Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Keep your blood glucose levels in check with this ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System. This Blood Glucose Monitor System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and will give you an accurate result in a fast as seven seconds. The ReliOn Glucose Monitor in red has a 250-test memory and is simple to use. You can test your levels on your palm or fingertip. It comes with a 3-volt battery and instructions in both English and Spanish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.398 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation65%115 out of 176reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 63 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

this is a real good deal

04/05/2014
By ,
youngstown, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very inexpensive for both the meter and strips. I use it just to check my sugar level , sometimes my sugar gets low and don't want to constantly borrow someone else's meter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Uses batteries at rate of one per week

03/29/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought meter and thought I had a good products at good price. I found that meter will operate only one week on a battery. Batteries for meter cost about $6.00 for two at Walmart.
Meter is not dependable. Absolute junk. Do Not Buy ReliON Prime Glucose Meter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Glucose meter

03/21/2014
By ,
McKeesport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and the results are fast
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Great Blood Glucose meter

03/14/2014
By ,
Jasper, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and is very affordable, so are the strips.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Different Response Slope

03/04/2014
By ,
Oshkosh WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've compared this meter to the Prodigy meters. As Other people have noted the readings are higher than expected in comparison to the Prodigy. However at readings near 80 there was no appreciable difference between the meters which suggests that the Relion has a steeper response slope. I have no idea if that holds true below 80 as I am unwilling to use myself as a guinea pig. If you have to use this meter, I suggest you test more often, especially if you are shooting for tight control until you get a feel for the response slope.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Relion Prime Meter

03/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been using the ReliOn Meter for a few years. When I saw the ReliOn Prime at such a good price-I purchased it. It works just-as well as-my old one. The strips are half the price of my old one also, so great to be able to buy supplies at a cheaper price. I would recommend this meter. Just takes a tiny amount of blood and results in seconds. Thank you, Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Excellent glucose tester/strips for the price.

03/02/2014
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this meter twice a day for a couple of weeks now, and my readings are always around what they should be. I have checked it against my old Accu-Chek Nano meter on several occasions, and this meter is always within 2 or 3 numbers of the Accu-Chek. I have not had any error codes on any of the strips, as some have reported. So I would recommend this meter highly due to it's accuracy and cost savings on the test strips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

wonderful surprise, great product

02/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this meter a month ago for my mom when hers stopping even with new batteries. We tried everything from One Touch to Contour to reilone ultima. After reading the reviews and looking up on the web, I got this for her to try. What a surprise! This meter is very easy to use and very accurate. My mom is 88 and loves it she said it easy to read and use for her since she has to test 4 times a day. When we went to the doctor's two weeks ago I checked against their machine on the same hand and same finger right after the nurse did it It Was within 5 points of each other. The nurse told me that 20 to 40 points on different machines is normal the ones for home are not as complex as theirs is. I had read that on the web as well. Tuesday mom went to have a heart catheterization and stayed over night I decided to if it would stand to the test and it did! I tested it twice first right after the nurse and the second 10 minutes after both were 5 points differents. THIS A GREAT METER for a GREAT PRICE and so are the strips you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Scary

02/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My meter runs 100 to 120 points HIGH. I checked my sugars
1st check 162
2nd check 281
3rd check 330
All within the time it took to reload and re stick.
I am on insulin and dose according to readings. Had a serious low before realizing the meter was reading really high!
It doesn't save money if you have to check 3 or 4 times and still not trust it.
It was a new meter and new battery.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Great meter - strips are VERY inexpensive and work

04/04/2014
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forget about paying $1+ for strips - the ones this meter uses are accurate and work just fine. The blood drop needed is probably a BIT larger than the Accu-strips I used in the past, but a 2mm droplet works well, the strip sucks the droplet up and the meter gives an accurate reading in seconds. I compared this with my AccuCheck for 6 different readings over a couple of days and it was within 5% on all readings!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

it was a waste of money..

02/18/2014
By ,
sioux falls sd.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this machine for a 2 week period along with a freestyle lite.... it ran from 30 to 40 points higher at all times......
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

this is a must for all diabetics

02/14/2014
By ,
maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the price of the meter and test strips makes it affordable to test more often
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

It really DOES read high!

