Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

This Melitta 46894 Coffee Maker features a cone filter design for better coffee extraction. With the Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, in Black/Stainless Steel, you can choose between regular, bold and robust settings for rich-tasting coffee. Made of durable stainless steel, the Melitta Thermal Coffee Maker is programmable, and it has easy-to-use buttons combined with an LCD display and an automatic shut-off feature. The Melitta 46894 Coffee Maker also features an automatic pause and serve function with a drip-free, easy thumb-activated pouring system. In addition, the Melitta 46894 Coffee Maker has a vacuum-sealed thermal carafe to keep the coffee hot, as well as an adjustable keep-warm feature to ensure your coffee stays at the desired temperature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.092 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation82%142 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee maker

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the Melitta coffee maker and delicious morning coffee. Simple to use and clean.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

very good product, cone filter

09/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can get this model with a glass or stainless steel insulated carafe. I got the option of the stainless steel carafe. The design of the base unit actually differs depending on carafe type. The heating plate that belongs to the coffee maker that comes with the stainless carafe does not heat up, as the insulated carafe keeps the heat in. It does a good job at keeping the coffee hot. Not being able to see your coffee level and brew strength through the carafe takes a little getting used to , but I like the pros offered by this model. The carafe won't break, electronics are above the carafe so as to be undamaged by spills / overflow, it takes a cone filter, which I found surprisingly difficult to find once I actually set out looking for one. The It got very good reviews compared to the other models that matched my target criteria. Cost is reasonable for the quality you get at $65 or so bucks at Wal Mart.com. I would recommend it and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SoCal
Posted 09/15/2014
You mentioned difficulty in finding the filters. They are sold at Walmart. Just do a search the Walmart site for Melitta #4 filters. Thanks for the good review. I have been looking for a replacement coffe maker and this is it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Best coffee maker every bought

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a huge coffee drinker (all day). So I know how good coffee should taste!
The coffee maker I must admit took some time to get used to and in agreement with some of the other reviewers here.
The first few pots seemed to be a tad on the bitter side but went away after I had made several pots. I do believe the cone type filter makes for a better cup of coffee.
You will only see the water level if you use 6 cups or more which I didn't find to be an issue as I measure with my coffee mug anyway.
The Melitta Coffee maker looks so sleek on the counter top and you can feel how well it's made.
Another reviewer stated it was had to clean the carafe pot and couldn't get her hand inside to clean. Simple solution - go to the dollar store and pick up one of those dish sponges with a handle (similar to a bottle washer) and it cleans the inside of the pot easily.
My only complaint is I wish the coffee was a tad hotter after it has finished brewing.
What a great tasting cup of Jo it makes!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel
08/30/2013
By ,
Phila. PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this model because of the design and the reviews. As it turned out, I missed the glass carafe. I like seeing how much coffee is left in the pot. Also, it did not keep the coffee warm. I tried using hot water to "prime" the carafe first and then dumping out the water, which helped, but I do not want to do that every morning. The coffee tasted fine. I use de-caf Melitta. It was simple to program.
I ended up returning it, thinking would get the same thing with the glass carafe. After reading the reviews about how fragile the glass is, I decided against getting it. Melitta customer service was wonderful. I spoke to someone about the glass problem. They were very helpful, but Melitta has no immediate plans to address the glass breakage problem. I ended up getting the Krups which replaces my last Krups. One reason is that it is solid black without all the bells and whistles showing. It is sleek and discreet. I prefer that in a design element.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel
07/05/2012
By ,
indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchaser: 4-cup a day coffee drinker (3 in morn, 1 in afternoon) adding lots of cream, spouse proclaimed "coffee snob", prefer light/medium roasts brewed robust/bold.
I looked for 2 months and purchased/returned 3 other coffee pots. This Melitta was the ONLY one that did the following: made great tasting coffee (cone filter helped!), brewed hot, had a carafe that NEVER dribbled or spilled, had a thermal carafe, and was simple to fill/prepare. Cuisinart, bunn, mr. coffee were SADLY LACKING. The mr. coffee had such a strong plastic odor that it rolled your stomach to smell it. This MElitta did have a bit of that but it went completely away after running thru 5 pots of water (mr coffee was worse after 4). This Melitta has, hands down, the best carafe of all that i looked at. After over 30 pots of coffee, we have not had one single dribble of coffee! I do have to "pre-heat" carafe with hot water because i tend to drink my cups of coffee over a 2-hour period and the last cup will be "just warm" if i do not pre-heat. Oh, the "#of cup" display on side of machine only shows cups 6 on up. I just use a measuring cup anyway since i'm using 8 oz "cups" versus the coffee industry's 5-6 oz.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Very satusfied

