Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1165 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,011 out of 1,165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
959 Questions | 2,322 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This is the worst phone I have ever had

10/26/2012
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My rating is actually less than 1 star their are 0.00 stars to this phone BUT WALMART will not allow me to enter that. The phone I had before was a huawei ascend ii which was a much less expensive phone that worked much better. Te Samsung locks up if I type too fast and I am extremely slow. The Samsung makes random phone calls while turned off in my pocket, this I believe to be typical. If I pick it up too fast when answering a call it sends a reject message. It replaces words that I try to type with words it chooses so if I do not closely watch what I text it will put something entirely different this is a dumb phone!!! When I wanted a smart phone!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

TERRIBLE PHONE

01/02/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone because I wanted a smartphone without paying the Verizon price. I typed texts that were "pending" and not sent until the next day. I was sent texts that I received days later, if at all. I had to charge the battery AT LEAST once a day. All I used the phone for was a few phone calls, 6-7 texts a day max, and I checked Facebook, my email and The Weather Channel. I had the screen brightness turned up half way but it kept going back to the lowest setting. Even though it was my secondary phone, I couldn't rely on it. I don't know if I got a lemon but I'll be much happier after it's returned. I hope WalMart doesn't give me a problem. Only had it a week. I guess it's true that you get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Switching to Strait Talk

04/24/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely delighted with the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It has been easy to use. Straight Talk has also been great. Thank you WalMart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 364 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

1st android

08/26/2012
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this phone for my youngest son. he has been using a messenger phone for a while. when it was time to upgraded decide to go with straight talk. got a screen protector and a case for it. he hasnt had any problems with it todate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 365 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

verizon $80 a month. straight talk $45 a month....

03/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little smaller than my fascinate phone but gets the job done just the same. almost half the cost and uses the same towers. This is much easier on my wallet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 366 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
03/19/2013
By ,
west palm beach, fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was supposed to get a bonus kit which I did not get when I got the phone. It's been a nightmare trying to transfer my old phone to the new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
07/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought the samsung proclaim. what a hard phone to get and now i know why this is a great phone i had it for a day and i love it. its fast and easy to use. i think it the best cell phone strighttalk ever put out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
04/09/2013
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Phone is too small for my hands. Texting was horrible- combine that with a very touchy screen and its a very frustrating phone. It does everything its suppose to though. Good phone for someone with tiny hands. Also the only cases i could find r on amazon and they r not what i would call sufficient protection at all. I ended up returning this phone upgrading to the S2. There is an otterbox for the S2.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone is fine....STRAIGHT TALK IS HORRIBLE!!!

12/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased phone and activated it...when I made a call to complete activation I realized the area code of my number was wrong. (Like hours away wrong!!!) Called straight talk.... spoke with 4 SUPERVISORS!!!! AND WAS LEFT ON HOLD FOR OVER AN HOUR AND A HALF...Wasted.a total of 3 hours with them to be told ... They couldn't do a thing to change the area code.... Can't imagine how useless they would be if I had a real technical issue!!!!! USELESS!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Best Smart Phone I have had

01/05/2013
By ,
HSV Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use and the speech to text capability is the best........no problems with any of the functions..I'm 68 years old and have been using computers since the early 80's
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 371 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Best cell phone I ever had.

07/04/2012
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this phone, I can check things on the web like weather and my e-mail etc. I am away from my computer for days at a time but now I can still do most of what I normaly do on my desk top computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone

01/07/2013
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my 12 yo granddaughter for Christmas and she has given it a real workout. So far, so good. At this point, I would certainly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

BAD

11/02/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight Talk doesn't give you your money back when you find out the phone only works in your home area~
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

First prepaid phone - LOVE it!

11/07/2012
By ,
Decatur, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Switched to Straight Talk from Verizon and chose this phone because it uses Verizon's networks. Great phone, great features, easy to use, and good call quality. Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 375 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smart phone service

07/03/2012
By ,
Sarasota Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Proclaim is a nifty Droid smart phone. The Straight Talk service is a a great value. The only hiccup was transferring my existing phone number online. Had to finally call to get it it set up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 376 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone, it replaced my Droid Incredible.

01/18/2013
By ,
Greensburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time using Straight Talk. No dropped calls, works well in my area, phone is easy to use and hold, lightweight. No complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

ONLY 2 WEEKS and the touch screen is useless :(

12/15/2012
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone 15 days ago, after reading a lot of good reviews... Unfortunately I am totally disappointed. After ONLY 2 WEEKS, the touch screen has lost its sensitivity. To unlock the phone, I must draw a pattern, but EVERY TIME, it takes at least 5 attempts, before it accepts my pattern!!! Also, when the phone rings, again I have to slide my finger, 4 out of 10 calls, I have to miss the call, because the screen doesn't accept the slide!!!!!! Since it's passed 15 days (ONLY ONE DAY), Walmart doesn't accept the return any more :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Failed @ 6 mos, ST offered to replace w/$99 phone

08/11/2013
By ,
Stockbridge
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone has been failing for 6 months. No problem I say, it's still within 1yr warranty, plus I paid for an extended warranty, I'll make use of the warranty.
Long story short Straight Talk is offering to replace $149 Proclaim with a $99 S738C Galaxy Centura phone. Huh? You're downgrading me to a cheaper phone that has lower customer ratings than Proclaim model? 87% vs 76% customer recommendation as of 8/11/2013
We reply that is unacceptable, it should be replaced with same model phone or similar value phone, or let us pay the difference to upgrade to a different VZW network phone with similar ratings and value.
ST replies, " Proclaim model is being phased out, no can do on similar value or upgrade, that's not in our computer, it's not allowed!", but ST will give one month free service with inferior phone!
Great, I get to keep using an inferior phone for one month free! and then I'd get to keep using an inferior phone for the remainder of the time I choose to use Straight Talk. Hmmm. Bad business, probably illegal.
Thought potential customer's of Straight Talk might want to know how warranty service is handled.
My Proclaim failed as follows: (sometimes wont ring on incoming calls when it's sitting on table beside me, mic and speaker start squeeking / popping at random, loses signal when driving around metro Atl on VZW signal - that shouldn't happen, it didn't happen when I had an old cheap phone and VZW contract)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 379 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent value

11/03/2012
By ,
Steubenville, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the features that got my attention was the 1ghz processor. A lot of the cheap smart phones are only 600-800mhz. While it isn't a multi-core processor, I am very impressed with the speed and smoothness. Seems like the Android 2.3 o/s is basic and doesn't have any fancy Straight Talk or Samsung overlays or restrictions. Easy to customize and add apps with Google Play. It comes with 2gb microSD card
Some of the trade offs for the Proclaim model of the Galaxy family is the camera and the screen. The camera has no flash and auto focus feature, however its pretty fast. The screen resolution is low-end, so the text is a little softer looking.
All said, its a nice phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 380 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

My first touch screen phone

12/24/2013
By ,
Beckley, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm still discovering all the many features of this phone and I'm really enjoying it! Reading the reviews from other people helped me to know that this phone was suitable for my needs and so far, I'm very happy with it. If I have one complaint it would be that the phone did not come with a manual and that would have been very helpful. It has a small instruction book to get you started, but a manual would have been much better!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
361-380 of 969 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  49 Next