Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nook NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nook NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

World's #1 Reader now with breakthrough GlowLight: No Ads. Power adapter included. Only Reader designed for perfect bedtime reading Breakthrough technology creates a soft glow optimized for low light reading Warm light illuminates entire screen evenly GlowLight turns on instantly and adjusts easily with a touch Revolutionary built-in anti-glare screen protector delivers just-like-paper experience - great in bright sun Exclusive Best-Text & adjustable fonts make words crisp & clear Lightest NOOK ever - perfect for long reading sessions and carrying everywhere Unbeatable value: "2 Readers in 1" - Best of E Ink & Lit Display - Amazing in bed and at the beach Register your new NOOK and receive $5 credit to spend on NOOK Books, apps, movies and more in the NOOK Store. Credit expires 5 days after registration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%57 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Great little reader - love it!

08/30/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Nook and the reading light is a welcome bonus. The battery life is rated at up to 2 months and so far its living up to it's promise. It's just the right size to hold, lightweight and with just a light touch of my finger, it turns the pages or takes me to the dictionary, notes and other options. I bought the original Nook several years ago and it was heavy and the silly screen at the bottom never worked. They've made the new Nook intuitive and so easy to use. I download epub books from my library for most of my reading. I considered the Kindle, but Amazon has it set up so the library has to send the book to them first then they send it to you. Absolute nonsense. It's just a gimmick to keep track of what you read. The epub format opens up the wide range of ebooks available for free or nominal charges on the internet. I highly recommend it. I bought mine first then purchased this for my husband. He loves it too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
elk grove, ca
im looking to buy one for mother in law
Posted 11/04/2013
im looking to buy one of these for my mother in law. she loves to read, but she runs out of books too read so fast. I want to get her something that is easy for her to find the books she likes to read, and has a lot of variety. I just don't know which one is better? I look at this one and its best seller and the reviews are great. does anyone have any suggestions or advice id greatly appreciate that. thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Fantastic eReader!

08/18/2012
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight is great for reading. The glowlight alows me to read at any time of the day or night. Some books on nook are more expensive then on kindle, but not much difference overall. I love that the nook includes an sd slot for added storage. Great for traveling, built in wifi. Very easy to set up wifi function. The simple touch also has page turn buttons on both side as well as a menu button. You have a choice to touch screen or use page turn buttons to turn the pages. If you touch a word on screen and hold for 2 seconds a menu will pop up and you can look up the word, highlight and make notes. You can touch screen towards bottom of page for 2 seconds and glowlight will come on. The glow light has adjustable brightness also. Very easy to look up books with several categories to chose from. Overall a great Ereader if you enjoy a lot of reading.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+138points
Review 3 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Unexpectedly Nice Reader

08/17/2013
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like eReaders because, after a long day working on the computer, I don't want to read on a tablet that looks like one too. Compared to tablets, eReader pages turn faster, the screen doesn't have the shiny reflection, and generally the battery lasts much longer. Altogether more soothing.
All of the e-Ink readers have the same greyish background, not true white. This Nook overcomes that with a 'glowlight' that turns the background to true white when turned about on to about 15%. It's really nice; the Glowlight doesn't make it feel like a computer.
The default font is very nice and highly legible. With a screen only slightly larger than my Sony eReader, I can view about twice as many words at one time. This is because the difference between medium and large font on the Sony is too great #I need glasses, I'm sure#, so on the Sony reader I have to change pages about twice as often.
The Sony has better battery life - I was amazed by how long a charge lasted. However, the Nook's battery lasted me about 20 hours, and it fits better in my hands, is extremely lightweight, and the reading area looks terrific. I also love the rubber grip around the outside - the Nook doesn't slide out of my hands like the tablets or the Sony do.
I'm kind of glad now that my dog broke my Sony, so I got to try this! Liked my Sony, but this is neat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

LOVE my Nook!

12/20/2012
By ,
Bay Area, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to set up and use! Our power went out one night and I was able to keep reading the the GloLight! I went to o.co and got a nice (but inexpensive) cover so the front wouldn't get scratched (under $10) and found www.bookbub.com which sends out daily free/cheap books to get. I think I've got 50 books on already and spent a grand total of $12.00!!
AND Consumer Reports recommends the Nook, too!
Came fast and VERY well packed from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 5 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Great gift idea!!

