Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

This Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker gives you plenty of options for making your morning (or afternoon) cup of coffee. There are regular, bold and robust settings on this Black Stainless Steel Coffee Maker, allowing you to decide the level of flavor. The keep warm, pause and automatic serve features on the Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker let you make coffee on your schedule. An auto shutoff feature helps the Black Stainless Steel Coffee Maker save power. Included with the Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker are cone filters that allow improved flavor extraction so that your coffee has a delightfully full taste. The glass carafe on the Melitta 46893 coffee maker is dishwasher safe. The coffee maker is made of durable stainless steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
40
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation91%192 out of 210reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 204 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
40
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great tasting coffee! Very affordable price tag!

02/01/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did some research to try to find a machine within the 50 dollar price range.
I found this melitta coffee maker come up all around the net with high reviews so I looked into it.
I trust the melitta name because I used to work as a barista and we always used the cone filters and pour over filter they have.
This coffee maker has the cone shaped filter, which is designed to get a better brew from the coffee, but the grind has to be set for cone filter fine not coarse. The coffee needs to be about two settings below espresso.
I have noticed the taste is way better when I properly add the correct amount of water and coffee.
It comes with a few brown paper cone filters along with a coupon for a new box of filters:) I didn't see the coupon until after I bought a box of filters :(
I have the glass carafe but I don't leave any coffee in it too long to cook on the plate, I just make what I need. The plate does have the different warming levels, but I just set mine to low and empty it out into my cup.
The coffee does get cold kinda fast if i'm using a regular ceramic cup, but it stays hot when I put it in my double sealed aluminum travel cup.
The setting I use the most is regular brew strength, the bold and robust setting takes a little longer because it lets the coffee grinds soak up more water. It takes more time in between water spurts.
The pause and pour feature works just fine.
The program feature is very easy to set up. I set the clock up then hold the program button to set the start time and your done. But I noticed that the little green light needs to be on, because if its not you wont wake up to coffee time:(
The LCD has a blue glow that is kinda bright and I use it as a night light for the kitchen :) Open the carafe lid, and place it back into the plate and the lid covers up the LCD so its not all bright and in your face. But you will have a flood if you program it and forget to put the lid back down.
Its all plastic on the insides, but it does not have that plastic smell i've read about in reviews for other machines. I did notice little dust and debris type things on the inside water compartment and where the filter goes so I gave it a clean cycle when I first got it. I didn't have white vinegar with me so I just used a whole pot of regular water and I set it for robust with no paper filter.
The back of the machine has two holes toward the top which will drain the water if you put in too much so watch out.
My unit is too new to really rate the durability, but I guess if it breaks down on me too soon I will update this review.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

You will never have a better cup of JAVA!

10/22/2012
By ,
NY,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE my new Melitta coffee maker (was a wee bit expensive) but SOOOOO worth it. I have owed several coffee makers but none like this. You can see the quality in the workmanship. It is built like a small tank. Strong material,stainless steel is sharp looking. Love the red line around the carafe. Looks sharp on my counter and more importantly it makes the best cup of JAVA ever! I have been deprived by coffee makers that CAN NOT make a steaming hot cup like MELITTA can.
Be warned-this maker makes the hottest cup of coffee you will ever experience. But I LOVE THAT about it. I added a permanent life time stainless steel filter so no more paper filters-EVER.
Final input-if you love coffee like i do and want to have a strong well built sharp looking maker that you desire to display on your counter with pride: then buy this maker. Will never buy any other brand then Melitta when it comes to my java.....wake up people and smell the coffee! LOL......enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Value, Easy to use

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had drip coffee makers in our home for over thirty years, KRUPS, BRAUN, Cuisinart, and Mr. Coffee. I would give high marks to both the KRUPS and BRAUN brands of makers but not so much to the other two brands mentioned for various reasons including poor design.
The Melitta coffee maker has incorporated several design features that are extremely good. The ability of one to be able to pour coffee from the carafe without it dribbling all over the counter is huge. The ability to fill with water is excellent since they have incorporated a cover for the coffee grounds so that you do not end up with water on the grounds that you have set up for delayed brewing.
The value that Walmart brings to the table on this product was fantastic as well, I found this coffee maker at other locations for 30 to 50 percent more than I purchased it for at Walmart. The Melitta coffee maker was not available locally here in the Northwest so having it delivered to our local Walmart store for pickup was also an adder.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Best Cup of Coffe AND Best Price

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing 4 well regarded coffee makers we got 2 of these, just in case it ever breaks. Out last one which was similar and no longer in production lasted 8 years with daily use and dishwasher cleaning. The range of price was this unit at $31.++ here at Walmart online to $99 at Macy's for a $129 Cuisinart with a $64 new tech Black and Decker and the stainless carafe model of this Melita. That model which makes 10 not 12 cups was often overflowing by the brewer going faster than the opening in the carafe could take it, however its coffee tasted good. The B&D never made a cup that tasted like the Starbucks coffee we use is supposed to taste... based on store brewed same blend as our standard. Same was true of the Cuisinart also flat and not tasty. This model not only brews a near match to store brewed Starbucks it also was the lowest price. Walmart just raised its price ten dollars to $41, which is about where other online retailers price it. barista
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT SOONER

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been using the Melitta filters for some time now on another brand of coffee maker. That coffee pot finally died and decided to try the Melitta coffee maker and was very happy with the performance that we are getting from it (makes very good coffee) If anyone is looking for a new coffee maker I would recommend this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Makes good coffee, but some weird manufacturing.

