Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NET10 NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

NET10 NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

The NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Cell Phone features a 3.5" touchscreen for bright and clear web browsing and messaging. The NET10 Prepaid Cell Phone features a 5MP camera and video recorder that lets you document your life on the go. Your ZTE Merit Cell Phone runs on the Android 2.3 operating system and 600MHz processor to ensure a fast, intuitive response. This NET10 Prepaid Cell Phone will only work with the $50/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan or the $65/30-Day Unlimited International Service Plan. Additional features of the NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Cell Phone include advanced GPS capabilities, 3G/WiFi connectivity, access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play and an MP3 player so you play all your favorite music. Supports microSD cards up to 32GB and has a gravity sensor and fun tilt and shake features. Includes battery, charger, 2GB microSD memory card, activation card, service guide and user manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.562 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation75%12 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 64 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome!

06/10/2012
By ,
Enumclaw
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! It works great and it is such an attractive phone as well. this phone is great for texting; if your fingers are too big to type on the touch screen, it has a microphone feature as well. I like that I can download Facebook, foursquare, and twitter because I use those a lot.
Also I really like the camera; the pictures are as clear as the pics taken with my 15 megapixel camera.
I have seen good and bad reviews on this, but I decided to get it because it had everything I wanted, so I felt it was a good value for the price. And I'm glad I went with net10 instead of straight talk because I transferred my number from tracfone, which is the parent company of net10. So the switch over was easy.
also the net10 is still unavailable online, but in my store they were well stocked with this phone in both net10 and ST, so you should be able to find one easily.
It's so nice to finally have unlimited everything; I go online away from home all the time, and I can't handle slow service and limited texting. This phone does it all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oviedo, FL
Z990G
Posted 06/21/2012
If you don't mind me asking, where is your store (city & state) that has this phone stocked for ST? I am in Orlando, FL and can't find it anywhere in the state. Thanks for your help.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Entry Level Phone

01/01/2014
By ,
Boise, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved the affordable price of this phone. $45.00 per month for unlimited everything can not be beat! It is my first smartphone and meets my needs well enough. I keep a charger handy at all times. It is a simple USB charger. Get a cigarette lighter USB plug for the car. I'm not using it for work and extensive social connections. I've had my phone for almost a year. It is a bit slow and my service isn't always great. I'm on strictly 3G data service. But give it 30 seconds or so and it will load. Remember the processor is only 600MHz. If I had WiFi it might work better. It does not have a lot of internal storage. I'm pretty much maxed out with 10 apps. I don't allow updates and I don't keep Facebook on and use an older version of FB. My favorite feature is Talk to Text! Having internet in the palm of my hand is groovy! Checking email, fabulous! Have had no trouble to speak of now that I've figured out how to manage storage issues. I would not recommend this to a person wanting it for work. It is for the casual user.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone is the best!

09/08/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, this is kred35's daughter. I'm 16 and I've had Net10 for about two years now and this is the second phone I've had through them. It's very sleek and perfect. It's not small like a blackberry, but it's not huge like a Droid. It is the perfect size! I switched my old number to my new phone and it took maybe 10 minutes. That's only because I was on hold. I don't know why that person is complaining, but they probably had one bad experience out of a thousand good ones! This phone one works with the $50 US-only or $65 international cards. But it is so worth it! The apps are great, I take amazing pictures, I have a ton of songs! The only bad thing is that I downloaded maybe 8 apps; (3 Angry Birds, Pandora, Tumblr, Pintrest, WeddingWire, Flashlight, Instagram, Fruit Ninja, and a Barcode scanner); and after I downloaded those apps, I had no more space. Thank goodness they included a SD card! I transfered those apps over to the card. But, the apps already on the phone, (Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, Messaging, ect.) can't be moved over. Those are the two cons. But, other wise, I have over 200 pictures now, I have around 50 songs, plenty of games, and I just love this phone!
One more thing, I couldn't buy minutes until a week after I got the phone as a gift. I downloaded and used all my apps before I even got minutes! It runs off of the Wi-Fi! It has somewhat of a form of 3G, but not much. Ha. I still love this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ga
Instagram
Posted 11/06/2012
So you CAN use instagram on this straight talk phone?? Like sign into your account?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

AMAZING phone!

