Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Hamilton Beach Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

This Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker gives you plenty of options for making your morning (or afternoon) cup of coffee. There are regular, bold and robust settings on this Black Stainless Steel Coffee Maker, allowing you to decide the level of flavor. The keep warm, pause and automatic serve features on the Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker let you make coffee on your schedule. An auto shutoff feature helps the Black Stainless Steel Coffee Maker save power. Included with the Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker are cone filters that allow improved flavor extraction so that your coffee has a delightfully full taste. The glass carafe on the Melitta 46893 coffee maker is dishwasher safe. The coffee maker is made of durable stainless steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.532 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
25
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation91%129 out of 141reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 196 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
25
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great tasting coffee! Very affordable price tag!

02/01/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did some research to try to find a machine within the 50 dollar price range.
I found this melitta coffee maker come up all around the net with high reviews so I looked into it.
I trust the melitta name because I used to work as a barista and we always used the cone filters and pour over filter they have.
This coffee maker has the cone shaped filter, which is designed to get a better brew from the coffee, but the grind has to be set for cone filter fine not coarse. The coffee needs to be about two settings below espresso.
I have noticed the taste is way better when I properly add the correct amount of water and coffee.
It comes with a few brown paper cone filters along with a coupon for a new box of filters:) I didn't see the coupon until after I bought a box of filters :(
I have the glass carafe but I don't leave any coffee in it too long to cook on the plate, I just make what I need. The plate does have the different warming levels, but I just set mine to low and empty it out into my cup.
The coffee does get cold kinda fast if i'm using a regular ceramic cup, but it stays hot when I put it in my double sealed aluminum travel cup.
The setting I use the most is regular brew strength, the bold and robust setting takes a little longer because it lets the coffee grinds soak up more water. It takes more time in between water spurts.
The pause and pour feature works just fine.
The program feature is very easy to set up. I set the clock up then hold the program button to set the start time and your done. But I noticed that the little green light needs to be on, because if its not you wont wake up to coffee time:(
The LCD has a blue glow that is kinda bright and I use it as a night light for the kitchen :) Open the carafe lid, and place it back into the plate and the lid covers up the LCD so its not all bright and in your face. But you will have a flood if you program it and forget to put the lid back down.
Its all plastic on the insides, but it does not have that plastic smell i've read about in reviews for other machines. I did notice little dust and debris type things on the inside water compartment and where the filter goes so I gave it a clean cycle when I first got it. I didn't have white vinegar with me so I just used a whole pot of regular water and I set it for robust with no paper filter.
The back of the machine has two holes toward the top which will drain the water if you put in too much so watch out.
My unit is too new to really rate the durability, but I guess if it breaks down on me too soon I will update this review.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

You will never have a better cup of JAVA!

10/22/2012
By ,
NY,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE my new Melitta coffee maker (was a wee bit expensive) but SOOOOO worth it. I have owed several coffee makers but none like this. You can see the quality in the workmanship. It is built like a small tank. Strong material,stainless steel is sharp looking. Love the red line around the carafe. Looks sharp on my counter and more importantly it makes the best cup of JAVA ever! I have been deprived by coffee makers that CAN NOT make a steaming hot cup like MELITTA can.
Be warned-this maker makes the hottest cup of coffee you will ever experience. But I LOVE THAT about it. I added a permanent life time stainless steel filter so no more paper filters-EVER.
Final input-if you love coffee like i do and want to have a strong well built sharp looking maker that you desire to display on your counter with pride: then buy this maker. Will never buy any other brand then Melitta when it comes to my java.....wake up people and smell the coffee! LOL......enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee. Great price.

08/29/2014
By ,
Elgin, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was replacing a well used free Gevalia maker & wanted something better but reasonable. I bought the 10-cup thermos style of this model 1st. Liked the coffee but the double metal wall thermos design sucked the heat out of the coffee unless you pre-warmed it by filling it with hot water. I figure in the winter it would be a bigger problem since I keep a cold house. Replaced it with the glass carafe, heated base model. Love it now. The robust setting lets me make 5 cups vs 4 cups before with the same amount of coffee, a 25% savings on coffee. The coffee is hot & stays hot. No plastic smell or taste when new. Very attractive design. Excellent quality for the price. Only nitpick is the water level fill window on the side starts at about 5 cups for those of us that fill the water directly from a larger water jug. It would be great if Melitta extended the window down to 2 cups.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Overall a good investment

