Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1165 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,011 out of 1,165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

not a good phone...

09/24/2013
By ,
spencer, ma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone less than a year. The battery life was never good on the phone. The phone is slow. When you try to take pictures, the phone freezes and you have to take the battery out to turn it off and back on. This phone gets very, very hot at times. Recently my phone is shutting it self off at random times, and tells me my battery is critically low when it shuts off.. BUT my phone has anywhere from a 45%-25% charge at the time. My boyfriend has the same phone and he has had nearly all the same issues with the phone. I do not recommend anyone get this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/03/2013
Same thing happend to mine less than a year it started shutting off randomly even when plugged in, it got so hot the phone actually had a notification that it was overheating and telling me to shut it off (maybe thats why it shuts off randomly saying battery is low) the camera would always freeze my phone with no way to exit the app except shutdown phone. And now it it seems to be stuck in airplane mode. It shuts off randomly, i'd be lucky to make a 2 minute phone call before it shuts off, even when its plugged into the charger.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 362 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
08/26/2012
By ,
Burlington,wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My local Walmart did not stock this phone, so I had to order it and it arrived on time. So far I have had this phone for four days and had no problems. My number was ported within 15 minutes. This is my first smart phone and I am really happy with it. If your thinking about buying this phone I would say do it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 363 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
12/16/2012
By ,
Sebring, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I llove this phone and would recommend it to anyone. I am 63 and new technology goes over my head but this phone is so easy to learn and it is not complicated. I would recommend it to anyone who would like an Android that is easy to use. Great Christmas gift from my husband.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 364 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

better than expected

03/06/2013
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Way better than i expected it to be, especially the service. i literally live in the middle of no where and i get 3g and 1-3 bars 97% of the time. People usually have to stand next to a window or go outside to make a call or send a text with their phones but with the proclaim i get service throughout my house. my sister already plans on buying one for herself and my mother is thinking about it also. I was apprehensive with the price but it turned out being a good deal. im very happy with my purchase and would recommend this phone to anyone. so far ive only had it freeze on me once so i had to power it down, it may have been bc it was the first it was used but since then ive had no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 365 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

battery life is not 16 day standby more like 24 hr

08/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i called samsung about possible defective batteries. they have told me 2 separate stories. now saying cant replace batteries in my 2 phones unless i send in the old ones first. this means i will be without 2 phones for at least a month while i wait for them to receive, process and resend. dont buy samsung phones if you need any help. there online services stink, and they have no interest in helping you. if you ever need service you wont get it . dont buy there phones! i wont be anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Exit browser after use...
Posted 08/26/2012
After use of browser, go to settings, then tasks, and exit the browser. This saves a lot of battery!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 366 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Failed @ 6 mos, ST offered to replace w/$99 phone

08/11/2013
By ,
Stockbridge
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone has been failing for 6 months. No problem I say, it's still within 1yr warranty, plus I paid for an extended warranty, I'll make use of the warranty.
Long story short Straight Talk is offering to replace $149 Proclaim with a $99 S738C Galaxy Centura phone. Huh? You're downgrading me to a cheaper phone that has lower customer ratings than Proclaim model? 87% vs 76% customer recommendation as of 8/11/2013
We reply that is unacceptable, it should be replaced with same model phone or similar value phone, or let us pay the difference to upgrade to a different VZW network phone with similar ratings and value.
ST replies, " Proclaim model is being phased out, no can do on similar value or upgrade, that's not in our computer, it's not allowed!", but ST will give one month free service with inferior phone!
Great, I get to keep using an inferior phone for one month free! and then I'd get to keep using an inferior phone for the remainder of the time I choose to use Straight Talk. Hmmm. Bad business, probably illegal.
Thought potential customer's of Straight Talk might want to know how warranty service is handled.
My Proclaim failed as follows: (sometimes wont ring on incoming calls when it's sitting on table beside me, mic and speaker start squeeking / popping at random, loses signal when driving around metro Atl on VZW signal - that shouldn't happen, it didn't happen when I had an old cheap phone and VZW contract)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 367 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Customer service is very poor!!

