Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Sauder Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Average Customer Rating:
4.33 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%84 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Exactly what I was looking for

12/08/2012
By ,
Thief River Falls MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a basic bookcase that would be heavy duty and handle quite a bit of weight. This is an excellent product. I have purchased Sauder items in the past and they have proven to be high quality. I would definitely recommend two people for putting this item together as there are numerous times when an extra set of hands is definitely needed. The trim pieces add just a little extra detail that make it look great. The instructions are fairly helpful but I do think the pieces should be labeled a little better (some of them had stickers labelling them and others you just had to figure out by matching them to the image in the instruction booklet.). I also appreciate that this item is made in the US. Overall an item I would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Excellent Bargain

12/08/2013
By ,
St Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today I am buying my 12th bookcase of this brand, and they are all filled with heavy books. They go together in less than an hour without difficulty. They are sturdy enough that we will be using 2 as free-standing room dividers. They are attractive and have the appearance of much more expensive units. The only problem we have had was a couple of missing parts on one unit, but a quick call to the manufacturer got the parts to us right away....no complaints on Sauder customer service. I have had other Sauder furniture and have never been disappointed and neither will you.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Looks great, easy to assemble

05/18/2013
By ,
Armonk, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this via Walmart.com and got free shipping, so that was great! Local Walmart stores didn't have a bookcase in the color that I wanted, so I was glad to find this online. I received this about 5 days after ordering it. I was happy about the shipping time. Less than a week when shipping is free? Target and Ikea were charging almost as much for shipping as it did to buy the bookcase.
This bookcase only needs a Phillips Head screwdriver and a hammer to assemble (mine was a ratcheting screwdriver, which probably helps make assembly a little bit easier). It took me about an hour to do, but I was going at a leisurely pace. I probably could have done it in half an hour if I had been more focused.
The bookcase actually looks really nice, too. It has a lot of room on the shelves, and it seems like it's a very sturdy design. If I needed another bookcase for any reason, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this same bookcase from Walmart again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Attractive, Versatile Bookcase

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these and put them side-by-side. Once assembled, they look really nice. Very pleased. The package weighs a whole lot. Wow! It took me 2 3/4 hrs to put the 2 bookcases together. The instructions are good, but pay close attention to where the holes are on each piece, and be mindful/careful that this unit is made of Compressed Wood. As others have said, the back panels are very thin and it is a bit of a pain to hammer in the dozens of tiny nails to secure the panels. Also, you will notice the 3 seam folds on the back panel after you complete the assembly. Although once I filled these units with books and decorative objects, I could barely notice. The shelves & unit are quite sturdy. Sauder makes a nice product. It looks more expensive than what you pay for it– no question.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

GOOD DEAL, GREAT PRICE

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I made a site to store purchase. My husband and I picked it up, brought it home and I put it together in about two hours. I only needed a phillips screwdriver and a hammer. It was easy to assemble and it is a nice quality of wood. It looks great and feel sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Great Quality-Easy assembly

01/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am well pleased with this bookcase. It arrived earlier than I expected, and every single piece was there. The Sauder company has included an assembly instruction manual that is so easy to understand. Each piece was labeled and the instructions told exactly where and when to assemble each piece. The tools required were a small hammer and a #2 Phillips head screwdriver. I am almost 73, and it took me approximately 3 hours from start to completion. And obviously, I went slower than normal. I put the whole thing together on my living room floor on the carpet where I would be more comfortable. It is a well crafted piece of furniture and is a pleasant addition to my living room.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

nicer than expected

01/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this bookcase was the piece that finished the look in my living room. The only problem was that the shelf fronts didn't meet up with the sides of the bookcase so we had to improvise a little to make the gap less noticible. Otherwise great. Sturdy,too.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
03/03/2013
By ,
Slatington, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice product that is well worth the money I paid for it. I got two units and they assembled pretty easily and I am not the handiest person in the world. I would recommend a helper just to hold things in place in the early going. I would have rated it excellent overall, but it had a few minor issues. The one face molding was slightly damaged BEFORE it was removed from the box, but I used a little wood glue and it is fine, although I have it in a very dark room so funiture blemishes are not going to be an issue. Assembly was fine, but why they have you overlap the backing pieces is beyond me other than they would have had to make a thicker stable shelf to accomodate them butting together. The only other minor caveat is that large binders and books will just fit on the shelves as they are not overly deep. I knew that when I checked the dimensions, but for those who want a little extra shelf depth to display small items this will be a problem. I would definitely buy this product again. In fact, I may need to purchase an additional unit once I see how the other two fit my present needs. I would recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

mark the parts

01/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it was heavy as anything in the package, hard to get in the house. I wish that i had taken the time to lay out the framing pieces, i put the wrong size on the top part and it was hard getting it off!. even with that mistake, it only took two hours to put it up by myself and i'm a 60 yr old woman! the hardest part was putting all those heavy cookbooks on display
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Great book-case for the money

