Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

The ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and gives accurate results in as little as seven seconds. Easy to use, this ReliOn Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue has a no-code meter and 250-test memory. Fingertip or palm testing can be done with the ReliOn Glucose Monitor, and it has proven accuracy. The instructions are provided in English and Spanish, and it includes one 3-volt battery.
Average Customer Rating:
3.485 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(227 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
42
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
62
Customer Recommendation68%154 out of 227reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
42
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
62
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Test regularly, and have money left for food!

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used the OneTouch Ultra system for years. Great meter/system ... ridiculously overpriced strips. I found myself testing less frequently and/or lurking around on Ebay trying to find better buys on other people's nearly-expired, surplus strips. So, I was naturally DELIGHTED to finally find a maker of a blood glucose monitoring system that isn't robbing its customers blind on the strips. In short, I got: the meter, lancing device, 200 lancets and 200 test strips for less than the retail price of a hundred OneTouch strips ... alone.
I pulled the meter out, turned it on, stuck in a test strip, drew the blood, touched it to the strip, the reservoir took the sample flawlessly, and the meter gave me an accurate reading in a few seconds. Can't understand or explain how/why some people seem to have had numerous "error" readings or other problems, other than thinking they might be handling the meter/strips incorrectly, or received a defective meter and/or batch of strips.
I agree that the pouch included with the meter is only so-so. I'm actually using my old one in its place (mainly because it has a larger, zippered pocket inside for the lancets), but the pouch is a minor quibble with a meter/system that is otherwise so reasonably priced. This meter appears to have all the same function and accuracy as my OneTouch, at a MUCH lower "operating cost." What a godsend ... thank you, Relion and Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

easy to use

10/29/2014
By ,
the colony, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

incomplete

10/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The monitor is great and seems to be able to be used just fine. I am very disappointed though, the applicant sticker did not come with it. Now I have to go out and buy this separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

More errors than readings

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this meter for about 6 months. While this it seems cost-effective and the strips seem inexpensive, you will receive more errors than readings. Many of the errors say not enough blood, but I was practically bathing the end of the strip in blood and still receiving error. The strips work out to about .18 each, when you have to use three or four to get a reading it becomes much less cost effective.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great Backup Device .

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed another blood tester to better monitor my blood readings at a lower cost per test. Each test with this device saves me $ 1.00 . Now able to make many extra tests to see just what my blood is doing after certain meals or when I feel a certain way such as confused or my vision is sharp or not so sharp . It is a great learning tool for me !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Readings are consistantlantly high

10/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FreeStyle is fairly accurate but prohibitively expensive. Using same blood sample, ReliOn is 15-40 points higher. Why can't this be corrected? I use ReliOn during the day, but FreeStyle at night.
No other major problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

inaccurate

10/01/2014
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Constantly read 25-30 points higher than two of my other old meters, Call and their answer was it was within 20% accurate and they would send out a test solution, which I have yet to receive. I would be a very good value if it were accurate. I shop at wall mart at the store, and on line, this is a major disappointment,
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Prime blood monitoring system

09/17/2014
By ,
Taacoma WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is easy to use and offers the same options as an expensive model. I ordered this and picked it up when it came. The test strips weren't available so I had to pay for delivery for them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

ease of use

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the fact keeps past results
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Excellent Value/Great Option to Test More Often

