Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone features fast, intuitive navigation with the Android 2.3 operating system and a 1GHz processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy gives you endless ways to customize your phone — and you can see it all on the 3.5" touchscreen. If you like to multi-task, the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone, Proclaim Prepaid has instant messaging and "speech to text" capability, so you can say what you need to say quickly. Plus, the "tilt and shake" function allows you to change options on your phone, with just a flick of your wrists. The camera and video recorder lets you capture all of your memories and store it on the 1GZ processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1165 Reviews) 968
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation87%1,011 out of 1,165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
643
4 stars
322
3 stars
60
2 stars
38
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 201 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

SAMSUNG PROCLAIM FROM STRAIGHT TALK ROCKS

10/06/2012
By ,
Henderson, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE REAL VALUE IS THE STRAIGHT TALK PLAN - $45 PER MONTH FOR UNLIMITED EVERYTHING. THIS PHONE IS GREAT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 202 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

I Love My Samsung Proclaim Smart Phone

11/06/2012
By ,
Southeastern USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I made the decision for my husband and I to change to Straight Talk after my son suggested we try it as another way to save money, we are on a fixed income. I chose the Samsung Proclaim phone for myself because I wanted a smart phone type cell phone that used the Verizion tower network. I had already picked out our phones, when I saw them on "price roll back" at the WalMart on line site, I ordered them immediately and had them shipped to our favorite local WalMart store.
We saved on the initial cost of the phones plus had no shipping fees and we are saving on the cost of the monthly cell phone service and have more phone services than we had with our previous phone service. We were already out of contract with the "name brand" company.
This Samsung Proclaim is my first smart phone and I have not yet begun to discover all it can do, but I can tell you that so far it has done everything I have needed it to do. I make and receive phone calls/texts and I have enjoyed having the web access. I have read news and looked up crossword clues and it worked just fine. I have not yet used the GPS or set up any extra apps. when I have time I will get into this phone further. I am sure I will not be disappointed.
We ported our cell phone numbers from the name brand company over to Straight Talk with no problems, but I did have to call Straight Talk customer service to complete the set up on both of our phones. The person I spoke to was easy to understand and made sure both phones worked properly and answered all my questions before ending the call.
I am already planning on upgrading my phone as soon as another "Verizion tower" cell phone is available from Straight Talk, as I want one with a larger screen.
We have no regrets about changing from the "name brand" company to Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 203 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Samsung proclaim

12/18/2012
By ,
Macon,ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I can see wrong with this phone is the way it keeps the screen locked. I would like to find a way to unlock and keep it-unlocked.very nice phone otherwise!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 204 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Hopefully a dud.. Returning

12/20/2012
By ,
Urbana, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm hoping this phone is a dud..I can't do anything without it crashing to desktop or the phone totally resetting. Even something as simple as going to another desktop screen with the simple swipe of your finger makes my phone crash. Wasted money.. I should have stayed with my Samsung Galaxy Precedent. It's $79, runs on Sprint Towers, but at least the phone ran beautifully with no flaws.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 205 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Basic Smartphone for Price

01/19/2014
By ,
Rolla, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been reviewing and researching smartphones and monthly prepaid plans for quite a while now. My AT&T contract was ending and I wanted to "upgrade" from a flip phone to a smartphone. I found this great deal and decided to purchase. I already had a Samsung Galaxy Tablet so the concept was the same which made the switch easier (Android). The Proclaim phone is very nice for a basic smartphone. It has everything I need and the Straight Talk $45 monthly plan fits my budget. The only negative I find so far is battery life. It needs to be charged almost daily. I can probably lengthen the life by turning off certain features, but it can be a hassle to have to remember to do this. Otherwise, I am pleased with my purchase and highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 206 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect smart phone

11/30/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a smart phone that does everything and doesn't cost an arm a leg this is the phone for you. Not too small not too big just right to fit in your pocket. I live in the mountains of Western North Carolina and this phone gets very good reception. My husband has AT&T and after seeing the reception I get on this phone he's changing over. And I also like not having a 2 year contract. With tax it is $48.00 a month unlimited and if you buy 3 or 6 months at a time you save even more. Check with the other carriers nobody has that good of price. If your on the fence about this phone go ahead and buy it you will not be disappointed. Its absolutely wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 207 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Easy to Use / Quality Equipment

01/23/2013
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is easy to use even for first-time users like myself.
Picture quality is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 208 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

This is a really nice phone

01/10/2013
By ,
Leesburg,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. It works really well. So far no issues (other than operator issues) It took about a day to get used to the touch keyboard, and get used to navigating around the phone. It does all that I need it to and more. If you have this phone and you come across issues with turning your cellular Data back on, dial *22890 press send and it will fix the problem (Learned this the hard way). I would recommend this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 209 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

OK, but...

