Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1165 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,011 out of 1,165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
958 Questions | 2,322 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straigt talk and Samsung Galaxy Proclaim!

11/10/2013
By ,
TX rural area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this phone online. It was received in 2 days.... Great delivery speed... However wasn't expecting it so quick, my contract with Verizon was not ending for 4 more days. So I played with the phone and learned a little about it before activating. I kept my same number from Verizon. I have never had a smart phone before and I love it so far. I am learning how to use it and once my contract was out my activation and transfer of my number went easily. My reception is much better... I live in the country and my plain Verizon phone was always dropping calls which they told me was because I was on the edge of Verizon's coverage.... this new phone goes through Verizon's towers and I haven't had a drop yet. Great entry level phone and great price for service. I have cut my cell phone bill in half and have twice the service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Switching to Strait Talk

04/24/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely delighted with the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It has been easy to use. Straight Talk has also been great. Thank you WalMart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

After a week or so, still smarter than I am..

01/13/2013
By ,
great falls, mt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phone seems to be working fine and posesses many useful and fun functions...
If this phone is not scanned properly at Checkout, it willl not activate....I had to return to the store for re-scanning...worked fine after that
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 364 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

great coverage

09/01/2012
By ,
springfield mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the phone is sharp goes to page fast perfect size wifi works great. use it a lot works off of verizon towers only price is great with insuarnce 19.00 i paid 213. with ins. that covers 2 years with spill brocken front and ext. yes water damage. great phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 365 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!!

09/18/2013
By ,
Dadeville, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE HAD THIS PHONE FOR OVER A YEAR NOW, AND I HAVE NEVER ENCOUNTERED THE PROBLEMS THAT OTHERS LISTED HERE.. I HAVE TRIED OTHER S.T. SMARTPHONES, BUT I HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS WITH THEM FROM THE GET GO, THAT I HAD TO TAKE THEM ALL BACK WITHIN DAYS OF PURCHASING THEM..
THE GALAXY PROCLAIM IS FANTASTIC!!! I CAN DO EVERYTHING ON THIS PHONE THAT I NEED TO DO; EVEN CONFERENCE CALLS FOR MY MINISTRY!!! I WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND THIS PHONE TO FAMILY & FRIENDS. ALSO, I PLAN ON BUYING ANOTHER ONE SINCE THEY ARE ON SALE AS MY BACKUP PHONE!!
THANK YOU WALMART FOR PUTTING OUT A GREAT PHONE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 366 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

verizon $80 a month. straight talk $45 a month....

03/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little smaller than my fascinate phone but gets the job done just the same. almost half the cost and uses the same towers. This is much easier on my wallet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
03/19/2013
By ,
west palm beach, fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was supposed to get a bonus kit which I did not get when I got the phone. It's been a nightmare trying to transfer my old phone to the new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

FAST performance, AWESOME service, Excellent value

10/08/2012
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feeling richer already! The Proclaim is a fast phone with awesome cellular service in my area. My previous provider ($print) had spotty service, but this Proclaim gets 3G nearly everywhere I go (Veriz0n). I bought one for the wife too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Failed @ 6 mos, ST offered to replace w/$99 phone

08/11/2013
By ,
Stockbridge
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone has been failing for 6 months. No problem I say, it's still within 1yr warranty, plus I paid for an extended warranty, I'll make use of the warranty.
Long story short Straight Talk is offering to replace $149 Proclaim with a $99 S738C Galaxy Centura phone. Huh? You're downgrading me to a cheaper phone that has lower customer ratings than Proclaim model? 87% vs 76% customer recommendation as of 8/11/2013
We reply that is unacceptable, it should be replaced with same model phone or similar value phone, or let us pay the difference to upgrade to a different VZW network phone with similar ratings and value.
ST replies, " Proclaim model is being phased out, no can do on similar value or upgrade, that's not in our computer, it's not allowed!", but ST will give one month free service with inferior phone!
Great, I get to keep using an inferior phone for one month free! and then I'd get to keep using an inferior phone for the remainder of the time I choose to use Straight Talk. Hmmm. Bad business, probably illegal.
Thought potential customer's of Straight Talk might want to know how warranty service is handled.
My Proclaim failed as follows: (sometimes wont ring on incoming calls when it's sitting on table beside me, mic and speaker start squeeking / popping at random, loses signal when driving around metro Atl on VZW signal - that shouldn't happen, it didn't happen when I had an old cheap phone and VZW contract)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This is the worst phone I have ever had

