Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Chi CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Chi CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

The Original Chi 1" Ceramic Flat Iron delivers great results. For those who want curls today and straight hair tomorrow, the Original Chi 1" Ceramic Flat Iron can give you versatile hair styling with just one straightener. Designed for all hair textures, the Original Chi 1" Flat Iron creates beach-tousled waves and bone-straight strands, without sacrificing the health of your hair. By using ceramic infrared heat technology, this ceramic iron by Farouk seals the hair cuticle, locking in shine and reducing frizz. Since this professional Chi 1" Ceramic Flat Iron heats up to 405 degrees, you can smooth and straighten unruly curls or coarse strands in just one pass. Made with a 360-degree swivel cord and lightweight design, the Chi 1" Flat Iron makes straightening your hair easy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation82%53 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

The best!

08/30/2010
By ,
ohio.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the same chi flat iron in pink from JCpenny's about two years ago. and I love it. I have tried many flat irons and they never measured up to this one. my hair is really thick and pretty wavy so certain plates and flat irons just don't work and they take forever. not to mention my hair is half way down my back. I can straighten my hair in no more then 15 mins with the chi. I love it you can get one anywhere from 70$-120$ depending on where and what model. So a little up there in price but there absoutly worth it for what you get.
There worth the quality too. in the two years I've had it i've left it on for many hours at a time on accident, up to 14 hours once, and NOTHING happened to it. it cooled down fast, didn't overheat, didn't burn the dresser it was on, and heated up just the same the very next day when I used it. I even recently had my vacc suck up the cord and rub some of the rubber off the cord so I put electircal tape around it and STILL works BEAUTIFULLY! I wouldn't buy another brand.
my mom has had multiple conairs and they last her about 6-9 months and die, for no reason. and she never left hers on for hours, or anything
CHI IS THE WAY TO GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+76points
Review 2 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Perfect for long thick hair!

05/17/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first Chi I received was defective, so I returned, and ordered another. The second works perfectly!!
>Heats up super fast
>Stays HOT the WHOLE time you use it (unlike the cheap ones)
>Hair will stay straight for days!!!
It used to take me 1 1/2 hours to straighten my hair with a cheap Conair straightener..and it was never quite straight. This machine, 25-30 mins, and I'm done(my hair is very long)! The Chi will get your hair "salon straight".
Btw, Walmart's price is fantastic, I almost purchased the same Chi straightener at JCPenny for $140.00.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Review 3 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

disappointed by the warranty

06/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I find it hard to believe that Walmart sells a product that the manufacturer does not honor the warranty unless purchased from a beauty supply store.
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Review 4 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

The BEST out there

08/14/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For several years I've used other straighteners that cost less, and I often had trouble getting my hair as straight as I like it. Not with this one. I don't have to go over it several times to get it straight. I have wavy hair and with about one or two passes, I have it very straight. It lasts long, so I dont have to worry about my hair getting wavy again in 3 hours. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. It is pricey, but it is worth it. So far, it seems like it's the best out there. Don't hesitate and buy it!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Review 5 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Chi 1" Ceramic Flat Iron

08/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used the item less than 10 times since purchase and it has stopped working. I place it back in the box after each use as it was originally packaged. I feel disappointed in the quality of the product. As far as straightening it worked well, before it stopped working.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 6 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Awesome

01/07/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You may think this is a lot to pay for a flat iron, but only if you have never used one! It is worth every penny and more.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 7 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Worked great for 5 months

04/11/2011
By ,
willimantic, ct
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased my Chi in October of 2010. I have thick long wavy hair so its frustrating to find the "right" straighter. I invested in the Chi. I love it and it worked great, for about 5 months. I take care of my things, never dropped it or misused it. I used it generally 1 -2 every two weeks. So maybe I got 25 uses out of it. The product no longer heats up and because my 90 day return policy is over with Walmart, I have to send it back to the Manufacturer and "maybe" they can fix it. I spent $11.50 for shipping and handling, and they require a $15 m/o to ship it back. Kind of disappointed with this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Saugus, MA
Agree, poor warranty
Posted 08/02/2011
I love CHI, have purchased two of them in the past two years because of the way they straighten my hair. Now why should I have to spend over $220 in only two years on two irons, shouldn't they last longer for the price? I didn't misuse it, and the warranty from the Farouk Company wants money for repairing it before even seeing it. I'm NOT spending that kind of money again on another CHI, I'll get a disposable $20 ceramic model.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Great product No warranty

10/22/2013
By ,
Fayetteville NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this flat iron. Best out of the many I have purchased BUT better hope it doesn't go out. Mind went out after 1 year but because it was not purchased from a salon or the CHI website the lifetime warranty CHI's are supposed to have is not valid on this product. I won't purchase another CHI, I will look for another product that will do just as well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Love the CHI!

