Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

This Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker gives you plenty of options for making your morning (or afternoon) cup of coffee. There are regular, bold and robust settings on this Black Stainless Steel Coffee Maker, allowing you to decide the level of flavor. The keep warm, pause and automatic serve features on the Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker let you make coffee on your schedule. An auto shutoff feature helps the Black Stainless Steel Coffee Maker save power. Included with the Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker are cone filters that allow improved flavor extraction so that your coffee has a delightfully full taste. The glass carafe on the Melitta 46893 coffee maker is dishwasher safe. The coffee maker is made of durable stainless steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(198 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation91%181 out of 198reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 203 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great tasting coffee! Very affordable price tag!

02/01/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did some research to try to find a machine within the 50 dollar price range.
I found this melitta coffee maker come up all around the net with high reviews so I looked into it.
I trust the melitta name because I used to work as a barista and we always used the cone filters and pour over filter they have.
This coffee maker has the cone shaped filter, which is designed to get a better brew from the coffee, but the grind has to be set for cone filter fine not coarse. The coffee needs to be about two settings below espresso.
I have noticed the taste is way better when I properly add the correct amount of water and coffee.
It comes with a few brown paper cone filters along with a coupon for a new box of filters:) I didn't see the coupon until after I bought a box of filters :(
I have the glass carafe but I don't leave any coffee in it too long to cook on the plate, I just make what I need. The plate does have the different warming levels, but I just set mine to low and empty it out into my cup.
The coffee does get cold kinda fast if i'm using a regular ceramic cup, but it stays hot when I put it in my double sealed aluminum travel cup.
The setting I use the most is regular brew strength, the bold and robust setting takes a little longer because it lets the coffee grinds soak up more water. It takes more time in between water spurts.
The pause and pour feature works just fine.
The program feature is very easy to set up. I set the clock up then hold the program button to set the start time and your done. But I noticed that the little green light needs to be on, because if its not you wont wake up to coffee time:(
The LCD has a blue glow that is kinda bright and I use it as a night light for the kitchen :) Open the carafe lid, and place it back into the plate and the lid covers up the LCD so its not all bright and in your face. But you will have a flood if you program it and forget to put the lid back down.
Its all plastic on the insides, but it does not have that plastic smell i've read about in reviews for other machines. I did notice little dust and debris type things on the inside water compartment and where the filter goes so I gave it a clean cycle when I first got it. I didn't have white vinegar with me so I just used a whole pot of regular water and I set it for robust with no paper filter.
The back of the machine has two holes toward the top which will drain the water if you put in too much so watch out.
My unit is too new to really rate the durability, but I guess if it breaks down on me too soon I will update this review.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

You will never have a better cup of JAVA!

10/22/2012
By ,
NY,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE my new Melitta coffee maker (was a wee bit expensive) but SOOOOO worth it. I have owed several coffee makers but none like this. You can see the quality in the workmanship. It is built like a small tank. Strong material,stainless steel is sharp looking. Love the red line around the carafe. Looks sharp on my counter and more importantly it makes the best cup of JAVA ever! I have been deprived by coffee makers that CAN NOT make a steaming hot cup like MELITTA can.
Be warned-this maker makes the hottest cup of coffee you will ever experience. But I LOVE THAT about it. I added a permanent life time stainless steel filter so no more paper filters-EVER.
Final input-if you love coffee like i do and want to have a strong well built sharp looking maker that you desire to display on your counter with pride: then buy this maker. Will never buy any other brand then Melitta when it comes to my java.....wake up people and smell the coffee! LOL......enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Best Cup of Coffe AND Best Price

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing 4 well regarded coffee makers we got 2 of these, just in case it ever breaks. Out last one which was similar and no longer in production lasted 8 years with daily use and dishwasher cleaning. The range of price was this unit at $31.++ here at Walmart online to $99 at Macy's for a $129 Cuisinart with a $64 new tech Black and Decker and the stainless carafe model of this Melita. That model which makes 10 not 12 cups was often overflowing by the brewer going faster than the opening in the carafe could take it, however its coffee tasted good. The B&D never made a cup that tasted like the Starbucks coffee we use is supposed to taste... based on store brewed same blend as our standard. Same was true of the Cuisinart also flat and not tasty. This model not only brews a near match to store brewed Starbucks it also was the lowest price. Walmart just raised its price ten dollars to $41, which is about where other online retailers price it. barista
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Value, Easy to use

