Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Average Customer Rating:
3.495 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(204 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
64
3 stars
26
2 stars
13
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation75%152 out of 204reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 90 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
64
3 stars
26
2 stars
13
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Great Idea!

07/12/2012
By ,
San Miguel, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this item for my Patio Door, I was sceptical due to some negative reviews. I ended up giving it a try, since we had so many bugs coming into our home. I have to say that it was super easy to install, and the magnets are strong enough to click right back to close position. I am going back to getting another one for my front door. It seems to be made pretty well, but even if it only lasts us one summer, I'd be glad to get another next summer, it certainly beats having flies and mosqitos bugging the living daylight out of us...We like the product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/28/2012
Thank you for including picture in review. It was very helpful. :-D
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

GREATEST

05/24/2014
By ,
Rumford, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this, for about three years now. I bought one at a different place then Wal-Mart and I love it. I had it First on the entry door to our trailer. It was perfect. It took my American Bulldog about two weeks to figure out if you push on the screen it opens. Once he did that, If he wanted out, he went. It did keep all the bugs out. When I moved to a different house in a different town, I took this door with me. The other house has a good screen door on it with glass as well for the winter months. I then put this mesh door upstairs where it stayed on the entry door to the computer room to add character. It stayed there for about one year, until the wheelchair ran over the bottom of it and it took one entire side off. That place I got it has discontinued it. I am now in the market for another one, and feel that my only hope is Wal-Mart. I Love This item so much, I will have to get the more expensive one from Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh
07/16/2012
By ,
Northern Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PLEASE believe me when I tell you that if it seems too good to be true... it probably is.
We bought ours off the website, ordered the "durable" mesh, and paid WAY more than what this junk is worth. I just want people to know that this stuff is not a great "alternative" to an actual screen door. What WE paid for it off the website we could have bought a brand new replacement door, AND after it finally arived almost 3 months later we got to try it out before it turned real cold. You half to get it perfectly level or the magnets wont snap together, and then the little velcro tab thingys begin to unstick, then the door will blow open if a stronger breeze comes along (which you are TRYING to capture) but in come all the flys on the screen (which it says it will keep out), and finally it has begun to rip, mind you this is suposed to be the "durable" mesh, and it is ripping along the top. I would NOT recomend you wasting your money on this product. I am extremely UN-impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Works great, with some work....

05/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Magic Mesh works great and does exactly what it claims to do. However, we have an aluminum doorframe and quickly learned that the small velcro stickers that attach the screen to the frame were too weak to be effective--they peeled off easily and the mesh fell under its own weight. We corrected this by buying larger strips of heavy-duty velcro at a hardware story and using them to replace the strips that came with the kit, after which it worked so well that it quickly became a summer necessity! The repair job we did was easy and inexpensive, and we like our Magic Mesh, but it seemed a shame we had to spend extra money--even if it was only five more bucks--to get the product to function as it should.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Magic Mesh

04/15/2014
By ,
Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Make sure you read all directions and place the mesh close together in the middle. Ours works fine but it doesn't always close back as we enter or exit the door frame. We have to do that manually. And we have had this for about two weeks and it is slightly ripping on the top :/. Nevertheless, it still does its job and blocks flies from immediately entering our home. I hope this helps future buyers. I still intend on buying another one for our back door. Its a double door.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Magic Mesh not so Quick to Assemble

06/01/2014
By ,
Mt. Vernon, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box say's easy to install and minutes to assemble. I would say it took us about 3 hours all together from taking it out of the box to completion. We also purchased extra Velcro according to reviews we had read before purchasing this product. Once we got all our measurements figured out and spent a whole 30 seconds attaching each and every Velcro sticker, about 20 of them we then had to attach those same 20 some Velcro stickers to the door frame, another 30 seconds for each of them too. Now if your not used to holding your arms up for any length of time, your arms get tired. Then we chose to tack all the Velcro strips with tack nails for extra security. But the product does work, we are pleased so far. It is just not easy to put up. If you plan on purchasing this and assembling it, give yourself a few hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Better than other mesh screen doors

10/27/2013
By ,
Fort Mill, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used mesh screen gizmos for as long as I have had dogs because I would much rather have them "free run", instead of being a slave to the door. First of all, to save yourself many headaches with the velcro strips that come unglued, pull away from the mesh, etc...Just haul out your fancy staple gun and staple the screen up. It takes no more than five minutes and you can shorten the length as much as you need to, and taken in the width by rolling the mesh and then stapling it to the exterior door frame. Love it, and yes the magnets are strong and you hear "click, click, click, click" each and every time you enter or exit the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Now, all my friends want one!

05/21/2014
By ,
Dallas,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You'll need a hammer, measuring tape and a step ladder. The ladder is if your not more than 5/5 so you can reach the top of door frame. It comes with black tacks. I placed mine between the Velcro strips. It works very well and I love the sound of the clicks when it closes behind you. The reason instructions say not to let it drag at bottom during installation is because when a big wind pushes it open, the bottom wont click closed if its dragging on floor.
.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

I like it

02/25/2014
By ,
phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great....I can leave the door open and the dogs go in and out through it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

A few tweaks yield great results!

