Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

This Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker gives you plenty of options for making your morning (or afternoon) cup of coffee. There are regular, bold and robust settings on this Black Stainless Steel Coffee Maker, allowing you to decide the level of flavor. The keep warm, pause and automatic serve features on the Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker let you make coffee on your schedule. An auto shutoff feature helps the Black Stainless Steel Coffee Maker save power. Included with the Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker are cone filters that allow improved flavor extraction so that your coffee has a delightfully full taste. The glass carafe on the Melitta 46893 coffee maker is dishwasher safe. The coffee maker is made of durable stainless steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.53 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation91%150 out of 164reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 196 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great tasting coffee! Very affordable price tag!

02/01/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did some research to try to find a machine within the 50 dollar price range.
I found this melitta coffee maker come up all around the net with high reviews so I looked into it.
I trust the melitta name because I used to work as a barista and we always used the cone filters and pour over filter they have.
This coffee maker has the cone shaped filter, which is designed to get a better brew from the coffee, but the grind has to be set for cone filter fine not coarse. The coffee needs to be about two settings below espresso.
I have noticed the taste is way better when I properly add the correct amount of water and coffee.
It comes with a few brown paper cone filters along with a coupon for a new box of filters:) I didn't see the coupon until after I bought a box of filters :(
I have the glass carafe but I don't leave any coffee in it too long to cook on the plate, I just make what I need. The plate does have the different warming levels, but I just set mine to low and empty it out into my cup.
The coffee does get cold kinda fast if i'm using a regular ceramic cup, but it stays hot when I put it in my double sealed aluminum travel cup.
The setting I use the most is regular brew strength, the bold and robust setting takes a little longer because it lets the coffee grinds soak up more water. It takes more time in between water spurts.
The pause and pour feature works just fine.
The program feature is very easy to set up. I set the clock up then hold the program button to set the start time and your done. But I noticed that the little green light needs to be on, because if its not you wont wake up to coffee time:(
The LCD has a blue glow that is kinda bright and I use it as a night light for the kitchen :) Open the carafe lid, and place it back into the plate and the lid covers up the LCD so its not all bright and in your face. But you will have a flood if you program it and forget to put the lid back down.
Its all plastic on the insides, but it does not have that plastic smell i've read about in reviews for other machines. I did notice little dust and debris type things on the inside water compartment and where the filter goes so I gave it a clean cycle when I first got it. I didn't have white vinegar with me so I just used a whole pot of regular water and I set it for robust with no paper filter.
The back of the machine has two holes toward the top which will drain the water if you put in too much so watch out.
My unit is too new to really rate the durability, but I guess if it breaks down on me too soon I will update this review.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Value, Easy to use

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had drip coffee makers in our home for over thirty years, KRUPS, BRAUN, Cuisinart, and Mr. Coffee. I would give high marks to both the KRUPS and BRAUN brands of makers but not so much to the other two brands mentioned for various reasons including poor design.
The Melitta coffee maker has incorporated several design features that are extremely good. The ability of one to be able to pour coffee from the carafe without it dribbling all over the counter is huge. The ability to fill with water is excellent since they have incorporated a cover for the coffee grounds so that you do not end up with water on the grounds that you have set up for delayed brewing.
The value that Walmart brings to the table on this product was fantastic as well, I found this coffee maker at other locations for 30 to 50 percent more than I purchased it for at Walmart. The Melitta coffee maker was not available locally here in the Northwest so having it delivered to our local Walmart store for pickup was also an adder.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

You will never have a better cup of JAVA!

