Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sherwood Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Sherwood Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

The Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver is an update of the market-leading RX-4100/4103. Rated at 100W, the distortion of the Sherwood Stereo Receiver has been significantly reduced. It's now less than 0.20 percent from 20Hz to 20kHz. The Sherwood 2-Channel Stereo Receiver has a quality AM/FM tuner with the ability to pre-set up to 30 favorite stations. It has inputs for four audio sources to accommodate your sound gear. The Sherwood RX-4105 Remote-Controlled Receiver has at least one unexpected grace: the ability to independently select up to two sets of loudspeakers via the supplied remote control. Audio purists will be pleased to know that the Sherwood Stereo Receiver's relay-controlled switching puts the speakers in parallel, maintaining their individual sound qualities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
27
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%59 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
27
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Perfectly Simple

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to run some pre wired speakers in a new house on my patio and in living room ceilings. My current amp would not allow me to hook up surround and two other sets. I loved how simple this was to set up and operate. It has just the basic functions, not all the stuff I never use on my other amp that requires the manual to use and I don't need, because I don't have a sound studio. Missing a couple of modern plugins...like HDMI and Optical....but that's OK for my purposes. Pumps out the sound with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

very clean sounding amp

07/22/2014
By ,
Brunswick, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this receiver because I had one more room in the house that lacked a stereo. It was for the basement which is unfinished open area. It has more than ample sound as long as you don't try to turn it up too loud. If you do, it will shut down to protect itself from overload. There is a subtle difference between maximum allowable output and overload. However, even at maximum, it is very clean sounding. I gave it a four. It would have been a five if it had a "peaking" indicator so I can better predict the limit of volume before shutdown.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Good "old school" receiver

07/12/2012
By ,
Gary, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was impressed with the price ($101) and functionality of this 200 watt stereo receiver. I was reminded of a very good Pioneer receiver I owned in the 1970's that only had 100 watts, but cost $260 in 1970's dollars. This Sherwood exceeds the performance of my old Pioneer. There are no bells and whistles like an equalizer display, just a basic receiver. However, I was not expecting bells and whistles for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Very inexpensive, good sound, easy set up

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 1969 Pioneer SX990 just died after 44 years. It broke my heart to trash it. You can fix a 44 year old airplane or car but not a stereo receiver. So I looked around stores and the web and chose this Sherwood. It pushes my (4), 44 year old Pioneer speakers, but am thinking they're not doing this receiver justice. So now I'll look for replacements. I have no negative comments and would reccomend it to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

basic 2 channel amp & tuner but great value

08/03/2012
By ,
forney, texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with my order and met my expectations.
This is a basic 2 channel amplier and tuner. I use with my flat sceen tv and my dvd player. I also use the tuner. Very good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Returned unit

07/05/2014
By ,
Cleveland ,Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not enough inputs or outputs and no HDMI
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Worse than a very old Aiwa receiver I had

02/04/2014
By ,
Orange County
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This receiver is less than average; in fact, it is terrible; poor. I hooked it up and at first I thought it didn't work. I did everything I know to do (which is a LOT) to make sure everything was connected properly but I got NO SOUND. After more than an hour, I decided to turn it past "20" on the volume control; still nothing. I turned it past "30" -- nothing. I was going to turn it as high as it could go and when it got to "40", I finally heard a whimper of sound. What? A brand new receiver has to be turned up to 40 just to hear a whimper of sound? My old Aiwa component receiver, which a busted up cassette deck would be very sufficient at level 10; if I turned it to 20, the neighbors could hear it. I bought this new receiver to bring all of my equipment into "the modern era" and to conserve space (the Aiwa system was a little bit too big). This stinking thing works like it was made in the 1920's or something. VERY POOR SOUND QUALITY. DO NOT BUY THIS THING. IT HAS HORRIBLE SOUND. An amp is suppose to amplify the sound; this one does not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Excellent for Value

02/06/2013
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My amp went out a week before the Superbowl. I purchased this stereo receiver, hooked up my TV speakers to it and we were back in business. Works great for stereo sound and TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver
01/01/2013
By ,
Macungie, PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice unit at quite an affordable price. Simple, straight up controls. The supplied antennae is not great, but I have a HD antennae on the side of the shop, so no worries there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Great product

11/11/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just wanted a plain, inexpensive receiver and this is it! Affordable, easy to hook up and the sound is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Nice for the price.

09/09/2012
By ,
Fort Mohave, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a top end item but a good basic. Great item if you don't really need recording room quality. Good quality and features for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Poor tuning/reception capabilities

11/09/2013
By ,
Houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first, I was pleased with the easy set up. Unfortunately it had poor tuning/reception capabilities - it was only able to tune to a few channels even though I live within a big city (and yes antennae were plugged in). So, I'll be returning it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Great Receiver

09/10/2013
By ,
winfield, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this receiver for my home gym. I have some old school large speakers plus a duel cassette deck, cd/DVD player and I also bought an adapter to plug in my iPhone 5. Everything sounds great. Very pleased and breeze to hook up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Great little box for the bucks

12/08/2013
By ,
Sioux Falls SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little box for the bucks. wish the big knob on the right was for tuning, as opposed to a volume control. Works fine for us, because we use this monstly as an amp for our Pioneer CD player. If we were using it as a tuner, going through setting up presets would be a lot quicker with a tuning knob.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver
09/08/2013
By ,
Nashville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased for use as a Kitchen radio. It is smaller than most shelf systems even when Sony bookshelf speakers were added. So much better than any boombox type radio. My wife loves the neat and stylish appearance while I love being able to "crank it up" when I hear something I like.
It sounds good and looks good so what more can I say. One problem, it has come on by itself 2 or 3 times. Manufacturer was puzzled and said return it. We did and found the same unit at Electronic Express for $20 less (on sale). New one has done it as well (twice). It may be a remote for something else. Plan on keeping it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Good product for the price.

12/31/2012
By ,
Ocala, Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked perfect right out of the box. No issues, easy install, great product for my back porch stereo. Would reccommend to a friend, especially at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Does what I want it to do!

09/26/2013
By ,
Cape May, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanted it for the garage. Does a great job!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

great product......

01/27/2014
By ,
rochester ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is a really great quality product. the price is great too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! easy hook-up. this is the second one I have owned. love it!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

excellent product

11/21/2013
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with this receiver. Meets and exceeds my expectations. Very nice looking unit, easy set up, good user manual, pulls in all the local stations I want with just the simple supplied antenna after positioned right. Was prepared to connect an external antenna but supplied antenna does fine. Overall high quality. Only issue, which is insignificant, is that the volume scale goes from 0 ~ 80 and anything below 20 is almost unusable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver
08/18/2012
By ,
Canonsburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great but Sherwood and Comcast have not got together on a 5 digit code for the AUX. If you want to run TV audio through the receiver you need to use the Comcast remote for the TV and the Sherwood remote to turn the receiver on/off
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next