Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Panasonic Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Watch your favorite movies and enjoy web content with the Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player. The Panasonic Blu-ray Player with Built-In Wi-Fi streams music, movies, television shows and other media content from web sites including Netflix, Vudu, Hulu+, YouTube and more. With ultra-fast booting and loading, this Blu-ray player lets you quickly enjoy all of your content. It can also upconvert your DVD movies to near-HD quality. The Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-Ray Player offers an Ethernet port for wired connections and HDMI output for digital transmission of video and audio. It also has a USB port for playing music and viewing photos from MP3 players, digital cameras and other electronic devices. Surround sound decoders include Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TruHD, DTS HD Master Audio Essential and DTS HD High Resolution Audio.
Average Customer Rating:
3.61 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation67%107 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Good value But

08/29/2012
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works well and for the price a nice blue-ray set. The reason I did not rate it a 4 star is because it freezies up at times and is rather slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 22 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

CRAPASONIC

09/24/2012
By ,
Azle, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This HD player is awful - not only is it PAINFULLY slow to start - it constantly freezes and requires you unplug it from the power supply to get it going again. I had it one week and was ready to throw it out the window. DO NOT BUY THIS player. Tonight was the last straw with it, I was going to sit down and watch a disc while my husband prepared dinner - well dinner (a cooked dinner) was finished before I was ever able to even start the cd I wanted to watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 23 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

What I was looking for

10/19/2012
By ,
Ballston Spa, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get an affordable DVD player that had wi-fi connectiity (especially for Netflix). After comparing several different brands, this one seemed to have all the features that I was looking for. It was easy to hook up and the Netflix connection works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 24 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

It does what it's supposed to do

11/09/2012
By ,
Bolingbrook, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set up was easy, speed of start up and running is entirely reasonable, and I love the separate Netflix button. Those who feel this unit is too slow are apparently "A Type" personalities who think everything is too slow for them. I'm sure they have a really difficult time when they come to a red traffic light.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 25 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

OK, for the money

09/15/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cheapest Blu-ray player that has wireless connectivity. Most of the product I would recommend, however there are some drawbacks. The biggest one is that the player keeps going into some weird mode where the color is completely off, and it becomes unresponsive (both unit and remote controls). All it takes is to re-boot (unplug and plug back in) and this seems to re-set things. I also know when it is going to freak out like this because the way it lists itself in the television's viewing options. By this I mean that list of viewing options you get on your television (for example it might say Television, Input 1, Input 2, Cable, HDMI, etc.). When I first connected this player to my television, the "Input 4" changed to some kind of code (like B890T16). So this is fine because I can never keep straight which device is which Input #, and this helps me clearly identify the Blu-ray player. However, when the player goes into "weird" mode, the listing reverts back to "Input 4." Never seen this before, but this is what happens.
Also, in order to update the firmware (which is something you have to do frequently for most WIRELESS Blu-ray players), they never tell you, but you cannot update via the wireless. You have to connect it DIRECTLY to the router that is providing the Internet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 26 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Glad I Got It!

12/01/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed something to stream Netflix on and knew I wouldn't use any gaming console for anything else. The remote actually has a "Netflix" button! My only complaint is that the remote control seems to have a delay sometimes. Also, when trying to watch movies off my external hard-drive, not all formats were watchable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 27 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Netflix issues

10/28/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of the main reasons I thought this player was Netflix but it did not perform well. Streaming would stop for no apparent reason while mid-program. We use 2 Roku and never have this problem. I returned the item after 1 day, so cannot make much comment on any other features.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 28 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

great price and great quality

08/17/2012
By ,
Sherman,Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm really surprised how great this dvd player is, I had been looking at others that were 100-200 plus then I came across this one on walmart.com for 88 dollars. Sure am glad I took a chance on this one its a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 29 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great Unit

11/03/2012
By ,
Anchorage, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit was way more better than advertized. Easy to set up and had more options than I had expected.
The unit is well worth the price and the shipping was extremely quick. Well worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 30 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished
11/04/2012
By ,
hamilton al.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we are enjoying the player very much it just has to many things that can be set up it confuses me. i would recomend this for the good price and the durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 31 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great Blu-ray player with Netflix interface

07/26/2012
By ,
Lititz, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has build in Wireless adaptor and Netflix button on remote. Plays Blu-ray disk flawlessly. What more could you want! Had it set up and working in less than 15 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 32 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

weak choppy wifi signal and very short power cord

09/10/2012
By ,
sacramento, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player works excellent with blurays and streams clearly when it is connected. It is moderately confusing to set up to wiring because it wants to automatically configure only half of the settings and if you don't know to do the rest it wont work. My wireless home network supports many devices just fine but not this one. It takes a minute or so to load pages on netflix when my kindle in my lap pulls the picture smoothly. And lastly I
t has a very short cord...its about 30 inches which is not far enough to put player on shelf next to Tv. Seriously limits the arrangement of home theater..I had to buy an extension cord just for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Worked for Two Weeks ONLY

