Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Griffin Technology Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Griffin Technology Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Tested and certified to meet or exceed US Department of Defense Standard 810F, the Griffin Survivor Case for iPad2 and New iPad is designed from the inside out to protect your device from extreme conditions. This protection includes dirt, sand and rain and a host of other environmental factors. There is also a rigid internal frame that protects the iPad from shock and vibration as well as drops This Griffin Survivor Case iPad 2 is built on a shatter-resistant polycarbonate frame clad in rugged, shock-absorbing silicone created specifically with the delicate nature of the iPad 2 in mind. A built-in screen protector seals your multi-touch display from the outside environment, while hinged plugs seal the dock connector, camera lens, headphone port, hold switch and volume controls, so they are protected from outside environments. There is also a multi-position workstand in this black Griffin Survivor Case New iPad. The included stand clips on, then folds open for landscape viewing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.687 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%78 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

A Must BUY!!!!

03/24/2014
By ,
Covington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say I never write reviews however I feel I was obligated to write this one. Prior to purchasing this case my IPAD was repaired 3 times thanks to my 2 year old son (luckily I purchased Walmart's protection plan) However I got tired of sending it in for repairs and purchased this case. It has been almost a year since I bought it and have not had to get my Ipad repaired since. And believe me it is not for lack of him trying.
I literally just found it dripping in water and removed the case wiped it down and everything works perfectly fine. That's when I decided I really need to write this review.
It has been thrown from the top of a staircase and not a scratch dropped on the garage floor and nothing. Guys you will not regret purchasing this case at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black
02/19/2013
By ,
Orlando area, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best case for an iPad that you can get. I have a 2-yr old son who has dropped my iPad more than once (on tile even!), but because of this case, nothing has ever broken with my iPad itself, there are no scratches on the actual iPad screen, the screen cover/protector on the case is strong enough to protect against scratches to it and the iPad's screen, but yet has no adverse effects on the sensitivity of the screen. My only annoyance is the stand that came with it. It's pitiful. Took less than two months to break that flimsy little thing. But aside from that, I wouldn't buy any other case. I need the durability and strength of this case! In fact, I'll be buying a case just like this for my iPhone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Peace of Mind for Your IPad Investment ...

02/06/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I love my IPad 2, its flimsy, thin design also scares the daylights out of me. Dropping a cell phone is one thing, but dropping an IPad device is a totally different story ... but you know it's likely to happen at some point and the fragile nature of the IPad 2 plus the cost to replace it created a concern for me. When looking for a case, I was more focused on protection and functionality than appearance. When I stumbled upon the Griffin Survivor Case for the IPad 2, I knew I found what I was looking for as it combined the protection and functionality I wanted as well as the benefit of a rugged appearance.
Why I love this particular case:
1) The case includes a heavy-duty screen protector that does not encumber the IPad's touch screen abilities or diminish graphics.
2) The screen protector snaps itself to a hardshell case creating a protective seal that should allow the IPad to survive most general mishaps including exposure to rain or dirt.
3) A rubberized "skin" snaps on to the hardshell case creating an additional protective seal. This skin is versitile in that it has the ability to seal shut exposed areas like the camera lense, speaker and charging port, if desired. The "block" texturing of the skin creates a thickness that allows for a more assured grip and provides additional overall cushion/impact resistance for the IPad's back and corners.
4) A removable stand snaps smartly into the side of the case. A plastic sliding mechanism in the stand presented the only problem I had with this case as it seems likely to break at some point.
5) The product states that it is military tested ... and if this case is designed to handle the conditions of a place like Afghanistan, it should survive my living room.
6) I found the rugged no-nonsense appearance of the case to be appealing as well.
Overall, the Griffin Survivor case for the IPad gives me a stronger sense of security that my beloved IPad 2 will be safe from clumsy mishaps as well as decreasing the likelihood of slipping out of my hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Great protection

01/29/2013
By ,
South bend In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this case for my ipad4 and absolutely love it! It provides great protection all around. The only thing I'm not crazy about is how heavy it makes the iPad. Other than that, love the built in screen display and port covers. Very good fit and has survived being dropped by my 4 year old! Highly recommend this case!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Awesome case

02/17/2013
By ,
Port Angeles, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This case is awesome. My 4 year old autistic son is very rough with his ipad and this case has saved it from breaking more the once. I am so thankful we bought this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arkansas
Thanks
Posted 06/05/2013
I have the same concerns. After one broken screen, I sure don't want to pay for another and the previous case didn't measure up. Thanks for your review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

GREAT protection for your investment!!

