Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Keep your blood glucose levels in check with this ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System. This Blood Glucose Monitor System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and will give you an accurate result in a fast as seven seconds. The ReliOn Glucose Monitor in red has a 250-test memory and is simple to use. You can test your levels on your palm or fingertip. It comes with a 3-volt battery and instructions in both English and Spanish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.495 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation67%141 out of 210reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Get what you pay for

08/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Reli On Prime may be cheap but it winds up costing a lot more for your strips! A package of 50 strips is only $9, but when you have to use 5,6,7 strips before you can get a reading other than ERROR you are actually paying much more. Also, the readings are not very accurate. I get a reading of 127 and a minute later it reads 96 and a minute after that it is 140. So even when the strips do work, the readings are wrong. So people, once again, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Nice meter and strips at a great price!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a glucose meter that was supplied by the VA, but only a limited number of strips. I picked this up to monitor my glucose levels and I am very pleased with it. I tested both meters from the same blood sample. The meter from the VA showed 140 and the ReliOn meter showed 147...pretty close! I think this is a good bargain and would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Good value

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With insurance I was paying $25 for 50 strips, Without using my insurance I paid $9 for 50
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Excellent choice and very reasonably priced.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After receiving sticker shock for my most recent Acucheck strips order, I turned to Walmart and found the Relion meter and strips. I tested them against my current meter and found the results to be within a few points of one another at a fraction of the cost. i will be purchasing a second meter for work. I highly recommend this meter and the strips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Good Product

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am borderline diabetic and use this to keep watch on blood sugar, works good and very easy to use and read results.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Does not come with lancet, strips, or pins

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still a good value, but Wal-Mart needs to do a better job or notifying customers that it does not come with a lancet, strips, or pins. I live in Alaska and have to wait for delivery. After receiving my kit, I had to order and wait for a lancet. A glucose monitor is useless without a lancet and better disclosure would be nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Great Value

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and you certainly can't beat the price. It works as good or better than monitors that cost three times as much or more. I love the fact that the strips are the lowest cost ones I've ever seen as well. I check my blood because of family history and I want to prevent diabetes and to be able to do it for a low cost is fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Frustrating

07/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had a ReliOn Ultimate for several years and it's been very accurate when compared to results at the Dr or on my sister's very expensive monitors. When I saw how affordable the strips for this one were, I bought it. I didn't have much luck with mine. Averaged about 25 pts higher than my Ultimate when it wasn't erroring out. Since I am trying to control pre-diabetes thru diet and exercise, I am constantly testing how different foods effect my readings and a 25 point spread is a little aggrevating when trying to get from a 127 to under 100.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

GREAT METER

06/04/2014
By ,
Ventura
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NO CODING ISSUES! Quick and easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Nice little meter

06/04/2014
By ,
Conneaut, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Relion brand meters for several yrs due to them being cheaper than name brands. So when I saw this new one they came out with that the strips are even cheaper it was like a no brainer to get it! It's small and easy to use. I compared my old Relion meter reading to the new one and they within 1 point of each other so I would say the new meter is accurate. One thing I would like to complain about tho. They give you a carry case but its not able to carry the meter AND the canister of strips at the same time let alone a lancet devise and the lancets! That would have been real nice for traveling. But oh well. What do you expect for the price! Other than that its a great little meter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

resonable

07/13/2014
By ,
boxford, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
performs well and reasonable cost
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Test Strip Problems

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I have 3 of these Relion Testers. One for the house, one for the car, and one for work. Because If not I lose them or forget them. What I have found is you can get a bad batch of strips. I will get the E13 error on over 15 strips out of a batch and test 5 on each tester while receiving the same error. However, when I grab a different batch of strips they all work correctly and within the same numbers varying maybe a point at times. The E13 code is for not enough blood but when the batch of strips are bad you can saturate it and you will get the error. I get a received a bad batch of strips about 3 times in the last couple of years.However given the price compared to the competition it still is more cost efficient. Mine have always read on par with the doctor's office.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Great Product

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product and walmart have fast Shipping when you order on line.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

might not be accurate

07/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have my doubts as to this item being accurate. Lots of different readings in a short period of time.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Too many error messages

07/09/2014
By ,
Guam
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used glucometers for more than 20 years and this one is the worst. I threw away 6 boxes of strips and the glucometer. I got an average of five error readings for every actual reading.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

I Prefer My ReliOn Prime

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been testing with an Accu-Chek Active meter since 2006. Recently my doctor changed my meds and for a while wants me to test before and after every meal and at bedtime. That's seven times a day and you can run through a lot of strips in a hurry, at $73 for fifty Accu-Chek. I saw the ReliOn advertised on television with fifty strips for 9 bucks, so I bought a ReliOn Prime. For two weeks now I've been testing with both meters side by side, same time, same blood sample, and comparing the readings. The ReliOn consistently reads about 30 points lower than the Accu-Chek. I don't know which one is accurate, or even if either one is accurate, but that doesn't concern me. The reading isn't as important to me as the trending, and with my new meds my readings are trending lower. I prefer my ReliOn Prime because it is easier to use, requires less blood, and is more compact... and of course the strips are more affordable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Great for everyday

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a diabetic and I stopped testing because I could not afford the strips ($35 for 50 strips). I managed to get my diabetes under control and stopped doing all the RIGHT things. At the time (June 2013) my A1C was 6.3. In May 2014 it was 8.3. OUCH! Reli-Prime made testing 6x a day (before and 2hours after) AFFORDABLE! The other quality is out of 50 test strips- I had 1 error reading. I am impressed and encourage others -USE the meter- Test often.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

I found this meter compares to my Contour EZ

07/02/2014
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this meter at our local Walmart Store. I needed an extra meter to keep in my purse as I keep forgetting to pack my Contour EZ Monitor. It was recommended to me on the ADA website through Community Blog. I also researched and read lots of reviews, good and bad. I decided to give it a try. I compared it to my Contour EZ BG Monitor. I got 133 with the Relion Prime and I got 134 with my Contour EZ. I have tried several times now comparing every so often. I am finding my readings within 3-5 points! I am very happy to find this and save lots on those test strips! Only $18 per 100ct! Compare to $60 per 100ct! Big difference! I am so far happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

not expensive

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
strips are fine costs less
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Not accurate

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not accurate
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next