Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Singer Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

The 30-Stitch Singer Futura XL 400 Sewing & Embroidery Machine is the latest generation in the Futura line of machines! Sewing machine features include SwiftSmart threading system, Drop and Sew Bobbin System and 30 built-in stitches including two fully automatic one-step buttonholes. Embroidery features include two hoop sizes including a large 10-inch by six-inch hoop, multi-hooping capabilities for extra-large projects and 120 included embroidery designs. To embroider, you simply hook up your Singer Futura Embroidery Machine to your computer via the included USB cable, load a design onto the program and send the design to your machine. It's that simple! The included software allows you to add text, resize your design and more! The Futura software accepts many of the most popular design formats so you can download and purchase designs from almost anywhere! 24-hour support is available through the Futura-Support.com website.
Average Customer Rating:
3.217 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation61%14 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 78 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Broke within 3 days

08/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had a brother embroidery machine for almost 6 months. I wanted to expand and this seemed perfect! Worked well for one design and then a spring broke that made the bobbin spin and caused nesting! I took it to get repaired and not even 24 hours later it had done it again and threw off the needle placement and went through the bobbin case! I took it back that day!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Garbage... I hate this machine

04/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We own a Brother SE400 and even though it has days were I want to throw it out the window; nothing compares to the frustration this machine causes. We bought it for the hoop size (6x10) but we have destroyed more projects than we have completed. We ordered 1 machine and kept it 10 days before returning it, reordered another one hoping we just had a lemon but they are all lemons. Don't be fooled by the price... this machine is a nightmare. Loose threads, broken threads, warning of broken thread when the thread isn't broken, wrong hoop size warnings... etc. This machine is horrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

dont do it

03/04/2014
By ,
south Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this as a gift for Christmas and I had so many issues , needles braking, tread nesting up, then after my 5 or 6 use It started throwing a an era code PC well I uninstalled software re installed it, bout a new cord for it. Called singer just to get someone who cant speak English who told me to do all the things I already done. Nothing worked, so I had to return it yet even though I had the receipt they made me get a gift card because it was bought online and was such a large purchased. So now I am stuck with over $800 in a gift card. And I only have 2 choices and now I am stuck like chuck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Eh...

03/17/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you can not troubleshoot or do not have knowledge of how a sewing machine works, do not get this machine. I had nothing but problems with embroidery on this machine. There are numerous problems that cause nesting under the designs. Luckily, I was able to repair my machine through observation, troubleshooting, and some prior knowledge of the mechanics of a sewing machine. (also with the help of a friend) If you're up for a challenge of pinpointing problems on a BRAND NEW machine, then this is the product for you! (by the way, I only said brand new because I thought I was getting a new machine. It arrived with scratches and marks all over it.)
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Worst machine ever!!!

02/14/2014
By ,
Covington, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned it after only having it for 3 days only got one thing done on it that it did not mess up thread always breaks, tangles, ruins etc doesn't mater if u change the tension thread speed nothing DO NOT BUY I thought when I read the reviews oh it can't be that bad oh it was that bad just stay away!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Love it!

02/22/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with this machine. I have a brother se400 and was ready to expand in my business. This machine allows for a much larger hoop area so my etsy shop has grown. There is a bit of a learning curve and it took a little to figure out the futura program but all in all I am very happy with this and all the money I was able to save. Eventually I hope to get a multi needle
The only draw back is a mid size hoop would be easy to work with but it only has small and large, 3 hoops would have been perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

It has to get better from here...

