Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Enjoy hiking adventures in the great outdoors with this lightweight Ozark Trail tent that can sleep one or two people.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation86%24 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Great for budget backpacking.

12/25/2012
By ,
la
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was searching for a smaller and lighter tent for quite some time...
For under 30 bucks, this tent is a great deal. It is not the smallest tent, don't get me wrong. If folded correctly, it can be pretty small.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Bullmastiff backpacking house

03/26/2013
By ,
Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little tent for the money. Me and the wife backpack with hammocks
but there is no were for jaco our bullmastiff. Now we all split the weight between the three of us
And he has his own house! But we were surprised with how nice the tent is. We could
use this for our small concert tent! Love it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Perfect, just what I was looking for!

07/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking and researching for months for a small and affordable tent. One day not long before my trip, this suddenly appears on walmart.com. What a great find! I ordered it right away and it made it just in time. It is the perfect size for 1-2, meaning 1 comfortably and 2 if you want to get cozy ;) The top is mostly mesh so it's really nice without the rain fly for ventilation and stargazing. We also got a tarp for a couple dollars from the hardware store to use as a footprint. It rolls up and fits snugly inside the bag with the tent. The tent is freestanding, it can be set up by 1 person, and the stakes aren't absolutely necessary (recommended though).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Lucky Tent

06/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read my mind...
I was casually searching WM's tent selection late one evening & looking for a Low cost 1-2 man tent...for later use this season. After browsing thru all tents currently offered here, left site favoring a couple but undecided. Very next day...this brand New hiker tent appeared & my top pick !
Price + Style = IDEAL <> Compliments & Thanks...Ozark Trail + W-Mart
* Have not used tent as of yet, so forgive lack of detailed info regarding such...I usually pile it on otherwise. *
{Includes good quality zippered carry bag...burnt yellow. "Wenzel" == company contact regarding tent...problems / accs., etc.}
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Customer Avatar
F Y I
Posted 06/29/2012
Anyone interested seeking further Info + Pics + Reviews concerning this tent == Google / Bing search online. . .Wenzel "Lone Tree" hiker tent => identical version...alternate color.
* Packed dimensions of tent here -- in its carry bag *
Length = 25 1/2" in.
Diameter = 5 1/2" in.
Weight = 4.8 lbs.
Sure doesn't feel like 5 lbs. -- as would a 5 lb. dumbell or barbell plate...being dead weight. Naturally, total carry weight is distributed along entire length of packed tent. Most backpckers/hikers should find this tent light enough.
<> Good folks at "Wenzel" confidently assured me of 1 yr. warranty covering my tent ~ Thanks Nathan !! <>
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Great little tent for one person

07/26/2012
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for camping trips on my motorcycle. Rolls up small, Easy to set up & take down, even for one person. The stakes that come with it are thin & weak, had to buy some better tent stakes, and I treated it with seam sealer and waterproofing spray. Rained every night of my last camping trip, and I never got wet at all inside. Would be nice if it had some windows other than the door panel, you can take the rainfly off and the tent is all mesh on top, but would not want to do that in case of rain. All in all, it is pretty close to perfect for my needs, and not a bad price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

does not pack small

07/13/2012
By ,
sw virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this to use as a two man backpacking tent for my wife and I. It's a good thing we don't mind snuggling because this tent is a tight fit for two. if your a solo hiker it is very roomy (I'm 6'2" and weigh 220lbs and have plenty of room for me plus gear). Weighs around four pounds so its a good choice for a light weight tent. There are some lighter models from other retailers but don't expect to pay $30. My eureka spitfire weighs around 3lbs but cost over $100. My biggest complaint is this tent does NOT pack small. The fiberglass poles only collapse down to about 20-24 inches. I have to strap them to the outside of my pack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Customer Avatar
My Thoughts Exactly
Posted 07/14/2012
I too had considered the Eureka Spitfire + Kelty Garrison along w/ couple other versions by various manufactures before settling on this "OT" tent thru W-Mart.
Ultimately selected this specific Ozark Trail (American Rec.) model primarily due to similar reasoning & highlights you mention. Price was irresistable & tuff to beat. I strictly wanted 1-2 person tent for Self & minimal gear inside when camping / trekking solo missions. When joined by a male friend each has his own shelter -- plain & simple. I don't have a strong desire for camping Outside during Wintertime so I wasn't concerned about a 4-season tent in the slightest. Whether primitive camping or other -- if vehicle can reach, my custom van accommodates nicely !
{Considering design form of tent here -- imagine you could position 2 same tents...nose to nose. Obviously doors would face opposite sides of one another but practical in given situations}
* Max. . .number of people listed w/ most tents = Wall to Wall + Breathing space *
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Great value for a budget tent

07/03/2012
By ,
Altadena, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this tent for bicycle touring and backpacking, and it has proven to be a good value. It's light, and is suitable for two . It folds to a width of 20", but if refolded, packs small enough to fit in a 40liter back pack (I put the poles in with my sleeping pad). It did the job just right. My girlfriend and I took this on a recent backpacking overnight, and we enjoyed the full moon through the mesh. I wouldn't of course choose this tent for an extended bike trip or backpacking adventure, but for weekend trips up the mountain, or for a weekend bike trip, it is a stellar value at 28.00 or so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

good tent for the money.

11/29/2012
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this tent. It was adequate. I am 6'3, 260 lbs. Some other tents I have bought did not measure up to the advertised dimensions. I can stretch out in this one. Excellent tent for a backpacker who is not rich.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Light, easy to assemble.

