Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

General Electric GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Form and function converge beautifully in this 4-slice toaster from GE. The rounded lines and the chrome and jet-black color combination create the classic retro look that is so popular. The reheat, defrost and consistent toasting functions ensure a high performance that meets your needs. Featured in the buying guide of Good Housekeeping magazine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation91%32 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Just the toaster for us!

01/22/2008
By ,
Sandia Park, New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You may say "Its Just A Toaster"
Well it is a toaster with some nice features.
The crumb trays under each side pulls out from the bottom/front of the toaster for easier cleaning.
The toasting features "Cancel" "Bagel" "Reheat" and "De-Frost". Plus there are 10 adjustable toasting levels.
It has a nice finish, decor friendly.
We have not had any issues with it since we purchased about 3 weeks ago.
The one star about "Value for the Price" was left out because I believe that everything is going way up, high than it should be.
A GE (General Electric) product which has a reputation for great appliances.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Love It!!

09/22/2007
By ,
Orange City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this toaster, I had a $10.00 toaster that I could not stand using. I waited on buying it because I was trying to justify spending $35.00 on a toaster. I wish I didn't wait so long!! The most important thing to me was getting a 4 slice toaster. I read reviews on this and saw complaints about the bread getting stuck (but don't they all?) I toast bread with no problems. "Toaster Sticks" gets stuck sometimes, but they are so little. The one feature that I LOVE and did not expect: it has a "cancel" button on it that you can push to pop the toast up, rather than using the slide that pushes it down. I love it because when you manually release it with things like pop tarts, it comes flying out at you. Releasing it manually also requires you to hold on to the toaster, but not with the cancel button. It stainless steel which is very attractice. The only thing I wasn't expecting is how big it is, but then again I was use to the cheapest thing they sell.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Surprising quality!

03/11/2008
By ,
Grants Pass, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this toaster. Professional quality and variable features like defrost, bagel, cancel and reheat are just what the cook ordered. Toasts quickly and quietly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Excellent value

11/11/2007
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this toaster for my 50th anniversary this year. We received a beuatiful, expensive toaster 50 years ago for our wedding. It still works! But we wanted one that did 4 slices as well as a variety of bread products toasting. I don't think this toaster has had a day of rest since it arrived. It is fantastic. I don't know about durability as we haven't had it that long, but it certainly functions well. The price makes it an exceptional value. I received a chef's magazine that had one for over $400. I can only imagine it's quality of materials that make it so expensive, but I'm not going to live that long. We can't find a negative yet. We have had no trouble getting smaller items out. It does get quite warm so keeps little fingers away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Not lovin it...

10/29/2007
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I loved the look of this toaster...gleaming chrome. But it's too slow. You can't pop up the toast using the lever...you must press a button to release it, and the buttons are hard to see without stooping down. If you do an English Muffin, you can't get the muffin out without "springing" the lever up and catching the (HOT) muffin as it goes airborn, because it sits too low in the toaster well. The outside chrome surface gets too hot. It doesn't toast evenly. I don't see the value of the different toasting functions (like "bagel" and "defrost"). Seems like added useless functions to increase the perceived value and thereby cost of an otherwise fair toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Perfect

11/27/2007
By ,
Matteson, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased toasters in the past that have malfunctioned in one way or another and I have to say that this toaster has lasted. This is a toaster made to toast or warm items and it does that perfectly. I works today as well as it did when I purchased it over a year ago. The multiple features are a large help because we have toasted a wide variety of breads and other items that require various cooking times and each time is perfect. I don't have a problem waiting an extra minute for my toast to be done when I am guaranteed it will come out perfect every time. Easy to clean, I love it. Thank you GE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Great Toaster!