07/13/2013
By ,
Marion, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For the first time using the machine it was quite difficult to get all of the software and drivers to work on my computer. I am using Windows XP on a desktop computer, but I'm going to try Windows 7 that is on my laptop, and I hope I don't have as many issues. I got this machine because it was a great price, and I found a love for sewing and embroidery. Besides the fact of having issues with the software and drivers not installing properly on the machine, I also ran into the problem of not being able to embroidery anything small. The hoop kept going to the large hoop and nothing I did could change it. I kept getting errors stating that the hoop was not big enough for the design, even though the design was quite small. I really hope that I have an easier time setting up this machine on my laptop than I did my desktop computer.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Excellent machine for the money

01/11/2013
By ,
Potomac Falls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is fabulous for both sewing and embroidery. The super simple threading, makes it great for those of us that have trouble seeing the small needle hole now. The automatic needle threading and simple top drop-in bobbin are great.
The embroidery tool offers a nice large embroidery space, plus a multi-hooping feature that allows professional quality work on a home machine.
Singe keeps the cost down by letting you use your own computer rather than having it built in, which makes them less expensive to service. I love the great customer service available through their toll-free number. I have had several Singer machines in the years I have been sewing, and this is my favorite!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Any Tips For Us Newbies
Posted 07/27/2013
Hi what type of thread do you recommend and what speed do you work your embroidery on and do you use a thread stand-- in other words any tips for how you got your machine to work perfectly. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

High hopes were dashed! :(

09/05/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first received this from Wal-Mart.com at my door, I was impressed with just the shear size of the box. My husband was impressed with how much it weighed, and had a huge foot print!. lol
Well, I knew the machine would sew, but that's not my main reason for buying it. I bought it to embroider. So that's the first thing I checked to see how well it would work. Boy, was all my fears realized. I went through 10 (TEN) needles in just two days! And I didn't even get a whole project completed. Every time it was done with a color of thread, it would move back to the center position. When it did, the thread would not be given enough slack to do that. It's like it had the brakes on, and snap! would go another needle!
As if that wasn't enough, it did not like going around a scalloped curved edge. The thread would break all through out that whole agonizing feat, and get nests under the the hoop!
It was loud and clunky on the embroidery attachment.
I was looking forward to making large designs, but instead I was on the phone with Singer for about two hours going through all the steps that led me to call them in the first place. And yes, I made sure that I had the right bobbins, stabilizer, needles and thread. But in the end... even Singer told me to take it back and exchange it. Well, I couldn't do that because I must have bought the last one Wal-Mart had in stock. So, I ended up with a refund and no machine.
Do yourself a favor and buy a Brother! I have over a million stitches on my SE-400, and it's still going. I did end up ordering the Brother PE 770. It's an embroidery only machine, and only does up to 5x7 designs...but for the money, it's a better buy and less of a headache!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+118points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Saginaw, MI
I agree!
Posted 09/25/2013
I had many issues with this machine! Many! I am returning it tomorrow. I've already bought a Brother Innovis 2500D. It was expensive but it was worth it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

sews like a dream

03/19/2014
By ,
Friendswood, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is awesome and easy to work. My suggestion is to watch videos on you tube and learn some basics first. Gather the right supplies and good embroidery thread, I suggest Hemsworth. If you do these few things you will be ready to go when your machine is delivered. Also there is am update on the Singer website to the software if you have a newer computer with Windows 8. You will need this before the machine will be recognized by the software.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Great machine for the price

02/12/2013
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sewing/embroidery machine is full of great features and is easy to use. I shopped around for a while and saw this was a great value for the features it has. It had all of its parts in the box and seems to be well-made. I trust the brand because my grandmother has had a Singer for several decades, and it still works. I'm a beginner sewer. I literally had never before used a sewing or embroidery machine, and I was able to set it up and get it running immediately just by reading the instruction manual. Would highly recommend this for any experience level of sewing or embroidery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Total Dud