07/05/2012
By ,
Newport Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
comfortable for 1 adult person. 2 on the other hand would be a squeeze. Otherwise nothing to complain about
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Great one person tent for the money.

07/16/2012
By ,
Downey, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this tent to go camping. This tent was pretty small for two average sized adults. It really is a hiker tent and folds up really small into a handy zip pouch. I felt very confined with two adults in the tent, but my husband seemed to thinking it wasn't bad- I'm not a fan to confined spaces. The tent is not very tall, and I don't think it really measures out to be 5 feet wide. It is however long enough, I am 5'8 and I fit fine in the tent, with a bit of room to spare. Great price, but the quality is you get what you pay for. It is weather sealed at the bottom, so I am assuming it is weather protected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Great Backpacker Tent

12/24/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the other reviews may say this tent is a tight squeeze for two people, you also have to remember it is a tent that is ment to be light weight. I was able to fit two people with enough room if you put one person's head next to anothers feet. That being said, the tent is very light, and is very water proof (frost proof also). I would recommend spraying the tent with seal to be on safe side but is still an unbeatable purchase for only $30
.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Great tent for an older Boy Scout, easy to setup.

07/20/2012
By ,
New RIchmond, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent for an older Boy Scout, easy to setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Very nice ONE man tent

03/08/2013
By ,
Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set-up. Light. Packs up small. Dont use the case it comes in. Just stuff it in your pack. Stakes are no good for sand but fine for anything else. It rained my first night out and the tent stayed dry. I do recomened a ground pad. 2nd night it got down to 32. Tent stayed dry inside. Sleeps one big guy easy. If there's two of you make sure # 2 is someone you want to get very close to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

great tent for backpacking

07/05/2012
By ,
anaheim,ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
But do not recomend for two people. My bf is 6'3" and I am 5'3". We fit but no room to move and you can't fit your gear in tent with you, so if your backpacking you need to find something else to put your stuff in. But all in all gtreat for the money;)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Not a backpacking tent

06/29/2012
By ,
Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I originally purchased this backpacking but it turns out that it's too large to fit in my backpack. I was going to return it but the price persuaded me otherwise. I lost very little on this purchase and will use it for regular camping. I did think it a little odd (almost false advertising) that they would call it a hiker tent when the only people who hike in to a campsite are backpackers, yet it's too large. I disappointment Walmart *shakes head*. There are worse things that could happen. It seems that it's a decent tent for the money though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Customer Avatar
metro boston
"too large to fit in my backpack"
Posted 07/04/2012
it would be extremely helpful of you to specify the the pack dimensions since they are not specified on walmart site.is your pack too small?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Description
Posted 06/30/2012
Walmart's not guilty -- tent categorizing falls on Wenzel -&- they happen to be located in same State as you...resident !
Im no dedicated or highly experienced backpacker myself -- but I thought tent was to be strapped/carried Horizontal, on outside of pack...for such actions. Where does a sleeping bag go -- sure can't stuff one of those into a pack either...right ?
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Small and compact.

01/02/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this tent to use myself, only one person. I doubt it would be roomy enough for two adults... maybe two children. It was easy to put up, after reading the directions several times.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Bad design

07/07/2012
By ,
Summerville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tent is small, smells weird and has a seam running directly through the rain fly where it dips like a saddle at the top center of the tent. If it doesn't leak new, it will over time. Very small inside and it is not a free-standing tent - it must be strung out and anchored at the sides or it sags into itself. Even at the low low price, it fails to meet basic expectations for usability.
Do a lot of hiking and wanted the small, light tent to fit the pack and myself in. Still looking...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mercer, Pa.
What can You Expect For $28?
Posted 07/20/2012
Even the best of tents and rain flys need to be seam sealed where they are sewed together. Even free standing tents need to be staked down in case of high winds or bad weather. I suggest you look at the "Alps Mountaineering Zephyr 1" tent. I have seen it on other websites for about $100. It's a good quality tent. Another thing is that the stakes that come with most tents are cheap and bend easily. I suggest buying "MSR Groundhog" stakes. They cost about $20 for 8 of them. Being a backpacker you should invest in good equipment. It's not like you can just run to the car if it starts to storm!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

broke when setting it up

07/02/2012
By ,
Whitewater, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when I put together my new tent for the first time the one of the poles snapped down the side.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
down the side or up the side?
Posted 07/04/2012
thats it?nothing else to add?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2
02/20/2013
By ,
New York City, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I didn't even open up this tent. My Boy Scout son needed a hiking tent for ONE scout to take with him on a backpacking hike. I saw this one and it was the right price. When I got it, it was long and skinny, not something that could be carried in a backpack easily. My 3-4 man hiking tent was smaller than this one and would have fit in his backpack. I love this brand of tents, BUT I needed one that would fit into a 60L backpack.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
what are the packed dimensions?
Posted 03/09/2013
what are the packed dimensions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 7' x 5' Hiker Tent, Sleeps 1-2

Good value but there is something you should know

04/16/2013
By ,
Prestonsburg, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stating this tent is 5x7 is not exactly true, it is five feet wide in the middle but is only about four feet wide on each end, it is seven feet long. You will need to seal the seams and I also waterproofed mine just in case. It is was easily set up by one person and seems well made. Will be really small for two people and seems more suited for one person.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next