02/12/2013
By ,
Jamestown, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This case / cover is the best I have been able to find. It fits tight and has openings for all the iPads necessary openings Charge Camera Speakers etc. The touch screen shield is very sensitive and adds little effort to the operation of the screen. The included stand is very helpful and works well in all applications.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Great value for price!

02/27/2013
By ,
Woodbridge, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this case and I'm so happy with it! My sister purchased one and paid twice as much as I did! It is difficult to close the case but once you have it on your iPad your set. I used a screw driver to lift the lip to slide it in place. Great value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

A must have

02/07/2013
By ,
Harrodsburg, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you buy an iPad just go ahead and order one of these cases also but order it online if not you will pay double in the store. I love my case. I have a 3 year old lil boy who likes to play the games and this case keeps my iPad safe and clean and it gives me alil peace of mind while he plays. It is the best thing they could have invented. I also bought one for my iPod, I would recommend it to anyone and have on several occasions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Griffin Survivor for Ipad with Retina Display

06/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never write reviews but i thought this deal was too good to not tell everyone looking about...I needed a new case for class... I am in a masters program that includes cadaver dissection. I have a case that I love but I did not want it smelling like the lab. I checked out some cases in the store but was not wanting to spend $80+ on a case. I then checked online and found this case. It is seriously like the exact same as the survivor the store is selling for $80, but half the price. Plus I was able to ship to store same day as purchase. It was great. I put the case on, it was a tad tricky, but after everything is said and done it is perfect for what I want! It protects the ipad and the screen all in one case! It isn't even that bulky, which will be great to carry around at school. I highly recommend purchasing online then picking it up in the store! Saves about $40!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Product Does Its Job But . . .

03/23/2013
By ,
Waldorf, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only problem I have is the stand; it keeps sticking on one side when I try to open it. Have to be careful that it doesn't break. Other then that this product does its job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black
03/18/2013
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy online and do site to store or order to your home it is double the price if you go to store and buy off the shelf don't know why but it is great product I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black
03/18/2013
By ,
Ripley, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! Had been searching for one online because at our local Walmart it was $79.88 and I just didn't want to give that much. Happened to look at walmart.com and it was $36 so I went to our Walmart thinking it must have went down, no luck. Ordered online site to store picked it up same day... They went and pulled it off the shelf ($79.88) and I picked up... Half price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Indestructible and it looks cool too

04/27/2013
By ,
Pomona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this case. I recommend it to anyone.
I own a pharmacy and we deliver drugs to patient’s homes. I use IPads for my delivery guys to receive patient’s signatures and credit card payment for customers. Needless to say, your average delivery guy is not a real careful individual and the IPad is a delicate and expensive unit. This is where the Griffin Survivor Case saves the day. It is tough, water resistant, and Drop Resistant. It is easy to install and completely covers the entire IPad, even the screen. All the doors or I guess you can call them ports are hinged so they will not fall off or break over time. The case adds some weight and makes the IPad thicker, less slippery, and easier to handle. Being easier to hold is a plus for my drivers and customers alike because they both love to drop computers. With the Survivor Case the IPad will simply bounce when dropped. There is a face plate or screen cover over the entire screen so no matter how abusive as the customers and drivers are the true screen is protected from scratches. For example, Sooner or later someone will use an ink pin to sign on the screen. The Survivor Case is water, coffee, and soda restart. I say this because we previously used tablet laptops and a driver killed one by dumping a BigGulp full of soda on it while driving. The Survivor Case can pass the BigGulp test. About The only thing that the Survivor Case can not protect the IPad from is being forgotten in an unlocked car (in plain sight) while the driver has lunch at McDonald’s.
In collusion this case is excellent. It is tough, water resistant, and drop resistant. It is great for Children, Delivery drivers, and Chimpanzees. It comes in a number of attractive colors and is reasonably priced compared to the price of the IPad. To me it is a no-brainer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Proved itself right away!