11/21/2012
By ,
Wilmington, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is a must buy! however you can get this phone at Dollar General for under 100 dollars. Net10 is a amazing service. I've had this phone since April and have had NO problems with it. I did drop it and the screen broke, Net10 had no problems sending me a replacement phone right away and told me ONLY after i receive the phone to mail back the broken one. This phone has amazing features and it keeps getting better. I will pick this phone over an iPhone any day. Its the perfect Android with a cheap bill. 5 stars for this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
WI
I agree, love this phone
Posted 03/16/2013
I purchased this phone in Oct 2012 and it is my first smartphone. I have had no issues with it, but I recently dropped it now the screen is cracked. I contacted NET10 and since the phone comes with a one year warranty, they will replace it for free! The only catch is that they send you something to ship your broken phone back first and when they receive it, they will send you a new phone. So you have to figure out what you're going to do without a phone during that time. Maybe they used to ship the new ones first, but wouldn't do that when I called them. I bought my phone at the Shack on sale for $79.99 with a 30 day return policy, they usually run this sale price most of the time.
0points
Customer Avatar
Greenville, SC
Great phone but cheaper elsewhere
Posted 11/23/2012
Agreed, why pay $100 or more when you can get it elsewhere for cheaper. Dollar General had a 1 day sale yesterday (Thanksgiving) and I found this phone on sale for only $39. Bought one for my boyfriend for a Christmas gift.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

aweful

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone came with a sim card that didn't work in the phone. I don't know if the problem was through net 10 or walmart but I am no longer with net 10 and would not recommend them to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Net10? NOT?

07/14/2012
By ,
Moulton, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this phone 2 days ago. The price was great & I think I'll like the phone BUT so angry with Net10 now. Went to activate the phone & now have to wait up to 5 days for Net10 to send a Replacement SIM CARD to activate. ANGRY. Would return & purchase the SAME PHONE THROUGH "STRAIGHT TALK" service but already purchased a $50 Unlimited Net10 phone card that's NON-REFUNDABLE. NOT KNOCKING WALMART AT ALL, JUST GO WITH "STRAIGHT TALK" SERVICE...ZTE MERIT HAS COOL FEATURES...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oregon Coast
Why?
Posted 07/28/2012
Why did they have to send you a new SIM card?
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice phone

02/08/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone has most functions as the I Phone, however it does not allow you to set the sounds up differently for text messages, emails, and facebook notifications that you receive.. It is all the same tone. The rest of the functions work well.. You have all the functions available with a touch of the screen. This phone has suri, thank heaven's, as the touch screen is very difficult for older folks. You do have to hit the top button when not in use, or it will run the battery down in 4-5 hours. I did not know that the phone would work, and notifications would work with the phone on standby. I would recommend the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Got to get use to the phone

12/17/2013
By ,
jonesboro,ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice phone, but the battery need to be charge three times a day not use to doing that.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not bad, but..

01/28/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked perfect for the first 3 weeks or so, but now it freezes and I have to pull the battery a couple times a week. Other than that, the phone is good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/08/2013
this phone has a software update on ZTEUSA.com... this solves the freeze issues.
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
Posted 03/28/2013
Yes it is a gud phone and sometimes we face freezing problem.When i face this issue, i reset my phone which will come back to normal.You have to make sure that your personal informations are saved in SD card in order to save the data.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

TERRIBLE PHONE

09/03/2013
By ,
SAULT SAINTE MARIE, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'VE HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS WITH THIS PHONE. I KNOW 3 OTHER PEOPLE THAT OWN THIS PHONE THAT HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE STORAGE EVEN THOUGH THEY PUT A HIGHER GIGABYTE SD CARD IN THE PHONE. THE PHONE FORCE CLOSES APPS SHUTS OFF FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I HAVE AN APP CLOSER INSTALLED ON THE PHONE AND YET HAVE TO CHARGE IT AT LEAST TWICE A DAY. WHEN I CALL SOMEONE IT SOMETIMES CALLS RANDOM NUMBERS FROM MY CALL LOG AND CANT GET IT TO STOP OR EVEN SEE THE SCREEN TO END CALL. SOMETIMES WHEN I TEXT I CANNOT RECEIVE ANY BACK BECAUSE THE PHONE TELLS ME THAT MY INBOX IS FULL WHEN I HAVE NO MESSAGES AT ALL IN THE INBOX. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PHONE TO ANYBODY EVEN IF IT WAS FREE. I AM TAKING IT BACK TO THE STORE WITH MY 1 YEAR WARRANTY AND RECEIPT AND REFUSE TO PURCHASE THE SAME PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great!!!! Four star's!

