Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Keep your blood glucose levels in check with this ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System. This Blood Glucose Monitor System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and will give you an accurate result in a fast as seven seconds. The ReliOn Glucose Monitor in red has a 250-test memory and is simple to use. You can test your levels on your palm or fingertip. It comes with a 3-volt battery and instructions in both English and Spanish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.482 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
40
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation67%147 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
40
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

okay, but off by 10

09/15/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have to agree with the other posts, this is off by about 10 points, if not more. At first I thought it was the strips, but I think it is the meter. I have compared it many times to my OneTouch meter. I like the OneTouch meter, but the strips are very expensive so I continue to use the Walmart brand because it is cheap and easy to pick up from the store without having a prescription.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Meter works well.

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meter works well and test strips are inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Worst meter I have ever used!!!

09/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This meter is terrible at monitoring your blood glucose, just today I tested 10 times and each on was an ERROR. Yes I make sure my hands are clean and dry, carefully put the test strips in the right way.....but 10 times is a bit much. If I have to use that many strips and still no reading this product is a waste of money. I just hope I can get a refund for the meter. I'll go back to using my ONE TOUCH, best meter I've ever used!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Prime blood monitoring system

09/17/2014
By ,
Taacoma WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is easy to use and offers the same options as an expensive model. I ordered this and picked it up when it came. The test strips weren't available so I had to pay for delivery for them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

ease of use

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the fact keeps past results
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Excellent Value/Great Option to Test More Often

09/08/2014
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I was diagnosed with diabetes my insurance provided me with another brand of meter and strips. I quickly realized that the other brand was going to cost a lot to test as often as I really needed to, at least at the beginning. to get a hold on my disease and being to manage it well. The online community at the ADA highly recommended this meter and strips for it value and reliability, as did a close personal friend so I bought this meter and a pack of strips to try out.
The meter is a pretty basic, no frills model; it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of my other meter or some of the other ones that you can get. But it does the job and it is much cheaper in the long run, even with insurance co-pay, than any other brand/model I'm aware of. I put all of my readings into a paper and electronic (iPhone app) log anyway so the "extras" aren't needed anyway.
The only negative things I can say about the meter/system are in comparison to the Bayer Contour Next EZ that my insurance company started me out with: This system is a little more finicky in that it "wicks" the blood in differently, from the center of the tip of the strip, which took a few tries to get right, and seems ti take a tad more blood to get a reading without getting an error code (E13 I think) for "not enough blood applied" to read. Both the meters say they give you a little time to add more is you don't' get it right the first time without wasting the strip; I have not been successful in getting either to actually do that though yet, so both get a "fail" on this claim in my opinion.
The readings/accuracy from my experience and testimonies from other users seems very good. I have to say that it is a good value and great option for those who want/need to test more often than you doctor or insurance company prescribe/allow for or for those that might not have insurance. In my case, the doctor has allowed for two tests.day but I know that I need to test at least twice, maybe more, than that at this early stage to get a handle on what my body does with different foods and exercise. I couldn't afford to do these extra tests with the Bayer meter because of the cost of the strips/ even with insurance paying toward the Bayer strips, the ReliOn strips are going to be cost me less out of pocket to just but them outright. This system not only work but makes good financial sense, too. And the my local Walmart seems to carry a good, steady supply of the strips so there are no worries about running out and having to wait on mail-order deliveries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Not accurate

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife was recently in the hospital and double checked this meter against the hospital meter. The accuracy was between spot on and 40 points off over several tests. Unacceptable at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Good price for a basic Blood Glucose meter

09/06/2014
By ,
NYS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It serves the primary functions of a basic blood glucose monitoring system. The kit comes with a carrying case and the meter. Please note that the case is on the small size for convenience, but limits you to the amount of supplies you can put into the case.
Unlike the higher end blood glucose monitoring kits, this one DOES NOT come with a vial of control solution to check the meter's calibration and you can only purchase the control solution by calling ReliOn's 800#
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Get what you pay for