08/15/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased my Griffen case on sale through Walmart.com. Not only was it a great value, but it has lived up to its reputation right out of the box! First time out it fell from the luggage storage inside the plane to the floor. I feel sure that without the case, I'd be looking at $100+ to repair a screen, have dented edges, or need to replace the unit entirely. But, it held up like a champ! The case adds some weight to the iPAD, but it looks clean and feels sturdy. My only wish it that it came with a front cover when it is not in use. It does have a clear protective screen. Initially, I had to press a little harder for screen commands to garner a response, but that seems to be getting better the longer the case is on the unit. If not for the latter, I'd give this product a full 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Durable

04/07/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I almost bought this on craigslist but had a suspicion they were counterfeit (the name on the box should say New iPad + iPad 2 with spaces between the words (exactly as shown here)!).
I have had this case for about two days now. I must say that it feels durable and comfortable in your hands and I like how it covers every parts of your iPad (mine is the 4th/new version). Because of the built in screen, the colorful/rainbow spots that people have mention do appear. However, you can only see them when the screen is black, not when it is lit so that doesn't bother me so much.
The responsiveness is great except for the tiny area in the corners, but the responsiveness in those areas are still good. It just takes another tap or two. The home button works perfectly. The only thing that I don't like is the stand. You can really only use it on one side because the other side has the volume buttons and if I try to use the stand on that side, it presses the bottom volume button. But I believe if you are careful enough you might be able to put it so that it doesn't touch the button. The angle of the stand is good but I wish there were more options as to the degrees the iPad can be held upright.
The installation was a bit of a pain. It took me maybe 15-20 minutes. The taking off was even more of a pain. Taking off the front piece took some work and damaged my nails (I have weak nails to begin with), so this is a case you should only take apart every once in a while to clean, not every few days.
I haven't truly tested the strength of it and hopefully, I never have to, but it gives me a piece of mind to have it. Overall, it is a good product and recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Was the perfect case for my needs.

07/12/2013
By ,
Thomasville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was traveling out to Seattle and wanted a protective case for my iPad so I would not be so self-cautious about using it on the plane or while seeing the sights of Seattle. I had looked at Lifeproof and was going to go that way. But I really did not need total protection like it reports it provides. Also their price was a bit high. In addition some reviews talked about seals failing after a few months and poor customer service from Lifeproof to get replacements.
I read the reviews on the Griffin Survivor Case and felt that it would meet my needs. So running out of time I bought it the day before I left. I can say it has met my expectations and then some. The iPad fits securely in the case. Its constriction is sound and does not feel cheap or flimsy. I felt comfortable shoving my iPad in and out of my backpack, carrying it in Seattle drizzle and hiking a trail with it on Bainbridge Island. The access points allow for protection when not in use but easy acces to camera, charging, and ear bud connections when needed. All in all it preformed as expected and even a little better than I expected.
It may not be total water/dust proof like the lifeproof claims but for my needs it is perfect and a whole lot less expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Great!

10/04/2013
By ,
London, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it should - bought online and used the site-to-store for same day pick up and saved over half price! Awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Great protection!

07/04/2013
By ,
St. John, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits well. Looks good. Does a good job of keeping dust and moisture off of my iPad. Good shock protection also.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black

Solid Case

03/29/2013
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After investing in a ipad, I wanted a strong case that would protect it. This case meets military standards protecting it from wind, rain, drop damage and more. It also has a built-in screen protector that seals the unit from the enviroment. A little high priced but in this case you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Griffin Survivor Case iPad2 and New iPad, Black
04/20/2013
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! Well thought out design. Protects the iPad exceptionally well. Used it on cross-country trip. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next