Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Sauder Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Average Customer Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation90%62 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Exactly what I was looking for

12/08/2012
By ,
Thief River Falls MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a basic bookcase that would be heavy duty and handle quite a bit of weight. This is an excellent product. I have purchased Sauder items in the past and they have proven to be high quality. I would definitely recommend two people for putting this item together as there are numerous times when an extra set of hands is definitely needed. The trim pieces add just a little extra detail that make it look great. The instructions are fairly helpful but I do think the pieces should be labeled a little better (some of them had stickers labelling them and others you just had to figure out by matching them to the image in the instruction booklet.). I also appreciate that this item is made in the US. Overall an item I would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Excellent Bargain

12/08/2013
By ,
St Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today I am buying my 12th bookcase of this brand, and they are all filled with heavy books. They go together in less than an hour without difficulty. They are sturdy enough that we will be using 2 as free-standing room dividers. They are attractive and have the appearance of much more expensive units. The only problem we have had was a couple of missing parts on one unit, but a quick call to the manufacturer got the parts to us right away....no complaints on Sauder customer service. I have had other Sauder furniture and have never been disappointed and neither will you.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Looks great, easy to assemble

05/18/2013
By ,
Armonk, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this via Walmart.com and got free shipping, so that was great! Local Walmart stores didn't have a bookcase in the color that I wanted, so I was glad to find this online. I received this about 5 days after ordering it. I was happy about the shipping time. Less than a week when shipping is free? Target and Ikea were charging almost as much for shipping as it did to buy the bookcase.
This bookcase only needs a Phillips Head screwdriver and a hammer to assemble (mine was a ratcheting screwdriver, which probably helps make assembly a little bit easier). It took me about an hour to do, but I was going at a leisurely pace. I probably could have done it in half an hour if I had been more focused.
The bookcase actually looks really nice, too. It has a lot of room on the shelves, and it seems like it's a very sturdy design. If I needed another bookcase for any reason, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this same bookcase from Walmart again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Great looking piece but cheap material.

03/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed. Looked like I had finally found what I was looking for at a reasonable price. Had bought for son's room to store books and toys. We have put desks, file cabinets and chest of drawers together with no problems. Unfortunately when we tried to screw in the bottom part to the upper portion, the particleboard ripped away from the hole and was not repairable. The top sides front portion could have been sanded a little more for the outside pieces to slide a little easier. Walmart local store was great and issued credit upon immediate return. Definitely would not recommend.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Great Craftmanship. Easy to put together.

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
03/03/2013
By ,
Slatington, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice product that is well worth the money I paid for it. I got two units and they assembled pretty easily and I am not the handiest person in the world. I would recommend a helper just to hold things in place in the early going. I would have rated it excellent overall, but it had a few minor issues. The one face molding was slightly damaged BEFORE it was removed from the box, but I used a little wood glue and it is fine, although I have it in a very dark room so funiture blemishes are not going to be an issue. Assembly was fine, but why they have you overlap the backing pieces is beyond me other than they would have had to make a thicker stable shelf to accomodate them butting together. The only other minor caveat is that large binders and books will just fit on the shelves as they are not overly deep. I knew that when I checked the dimensions, but for those who want a little extra shelf depth to display small items this will be a problem. I would definitely buy this product again. In fact, I may need to purchase an additional unit once I see how the other two fit my present needs. I would recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Beware buyer - looks good, BUT CHEAPLY MADE

03/25/2014
By ,
Steubenville, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought five of these based on past experience and reviews. None of these that I read mention that these do not come in a tall box, you have build these in sections and then put them together. You put together the top two thirds and then add on the bottom third. It is not one side, but two parts that must be held together by ONLY 4 cam fastener. Until you get it completely finished, it is not very stable or strong. After I put together my first one I decided to add a few extra braces for my own peace of mind. That said, It was fairly easy to put together, that is, if you have a drill and am a contortionist to work upside down. The basic unit does go together quite well but when trying to put the base plate on, you have to work upside down or ignore the instructions and wait until you turn it on its front. Even then there are three fasteners that do not have pre-drilled holes, so be prepared to use a drill. You also need to use a drill to fasten that facing plate for the permanent shelf, which again you do upside down or ignore the instruction and wait until you ALL SO CAREFULLY turn it over. One more negative, the back also does not have set nail hole unlike every other unit I have ever put together. AND FINALLY THIS IS THE CHEAPEST FIBERBOARD THAT I HAVE WORKED WITH. IT IS LIKE SCREWING INTO BUTTER IN PLACES.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Great product