10/27/2012
By ,
Albany, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall I am pleased with the cell phone with one major exception. The battery runs out of power too quickly. Even though I give it a full charge each night, it runs down at a fast rate each day even with little or no usage. Today I used the phone for 5-10 minutes and the battery is already below 60% power. Something is wrong and I will be asking Straight Talk for a replacement battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kentucky
Posted 10/30/2012
if you turn off the wifi, gps, move majority of apps to your sd card and then set apps not to boot up with your phone you can get a average of 2 days out of your phone, try and see it works on mine, I use a app called "all-in-one toolbox", to do these things.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 210 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone, a bit small

04/08/2013
By ,
Dallas GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a nice phone but a bit on the small side. The processing power of this phone will meet the needs of the average person. It is exactly what you would expect from Samsung and Android. A quality product. However for the price it would be nice to have a version of andriod that is a little newer. This phone works on the verizon network and for where i live that's just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 211 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is OK

04/03/2013
By ,
Athens, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is a decent, entry level smart phone, and is the first such phone I've owned. The telephone feature works quite well. I replaced my original phone about a week after I received it. The original phone was not properly shifting the screen from vertical (portrait) to horizontal (landscape) when turning the phone "on its side." The view changed from vertical no more than than a quarter of the time. This caused problems for me trying to use the small keypad when in the vertical mode due to my large fingers. I exchanged the phone for one of the same model and am using it with no more problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 212 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

07/22/2012
By ,
Fort Smith, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coming from a droid 2 , this thing runs circles around it. It has a much faster processor, huge memory, and is perfect if you live where verizon serves you well. The only thing I wish it did have was a actual keyboard . But the swype helps make up for it. I am thinking about buying one for a spare as I'm accident prone phone wise,lol. You will not be disappointed if you buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 213 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell

12/12/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son to replace his all but dead boost mobile Samsung Prevail.
We live "in the county" so signal strength can (and has) be an issue.
He loves the phone, has a great signal, and says it runs much quicker and smoother than his previous phone. He is TOTALLY happy with this phone and service.
* I have seen comments per having to deal with Straight Talk customer service, they of course are NOT located in the USA, and there can be some "communication problems". I had to call per a question during activation (personal request, not typical)... it was not painless, but we endured. Could have been much worse.
I MUST DRAW YOUR ATTENTION to the fact that this package deal DOES NOT include the first month's $45 unlimited service with the phone, it must be bought separately. That was irritating, besides that we are very happy with the overall purchase.
Merry Christmas and Season's Greetings to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 214 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
01/22/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone 7 months ago and love it, and the monthly payment! I have never lost coverage and I can do everything I need to do - call, play games, go on FB, check email, text and more - you name it. Look, for 45 bucks a month, it's a great service. I also love the voice recorder - great for sudden thoughts and ideas - I don't have to find pen and paper! Great value for money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 215 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

STRAIGHT TALK WIRELESS IS TERRIBLE

04/01/2013
By ,
Columbus
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight Talk wireless is the WORST cell phone company I have ever dealt with!!!!!! They sold me a phone that was defective, and to get a replacement, I have to send back the bad phone FIRST!!!!! Are you kidding me?!?!?!?!? I am supposed to go 2 weeks or more with no phone when it was a factory defect?!?!?!? To anyone who can hear me, DO NOT USE STRAIGHT TALK WIRELESS for your cell phone needs, they are PATHETIC when it comes to customer service!!!!!!! This is no way a reflection on WalMart other than they carry the brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 216 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Android phone for a beginner.

05/11/2013
By ,
Adirondacks NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never had a phone like this. The value of having it is priceless. $45 includes unlimited everything. No contracts as well. I have much to still discover as the phone is new to me. I love the clear features for the web, the touch features that allow me to enlarge as I am older and vision is a bit of an issue for me is a huge benefit. I bought a Nexus 7 tablet months ago and yet I am using my phone all the time for what I originally bought the tablet for. I dislike the fact that in the call log you can only delete them one by one. I was used to my other straight talk phone where you could delete inbox all at once and the same for missed calls, outgoing as well. That is a nice feature to have. There is still a lot to discover but so far I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 217 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Lousy battery

10/15/2013
By ,
Southport, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Phone is nice. Very easy to navigate through. Only pitfall is battery life. It's not what was advertised. I hardly do anything but talk and text (limited on both talk and text) and the battery dies down very quickly. Even when left on all night with no apps opened the battery drained down to 1 bar by morning. Other than that, I would recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 218 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Fantastic phone!

01/12/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! It is on the Verizon network for starters. That is such a plus but the phone itself is very nice. It responds to touch as it should-instantly. I read a lot of positive reviews on this phone before buying. It is definately worth the money. My wife and I owned Huawei M865C phones [that only lasted 4 months] before switching to this ohone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 219 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Small Business Phone

08/29/2012
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted the Samsung Galaxy S III, but did not want to return to the 2-year commitment at $120+ a month so I ordered the Galaxy Proclaim. I received this phone a little over a week ago, set it up and added FoxFi to use it as a WiFi hotspot. I live in New Orleans and for the second time in 7 years, evacuated due to a hurricane. When I arrived at my dad's house, his WiFi was down. I activated the WiFi hotspot on my phone and have been using it for three days with three PCs accessing it simultaneously. Bottom line- Saving at least $75/month with a great phone. Works great, less costly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 220 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone

So far not so good!

12/14/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been waiting over 24 hours for the activation of my cell phone. I transferred my service from one ST phone to the Galaxy Proclaim and I still don't have any service! I've called ST several times and all they can tell me is another 24 hours.
What I can comment on: The battery runs down very fast. Within a 24 hr period, the battery has decreased to 28% from a full charge! And I can't even make any calls on it. The display, dialer, and Cell standby uses an enormous amount of battery power. I can only imagine how much the battery will decrease if I make calls, text, and use the internet.
I have a feeling this phone is going back to Walmart soon!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
201-220 of 969 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  9 10 11 12 13  ...  49 Next