02/13/2014
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so unhappy with this purchase! This meter runs very high just like the reviews said it does. I took my sugar and it said 129 this morning. I took my sugar immediately after on my mother in laws Accu-Check and it said 115. That is a big difference! I am soooooo sorry I bought this meter! Makes me so mad because I also bought four boxes of test strips with it. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bartlesville, OK
no glucose meters are exact
Posted 03/19/2014
Actuallly, that's a small difference 129/115. Even my supposedly best meter there is, One Touch, can give me a reading of 129 & then after immediately testing again can be anywhere from 5 to 20 points different - it's just something we have to live with, for now anyway.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

great deal

03/25/2014
By ,
los angeles,ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this meter for my wife.She likes it more than her high price one.Great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Good Meter for Price!

03/23/2014
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay normally I don't write reviews on products, but I had to make an exception for this one.
My son and I both have Diabetes (1) and the cost for co-pays can get ridiculous! So I am always trying to find something that may cut cost here and there without cutting quality. We both use the Bayer Contour Meter and the strips are so ridiculously expensive, especially when both of us test over 7 times a day! UGGGGH! So when I saw the commercial for the Reli-On meter and strips I said what the heck, might as well try them. (Just for me not my son) I did read all the reviews before making my purchase. After reading the reviews I made a decision to just buy the meter and one pack of strips for a trial basis. I noticed that a lot of the reviews stated the meter was very inaccurate, so I did do a comparison with my Bayer Contour meter to the Reli-On Prime. It was a little off, but not too much. About 20 notches, but that was easy to adjust to. (maybe 1 unit to 2 units difference for insulin correction intake) This was not a big deal to me because if you know how to take your insulin dosages properly you can just make these adjustments mentally. I know this is kinda of lengthy so I will just sum it up. For the cost this is a great cost effective meter. I recommend you do a comparison the first two days just to see how far off, if any, the meter is and then adjust your insulin dosages accordingly. Very pleased and will continue to purchase these strips for as long as they are $9.00 a box. A God send if you ask me. Thanks for reading and hope this will help in making your decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

As good as any other brand.

03/23/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as good as the Contour by Bayer, which is twice as expensive now that my insurance no longer covers it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

runs high

02/01/2014
By ,
chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My doctor wanted me to test my blood sugar while dieting, as i am hypoglycemic. I purchased this one on the pharmacist recommendation. I was pleased when i tested for the first time as it was easy, and being new at this, was happy that the process was not that complicated. It was affordable and something to do temporarily. When i had my sugar tested at the doctor's it was 68, very very low. I had an apple, went to Walmart and purchased this. Went home read all the instructions and gave it a try. I tested 3 times and it said 98. I was shocked! and at first pleased because my sugar was up! I had a salad with 4 oz of chicken breast and a tea. In the morning i woke up and tested it was 101. I have continued to test, and convinced at times my sugar was way way too low, tested before eating, it has never read under 90. I just got over a brutal stomach flu, no appetite, barely ate anything except homemade vegetable soup, no carbs, no root vegetables. After, not eating anything but this once a day for 2 days, and not able to keep anything down, and eating no sugar (as i thought i was okay per the test), my sugar read 101 in this morning before consuming any food. I started to become worried…, am i diabetic? Went to the doctor regarding the flu and asked for my sugar to be tested, i purposely didn't eat anything before the test, it was 74. The Reli-On runs high. If it is 25pts off, then when it read 90, i was close to danger zone. I am going to buy another brand, It may be affordable, but it isn't worth it, if it is not Reli-on-able!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Desperately needed

03/15/2014
By ,
Louisville.KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a test meter for my diabetes and found this one. I use it every day. Pricing is super. ...better than the one I was using . Would recommend to anyone needing to track their blood glucose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

I have other meters which work better.

03/11/2014
By ,
Tillson, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Other meters work better and the test strips appear not to always draw blood. I've had to stop using it as test strips are unreliable and meter gives wrong readings too. I've had to use 3 test strips before I could find one that worked. Not worth the money spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Waste of money

01/23/2014
By ,
East TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this when I ran out of my other product. I tried it and it seemed to run high. I had one of my friends use it to compare it with hers and it was a lot higher reading. Then I tried it against another meter and it was at least 39 points higher. I e mailed the company and waited a week, no reply. I then called and had to talk to 2 different people and they told me that everytime I use this I should have a different meter to comapre the reading to if I feel like it is to high. They said they would send the solution to test it with but that would take a couple of weeks to receive it. It's now been 3 weeks since I bought the meter and I have not been able to get a true reading on my blood sugar. If I have to keep buying my old strips to be able to check the results of these then how am I saving money. I am going back to my old strips and meter and these will go in the garbage where they belong.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next