Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Panasonic Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Watch your favorite movies and enjoy web content with the Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player. The Panasonic Blu-ray Player with Built-In Wi-Fi streams music, movies, television shows and other media content from web sites including Netflix, Vudu, Hulu+, YouTube and more. With ultra-fast booting and loading, this Blu-ray player lets you quickly enjoy all of your content. It can also upconvert your DVD movies to near-HD quality. The Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-Ray Player offers an Ethernet port for wired connections and HDMI output for digital transmission of video and audio. It also has a USB port for playing music and viewing photos from MP3 players, digital cameras and other electronic devices. Surround sound decoders include Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TruHD, DTS HD Master Audio Essential and DTS HD High Resolution Audio.
Average Customer Rating:
3.627 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation68%107 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
87 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
34
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Lock Up Nightmare

12/11/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this model a little over a year ago. Have had nothing but headaches using it. In the menu there is a "Quick On" feature, but there is nothing quick about this player, it's sluggish at best. Constantly locks up when using menu's, Netflix and Vudu lock up frequently, onboard Wi-Fi is weak, running the microwave knocks it out, Firmware Updates lock it up also. I cant count the number of times I've had to reach behind the entertainment stand, scraping my knuckles, to unplug it to reset. Everytime I see a new Firmware Update pop-up I cross my fingers hoping that they have hotfixes for these issues, but not one single issue has been resolved in the 18 months I've had it. I threw it in the trash yesterday.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

No Hassle Blu-Ray Player with WIFI

06/20/2012
By ,
Avon Park,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my second attempt at purchasing a Blu-ray player with Wi-Fi.The first was a Phillips machine (took it back).This player is so easy to hook up.It automatically connects to the internet.The movie played flawlessly.The price was excellent.They had some left over 2011 machines from Vizio,Sony, and the like at the same price with more gadgets.This was made 04/2012 so I figured the newer the better and I think I was right. I prefer the simplest way to watch the movies and get content from online.This machine delivered! I recommend to anyone who wants a nice easy set up in a good quality player. It took me no more than 5 minutes and everything was ready to go.The remote is very straight forward and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+200points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Did I get a lemon?

07/13/2012
By ,
Hamlet, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set up only took a few minutes, including wireless. After that nothing but problems. Tried Youtube and started playing but after a minute I get rotating dots in the middle of the screen (buffering symbol?) that don't go away unless I pause then resume, but the whole time the video is playing perfectly. Within a couple minutes it starts all over again or the picture freezes and stays frozen until I press play. Tried Netflix and the player locked up. Couldn't power off with remote or power button on the player so I unplugged it for a minute. Tried Netflix again and it worked this time but same problems as Youtube. Next I figured a firmware update might solve these issues but it locked up while connecting to network. After unplugging 2 more times the firmware update finally completed. Still having the same problems with video and locking up. The only improvement since the update is when the player locks up I can eject the tray (the only button that does anything). Haven't tried dvd or bluray because I'm exchanging for another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Slow, Freezes, Panasonic Terrible Customer Service

07/30/2013
By ,
Pierce, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just like the other 20+ one star reviews on walmart.com of this product - it is flawed, freezing, and running extremely slow. Since I was past Walmart's 90 day return window when I finally gave up on this unit ever working properly, I tried going through Panasonic. They refused a return since I didn't buy from them directly, and forced me to pay over $11 in shipping to send them my defective blu ray player with the promise of replacing it. Upon receiving a replacement in the mail, I immediately discovered that the new (or probably refurbished player) was pixilating, freezing, and running slowly as well. I have since spoken to supervisors at Panasonic who have promised to return my calls and haven't, never emailed me a promised shipping label to return this second unit, and told me that I still cannot get a refund only will "put in a request" to have my money refunded which I'm sure has never gone through either. Panasonic has the worst customer service!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great Player for the Price

06/24/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking at several players that were $25-$30 cheaper for my son's room, and that didn't have built in WiFi, I decided to purchase the Panasonic. I admit I was a little skeptical at first, but once it was hooked up, I was impressed. Super easy WiFi setup took less then 5 minutes. The remote even has it's very own Netflix button for quick access. Unlike many of the BD players that sell at this price, this player starts up and loads fast. It's as fast as any $200 and up players I've seen. Overall this is a very impressive player for $98.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Really great!!

