Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

The 1080p 60Hz Sanyo 50" LCD HDTV, DP50842 with integrated ATSC Digital and NTSC Analog Tuner is the latest technology for the digital age. The digital tuner is Digital Clear QAM capable of receiving unscrambled digital cable. In a high gloss black finish, it blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs in your den or living room. Having a full array of inputs, you have plenty of options for DVD, VCR, cable, satellite and external antenna hookups. A coaxial digital audio output allows hookup to a home entertainment receiver amplifier system for theater like sound. A USB input allows photo viewer display of JPEG photos. With a thin, space-saving design and small footprint, it can be positioned anywhere. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the 1080p 60Hz Sanyo 50" LCD HDTV, DP50842. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.816 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation78%38 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

Lasted One Day

05/14/2012
By ,
Dry Ridge KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy it we bought it brought it home set it up loved it. Turned it off the next day went to turn it back on nothing. Had to repackage and take it back. Not happy. Bright side WalMart did take it back and I didn't have to deal with company.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 2 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

Great TV

05/19/2012
By ,
Arroyo Grande, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really like this TV! It took 2 weeks to find a store that had this one in stock and as you will note there are none available on the website. Many reviewers had rated the sound quality as if it wasn' t as good as the picture but it is. No complaints there. The only short coming I found is in the number of connections but I was able to make do with what is there. There are only two HDMI inputs and one each of composite and component and no S-Video input at all. My friends could not believe I got a 50" 1080P LCD Hd Tv for under $600.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Review 3 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

Don't buy a SANYO TV

05/25/2012
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was originally very happy with my SANYO TV until it stated shutting itself off in the middle of things. And then one day it would not come back on. I had it just over a year. To long to take it back to Walmart and I did not buy the extended warranty so I just spent about $800.00 for just over a years worth of TV. I'm not a very happy customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+55points
Review 4 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

This the TV you can see from the front entrance.

06/09/2012
By ,
Las cruces, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my wife and I were overwhelmed at looking at Flat Screens all day. I read some reviews here and shocked people were having troubles. So I spent a hour lust looking at all the displays. If your a dinosaur like me, prepare for a quick education. If you cant find it at Walmart, you don't need it. This is a LCD, the best picture of the ones presented in my opinion. After a quick and easy purchase, we were barely able to fit it in the bed of the truck. If I had a complaint, it is so big. It was easy to load and get in the house. It plugged in, did a quick set up with no problems. A 5 year old could set this up if he could lift it. It was packaged well and everything was included except battery's for the remote. So I get this huge tv on the stand and turned on and just wow. You could see the pores in the guys face. The people on the screen were bigger than me. I don't know about sound problems, but this unit was plenty loud enough. So I hooked up the Playstation, and bam, what a surprise. I have been informed by the wife i will not play on the PS2 while she is home. No for my only disappointment in the purchase. I was not able to hook my laptop up this TV as I didnt have a cable. But the video and sound quality of DVD's was great. I opted for the 3 year warranty, just in case this beautiful set takes a dump. This is a very large tv, and I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+113points
Review 5 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

GREAT TV FOR THE PRICE

06/18/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love my new HD television. Some say that the sound is not that great, all you have to do is to set it on the Dynamic Sound option and you will get the sound that your probably expect. You have to explore your options on this television. As I said above, the best thing is the PRICE. If your looking for "bigger is better" then run down to Walmart and purchase this jewel of a 50" today.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

over all great

06/27/2012
By ,
clarksville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got this tv since i had a sanyo before , its great. the sound is loud i dont even have to turn it up that much, the pic is fine, not greatest but fine. pic is better depending on who your service provider is, or what kind of box they use..over all this tv is great for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

Sanyo makes good tvs

09/12/2012
By ,
Newark, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the 50" sanyo lcd at walmart about 6 months ago. It was the best deal going at the time. Growing up we have had several old sanyo tube tvs in our house and they were always extremely reliable.
So far this TV has been nothing but perfect. Works exactly as designed, no issues, and the picture looks great. IT has an "eco" setting that adjusts screen backlight brightness, but I find the screen to look its best on the brightest setting. (unless ur watching in the pitch dark).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 8 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

I should have read the review!