08/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think we've come up with a great solution to add to the longevity of this product. We didn't touch the adhesive Velcro or the tacks. We knew those wouldn't work for us. Before hanging it up, we duct taped the top and side edges of each panel for reinforcement so it won't tear as easily. Then we staple gunned it onto our wood-framed doorway. With six kids and a dog, I knew these steps would be necessary. Even with duct taping it only took half an hour to put up. These two steps were very easy and very worth it. We'll see how long it lasts now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

perfect for pet owners and families

05/18/2012
By ,
dallas, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at a local store and it has been perfect for our family. The installation was
Not quite as easy as it looked on TV but it only took about 20 minutes. I had seen the commercial on TV many times and finally decide to take the plunge and buy it at the store. We have had it up for about 3 weeks and it has worked flawlessly. I was worried it would take a long time for our dogs to figure it out but it only took them 1 day! I no longer hear the door slamming constantly by my kids. I am going back to purchase 2 more next week. I love the fresh air with no bugs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colorado
Magic Mesh
Posted 06/09/2013
My wife and I were VERY excited to buy this product and use it. We have french doors to our patio...and we pictured magic mesh to be PERFECT for the one door, that we love to leave open in the summer.
WRONG! First, it did not come close to fitting a standard size door...it was 7-8 inches TOO wide. THAT was out first clue, that we had made a mistake. We tried for several hours to get a good fit...and it just was NOT going to happen. To get it to center (on the door opening), we would of had to cut 3-4 inches off each side. BUT, why bother...there were openings all over the place, along the sides...that were sure to let insects in. Walking thru it...is a joke...it is VERY awkward walking thru. Don't buy it! We took it back...and Walmart was kind enough to give us our money back.
THINK...before you buy...which we DID NOT DO! For 15.00 do you really expect to be happy with a door screen???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

exactly as expected.

04/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
keeps the bugs out, and easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Do not listen to the bad reviews

06/19/2012
By ,
Redlands, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so much better than I thought it would be. If you install it correctly it works great. You have to read the directions. If it is too long, grab a tape measurer. Thats it. Just adjust the length. Its not that hard. My wife loves it. Cuts way down on flies in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
You really SHOULD listen to [read] the bad reviews
Posted 06/21/2012
How did you manage to keep the Velcro strips stuck to the sides when the wind or sun comes? The tacks help, but they don't keep it tight against the door frame. Also, you have to admit that there are a lot of spaces that mosquitoes and flies can go through, where it isn't flush against the bottom of the door and between the magnets on the middle enclosure. This is a horrible product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Great for my purpose!

08/20/2012
By ,
Northeastern, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is everything they say on the box and advertisement. With any product though you need to assess your need and if it will work for that need. We installed the Magic Mesh over the door that leads from our kitchen to our garage. We live in an apartment with little or no cross venelation and we didn't want to install a screen door in the rental we will only have for one year and so far it is meeting that need perfectly. It intalls very easily and we did use the tacks that it came with to re-enforce the top. The tops of the tacks do break off easily though and make sure the magnets are able to close before tacking; it is easy to get it too taut across the top. I am not convinced that this would be a good product in the out of doors but works well on an interior standard size door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

walk through screen

03/21/2014
By ,
Pasadena, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
these work great, however the two sided tape is not that strong so I usually staple them up, Otherwise I highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Simple and cheap if you have dogs

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having 4 dogs of different sizes and a doggy door this was the easiest and best screen we could find. It gets replaced every 2 years or so and we do not have to get upset if it gets torn :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

for the price, it was O.K.

08/11/2014
By ,
Sparks, Nevada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The size was not given on the site so it ended up being to big for my door and had to fold over the edges to make it fit. Also the sticky 'velcro' tabs didn't hold it so I had to use the thumb tacks that came with it to hold it up around the door. Good thing my door frame was wood.
I would recommend getting a custom made one for your door. Other sites on the web make them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

great idea

05/31/2014
By ,
Connecticut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had one last year, absolutely loved it but my puppy tore it apart. I ordered another this spring, while it looks just like the old one, the magnets do not completely grasp each other, making it necessary for me to snap them shut.
I would definitely buy more if the magnets would close without me having to put them together. Last yrs. just snapped together with a loud click, absolutely loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Easy install

04/10/2014
By ,
Bakersfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had one last year worked great.You can put them up w/ the thumb tacks provided,I have used a staple gun. and you can take it down in the winter.very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Magic Mesh

Good idea, bad execution

05/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this because someone that I knew had it, and it worked really well. It was just not possible to make it work on my door, since it was way too wide and long. The magnets do work, and it should be easy to install, but I spent about an hour trying to see if I could make it work, to no avail.
Besides it simply not fitting my door, I noticed that there are often small gaps in the areas where the magnets are not directly holding it together, which would be plenty of room for a mosquito. The bottom also dangles loosely, so ants and other bugs would definitely be able to crawl under the mesh.
All in all, the mesh is a good idea, but it seems cheaply made, and it definitely will not work for all door types.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next