10/28/2012
By ,
Sulphur Springs, Ark.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was trying Netflix free trial on my laptop and liked it. Decided to look for something to stream it to my TV since I decided that I would be getting the monthly subscription once the free runs out. I saw that the Blu ray players stream. I found this Panasonic with built in Wifi, so decided I would update my current DVD player to a Blu ray and also be able to stream Netflix. I set it up wireless. It was so easy. The thing that took a little time for me was entering my email address, password etc in. Ha! But that is just done on the initial set up. The remote has the Netflix button. I love that! I have Satellite tv and have enjoyed it but I just have gotten where I hate spending so much on TV. So I cut down as low as I can on the Satellite pkg and now have Netflix too. I didn't want to cut Satellite tv all the way out because I still wanted my local channels. I live in a rural area so that is the only way to get them here. But this will save me money by cutting my bill just about half and I will actually have more variety that I like to watch also. I haven't tried a blu ray DVD yet in it. But the streaming is great! And the price is really good and I like having the free site to store shipping. It doesn't come with a HDMI cable. Which you will need if you don't have one already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

The Worst Product of Walmart i have bought!

04/01/2014
By ,
Puerto Rico
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Blu-ray, made me a headache! The Wifi range is poor, really poor. When i try to shutdown, didn't shutdown say bye and freeze. And the the price when i bought was $103.00 and $112.00 with the protection plan. Thank God i bought a protection plan. The use of this item 1 month. I wouldn't recommend this to a friend. NEVER!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Not worth the money nor the trouble.

03/29/2014
By ,
Locust Grove, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set up is easy, but not even worth consideration.
Got it because we just unplugged from cable/dish & went totally digital antenna, but the old TV (in the bedroom) doesn't have a tuner and we're not willing to waste $50 just for a digital tuner when a small hdtv is in the future. Thought this would be a decent device to be able to watch "something" in there. Although we already have a DVD player, this could replace it and give us a few other options. Never even tried the DVD player, though, because the streaming player is poorly lacking. The unit takes a full 5 seconds to register the click of buttons on the remote (even with new batteries and standing 2 ft in front of it). When it obviously registers a button click, it takes a long time for it to do anything! If you want to search or scroll through menus, it could take several minutes for the unit to catch up. You waste too much time waiting on it to perform any operation! Menus are confusing and not at all intuitive. WiFi signal is weak, although it's just a room away from the router. And there are only 5 streaming channels (NetFlix, Hulu, YouTube, Vudu, & CinemaNow). Kept it for 5-6 days to let it update apps & software, hoping that was the problem. Apparently not. It seems that Panasonic was just in a hurry to get something out on the market & this was their "quick & dirty" answer. Well, they really missed the mark on this one.
For the same price, you can get a Roku2 with thousands of streaming channels, better wifi, and no testing of your patience! Yep... took this back & got the Roku2.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great Product

06/30/2012
By ,
Canton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought over 11 Blu-ray players and not a one has worked correct either the internet don't work or that movies that are Blu-ray wont play, even after updates have been applied. I think it is wild that I got a machine that does both and also lets u watch internet content with no interruptions. I would recommend this product to anyone that wants a great cheap Blu-ray.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Works Fine For Me

10/18/2012
By ,
Windsor, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Blu-ray player because it featured Wi-Fi and I wanted to stream from Netflix. Setup was quick and it linked with my router easily. After signing up for Netflix, via my computer, I only needed to enter my user name and password once to activate and begin the service via this unit. Now, it automatically opens when I press the Netflix button on the remote. I admit that it takes about 40-50 seconds to open Netflix, but who cares? Hey, it gives me time to get a drink and popcorn! People really make me laugh when they complain (waaa, it takes so long) and seem to expect everything NOW on a silver platter. I 'have' had the unit freeze a couple times as described by others, but I just unplug and replug after a few seconds and presto, it works again. For the price I can't complain because it works fine for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Panasonic Makes Great Products

