Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sherwood Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Sherwood Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

The Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver is an update of the market-leading RX-4100/4103. Rated at 100W, the distortion of the Sherwood Stereo Receiver has been significantly reduced. It's now less than 0.20 percent from 20Hz to 20kHz. The Sherwood 2-Channel Stereo Receiver has a quality AM/FM tuner with the ability to pre-set up to 30 favorite stations. It has inputs for four audio sources to accommodate your sound gear. The Sherwood RX-4105 Remote-Controlled Receiver has at least one unexpected grace: the ability to independently select up to two sets of loudspeakers via the supplied remote control. Audio purists will be pleased to know that the Sherwood Stereo Receiver's relay-controlled switching puts the speakers in parallel, maintaining their individual sound qualities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
29
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation90%69 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
29
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Great value

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have various brands of receivers in my home, including a Pioneer in the bedroom that
recently quit. I started shopping around at the usual places and noticed that Walmart had
a Sherwood with sleep timer for $129.99 online. When I was ready to buy, I discovered
that Walmart had reduced the price $30 to $99.99, which made my decision. I'm not an
audiophile, but this Sherwood is every bit the quality of my Sony and the old Pioneer receivers.
I can coordinate the sleep timer on my cable box with the sleep timer on my Sherwood receiver.
This is exactly what I needed in the bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Very inexpensive, good sound, easy set up

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 1969 Pioneer SX990 just died after 44 years. It broke my heart to trash it. You can fix a 44 year old airplane or car but not a stereo receiver. So I looked around stores and the web and chose this Sherwood. It pushes my (4), 44 year old Pioneer speakers, but am thinking they're not doing this receiver justice. So now I'll look for replacements. I have no negative comments and would reccomend it to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Perfectly Simple

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to run some pre wired speakers in a new house on my patio and in living room ceilings. My current amp would not allow me to hook up surround and two other sets. I loved how simple this was to set up and operate. It has just the basic functions, not all the stuff I never use on my other amp that requires the manual to use and I don't need, because I don't have a sound studio. Missing a couple of modern plugins...like HDMI and Optical....but that's OK for my purposes. Pumps out the sound with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

very clean sounding amp

07/22/2014
By ,
Brunswick, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this receiver because I had one more room in the house that lacked a stereo. It was for the basement which is unfinished open area. It has more than ample sound as long as you don't try to turn it up too loud. If you do, it will shut down to protect itself from overload. There is a subtle difference between maximum allowable output and overload. However, even at maximum, it is very clean sounding. I gave it a four. It would have been a five if it had a "peaking" indicator so I can better predict the limit of volume before shutdown.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

So Far- So VERY Good

11/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this receiver for about a month and I couldn't be happier with it. The performance is exemplary and I am happy with the ease of use. I read dozens of reviews prior to this purchase and if this unit proves durable, I will be delighted with this product.. The transaction itself was impeccable; without complications.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Good "old school" receiver

07/12/2012
By ,
Gary, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was impressed with the price ($101) and functionality of this 200 watt stereo receiver. I was reminded of a very good Pioneer receiver I owned in the 1970's that only had 100 watts, but cost $260 in 1970's dollars. This Sherwood exceeds the performance of my old Pioneer. There are no bells and whistles like an equalizer display, just a basic receiver. However, I was not expecting bells and whistles for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

WONDERFUL SOUND

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS STEREO WORKS GREAT, WE HAVE A CD PLAYER AND A CASSETTE PLAYER CONNECTED TO IT. GREAT SOUND
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Buzzing noises

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the minute I got this reciever, it delivered a buzzing sound. Would not recommen this one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Sherwood Stereo Receiver

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, easy to operate with great sound
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

basic 2 channel amp & tuner but great value

08/03/2012
By ,
forney, texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with my order and met my expectations.
This is a basic 2 channel amplier and tuner. I use with my flat sceen tv and my dvd player. I also use the tuner. Very good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Just what I needed!

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fills my needs, had speakers and wanted to be able to play both sets or joys one set at a time.
Easy set-up. Antennas a little fussy to tune in.
Otherwise excellent for my needs without buying a folk blown system with speakers and stuff
I didn't need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Has short problem

10/17/2014
By ,
Wichita ks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After using product for a couple hours unit would not turn off when turning off power button it would turn on to play radio for a few minutes then change to cd mode and would shut off had to disconnect power. Had to return unit to store per factory recommond
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Good product less expensive!

10/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought a new house. The revious owner removed all the in house build in audio system. I was looking for a controler and end up with this one. It works very good, and easy to setup. Now every day I listen to my favorite station after work, and it is nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Great Product and Value

10/10/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Great receiver/ amp. Purchased for a beach house that was prewired with 2 different zoned speakers. Unbelievable sound. Was able to hook up the TV and play the cable music channels and use the DVD player to play CD's. I'm not a AV guy but for $100 you cannot go wrong. Thinking about buying another for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver
01/01/2013
By ,
Macungie, PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice unit at quite an affordable price. Simple, straight up controls. The supplied antennae is not great, but I have a HD antennae on the side of the shop, so no worries there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Worse than a very old Aiwa receiver I had

02/04/2014
By ,
Orange County
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This receiver is less than average; in fact, it is terrible; poor. I hooked it up and at first I thought it didn't work. I did everything I know to do (which is a LOT) to make sure everything was connected properly but I got NO SOUND. After more than an hour, I decided to turn it past "20" on the volume control; still nothing. I turned it past "30" -- nothing. I was going to turn it as high as it could go and when it got to "40", I finally heard a whimper of sound. What? A brand new receiver has to be turned up to 40 just to hear a whimper of sound? My old Aiwa component receiver, which a busted up cassette deck would be very sufficient at level 10; if I turned it to 20, the neighbors could hear it. I bought this new receiver to bring all of my equipment into "the modern era" and to conserve space (the Aiwa system was a little bit too big). This stinking thing works like it was made in the 1920's or something. VERY POOR SOUND QUALITY. DO NOT BUY THIS THING. IT HAS HORRIBLE SOUND. An amp is suppose to amplify the sound; this one does not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Great Receiver

09/10/2013
By ,
winfield, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this receiver for my home gym. I have some old school large speakers plus a duel cassette deck, cd/DVD player and I also bought an adapter to plug in my iPhone 5. Everything sounds great. Very pleased and breeze to hook up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Excellent for Value

02/06/2013
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My amp went out a week before the Superbowl. I purchased this stereo receiver, hooked up my TV speakers to it and we were back in business. Works great for stereo sound and TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Nice for the price.

09/09/2012
By ,
Fort Mohave, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a top end item but a good basic. Great item if you don't really need recording room quality. Good quality and features for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sherwood RX-4105 2-Channel Remote-Controlled Stereo Receiver

Good for someone who want just the two channel sys

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for someone who want just the two channel system and doesn't need to pay for all the surround sound bells and whistles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next