Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kenmore Elite Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Kenmore Elite Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

The White Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine is operated by a manual foot pedal. The bobbin is loaded by dropping it into the machine, and the bobbin door closes horizontally for easy access. The manual sewing machine, white, has a heavy-duty motor that is enclosed in an aluminum frame. This free arm sewing machine comes available with six built-in stitches and 42 stitch functions. The drop feed lever and seven-point feed dog system allows for easy feeding and control of the fabric while sewing. Portability and storage of this Value Sewing Machine are simplified since it weighs 13 lbs and can easily be transported. The manual sewing machine, white, comes with spool caps and bobbins, as well as a seam ripper and screwdriver.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%16 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Good solid basic machine

08/11/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Kenmore because 1) I needed a lighter weight machine to take to quilt conferences, 2) I had a limited budget, and 3)I knew it was made by Janome. I have been sewing over 45 years and owned Janome's exclusively for the last 30 years. My everyday machine is a large/heavy computerized model that does all the fancy stuff. I've had it for over 12 yrs and expect it to go another 30. Janome gives you the most bang for your buck - builds very solid and reliable machines. Before I ordered this Kenmore, I tried a Brother because it seemed so feature-rich for the price. But I was greatly disappointed - it seemed cheap and flimsy, I couldn't get the tension right, it kept jamming in the feed dogs.... very frustrating. I had to return it. I know my way around a machine so I know it wasn't user error. THIS ONE worked wonderfully right out of the box!
If you want a lightweight (11#) but solid machine with basic features you'll be delighted with this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Great, basic sewing machine

09/26/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this machine! My mom bought a Kenmore sewing machine just like this one almost 40 years ago (her first ever big purchase). I remember her using it all the time as I was growing up. It was a workhorse and lasted for over 25 years.
Last year I bought a Singer and had to return it because it took me over an hour to get the thing threaded, then when I tried to sew a basic stitch, the thread kept getting tangled. I tried following the manual, video, website, even YouTube and couldn't figure it out. So I returned it, hoping someday I could find a basic one (like my mom's) that I could use.
This was it!! The machine is very easy to use and to thread. I'm a beginner's beginner and was able to sew a project for my kids the same day I brought it home. It worked beautifully. I love that I can control the speed and that it does go a little slower, since I'm not so far along on the learning curve. It is compact, lightweight, and did I mention it was easy to use?
Would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a reliable, simple sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White
09/10/2012
By ,
Rindge NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been sewing for decades and I purchased this sewing machine as a backup machine when I am doing projects that need different threads. I was very surprised when this machine works as well as or even better than my way higher priced singer. Very very good machine I recommend it for a wide variety of sewers from beginners to professionals. I HIGHLY recommend this machine. Well done Kenmore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Great for Beginner Like Me

05/26/2013
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I tried the little mini-machine of a different brand because the reviews said it was good to learn with. But NOOOOOO. It was terrible. It malfunctioned and I thought I was doing something wrong. But this machine worked like a charm from the start. It is reliable, so really it is teaching me.
I love how easy it is to thread the needle and the thread through the machine. It's easy to follow either the written instructions or the arrows that are on the machine itself.
The quality seems very solid. I absolutely LOVE this machine! My final decision in this purchase was because I saw many bad reviews regarding how cheap singer and the other brand were getting. I haven't regretted that decision....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Beginner Sewer

04/06/2013
By ,
Lawrence, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a beginner and know nothing about sewing or the machines. The only reason the thread jammed on me is because I either didnt load the thread properly or I'm using rayon as opposed to cotton and havent figured out the tension, etc. The machine has held up despite my mistakes! Needle hasnt even broken yet. So far, so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Great sewing machine easy to use everyday!

06/20/2013
By ,
Shawnee, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My elderly Mother has been sewing since she was a girl. She had 6 kids and made most of our clothes and then her grandchildren's, great grandchildren and now her greatgreat grandchild's. She also makes baby blankets for all the new babies in the family and our Church. She says the Kenmore is the easiest machine to work with for all these basic tasks. She gave her older one to one of her new granddaughter-in-laws because she also loves to sew, but couldn't afford to buy her own at the time. Mom then tried other brands, but she didn't like them as much as her original Kenmore. That is why she wanted another Kenmore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

I tried it from the first day... and liked it...

01/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's light weight and easy to handle, and most of all it is best value for you dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Very dissapointed in the quality of this machine.

10/20/2012
By ,
cherry hill, nj
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not worth the money paid. I can't believe Kenmore sells a machine this bad. Machine runs very slow and sluggish. Almost all the parts are made of cheap quality plastic. Can only sew thin material on this machine. Material with just a little thickness will get stuck. This machine may be good for a teenager or beginner. This is not a machine for someone who sews a lot or for an experience user. I am returning this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ny
I own a children's clothing line and LOVE this!
Posted 09/10/2013
I have to say I totally disagree with the above comment. I have had my machine for 2 years, bought it as a back up for my Viking. I have actually been working exclusively on this machine for almost 2 years. I am in LOVE with this machine. It is something a beginner can use along with someone with many years and countless hours in a studio. Of course you do not get the fast stitching as you would in a commercial machine but you are also paying $100 not $1,000 or more. Kenmore machines are made by Janome, the outside is plastic but the interior workings are of a high priced machine. I can honestly say have never had a problem with this machine. Clean and oil your machines, as some beginners may not understand this and change your needles often with use and this will last you forever.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

TOO SLOW!!!!!!!!!!!

09/12/2012
By ,
adirondacks, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just received the machine today. I plugged it in and started sewing. I didn't even finish a complete seam and I stopped sewing, and packaged the machine back up to return. It is way too slow!!!!!!!! I figured as Consumer Reports rated Kenmores as one of the best now (I agree with them that the new Singers do not perform to par) that I would have no problem. However, I need something that runs fast and efficiently. I guess this would be good for a beginner who sews slowly.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White
04/27/2013
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best machine in the world for me - I'm a "beginner" all over again.
perfect size, weight and sews very well.
I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Great beginner sewing macjine

09/09/2013
By ,
Honolulu, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use. Durable. Light weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

So easy to operate

09/23/2013
By ,
Chester, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a machine that was easy to operate and affordable. I was sewing in 30 minutes. Fantastic for beginners. Threads in just a few steps. Made patio chair cushions in one evening.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Beginner sewer

09/01/2013
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine to help my Mom finish the edge of some blankets we tied. I am a beginner and really like the ease of this machine. It set up easy and worked well on the first try. I look forward to sewing more with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White
08/30/2013
By ,
Murrieta, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sewing machine purchase met all my expectations. Walmart's delivery of this item was fast and the machine arrived without any damage. Wonderful Thanks Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

nice

09/06/2013
By ,
erie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a beginner so this is great for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White
07/15/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other than this machine, I have a higher priced singer and brother . This machine is by far the best machine. It sews extremely well and the motor is very smooth and quiet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White

Beginner Sewing Machine

06/26/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughter to learn to sew. I bought it on reviews and demo on YouTube. It is what I wanted, as far as, components. May deserve 5 stars, but hard to rate, since I have not used it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Kenmore 42-Stitch Value Sewing Machine, White
Based on 1 ratings-only review
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5