01/06/2013
By ,
Warrenville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Z990G fone for my daughter. Shes apparently thrilled with it. She likes the Web access and the overall ease o' use. Great product, Wal-Mart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Customer service Extremely Poor !!!!

02/16/2013
By ,
NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
basically the unit is functional. But quite slow!!!!!! in 2/3 of the available applications.
also the phone isn't very loud. I have to have the speaker on to hear it most of the time.
I have called twice to customer service and told them it isn't working and they seem to think they have fixed it , But they haven't.
Also I've called them two other times for service and they told me to read the book.
What are you going to do?????????
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WI
Posted 03/16/2013
If you bought it within a year, you have a one year warranty and NET10 will replace your phone with a new one. I cracked my screen and sometimes it goes blank while I'm using it now, but they are sending me something to ship my old phone back and are going to send a new one. I would do that if you are within the year and having problems with your phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

horrific

03/25/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
God I wish I'd listened to the bad reviews and taken this thing back IMMEDIATELY.
1. Major space issues. But that might be the fault of the prepay. As well as many apps saying there were issues, far more than what happened on my old android phone with AT&T (which I also do not recommend)
2. Issues with overheating.
3. I had this phone for a grand total of three months, the charger port already went bad, several other reviewers on other websites have said the same thing. I am using a phone charger that is not even meant for this phone until I can replace it next month, because the charger it came with falls out now. Don't be fooled by a pretty price tag. This phone is NOT worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/08/2013
do you have a habit of using a pouch or a case for your phone?? if so , remove the case / pouch while puttin to charge.. avoid using processor intensive applications..
0points
Customer Avatar
USA
Posted 03/28/2013
As you mentioned that there is less storage capacity its not the problem with the phone but you need to store less app on this device as these apps will use the internal space when running them which will cause this problem all the time....So, to solve this issue make sure that you delete the unwanted applications....
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
Posted 03/26/2013
You gotta bunch of problem here and with the overheating issue, you need to check with the battery.Probably it could be a battery issue and yea try to reset the phone when u face issue with the phone and make sure you backup data to SD card before you reset.If none of them work then you need to contact net 10.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 14 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great, fantastic phone, lousy service

07/07/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love this phone, I despise Net10. Awful customer service center. Awful website. Get this phone don't get Net10. They are also Tracfone, had them for 3 years, absolutely no problems at all, that's why I upgraded. Net10 is awful. I am either getting a new phone or changing service, but I am getting rid of Net10. Don't go straight talk, they are the same company and they are worse. Again this is a great phone and friends with Apple 4 phones can't believe what this phone can do compared to theirs. It's a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

It's my baby!

04/22/2013
By ,
Siloam Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My phone arrived to me about a week ago with the site-to-store option. It was even a day early! I LOVE IT!!! It exceeds my expectations and I don't go anywhere without it! As I have seen mentioned the internal storage is a lil low, but with the sd card I can just move the apps I download over to it, I even upgraded my sd card to a 32gb and it still works great! The screen is vibrant, colorful, and big enough to do anything you want! And I love the texture of the outside it's not slick so drops are less likely to happen, I will be buying a case for it though for extra safety. Very Highly recommended by me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NET10 ZTE Merit Z990G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Nice Phone

04/15/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the phone seems pretty well built. I did buy mine on sale at Family Dollar for $62...I wish I could pick up 3g more. Also the battery dies very quick..And the storage could be a lot better, I downloaded just a couple pictures and 3 games and now is full, so if they changed just a couple things this phone would be the best
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.