12/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first, the first week, it worked great. But then it starting locking up, the only way to recover, pull the plug. After the last and pulling the plug to recover at least a dozen times, it finally completely stopped working. It would go through the boot-up but never put up a display. It was completely unworkable. Before this I had a blue for about a year and it failed which was why I was replacing it. I see a pattern here people. Now I had to take this one back and I got one strike left. These blue ray machines are cheap and CHEAP is the word. No quality!!! I will research this very hard before plucking down more money. I'm not all of these are defective but the rate in my experience is high. Roll the dice if you wish, and don't forget to cross your fingers too!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Works good overall, some issues

01/13/2013
By ,
Littleton,CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This player is a decent machine. It is very simple to use, but does have it's problems. It's audio and video flickers on and off for a bit before returning to playing normally. It happens probably once or twice when watching a movie. It's not awful, but can be irritating. It does pause before it does this though so at least you never miss anything. It could be a little cheaper since it does have problems but overall I've been very happy with it, and it isn't too expensive. We got the warranty, just it case but I'd buy this again any day!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Good blu ray player

12/31/2012
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use and set up. Remote could use 2 more buttons to change channels on the TV as there is a volume and power button for the tv. The shipping of this product was awful. WalMart just slapped a shipping label on the player box and shipped it as is. The product came in working order but the box was broken. Whoever walmart uses to ship packages also just left my package outside on my front stoop without a signature or confirmation that i even received the package. The speed of shipping was fine but the delivery method was awful.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Good bargin but low quality

09/08/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The player has no controls on the player itself. I could not get it to connect to my HD television but it did connect to an older standard television, however it was unable to connect to my home wireless network. Another television was not compatible with the player at and displayed not supported. Contacted support for the television and was told that the resolution needed to be changed before it could be displayed, however there was no way of doing that manually through the player. Had to return the blu-ray player.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 37 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

good for blue ray, ok for streaming

09/21/2012
By ,
Hope Mills, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this blueray player mainly to stream netflix. It did not pick up the wifi signal from our bedroom at the other end of the house. I put it in the bedroom closer to the wifi and it works fine. I can only assume it does not have a good wifi receiver because it did not pick up the wifi signal in our bedroom because I got another brand and put it int he bedroom and it works fine, even better.
So this products works as described; it just does not work as good as I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 38 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

So far so good

01/04/2013
By ,
Butler PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good DVD player at a good price. It was easy to hook up to wi-fi and easy to set up. Most of my DVD's are non blu-ray and it upconverts them nicely. Alot of remotes these days seem cheap & plastic like it's going to break, but not this one. And it's easy to use. It also has a Netflix button on the remote, which works great. We use it all the time. So far I don't have anything bad to say about this DVD player, I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 39 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Don't bother - very disappointing

02/23/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought that the Panasonic name would mean that it would be of decent quality. No. I bought this in September 2012. I wanted it to watch Netflix. It worked ok. I thought for the money, it wasn't bad. However, in January 2013, I noticed on the screen, when I turned it on, that there was a firmware update available. I ignored it because #1: I didn't want to take the time, #2: I was afraid it would mess up the player. Last week, I made the mistake of upgrading the firmware. After the upgrade, the screen said that it would automatically reboot. It didn't. Power button didn't work so I had to unplug it. Plugged back in, it booted. But now, when I try to watch anything on Netflix, it has to keep loading every 3-4 minutes. Try to watch a movie or show when every 3 minutes, it stops, has to load (Loading...) for another 2-3 minutes... over and over. It did not do this before the firmware upgrade. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND PATIENCE!!! I contacted Panasonic to ask how I could downgrade the firmware. I was told that it is not possible. It's too late for me to return it. But I can warn others... (I just noticed on this comment page that it says "Refurbished..). I didn't think mine was.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

a clunky interface

08/14/2012
By ,
Winchester VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the Netflix button - very handy. But the remote and the overall interface felt a little clunky. I returned after 10 days. My wife didn't like the remote and if mama's not happy, ain't nobody happy. I'm sure if all you want to do is watch Netflix and Youtube, it's fine. But even movie searching was pretty tedious. Of course, being a mac user, I may be spoiled by easy to use interfaces.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
21-40 of 129 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next