Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Panasonic Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Watch your favorite movies and enjoy web content with the Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player. The Panasonic Blu-ray Player with Built-In Wi-Fi streams music, movies, television shows and other media content from web sites including Netflix, Vudu, Hulu+, YouTube and more. With ultra-fast booting and loading, this Blu-ray player lets you quickly enjoy all of your content. It can also upconvert your DVD movies to near-HD quality. The Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-Ray Player offers an Ethernet port for wired connections and HDMI output for digital transmission of video and audio. It also has a USB port for playing music and viewing photos from MP3 players, digital cameras and other electronic devices. Surround sound decoders include Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TruHD, DTS HD Master Audio Essential and DTS HD High Resolution Audio.
Average Customer Rating:
3.61 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation67%107 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Good value But

08/29/2012
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works well and for the price a nice blue-ray set. The reason I did not rate it a 4 star is because it freezies up at times and is rather slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 22 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

CRAPASONIC

09/24/2012
By ,
Azle, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This HD player is awful - not only is it PAINFULLY slow to start - it constantly freezes and requires you unplug it from the power supply to get it going again. I had it one week and was ready to throw it out the window. DO NOT BUY THIS player. Tonight was the last straw with it, I was going to sit down and watch a disc while my husband prepared dinner - well dinner (a cooked dinner) was finished before I was ever able to even start the cd I wanted to watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 23 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

What I was looking for

10/19/2012
By ,
Ballston Spa, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get an affordable DVD player that had wi-fi connectiity (especially for Netflix). After comparing several different brands, this one seemed to have all the features that I was looking for. It was easy to hook up and the Netflix connection works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 24 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

It does what it's supposed to do

11/09/2012
By ,
Bolingbrook, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set up was easy, speed of start up and running is entirely reasonable, and I love the separate Netflix button. Those who feel this unit is too slow are apparently "A Type" personalities who think everything is too slow for them. I'm sure they have a really difficult time when they come to a red traffic light.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 25 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

OK, for the money

09/15/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cheapest Blu-ray player that has wireless connectivity. Most of the product I would recommend, however there are some drawbacks. The biggest one is that the player keeps going into some weird mode where the color is completely off, and it becomes unresponsive (both unit and remote controls). All it takes is to re-boot (unplug and plug back in) and this seems to re-set things. I also know when it is going to freak out like this because the way it lists itself in the television's viewing options. By this I mean that list of viewing options you get on your television (for example it might say Television, Input 1, Input 2, Cable, HDMI, etc.). When I first connected this player to my television, the "Input 4" changed to some kind of code (like B890T16). So this is fine because I can never keep straight which device is which Input #, and this helps me clearly identify the Blu-ray player. However, when the player goes into "weird" mode, the listing reverts back to "Input 4." Never seen this before, but this is what happens.
Also, in order to update the firmware (which is something you have to do frequently for most WIRELESS Blu-ray players), they never tell you, but you cannot update via the wireless. You have to connect it DIRECTLY to the router that is providing the Internet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 26 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Not worth the money nor the trouble.

03/29/2014
By ,
Locust Grove, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set up is easy, but not even worth consideration.
Got it because we just unplugged from cable/dish & went totally digital antenna, but the old TV (in the bedroom) doesn't have a tuner and we're not willing to waste $50 just for a digital tuner when a small hdtv is in the future. Thought this would be a decent device to be able to watch "something" in there. Although we already have a DVD player, this could replace it and give us a few other options. Never even tried the DVD player, though, because the streaming player is poorly lacking. The unit takes a full 5 seconds to register the click of buttons on the remote (even with new batteries and standing 2 ft in front of it). When it obviously registers a button click, it takes a long time for it to do anything! If you want to search or scroll through menus, it could take several minutes for the unit to catch up. You waste too much time waiting on it to perform any operation! Menus are confusing and not at all intuitive. WiFi signal is weak, although it's just a room away from the router. And there are only 5 streaming channels (NetFlix, Hulu, YouTube, Vudu, & CinemaNow). Kept it for 5-6 days to let it update apps & software, hoping that was the problem. Apparently not. It seems that Panasonic was just in a hurry to get something out on the market & this was their "quick & dirty" answer. Well, they really missed the mark on this one.
For the same price, you can get a Roku2 with thousands of streaming channels, better wifi, and no testing of your patience! Yep... took this back & got the Roku2.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

The Worst Product of Walmart i have bought!

04/01/2014
By ,
Puerto Rico
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Blu-ray, made me a headache! The Wifi range is poor, really poor. When i try to shutdown, didn't shutdown say bye and freeze. And the the price when i bought was $103.00 and $112.00 with the protection plan. Thank God i bought a protection plan. The use of this item 1 month. I wouldn't recommend this to a friend. NEVER!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 28 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Glad I Got It!

