Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Panasonic Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

The Panasonic Blu-ray home theater system provides room-filling surround sound, just like in the theater. This 3D Blu-ray surround sound system features Viera Connect to let you stay connected to your favorite Web content, sports, movies and so much more. You can even turn your smartphone into a versatile remote control for this WiFi-ready system with a downloadable Panasonic app.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation77%17 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Excellent system

12/04/2012
By ,
Gold Bar, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a Samsung home theater system where the IR in the head unit went south. Set it up with a 70" Sharp LED and it's just totally amazing! First movie with the new system up and running was Captain America on Blu-ray. Un#freakin'#believable on the picture and sound quality. The only thing else I'm gonna do is to add an independant receiver. If you're looking for an outstanding HT solution, this is it. Can't go wrong here. There are higher priced systems, but this works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 2 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

GREAT PRODUCT

11/19/2012
By ,
INDIANA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Altogether excellent product for the price. Great pictures and sound with easy set up. By far Panasonic's best product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Amazing Sound Quality!!!

01/07/2013
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to go with my 60" Panasonic Plasma TV. The sound was not that great when I originally hooked it up to the TV. The guy from DISH NETWORK recommended a digital optical audio chord. Once I connect this to the Blu Ray into the TV, the sound improved by 100%. The first movie I watched was The Bourne Legacy on BluRay. The sound was amazing! You could hear EVERYTHING! The gun shots were startling to some of my guest! LOL!!! I have a 16 x 16 home theater room without windows, and when I have a movie playing, it actually sounds like I am at the movies!! This is an awesome product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Good For Teenage Son Maybe

01/14/2013
By ,
Lubbock Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got This For Christmas, Hooked it up last night. Was surprized it didnt come with wireless built in for the cost. I notice a upgrade in sound but only had it wired aside big screen tv, didnt want the wires for the surrond sound speakers across my living room. They wasnt long enough anyway. Didnt have HDMI ARC connection on my Tv but figured out how to get sound through AUX cord. Some reason I had to keep going to menue to set it as AUX hookup. I put it all back in box today, dont know what to do with it. Packaging was excelent and instructions very good. Maybe Im too old at 62 for this setup. It did do good on the music vedios I had on but wasnt worth the trouble. Nice looking set, A younger kid would enjoy it in his bedroom Im sure. I do like my music, Ipod connection was neat. Wish I knew what to do with it now. Maybe give it to a kid next Christmas or birthday. Not for me, if you want better sound for tv just get a sound bar for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 5 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Missing parts in cartons

12/30/2012
By ,
Guthrie, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been unable to actually try the product as I have been waiting for the Stand that I ordered from a furniture store and it just arrived yesterday. I then set up the 60" Panasonic TV (TC-P60UT50) that I purchased from Walmart and it was missing to the ferrite core that was to be connected to the HDMI cable (that was not supplied per the book). In addition, the top right hand corner of the TV had a dent in the metal on the back before we took it out of the box. I doubt that this will affect the quality of the picture or the life of the TV, but it shows that Panasonic has a problem with packaging. Then when I opened the Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System, it was missing the speaker cable for one of the speakers and the 6 screws that were to hold the tall speakers together. This seems like a small thing, but it is a big inconvenience when you are working to get your new system set-up. It seems that Panasonic has a problem with packaging. More than likely, next time I will purchase from a professional store that installs and guarantees the quality of their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 6 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Alright so

