Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

The ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and gives accurate results in as little as seven seconds. Easy to use, this ReliOn Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue has a no-code meter and 250-test memory. Fingertip or palm testing can be done with the ReliOn Glucose Monitor, and it has proven accuracy. The instructions are provided in English and Spanish, and it includes one 3-volt battery.
Average Customer Rating:
3.453 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(287 Reviews) 262
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 star
79
Customer Recommendation67%193 out of 287reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 star
79
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great Price

07/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Work good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

best meter I have used!

07/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've tried several meters but i recently switched from the one touch mini to this and i love it!! i also learned that this meter is beyond accurate and the hospital confirmed it. i strongly reccomend this product. the price is great as well. i spoke to my dr about this meter and he checked it out himself and loved it too. he switched the meters in his office to these!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Quality control in production is needed

07/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As background for my review: I have had diabetes for 30 years and keep my blood sugars under very tight control so that my HbA1c is always within the non-diabetic range. I started using glucose meters when they were the size of a woman's compact pocket book and when it took about a minute to get a result and the amount of blood required was rather alarming by today's standards.
I have used the ReliOn Ultima for over 5 years and I have been very pleased with its performance, so, when I saw this ReliOn Prime offering much, much cheaper strips, I enthusiastically picked one up along with some test strips. Like the review listed as the "most helpful" as of today (7-5-2015), I also compared the readings on the Prime to my Ultima. My experience was that *when the Prime worked* the reading was fairly similar to the reading on my Ultima.
However, since I have Type 1 diabetes (insulin-dependent), I have both high and low blood sugars and I need accurate readings at both ends (whereas folks with Type 2 diabetes will mostly have normal to high readings and rarely have low readings unless they are taking insulin).
The serious problem with the Prime meter was that 9 out of 10 times, the Prime would give me an error when the Ultima showed my blood sugar was low. While the Prime seemed to be able to read high blood sugar values just fine, it gave errors when my sugar was below about 60--values that the Ultima *never* has trouble reading. In fact, several times I would try *3 different test strips* on the Prime and each time it would give me an error even though the Ultima would give me a result the first try when my sugar was low. I read the troubleshooting info in the Prime manual, and nothing solved this problem.
So, if you have Type 2 diabetes and you are mostly using a glucose meter to track normal and high blood sugar levels, this meter might be just fine and could save you some money over the ReliOn Ultima.
However, if you have Type 1 diabetes (or you have Type 2 and take insulin) and need a meter that will consistently provide results for low, normal, and high glucose levels, this meter was not acceptable for me. I have gone back to using the Ultima even though I really wanted to save money on strips. As it is, I lost about $40 on the meter and strips.
Perhaps the problem is quality control on this new product--maybe some of these will read low sugars fine too, but the device I got definitely had a problem reading low sugars for me.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

False high readings

06/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am PREdiabetic,and was not able to afford the Accutech nano strips anymore,so I decided to try this meter because of the glowing reviews. The first container of strips gave me comparable results to the Accutech Nano, but the second vial of strips was reading 15-20 points higher than the Accutech. If you are really watching your diet,you know what makes your readings higher,and I was being very vigilant about what I was eating,yet my readings were very high for me. I would not recommend the Relion Prime because of the inconsistency of readings which may affect your health,especially if you are a diabetic and need to have accurate readings for your insulin dosage.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Just as good as the More expensive

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good products. it is as good at the more expensive brands. It a bargain at the price it is. I don't have any complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great Product

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this product for 2 years and I find it to be very accurate, easy to use and all at a good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Waste of money

06/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Relion Prime Monitor & Strips due to the fact that the One Touch Strips are so expensive but just to be safe I compared my readings from both meters from the same blood draw. THE PURCHASE OF THE RELION WAS A WASTE OF MONEY!!! The Relion Meter is consistently between 10 - 40 points higher.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

Never Been Right

07/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the moment I purchased this item and brought it home I was skeptical when the price was so low and the cashier said no refunds allowed. So I tried it the first time and it read high. So I checked it out with 2 other meters that were my wife's and sure enough it was about 20 points higher that either of the other two. So I thought maybe because it was new. I have now used this meter approximately 20 times and every time it is about the same 20 points higher that either of the other two name brand meters. What good is it now if I can't get a proper reading? It was a waste of money. Thankfully it wasn't the price of the name brands but still useless.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

