Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

This Melitta 46894 Coffee Maker features a cone filter design for better coffee extraction. With the Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, in Black/Stainless Steel, you can choose between regular, bold and robust settings for rich-tasting coffee. Made of durable stainless steel, the Melitta Thermal Coffee Maker is programmable, and it has easy-to-use buttons combined with an LCD display and an automatic shut-off feature. The Melitta 46894 Coffee Maker also features an automatic pause and serve function with a drip-free, easy thumb-activated pouring system. In addition, the Melitta 46894 Coffee Maker has a vacuum-sealed thermal carafe to keep the coffee hot, as well as an adjustable keep-warm feature to ensure your coffee stays at the desired temperature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.086 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation81%132 out of 163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 107 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee maker

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the Melitta coffee maker and delicious morning coffee. Simple to use and clean.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

very good product, cone filter

09/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can get this model with a glass or stainless steel insulated carafe. I got the option of the stainless steel carafe. The design of the base unit actually differs depending on carafe type. The heating plate that belongs to the coffee maker that comes with the stainless carafe does not heat up, as the insulated carafe keeps the heat in. It does a good job at keeping the coffee hot. Not being able to see your coffee level and brew strength through the carafe takes a little getting used to , but I like the pros offered by this model. The carafe won't break, electronics are above the carafe so as to be undamaged by spills / overflow, it takes a cone filter, which I found surprisingly difficult to find once I actually set out looking for one. The It got very good reviews compared to the other models that matched my target criteria. Cost is reasonable for the quality you get at $65 or so bucks at Wal Mart.com. I would recommend it and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SoCal
Posted 09/15/2014
You mentioned difficulty in finding the filters. They are sold at Walmart. Just do a search the Walmart site for Melitta #4 filters. Thanks for the good review. I have been looking for a replacement coffe maker and this is it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel
08/30/2013
By ,
Phila. PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this model because of the design and the reviews. As it turned out, I missed the glass carafe. I like seeing how much coffee is left in the pot. Also, it did not keep the coffee warm. I tried using hot water to "prime" the carafe first and then dumping out the water, which helped, but I do not want to do that every morning. The coffee tasted fine. I use de-caf Melitta. It was simple to program.
I ended up returning it, thinking would get the same thing with the glass carafe. After reading the reviews about how fragile the glass is, I decided against getting it. Melitta customer service was wonderful. I spoke to someone about the glass problem. They were very helpful, but Melitta has no immediate plans to address the glass breakage problem. I ended up getting the Krups which replaces my last Krups. One reason is that it is solid black without all the bells and whistles showing. It is sleek and discreet. I prefer that in a design element.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Best coffee maker every bought

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a huge coffee drinker (all day). So I know how good coffee should taste!
The coffee maker I must admit took some time to get used to and in agreement with some of the other reviewers here.
The first few pots seemed to be a tad on the bitter side but went away after I had made several pots. I do believe the cone type filter makes for a better cup of coffee.
You will only see the water level if you use 6 cups or more which I didn't find to be an issue as I measure with my coffee mug anyway.
The Melitta Coffee maker looks so sleek on the counter top and you can feel how well it's made.
Another reviewer stated it was had to clean the carafe pot and couldn't get her hand inside to clean. Simple solution - go to the dollar store and pick up one of those dish sponges with a handle (similar to a bottle washer) and it cleans the inside of the pot easily.
My only complaint is I wish the coffee was a tad hotter after it has finished brewing.
What a great tasting cup of Jo it makes!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel
07/05/2012
By ,
indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchaser: 4-cup a day coffee drinker (3 in morn, 1 in afternoon) adding lots of cream, spouse proclaimed "coffee snob", prefer light/medium roasts brewed robust/bold.
I looked for 2 months and purchased/returned 3 other coffee pots. This Melitta was the ONLY one that did the following: made great tasting coffee (cone filter helped!), brewed hot, had a carafe that NEVER dribbled or spilled, had a thermal carafe, and was simple to fill/prepare. Cuisinart, bunn, mr. coffee were SADLY LACKING. The mr. coffee had such a strong plastic odor that it rolled your stomach to smell it. This MElitta did have a bit of that but it went completely away after running thru 5 pots of water (mr coffee was worse after 4). This Melitta has, hands down, the best carafe of all that i looked at. After over 30 pots of coffee, we have not had one single dribble of coffee! I do have to "pre-heat" carafe with hot water because i tend to drink my cups of coffee over a 2-hour period and the last cup will be "just warm" if i do not pre-heat. Oh, the "#of cup" display on side of machine only shows cups 6 on up. I just use a measuring cup anyway since i'm using 8 oz "cups" versus the coffee industry's 5-6 oz.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Nice thermal coffee pot

08/18/2012
By ,
Idaho Falls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a coffee maker (again). All my coffe pots tend to only last a couple of years. Just had a Krupps, Bunn, and Cuisinart. I love a thermal pot and this one was stylish. My coffee pots are used heavily/daily. I have had this pot for about 2 months, really like it. Very easy to clean, easy to pour, no dripping after you stop pouring. The only thing that I dont care about is that the illumination on the front of the pot is very bright at night-almost like a night light.
I have used the automatic feature and it works great. All in all, I would recomment this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

The perfect coffee machine

05/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not much to say other than The best coffee maker I've ever owned, and I've owned a dozen or so.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffee Maker

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes great coffee and stays hot for hours. Easy to read and very easy to program.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

great machine

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a replacement for my Cuisinart thermal pot which constantly leaked coffee everywhere if pot wasn't seated right. This was very reasonable and so far, a couple of months in, we are very impressed. Very easy to fill with water ubloke my old pot and coffee is great and stays pretty hot for hours. Very nice machine. We like the strength setting too which actually seems to work.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

With a little fuss it is not hard to keep clean.