10/26/2012
By ,
Wichita, Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My rating is actually less than 1 star their are 0.00 stars to this phone BUT WALMART will not allow me to enter that. The phone I had before was a huawei ascend ii which was a much less expensive phone that worked much better. Te Samsung locks up if I type too fast and I am extremely slow. The Samsung makes random phone calls while turned off in my pocket, this I believe to be typical. If I pick it up too fast when answering a call it sends a reject message. It replaces words that I try to type with words it chooses so if I do not closely watch what I text it will put something entirely different this is a dumb phone!!! When I wanted a smart phone!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 371 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
04/09/2013
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Phone is too small for my hands. Texting was horrible- combine that with a very touchy screen and its a very frustrating phone. It does everything its suppose to though. Good phone for someone with tiny hands. Also the only cases i could find r on amazon and they r not what i would call sufficient protection at all. I ended up returning this phone upgrading to the S2. There is an otterbox for the S2.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone so far

07/07/2012
By ,
Bham, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a techie by any means, so I'm still learning how to best use this phone. But so far, the internet is very fast, very good phone signal everywhere I've used it, and some cool features, like voice recognition, that are great. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

1st android

08/26/2012
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this phone for my youngest son. he has been using a messenger phone for a while. when it was time to upgraded decide to go with straight talk. got a screen protector and a case for it. he hasnt had any problems with it todate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

not a good phone...

09/24/2013
By ,
spencer, ma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone less than a year. The battery life was never good on the phone. The phone is slow. When you try to take pictures, the phone freezes and you have to take the battery out to turn it off and back on. This phone gets very, very hot at times. Recently my phone is shutting it self off at random times, and tells me my battery is critically low when it shuts off.. BUT my phone has anywhere from a 45%-25% charge at the time. My boyfriend has the same phone and he has had nearly all the same issues with the phone. I do not recommend anyone get this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/03/2013
Same thing happend to mine less than a year it started shutting off randomly even when plugged in, it got so hot the phone actually had a notification that it was overheating and telling me to shut it off (maybe thats why it shuts off randomly saying battery is low) the camera would always freeze my phone with no way to exit the app except shutdown phone. And now it it seems to be stuck in airplane mode. It shuts off randomly, i'd be lucky to make a 2 minute phone call before it shuts off, even when its plugged into the charger.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 375 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Wouldnt buy again.

11/11/2013
By ,
Litchfield,CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone about 8 months ago because it was the best buy for the money. At the time I had paid 179.99 for it along with the protection plan etc.. For about 2 months everything was great. The battery was fine, it was easy to use and had a substantial amount of cool aspects. In that 2 month period, I had noticed that the internet was pretty slow but hey what can you expect for 45$ unlimited right? With great service(Verizon towers) and a pretty good phone I thought I would never go back to another phone.
And I was SO WRONG. After 60 days the battery wouldn't hold a charge longer than 5 hours. I would have it at 100% before bed, then when I woke up it would say battery critically low.
Keep in mind-I was only using the phone for about 5 phone calls and maybe 20-30 texts a day. with NO APPS- No streaming- No GPS. the battery was just horrible.Even with a terrible battery I continue to use it and charge it 3- 4 times a day.When the battery starts draining nothing seems to work- texts- calls-data. After that!! more problems started. The dialer wouldn't let me call out to contacts or regular numbers kept getting error (dialer unresponsive).Luckily there wasnt an emergency!! I would hit call and it wouldn't register into the system, then it would call that person a half hour later on its own. The keyboard would NOT initate when trying to text.. Internet would never load.Oh the headaches! After Master reset/factory reset it stopped.. FOR 2 days..and then started AGAIN.
I called walmart with my protection plan info and they transferred me to Straight talk(I was still under 1yr warranty of Samsung so walmart did not cover this yet). I told straight talk what was going on with my phone and they had told me to factory reset and if it didn't work I would have to send my phone out to them. Once verified they would send me a refurbished phone that may be or may not be the same model. They had told me it could be weeks before receiving another phone and I told them I need my phone for work. Basically it was "sorry there is nothing more we can do" to to end our conversation.
Needless to say I regret buying this phone and telling other people to buy it too. Now myself and 3 others all have the same issues and are now buying another phone within 1 year. Please do your research.
I would not recommend getting the phone unless you are only using it temporarily. Not an every day user friendly phone..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 376 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Best Smart Phone I have had

01/05/2013
By ,
HSV Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use and the speech to text capability is the best........no problems with any of the functions..I'm 68 years old and have been using computers since the early 80's
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone

01/07/2013
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my 12 yo granddaughter for Christmas and she has given it a real workout. So far, so good. At this point, I would certainly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
07/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought the samsung proclaim. what a hard phone to get and now i know why this is a great phone i had it for a day and i love it. its fast and easy to use. i think it the best cell phone strighttalk ever put out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 379 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

StraightTalk phones

01/02/2014
By ,
Galax, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. My family has two of these phones. We have had this service for at least four years. Wonderful service, good quality equipment, very satisfied with StraightTalk.
#1StraightTalk Customer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 380 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

BAD

11/02/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight Talk doesn't give you your money back when you find out the phone only works in your home area~
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
361-380 of 969 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  49 Next