Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ematic Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

The Ematic Tablet PC, EXP8 is an Android 4.0 Tablet that features a 9.7" tablet display offering a larger view in a more familiar and compact form. The Ematic Tablet PC's large, extra responsive touchscreen allows you to easily write an e-mail, browse the Internet or play the latest games on this compact 9.7" tablet. This Android 4.0 tablet (Ice Cream Sandwich) is optimized for use with an improved, more intuitive interface and faster web browsing. HDMI mirroring allows you to connect the Ematic Tablet PC to your TV and play games, browse the Internet or watch 1080p HD movies on your HDTV.
Average Customer Rating:
2.565 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation42%36 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

The best "dumb" purchade i have made

10/05/2012
By ,
San Fransisco ( the sunset area)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When i ordered this my friend told me i was wasting my money and that i should just save up for something better. I am one of those people who is adventurous and will try anything once. Anywho i received one of these and was really blown away. it works beautifully. I mean its not the top of line product by any means, but for the price i believe this is the best thing i have come across. Its sad how name brands always get the good rating when these cheaper models have some kick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Winter Haven
Ematic Tablet EXP8 (NOT A GOOD PURCHASE!!!!!)
Posted 11/19/2012
Just wanted to inform the consumers of this faulty product. My daughter purchased from Walmart a couple of months now and have sent back to Ematic for replacement because app store was not working nor her camera. Plus it was freezing up all the time and running very slow. So, we sent back for replacement and received another defective product. Camera does not work at all. Mind you we had to spend 15 dollars for shipping and after speaking with three representatives the second time, last one including the manager, I was told to send it back again at my own cost for them to replace once more. Customer service also was not good because except for J.P. When we spoke on Friday, nothing was done about our complaints after speaking with a lady. There was no note in the account of our call. I found out that some of the customer service is out-sourced so you might find that you will not get proper service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Decent Unit but no Marketplace

11/03/2012
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I returned the unit because of of a piece of plastic right under the screen. Did get another one and for my needs is works great. Does tend to get slow if you start to push its limits. Wasn't expecting laptop performance. Basically I use it as a glorified TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 3 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Do not buy if you like to use Google apps.

10/25/2012
By ,
Los Angeles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit I received is using a free version of Android that is not licensed by Google. If you like using Google apps then you will be out of luck until this company does the right thing. Their own app store did not even work. Even if it did they offer like 7000 apps instead of 400 to 500,000. Their customer service did send me a link to a third party app supplier that I had never heard of. So that was nice. Google does offer the info that tells you which brands are or are not supported by them. It is too bad because the style is nice and the colors are great. I never can understand why a company sells themselves short. Also it is not widescreen. It is 4 X 3 much like an old TV. Your pictures will look bad with new programming. I did return the one I bought and replaced it with a different brand. We live and learn.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Review 4 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

A worthy tablet

10/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son got me this as a gift cause i am terrible with computers. Like i usually end up clicking the mouse all over the place. I once tried to download adobe flash player and ended up with four different antiviruses. My son wanted to get me something simple that i could use to check my email and skype with him. I recieved this tablet about two weeks ago as a gift. It really made things a lot easier. Its very easy to use. the keyboard works great and it comes with a lot of stuff i can use already installed. it works well and i now can skype my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas
skype
Posted 11/18/2012
how did you get skype onto your tablet? i cant figure it out and i havet found any help on how to do that. i just want to skype with my kids.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Would not recommend this tablet

11/03/2012
By ,
Northridge, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this yesterday, and I returned it today! although it looks stylish and weights very good compared to others but: First, the battery last for 3 hours only (although I fully charged it for 6 hours before the first use as required), The speaker is of low quality and in wrong position (distortion at full volume), does not support Google play (unless you over-write its configuration which is a bit headache and not recommended), So, you will stick with its supported browser which is extremely useless! the provided browser is slow in all meanings (reminds me of the dialup connection) off course forget about the cameras they are low quality.
For the price I paid I now it will not be like the expensive ones but did not expect it to be bad as this
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Good value.

08/30/2012
By ,
Yorktown, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For basic tablet use, this unit is good.
Screen size is very good, but display of streaming video was a little shaky.
I don't know whether a faster processor is needed, or whether more memory would help.
For use at home (where portability is less of an issue and internet speed is better),
this 10" tablet is fine, but a smaller tablet (7" or 8") would be easier to carry around
away from home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Review 7 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)
11/14/2012
By ,
baxley,ga.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the tablet is very touchy and you have to touch two sometimes three times to get somewhere.i would not recommend this to my friends.sorry, i am just being honest.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Review 8 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Great For teens!

08/29/2012
By ,
FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is great for teenagers. It allows you to do your school work ansd find information online. Internet connection is a little slow sometimes and keyboard freezes at times, but overall, it's great! I really enjoy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 9 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)
11/13/2012
By ,
Tarboro nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This device was exceptionally great for the price HOWEVER....all u can do is browse the Internet. Internet speed is great but thats about it. There's no App Store and upon calling the company about walking me threw downloading apps I was advised that he App Store had crashed. I was emailed links to sites where I could go to possibly get a few of the apps I was looking for. Definitely returning this tablet 1st thing in the morning
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Review 10 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Was easy to set up.

