Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

With the LG 800G Cell Phone, you get unlimited access to your favorite apps, so you can customize your phone anyway you want. The Straight Talk Samsung Phone features a LCD display for easier navigation. This LG Prepaid Cell Phone not only has basic functions such as an alarm clock (with vibration alert) and auto redial, it has all the extras you want, too. Equipped with mobile web and Bluetooth technology, you can keep up with emails and social media sites on the go. The LG Straight Talk voice command makes it easy to find any feature on the LG 800G Cell Phone. With the Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone, you get access to the mobile web, an MP3 player and Bluetooth wireless technology. Because you're the social butterfly, this prepaid cell phone has a phonebook with up to 1,000 entries. This LG Straight Talk Phone also includes everything you need to activate: one battery, one charger and a services guide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.198 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation60%64 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

An excellent first smartphone.

12/16/2012
By ,
Lakewood Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got 1 for my girlfriend and she is very happy with it. It has nearly all the features of my much more expensive phone and is smooth and easy to operate. An excellent value for the money spent it just made sense.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great features easy to use

10/10/2012
By ,
Fargo, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got a defective phone that would flip between service and no service with 3-5 bars of signal. BUT the phone is very easy to use. I liked the on screen QWERTY key board. The layout and size of the buttons are good for larger fingers. Everything is available from the home screen. No menues having menues having menues like someother phones. Battery life good. Pretty much all the features you can get in a non smart phone. My local walmart did not carry the LG800 so I had to get a LG505. The LG505 is not as easy to use and does not have half of the features the LG800 has, and at 2x the price. I hate it. PLEASE CHECK THE STRAIGHT TALK WEBSITE FOR COVERAGE for the phone you want. Walmart website does NOT have accurate coverage information by zip code. ST customer phone service usually has a 20 minute wait time. Using the web has never been suscessful for me in activating a phone. ST web will say that your phone has been activated but it actually has not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

It's a Steal!!!

10/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am BLOWN away at the price! My birthday was 2 weeks before my fiance's and he got me this phone in our Walmart store for $60, then I found the EXACT same on online for under $40, I was a little upset that I had to spend an extra $20 plus dollars for mine but anyway.. SERIOUSLY this phone is INCREDIBLE, and for $40 bucks I'm just amazed! I was expecting to spend 100 on a touch screen phone when we went to buy mine, they are cheap but very very good and the screens don't scratch hardly at all, I have a few scratches on mine already but I had a touch edge on my fingernail and I didn't know it, but I love this phone SO much! The camera is pretty great, you can edit pics on it and everything! Don't hesitate to buy this phone you will love it! And I stay on the internet on it all the time, it took me a while to find a plce to download apps but I found one!
LOVE MY PHONE and fiance loves his as well!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Decent little phone

09/26/2012
By ,
KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband bought us these phones because they happened to be the only option in-store. Since we knew we could return within 15 days and switch phone, he went ahead and got them. I previously had a smartphone (Samsung Galaxy S) and I hated that phone because I had so many problems with it. Plus, I didn't use all the bells and whistles that smartphones provide, so it was pointless for me to have the bill along with it. I knew someone who had Straight Talk and loved it, so we dropped T-Mobile and came on over. This phone is a good phone for anyone who wants the basic talk and text phone. It is small and sleek. The only thing I didn't like was that the icons on the screen looked generic (if you can imagine that). However, that's probably only because I have been looking at a Galaxy for 2 years and just used to those graphics. But, hey, if it works good - a phone is a phone. This phone is fine if you don't plan to use the web, since its web capabilities are somewhat limited. We have ordered an upgrade online but only because I use the web for my job alot, and so does my husband.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Posted 09/26/2012
Our store manager told us...
30 days for return on Straight Talk phones and NOT one day over 30 days!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!

09/22/2013
By ,
Rocky Mount VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
....Or your sanity! This is a horrible piece of junk! I have had this phone for over a year. The text keyboard is terrible, forget it... you cant do it. The touch part of it is equally horrible, it takes several attempts "touching" one of the few apps it allows before it sends you to the one you want.
If you want to email or facebook... forget that too, again, the keyboard is useless and extremely frustrating.
It is also very cheaply made, and cheap looking. The graphics are childish. The screen lock, another PAIN! Makes it terribly hard to retrieve voice mail... I hate it, there is nothing I can say good about this phone, except how happy it will make me to be able to destroy it, as soon as my new samsung arrives. LG generally is a good brand, but not when it comes to this phone!
I would not recommend this to a friend, or an enemy!
NET10's website offers this phone for free "refurbished"... if your desperate for a cheap phone, (I know times are tough) but I would still advise against it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Does what a phone SHOULD do~