07/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoying this coffee make and the thermal carafe. I was considering a much more expensive model and took a chance on the Melitta. I am completely satisfied with my choice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Nice thermal coffee pot

08/18/2012
By ,
Idaho Falls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a coffee maker (again). All my coffe pots tend to only last a couple of years. Just had a Krupps, Bunn, and Cuisinart. I love a thermal pot and this one was stylish. My coffee pots are used heavily/daily. I have had this pot for about 2 months, really like it. Very easy to clean, easy to pour, no dripping after you stop pouring. The only thing that I dont care about is that the illumination on the front of the pot is very bright at night-almost like a night light.
I have used the automatic feature and it works great. All in all, I would recomment this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

No More Glass

06/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once the coffee is brewed, the heating element shuts off. There's no glass carafe, consequently no ugly water staining of the container. Now it's a thermal stainless steel container which keeps the coffee hot for hours. Problem - you can't see how much is remains in the container.
The quality of the coffee is very good. A nice feature is that you can adjust to the strength desired. We like bold. Hopefully this coffee maker will give me several years of good service.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee maker

07/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this to replace my De Longhi thermal carafe programable coffee maker when the display board shorted out.
First off, it is a nice looking machine, tall and narrow so while it fits easily under the cabinets, it has a small footprint (taking up nearly half the amount of space as most machines) I pull it forward to fill with water & push it back in place...easy.
I liked that the display board is on top and not on the bottom. My old one used to get bumped (turning off my timer so no coffee when I woke up) and since I keep mine near the sink, I don't have to think the display getting wet (they say that they are sealed but obviously something fried the circuitry on my De Longhi)
The display is clear and bright...easy to read. It's simple to change the start time and to adjust the strength of the brew.
The caraf keeps the coffee hot for hours and the lever pour is so great! I hated twisting the lid on the De Longhi to pour and it never seemed to go back onto the pot correctly so more than once I overflowed coffee onto my counter because the lid was up, just a smidge, and that would hit the pause to pour lever so all the water would get stuck in the basket but wouldn't go into the carafe.
All in all, I wish I had bought this coffee maker sooner instead of putting up with the more expensive De Longhi for so long! (The only good thing about that machine was that it came with the gold permanent filter so I kept that for this machine but they are easily bought for under $10 anyway)
Buy it, you won't regret it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/

10/10/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It serves the purpose that I purchased it for. No glass decanter to break. The coffee maker is attractive and easy to use. The blue light on the time/control panel is BRIGHT.
If you want to make a full pot and drink it for several hours, this maker is not for you. Coffee temp. is warm for 1.5 hours only. When you place the filter in the holder, push in on the sides to secure it. DO NOT push it down where the drip valve is. It will leak all over the counter.
I'm not a coffee connoisseur but to me it makes delicious, flavorful coffee that is not burned or oily. You just have to drink it up quickly. Enjoy!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

No Way!

02/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker because of the design. It made great coffee but the plate where the thermal pot rest began to peel after two weeks of using the machine. I called Melitta and was directed to Hamilton Beach the company who makes the coffer maker for Melitta. The service rep told me to ship the coffer maker to them the cost of shipping was $15.00 and they would send a new machine to me. I asked if I would be refunded shipping charges for a defective machine and was told no. Then she got very short with me and after talking to her manger told me they would a one time favor I had to cut the cord and send a picture and a new machine would be sent. I asked for these directions be sent to me in an email and I would do it. She said NO I already told you what to do. I returned the Melitta coffee maker back to a Walmart store.
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Disappointing

