Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Panasonic Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Enjoy 720p HD resolution on this Panasonic 50" plasma HDTV for vivid, life-like images. You can experience fast-moving action with minimal ghosting effects on the Class 720p Plasma HDTV thanks to the high-performance 600Hz sub-field drive. The Panasonic 50” television's built-in media player lets you enjoy your photos and video clips on the big screen. Whether you are watching the big game, an action-packed flick or looking at your wedding photos, the Panasonic 50" Plasma HDTV is a fine choice for maximum viewing pleasure. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Panasonic 50" plasma TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation74%14 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

The price is a little high

12/14/2012
By ,
Long beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price is a little bit high - my mom purchase a Visio 50", the video, sound, and feature is more quality then the Panasonic.. my next purchase will be the Visio if they have a 70".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Loving our 50" Panasonic Plasma TV

01/16/2013
By ,
Eclectic, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV arrived on time and in excellent condition. Expected the TV to be alot heavier than it was, I actually loaded it by myself with relative ease. Very easy to set up, and I am by no means, what you might call "Tech Savy". The onscreen setup instructions walk you through very easily. My 5 year old granddaughter could have done it. The TV itself is sleek and slim. Enjoying a beautiful picture in HD and even the channels that are not HD provide a really nice picture as well. I added a surround sound system that rocks the living room. I looked around a good bit before I purchased this particular TV and even asked a friend that does TV repair what he would recommend. I was told that Panasonic is the most dependable. We are Loving our new 50" Panasonic Plasma and I'm convinced we will do so for many years to come. Watching the Crimson Tide win their 15th National Title on a TV this large was truly amazing. If your considering this TV, you will not regret regret putting it in your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Excellent Buy!!!

10/03/2012
By ,
KlLLlNTlME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this television Panasonic TC-P50x5 for the purpose of watching movies and gaming. I have owned many top of the line television and audio products. Pro-Scan, Technics, etc... Although this TV is only a 720p, I easily found the picture quality, especially for fast motion to be superior to LCD and LED pictures. The factory sound quality is great and really fills the room. Colors are exceptional. The only downfall for me is the Digital Audio Out only. Guess it's time to upgrade my audio system. Three of my friends have seen it and gone to get one. Highly recommended for an early Christmas present to yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 4 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

You'd have to spend 4x as much to get a better TV!

11/23/2012
By ,
Cary, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll let you do your own research on the merits of Plasma VS LCD, as there is quite a debate despite ANY LCD (CFL or LED backlit; local dimming or not) being theoretically impossible to surpass the color accuracy and contrast of plasma. Anyways... Panasonic continues to be an industry leader with their plasma TV's. This model is a terrific value and I think 50" is the perfect size HDTV for most people in the average living room. They are priced to steal nowadays!!! The picture quality of this TV is spectacular. The color accuracy and contrast and particularly stunning... the image really looks life-like because of plasma's color spectrum being closer to the human eye. It does lack a couple of high-end features that fetch a MUCH higher price tag - but I don't miss them and I don't think you will either. Don't waste your money on gimmicky 3D TV's or a 1080p set - over 90% of content isn't even 1080p resolution and you have to sit VERY close to a 50" TV to notice the difference anyways. Image "burn-in" or "retention" is always a concern with plasma TV's but this TV does a much better job than previous ones I have owned. It incorporates a pixel orbiting system and has a menu option for a "screen cleaning" (I rec'd running this once a week to keep the display crisp and clear!). This HDTV should have no problem providing stunning and reliable entertainment for years to come.... until OLED technology becomes feasible for the masses :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 5 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5
05/13/2012
By ,
Dallas,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price you can't beat the picture quality. I also have a 1080p Panasonic 42". You can hardly tell a difference in the two. My other tv is 4 1/2 years old and still doing great. So I stayed with Panasonic when I got a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+105points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
louisiana
wall mount
Posted 09/13/2012
can you mount it on the wall?
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Great TV until dead pixels start appearing

