Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Philips Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Enjoy Blu-ray disc playback, surround sound and the best of the Internet on your TV with the refurbished Philips Blu-ray home theater system. Wirelessly connect to the Internet right out of the box for access to video on demand favorites like Vudu and Netflix. Enjoy full-HD Blu-ray playback plus 1000 watts of surround sound from this refurbished Blu-ray system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation68%58 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Awesome surround sound!

08/21/2012
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't do a lot of reviews but read a bunch so I figured I would recommend something when I found acceptable....this is MUCH more! The sound is equivalent of a much higher end system. We have a very large room and while I am sure we could have spent $1000 for it to sound better, going from nothing to this was a HUGE improvement. The only drawback I would note is that there is a slight delay on the TV vs what is put out on the speakers if you are watching live TV. From what I read this is caused by the high end sound interpreters within our LCD HDTV. This is solved by simply muting the TV sound while only having the home theater sound on. Also, the wifi aspect is extremely nice so you can get to the internet on your TV and watch netflix/hulu, etc. Quality of blue ray is perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Blu-ray home theater system at a good price

07/21/2012
By ,
Banning, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Most blu-Ray players come seperately without speakers to link to the receiver and those tend to mess up your home theater systems you already have. This one however, comes with a total of 6 Speakers, including a subwoofer. It was hard to figure out how to use it when there wasn't a manual that came with it. I had to look it up online and now my whole room shakes and gets really loud. It actually is a lot better then my previous Home Theater System that I put together/mix and matching with speakers.
This unit has color coated plug in's as well on the revicer to easily match up where they are suposed to be pluged in at as well as labeled. For a blu-ray system this is really neat. If you don't have one yet look into blu-ray home theater systems for your home. The speakers may be smaller then your already home theater system but I doubt the power you get from your already home theater system can match the power the blu-ray home theater system can do. I know my new one works a lot better then my old one, and now I don't need to buy a PS3 just to have blu-ray. I believe I saved up to about $200 on this purchase.
The only problem I had was not having a manual for this unit, I was forced to look on the internet for the manual. If you buy any USED/REFURBISHED units and you don't get a manual, don't ship it back just type the whole name of your unit like Phillips HTS3106/F7 Blu-Ray home theater system or Phillips blu-Ray Home theater system and look up your manual, Save it to your computer hard drive or thumb drive. It will save you a massive headake. I know this because thats what I was going to do because I couldnt figure out how to use my unit to its fulliest and now I do. Well I hope this Review helps those that bought Refurbished units and that they maybe used but you got to think its a lot cheaper then buying it straight up brand new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

10/19/2012
By ,
barstow
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for 1000 watts (rms) true wattage i got this thurday it has wifi or direct connect to a eithernet wire you have to set up the net services on this unit then your netflix you have to get the code from the player after going into netflic if you are a subscribber theres a code that shows up leave it on the site and go to your computer or laptop or your internet wireless device then go to the vudu then it will say new customer and brouse push ok on the first one that comes on then it will ask you if you are a customer or a new customer click the customer then enter your email address then enter your password this system does have good sounds for a refurbished and i inspected it at walmart when it came in i did not see any damage to the unit or speakers it is a heavy made unit not like those cheaply made units like rca, coby i will recomend this to several mvtransit drivers that i know it has blu-ray today inm heading back in town to get a movie even though it can play standard dvd's to IMPORTANT UPGRADE IT THE SECOND YOU GET THE NET ACTIVE?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

actually exceeded my expectations

11/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on a budget, needing a system for my wife and I, as well as my kids. it was a refurbished system for $99. not bad. it played Blu-ray and is backwards compatible to play your DVD's of the past. i would reccomend once the system arrives, then start buying movies in blu-ray. This way, you get up with the times with blu-ray yet, you can get by with playing DVD's saving a ton of cash.
the only downfall(Con) about this system is the internet system in this. For some reason, it didn't work for me too well, however I only messed with it for 10 minutes or less. you can update the firmware for this system through the internet, I highly suggest connecting it to a wired internet connection for this feature. You can play netflix on it but it kind of defeats the purpose since the system is meant to play movies UNLESS you love movies so much and don't have a large library of DVD's or bluray movies. Setup is a cinch as each speaker is color coded for it's channel and clearly marked on the back where you plug them in. I want to implore all who read this to make sure you connect and use ALL speakers involved. in order to hear the verbal aspect(actors lines) you MUST have the middle channel hooked up or you will NOT hear any movie speech. The surround channels have exceptionally long wires to stretch long distances to get a full fledged surround sound.
my setup is in an apartment/condo and it was rather easy to set this up but if you own a large home, I'd suggest you procure some stands to utilize the surround speakers, my ceiling is very low as apartments go so distance isn't an issue.
But if you're like me, on a budget, don't want to spend a truckload on a system, yet have an easy to setup and good sounding system, this theater system is for you. Yeah, I could have gone with an expensive bose system that is wireless but I just couldn't justify a bose system on a small limited budget.
Also, as refurbished goes, some systems will be hit or miss depending on how the prior owner treated the system so that should also be a factor. I also bought the system protection through walmart so if something goes wrong, I can keep the system fixed and running within reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Only ONE HDMI output

