Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Coleman Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

The Coleman Max 13'x9' Tent, Sleeps 8 is our easiest tent to set up. Featuring an innovative one-piece design, with the poles pre-attached to the tent, there's no assembly and no parts to lose. Just unfold the tent, spread out the fabric, extend the poles and click and lock. You'll be set up in under one minute! This roomy Coleman 8 Person Instant Tent has a footprint of 13 feet by nine inches, with a 6-foot 4-inch center height and accommodates two queen airbeds. This Coleman Instant Tent is made of heavy-duty 150-denier polyester taffeta — twice as thick as standard tent material. Every seam is fully, reliably sealed, so you don't even need a rainfly. The steel poles are durable and strong, able to withstand the elements and keep you protected.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%15 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Very easy to set up

01/17/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We signed our son up for Cub Scouts. Have not been camping in years. Knew that once we got to the campsite, it would mainly be me setting up the tent. A 7yo only helps so much. :-)
Watched some of the online videos on the Coleman Instant Tents and decided to try it.
If you follow the procedure, it is super easy to set up. I did the 8x person tent in less than 10 minutes by myself. Lots of space inside. Nice room for someone 6'2" and 250lbs. Rained the first night and we stayed dry, but I had taken the precaution of spraying water repellant on the tent the week before. Not sure if it was needed or not. Taking down the tent was about 15 minutes for just me. Son was off playing. Follow the setup and take down procedures and you will be the first one set up and the first one to take down at a campsite. I only gave it 4 instead of 5 stars because there is no Coleman Tarp as an option. It is a very nice tent for the occasional family or Scout outing. We are happy campers !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Just got it, Pending test run

11/24/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this tent yesterday. I have set it up and put seam sealer and scotchgard outdoor water shield on it. The set up was as easy as they show on you tube. I had it out of the bag and the main set up was done in less than 60 seconds. Tie downs are very easy to use and are already fastened to the tent body. There is no tent fly included, I used two military issued ponchos connected together, 550 cord, and 4 military issue stakes as my rain fly. The frame helps shape the fly. You could very easily use a tarp as a rain fly. The temperature is going down to 40 tonight with a very small chance of rain. My oldest son and I will sleep in it tonight and give it a test. My only complaint other than the lack of a rain fly is that there are only two pockets inside. Oh yeah, there is a ring in the top for your lantern, nice. I am 6 feet tall and there is plenty of room inside to stand. Looks great set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Great Tent!

05/27/2013
By ,
Blue Springs, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is an excellent value. Light and airy. Don't know about sleeping 8 but for two or three people on an extended stay with lots of stuff this is great. Best used in summer but could serve as a three season tent.
One person can set this tent up in about 5 minutes (light wind), two people can set it up in less than 1 1/2 minutes with ease. Has a room divider inside which is nice for using the porta potty in bad weather or at night.
Ground cloth helps prevent holes in floor. Zippers work smoothly and are covered by fabric to help prevent rain leaks. We use two old towels sewn together as a mat to help keep the ten clean from mult. trips in and out. Simple to clean and hold a lot of dirt and mud.
Three years and counting. When this one wears out I would buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
question about this tent
Posted 06/18/2013
The description says you don't need a rainfly. Have you used it without a rainfly in the rain and how did it hold up?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

06/28/2013
By ,
Lumberton New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was great, It went up in about two minutes. I did get some practice at my house before the camping date. Everyone at the father son campout in Newtonville NJ loved it and said they would purchase one for next years campout. One thing about this tent is that is actually would sleep 4 people comfortable because you have to remember that you have shoes bags etc, which have to be placed in the tent away from the bugs and insects and the natural elements (rain, snow etc). I was very pleased with easy step up and break down. Everyone watch me take it down and were amazed that I was able to break it down so quickly. A little pricey but wll worth the money because of the time and aggrevation that you lose because of the quick set up. It didn't rain that night but the tent was covered with watery mist and the inside of the tent stayed dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Excellent tent!!

06/20/2013
By ,
Del Valle, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it in bundle with air mattress and fan. This was the easiest tent I have ever setup. Went up in less than 2 minutes, 5 additional minutes to stake it down. I am 6ft 2in and still had headroom to spare. I was able to put two queen air mattresses, a cooler and multiple gear in it and still had room to spare. Take down took less than 5 minutes. Already looking at buying the smaller one's for my kids!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Fantastic tent!!

06/21/2013
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are in our late 50's and this was a perfect tent for us. Set up was a breeze!! Some have said it was hard to get back in the bag but if you put the top of the tent in the square part of the bag first and have someone help squeeze it in while you zip it up it was fine.
We love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Great tent for a moderate weather camper

07/13/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are fairly well experienced campers and I must say this was the easiest/quickest tent set up/tear down I've done.
The tent was very sturdy and held up nicely in both the rain and the wind on a week long trip.
Lots of windows & ventilators allowed for multiple circulation options.
Two access doors made for an easily accessible "home".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Very easy to assemble and roomy

07/03/2013
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the Tent its roomy and has double doors in front and back of Tent for easy entrance and exit. Also, is easy to put up and take down just like the ad said.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

Leaks like a sieve after 1 season

10/15/2013
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tent seams leak at the bottom as well as the top which far outweighs the ease of setup. I contacted Coleman when this began to leak. They told me it had a 1 year warranty and mine was out of warranty. (mine was 13 months) The sent me a small amount of seam sealer and tape and when I called back to tell the ALL the seams leaked they agreed to send me more sealer. Stay away from this tent at any cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

This tent is a keeper!

06/25/2013
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, love, love this tent!! It took like 3min to set up initially because my husband and I didn't extend the top poles out all the way, and disassembling it is just as fast!! This tent is really roomy, we are a family of 4 and we can't wait to use it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent
10/17/2013
By ,
Palm Bay, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just set this up to scotchguard it. Without reading the directions, had it set up in under two minutes. Took it down the same and, it fit into the bag with my wife's help.Awesome tent so far! Going camping with my 13 year old Daughter this weekend. Love it so far.......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

GOOD

03/08/2013
By ,
NEW LONDON CT,
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i LOVE THIS PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cc fl
tarp
Posted 05/07/2013
My tent came with a small tarp but i can not figure out where it goes?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

quick & easy to set up

06/25/2013
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent. Very roomy and easy to set up. Took husband and I about 5 minutes the first time to set it up - we had to read directions first.
So glad we bought it, can't wait to actually test it at a campground.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent
07/08/2013
By ,
Greenfield WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We loved the ease of putting up and taking down this tent. Other campers very jealous!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent
06/22/2013
By ,
bay ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it sets up in min.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coleman Max 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5