07/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my TV cause i felt it was nothing without a home theater system this one seemed really a good value so i bought it so unfortunately my TV is not a 3D but my friend has one so i will update if im able to but im putting this for the awareness of what it has available and quality of the sound which is very good the sound is much more amplified i hear sounds that i don't normally hear from the TV speakers or my headset to my gaming system it plays iPod/MP3 and able to hold pictures and videos (SD card needed) and radio also a wireless network system (adapter needed) but can be wired now the main thing about this is if your connecting a gaming console like i did it will take up the main ports of the audio outputs but luckily i had additional ones ( my TV is a vizio other brands might be different) so i just bought a audio cable (the one with the yellow, red and white which is like $10 in walmart) i just used the red and white for sound, now this system also has a main dashboard that you have a input like HDMI cable to see so make sure you have the cable otherwise you cant setup your system propertly, i also had the trouble of trying to figure out how to get the sound to play while i game which is not hard at all there is an IPOD button on the controller that changes the input settings (put it on aux for sound through TV and console which is why i bought the audio cable white and red) and when you want to view the dashboard on the system just change it back to HDMI (ARC is what they call it on there for some reason) but those are the only issues that i had with the system other than that i love it if anyone has trouble i will be more then happy to help you set it up as best i can just put it on the comments or questions if you want to know more.
P.S. in case anyone is not sure of what HDMI cable to get i put the cable that i bought really cheap and sturdy they come in 2 other smaller sizes but can only be PURCHASED ONLINE ONLY and also the cable that i purchased for the audio which comes in 2 sizes i also found the red and white only but didn't find it there at the store but up to you which one you want can be bought in the store like i said.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
*UPDATE*
Posted 08/04/2012
well i didnt get to test out the 3D like i had hoped but im pretty more then sure that this system would have no trouble at all playing 3D movies and a few other details i left out and some new that i found while having the system for a few weeks.
1. the TV DOES NOT need to be 3D in order for the system to work it will play regular DVD movies and blu-ray as it would say on the box.
2. the only thing i havent been able to do is get the sound to come out of regular cable tv but with a DVR- Digital Video Recorder (those boxes that record live shows for those who dont know) as long as you have an HDMI cable the sound should come out but dont take my word completely for it, i messed with the audio wires a bit but all i got was static but im not ganna give up on it.
3. i didnt think this was ganna be too much of a problem but i would recommend getting a cable tie not the ones that tie up and you cant undo, if you put the set together because it is a cluster of wires and you may need to move it around or add to your collection so i wasnt able to put it on the item recommendations nor was i able to find the one that i had saw in the store, online so here is a link (THIS IS JUST AN EXAMPLE YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BUY THIS)
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Velcro-Reusable-Self-Gripping-Cable-Ties-1-2-x-8-Long-Black-100-Ties-Pack/14917793
just copy and paste this to the address bar it will take you to it, the cable tie that i saw was a GE brand it should be where the audio cables are like the 2 GE items i already have listed in the item recommendations.
Thats all i have if you have any more questions just drop them in the comments i will check it frequently.
+4points
Customer Avatar
53" Insignia TV
Posted 07/26/2012
Can this home theater system play on a TV that's not 3D because I dont have a 3D TV.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Great if you have a Panasonic TV

11/28/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to go this my 42" Vizio, didn't work so well. Great system sounded good for just general movies or listening to Pandora. I have younger kids so can't turn up the volume to rattle windows anymore, so it did the job. But it didn't seem to be compatible with the Vizio TV as far as user friendly or at least my husband, couple friends or either tech support could seem to figure it out. We would always have to mess with the inputs and if you turned on one before the other then you were switching the input again. My kids gave up and could never you figure it out. I returned it only for the not so user friendly reason. Otherwise sounds great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 8 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Great value

01/30/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound quality. No way anywhere close to the 1000 watts mentioned in specs (standard false spec ratings by all brands these days). My only complaint is that there is no input? I can't plug in any other source? The front display could be a little more functional. Makes you feel like you have to boot up the TV display just to turn on the radio (so you can see what you are doing).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

piece of junk

02/20/2013
By ,
Foley, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not preform as advertised it is not a 1000 watt system if it was it would be very loud but it is not and sound quality is poor people who think it sounds good do not know good sound in home Entert ainment systems and is not worth the price for what it puts out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 10 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Expensive but bottom of the line.

03/24/2014
By ,
West Columbia, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Supposedly wireless and could be if one could buy the special Panasonic wireless antenna for it. Don't get this product unless you are willing to do some extensive searching for this antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 11 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player
01/15/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this entertainment system, the bass is hard!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Get a real surround system for same price

12/27/2012
By ,
reno, nv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and hooked it up and it sounded poor. Bass was terrible and highs were just as bad. It gets loud but doesnt have the sound of high quality. I took it back and got (for the same price) an onkyo and a lg blue ray that has built in wifi. This system requires you to buy a wireless card $$$. The onky was the best surround system you could ever hope for or need and was cheaper and the same price with a separate but better blue ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 13 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

OK I buy this system

01/17/2013
By ,
westmont Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
and the sound is real good, nice picture, playing a DVD or BLU-RAY 3D, but i have a VIZIO 42" TV and i am still trying to get the TV to play thru the Panasonic home theater system speaker, i have read and follow all the instruction that come with it, and still nothing,i am puzzled here, if some one out there have a idea i would be glad to use them, maybe they are incompladable ??I may have to return it, if i cant find a answer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 14 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

great sound

02/28/2013
By ,
Corpus christi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great sound, great picture, easy setup. only drawback... my hdmi ports dont work on my tv so i had to get a hdmi-av converter. not that big of a deal. also needs a wifi hookup, doesnt come with one external or internal. so if you dont have an extra plug for router then get wifi hookup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Nice unit but need too many wires

01/03/2013
By ,
Toms river N.J
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice unit but hooked up to my 47" L.C.D. T.V. and doesn't work found out I needed xtra wiring that I thought I had but didn't. now I have to go spend more money on top of the almost $400.00 spent on unit
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 16 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player

Great Surround Sound for the money!!!

03/12/2013
By ,
Shawnee, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to set up and it works great with my new 60" HDTV!!!! Feels like you are at the movies!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player
03/09/2013
By ,
los angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREAT PRODUCT I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Panasonic SC-BTT196 5.1 CH Home Theater System with 3D Blu-ray Player
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5