12/01/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed something to stream Netflix on and knew I wouldn't use any gaming console for anything else. The remote actually has a "Netflix" button! My only complaint is that the remote control seems to have a delay sometimes. Also, when trying to watch movies off my external hard-drive, not all formats were watchable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 29 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Netflix issues

10/28/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of the main reasons I thought this player was Netflix but it did not perform well. Streaming would stop for no apparent reason while mid-program. We use 2 Roku and never have this problem. I returned the item after 1 day, so cannot make much comment on any other features.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 30 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Exactly what I wanted.

03/16/2014
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price was right. It is very simple to use. This is a gift from my wife. I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Panasonic delivers again.

03/10/2014
By ,
Roscoe, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything it says and everything I needed. Read some reviews After I bought one (bad idea) and there was some bad ones, so I was nervous about it before I hooked it up.....hooked it up and was amazed that all the bad reviews and none was related to mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 32 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great Unit

11/03/2012
By ,
Anchorage, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit was way more better than advertized. Easy to set up and had more options than I had expected.
The unit is well worth the price and the shipping was extremely quick. Well worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 33 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

great price and great quality

08/17/2012
By ,
Sherman,Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm really surprised how great this dvd player is, I had been looking at others that were 100-200 plus then I came across this one on walmart.com for 88 dollars. Sure am glad I took a chance on this one its a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 34 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished
11/04/2012
By ,
hamilton al.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we are enjoying the player very much it just has to many things that can be set up it confuses me. i would recomend this for the good price and the durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 35 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

wouldn't wish this piece of junk on anyone.

02/04/2014
By ,
Versailles,IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I could have bought a cheaper player but thought I would go with a good brand name, My first mistake. This player was a problem almost from the start. It would constantly lock up, before each use I had to unplug it, which meant moving a big entertainment center. It was always losing internet signal even though I had an excellent signal. Finally the DVD player quit. Finally figured out how to return it after owning it 128 days, Panasonic said they would fix it for $140.00 plus shipping. Sorry Panasonic, I won't make a second mistake on this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 36 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great Blu-ray player with Netflix interface

07/26/2012
By ,
Lititz, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has build in Wireless adaptor and Netflix button on remote. Plays Blu-ray disk flawlessly. What more could you want! Had it set up and working in less than 15 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 37 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Hunk of junk do not buy.

02/07/2014
By ,
Pineville, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this player and set it up. The setup went very easy,also very easy to set up the wifi. Within a couple of hours it started to lock up and began to get fuzzy. Than the wifi stopped working, within three days it totally stopped working. Returned it and got a new one, still locking up right out of the box, within two days the picture went out and would not come back on. Unplugged switched the html cable and still no picture. Will be returning it tomorrow and getting my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

weak choppy wifi signal and very short power cord

09/10/2012
By ,
sacramento, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This player works excellent with blurays and streams clearly when it is connected. It is moderately confusing to set up to wiring because it wants to automatically configure only half of the settings and if you don't know to do the rest it wont work. My wireless home network supports many devices just fine but not this one. It takes a minute or so to load pages on netflix when my kindle in my lap pulls the picture smoothly. And lastly I
t has a very short cord...its about 30 inches which is not far enough to put player on shelf next to Tv. Seriously limits the arrangement of home theater..I had to buy an extension cord just for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 39 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Worked for Two Weeks ONLY

12/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first, the first week, it worked great. But then it starting locking up, the only way to recover, pull the plug. After the last and pulling the plug to recover at least a dozen times, it finally completely stopped working. It would go through the boot-up but never put up a display. It was completely unworkable. Before this I had a blue for about a year and it failed which was why I was replacing it. I see a pattern here people. Now I had to take this one back and I got one strike left. These blue ray machines are cheap and CHEAP is the word. No quality!!! I will research this very hard before plucking down more money. I'm not all of these are defective but the rate in my experience is high. Roll the dice if you wish, and don't forget to cross your fingers too!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Works good overall, some issues

01/13/2013
By ,
Littleton,CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This player is a decent machine. It is very simple to use, but does have it's problems. It's audio and video flickers on and off for a bit before returning to playing normally. It happens probably once or twice when watching a movie. It's not awful, but can be irritating. It does pause before it does this though so at least you never miss anything. It could be a little cheaper since it does have problems but overall I've been very happy with it, and it isn't too expensive. We got the warranty, just it case but I'd buy this again any day!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
21-40 of 129 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next