Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

The colorful and modern Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster is designed to provide you and your family with nicely toasted bagels, sliced loaf bread, English muffins and frozen waffles. Safety-related features on the Hamilton Beach 2-Slice Toaster include a cool-touch exterior, shock-resistance, concealed heating elements, automatic shut off if food gets jammed and on-board matching tongs for easy toast, bagel or English muffin removal. The contemporary Hamilton Beach Red Toaster has a handy lift-up carriage and bagel, cancel and defrost buttons for your convenience. Five shade selector toaster settings, extra-wide slots and an easy-clean crumb tray will make the Hamilton Beach 2-Slice Toaster a versatile addition to your kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%37 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Fun color, works well

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dials on my toaster oven were getting difficult for me to turn, so I purchased this toaster to replace it. While the toaster is more limited in what it can do, it's easier to operate and essentially does what I need most - toasting different kinds of breads. I can use my big oven for the other things (like reheating pizza, etc.).
Pros:
- fun color
- tongs are handy, but also necessary for removing things like English muffins
- toasts evenly, but had to turn settings up higher than those suggested in the instructions
- exterior gets warm but not hot enough to burn skin
- defrost feature is nice
- bagel feature toasts just one side
- crumb tray easy to empty
- won't heat when empty, thus discouraging kids from playing with it or misusing it
- no dials, just levers and push buttons!
Cons:
- larger than what I expected (but looks like most toasters on the market are that way)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Excellent toaster, just one exception

05/06/2014
By ,
Euless, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great toaster! Love the red color. Have used it for a couple of months.
The tongs are very convenient. A very nice feature we found is that the top of the toaster has an inward slant, keeping unsightly crumbs from laying on top.
Our favorite feature is the cancel button. This toaster pops up bread as normal during your first toasting. But if you want it just a little bit darker, and send it down again, be warned and be ready to use the cancel button. I've never been able to wait it out till popping up a second time, due to knowing by smell that the toast is burning.
Again, this is just for a second toasting in a row. Now we select 2 or 2-1/2 and can usually toast just once. Other than this warning, it is a fantastic toaster. I would purchase this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Attractive and versatile

10/13/2012
By ,
North Attleboro, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like various functions- toast from frozen, one side toasting - very efficient. Seems to toast both sides fairly evenly, something I've had a lot of problems with on other toasters. Love the tongs that come with it much more than expected - very handy. The color is a great shade of red.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Should be called a bread dehydrator

04/23/2014
By ,
Chico, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This toaster wasn't too bad when I first got it, but it soon started taking longer and longer to make toast. Now I have to set it on the longest, hottest setting -TWICE- to make toast. By then my bread is just dried out. You can't even see red in the heat elements. It's pretty and I like the tongs. I just wish the darn thing would make toast!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Wonderful toaster!

02/14/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old toaster of many years finally stopped toasting. I was leary of this toaster after reading the details/description but after reading the reviews (for this color and other colors/same model) I decided to give it a 'go.' I LOVE it!!!! I've only had this for a few weeks and of course each toaster is different on their number settings for the browning/toasting but after the first time it is set for how I prefer my toasts. I haven't toasted a bagel, yet but have done breads and English muffins and it is perfect every time. I really like the one-sided toasting when set on the bagel setting and use this setting on the English muffins. I highly recommend this little appliance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

love this toaster

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We remodeled our kitchen & i wanted a red splash of color--this toaster along with the coffee maker we purchased(also, from Wal-Mart) has given us the color we needed. This toaster is very easy to use, quite & the quality of toasting whether it is bagels or just bread is great. My husband loves that it doesn't burn his toaster pastry that eats for breakfast every morning. The little tongs that are provided with the toaster is very convenient! This products exceeds our expectations. We would purchase this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Just what I wanted!

12/11/2012
By ,
Jefferson City MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 weeks in and very good product. Toasts evenly, be it bread or english muffins so far. Tongs come in handy and for price excellent deal. Had to have cancel button which last toaster did not have. Overall so far great value for the price. A little more than cheap toasters I have bought in past, but you learn you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

nice toaster

02/12/2014
By ,
boston, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks great, the thongs are really handy. Takes a few toasts before the smell of plastic goes away. My only annoyance is my bread isn't evenly toasted. Some area is nicely toast and crispy the other (corners or sides) are still soft and cold. This is annoying because the toaster slot is huge so I can't tell why it wouldn't' toast evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Great Toaster!

04/01/2014
By ,
Goshen, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a new toaster has been a total nightmare for me. I bought 2 others in store and both died on me within 2 weeks of my purchase! I finally decided to buy my 3rd one online so I was able to check the reviews. This toaster is great and I am so happy I have it. The reviews were all right its a great toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

nice toaster

12/14/2013
By ,
south
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hamilton Beach Smart Toast 2 slice toaster works great, love the bagel setting and the defrost button. looks great not too big for counter. The tongs are an extra added bonus very handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

very nice and helpful

05/26/2014
By ,
anaheim
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautifull and fast hot
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Excellent toaster

03/20/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2Slice Toaster is excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Cute Toaster

11/12/2013
By ,
Southern Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this for a week so I cannot rate durability yet. It's an attractive toaster, but seems very lightweight. I keep it in a slide out drawer, but have to take the tongs out because they make it too tall. You cannot toast large size bread, the slot is only 5 1/2 " long, but wide enough for an English muffin. Just a cheap cute toaster that does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

The tongs

12/06/2013
By ,
NE Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This thing doesn't lift the finished product up very well...thus the tongs. Poor engineering as the springs are really weak. Toasts ok.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Best Toast I Ever Had

10/22/2013
By ,
Mount Ephraim, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't grade the durability portion because I only had it for about 2 weeks but it seems to be well built. Leave the tongs out of the slot since they seem to contribute to a peculiar plastic burning smell for the first few times you use it. Other than that it is the best toast I ever had.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

Consistency

08/24/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once you get the desired toasting setting, this toaster is very consistent in the succeeding batches of toast. The tongs that are included are a nice touch these days. The only change I would make to the toaster is to have the crumb tray come out of the front or side, rather than the back. The color is between red and maroon, definitely not a bright red. It does match my little 4 cup coffee maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

toaster

04/02/2013
By ,
Demotte Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's worth the money. did not even have to adust it for light or dark. it came out perfect. on the orginal setting of three. only had it for a week. but I got what I wanted . looks nice next to the red hamilton beach coffee maker I bought awhile back. the only problem was it took two and one half weeks to get it. said it would be in in one week. then it got lost in shipping or somthing like that. but at the end of the day I was a happy camper
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

I Love this toaster

12/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing is the cancel button; If you see you set toaster on wrong setting, you just hit cancel button and start again. My kitchen is done in Fat Chef and red appliances go perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

great toaster

03/17/2014
By ,
Cohoes, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toaster toast evenly love the tongs to help take toast out if needed. This is a great gift for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach Ensemble SmartToast 2-Slice Toaster, Red

my new red toster

03/06/2014
By ,
west in columbus
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great so far ,looks like the picture
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next