11/20/2012
By ,
Deltona Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using a Kuerig, but they didn't last, so I switched to this Melitta machine. It's taking me awhile to adjust to the time it takes to brew coffee this way. The coffee has been coming out really strong, and I'm trying to find the right measurement to make it less strong. It's got brew settings, which are regular to bold. If the regular setting is this strong, I don't want to know what the bold setting is like. But having it too strong is much better than having the coffee come out weak.
I like the machine, it's just the adjustment from the single serve Kuerig that is making me give a good rather than excellent. I think it's an excellent value.
I don't normally get the warrenty extensions, but since I had so many problems with the Kuerigs, I think for a coffee maker it's a good idea. Not expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great, Easy to Use Coffee Maker

05/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this coffee maker. Have been looking for a replacement to the daily Starbucks iced coffee habit for some time. This maker, along with LaVazza Gran Selezione coffee, is a pretty good substitute for SBUX.
I enjoy the three brew settings quite a bit, but tend to just use the Regular brew setting to bring out the flavor of the coffee. However, whenever a jolt of caffeine is needed, the Bold and Robust options are appreciated. And the differences in flavor are pleasantly noticeable.
The maker is a bit taller than anticipated and the blue LED back lighting is quite bright at night. But I don't care - the coffee produced is stupendous.
Was a bit upset it wasn't made in Italy....I also use the Melitta filters with the machine as they seem to fit the best relative to the bulk ones from Costco.
Service from Wal-Mart was also excellent - machine was available at my local store two days before the anticipated delivery date.
All I need now is a pumpkin scone substitute and will be free from SBUX for good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

In hot water!

11/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It seemed to do the job for about eight months, then all of a sudden.., it started taking longer to brew coffee. I've used cleaner regularly but now after pouring in cold water in the reservoir.,it becomes hot. Piece of junk. Not worth the extra money.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Nice Pot

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brews quite well and quickly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffe Everytime!

11/20/2013
By ,
DeBary, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying another coffee maker and finding it didn't meet expectations we decided on trying the Melitta 12 cup model and it is FANTASTIC! Coffee is consistently hot, has great flavor and machine is very easy to use. You can actually pour a cup of coffee and the carafe is designed so well it doesn't spill. It also uses a cone filter which I have found helps make better tasting coffee. If you like great coffee try this coffee maker and you will not be disappointed. The price, the styling and the great coffee make it a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Looks nice, works great!

08/18/2012
By ,
Winfield, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With its cone type filter, this coffee maker can make small amounts of coffee that tast great. I also like its programable brew strength and keep warm temperature features.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

design malfunction has not been corrected

08/15/2014
By ,
Morehead City NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee pot in mid-April 2014, then the weather turned warm and coffee took a back seat in the mornings. The carafe leaked from the red ring no matter how slow I poured and no matter how much I tried to make certain it was only coming out the spout. Not just a drip or two, but a large puddle - it would ruin a table cloth immediately. Since I only made about a pot every 3-4 weeks it took me a while to realize it was not me but a design flaw. I called Melitta twice and was told they would replace the carafe if I paid s & h, but they could not guarantee it would not leak. I said no thanks and tried to return it to WalMart who refused it because it had been 90 days and 2 weeks! So no return there!! I have read reviews here & on Bed Bath & Beyond and every site has someone that had a leaky pot and was not satisfied. Don't spend your money on this pot until the design has been improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Breath of fresh air!!!!!!!!

12/24/2013
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After going through my fourth Kreurig machine (cleaned all a few times) of which I have tried most models, I gave up!!! I Purchased the Melitta 12-cup and LOVE It! I can not only adjust the strength, but also the temperature of the bottom heater. I may not have the variety of coffee flavors that I did with the K-cups, but I have a machine that works great and isn't costing me .60 per cup wondering if I am going to get a full cup or not! For the price, you can't go wrong and I am very impressed with not only the lit up display, but also the look of the machine itself. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

No beeps & Nice brew

09/15/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice coffee maker. It is nice and sleek. It makes a great pot of coffee and best is no beeping when it is finished brewing! The pot does not drip when filling the reservoir. It is programmable. It is slightly taller than some makers, but we have no problem with it fitting under our cabinets. We are very pleased with the Melitta coffee maker. Again, very happy that it does not beep when finished brewing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Finally - good coffee!