This meter is garbage

06/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The is the biggest electronic piece of junk known to man. It loves the error code E13. Wash your hands, thats a E13. Alcohol swab your finger and let it dry, thats a E13. Blood sugar dropping and you are in a hurry, thats a E13. Stick fingers on your left hand, thats a E13. Raining, thats a E13. Sun shining, thats a E13.Dirty dishes in the sink, thats a E13.
I took 3 different readings within 2 minutes, after 2 E13 errors, I finally got a 78, then 198 and then 188.
Run out of test strips and most likely they are out of stock.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

RELION PRIME BLOOD GLUCOSE MONITORING SYSTEM

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORKS VERY WELL EASY TO USE ,,,,,,,EASY TO READ REALLY FAST
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great price.

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is reliable and a great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Accurate and inexpensive

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meter is very small making it easy to take with you. Testing is very fast, the result is in under ten seconds. No coding is necessary. The battery lasts forever, but is replaceable for less than the cost of a new meter. Test strips are the most inexpensive available. They allow me to test my sugar twice as often as the cost of other brands. Finally, Relion Prime needs the tiniest amount of blood when compared to other meters.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Inexpensive but does what it needs to

06/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked one of these up because of the cheap test st rips. I test my sugar a lot and my lousy insurance doesn't cover them. $9 for 50 st rips is a bargain compared to other meters.
I don't think it is super accurate. I've tried testing multiple times from the same finger poke and have seen results vary by about 10%. Keep that in mind, especially if your sugar is high. That being said, it's still good for making sure your sugar isn't way out of line.
The unit is pretty easy to use. Put the strip in and it turns on and waits for you to apply blood. Maybe I should rephrase that. You don't drop the blood onto the s trip as with some older meters, it's more touching the edge of the st rip to the blood so it gets pulled in.
I bought my first of these meters 2 or 3 years ago. It worked well enough that I picked up a second one (and the associated supplies) to keep in my car.
They worked well until recently when I started getting a lot of E13 errors, meaning too much or not enough blood one one of them. I went through half a container of stri ps before realizing there may be a problem with the meter. Same st rips with my other meter gave me no problems.
I figured the unit was worn out and replaced it. For $17 I don't mind doing that every couple years. I've since replaced the one I had in my car also, and bought another to keep in a backpack with all of my emergency gear.
I would definitely recommend this. It's a good unit for not a lot of money, and would also be great as a backup.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

TRUE READING ,GREAT PRICE

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a senior age and on Medicare you hit the donut hole they wanted $150 to allow me three hundred test strips since I am in the "donut hole " for medical purchases. This product is fantastic just as reliable and is a godsend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

Partial box items received

07/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not receive the lancet holder; it was missing though the meter itself was included.
Checked meter w/my doctor's office and find it is inaccurate; numbers are way too low compared to my previous Bayer equipment.
Not a good purchase.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Reading is not accurate.

05/31/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product is not as good as it is projected. Readings are not accurate.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Test did not come out comparable

05/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have just recently been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. I took my glucose level on a one touch ultra device and then with the relion. The first number was 40 points off, then I took it again before breakfast on both machines. It was 60 points higher. I cannot afford the strips for the one touch with the added expense of many new doctor visits copays and other medical testing. I am all out of sorts because my numbers are going down with medicine (another expense), but I am now stuck with yet another meter that does not read correctly with no idea why.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Waste of money - not accurate for low glucose

05/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it was not that expensive and the test strips were so cheap compared to other meters (17 cents apiece), even though it was not even covered by my insurance and I had to pay out of pocket. After using it for a few months, my daily fasting and other readings seemed higher than they should be compared to lab results. I started doing comparisons to a One Touch Ultra2 (provided by insurance) and to lab results. I discovered that this meter consistently read too high (+25 mg/dl or more) for glucose levels below 140. It was fine for readings above 150, but since I'm trying to stay under 140 that didn't do me much good.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Accurate and Easy to Use

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meter is easy to use and the instructions are easy to understand. It is a very accurate meter and I recommend it to all diabetics who need or want a new meter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

Junk

06/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yes the strips are cheaper, but you have to use 4 of them every time you check your blood. Only reads about 80 percent of the time.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 263 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next