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had drip coffee makers in our home for over thirty years, KRUPS, BRAUN, Cuisinart, and Mr. Coffee. I would give high marks to both the KRUPS and BRAUN brands of makers but not so much to the other two brands mentioned for various reasons including poor design.
The Melitta coffee maker has incorporated several design features that are extremely good. The ability of one to be able to pour coffee from the carafe without it dribbling all over the counter is huge. The ability to fill with water is excellent since they have incorporated a cover for the coffee grounds so that you do not end up with water on the grounds that you have set up for delayed brewing.
The value that Walmart brings to the table on this product was fantastic as well, I found this coffee maker at other locations for 30 to 50 percent more than I purchased it for at Walmart. The Melitta coffee maker was not available locally here in the Northwest so having it delivered to our local Walmart store for pickup was also an adder.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Good deal

01/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this because of the reasonable price and great ratings. The coffee maker works flawlessly and is attractive. I know others have complained about the coffee not being hot enough, but I don't have that problem, the coffee is plenty hot and brews very well.
The one thing I find frustrating is the VERY short cord on this unit. I have had several others and never saw a wire this short. It's less than 12 inches long! Unless you have an outlet right where you keep the coffee maker, and I mean RIGHT THERE, you won't be able to keep it where you like. If you unplug it, the clock needs to be reset.
The other issue that bothers me is that the display is EXTREMELY bright. It's actually painful to look at it! I am not joking when I say that I removed my night light from my kitchen because the display on this unit lights my whole kitchen. I would love to see a dimmer setting because it is ridiculously bright!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

no noise!

03/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for a simple coffee maker with no obnoxious beeping. This one works great. I like that I can adjust the strength and temperature of the coffee and that it uses the cone filters...A+!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Top Plastic bends when heated. Cheap!

02/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst coffee pot I have ever owned. The top plastic bends when the steam escapes the top lid. Not good at all.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Overall a good investment

11/20/2012
By ,
Deltona Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using a Kuerig, but they didn't last, so I switched to this Melitta machine. It's taking me awhile to adjust to the time it takes to brew coffee this way. The coffee has been coming out really strong, and I'm trying to find the right measurement to make it less strong. It's got brew settings, which are regular to bold. If the regular setting is this strong, I don't want to know what the bold setting is like. But having it too strong is much better than having the coffee come out weak.
I like the machine, it's just the adjustment from the single serve Kuerig that is making me give a good rather than excellent. I think it's an excellent value.
I don't normally get the warrenty extensions, but since I had so many problems with the Kuerigs, I think for a coffee maker it's a good idea. Not expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Can not be any better!

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1- It is for all type of coffee drinkers and makes 3 different types - Bold, Standard and Robust - and you still ca adjust them accordingly.
2- You have the option to keep the plate and the coffee hot, warm, etc.
3- It is pretty, reliable, solid and space saving.
4- Considering all the beautiful features it has to offer to other brands of coffee machines - you name it !- that have none of these features, and are lot more expensive, the Melitta coffee maker is a very good bargain
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

LOVE this SILENT coffee maker!

02/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a few of the under $50 coffee makers (Black and decker, mr coffee, etc), and I MUST have programmable to set the night before. Lots of them have this super annoying loud beep at the end of cycle and when they turn off the warm function and it used to wake up my baby!!!. Not this one! No beeps, it's almost silent when brewing. Also, it has a cool thing on the lid of the carafe so it doesnt spill when you are pouring the coffee. Great cup of coffee. YOU CANT BEAT THE $30 price tag for this. I ordered on walmart.com and it was here quickly and functions perfectly. Its a little taller than my last one but it still fits with plenty of room under my cabinets, and looks great with my kitchen. Highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Pot for the Price

02/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i did not want to spend )100$ on a coffee pot to get a good cup of coffee! However i had another Melitta Pot that had this same button to change the brew strength and I do NOT recommend using that button- it got stuck on BOLD or ROBUST & i couldnt change or fix it -and actually bought this pot to replace it thinking it did NOT have that button to pick brew strengths but it does, but i wont be using that I will just adjust the amount and type of coffee I use to get the strength of coffee I want- i also bought the 2 yr extended warranty plan that Walmart offers for a replacement if anything happens for $5! It is a great pot, other that that buttom I dont trust- its easy to clean, easy to pour, and makes 12 cups of coffee which i wanted.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Breath of fresh air!!!!!!!!