10/22/2012
By ,
NY,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE my new Melitta coffee maker (was a wee bit expensive) but SOOOOO worth it. I have owed several coffee makers but none like this. You can see the quality in the workmanship. It is built like a small tank. Strong material,stainless steel is sharp looking. Love the red line around the carafe. Looks sharp on my counter and more importantly it makes the best cup of JAVA ever! I have been deprived by coffee makers that CAN NOT make a steaming hot cup like MELITTA can.
Be warned-this maker makes the hottest cup of coffee you will ever experience. But I LOVE THAT about it. I added a permanent life time stainless steel filter so no more paper filters-EVER.
Final input-if you love coffee like i do and want to have a strong well built sharp looking maker that you desire to display on your counter with pride: then buy this maker. Will never buy any other brand then Melitta when it comes to my java.....wake up people and smell the coffee! LOL......enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Good deal

01/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this because of the reasonable price and great ratings. The coffee maker works flawlessly and is attractive. I know others have complained about the coffee not being hot enough, but I don't have that problem, the coffee is plenty hot and brews very well.
The one thing I find frustrating is the VERY short cord on this unit. I have had several others and never saw a wire this short. It's less than 12 inches long! Unless you have an outlet right where you keep the coffee maker, and I mean RIGHT THERE, you won't be able to keep it where you like. If you unplug it, the clock needs to be reset.
The other issue that bothers me is that the display is EXTREMELY bright. It's actually painful to look at it! I am not joking when I say that I removed my night light from my kitchen because the display on this unit lights my whole kitchen. I would love to see a dimmer setting because it is ridiculously bright!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

A perfect pot every day

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent. Better than $ 100 machines that I've had.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Smart choice!

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1. You have to get a cone-shaped filter coffee maker. Check.
2. Multiple brew strength settings makes the most of the coffee. (Regular, Bold, Robust, is a really nice feature.
3. Hot plate settings allows you to not "cook" your coffee too much by turning down the temp of it. The more you cook it, the more bitter it gets. Drink it, don't cook it! :)
4. Carafe shape, quality of material, and functionality are spot-on. No mess.
5. Size and over-all quality is quite good. No complaints here.
Negative: The LED display blue light is too bright, but that helps you find it when half awake in the a.m. Hardly worthy of a complaint!
We returned 3 coffee makers before deciding to keep this one!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

FANTASTIC Coffeemaker

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffeemaker is like having a coffee shop @ home. I'm delighted with this coffeemaker! The cone shaped filter uses far less coffee, to make a pot than a basket shaped filter, and with much better flavor. It has 3 brew strength settings, and 3 settings for the heating element. What more could you ask for?
1. Uses "less" coffee grounds
2. Has 3 brew strength settings
3. Has 3 settings for temperature
4. Makes an incredibly quick and delicious pot of coffee
a "5 star" rating isn't really accurate, I'd give it a "perfect 10" because I don't see anyway that you could improve on this coffeemaker. I'm looking forward to many years of great coffee with this model. Wish I'd have discovered it sooner!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffee maker, beats may $150 and up units

12/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything was good about this purchase. Timely delivery, good communication, Most of all it makes a really fine cup of coffee. I have used a favorite pot for years that finally wore out. I am very choosy about my coffee. Grind my own beans every day. Use filtered water.
Several good features; no profusion of steam when brewing, my past unit could not be used under the cabinetry due to this. It is quiet when brewing, no pops and whistles. Good control of base temperature several "keep warm" selections. Simple and well thought out control panel, ease of use is great. Best "taste feature" is the 3 strength settings. May buy another for my upstairs guest room. Also good is the ability to fill from either Right or Left side. I am a lefty. I am an engineer, I think Melitta did some thorough User Testing.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Overall a good investment

11/20/2012
By ,
Deltona Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using a Kuerig, but they didn't last, so I switched to this Melitta machine. It's taking me awhile to adjust to the time it takes to brew coffee this way. The coffee has been coming out really strong, and I'm trying to find the right measurement to make it less strong. It's got brew settings, which are regular to bold. If the regular setting is this strong, I don't want to know what the bold setting is like. But having it too strong is much better than having the coffee come out weak.
I like the machine, it's just the adjustment from the single serve Kuerig that is making me give a good rather than excellent. I think it's an excellent value.
I don't normally get the warrenty extensions, but since I had so many problems with the Kuerigs, I think for a coffee maker it's a good idea. Not expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Best coffee maker I have ever bought

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sort of hesitant to buy this coffee maker, because I have never heard of this brand, but after I brewed the first pot of coffee, I changed my mind. Best cup of coffee
I have tasted in a long time and it was plenty hot, the way I like it.
I would recommend this one to anyone that wants a good hot cup of coffee.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Not what expected