02/04/2014
By ,
Barrington, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was rated highly on nearly every website I checked. We've had problems with coffee makers and I decided to order this one online, something I rarely do.
First of all, it makes good coffee. It was hot and tasted good. I was encouraged. Too bad it quit working after two weeks! One morning the buttons just simply stopped working. The clock lit up, but none of the buttons worked. Not one. I tried unplugging it and plugging it in again....no luck.
Tried calling Melitta, but no luck there either.
I would not recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Best coffee maker on the market

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this coffee maker about a month ago. We looked all over for a cone shaped filter maker, for some reason they are now harder to find. This machine makes the best cup of coffee you've ever had! The carafe keeps the coffee nice and hot, and will not burn the coffee. This is the best coffee maker we've ever bought. Walmart had the best price, and shipped it out right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

The Good, the Bad and the Why

05/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros
• Excellent lid design on carafe with push down lever to poor
• Adjustable brew strength ( 3 levels)
• Decent temperature at completion of brew cycle
Don't expect a miracle, this is not a percolator.
Cons
• Cheesy plastic housing - no design awards here
• Sloooooowwww drip - don't get in a hurry
• Odd lid design at top of unit - basket area and water tank open together
• Overpriced for quality and finish. This should be priced in the $30-$40 range
Why.....why is it so hard to manufacture a good coffee maker at a reasonable price??????
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffee Maker

12/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker is exactly what I was looking for. Makes great coffee, and the metal carafe keeps the coffee hot long after the brew is finished. I like the fact that there is no warmer that cooks the coffee long after the coffee has been brewed. Love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

5 Star coffee maker!

06/26/2013
By ,
Kansas city, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to write a review to tell anyone that is curious about this coffee maker to buy it now before they stop making it! It is excellent. For years i had a krups coffee maker and thought it made good coffee but this Melitta just knocks it out of the park. I love my new coffee maker! It's so quiet, super easy to use, makes awesome, great tasting, hot coffee, and has a pour spout that doesn't dribble coffee all over the place. I also love that as soon as it's done brewing, the machine turns itself off automatically. One extra step i don't have to think about. Something that was new to me was the stainless steel carafe. I've never used one before and was nervous that i wouldn't like it. But i can tell you that i love it and can tell a huge difference from a typical glass carafe. This one is a special sealed thermal carafe that keeps the coffee hot from within. The machine brews the coffee and it goes inside the thermal. It seals it inside to keep it fresh and hot. No hot plate means you can come back for another cup of coffee later and not get that old burned coffee taste. This morning i made coffee at 8am, came back for another cup at almost 1 in the afternoon and was shocked to find steaming hot coffee waiting for me that tasted fresh like i just made it!! So cool. This company has just got themselves a new customer! Thanks for making a quality product that actually does what it's supposed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee maker, ..... don't hesitate, get it!

08/30/2013
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thermal is the way to go, if you love your coffee! This coffee maker is excellent! Keeps coffee hot for hours, I am a bit surprised. I was waiting for a "price cut", but I am glad I didn't wait any longer, it might have been discontinued. Coffee tastes awesome from this machine. The ONLY thing I don't like is the size, it's big and tall (and not the most attractive thing in your kitchen). Hope you have enough counter space and height, because this honker takes up some room! I feel like they could have made it smaller and more streamlined in size, but I'm just lovin' the coffee. Overall, I'm not complaining, it's a small price to pay for a delicious cup of Joe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Melitta 10 Cup 46894 Thermal Pot

06/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This coffee maker works well. Thermal pot keeps coffee hot for the hour I used it. Pours well. Hot plate gets hot, not sure why since pus uses thermos pot. Coffee taste great. Takes about 8 minutes to brew a pot. Easy to use. Filter basket is not flat, but I just set it in my sink drain hole to fill; keeps any spills in the sink too. Would be nice if the water fill gauge was on both sides, but if you fill with the pot, doesn't really matter. Very pleased with purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Loved it for 4 months now not working

06/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased it 4 months ago and now not working. The lights work but won't brew. So sad because I really like the style, simple features, keeps the coffee hot in the stainless steel carafe for a couple hours. So disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melitta 10-Cup Thermal Coffee Maker, 46894, Black/Stainless Steel

Perfect machine!

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love everything about this coffeemaker. Nice looking design, keeps coffee hot enough w/o reheating for 3 solid hours. Like the different strength brew options. I like the bright blue light behind the clock- serves as a great night light! A++
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 164 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next