06/22/2012
By ,
Concord, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the phone its fast and runs off Verizon which is a huge plus in my area! At this point I have yet to make a call because I've been waiting since 6/18/12 for them to port my number over. My experience so far is that $45 doesn't include good customer service!! I've been told it would take 24 to 48 hours for 96 hours so far. I called again today and surprise they said wait just 24 more hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
37643
I have had straight talk for a lil while now.
Posted 06/29/2012
so here is my advice on getting better customer service.. my moms phone is screwed up and every month i have to call in and get codes to be able to use the phone. soo when i call in i just tell them straight up i want to talk to a supervisor and it ends up going better and they know what they are doing.. i think u are having the issue i did when fixing her phone.. we were importing a number and what they kept doing is programming the card the phone card to the old phone. soo when u call in ask for a super and ask them to go over the sim number and serial number for the phone u are trying to get the number on... to make sure they are doing it correctly. best of luck.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 368 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Switching to Strait Talk

04/24/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely delighted with the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It has been easy to use. Straight Talk has also been great. Thank you WalMart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 369 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

After a week or so, still smarter than I am..

01/13/2013
By ,
great falls, mt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phone seems to be working fine and posesses many useful and fun functions...
If this phone is not scanned properly at Checkout, it willl not activate....I had to return to the store for re-scanning...worked fine after that
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 370 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

verizon $80 a month. straight talk $45 a month....

03/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little smaller than my fascinate phone but gets the job done just the same. almost half the cost and uses the same towers. This is much easier on my wallet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 371 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Very disappointing

11/20/2013
By ,
Monroe, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought being a Samsung, it would be a great phone. I thought since it was supposed to be a $179 phone (for $100), it would be a great phone. It might be if you never put it on speaker but when you do it sounds like a child's toy. Very "tinny", scratchy....sounds really cheap. The whole phone has a cheap look, a cheap feel, and worse yet, a cheap sound. I think I'm taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 372 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
03/19/2013
By ,
west palm beach, fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was supposed to get a bonus kit which I did not get when I got the phone. It's been a nightmare trying to transfer my old phone to the new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 373 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
04/09/2013
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Phone is too small for my hands. Texting was horrible- combine that with a very touchy screen and its a very frustrating phone. It does everything its suppose to though. Good phone for someone with tiny hands. Also the only cases i could find r on amazon and they r not what i would call sufficient protection at all. I ended up returning this phone upgrading to the S2. There is an otterbox for the S2.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 374 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

great coverage

09/01/2012
By ,
springfield mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the phone is sharp goes to page fast perfect size wifi works great. use it a lot works off of verizon towers only price is great with insuarnce 19.00 i paid 213. with ins. that covers 2 years with spill brocken front and ext. yes water damage. great phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 375 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

FAST performance, AWESOME service, Excellent value

10/08/2012
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feeling richer already! The Proclaim is a fast phone with awesome cellular service in my area. My previous provider ($print) had spotty service, but this Proclaim gets 3G nearly everywhere I go (Veriz0n). I bought one for the wife too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 376 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This is the worst phone I have ever had

10/26/2012
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My rating is actually less than 1 star their are 0.00 stars to this phone BUT WALMART will not allow me to enter that. The phone I had before was a huawei ascend ii which was a much less expensive phone that worked much better. Te Samsung locks up if I type too fast and I am extremely slow. The Samsung makes random phone calls while turned off in my pocket, this I believe to be typical. If I pick it up too fast when answering a call it sends a reject message. It replaces words that I try to type with words it chooses so if I do not closely watch what I text it will put something entirely different this is a dumb phone!!! When I wanted a smart phone!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Review 377 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent affordable phone

12/14/2013
By ,
Illlinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have a blackberry for work, but needed to move my personal cell number. This phone fit the bill. Much easier to use than my work phone, calendar feature ROCKS! Now to get my company to move over to Samsung!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 378 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone so far

07/07/2012
By ,
Bham, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a techie by any means, so I'm still learning how to best use this phone. But so far, the internet is very fast, very good phone signal everywhere I've used it, and some cool features, like voice recognition, that are great. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 379 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I would recommend...with Caution!

12/29/2013
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought is Galaxy Proclaim via Wal-Mart Online-a GREAT buy I might add,NO issues with shipping it arrived in 3-4days. Once set up it appeared to meet my needs and much more...and almost as quickly it started having problems. Bluetooth would click on and off at will. Going from Mobile phone to WiFi services it kept quickly dropping.Re-establish a link via Android only to have it GONE in a flash!..it quickly became a nuisance not an asset as a New Cell Phone!! I called Straight Talk,they were Wonderful! Re established service and my # on my OLD phone so that I'd have service and TOLD me to return the Proclaim as obviously it needs repairs/servicing. I may have just gotten a "dud"...yet think I'll look at many others before I settle on a NEW Cell Phone again!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 380 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

1st android

08/26/2012
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this phone for my youngest son. he has been using a messenger phone for a while. when it was time to upgraded decide to go with straight talk. got a screen protector and a case for it. he hasnt had any problems with it todate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
361-380 of 969 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  49 Next