09/17/2012
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has to be the worst 600 dollar TV ever. The picture is okay the colors are vibrant but really red and the contrast is tooooo grey and you cant adjust the thing. The sound is the reason I'm taking this back to Walmart. I just got off the phone with the manager and told him the issues I was having and luckily he told me to bring it back. The sound goes in and out and it doesn't matter if you have it on dynamic or not, you can see the lips moving but nothing coming out for about 2 seconds every 30 seconds or so. Its like having a dial up TV as oppose to high speed. Speaking of speed that's another thing, don't even consider watching a football game! You can forget that, it doesn't keep up at all. A total waste of time and money for me.
Spend the extra 50 bucks to get a LED 120 mhz!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

GREAT TV for the price!

10/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered my 50" Sanyo HDTV from Walmart.com and had it shipped to one of my local stores for free. Very easy to set up as the TV isn't as heavy as I thought it would be considering it's sheer size. Picture is decent and sound is good. Not sure what some of the other reviewers were talking about. I've had my TV for several weeks now and haven't had any issues with either the sound or picture. I watch the Tennis Channel all the time and can easily track a small tennis ball going over 130 mph, so I don't know why someone can't watch much slower moving sports like football. Maybe they were some of the few unlucky ones that got a lemon...
By no means is it a perfect TV though. The lack of HDMI connections is why I only gave it a 3/5 for features. Only 2 HDMI ports is ridiculous. Every HDTV sold these days should have a minimum of 3 HDMI ports.
Overall I'm very, very pleased with my purchase and would definitely recommend this product to family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 10 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842
10/10/2012
By ,
san bernardino ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the Sanyo 50in. lcd wow real clear picture good price sound a little weak but will get a sound bar no complaints cant get over how good the picture looks you wont be disapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
aberdeen wa
DONT BUY SANYO TV
Posted 10/20/2012
I also have had horrible luck with my sanyo tv, it turns itself off and on as it pleases also. luckily mine took 2 years before this happened. i would have given 5 star rating until this happened
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

Cheap TV, Problematic TV

10/10/2012
By ,
Farmington, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a teacher with a budget that has to be crunched each year, I felt like this TV could be perfect as it was large enough to display slideshows to students along with showing any dvds in the classroom. While I was right that it would be great for that, I am now finding myself having to return a second set after both of them started turning themselves off and back on multiple times without a button being pressed. After this frustration, I doubt I will buy another Sanyo product again. Spend a few extra dollars and save yourself a headache!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 12 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842
10/20/2012
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sound is great and picture is good. The stand is very sturdy. Great LCD tv for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 13 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

great tv for the price

10/26/2012
By ,
ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tv for the price. Only thing that was a downfall to.me was the power cord dorsnt detach making it difficult to route through a wall, and the component connections in the back come straight out causing the hdmi to hit the wall mount, but I just bought some 90 degree adapters and it works fine. Overall I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 14 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

great tv for the price

10/28/2012
By ,
morrison tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tv has a great picture got the hd upgrade it made a big difference. its easy to set up has good sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 15 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842
10/29/2012
By ,
bedford tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV, and read all the reviews. Its worth the buck if you set all settings..
Picture to Standard
Sound To Dynamic
If you dont set this TV for home use picture is terrible, it comes set to Retail store mode.
I'm very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 16 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842
11/03/2012
By ,
erie pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was a gift they love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

Perfect Gift

11/22/2012
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our Christmas gift this year! It is great! Great value and picture is outstanding. We did the store pickup and was perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

Good picture. Very poor sound

11/23/2012
By ,
Cincinnati ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great value and has a great picture but the sound is horrible I tried every setting and even tried my own settings. Just sounds like your in a metal tin. But I am doing surround sound anyways just will help me do it faster
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842

Great TV, great price

11/23/2012
By ,
Amarillo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this TV up and it performs very well. Best if you have HD connection (through satellite or cable provider, not just the cables) and I couldn't be happier. Didn't want to spend a lot more, although I could have, and now I have a huge TV mounted on the wall. Very good picture and sound, although probably not the best available....but you'd pay twice the amount for that, I'd guess.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Sanyo 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, DP50842
11/23/2012
By ,
Milton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV with a great picture. The only thing missing is a headphone jack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next