09/08/2007
By ,
Jonesboro AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and my husband would always set our alarms to wake up earlier to get to the toaster b4 the other one did... ..I'd always win ofcorse lol.. but still. We had this toaster for abotu 2 months and then our house got broken into and it got stolen along with out Seal A Meal Vacume food sealer, and our Dual Coffee maker.. oh how i loved my coffee maker... i loved the toaster too but seeing as i got another one... I dont have to miss it anymore! I recomend this for anyone who has a family or doesnt live alone! (or even for someone with a big appitite! It fits bagels too..) hehe.. this toaster is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Not as expected

10/21/2007
By ,
idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The look of this toaster is very attractive--but the performance is really a lot less than expected. I burned the first thing I toasted--a bagel--following the insruction book's guidelines. The bread that I toasted next came out with one side of the bread done just right and the other side barely toasted! (No, I did not have the bagel button on.) I've tried to increase the color knob a little at a time to try and get the other side of the toast a little better toasted only to make the other side scorch.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

A long search

02/06/2008
By ,
minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched for a long time to locate this toaster model, which was recommended by several sites for its durability and features. I am very happy with the sturdy feeling of the mechanism, having thrown away 2 fairly "young" and not inexpensive toasters the past 5 years. We shall see how durable it is in the long term. Also pleased with the bagel-toasting option, which we had not previously seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

defrost?

09/28/2007
By ,
montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the looks of this toster! The only thing that bothers me is the defrost button, which was one of my deciding factors on choosing this toaster. I expected it to defrost my pastry, then cook it. But it actually just cooks it longer which the three times I used it I ended up with "well done" food, it seems to add alot of extra time. with the exception of the defrost it works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Reliable Product

03/28/2008
By ,
Harpers Ferry, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toaster is replacing the same model I bought about six years ago. After six years of being used at least every other day, I think the first one held up pretty well to our family of four. It was a "no brainer" which toaster to buy again. It's a great value for the money, browns evenly and looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

New Toaster

09/10/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the GE 4 Slice Toaster and its a great bargain for the price. However, the left side lever doesn't stay down everytime and you have to finagle with the lever to make it stay down for the toasting cycle. Otherwise its a great applicance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137
04/13/2008
By ,
hopkinsville, ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this product because my local store was out of stock. I love this toaster, good quality. Separate crumb trays and wide bagel slots are a plus. Also very stylish. Site to store is an excellent service, item arrived quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

A true toaster

04/16/2008
By ,
Amenia, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a true, basic four-slice toaster without too many fancy options, that looks good on my kitchen counter. It toasts bread nice and evenly. The wide slots and bagel setting is a nice option for toasting hamburger buns also!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Just Toast

11/09/2007
By ,
Marysville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All we wanted was a toaster that made decent toast. Not too much to ask of a toaster. This toaster does that well. We have not had it long enough to have discovered problems if there are any, but I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

This toaster ROCKS!

12/22/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT toaster! I bought this toaster for my sister and her family for a pre-Christmas gift since we love ours so much. This toaster cooks English Muffins, toast and bagels to utter perfection!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Review 17 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Best toaster we have seen.

09/11/2007
By ,
Sebring, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had several toasters in the past years and none has been as good as this toaster. We had previously purchased one for us and when we found it purchased one for our daughter. Great toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Toaster

12/31/2007
By ,
Easton CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good toaster at a reasonable price. The best feature: not only can you toast 4 slices at a time, the dual dial allow you to toast lighter or darker based on individual preferences.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

Eats Counter Space

11/02/2007
By ,
Mechanicsburg, Pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Long toast time, eats counter space and I CANNOT find a toaster cover so the lovely steel exterior gets dusty.
On the plus side, this model has nice crumb trays and wide bagel openings.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for GE Classic 4 Slice Toaster, 169137

A WONDERFUL PRODUCT

02/09/2008
By ,
PANAMA CITY,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS TOASTER IS GREAT! NOT ONLY DOES IT LOOK GREAT,BUT IT TOASTS GREAT AND IS A DREAM TO USE AND CLEAN. I ESPECIALLY LOVE THE 2 SEPERATE TEMP. SETTINGS AND THE SEPERATE CRUMB TRAYS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next