Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Panasonic Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Watch your favorite movies and enjoy web content with the Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player. The Panasonic Blu-ray Player with Built-In Wi-Fi streams music, movies, television shows and other media content from web sites including Netflix, Vudu, Hulu+, YouTube and more. With ultra-fast booting and loading, this Blu-ray player lets you quickly enjoy all of your content. It can also upconvert your DVD movies to near-HD quality. The Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-Ray Player offers an Ethernet port for wired connections and HDMI output for digital transmission of video and audio. It also has a USB port for playing music and viewing photos from MP3 players, digital cameras and other electronic devices. Surround sound decoders include Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TruHD, DTS HD Master Audio Essential and DTS HD High Resolution Audio.
Average Customer Rating:
3.627 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation68%107 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
87 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great price and Great product

08/25/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really was not expecting anything fancy from this since the price was low. However, the first one I had was a lemon. Called Panasonic's customer service and was told to exchange it then register it after it's set up and works properly. It was a birthday present for my mama. I have a membership for Netflix and a lot of the movies on there are the ones she likes so I figured I'd hook her up while upgrading her to a Blu-Ray dvd player. Once we got the wireless set up and the Netflix running, she was so happy. It takes less than 10 minutes to set up (if you didn't get a lemon like I did the first time). The user interface is nicely laid out and was well thought out on Panasonic's part. The remote is a bit clumped together, but it also could be me since I have artificial nails. Overall, for the price, it is very good and thus far has done a wonderful job. Panasonic products I have had in the past were reliable and still are.
Bottom Line: It's worth the money if you're looking for something inexpensive, has a lot of great features, and has an easy to use user interface.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

wouldn't wish this piece of junk on anyone.

02/04/2014
By ,
Versailles,IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I could have bought a cheaper player but thought I would go with a good brand name, My first mistake. This player was a problem almost from the start. It would constantly lock up, before each use I had to unplug it, which meant moving a big entertainment center. It was always losing internet signal even though I had an excellent signal. Finally the DVD player quit. Finally figured out how to return it after owning it 128 days, Panasonic said they would fix it for $140.00 plus shipping. Sorry Panasonic, I won't make a second mistake on this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Hunk of junk do not buy.

02/07/2014
By ,
Pineville, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this player and set it up. The setup went very easy,also very easy to set up the wifi. Within a couple of hours it started to lock up and began to get fuzzy. Than the wifi stopped working, within three days it totally stopped working. Returned it and got a new one, still locking up right out of the box, within two days the picture went out and would not come back on. Unplugged switched the html cable and still no picture. Will be returning it tomorrow and getting my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

A Good Product at a Good Price

08/30/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Panasonic works very well and has a nice compact design. I especially like the fact that the control buttons are on top of the front edge as opposed to on the face. The Netflix shortcut button on the remote is very handy. The unit picks up the Wi-Fi signal nicely at 40 feet and through three house walls. Set-up is fairly easy with one exception. You have to get to the right place first. The manual does a very poor job with those particular directions. Once you get past that speed bump, the on-screen menu walks you through the process. During one or two of the steps, the TV screen will not have anything on it giving the impression that something isn't working. That is not the case. The system is just working on the Wi-Fi, Netflix connection, and set-up process. So be a bit patient and don't start pushing buttons or you will have to start all over.
I finally had enough of my Insignia brand player that was frustrating to use and slower than a dead turtle. It will make itself useful for target practice. I'm going to buy another one of these Panasonics to replace it. Good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great deal 10 dollars cheaper in store

02/12/2014
By ,
Stockton,Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had no problems, netflix works great try out other features soon
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished
10/20/2012
By ,
Denver, co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a basic blue ray player with wifi at a good price and this was perfect. Setup was easy and it works perfectly with my universal remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Good value But

08/29/2012
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works well and for the price a nice blue-ray set. The reason I did not rate it a 4 star is because it freezies up at times and is rather slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

CRAPASONIC

09/24/2012
By ,
Azle, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This HD player is awful - not only is it PAINFULLY slow to start - it constantly freezes and requires you unplug it from the power supply to get it going again. I had it one week and was ready to throw it out the window. DO NOT BUY THIS player. Tonight was the last straw with it, I was going to sit down and watch a disc while my husband prepared dinner - well dinner (a cooked dinner) was finished before I was ever able to even start the cd I wanted to watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