07/26/2012
By ,
Yucca Valley Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Panasonic Makes Great Products, All The Sony Products I Own, Have Some Little Problem!
My Panasonic Products Keep Chugging away. The Remote Needs Redesigning though., My Finger Keeps Hitting The Outer Circular Button, When I Want To Push The Inner One!
That Is only a Minor Inconvenience, The Player Itself Works Fine.
I would rate Panasonic higher than Samsung, Toshiba, And Of Course; Sony, That Overpriced, Low Quality Mfg.
Hope This Review Was Helpful
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Exactly what I wanted.

03/16/2014
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price was right. It is very simple to use. This is a gift from my wife. I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

We are very happy with it

07/08/2012
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, easy to set up and work we primarily bought so we can watch Netflix. We love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Panasonic delivers again.

03/10/2014
By ,
Roscoe, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything it says and everything I needed. Read some reviews After I bought one (bad idea) and there was some bad ones, so I was nervous about it before I hooked it up.....hooked it up and was amazed that all the bad reviews and none was related to mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great DVD Player with Wi-Fi

06/30/2012
By ,
Manitowoc, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problem with setup, use it with NetFlix and love it. Tremendous value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
phoenix az
setup
Posted 11/04/2012
Dos this have be hooked to internet?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Good but could be better

09/28/2013
By ,
Macedon, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went through 3 Samsung models before I exchanged for this one. Let me just say stay away from the Samsung blue-rays.( Samsung tv's seem to be fine though.) 3 different model blue-rays, and none of the worked very well. all of them had glitches, and locked up on a daily basis. You would be lucky to get a wireless signal with them. Anyway this is a pretty good unit. Loading of netflix is a little slow compared to my older Sony blue-ray. Both the Sony and this unit smoke any of the Samsung one's I tried. The wireless is fairly easy to set up on this unit. It hardly has to buffer for movies which is fantastic! It has a usb on the front for up loading pics or wallpapers. The user interface is pretty clean and easy to navigate. My only cons the remote could use a light, and a qwerty key pad would be nice to do netflix, and amazon movie searches easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Great Product

08/07/2012
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first blu-ray player and we mainly bought it to watch Netflix. It is great because it is compact and thin. Also, and very importantly, to activate netflix you just push the red netflix button on the remote. We do not own a lot of blu-ray discs so we mainly watch DVDs, but it shows them with a great picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Consistantly FREEZES! DONT BUY.. Buy 1 that works!

11/09/2012
By ,
Webster Parish, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Player was ok for a couple days, now I find myself wanting to throw it at the wall. I have owned it for about 3 months, and it has done nothing but freeze up multiple times over short periods of time. I have to unplug it to reboot. It has problems playing Netflix and playing it without interruption. I have to consistantly go back to the main menu and restart Netflix just to finish what I was watching. If you have one and it starts having problems... TAKE IT BACK, it will not stop, it's not a fluke, it is a horrible player. Rather disappointing for a Panasonic, spent the extra $20 for the name brand and it has done nothing but tick me off. I had to plug it in where I can easily unplug and replug it. Very poor player.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

so-so

09/12/2012
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought it because it had netflix, bluray and was wireless. Hooking up to my wireless was fine, running netflix is fine, love the Netflix button. It takes a little while to boot up, I don't love the menu and I miss HULU and Pandora that we have on our ROKU. It has frozen for me twice in two months, turning it off so I had to unplug and plug back in. Pushing the button does nothing, the display froze on "bye" once overnight. I was on the verge of returning it, but it is the only bluray we own and it does a decent job at a great price. When we get a TV worthy of something better I will upgrade and have this as a backup.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic DMP-BD871 Blu-ray Player with Built-In WiFi, Refurbished

Love it, love it, love it!

09/02/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first blu-ray and I love it! No issues! I stream Netflix, Hulu and YouTube, does great with all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next