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It went together easily and in the amount of time I expected.
I think the quality is commensurate with the cost. If you want a much more solid book-case that you will be passing down generation after generation then you should probably look elsewhere. So keep your expectations reasonable.
I've purchased similar book-cases before, and I do agree that they may not be as sturdy as you would like. So this time I tried a little experiment. I had some Gorilla Glue on hand as I put the pieces together. Following the directions for the glue, keep a wet paper towel nearby and moisten the surfaces you are going to join. Be very careful not to put too much glue as it expands and will come out between the seams. Use your judgement as to where you apply the glue, but generally you should put it between two surfaces that will meet.
Now that it's dried for several days, it's easy to feel that there is very little play between surfaces. Of course, it's a permanent glue, but who was planning on taking this thing apart?
Anyway, just an idea to try if you want the book-case to hold together more solidly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Nice

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice unit, very easy to put together
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

For the money

01/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy assembly, got to store quickly, not bad looking, solid.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Book Case

01/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Looks good, wirh competive price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

This bookcase turnout to be the worst

12/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bookcase has two separate parts; top three shelves and bottom tow shelves that are connected together. It takes substantial time to put all parts together. The back of the bookcase is nothing more than two separate folded hard-paper. The process-wood pieces do not have strength and the nails could easily break them. I have several other bookcases. This bookcase turnout to be the worst one I purchased.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
08/15/2012
By ,
Shawnee, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase arrived in excellent condition. It is easy to assemble. All the holes are predrilled and every part is exactly the right fit. The quality is definitely worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Great looking piece but cheap material.

03/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed. Looked like I had finally found what I was looking for at a reasonable price. Had bought for son's room to store books and toys. We have put desks, file cabinets and chest of drawers together with no problems. Unfortunately when we tried to screw in the bottom part to the upper portion, the particleboard ripped away from the hole and was not repairable. The top sides front portion could have been sanded a little more for the outside pieces to slide a little easier. Walmart local store was great and issued credit upon immediate return. Definitely would not recommend.
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
08/30/2012
By ,
Covington, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bookcase itself is pertty much what I expected. I've had Sauder before. It is easy to put togather. It is relatively inexpensive and looks good. It took longer to get than I expected. Once Walmart e-mailed me that it had been shipped it was about two weeks before it came in. It is usually a lot quicker but I've noticed lately that Walmart is getting independent and less customer friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Great bookcase to store many books!

10/19/2014
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleased at how nice the bookcase looks, though I will say that one piece was scratched right out of the box. I will say however, that Sauder is a very good company, and as soon as we sent the email about it, we received a replacement part! I will say that it does take some time to put together, but it is worth it with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
10/26/2012
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bookcase is so easy to put together. It looks great and was better than I expected.
The reason I gave it 4 stars was, we ordered 2 of them to put them side to side and the shelving covers do not line up with one another. One has a lip on the shelf and the other does not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Nice looking bookcase

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these bookcases a couple of years ago at Big Lots, and needed a third one. Unfortunately, they no longer offered this style bookcase, so after much searching, I finally found another one online at Walmart. It was significantly more expensive than the ones I purchased from Big Lots. In fact, I paid more for this one than I paid for BOTH at Big Lots. However, I was willing to pay the price in order to get a matching bookcase.
The bookcase arrived in a well packaged box and all the pieces were in excellent condition. I'm very glad I didn't pay extra to have the shipping expidited, as I ordered it on a Wednesday, and it arrived two days later on Friday, even though the website said free shipping could take 7 - 10 days!
My husband assembled it and said it took longer than he expected (about two hours,) but he didn't have any problems completing it by himself. We were short one piece of plastic that holds up the shelf, but that can be resolved the next time I'm at the hardware store. Other than that, it looks good and seems pretty sturdy. Overall, I am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next