Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1168 Reviews) 971
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,014 out of 1,168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
963 Questions | 2,334 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
645
4 stars
322
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 261 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

nice phone

11/14/2012
By ,
Natchitoches, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my wife to replace lost (LG L55C) phone, and she feels it is even better than the old one in terms of functionality and navigation. Thin and light, it still has a nice sized screen and the camera takes decent pics/videos. I would recommend this phone for those unconcerned with having to impress your friends with the "latest" model phone from the trendy company that bears the same name as a fruit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 262 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This Phone Rocks!!

11/15/2012
By ,
Southern Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been on the Straight Talk Band Wagon since Black Friday 2009 and started with the 290C slider phone (Great phone too!# then summer 2011 i upgraded to the Nokia E-71 Major Plus with features that made my job easier #pro-Broadcaster# still was missing a few features i was seeking and the first androids worked on sprint which is not available in my area then at last Verizon #my prefered network by the way) supports the Droids and after many months of looking over the user reviews and learning the Proclaim came down to $149 and my walmart had Plenty in stock i bit the bullet and got one The Nokia E-71 i upgraded from is a Great Phone and i gladly will recommend it to anyone not as demanding on communications as i am This Samsung Proclaim far Exceeded what i Expected from a Straight Talk Phone 45dollars for unlimited made my job even more easy Great Job Samsung and Straight Talk and Walmart and oh yea my Nokia E-71 is now a Back up phone just in case..... Android Rocks!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 263 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

stops working in less than 6 months

11/15/2012
By ,
south florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
phone works good the first couple days. straighttalk signal is better than verizons even though it only has 3g. but never put the phone on airplane mode, u'll never get it off without having to do a 'hard reset' and losing all phone numbers and data. phone just lost signal connection today while using it and never recovered... it died in my hands... now all its good for is a home touchscreen wifi 'pad', if u already have wifi. if not its just a cheap camera... if ur planning on buying a cheap or expensive cellphone, do yourself a favor and go 'metro'. they have been outstanding in comparison to all the other major wireless competitors... good luck...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 264 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
11/15/2012
By ,
Northern Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the talk to text!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 265 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
11/15/2012
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this phone from Walmart.com, received it Nov. 1st, 2012. as of 11/15/2012, I have contacted Straighttalk customer service 13 times to get phone reactivated. Could not call out when it messed up, but all other functions worked fine. They told me today that some codes were wrong in the phone and my problem was solved now, not holding breath, because thers a 99.9 per cent chance it will be down within 12 more hours. Its a good phone when its working, but I would not recomend, and I;m likely sending it back on next outage as it is still within 30 days of purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 266 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Impressed with my first Smart Phone

11/16/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressive, inexpensive Smart Phone. Critics talk about their more expensive phones in comparisons. If you need to have the latest high priced phone to flash around the Mall this is not your phone. If you want excellent service in a reasonably priced Smart Phone this is for you. Walmart is priced about $30 less than Straight Talk at this time... a good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 267 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it!

11/16/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new phone. I have told all my friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 268 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

What a dissapointment!!!

11/16/2012
By ,
Lockney, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Proclaim is a joke! I bought this phone thinking all of the reviews were great info... For the first month it was great, but then I started having trouble calling out. After calling straight talk everyday for a week I gave up. I was told on a daily basis that the problem was fixed and wouldnt happen again. So I hung in for a while, but enough is enough. If that problem could be solved, it would be a perfect phone to me. But if you can't call out what good is it. My wife,my son, and a really good friend also have this phone and they are all having the same problem. I am a faithful straighttalk customer, so I will try another phone. Thinking about trying the Optimus Zip, lots of good reviews... Hope this helps anyone thinking about purchasing the Proclaim!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 269 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
11/17/2012
By ,
Queenstown MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems Ok. I thought it would work with my bank accounts but I keep getting a message that it is incompatible. Even though the bank has a download for Android users I still could not get it to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 270 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
11/17/2012
By ,
Mayfield
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Android cell phone. The only reason why I did not give it a five star review is because the battery is bad. I have never had to worry about my phone dying while at school. I have started to carry my charger around. The features on this phone are amazing! This phone is great, but I'm always trying to find a way to stop the battery from dying real quick. You might start using the internet from 100% but after using the internet for 15 minutes it's down to 75%! I am considering getting the Samsung Galaxy SII from Straight Talk instead. That one runs on AT&T and the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim runs on Verizon Wireless. Beware about the battery!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 271 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

It's a Miracle

11/17/2012
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smart phone so have no comparison. It is amazing! A computer in my pocket on which I can also makes calls, and all for forty-five bucks a month. Most people I know are paying over a hundred. Perhaps their phones have more bells and whistles, I dunno, but then how many bells and whistles does one need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 272 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
11/17/2012
By ,
Hays KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this phone--Im from a small town in Kansas and this phone runs well off Verizon towers--fast phone with all the bells and whistles--would definetly recoment this phone! Love all of its features and is easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 273 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellant for the price