11/23/2013
By ,
LaPlace, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleasantly surprised at how much I am reading again! I LOVE my Nook! It is so convenient for reading at night! I didn't think I would like it as much as I do! It is easy on the eyes. It makes a perfect gift for someone who "has everything" and you don't know what to get them! It is affordable and a gift that keeps on giving! How great is that...to give someone the gift of books!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

A great improvement over my old Nook!

07/19/2013
By ,
Homosassa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Nook, especially the GlowLight. At last I can read in bed without disturbing my husband. The battery seems to last a long time and I have no difficulty downloading books from the library. We are campers and it sure saves a lot of room not having to carry a box full of paperbacks for our summer trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 7 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

great purchase

10/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Nook! The price was excellent, and it is easy to use. I bought it primarily for reading at night, and the GlowLight works great for that, but it is also a good screen for day time reading. No complaints whatsoever! Highly recommend if you don't want to spend a fortune on an e-reader, particularly if you will be reading at night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 8 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight
09/16/2013
By ,
Moline,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the simple touch for about a year so when the time came to replace my wife's reader it was an easy chose. she reads a lot at night so went with the glowlight. she says it works well for reading in the dark
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 9 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Great Nook 6'' Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

11/18/2012
By ,
Lithonia, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the eReader for my granddaughter and she is very pleased with her gift. The Nook 6'' Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight is exactly what she wanted and expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

every thing from a

07/27/2013
By ,
frederick,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great products, all that I have bought from walmart is super good products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Bought as a gift for college student

10/09/2012
By ,
Mount Bethel, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought as a gift for a college student, so far no complaints says it is wonderful
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Great Reader

01/13/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had our 2 Nooks for about a month. I am very happy with the reader.
It took a little time to figure out how to use it but not too frustrating. I am reasonably electronics literate but we are full time rvers so do not always have wifi available. We do use an aircard for internet access & once we figured out the process of downloading the books to the computer then transferring to the Nook we were all set. Went to the library & found out how to borrow their ebooks & we are having a ball.
This reader is very basic but more than meets our needs to get books to read while we are on the road fulltime without the hassle of finding places to exchange books.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight
09/20/2013
By ,
Granite City, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my adult daughter for reading. She is able to read clearly on a sunny day outside or in bed at night. Wonderful item!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Nook for my grandson's birthday

09/07/2013
By ,
Stillwater, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Nook myself and my grandson is an avid reader so thought he would enjoy one too. I got a good price at Walmart for the Nook and my grandson loves the Nook!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 15 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Rediculous B&N legal and registering criteria

12/28/2013
By ,
denver, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
B&N wants a blank check for their product. Be prepared for credit card, social security number requirements even to get a free book. Must be in a Wifi area to use it, otherwise worthless. Took it back after wasting four days full of agravation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Battery doesnt hold a charge.

01/12/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this for a couple of weeks. Hardly ever use the light and only do light reading...it constantly has a dead battery. Horrible...wish I never bought it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Review 17 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Great little e-reader

01/09/2014
By ,
Oroville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're like me and don't want to lug your laptop around everywhere, this little e-reader is for you. I like how small and light it is. I just wanted a simple reader to read books while riding the bus or waiting around. My new Nook is great for that. Buy a case to protect it in the event it gets dropped. (That's not an IF, it's a WHEN.) The Glowlight is great for reading in bed. The page turning buttons are pretty sensitive so be careful how you hold the Nook while reading, In two words: Love It!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Wonderful e*reader!

02/08/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with my simple touch with glowlight. It is a simple reader that meets all my needs. Simple to use with clear type in a small, light package.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

great e-reader

01/17/2014
By ,
Detroit MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love my nook.... I have one of the original nooks, the nook color and this one... i loved it so much that I bought two more as gifts for my MIL and a dear friend.... If you are an avid reader, and want a simple easy to use e-reader then this is absolutely the one for you....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for NOOK 6" Simple Touch eReader with GlowLight

Love it

01/18/2014
By ,
Cheraw, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever sense I got it I have not been able to put it down. I been reading more and the glow light is the best cause it doesn't disturb my fiancé while he sleeps and I sit up in bed and read late nights, which has been a lot sense getting the nook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next