Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Keep your blood glucose levels in check with this ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System. This Blood Glucose Monitor System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and will give you an accurate result in a fast as seven seconds. The ReliOn Glucose Monitor in red has a 250-test memory and is simple to use. You can test your levels on your palm or fingertip. It comes with a 3-volt battery and instructions in both English and Spanish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.494 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(237 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
43
3 stars
10
2 stars
14
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation68%161 out of 237reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
43
3 stars
10
2 stars
14
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Good in a pinch

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to pickup one of these meters & strips because I got into a spot where I had to wait for insurance to approve more of my regular strips. The meter works well. I only had a couple screw up & that was really my fault. The only thing that I would like to see changed is where you insert the strip. It is a little tricky sticking it into the meter. Other than that, its a good meter.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

A+

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as a much more expensive unit and less expensive. To operate
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

I have 2 now

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been pleased with this meter. I'm pre-diabetic and my blood sugar has recently improved a lot. So I bought a second meter to make sure the first is still working ok. (it checked ok with the test fluid) They are pretty close in their readings and I'm happy with that. I don't need something exact in my situation. The selling point is that the test strips are affordable.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

High readings

12/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This meter for me has given high and erratic results. My current meter shows my blood sugar about 155. I have confirmed this with my doctor. This meter reads anywhere from 11 to 35 points high.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Maybe mine's defective but....

12/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It read 5 points higher than my OneTouch UltraMini for 2 weeks. At least that was consistent. Suddenly I was getting waking readings in the 120s, and readings of over 100 after 3 hours of fasting. On a hunch I pulled out the OneTouch to discover it was way lower. I did testing over the phone with ReliOn this morning ((102 vs 84) and they are sending a new one out. I can deal with it being off if it's consistent but it lost even though. If they new one doesn't work I hope to get my money back as otherwise it's a complete waste.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Off target

12/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping to save some big dollars on monitoring supplies but I won't be doing it here... If accuracy is important for your diabetic monitoring this one will not do. I have been running tests for the past several days and this monitor has been off from 20-40 mg/dl when compared to a clinically tested high cost monitor.
Not a good buy if it doesn't work right.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Satisfied customer.

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't hesitate to buy this monitor if you need to save money! The monitor works as good as any other and you really can't beat the price of the test strips. I'm so tired of trying to scrape up enough money for the high price of test strips but not anymore!
I have already recommended it to many friends and relatives.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

not very accurate

12/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i have 2 of these meters. I keep one in my camper and one in my truck as a backup. These meters are consistently reading 30-50 points higher than my OneTouch. One of them eventually settled into a comparable range, but i wouldn't want to base an insulin dosage based on these readings. As a backup its fine to give you a general idea of your readings, and you can't beat the price of the test strips!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Excellent product

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the money, the best you can ever get considering how cheap are the ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips. In my world the test strips are more important then anything else since it is so expensive just about everywhere but the strips this unit uses are well made for on the budget people. The tester itself it is very good as well, accurate, fast, and reliable. I really wish that nobody will ever have to use any glucose monitor ever,........... however if you should ever need to buy one of these tester, go ahead and get one of those and you will be very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

good buy

11/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this easy to use (as soon as I understood how to add the blood, that is), and it was recommended as accurate by a number of sources. The price was way better than some other brands.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Great product ,reliable and easy.

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great.Love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

My tester

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it so far. I ordered one for my husband and one for me. A great deal and works as well as my expensive tester. We plan to use the testers forever. Thank you for selling this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

okay, but off by 10

09/15/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have to agree with the other posts, this is off by about 10 points, if not more. At first I thought it was the strips, but I think it is the meter. I have compared it many times to my OneTouch meter. I like the OneTouch meter, but the strips are very expensive so I continue to use the Walmart brand because it is cheap and easy to pick up from the store without having a prescription.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Test regularly, and have money left for food!

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used the OneTouch Ultra system for years. Great meter/system ... ridiculously overpriced strips. I found myself testing less frequently and/or lurking around on Ebay trying to find better buys on other people's nearly-expired, surplus strips. So, I was naturally DELIGHTED to finally find a maker of a blood glucose monitoring system that isn't robbing its customers blind on the strips. In short, I got: the meter, lancing device, 200 lancets and 200 test strips for less than the retail price of a hundred OneTouch strips ... alone.
I pulled the meter out, turned it on, stuck in a test strip, drew the blood, touched it to the strip, the reservoir took the sample flawlessly, and the meter gave me an accurate reading in a few seconds. Can't understand or explain how/why some people seem to have had numerous "error" readings or other problems, other than thinking they might be handling the meter/strips incorrectly, or received a defective meter and/or batch of strips.
I agree that the pouch included with the meter is only so-so. I'm actually using my old one in its place (mainly because it has a larger, zippered pocket inside for the lancets), but the pouch is a minor quibble with a meter/system that is otherwise so reasonably priced. This meter appears to have all the same function and accuracy as my OneTouch, at a MUCH lower "operating cost." What a godsend ... thank you, Relion and Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

easy to use

10/29/2014
By ,
the colony, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

incomplete

10/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The monitor is great and seems to be able to be used just fine. I am very disappointed though, the applicant sticker did not come with it. Now I have to go out and buy this separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Meter works well.

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meter works well and test strips are inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

More errors than readings

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this meter for about 6 months. While this it seems cost-effective and the strips seem inexpensive, you will receive more errors than readings. Many of the errors say not enough blood, but I was practically bathing the end of the strip in blood and still receiving error. The strips work out to about .18 each, when you have to use three or four to get a reading it becomes much less cost effective.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Worst meter I have ever used!!!

09/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This meter is terrible at monitoring your blood glucose, just today I tested 10 times and each on was an ERROR. Yes I make sure my hands are clean and dry, carefully put the test strips in the right way.....but 10 times is a bit much. If I have to use that many strips and still no reading this product is a waste of money. I just hope I can get a refund for the meter. I'll go back to using my ONE TOUCH, best meter I've ever used!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Great Backup Device .

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed another blood tester to better monitor my blood readings at a lower cost per test. Each test with this device saves me $ 1.00 . Now able to make many extra tests to see just what my blood is doing after certain meals or when I feel a certain way such as confused or my vision is sharp or not so sharp . It is a great learning tool for me !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next