Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Keep your blood glucose levels in check with this ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System. This Blood Glucose Monitor System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and will give you an accurate result in a fast as seven seconds. The ReliOn Glucose Monitor in red has a 250-test memory and is simple to use. You can test your levels on your palm or fingertip. It comes with a 3-volt battery and instructions in both English and Spanish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.472 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(282 Reviews) 257
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
49
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 star
76
Customer Recommendation68%191 out of 282reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
49
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 star
76
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Junk

06/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yes the strips are cheaper, but you have to use 4 of them every time you check your blood. Only reads about 80 percent of the time.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

ReliOn glucose monitor shuts down too fast

06/20/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you don't mind the monitor shutting off in less than 7 seconds once the test strip is applied, then this is the monitor for you. You have to be really really fast sticking your finger and touching the test strip. My old ReliOn monitor worked well. This newer model stinks.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

False high readings

06/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am PREdiabetic,and was not able to afford the Accutech nano strips anymore,so I decided to try this meter because of the glowing reviews. The first container of strips gave me comparable results to the Accutech Nano, but the second vial of strips was reading 15-20 points higher than the Accutech. If you are really watching your diet,you know what makes your readings higher,and I was being very vigilant about what I was eating,yet my readings were very high for me. I would not recommend the Relion Prime because of the inconsistency of readings which may affect your health,especially if you are a diabetic and need to have accurate readings for your insulin dosage.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Just as good as the More expensive

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good products. it is as good at the more expensive brands. It a bargain at the price it is. I don't have any complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Great Product

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this product for 2 years and I find it to be very accurate, easy to use and all at a good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Waste of money

06/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Relion Prime Monitor & Strips due to the fact that the One Touch Strips are so expensive but just to be safe I compared my readings from both meters from the same blood draw. THE PURCHASE OF THE RELION WAS A WASTE OF MONEY!!! The Relion Meter is consistently between 10 - 40 points higher.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

This meter is garbage

06/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The is the biggest electronic piece of junk known to man. It loves the error code E13. Wash your hands, thats a E13. Alcohol swab your finger and let it dry, thats a E13. Blood sugar dropping and you are in a hurry, thats a E13. Stick fingers on your left hand, thats a E13. Raining, thats a E13. Sun shining, thats a E13.Dirty dishes in the sink, thats a E13.
I took 3 different readings within 2 minutes, after 2 E13 errors, I finally got a 78, then 198 and then 188.
Run out of test strips and most likely they are out of stock.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

RELION PRIME BLOOD GLUCOSE MONITORING SYSTEM

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORKS VERY WELL EASY TO USE ,,,,,,,EASY TO READ REALLY FAST
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Great price.

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is reliable and a great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Accurate and inexpensive

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meter is very small making it easy to take with you. Testing is very fast, the result is in under ten seconds. No coding is necessary. The battery lasts forever, but is replaceable for less than the cost of a new meter. Test strips are the most inexpensive available. They allow me to test my sugar twice as often as the cost of other brands. Finally, Relion Prime needs the tiniest amount of blood when compared to other meters.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Inexpensive but does what it needs to

06/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked one of these up because of the cheap test st rips. I test my sugar a lot and my lousy insurance doesn't cover them. $9 for 50 st rips is a bargain compared to other meters.
I don't think it is super accurate. I've tried testing multiple times from the same finger poke and have seen results vary by about 10%. Keep that in mind, especially if your sugar is high. That being said, it's still good for making sure your sugar isn't way out of line.
The unit is pretty easy to use. Put the strip in and it turns on and waits for you to apply blood. Maybe I should rephrase that. You don't drop the blood onto the s trip as with some older meters, it's more touching the edge of the st rip to the blood so it gets pulled in.
I bought my first of these meters 2 or 3 years ago. It worked well enough that I picked up a second one (and the associated supplies) to keep in my car.
They worked well until recently when I started getting a lot of E13 errors, meaning too much or not enough blood one one of them. I went through half a container of stri ps before realizing there may be a problem with the meter. Same st rips with my other meter gave me no problems.
I figured the unit was worn out and replaced it. For $17 I don't mind doing that every couple years. I've since replaced the one I had in my car also, and bought another to keep in a backpack with all of my emergency gear.
I would definitely recommend this. It's a good unit for not a lot of money, and would also be great as a backup.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

TRUE READING ,GREAT PRICE

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a senior age and on Medicare you hit the donut hole they wanted $150 to allow me three hundred test strips since I am in the "donut hole " for medical purchases. This product is fantastic just as reliable and is a godsend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Reading is not accurate.

05/31/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product is not as good as it is projected. Readings are not accurate.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Test did not come out comparable

05/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have just recently been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. I took my glucose level on a one touch ultra device and then with the relion. The first number was 40 points off, then I took it again before breakfast on both machines. It was 60 points higher. I cannot afford the strips for the one touch with the added expense of many new doctor visits copays and other medical testing. I am all out of sorts because my numbers are going down with medicine (another expense), but I am now stuck with yet another meter that does not read correctly with no idea why.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Waste of money - not accurate for low glucose

05/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it was not that expensive and the test strips were so cheap compared to other meters (17 cents apiece), even though it was not even covered by my insurance and I had to pay out of pocket. After using it for a few months, my daily fasting and other readings seemed higher than they should be compared to lab results. I started doing comparisons to a One Touch Ultra2 (provided by insurance) and to lab results. I discovered that this meter consistently read too high (+25 mg/dl or more) for glucose levels below 140. It was fine for readings above 150, but since I'm trying to stay under 140 that didn't do me much good.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Accurate and Easy to Use

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meter is easy to use and the instructions are easy to understand. It is a very accurate meter and I recommend it to all diabetics who need or want a new meter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

ReliOn is Anything but Reliable

04/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchased one of these meters as my insurance provided a Ultra One-Touch and I got a prescription for the test strips to go with that meter. Prior to the order running out, I asked the pharmacist in the WalMart about the quality of the ReliOn meters and test strips. I was told they were just as accurate as any other meter. I purchased it since my insurance did not cover much of the cost of the test strips at all and I have been comparing it to the readings on my Ultra One-Touch meter. I use the same finger and test them both from the same blood at the same time. So far the ReliOn has been off by a minimum of 21 points begin toward the higher side at every reading and sometimes it exceeds that much. While 20 or more points may not be so much for someone who is seriously diabetic, for a pre-diabetic those numbers at not acceptable. I would not recommend these meters or test strips. While they are cheaper, for me and my goals they are not reliable.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

really reli on

02/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cost is the best I have found .Preforms better then my old tester.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

works ok for the price

02/16/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as accurate as my other glucose meter; but, however, the cost of the test strips is much lower, more affordable, and thus I am able to make multiple checks in a day to give me feedback on glucose levels and what I am eating.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Not to satisfied with the product.

01/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hard to work nad instructions are not reader friendly.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 258 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next