05/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this coffee maker, but the filter basket is a pain to try and put back in after emptying the grounds (or washing). It has to be aligned just right and still you might need to put a lot of extra pressure on it to get it to sink down into the compartment. The other weird thing is that in order to open the filter compartment it also opens the water compartment. Not a biggie, but just takes getting used to.
Love how it pours ... no dribbles!
Finally, the 'keep warm' only stays on for two hours and when I'm working in the morning sometimes I come in to get a cup and it's turned itself off = luke warm coffee.
But, overall, it operates well and makes good coffee. An excellent coffee maker for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Overall a good investment

11/20/2012
By ,
Deltona Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using a Kuerig, but they didn't last, so I switched to this Melitta machine. It's taking me awhile to adjust to the time it takes to brew coffee this way. The coffee has been coming out really strong, and I'm trying to find the right measurement to make it less strong. It's got brew settings, which are regular to bold. If the regular setting is this strong, I don't want to know what the bold setting is like. But having it too strong is much better than having the coffee come out weak.
I like the machine, it's just the adjustment from the single serve Kuerig that is making me give a good rather than excellent. I think it's an excellent value.
I don't normally get the warrenty extensions, but since I had so many problems with the Kuerigs, I think for a coffee maker it's a good idea. Not expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great product!

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works great for me. I love the shut-off feature, of course. Coffee tastes good and stays hot for as long as you need with the "stay hot" button.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Excellent coffee maker for the money!

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This maker was only $31 when I purchased it about a month ago. I was well worth the money. I love the setting for the strength and setting for the heating plate. I'm pretty picky about coffee pots, but I have no complaints about this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Melitta coffee maker is OK

05/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works fine. Needs - obviously, but I didn't think about it before - Melitta filters (cones). It has a strong blue light which I don't like, so I have to unplug it. Otherwise it is a good looking coffee-maker that makes good coffee with a choice of coffee strengths, which is a nice option.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffee

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes wonderful coffee, with a number of settings to get just what you want for your taste. Easy to clean, spill proof not drop of leaking. Much better than any other coffee maker then I have used, including some very high priced brands.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Looks nice, works great!

08/18/2012
By ,
Winfield, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With its cone type filter, this coffee maker can make small amounts of coffee that tast great. I also like its programable brew strength and keep warm temperature features.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Very nice machine

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this coffee maker...it makes really good hot coffee. The secret here is to. grind your beans, measure accurately and use cold, filtered water.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Breath of fresh air!!!!!!!!

12/24/2013
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After going through my fourth Kreurig machine (cleaned all a few times) of which I have tried most models, I gave up!!! I Purchased the Melitta 12-cup and LOVE It! I can not only adjust the strength, but also the temperature of the bottom heater. I may not have the variety of coffee flavors that I did with the K-cups, but I have a machine that works great and isn't costing me .60 per cup wondering if I am going to get a full cup or not! For the price, you can't go wrong and I am very impressed with not only the lit up display, but also the look of the machine itself. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

The robust flavor from the Malita is great.

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every cent I paid for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Product

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality for a good price that makes a good coffee..couldn't be happier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Finally - good coffee!

04/21/2014
By ,
Edgewood, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After trying a Cuisinart & a Mr Coffee (both ends of pricing), I finally got this Melitta which makes 12 cups and cost $42. It has 3 coffee strengths, and 3 heat settings for the warmer, both of which are excellent features. It also is space saving, doesn't take up a lot of counterspace. The brushed stainless is attractive & matches my other appliances. The only problem is that the window which shows the water level starts with 6, and I am used to making myself what measures 3 cups. The very bottom of the window would be 4 cups, and while that gives me too much, it's the only problem I found. I guess they are used to people having the single-cup makers too, but I see no point in that so I'm happy enough with the quality of the coffee it makes, and the low profile design. Reviews I read said this lasts years, and that's a plus as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

GREAT COFFEE MAKER

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great coffee maker. A little bit bigger than I would want but other than that, I am very happy .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Well engineered

10/26/2012
By ,
rural New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a coffee maker that does everything it is supposed to, but the best part is that this is the only one I have ever found that does not drip when you pour a cup of coffee !! Hurray !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffe Everytime!

11/20/2013
By ,
DeBary, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying another coffee maker and finding it didn't meet expectations we decided on trying the Melitta 12 cup model and it is FANTASTIC! Coffee is consistently hot, has great flavor and machine is very easy to use. You can actually pour a cup of coffee and the carafe is designed so well it doesn't spill. It also uses a cone filter which I have found helps make better tasting coffee. If you like great coffee try this coffee maker and you will not be disappointed. The price, the styling and the great coffee make it a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 204 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next