08/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Reli On Prime may be cheap but it winds up costing a lot more for your strips! A package of 50 strips is only $9, but when you have to use 5,6,7 strips before you can get a reading other than ERROR you are actually paying much more. Also, the readings are not very accurate. I get a reading of 127 and a minute later it reads 96 and a minute after that it is 140. So even when the strips do work, the readings are wrong. So people, once again, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Nice meter and strips at a great price!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a glucose meter that was supplied by the VA, but only a limited number of strips. I picked this up to monitor my glucose levels and I am very pleased with it. I tested both meters from the same blood sample. The meter from the VA showed 140 and the ReliOn meter showed 147...pretty close! I think this is a good bargain and would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Good value

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With insurance I was paying $25 for 50 strips, Without using my insurance I paid $9 for 50
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Excellent choice and very reasonably priced.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After receiving sticker shock for my most recent Acucheck strips order, I turned to Walmart and found the Relion meter and strips. I tested them against my current meter and found the results to be within a few points of one another at a fraction of the cost. i will be purchasing a second meter for work. I highly recommend this meter and the strips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Good Product

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am borderline diabetic and use this to keep watch on blood sugar, works good and very easy to use and read results.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Does not come with lancet, strips, or pins

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still a good value, but Wal-Mart needs to do a better job or notifying customers that it does not come with a lancet, strips, or pins. I live in Alaska and have to wait for delivery. After receiving my kit, I had to order and wait for a lancet. A glucose monitor is useless without a lancet and better disclosure would be nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Great Value

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and you certainly can't beat the price. It works as good or better than monitors that cost three times as much or more. I love the fact that the strips are the lowest cost ones I've ever seen as well. I check my blood because of family history and I want to prevent diabetes and to be able to do it for a low cost is fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Frustrating

07/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had a ReliOn Ultimate for several years and it's been very accurate when compared to results at the Dr or on my sister's very expensive monitors. When I saw how affordable the strips for this one were, I bought it. I didn't have much luck with mine. Averaged about 25 pts higher than my Ultimate when it wasn't erroring out. Since I am trying to control pre-diabetes thru diet and exercise, I am constantly testing how different foods effect my readings and a 25 point spread is a little aggrevating when trying to get from a 127 to under 100.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

GREAT METER

06/04/2014
By ,
Ventura
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NO CODING ISSUES! Quick and easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Nice little meter

06/04/2014
By ,
Conneaut, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Relion brand meters for several yrs due to them being cheaper than name brands. So when I saw this new one they came out with that the strips are even cheaper it was like a no brainer to get it! It's small and easy to use. I compared my old Relion meter reading to the new one and they within 1 point of each other so I would say the new meter is accurate. One thing I would like to complain about tho. They give you a carry case but its not able to carry the meter AND the canister of strips at the same time let alone a lancet devise and the lancets! That would have been real nice for traveling. But oh well. What do you expect for the price! Other than that its a great little meter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

resonable

07/13/2014
By ,
boxford, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
performs well and reasonable cost
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Test Strip Problems

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I have 3 of these Relion Testers. One for the house, one for the car, and one for work. Because If not I lose them or forget them. What I have found is you can get a bad batch of strips. I will get the E13 error on over 15 strips out of a batch and test 5 on each tester while receiving the same error. However, when I grab a different batch of strips they all work correctly and within the same numbers varying maybe a point at times. The E13 code is for not enough blood but when the batch of strips are bad you can saturate it and you will get the error. I get a received a bad batch of strips about 3 times in the last couple of years.However given the price compared to the competition it still is more cost efficient. Mine have always read on par with the doctor's office.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Readings are high
Posted 09/15/2014
All readings with the Relion Prime are higher than the Bayer Contour. I have the bottle of liquid for checking the Bayer meter and it's accurate. Bayer reads 271, Relion reads 471. I checked it on myself (non-diabetic). Bayer fasting reading 84, Relion fasting reading 97. I don't think the Relion is accurate but no one seems to sell the testing solution so I can't check it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next