Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Keep your blood glucose levels in check with this ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System. This Blood Glucose Monitor System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and will give you an accurate result in a fast as seven seconds. The ReliOn Glucose Monitor in red has a 250-test memory and is simple to use. You can test your levels on your palm or fingertip. It comes with a 3-volt battery and instructions in both English and Spanish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.498 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(251 Reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
45
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation69%173 out of 251reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 88 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
45
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Inexpensive and easy to use

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and is much cheaper than what I was using before.
Only thing I don't like about it is it doesn't seem to have any sound. A "beep" would be nice to let me know it's accepted the sample.
Other than that well worth the money
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Does its job!

01/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bulkier than my previous meter but the price can't be beat. Also like fact that you don't need coded test strips!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

as accurate as a potato

01/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did a side by side comparison with a freestyle lite, and the readings from the freestyle in all three tests, were within 20 of each other. The same 3 on the relion had a difference of 43, 66, & 52. This meter is garbage. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Randomly shuts off

01/10/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This meter is easy to use, but it will randomly shut off in the middle of a test. This happens at least once aday. This causes me to waste test strips since ineed to start over.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

in the end its cheaper

12/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
its about twice as much as the reli on you buy in store, however this monitors strips are cheaper by a 3rd, so if your testing 3-5x a day its definitely a better value. although it doesn't come with a finger pricker, but most of us diabetics use 1 from a previous monitoring system they liked and now like the pricker for less pain of sorts, so I just use the old one from my reli on. you can purchase the one that goes with this monitor for about 15 bucks. but it's just like any other pricker...monitor tests run the same as my other, so in the long run its a better value because the strips are cheaper!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

I improved my meter

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great meter, phenomenal strip price. The strip insertion was very awkward (black hole in black plastic) so I put a strip in and painted the plastic w/ white fingernail polish. Still holding up after 6 mos of hard use. Ordering strips online is another significant advantage. Transferring strips to a smaller container lets the kit fit into my carry bag w/ room for a tube of dextrose tabs. Best meter option available IMHO.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Diabetic Testing Supplies

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd meter. They both work great. I keep one at home and one in my purse so I can test anytime, anywhere, as needed. Great price and definitely affordable whether you have insurance or not!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Functional and inexpensive

01/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This meter works. It's not small. It's not stylish. It's not pretty. It requires a larger drop of blood than many other meters. Inserting test strips into the meter is kinda
clunkish. BUT, it works, reliably.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Low cost, high value. Very thankful to Walmart.

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently found out I was diabetic and I can't afford insurance. My mother in law sent me a Freest*** Lite monitor with a pack of sample strips. When I found out how much the strips cost ($174.99 per 100) I was floored. I found this meter at Walmart and tested it against another meter and my numbers were within 10 points. That for me is absolutely acceptable. Even if you keep this as a spare you can't go wrong. This is my go to meter now. Thank you Walmart, I wouldn't be able to afford the other brand. God bless.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

good meter

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
haven't had mine long but works great so far and the most affordable i could fing
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

Good in a pinch

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to pickup one of these meters & strips because I got into a spot where I had to wait for insurance to approve more of my regular strips. The meter works well. I only had a couple screw up & that was really my fault. The only thing that I would like to see changed is where you insert the strip. It is a little tricky sticking it into the meter. Other than that, its a good meter.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Extraordinary value with a few more errors

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe the extraordinarily low cost of these strips has allowed me to change my life by testing far more frequently providing valuable feedback and powerful motivation. I do get a few errors if the sample amount is not correct, but at this price, it is well worth it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Blazing Savings

01/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I own three Reli-On test meters, love them all, but this one is the cheapest of any others to use on the market. I am on a fixed income. a low one at that, and I can afford these strips
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

A+

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as a much more expensive unit and less expensive. To operate
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

waste of $$

12/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product worked for a week and then the only measurements i received were error messages. This product will waste your time, $$, test strips and patience.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Affordable Glucose Testing!

12/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ReliOn Prime glucose testing system is a good, inexpensive way test your blood glucose. It doesn't have a lot of whistles and bells, but it seems to be accurate. The test strips are considerably less expensive than other brands.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red

I have 2 now

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been pleased with this meter. I'm pre-diabetic and my blood sugar has recently improved a lot. So I bought a second meter to make sure the first is still working ok. (it checked ok with the test fluid) They are pretty close in their readings and I'm happy with that. I don't need something exact in my situation. The selling point is that the test strips are affordable.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

High readings

12/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This meter for me has given high and erratic results. My current meter shows my blood sugar about 155. I have confirmed this with my doctor. This meter reads anywhere from 11 to 35 points high.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Maybe mine's defective but....

12/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It read 5 points higher than my OneTouch UltraMini for 2 weeks. At least that was consistent. Suddenly I was getting waking readings in the 120s, and readings of over 100 after 3 hours of fasting. On a hunch I pulled out the OneTouch to discover it was way lower. I did testing over the phone with ReliOn this morning ((102 vs 84) and they are sending a new one out. I can deal with it being off if it's consistent but it lost even though. If they new one doesn't work I hope to get my money back as otherwise it's a complete waste.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue.

Off target

12/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping to save some big dollars on monitoring supplies but I won't be doing it here... If accuracy is important for your diabetic monitoring this one will not do. I have been running tests for the past several days and this monitor has been off from 20-40 mg/dl when compared to a clinically tested high cost monitor.
Not a good buy if it doesn't work right.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next