11/04/2012
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nothing fancy or complex about this phone. It works like an actual phone -- calls, voice mail, etc. -- with the bonus of texting and Facebook. The touch screen isn't amazing, but I personally like pressing down harder on the buttons; it just means no buttons will push themselves in your purse or what have you. The two games included are fun, challenging, and will pass the time when you're bored. Internet is slow, but I don't use it for much other than Facebook (which you can download the app for and be set).
It also takes okay photos, though I don't advise using VIDEO AT ALL....there is NO way of taking videos off the phone if they take up too much space! I lost a lot of videos I'd taken because if I didn't, my photos would be forever stuck on the phone itself. You also cannot watch videos on Youtube. I have not used this for music at all (mainly because I don't like headphones), so I can't comment on how that works.
I've had this phone for roughly 7 months and I love it. It's so simple in itself that you don't need to put up with the glitches of more high-tech phones. This one won't fail you.
P.S. I've dropped it many times and, aside from a scratch or two, it's stayed intact.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
CALIBRATE again!
Posted 11/20/2012
Might need to "CALIBRATE" again ... I did mine a couple times before it finally got use to MY touch!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone
09/26/2012
By ,
Scranton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough good things about this phone, I simply love it! For under $40 you get a touch screen phone, reasonable in price but doesn't feel cheap. Very sturdy phone. Excellent sound quality and also has a pretty decent camera. And as for the straight talk network, I wish I had switched years ago! I'm yet to have a call dropped, all my text messages go through and I can get on the internet. I paid more than double the price with Verizon and didn't get as many minutes! go figure
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+102points
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not a smart phone, but a great touch screen phone.

07/28/2012
By ,
Greenfield TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've talked to a great deal of people who all have varying opinions of cell phones and cell phone manufacturers. In my view, LG makes the most intuitively functional phones on the market. I've owned several LG phones in the past and when replacing my last LG phone, the one I wanted was not available, so I settled for a Motorola. Huge mistake. Using the Motorola compared to the LG phone was similar to going back to using stone knives and bear skins. As soon as it was convenient, I ordered the LG 800G touch screen phone and was instantly back in the 21st century. It should be noted that this phone is NOT a smart phone. Its web browser is definitely not an Android based browser as you'll find on a smart phone. If you want web browsing similar to a PC on your phone or you'd like to watch You Tube videos on your phone, DO NOT buy this phone, as the web browser is functional, but only for basic needs. It is a fully functional touch screen with an excellent camera/video that also provides a full screen QWERTY keyboard. The gallery feature allows you to view your photos full screen and unlike the Motorola, the calculator, calendar and alarm features are very easy to see and to use. This phone accepts up to a 4GB microSD card and has a full featured MP3 player with a head phone out jack so you can plug it into a car stereo for mobile music. The ringer is very loud and it comes with a good selection of ring tones or you can use your own music as a ring tone. I get excellent reception with this phone and calls are crisp and clear. It should be noted that I keep this phone in a belt holster as I do not recommend carrying it your pocket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+325points
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Purchase of LG 800g and LG 505c

08/03/2012
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased two LG 800g's [hubby & son] - after trying for a week, I'll update.
I got LG 505c to have a different carrier from them - that way we should have service [hopefully] when traveling in WV and OH. ... Go Mountaineers!
Had Verzion before for over six years and paying just for talk - our bill was as much as we are paying now for talk, text, and some data.
Porting of our numbers was very easy [did on our computer] and very fast - couldn't believe how fast and we did this in the evening hours - in a matter of 15 minutes each.
So far, we are liking the phones but new technology gets complicated - we haven't had texting or data plus touchscreens - wow, what a way to confuse older folks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+81points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Posted 08/16/2012
My hubby & son love their LG 800g for 17 days now - here's their latest...
Great battery life - easy to program - very light-weight - data pretty fast connecting - etc.
I, on the other, purchased the LG 505c - here's my latest...
Battery life seems to go VERY, VERY fast - need to keep it charged daily or more often.
New to texting - trying to learn where the keys are located, unlike a keyboard.
Haven't tried data - will before card runs out - never had Internet with old Verizon plan.
Amazed on how heavy it is - guess with slide-out - it stands to reason.
We purchased all three phones - at the same time - $30 cards - worth keeping Straight Talk service - unless something changes our mind!
0points
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Posted 08/05/2012
LG 800g runs off of AT&T towers
LG 505c runs off of Verzion towers
To have different towers for the phones is why we purchased different ones --- it seems as of now --- the AT&T one has better service but it would depend on the towers in your area.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

A nice touchscreen phone for the price...