05/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A 10 cup thermal carafe is just about right for my daily needs. The Melitta is not the absolute easiest to use that I've ever had, but if you do a little cleanup after each brew it is easy to stop the build-up. It looks nice and makes good coffee, without of course a hot plate that burns coffee.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

The Good, the Bad and the Why

05/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros
• Excellent lid design on carafe with push down lever to poor
• Adjustable brew strength ( 3 levels)
• Decent temperature at completion of brew cycle
Don't expect a miracle, this is not a percolator.
Cons
• Cheesy plastic housing - no design awards here
• Sloooooowwww drip - don't get in a hurry
• Odd lid design at top of unit - basket area and water tank open together
• Overpriced for quality and finish. This should be priced in the $30-$40 range
Why.....why is it so hard to manufacture a good coffee maker at a reasonable price??????
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/

10/10/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It serves the purpose that I purchased it for. No glass decanter to break. The coffee maker is attractive and easy to use. The blue light on the time/control panel is BRIGHT.
If you want to make a full pot and drink it for several hours, this maker is not for you. Coffee temp. is warm for 1.5 hours only. When you place the filter in the holder, push in on the sides to secure it. DO NOT push it down where the drip valve is. It will leak all over the counter.
I'm not a coffee connoisseur but to me it makes delicious, flavorful coffee that is not burned or oily. You just have to drink it up quickly. Enjoy!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Best coffee maker on the market

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this coffee maker about a month ago. We looked all over for a cone shaped filter maker, for some reason they are now harder to find. This machine makes the best cup of coffee you've ever had! The carafe keeps the coffee nice and hot, and will not burn the coffee. This is the best coffee maker we've ever bought. Walmart had the best price, and shipped it out right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

No Way!

02/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker because of the design. It made great coffee but the plate where the thermal pot rest began to peel after two weeks of using the machine. I called Melitta and was directed to Hamilton Beach the company who makes the coffer maker for Melitta. The service rep told me to ship the coffer maker to them the cost of shipping was $15.00 and they would send a new machine to me. I asked if I would be refunded shipping charges for a defective machine and was told no. Then she got very short with me and after talking to her manger told me they would a one time favor I had to cut the cord and send a picture and a new machine would be sent. I asked for these directions be sent to me in an email and I would do it. She said NO I already told you what to do. I returned the Melitta coffee maker back to a Walmart store.
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Hot coffee

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Cafe keeps the coffee warm longer after it has been made. Never over cooks as it sits there.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Disappointing

02/04/2014
By ,
Barrington, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was rated highly on nearly every website I checked. We've had problems with coffee makers and I decided to order this one online, something I rarely do.
First of all, it makes good coffee. It was hot and tasted good. I was encouraged. Too bad it quit working after two weeks! One morning the buttons just simply stopped working. The clock lit up, but none of the buttons worked. Not one. I tried unplugging it and plugging it in again....no luck.
Tried calling Melitta, but no luck there either.
I would not recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Morning brew

04/29/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Works good but paint peeled off hot plate!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffee Maker

12/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker is exactly what I was looking for. Makes great coffee, and the metal carafe keeps the coffee hot long after the brew is finished. I like the fact that there is no warmer that cooks the coffee long after the coffee has been brewed. Love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

5 Star coffee maker!

06/26/2013
By ,
Kansas city, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to write a review to tell anyone that is curious about this coffee maker to buy it now before they stop making it! It is excellent. For years i had a krups coffee maker and thought it made good coffee but this Melitta just knocks it out of the park. I love my new coffee maker! It's so quiet, super easy to use, makes awesome, great tasting, hot coffee, and has a pour spout that doesn't dribble coffee all over the place. I also love that as soon as it's done brewing, the machine turns itself off automatically. One extra step i don't have to think about. Something that was new to me was the stainless steel carafe. I've never used one before and was nervous that i wouldn't like it. But i can tell you that i love it and can tell a huge difference from a typical glass carafe. This one is a special sealed thermal carafe that keeps the coffee hot from within. The machine brews the coffee and it goes inside the thermal. It seals it inside to keep it fresh and hot. No hot plate means you can come back for another cup of coffee later and not get that old burned coffee taste. This morning i made coffee at 8am, came back for another cup at almost 1 in the afternoon and was shocked to find steaming hot coffee waiting for me that tasted fresh like i just made it!! So cool. This company has just got themselves a new customer! Thanks for making a quality product that actually does what it's supposed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Why aren't they all like this???

01/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a kitchen fire at my house and (most) all my co-workers at the Post Office contributed in every way possible which has since saved me to no end. One thing in particular that made a real positive difference was a used Melitta coffee maker I got. I use it every day, if not more. Thought it would be a good one for work so the coffee made didn't get old right away, or as a back up in this cold weather. Looked online for another one, found it right here!!! Make the coffee in the morning, and drink the rest of the pot when I get home after a mere 30 or 60 secs in the microwave ( I put a lot of stuff in it). Couldn't be more happy with the gift, and even happier with my new one, shiny bright inside and out. I lost 3 coffee makers in the fire, 4 coffee pots, all glass carafes. This works out well. I do use the auto-maker function once in a while, but if I make it, why not drink it then?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next