12/24/2013
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After going through my fourth Kreurig machine (cleaned all a few times) of which I have tried most models, I gave up!!! I Purchased the Melitta 12-cup and LOVE It! I can not only adjust the strength, but also the temperature of the bottom heater. I may not have the variety of coffee flavors that I did with the K-cups, but I have a machine that works great and isn't costing me .60 per cup wondering if I am going to get a full cup or not! For the price, you can't go wrong and I am very impressed with not only the lit up display, but also the look of the machine itself. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Looks nice, works great!

08/18/2012
By ,
Winfield, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With its cone type filter, this coffee maker can make small amounts of coffee that tast great. I also like its programable brew strength and keep warm temperature features.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

A perfect pot every day

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent. Better than $ 100 machines that I've had.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Good deal for the price

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am generally happy with this coffeemaker for the price. I like the shape of the pot, and I have had no problem with leakage around the red band as others have had. Unlike many pots, this one pours with accuracy and no spillage. I have no use for the clock as I never set up my coffee in advance but only start it after grinding fresh beans. I do like that you can choose between regular and bold brewing strength.
I am not happy that it will not accept a permanent gold filter. It is necessary to use paper filters (which I knew in advance) - which must be folded over the edges of the holder to prevent collapse of the filter during brewing. I don't like paying the high prices for good coffee beans just to have to filter it through paper which alters the flavor. And do not believe the statement that you can get a cup of coffee before the entire brewing is complete - only attempt this if you are ready for a mess from spillage. If fact, there is spillage when pouring the first cup unless you wait several minutes after brewing is complete. Every coffeemaker I have had has had problems or drawbacks. All things considered, I am happier with this coffeemaker than others which have cost twice as much or more. I do recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee, great machine

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Melitta coffee maker before and loved it. In fact it still works after 15 years but I wanted a larger pot. I went from 8 cups to 12. This maker has a strength setting and it works very well. There is a noticeable difference between regular and robust. The pot has a good design as it pours without any dripping and is not only comfortable to hold but the handle grip fits your hand very well. It's easy to clean and to fill. Great product. I had gotten a more expensive Hamilton Beach maker just 2 years ago and it stopped putting the water thru. The circuitry that turned on that part of the machine has already gone bad. My other Melitta had the thermal pot instead of the glass carafe. You can get it either way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Well engineered

10/26/2012
By ,
rural New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a coffee maker that does everything it is supposed to, but the best part is that this is the only one I have ever found that does not drip when you pour a cup of coffee !! Hurray !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffe Everytime!

11/20/2013
By ,
DeBary, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying another coffee maker and finding it didn't meet expectations we decided on trying the Melitta 12 cup model and it is FANTASTIC! Coffee is consistently hot, has great flavor and machine is very easy to use. You can actually pour a cup of coffee and the carafe is designed so well it doesn't spill. It also uses a cone filter which I have found helps make better tasting coffee. If you like great coffee try this coffee maker and you will not be disappointed. The price, the styling and the great coffee make it a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great, Easy to Use Coffee Maker

05/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this coffee maker. Have been looking for a replacement to the daily Starbucks iced coffee habit for some time. This maker, along with LaVazza Gran Selezione coffee, is a pretty good substitute for SBUX.
I enjoy the three brew settings quite a bit, but tend to just use the Regular brew setting to bring out the flavor of the coffee. However, whenever a jolt of caffeine is needed, the Bold and Robust options are appreciated. And the differences in flavor are pleasantly noticeable.
The maker is a bit taller than anticipated and the blue LED back lighting is quite bright at night. But I don't care - the coffee produced is stupendous.
Was a bit upset it wasn't made in Italy....I also use the Melitta filters with the machine as they seem to fit the best relative to the bulk ones from Costco.
Service from Wal-Mart was also excellent - machine was available at my local store two days before the anticipated delivery date.
All I need now is a pumpkin scone substitute and will be free from SBUX for good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Very nice

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not what I thought I ordered(my mistake), but I'm happy with the purchase. It does what it says it does and I'm very happy with the taste of my morning coffee. Only issue is that the glass carafe fogs up while it's filling up. But, it goes away after a few minutes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 192 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next