don't like how it doesn't have flash and auto focus but other then that i love this phone it works great and when i make a call the other end can hear me pretty clearly i can also her them pretty good also i get pretty good service where i live up to 3 to 4 bars sometimes 5 and if i am out of my area my signal still good sometimes it might go down to 2 but my phone will still work good and the phone is very responsive doesn't lag or anything or freeze hardly except a couple apps i was using will tend to crash on me but haven't had that problem since then it must of been a bug in the app or something and the sound is pretty good also the 3G is pretty good as well i would surf the web and it would open up quick unlike my other phone i had the web would take forever to connect but not this phone and it takes pretty good pictures to maybe not that good but it's a cellphone so it won't take the best of pictures also while i am on the web it doesn't freeze at all like my other phone i had did every time i was on the web for so long it would freeze and i would have to take the battery out of the phone and turn the phone back on and that was always a pain with this phone i don't have to deal with that but the one thing that bothers me and i don't know if its normal or not when i shut my phone off it will go to a blue screen is that normal cause it kinda makes me really nervous when it does that it also tends to get hot to but i know that phones like these will tend to get like that but anyway if anyone can tell me if your phone went to that blue screen while shutting off let me know but overall the phone has not gave me any problems system wise except that blue screen after that track phone logo thing goes away that blue screen will appear until it shuts off so strange my Fiance said it does that cause of its Android system but other then that the phone works great and i highly recommend this phone to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 371 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
03/19/2013
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are only 3 things that I wish were different for this phone. I wish it had a foward facing camera and a flash!!! A little hard to use the skype app unless you are standing in front of a mirror! The last thing is the battery life. My old phone was good all day. With this one it seems to be plugged in atleast twice a day!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 372 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
01/31/2013
By ,
Oswego, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, calls are clear,
Con: battery life is not that long but then again I am on it a lot
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 373 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Acceptable Entry Level Smartphone

04/11/2013
By ,
St. Paul, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First smartphone that I have owned so I am limited in my evaluation based on a comparison. Screen is small and I looked at the other offered Straight Talk smartphones with envy, but was required to purchase a Verizon CDMA phone because Sprint, ATT and T-Mobile service was not available where I wanted the phone to function, northern Wisconsin.
Don't believe any battery life claim associated with this phone. I have fully charged the phone before going to bed, shut down all programs, pulled the charger, and by the morning the battery is 1/4 gone. This is in a large metropoitan area in MN with good Verizon coverage.
Service in filling my order by Walmart.com was excellant with receipt of phone prior to stated delivery date.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 374 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good!

04/30/2013
By ,
Hot Springs, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've owned this type of phone before. I am always happy with its performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 375 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good value; few oddities

06/21/2012
By ,
va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good phone, overall, so far; (Staightalk is a good service; I've had it for over a year, with no failures, such as was the case with my Blackberry, and I'm saving a LOT of money.)
LCD uses most of battery, so set it on low, and set timer to turn phone off for shorter time. Battery life is NOT as long as advertised, according to my experience.
You had better get a car-charger, etc.; I assume the USB cable that comes with it will charge from your computer; haven't fully read the 'lil book.
Concerns:
1. one SMALL button @side for on/off, rather obscure.
2. battery charge-port: no cover; is OPEN, prone to get dirt/moisture; should have cover like most phones, similar to the micro-SD cover.
3. You MUST buy the insurance AT purchase time; can't be added. I SUGGEST YOU BUY, FOR WITH THE OPEN PORT FOR CHARGING, IT IS LIKELY TO FAIL due to dirt/moisture over the months. cost is $39 for 18 months...get it.
4. IF camera is a priority: only 3megapixels, unlike some Samsung with 8MP; video may only be set to a little above 'good'/NO HD, 720p etc....camera is 'outdated' to start with, IF the camera is of importance to you.
5. Camera: no button handy; must use LCD; IF you need a quick shot, NOT so quick.
Panorama feature isn't working on my camera setting, currently; gotta find the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+90points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/09/2013
just so folks know... I have an open port for charging my Blackberry and in over 2 years I've never had problems with moisture and/or debris entering itJ
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 376 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

nice phone

03/18/2014
By ,
williamsburg ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phone was what it was supposed to be shipped on time. received in good condition
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 377 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good entry level droid

10/20/2012
By ,
Earth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has the features one would expect with android phone. Lots of apps. Decent build quality, but terrible battery life if using it more than just talking/texting. Will not last more than 4 hrs if used online very much. Using Verizon network seems OK. A basic feature missing is a visual in a blinking icon or light that you have a missed call, or text. After I purchased they rolled the price back 30 bux a couple of weeks past the 7 day price match. I think Walmart should have a better price protection than 7 days !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 378 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
09/12/2012
By ,
St Paul, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product and service. Would like to find a software driver to use phone as a hotspot via bluetooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 379 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
09/23/2013
By ,
Twentynine Palms, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone works well and looks good. I gave it four stars because the screen has gone black a couple of times and although its annoying, it only lasted a few seconds. Other than that, the phone is decent. It's more affordable than the plan I had before. The process of activating the phone and transferring my number was very easy to do on straighttalk.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 380 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent value

11/03/2012
By ,
Steubenville, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the features that got my attention was the 1ghz processor. A lot of the cheap smart phones are only 600-800mhz. While it isn't a multi-core processor, I am very impressed with the speed and smoothness. Seems like the Android 2.3 o/s is basic and doesn't have any fancy Straight Talk or Samsung overlays or restrictions. Easy to customize and add apps with Google Play. It comes with 2gb microSD card
Some of the trade offs for the Proclaim model of the Galaxy family is the camera and the screen. The camera has no flash and auto focus feature, however its pretty fast. The screen resolution is low-end, so the text is a little softer looking.
All said, its a nice phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
361-380 of 972 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  49 Next