09/21/2012
By ,
Decatur,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While anyone who buys this expecting a smartphone will be disappointed, it will please those who are looking for an inexpensive entry into the world of touchscreen technology.The display features imitation apps, but the camera & video camera are real enough! Expect to do some experimenting to figure out how phone works as no instructions or manual are enclosed and you have to play w/ it a bit to find more "apps" that are hidden on bottom display bar. Overall - phone is lightweight & stylish and hard to beat for the price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Williamsburg, Kentucky
Posted 10/25/2012
is this phone app capable (angry birds,temple run ,ect.)?
0points
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Posted 09/24/2012
Anyone wanting a smartphone know they cost more - this is NOT a smartphone!
There is a "small" manual enclosed with the phone - I suggest those with/or getting this phone go online to Straight Talk for more info. ST online seems to explain it better with the "Learn More" feature.
Hubby and son both have this phone and LOVE theirs - get on web and FaceBook easy BUT a lot of this depends on where you live and towers around you.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Walmart need more of these phones to order Online!

11/13/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart you need to get more of these phones online, as I went to order it and had it ordered then you ran out and this is the only reasonable phone for my area, because the other phones will not work where I live. Would love to see these back in stock need for a single mother with 6 kids, Straighttalk is always reliable, would recommend this service to anyone as I have had most all other cell phone services and they aren't near as reliable as Straighttalk is. Cell One, Cellular, Verizon, AT&T(this company lies about their plans offer you one thing for 5 phones and then get the first month's bill and it was almost $700.00 dollars, as well as Sprint had a an almost $600.00 dollar bill there for the first month for 1 phone going, Unicel I forget the other phone companies I have had almost all of them and they can't hold a candle to S.T.!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

WONDERFUL!

08/11/2012
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this phone it is all you need in a basic touch screen.( It is not a smart Phone) I will recamind this phone to my friends
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+67points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Denver
Stright talk LG 800G
Posted 10/01/2012
hi I have a question about this phone? does this phone have Block so I can block a number is it touch screen phone let me know thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone
09/26/2012
By ,
Montgomery, Il.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price & the way I use it, it is a great buy.
I am retired person & use it as a phone, it is nice to have the camera should u need it.
I would recommend this to a friend.
Both my wife & I have this phone & we have did away with our land line, we don't need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone
09/24/2012
By ,
conneaut lake, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great phone great reception at 39.95 was a great deal
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone Overall

10/08/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the phone features, however I am unable to hear (Phone is on full hearing capacity setting) when talking to someone unless I have the speaker phone on. And the dialpad does not stay up or have a lock when you are answering an automated response...it is very annoying and difficult to answer this type of telephone automation. Otherwise it is an LG and the battery life is great and it takes really nice pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone

11/22/2012
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can even access FaceBook from this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Did not work in my area

09/18/2012
By ,
Camden, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone for a family member and it did NOT work. While on the Walmart.com website searching by zipcode, we saw this phone and liked it. The Walmart.com website said that the phone would work in the area where my family member lives...NOT! I called strighttalk and the representative said that NO the phone will not work in your area. Well I told the representative that we live 30 to 40 minutes from the nearest Walmart and that is just getting there. Well he said that the Walmart store will refund the phone and that "they" were sorry. The Walmart.com website needs to be updated beacause the phone DOES NOT WORK IN THE 36769 area NOR 36726.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Bad phone!! Don't buy!

03/06/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone not too long ago, but it the short time I've had it, let me tell you, its horrible. If you text a lot like I do, the keyboard is a PAIN. And the touchscreen is terrible, you need to press down hard on what you want to do and its not very accurate or responsive. The prepaid is also a pain, you can't even see who sent you the text when it runs out of airtime. All in all, don't wast your time or money and DON'T buy for a teen or someone who texts. Not worth it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone and text work, but not a true "smartphone

10/29/2012
By ,
North Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this does what I wanted. You have a qwerty keyboard for text, but contacts are still multiple taps on the phone key layout - 1, 2abc, 3def etc. You can save stuff on a micro SD card so your contacts can be saved and retrieved if necessary. Phone reception and voice quality are good. It is NOT a smart, smartphone, internet is not very usable. Documentation is not very good even if you download from LG, so a little exploring is needed. For less than $40 this is a good buy if you know the limitations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
NOT a smartphone!
Posted 10/30/2012
This is NOT a smartphone - price would tell you that!
Hubby and son HAVE this phone [with $30. cards] and LOVE it.
Paid regular-full price at store - last of July.
NO problems with their data, at all - always available.
They LOVE the special features on it.
I wish my LG 505c had them. [got last of July]
Go into StraightTalk.com for help on your phone features.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG 800G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk LG 800G

08/24/2012
By ,
CHESAPEAKE, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This would be a GREAT phone if it worked inside my Office Building!! Where I spend the majority of my "Waking hours". For some reason I cannot get a signal inside the Police Department where I am employed. Unfortunatley, I never know when My phone is "Trying to Reach me", as I don't have ESP. If I need to make a call, I use an office phone. It didn't do me any good to pay as much money as I did, to NOT be able to use it during the day, if need be!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
minnesota
Straight talk lg 800g
Posted 10/12/2012
absolutely a horror ....waste of money both for phone and service plan as you cant use it to make callls
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next