09/08/2014
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I was diagnosed with diabetes my insurance provided me with another brand of meter and strips. I quickly realized that the other brand was going to cost a lot to test as often as I really needed to, at least at the beginning. to get a hold on my disease and being to manage it well. The online community at the ADA highly recommended this meter and strips for it value and reliability, as did a close personal friend so I bought this meter and a pack of strips to try out.
The meter is a pretty basic, no frills model; it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of my other meter or some of the other ones that you can get. But it does the job and it is much cheaper in the long run, even with insurance co-pay, than any other brand/model I'm aware of. I put all of my readings into a paper and electronic (iPhone app) log anyway so the "extras" aren't needed anyway.
The only negative things I can say about the meter/system are in comparison to the Bayer Contour Next EZ that my insurance company started me out with: This system is a little more finicky in that it "wicks" the blood in differently, from the center of the tip of the strip, which took a few tries to get right, and seems ti take a tad more blood to get a reading without getting an error code (E13 I think) for "not enough blood applied" to read. Both the meters say they give you a little time to add more is you don't' get it right the first time without wasting the strip; I have not been successful in getting either to actually do that though yet, so both get a "fail" on this claim in my opinion.
The readings/accuracy from my experience and testimonies from other users seems very good. I have to say that it is a good value and great option for those who want/need to test more often than you doctor or insurance company prescribe/allow for or for those that might not have insurance. In my case, the doctor has allowed for two tests.day but I know that I need to test at least twice, maybe more, than that at this early stage to get a handle on what my body does with different foods and exercise. I couldn't afford to do these extra tests with the Bayer meter because of the cost of the strips/ even with insurance paying toward the Bayer strips, the ReliOn strips are going to be cost me less out of pocket to just but them outright. This system not only work but makes good financial sense, too. And the my local Walmart seems to carry a good, steady supply of the strips so there are no worries about running out and having to wait on mail-order deliveries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Not accurate

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife was recently in the hospital and double checked this meter against the hospital meter. The accuracy was between spot on and 40 points off over several tests. Unacceptable at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Good price for a basic Blood Glucose meter

09/06/2014
By ,
NYS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It serves the primary functions of a basic blood glucose monitoring system. The kit comes with a carrying case and the meter. Please note that the case is on the small size for convenience, but limits you to the amount of supplies you can put into the case.
Unlike the higher end blood glucose monitoring kits, this one DOES NOT come with a vial of control solution to check the meter's calibration and you can only purchase the control solution by calling ReliOn's 800#
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Get what you pay for

08/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Reli On Prime may be cheap but it winds up costing a lot more for your strips! A package of 50 strips is only $9, but when you have to use 5,6,7 strips before you can get a reading other than ERROR you are actually paying much more. Also, the readings are not very accurate. I get a reading of 127 and a minute later it reads 96 and a minute after that it is 140. So even when the strips do work, the readings are wrong. So people, once again, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

Excellent product

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the money, the best you can ever get considering how cheap are the ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips. In my world the test strips are more important then anything else since it is so expensive just about everywhere but the strips this unit uses are well made for on the budget people. The tester itself it is very good as well, accurate, fast, and reliable. I really wish that nobody will ever have to use any glucose monitor ever,........... however if you should ever need to buy one of these tester, go ahead and get one of those and you will be very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Nice meter and strips at a great price!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a glucose meter that was supplied by the VA, but only a limited number of strips. I picked this up to monitor my glucose levels and I am very pleased with it. I tested both meters from the same blood sample. The meter from the VA showed 140 and the ReliOn meter showed 147...pretty close! I think this is a good bargain and would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

My tester

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it so far. I ordered one for my husband and one for me. A great deal and works as well as my expensive tester. We plan to use the testers forever. Thank you for selling this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Good value

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With insurance I was paying $25 for 50 strips, Without using my insurance I paid $9 for 50
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Excellent choice and very reasonably priced.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After receiving sticker shock for my most recent Acucheck strips order, I turned to Walmart and found the Relion meter and strips. I tested them against my current meter and found the results to be within a few points of one another at a fraction of the cost. i will be purchasing a second meter for work. I highly recommend this meter and the strips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Good Product

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am borderline diabetic and use this to keep watch on blood sugar, works good and very easy to use and read results.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

okay, but off by 10

09/15/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have to agree with the other posts, this is off by about 10 points, if not more. At first I thought it was the strips, but I think it is the meter. I have compared it many times to my OneTouch meter. I like the OneTouch meter, but the strips are very expensive so I continue to use the Walmart brand because it is cheap and easy to pick up from the store without having a prescription.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 203 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next