04/21/2014
By ,
Edgewood, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After trying a Cuisinart & a Mr Coffee (both ends of pricing), I finally got this Melitta which makes 12 cups and cost $42. It has 3 coffee strengths, and 3 heat settings for the warmer, both of which are excellent features. It also is space saving, doesn't take up a lot of counterspace. The brushed stainless is attractive & matches my other appliances. The only problem is that the window which shows the water level starts with 6, and I am used to making myself what measures 3 cups. The very bottom of the window would be 4 cups, and while that gives me too much, it's the only problem I found. I guess they are used to people having the single-cup makers too, but I see no point in that so I'm happy enough with the quality of the coffee it makes, and the low profile design. Reviews I read said this lasts years, and that's a plus as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Well engineered

10/26/2012
By ,
rural New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a coffee maker that does everything it is supposed to, but the best part is that this is the only one I have ever found that does not drip when you pour a cup of coffee !! Hurray !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee, great features

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffee maker, and for the price, it can't be beat. I researched a lot of brands and found this to most closely meet my needs. All of the features are easy to use and it eliminated many of the annoying things about my previous coffee maker. Setting the time is easy; it doesn't spill when you pour a cup. And it even has some nice extra features: variable temperatures for the warming plate and variable brew strength. Best of all, it makes a nice cup of coffee. And I won't feel bad if it only lasts a couple of years. Other brands I considered were twice as expensive and not as convenient to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, A Good Buy

12/23/2013
By ,
Berea, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After much internet searching, it was difficult to find a traditional coffee maker that consistently rated high. Finally after researching other web sites as well, we decided on the Melitta 12 cup coffee maker because of the cone shaped filter. The price was reasonable, the reviews generally positive and we liked the looks of the coffee maker. As someone from another website wisely pointed out, finding a coffee maker with consistently great reviews is impossible because manufacturers overall don't seem to making products to last for years; the most a consumer can get out of a coffee maker is usually 3 years tops, sadly. So we have gambled on the Melitta and so far we are pleased. However, my husband's main complaint is that the burner stays hot even after turning off the power button. He has plumbed the manuel but found no solution.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great coffee and easy to use

04/04/2014
By ,
Rochester Hills, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker is simple to set up and use right out of the box. I use it every day and even save money on coffee by using the strongest brew setting. For the low price and features on this machine, I rate this coffee maker my highest rating. Also, Wal-Mart did a great job in packing and delivering this product to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Excellent Coffee Maker Choice

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this coffeemaker, especially the 'little extras' it has. Like the 3 SETTINGS (Regular/Bold/Robust) for coffee. And especially the 3 SETTINGS on the warmer (High/Medium/Low)! What a great feature! When I get down to a 1/3 or 1/4 pot -- I switch from 'Medium' to 'Low'. It keeps the coffee hot - WITHOUT COOKING IT MORE! I think that's the feature I love best about it. Really gives you 'control'. It's very 'user-friendly', looks great on the countertop. And I really like the 'soft blue glow' the light in the clock gives off. Gives just a hint of 'warm ambiance' to the kitchen, (kind of like the 'warm ambiance' of a candle burning) and eliminates the need for a 'nightlight'.
I had looked at a lot of other coffeemakers -- and this one seemed to be the best value for the money. And it is! It makes a great cup of coffee, you'll love the features, it's a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Very nice Coffee Maker

12/31/2012
By ,
BrnBrg, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Melitta 46893 works better than advertised, super price for the value,
very hot coffee, can use less ground coffee when using the Robust setting
or keep the coffee amount the same and produce very nice strong coffee.
This unit doesn't burn the coffee, and pulls out all the flavor it can from standard coffee, & brings higher end coffee to the maximum flavor, the heating element is why! 190 to 210 degrees which is why all flavor is produced.
The Bad news is the coffee POT is made of glass with a plastic lid, and pour spout with anti spill lip, it works only when holding the coffee pot at about a 40 degree angle, The problems happens when the coffee pot is held at 180 degrees to pour the last cup or so, the plastic and glass connection is not sealed very well, creating a very small drip along this interface between plastic and glass, BUT seems to go away when the pot is hot, most likely due to expansion of the two materials, yes, I think this is a design flaw, minor in nature, but needs to be addressed by the manufacture of the coffee pot.
I fixed the problem with a little amount of food safe clear silicone caulk, cleaned the pot very well, made sure the area was very dry, then placed a very small amount along the plastic to glass seam, smoothed the area, let dry over night, used it in the morning, no problems with the coffee pot dripping ever again.
yes, no one should have to do this to a new unit, but such is life,,, it seems many design flaws are in every product, these days, Our last coffee maker was twice the cost and a name brand unit, had more problems & only lasted 14 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melitta 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 46893, Black/Stainless Steel

Great Coffee Maker

12/16/2013
By ,
Reno NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Coffee Maker. I have had a Mr Coffee & Hamilton Beach and both of them only last 6 months. This coffee maker is very easy to use and makes great Coffee!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next