11/17/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome for the price, anyone on a budget and inside of a Verizon service area, this is the phone for you. It has excellent data speeds and very good call quality. The supposed limit for the "unlimited data" is around 2 GB a month (which is a lot!) but i have used much more than that with no service disruption. The only thing i could ask for is a front camera, and the option of stock android (instead of Samsung's "TouchWiz"). I have purchased the extended battery for this phone, which extends the battery by many many hours, along with the app "JuiceDefender" which manages power to get you even more battery life, i have no problem getting several days of use between charges. I have also added the app Go Launcher which replaces the TouchWiz UI and makes the phone very fast and responsive. I have also rooted this phone, which nobody needs to do, but anyone familiar with with the topic, it is very easy to do and lets you back up apps and underclock your phone for more battery.
Well hope this review helps somebody and helps them choose the right android for them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+167points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lavonia, Ga
Thank you
Posted 02/04/2014
Thank you for an excellent review and the extra information on apps, etc. :)
0points
Customer Avatar
NC
Micro Sd card default storage
Posted 12/26/2013
Is there a way to make the SD card he dafault storage on this phone. I did that on a Hauwei, but I can't remember how I did it.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 274 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Android Phone

11/18/2012
By ,
Cassel, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time using an android - figured everything out quickly and without frustration. Meets all of my expectations. Uses a lot of battery (but maybe that's normal for these types of phones?). Anyway, easy to use, great coverage, screen size is fine, photo quality is surprisingly good. Bought a case for it as well as the screen protectors. Also purchased the 2-year extended warranty - $15. Overall - this phone is an excellent value and does everything I need it to. Daughter bought the same phone a week later.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 275 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Does everything I need to do

11/19/2012
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smart phone was a BlackBerry 8230 flip phone. I got it because it was supposed to have access to email, internet, etc. Well, I could never get the email set up. I tried everything, followed every instruction and it would never work. Also, the phone reception was not that great and definitely not what I expected from a BlackBerry. Finally got tired of fooling with it and decided to get another phone. I can't afford an I phone and did some research and found the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. Seems to have gotten good reviews by most people and I found mine at WalMart and it was on sale (Yeah!) Well, I must say, I am very pleased with this phone. Reception is very good, phone quality is 10 x's better than the BlackBerry and everything works! I can get email - all my emails and it was super easy to set up!!! It also takes good pictures and is faster than my laptop when searching the internet. I must say, I am very happy with my Galaxy Proclaim.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 276 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
11/19/2012
By ,
Tyler, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is so much better than I had expected. I had been paying big bucks for a razor on AT&T. I payed extra for the phone but the monthly charge of $45 for unlimited everything is wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 277 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good low end smart phone.

11/19/2012
By ,
Drums, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprised the phone has a regular plastic cover instead of glass, installed screen protector and this hasn't been an issue. I did receive a damaged/defective phone the first time but the exchange process was quick and easy. I'm disappointed the phone dosen't have a flash or front facing camera but I knew that before purchasing it. I also don't like the fact most apps run in the back ground after exiting them, quickly draining battery life if you forget to go into the task manager to exit them. Those few small issues aside it's a great entry level smart phone, can't beat it for the price and I love the fact it runs off the Verizon towers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 278 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
11/19/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is exceptional in many ways......reasonably priced, NO CONTRACT, and user friendly. This phones most functionality is that it works off of the Verizon network which has proven to work very well. The cons for this phone are the poor quality of the camera with flash excluded and the poor battery life but these are minor glitches that are easly overcome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 279 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Rocky Start/Dialer Problem

11/19/2012
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice phone--I love the voice dial and voice search. But, things didn't start out so smoothly. After having the phone 2 days, I was taking back for an exchange. There was a problem with the dialer, where it was draining the battery within hours, and I hadn't even activated the phone yet. It is a Christmas gift, so I am delaying activation as long as possible, and I also wanted to make sure everything worked on it before investing the $45 for service.
What was happening with the dialer is that the phone was telling me "Mobile network state = connecting." This is how I fixed it:
Settings--> wireless and networks--> Mobile networks--> use packet data #I unchecked this box, which fixed the problem. The dialer use went to 3%, and then it didn't show up on the battery use screen at all.#
I just have to go back and check the box before I activate.
I hope that others who buy this as a gift without activating immediately will be helped by this, and not be disappointed.
Merry Christmas!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 280 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

awesome

11/19/2012
By ,
south royalton, vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best phone ever husband bought this as an earllt christmas gift and love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
261-280 of 972 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  12 13 14 15 16  ...  49 Next