03/26/2014
By ,
Mansfield, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read many 50/50 reviews on this machine, but tried it because I really liked the idea of using my large computer screen instead of a small internal screen within the machine. I am tech savvy, and very good at trouble shooting- even on friends' machines, so I figured I could adjust accordingly should any issues arise.
My machine arrived yesterday and on the FIRST run, I encountered issue after issue!
First, it is NOT user friendly. No diagrams or hints to wind/thread bobbin and top thread like my Bernina and Brother machines, so you have to carefully read the vague manual, which is not as helpful as I'd hoped. Although I was using high quality thread, it snapped less than halfway through the first letter. I adjusted several things including tension as I had read to do, but 3 seconds later it had stopped, saying it had broken the thread. The thread was fine so I restarted it, only to have it stop and send the same error message over and over, every three seconds throughout the duration of the letter. It did break the thread two more times (but the rest were just time-consuming false alarms). I eventually stopped the process as continued to have problems starting the second letter.
The embroidery it did do was messy at best. When I removed the hoop, the back was a huge "bird's nest" of thread. I shut off the machine to try to restart the process but the machine won't even turn on now!! What a lemon! I plan to return this machine today and replace it with a well-reviewed Brother. I'm all about giving products a fair chance, but this one isn't even worth a try, I'm just glad I purchased it from WalMart so I can return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Singer Futura XL-400 30

04/03/2013
By ,
Spokane
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it since it sews almost by itself. I would recommend it to anyone that wants a great sewing machine, need to have knowledge about a sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

love it!

03/02/2014
By ,
Stockton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It lacks instruction, but it is really a nice machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

what I thought it would be

02/26/2013
By ,
oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have done several things with the embroidery part of the machine I'm not the least bit disappointed I can't ask it to do more thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine
01/29/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the machine. It does beautiful work. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to upgrade. I had a Walmart Disney machine, which I still love, but the Singer embroideries large areas, which is the reason I upgraded. Great Machine. Very user friendly..and I can use any of my embroidery files, it uses all types which is really nice..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

.... Don't do it. Just don't do it!

09/25/2013
By ,
Saginaw, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Where can I even start?
Well I was on the search for a good machine, with a large hoop (6x10) at a low price. That was my first mistake I suppose. I wanted good quality for cheap which is clearly something you can't expect.
I bought this machine a few days ago and I was so excited when it arrived. I opened it up, dived into the manual and everything seemed simple as simple could be! I'd like to add that I have had two other embroidery machines and I've used them for over two years so I am not a newbie at dealing with embroidery machines.
The XL 400 was clunky. That was the first thing I noticed when I hooked up the embroidery unit and started a test design of a simple flower. It was VERY clunky. It was extremely loud as well sounding as if it were going to just break apart at any moment. I ignored this as I was hopeful that the machine would be my very best dream machine. I was wrong. Within 2 hours the machine began to beep continuously saying there was a error.
I removed the hoop and what do I find? The bobbin thread is a bundled up mess! At the time I was using stabilizer so this was not the reason why it was having issues. I removed the hoop, cleaned out the bundled up mess below and then tried again.
The same thing continued to happened over the course of 2 hours. Finally, I decided that maybe I needed to try sewing with the machine. No embroidery. I attempted to sew and what happened? The machine beep AGAIN. I attempted to pull back my fabric only to find that it had become pulled into the bottom part of the machine and once again the bobbin thread had totally bundled up into this horrible mess.
To put it simply, no matter how hard I tried to troubleshoot the machine it continued to have this one problem. Within three hours it has become totally un-useable! I can't believe it! All the terrible reviews I saw about this horrible, cheaply made thing were true! I did NOT want to believe them. I assumed that perhaps they were all silly and knew not how to use a embroidery machine... I was wrong. I was foolish. I am sorry.
So, so, so very sorry.
Do not buy this machine. I am returning it tomorrow at my local Walmart and I have already brought another machine of a different brand. It was expensive. Extremely expensive but it will be worth it for at least I know this other company is a good company with good service!
Oh and don't bother with Singer customer service. It's horrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

EXCELLENT MACHINE

01/15/2014
By ,
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS MACHINE DOES BOTH REGULAR STITCHING AND SEWING ALONG WITH EMBROIDERING.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Nice machine

08/22/2013
By ,
Oxnard CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this machine as a sewing machine but have only done a couple of built-in embroidery designs. Still need to learn how to download designs from the Internet. Sure am going to like once I learn.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Futura XL-400 30-Stitch Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Nice but big

03/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very big and I wish it had an automatic thread cutter built in. I also wish the software that came with the machine was a little more useful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next