08/02/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Basically this is a glorified Blu Ray player with surround sound. This WILL NOT work as a regular receiver would, where you can hook up multiple devices. There is only ONE HMDI output, my television does not have an optical link so that is the only way to connect this. By doing that then the only device that will play through the speakers would be this Blu Ray player. This is ridiculously poor design on Phillips part, everything uses HDMI connectors so why in the world would you only put ONE.
Also the speaker wires are super short, apparently people watch TV in closets with surround sound or something. Anyway if you were to lengthen them, which anyone would have to, you would have to chop off and splice the wires to lengthen, then also reconnect to their plastic connector for the back of the player.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
kearny
be honest
Posted 11/15/2012
What do you think about the prices its worth the 99 at least ? i just want to buy one for my kid's room
+2points
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Ok
Posted 11/09/2012
Get a new TV.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished
09/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great sound, very easy to connect, never had an issue with the WiFi dropping out. Enough speakers to really make you feel like you are in the movie. Great investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished
07/11/2012
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sound! Great Price ! just wish it had a better media Hub. Watch movis every night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Excellent Quality Blue ray Player

11/03/2012
By ,
Mooresville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a refurbished unit and I was a little skeptical about buying it but the price was right. I have been using it for 2 weeks & so far it's performed magnificently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished
07/23/2012
By ,
wheatridge,colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For some reason I have always enjoyed Philips products,they Last they are not junk .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Awesome!

08/09/2012
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just finished watching a Blu-Ray movie on this Home Theater System. I thought the plane crashed in my living room! I jumped two feet off the couch! Picture is awesome. What detail!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

outstanding for $99

11/25/2012
By ,
North Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I buy Bang-for-my-buck.
I made a huge mistake buying the RCA DVD home theater a few years ago for $99. What a horrible sounding, 'blippy' machine.
I was worried about spending $99 on this system. Well, I was blown away by the sound and the overall setup.
The flaws: no YouTube and the rest of the wifi stuff is limited (at least as far as I can tell)
One or two songs I've listened two have some intense 'deep' drums that vibrate the subwoofer. However, it is barely noticeable and only on those songs. We just watched Brave and Battleship and it performed flawlessly.
I am very impressed with this system for only $99. If you are not a 'sound snob' but you do appreciate quality at a good price, then this is the system for you!
I also bought a system for my mom.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Exceptional

11/10/2012
By ,
Corvallis, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sound that comes from the speakers is actually surprisingly good. I bought this system mainly for the surround sound so the bluray and wifi are a bonus and are neglected for this review. So far the system has had no problems and it plays just as well as the day I received it. My friend recently bought a 300W RCA surround system and there was a clear difference. My speakers could handle much louder sounds without cracking. I highly recommend, unless you plan to play quite music or movies, getting a system that runs at a minimum of 1000W. I have no regrets about buying this for the price of only $130, which was about the price when I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

piece of expencive junk

10/15/2012
By ,
elmore Mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thinking great blu ray with surround sound and wi fi to boot great deal the dvd player works great but when ever it starts a movie it makes a real loud squelching sound even if the volume is turned down .
I have had the wi fi working for about 2 months now and suddenly it wont connect either wirelessly or hard wired it keeps saying network error I am no expert in this area but if it wont detect the network either way the machine is messed up and fantastic it waits till the limited warenty is up all I can say is DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT unless you have money to burn !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Not what I expected

12/09/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought refurbished System, so I had bit less expectation from the product. But When I received the product, I found that atleast the manual was missing. I still tried to put pieces together and took me long time to make that work without manual. I found that if I play DVD, then all speakers would work (Rear speakers didn't work as they should be - They were giving very light background sound which was not clear enough). When I played any show on TV, only front two speakers would go off. Others wouldn't do anything. I returned product thinking it would be better to add some more money and get the better system.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Don't buy it

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extremely slow!!! It stopped working after a few weeks. You have to unplug it multiple times to make it work.....Spend more money and get something better!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Great product for being refurbished

11/18/2012
By ,
Virginia, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG!!!! I love this home system. We all felt like we were at the movies. The speakers are wonderful.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Very Nice and Easy to Set Up

11/29/2012
By ,
Aliso Viejo Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a good Home Theater System for those that can not aford the High End Brands, Great sound !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished
10/26/2012
By ,
Columbus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money, and delivery only took a few days .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished

Appears to be decent unit at a good price.

11/19/2012
By ,
Upstate NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Limited use to date since the best audio connection from TV is not clearly specified and unit does not have a optical connector. Waiting to see if Digital coax connection to Direct TV receiver will work. Assuming it works the total extra cable cost is under $10. If a converter is required the total extra cost is a about $25
The DVD to TV via your own HDMI works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips HTS3106/F7 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in WiFi, Refurbished
12/05/2012
By ,
CLEVELAND OHIO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the product is lousy,,i hook it up to my tv only two speakers work,,,the sub-woofer is lousy,,they said its 1000 watts thats also a lie with the sound you get from that thing no way its a 1000 watts..i am sending it back i have spoken to the manufacture they are sending a replacement lets see what the replacement does,, PLEASE DO NOT BUY,,
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next