10/07/2012
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you purchase this TV, be sure to do so at Walmart and verify their return policy and the length of it. I purchased this TV online, and while it seemed great, a big green pixel appeared on the screen one day about 3 months after purchase. You would think okay, it's still under warranty, no problem. WRONG!! I had to call up Panasonic several times and e-mail them pictures of the problem, and in the end they refused to fix the problem. So rather than owning a new HDTV, I instead feel like I own a used one. I researched this TV a lot before purchase and read nothing about this problem. I now feel like I should've purchased the SAMSUNG sitting next to the Panasonic that's 1 inch bigger and currently about $50 cheaper. Don't make the same mistake I did and go with a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 7 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Excellent Choice

08/19/2012
By ,
Clinton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV meets all my expectation of a great television set. The price was unbeatable, the picture is very clear, it is easy to operate and I am more than satisfied with my purchase. I have already recommended this product to a close family member.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 8 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

very good image on this tv

07/17/2012
By ,
sandy, or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the image is so good you can see the blades off grass on a football field. the colors are crisp.. the best image i have ever seen on a t.v...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 9 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5
08/24/2012
By ,
Bay City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional picture, exceptional value. This is the second Panasonic 50 in we've purchased from Walmart. The first was 4 years ago & no one comes to our home without commenting on what a beautiful picture it has.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 10 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Panasonic 50 Class Plasma 720p 600Hz

06/27/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great value! I remember going to Radio Shack in the early 90's? to purchase a router and they had a (about) 30" flat screen tv on display as you exited the store and the price tag was over $2,000....
In fact we still have one of those monolith 40" monstrosities that also cost over $2,000 from the late 90's.
To have a Panasonic 50" flat screen tv for the price Wal Mart offers is a DREAM COME TRUE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ok
Posted 07/02/2012
The speakers are awful, be prepared to enhance.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Great Plasma But Only Two HDMI Ports

03/15/2013
By ,
Howell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this plasma tv. I bought a Vizio LED and it smelled like it was burning up. Sent it back to Amazon and bought this tv from Walmart. It only has two HDMI ports (which is fine by me) so gamers might not like it so much. The sound is good and I rarely turn it up past 30-40% (and I normally listen to things LOUD). The blacks are awesome on this tv... Jerry H
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Great TV !!! :)

01/29/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw a bad review of this model but bought it because the other brand was not in stock. The picture is fantastic as are other features...Glad I can watch the Super Bowl now on this plasma. For the price, can't beat it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Good Sound

01/07/2013
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the product, I don't like the shipping. Although I paid to received it in my home, the delivery guy made me to go downstairs to pick up the 50" TV by myself. He told me that he wouldn't receive a payment for leave the TV at my door, it was awfully rude!!! so I don't think I will buy again here, I prefer to do my shopping at other places.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
The delivery co. is responsible for delivery
Posted 03/27/2013
What you ran across was the policy of the delivery company, and not WalMart. They either have some policy about going up a lot of steps, if it's your address at the bottom of the stairs, or the delivery guy was lying to you (he may have been running late or he didn't feel well or whatever). If you have an apartment, they're supposed to deliver to that particular apartment. If they have to go upstairs to get to it, then they have to do that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Disappointing

07/06/2012
By ,
Midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We currently have Panasonic TVs and love them. We decided to go a little larger. Assumed this would be a larger version of what we have but it is not. The sound was tinny plus there was no Viera link to hook up a sound bar. Therefore the TV went back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-27points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Good for 2 years, then dead
Posted 08/19/2012
I have owned this T.V. for 2 years and it was great.... until yesterday.
It is now dead due to the power supply board and I am now finding out that this is common with this T.V.
2 years and now I have to buy a new T.V. already?
I have had 99¢ light bulbs that have lasted longer.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5
02/19/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i wouldn't know about any of the above, when we received the tv. the screen was all busted up. Having to return the product for a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 16 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

Happy with my choice

03/23/2013
By ,
louisville, ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like this panasonic t.v.. The picture is very good but the sound quality could be better.Perhaps ,I should invest in a sound system. I do wear hearing aids so to be fair maybe the sound would be better for someone without a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5

The jury is out on this.

03/27/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Upon unpacking I saw set was a prior sale . Screws were missing for the stand , batteries in the remote, owners manual opened and trim plastic package protection was gone.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Panasonic 50" Class Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P50X5
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5