11/04/2012
By ,
Denver, Co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed that I could not use Google Play but the Soc.io Mall they recommended had an impressive amount of apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 11 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)
11/13/2012
By ,
Charlotte nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product better than the 10" screen Ematic and the response is so much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 12 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Not a good product, poorly made

10/16/2012
By ,
Washington DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tablet did not function as well as they said. It was hard to access the App Store to get the app and two min after opening it up it freezes and said some of the build in app wasn't working. So in the end I return it for a refund and decide to pay a little more for an better model
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Review 13 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Good tablet for beginners

10/30/2012
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good price value for the device. Light weight and thin. The only thing I didn't like about it is because it's not compatible with the Google Play and I couldn't find most of the apps that downloaded from Google Play on the pre-installed market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 14 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)
12/06/2012
By ,
Fairview,NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What ever has to do with Wallmart it was exellent, delivery fast and the price was perfect for someone that doesnt want to pay for over the top Tablets.. The tablet looked good, loved the dual cameras, wi-fi worked fine, but then it came time to load apps!!! The app market that came with the tablet it doesn't work.. they do not tell you that so I spent hours trying to see what I was doing wrong.. after I went on line on their company's so called "support site"found out that they had a different app store that i had to d/load to the tablet, I did, but again nothing. Then I was told to "try" Amazon app store... nope not coperible with Ematic. Of course the castomer support is not existing.Oh yea, it doesnt work with Google play, Skype, and all these other apps that the rest of the world is using.It is going back to wallmart today. Maybe Wallmart should check these companies out before they put their reputation on the line. Very sad, very mad!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

Slooowwwwwww and other problems

12/02/2012
By ,
Bay Saint Louis, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to be a *starter* tablet, but this doesn't even get out the gate. The battery drains SUPER FAST (I get less than 2 hours) and I followed the directions for first charge to the letter. The touch screen is a pain...you have to touch it over and over and because the response time is excruciatingly SLOW, you frequently end up somewhere you didn't want to go by the time it catches up with itself. The browser randomly disappears, causing you to have to start what you were doing over and over and over again. Did I mention it's unbelievably SLOW? There is no app store and Ematic devices don't work with Google store. They don't have an app store but they're working on another one and they offer a link to an alternative that ALSO does NOT work. There are complicated and difficult workarounds for some of these issues but I'm not going through all of those headaches. These are just the issues I've encountered in the first few days of use.
I know this is an *off brand* and I didn't pay much for it. You get what you pay for and sometimes you don't even get THAT. This is one of those times. This tablet looks good, the screen is beautiful, resolution is great and other than that, it's nearly useless. I'm contacting support, but after reading the reviews on THAT, it won't be to fix anything....it will be for a RETURN.
Save yourself a LOT of trouble and DON'T buy this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)
11/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchase this product on Oct 17, 2012 i would not recommend no one to get it. just had it for a couple week and it die out when it was cold outside now i am returning it back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 17 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)
11/29/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great sometimes it does run slow when i play a game but other than that i love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

worst tablet ever

12/05/2012
By ,
pine bluff, ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is the worst tablet ever its very very slow the app store that came on it doesnt work u have to call support service and they will email u a app to download... if you are not using the app store thats on the tablet anymore y keep it on there ... then the app store i downloaded is very very slow doest pull up what im looking for ... i hate it waste of money i will not recommend this tablet
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

More CONS than PROS !!!!

08/01/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let's start off with the pros and the cons of this tablet.
Pros: Very think and light weight. I loved how thin this tablet is. Felt good in the hand, no heavy, but so light that you won't drop. I also like that it has touch controls. Most tablets don't. The controls are on-screen. I love that it has ports: USB, Micro SD, HDMI etc. Ships with Adnroid 4.03
Cons: Touch controls are in the wrong place. They should be in the lower right, not upper right portion of the device. Most people will grip the device in the upper right edge of the device. The video playback (Youtube, website or from SD card) is not HQ (high quality). Every video I played look grainy and pixelated. I liked how it give you aspect ratio control for playback (for example: 16:9, 4:3, original), however, you have to play SD card video in original size just for it to be in HQ, when full screen, it looks like standard definition. Any con is it wouldn't play video from Apple.com. I tried to play any of the video content, the video window would appear but then go away. Another HUGE con is, the screen feel like residue from the protective sheet is still on it. Scrolling is choppy. This tablet is not very fluid and responsive when scrolling up & down webpages. You have to flick a little hard and when done, it's not smooth like an iPad or say the Le Pan android tablet. Another Con is, this is only 1 speak, which is built on the side (not back) of the device, so you have to be careful how you grip the device. There is no built in GPS, I turned on the option to update system date & time over wifi, it never did. There is no specs for the front & rear cameras. The built in camera's are pretty standard, video is a bit grainy & choppy, but will be ok for skype. Rotation is a bit slow for a 1.2Ghz processor w/ 400 GPU. When the device is rotated it turns, but I've seen smoother rotation on an Android cell phone. No Android Market comes with some built in app store.
Once I became disappoint with this tablet I stopped used and begin searching for a replacement. If this tablet was $150 it would be great but for $199, I'd look for better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 20 for Ematic 9.7" Capacitive Touch IPS Screen Android 4.0 1.2GHz Tablet with 8GB Memory & Dual Camera (Assorted Colors)

terrible product!

12/04/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tablet is out dated. Won't run Google play, the app store that comes with tablet does not have any apps. This product is worthless! Don't buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next