03/01/2014
By ,
Shelbyville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought a Sauder television stand a few years back and was impressed with the quality and look of the product and how well it has held up over the years. I decided to buy two of these bookcases to place on each side on my entertainment stand for DVDs and such. It was not that hard to put together and everything came like it was supposed to and when it was put together, they looked great. They almost look like real wood and have a very upscale look to them. I had them shipped to my local store and they took them out to my car for me and were very nice which shocked me considered the store I went to typically has horrible customer service. I would definitely recommend these bookcases and any Sauder brand of furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
08/15/2012
By ,
Shawnee, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase arrived in excellent condition. It is easy to assemble. All the holes are predrilled and every part is exactly the right fit. The quality is definitely worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Awesome bookcases!

03/22/2014
By ,
Ashland, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely well designed and manufactured! I was very impressed with how quickly and easily they came together and how sturdy they are. I bought 3 of these and may get a couple more. I have lots of books! You get your money's worth on this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Sturdy Bookcase and looks great

03/16/2014
By ,
Canton, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, looks great and very sturdy - using for books
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
08/30/2012
By ,
Covington, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bookcase itself is pertty much what I expected. I've had Sauder before. It is easy to put togather. It is relatively inexpensive and looks good. It took longer to get than I expected. Once Walmart e-mailed me that it had been shipped it was about two weeks before it came in. It is usually a lot quicker but I've noticed lately that Walmart is getting independent and less customer friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Classic bookcase - loads of room for pictures, etc

03/10/2014
By ,
Essexville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembled the bookcase in about 1 hour and it looks great! Bought to replace a similar bookcase that was a little less wide. This one looks beautiful in the family room and holds tons of family photos! A great buy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Excellent quality, elegant appearance

10/20/2013
By ,
Bluegrass, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is better than expected. Not only looks sturdy and solid, but feels like it. The center shelf is permanent and helps solidify the whole piece. It really is elegant and looks much more expensive than it is. Feels solid and holds a lot of heavy books. Best deal around after shopping for weeks. Not just the low cost, but the biggest plus is how it upgrades the whole room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Good buy

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice bookcase. I would buy it again. It looks nice and rich. It's a great value!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
10/26/2012
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bookcase is so easy to put together. It looks great and was better than I expected.
The reason I gave it 4 stars was, we ordered 2 of them to put them side to side and the shelving covers do not line up with one another. One has a lip on the shelf and the other does not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak
07/13/2012
By ,
LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bookshelf looks very nice once set up. I ordered two, and will be ordering a third today. Handsome and moderately sturdy for the low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Nice book case AFTER assembly

10/31/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions for assembly were 15 pages long. There were hundreds of parts if you include all the screws, nails, etc.
The directions were very clear and easy to follow BUT it still takes quite a bit of time and patience to assemble this book case.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

Love it!

02/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beautiful and sturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder 5-Shelf Bookcase, Abbey Oak

BE CAREFUL!

03/18/2013
By ,
ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this book case because I heard that Sauder is a bit more high quality as far as walmart furnture is concerned. I received it only 2 days after ordering it, which was great, and had my room mate help me put it together. After we double checked that everything was in order we began to sit it up and it IMPLODED! The entire bottom half collapsed so violently that it ruined the pieces so badly that they were no longer usable. Frustrated, I called the customer help line, but it was past their business hours, so I emailed them. The next day I got antsy and called again. They happily said they'd replace the parts, but I'd have to pay an additional $20 for shipping and handling! I got the replacement parts today and managed to get the thing standing, but it's wobbly and the whole thing was a bother.
I bought this product because I thought it was a good deal, but it's ended up costing me about 140 dollars. For that much, you might as well buy a really nice bookcase. It looks nice though... I guess my advice is just to be exceptionally careful when putting it together because it IS fragile, and made of brittle plywood.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next