Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

The Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC gives you a fresh view. It sports a thin frame and a cool brushed aluminum chassis. Open it up, and you will experience your games, movies and pictures in brilliant HD. That's thanks to a high-value package of multimedia features. Add famous Toshiba quality to the mix, and you not only get a reliable entertainer, but one that looks great too.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation77%17 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
10/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this laptop and it didn't work, then when I tried their tech support they want to charge me additional money.
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Review 2 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
09/12/2012
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Walmart is my Favorite store make no mistake about that, but this laptop they sold me was a piece of junk. To begin with the sound system was horrible. My seven year old other Toshiba laptop sounds way better than that. Toshiba normally makes good laptops, but this one was way below par. The colors did not feel normal. You have to hold the screen on a certain angle to view it correctly. The computing was adequately fast though. I liked that. Let me stay it again, the sound was absolutely disgusting. Took the laptop back very next morning. Walmart took it back with a smile.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

need to return the item already

12/19/2012
By ,
rockland me.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
buttons don't work all the time. have to push down twice to make connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Not as described

06/27/2012
By ,
west virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
One problem wal-mart has always had is getting the right specs on most of their laptops. They actually have an Acer Aspire on here with pictures of an Asus, not even close to the same computer. That should tell you something. I bought this computer about a week before i got the Gateway (which i love) that i reviewed on here. Why? Mainly because this thing was nothing like what i expected. The body feels very hollow, the A8 is quick for gaming but stinks for regular multitasking and doing any kind of video conversion, or even DVD ripping. There is lag every time you bring up the smallest thing, even a web page.
The main point i was talking about in "not as described" is that it states you get an AMD Radeon HD 7640 DUAL GRAPHICS. This is not true in the least. The AMD uses the popular APU, with the GPU and CPU combined. Giving you extra graphical power. I'm not sure if this was what they meant, but many people are buying this thinking it's a crossfire (2 gpus) in one computer. This needs to be changed. Don't get me wrong, you can game pretty decently on it for a 550$ computer, but having "very" misleading information under the description will make for a lot of angry customers. Mainly Gamers.
Other than that it's an attractive computer, semi-well constructed, great looking screen, with an "ok" chicklet style keyboard. The track pad is lousy (as with most Toshibas) mouse keys are louder than the horrible speakers they put in this thing. What happen to the days of Harmon Kardon?? At any rate, read this, and be cautious of what you are purchasing. I saved over 200$ by getting the new Gateway they have at the store. Which to me, as a CITT (technician) is a much better deal for everyday computing needs. AMD has nothing on Intel, not even on the lower end Celeron Dual Cores. So if your not a gamer pass on this, which you may anyway once you figure out the card is very low end, and sup par for todays games.
Also speaking of the Gateway, go into walmart, look at the build quality of it, and compare it to the Toshiba. The Gateway is much tighter, with a better screen, keys and speakers. So don't waste your money on this thing. It's NOT what it seems. I would recommend the Toshiba L755 with the Pentium B960 before this one. For only 350$. Have fun. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-13points
Review 5 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Terrible Sound

10/26/2012
By ,
Farmers Branch, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you don't care at all about sound, this is a good bargin. I wasn't expecting super quality sound, but this is ridiculous. The sound on this laptop is absolutely terrible. No way I could watch a movie with this sound. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Okay

08/29/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this computer mainly for 2d drafting in AutoCAD, web surfing, and watching the occasional movie. I have been pleased with the performance, especially with CAD. It is definitly an improvement over my 6 year old Toshiba A200. However... I went to watch my first movie and was shocked... shocked! at the poor quality of the speakers. I would not hesitate to say that the sound quality I get out of my Iphone far surpasses that on this machine. Just imagine taking the earpiece out of an old landline phone and hooking it up to your stereo, this is pretty much what you can expect. I am not an audio snob, but there is no way that I can sit through a movie which sounds like it is being played through a tin can. My ancient A200 had a pair of Harmon Kardon speakers which I never really appreciated until now!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 7 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Not really a good computer for internet ignorant