01/14/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had it for just two weeks so far. Based on previous reviews, I was expecting
better quality for the machine itself. Don't get me wrong, makes coffee just
fine so far, but the unit sweats too much and every time you open the lid to take
the filter out or even when you pure water in the container; it drips down to the
warming plate. Not to mention that the clock and display gets all moist when
brewing. All indicating, would not last very long with all the moist going through
the led panel and more importantly the warming plate. let's just say, not very impressed so far.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Really nice coffee maker

01/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The melitta 12 cup coffee maker is the best maker I have ever owned. The coffee tastes very good and the brew strength selection and heating plate selection really work. However, the stronger the brew strength setting the slower the coffee making time. I do recommend this coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Makes a good cup of coffee

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good little coffee maker. It makes a good cup of coffee and is easy to use. If you are looking for an alternative to a cheap Mr. Coffee, this is a good choice.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Tremendous Value!

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy I made this purchase! I was very close to buying a Keurig but I really think this machine is much better. It is of sturdy construction, and I love the stainless steel because it matches my appliances. I have had absolutely no problems with the machine, and I even bought a Melitta grinder so I can have freshly ground coffee. What a perfect combination!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Happy coffee!

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a coffee maker that is like the Bruan which is no longer available. Had been using a Cuisinart and hated the alarm and the difficult way to add coffee grounds. This is as close as I have found! I'm very happy with this one! Just wish the hot plate would stay on for more than 2 hours. The no drip pour is an outstanding feature, as well as the adjustable brewing strength.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Good prodcut so far!

01/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After an intense research between price vs appearance and quality, this was our choice and we don't regreat at all!
It makes a good coffee, it is steady and easy to use. Also it look very nice with the rest of the appliances.
I would recommended this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffe Everytime!

11/20/2013
By ,
DeBary, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying another coffee maker and finding it didn't meet expectations we decided on trying the Melitta 12 cup model and it is FANTASTIC! Coffee is consistently hot, has great flavor and machine is very easy to use. You can actually pour a cup of coffee and the carafe is designed so well it doesn't spill. It also uses a cone filter which I have found helps make better tasting coffee. If you like great coffee try this coffee maker and you will not be disappointed. The price, the styling and the great coffee make it a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great, Easy to Use Coffee Maker

05/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this coffee maker. Have been looking for a replacement to the daily Starbucks iced coffee habit for some time. This maker, along with LaVazza Gran Selezione coffee, is a pretty good substitute for SBUX.
I enjoy the three brew settings quite a bit, but tend to just use the Regular brew setting to bring out the flavor of the coffee. However, whenever a jolt of caffeine is needed, the Bold and Robust options are appreciated. And the differences in flavor are pleasantly noticeable.
The maker is a bit taller than anticipated and the blue LED back lighting is quite bright at night. But I don't care - the coffee produced is stupendous.
Was a bit upset it wasn't made in Italy....I also use the Melitta filters with the machine as they seem to fit the best relative to the bulk ones from Costco.
Service from Wal-Mart was also excellent - machine was available at my local store two days before the anticipated delivery date.
All I need now is a pumpkin scone substitute and will be free from SBUX for good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Looks nice, works great!

08/18/2012
By ,
Winfield, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With its cone type filter, this coffee maker can make small amounts of coffee that tast great. I also like its programable brew strength and keep warm temperature features.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee. Great price.

08/29/2014
By ,
Elgin, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was replacing a well used free Gevalia maker & wanted something better but reasonable. I bought the 10-cup thermos style of this model 1st. Liked the coffee but the double metal wall thermos design sucked the heat out of the coffee unless you pre-warmed it by filling it with hot water. I figure in the winter it would be a bigger problem since I keep a cold house. Replaced it with the glass carafe, heated base model. Love it now. The robust setting lets me make 5 cups vs 4 cups before with the same amount of coffee, a 25% savings on coffee. The coffee is hot & stays hot. No plastic smell or taste when new. Very attractive design. Excellent quality for the price. Only nitpick is the water level fill window on the side starts at about 5 cups for those of us that fill the water directly from a larger water jug. It would be great if Melitta extended the window down to 2 cups.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next