05/05/2011
By ,
Waterford, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using the Chi for about three years and it has been through a lot. Not once have I had a problem using it - I've left it on for hours at a time accidently and it still works beautifully. My hair is naturally thick and wavy, but once I run the Chi through it, it looks 10x thinner and is pin straight! It is a bit costly, but it is the best straightening I've ever owned and it is definitely worth it. You can't go wrong with a Chi. I'd absolutely recommend this product to anybody who is looking for an iron that will get your hair very straight and last you a long time.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 10 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk
01/31/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My daughter is 11, and bought her first chi in January with money she saved. She was only able to use it for one week. The plate on one side completely went out. She read some reviews, mostly ok, but has since seen numerous complaints of one side going out. Most people bought them only to have to deal with chi directly, and 9 times out of 10 the new one still does not work, or are still waiting to get their money back. Thankfully, my daughter orederd online through walmart.com, and they were amazing to deal with, taking it back for a full refund. Have since thouroghly researched flat irons, and bought a T3...... Love it so far......
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Love at first use

12/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product! I bought my first and only CHI when i was 13 years old, im now 20 years old, thats 8 years!! the poor straightner has been through alot of torture to. I would recommend this prouduct to anyone. I have thick wavy hair and it gets my hair pin straight. the chi i have has a regular outlet plug not a big bulky one. After so many years its finally time to buy a new one, it still works but i have to mess with the cord. Im suprised how long it lasted because everyone says they only last about a year but it lasted a really long time for me. Buy a CHI and you wont be disappointed. i highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Great Product!

01/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought as a gift for my daughter-in-law and she absolutely loves it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 13 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

The BEST flat iron!!! Free shipping is slow.

11/03/2011
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Chi!!! I have extremely kinky- curly, frizzy, dry hair. Others flat irons would fry my hair leaving it frizzy and wavy- not straight. The Chi leaves my hair silky smooth and totally straight! I only have to run it over a small section of hair twice and its straight! I would highly recommend this product to anyone. It is a bit pricey but totally worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

excellent product

10/16/2010
By ,
san antonio, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product could not live without my chi
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Easy on your hair.

03/17/2012
By ,
Cocoa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used a few flat irons in the past and this Chi is the best one I used so far. It is so easy on your hair. I just wish it had a temperature control. I can't believe Walmart sold an original Chi that was made in the USA. I'm impressed. I ordered another Chi for my other house and it was the Turbo with the temperature control. When it came it was made in Korean and was advertised as a Houston based company. See the Company website. "About chiflatironofficial.us
Farouk Systems, Inc. is a Houston based company that manufactures high quality professional hair care and spa products. Farouk Systems' uniqueness comes from being a company owned and operated by a team of hairdressers that include over 2,000 educators in over 100 countries." Here I was afraid I would get a knock off from Walmart and was surprised to see they had the original and the other company???????
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

A Little Pricy But Well Worth It

09/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Chi Flat Iron is a little pricy, but well worth the money. In my first use, I dropped the flat iron several times. No worries! This item is sturdy (no scratches or cracks). The element of the iron is smooth and heats up instantly. No need to worry about neck/behind the ear burns. This flat iron is coated to protect the skin and hair. The moment the flat iron touched my hair from root to tip, it was as straight as getting a perm. The flat iron doesn't get overheated. The temperature is perfectly set to do the job! The item also comes with a two year warranty. I am well pleased with this product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

The best out there

12/23/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had one of these for about 5 years and it finally just died, so ordering a new one. It is SO worth the money!!!! There's no other one like it out there on the market. Cheaper ones don't straighten my hair as well & don't get as hot. I use this and my hair is straight for a couple days. Look at it this way, you can spend $20 on a piece of junk, or spend money on this one and it works better than any other & lasts longer than any other, AND you look WAY better! I use a product that protects my hair from heat styling, and make sure you get regular (well done) cuts to keep the ends healthy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

worse flat iron ever

03/28/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a user of Chi flat irons for years! I loved my original Chi that I bought over 5 years ago. Sadly, that broke. So I purchased this one from Walmart. It worked great for 2 days and then on third day it was constantly shutting off while I was flattening my hair. I had to keep pressing the reset button over and over again. Finally by the 5th day it wasn't getting hot at all! That was why I returned this one! I bought another one from another retailer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 19 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

AMAZING!

08/03/2011
By ,
Hudson, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned one of these for a little over 4 years before the heating element finally stopped working from so much use. I have wavy/curly hair that is extremely thick. I have tried other CHI flat irons, I have used many other brands of flat irons, yet this is the only one that straightened my hair and kept it straight almost all day long. This flat iron is amazing, and I'm definitely buying a new one as soon as possible! I definitely recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for CHI 1" Ceramic Flat Iron by Farouk

Very Good Product

01/02/2011
By ,
Utica, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I myself have no need for this item, my wife enjoys this product. It was something she wanted for Christmas 2010. She used it the same day and likes the fact the she can make her curly hair straight in about 3/4 the time it would have taken her with a blow dryer and curling iron. For the money, I think this is a very reliable product, so far!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next