07/27/2012
By ,
Midwest City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Download of any kind of hazardous programs can be to readily available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-53points
Review 8 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Good Value in a Laptop

10/10/2012
By ,
Mtn Home AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop was the best value for a computer which had the features I was interested in. The AMD QuadCore processor and the 6GB of memory make it quite a bit faster than my previous laptop, a Gateway NV53 series. Most laptops in this price range had Dual Core or Dual processors with 4 GB memory. I really like the keyboard, especially the arrangement of the numeric keypad, which has dedicated keys for "home" "end" "delete" etc. The card reader is very handy for someone like me who takes a lot of photos.
There are some negatives: There is no HDD activity indicator light, the USB ports could be better positioned toward the back of the computer (rather than toward the front where they interfere with an attached mouse). Probably the most disappointing feature is the tinny, cheap sounding, speakers. That being said there are a couple of options to abate or eliminate this problem. The SRS Premium sound software, included, has quite a lot of options for modifying the sounds. This is accessed via the "sound" button in Control Panel. One can experiment with this software to obtain somewhat more pleasing sound, however the best option is to use a reasonably good set of headphones or ear buds to bypass the speakers altogether. Another option is to use the HDMI port to connect to other equipment which also bypasses the speakers. I have found that this laptop produces as nice a movie experience as my Blu Ray player (using the HDMI port) when attached to my 42" HD TV, and using DVD's of course.
The USB 3 ports are a big improvement over USB 2, giving speedier transfer even when attaching USB 2 Hard Disk Drives. In addition this laptop came with the option of obtaining Windows 8 when available for a low price, which may also be rebated.
Overall this computer has features which were only available on more expensive machines.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

WalMart rocks when it comes to cost!!!

07/13/2012
By ,
Erwin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped many hours to come up with what I needed in a new laptop and WalMart beat the rest hands down. I'm quite satisfied with this Toshiba laptop (it's my second Toshiba). Good deal on good quality, so far it's what I wanted. I usually get more bang for my buck when I shop WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 10 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Awesome laptop for the price.

10/17/2012
By ,
Waddell, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always been an HP computer person, so i was kind of nervous to buy a Toshiba. But a lot of my loved ones all have Toshiba and told me they were great so i knew i had to buy one. I saw this one online @ Wal-Mart for only $500! I did my research and i thought this would be a great buy. The laptop is thin and very light, and has a sleek design. It is also a great laptop for gaming!!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Toshiba Satellite

08/13/2012
By ,
rio grande, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the $ this laptop is a very good value. Toshiba is a good product and is reliable. The processor speed is good and the battery life is fairly good. I would definitely recommend this for anyone that needs a good valued laptop and for a desktop replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 12 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
10/06/2012
By ,
Hanover, PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice laptop and I'm very glad I chose this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

very fast

07/07/2012
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my third laptop and it is by far the fastest one yet
toshiba makes a great product,this is great for watching netflix home dvds and great for high end games battery life is good about 5 hr full power
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Review 14 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

AWESOME!

09/27/2012
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was looking for an A10 but than I learned about AMD's Turbo Boost and how an 1.9GHz automatically boosts up to a 2.8GHz while playing games or when ever the processor feels the need to use more power do the program's needs. This laptop is amazing and yes you get a bang for your buck! I am very happy with this I am able to watch 1080p videos on Youtube with no lag and have other things open like games ext. This computer can run games like L4D on High settings and even games like Vindictus on High settings it also does not do a bad job on "Higher" settings. This laptop will last me a good 4 to 5 years before I will be upgrading again do to games and ext. Very nice buy! AMD and Toshiba also Walmart did an awesome job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 15 for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

WOULD BUY AGAIN

08/06/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned an XPS1530 and paid 1500 plus warranty which totaled 2000.00 through Dell and this computer, especially for the price, is great. I am on computers everyday and most of the day. THis computer is very fast, has great memory, and does everything from doc.'s to games. And with Walmarts 18 months interest free it makes it very affordable. I will never buy a Dell again but would highly reccomend this computer to the professional and the student.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Toshiba 15.6" Satellite L855D-S5220 Laptop PC with AMD A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5