What I was looking for

10/19/2012
By ,
Ballston Spa, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get an affordable DVD player that had wi-fi connectiity (especially for Netflix). After comparing several different brands, this one seemed to have all the features that I was looking for. It was easy to hook up and the Netflix connection works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

It does what it's supposed to do

11/09/2012
By ,
Bolingbrook, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set up was easy, speed of start up and running is entirely reasonable, and I love the separate Netflix button. Those who feel this unit is too slow are apparently "A Type" personalities who think everything is too slow for them. I'm sure they have a really difficult time when they come to a red traffic light.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

OK, for the money

09/15/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cheapest Blu-ray player that has wireless connectivity. Most of the product I would recommend, however there are some drawbacks. The biggest one is that the player keeps going into some weird mode where the color is completely off, and it becomes unresponsive (both unit and remote controls). All it takes is to re-boot (unplug and plug back in) and this seems to re-set things. I also know when it is going to freak out like this because the way it lists itself in the television's viewing options. By this I mean that list of viewing options you get on your television (for example it might say Television, Input 1, Input 2, Cable, HDMI, etc.). When I first connected this player to my television, the "Input 4" changed to some kind of code (like B890T16). So this is fine because I can never keep straight which device is which Input #, and this helps me clearly identify the Blu-ray player. However, when the player goes into "weird" mode, the listing reverts back to "Input 4." Never seen this before, but this is what happens.
Also, in order to update the firmware (which is something you have to do frequently for most WIRELESS Blu-ray players), they never tell you, but you cannot update via the wireless. You have to connect it DIRECTLY to the router that is providing the Internet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Panasonic Blu-ray

01/05/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought it because of the Wi-fi but i was unable to connect to the internet. Netflix did not connect talkless of the others. I had to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Good for streaming media ONLY!!

12/23/2013
By ,
houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this because of the streaming media features, but after using the disk player for 2 days, it stopped reading disks. Returning after less than a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Been through 2 of these darn players!!!

11/15/2013
By ,
Red Wing, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this player to my worst enemy. I have been through 2 of them now. The first one the wifi stopped working and the second one the audio went out. The first time I liked the player and thought I would give it another shot. I had a replacement plan through Walmart, thank goodness and I will say they were nice about the first return no problem. I haven't taken this one back yet but I will be today! So frustrated!! I can't believe that I have been through two of these things. The best suggestion I would make is BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY!!! You will need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Glad I Got It!

12/01/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed something to stream Netflix on and knew I wouldn't use any gaming console for anything else. The remote actually has a "Netflix" button! My only complaint is that the remote control seems to have a delay sometimes. Also, when trying to watch movies off my external hard-drive, not all formats were watchable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Disappointed with WiFi

12/06/2013
By ,
Silverdale, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This unit does an excellent job with Blu Rays and DVDs, and the setup was easy. I logged in to my Vudu account with no problem and streamed a movie with no problem. But the selection of online services ie. Amazon Prime Instant Video is just not available. For me no Amazon is a deal breaker. The unit is going back to Wal Mart today.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Perfect for movies, AWFUL for Netflix & Apps!

11/25/2013
By ,
Marion, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setup is great, watching blu-rays & DVD's are great.
The problem with this player is that it freezes CONSTANTLY!
I'm so tired of it... I've tried updating the firmware & it doesn't do a darn thing.
Watching Netflix is horrible... it takes about 5 minutes to load all the way & even then,
you're not guaranteed that it'll load at all. This player has serious freezing & crashing problems.
I wish I still had my receipt because I'd return this in a heartbeat! I hate it...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

I was able to set up with little to no problems

12/16/2013
By ,
Stafford, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have yet viewed any DVDs because I just received my 60" tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Netflix issues

10/28/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of the main reasons I thought this player was Netflix but it did not perform well. Streaming would stop for no apparent reason while mid-program. We use 2 Roku and never have this problem. I returned the item after 1 day, so cannot make much comment on any other features.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great Unit

11/03/2012
By ,
Anchorage, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit was way more better than advertized. Easy to set up and had more options than I had expected.
The unit is well worth the price and the shipping was extremely quick. Well worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 128 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next