Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

The ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and gives accurate results in as little as seven seconds. Easy to use, this ReliOn Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue has a no-code meter and 250-test memory. Fingertip or palm testing can be done with the ReliOn Glucose Monitor, and it has proven accuracy. The instructions are provided in English and Spanish, and it includes one 3-volt battery.
Average Customer Rating:
3.398 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation65%115 out of 176reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great meter - strips are VERY inexpensive and work

04/04/2014
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forget about paying $1+ for strips - the ones this meter uses are accurate and work just fine. The blood drop needed is probably a BIT larger than the Accu-strips I used in the past, but a 2mm droplet works well, the strip sucks the droplet up and the meter gives an accurate reading in seconds. I compared this with my AccuCheck for 6 different readings over a couple of days and it was within 5% on all readings!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

great deal

03/25/2014
By ,
los angeles,ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this meter for my wife.She likes it more than her high price one.Great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Good Meter for Price!

03/23/2014
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay normally I don't write reviews on products, but I had to make an exception for this one.
My son and I both have Diabetes (1) and the cost for co-pays can get ridiculous! So I am always trying to find something that may cut cost here and there without cutting quality. We both use the Bayer Contour Meter and the strips are so ridiculously expensive, especially when both of us test over 7 times a day! UGGGGH! So when I saw the commercial for the Reli-On meter and strips I said what the heck, might as well try them. (Just for me not my son) I did read all the reviews before making my purchase. After reading the reviews I made a decision to just buy the meter and one pack of strips for a trial basis. I noticed that a lot of the reviews stated the meter was very inaccurate, so I did do a comparison with my Bayer Contour meter to the Reli-On Prime. It was a little off, but not too much. About 20 notches, but that was easy to adjust to. (maybe 1 unit to 2 units difference for insulin correction intake) This was not a big deal to me because if you know how to take your insulin dosages properly you can just make these adjustments mentally. I know this is kinda of lengthy so I will just sum it up. For the cost this is a great cost effective meter. I recommend you do a comparison the first two days just to see how far off, if any, the meter is and then adjust your insulin dosages accordingly. Very pleased and will continue to purchase these strips for as long as they are $9.00 a box. A God send if you ask me. Thanks for reading and hope this will help in making your decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

As good as any other brand.

03/23/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as good as the Contour by Bayer, which is twice as expensive now that my insurance no longer covers it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Desperately needed

03/15/2014
By ,
Louisville.KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a test meter for my diabetes and found this one. I use it every day. Pricing is super. ...better than the one I was using . Would recommend to anyone needing to track their blood glucose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

I have other meters which work better.

03/11/2014
By ,
Tillson, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Other meters work better and the test strips appear not to always draw blood. I've had to stop using it as test strips are unreliable and meter gives wrong readings too. I've had to use 3 test strips before I could find one that worked. Not worth the money spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System

03/08/2014
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product with a very inexpensive price tag.This is perfect for me as Ihave no health insurance and am an insulin-dependent diabetic. Would definitely recommend to anyone seeking an inexpensive monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Worked as expected at great price.

03/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked as expected at great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Wrong Readings.

02/26/2014
By ,
Myrtle Beach SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Readings are off 50mg. I bought 2,both bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

this is a real good deal

04/05/2014
By ,
youngstown, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very inexpensive for both the meter and strips. I use it just to check my sugar level , sometimes my sugar gets low and don't want to constantly borrow someone else's meter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

A very good value

02/17/2014
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been a type 1 diabetic for many, many years. I am now 62 years old and have tested myself...quite literally, 100's of thousands of times. I have used pretty much all of the meters available out there today. I can remember when meters were not around...
I purchased the Reli-On Prime because my insurance no longer covers test strips for the One-Touch and FreeStyle.
My first impression was much like other reviewers...inaccurate, but after a few days I figured out that this system is actually quite good if one takes a few precautions.
Read the instructions carefully.
Insert the test strip quickly and fully, watch for the full screen that will then change to the apply blood symbol. If you do not see both of these...start over.
Be sure your hands are clean and dry as this system seems more sensitive than others to such.
Give the meter a few seconds after it goes to the "apply blood" mode.
Do not apply too much blood as this can cause a high reading, esp. if it is applied to the top of the strip.
I test myself 5-7 times daily before injecting insulin so cannot afford to purchase the ridiculously expensive strips.
I think this is a great meter for throughout the day tests where I need a +/- 10 accuracy so I know how much insulin to take.
I also purchased a ReliOn Micro with the more expensive strips for those times when I need very close accuracy...it tested almost exactly with the FreeStyle. And following the above regimen...the Prime and Micro run within +/- 9.
I understand that many newly diagnosed diabetics might have trouble with this system...but it is a wonderful thing for me given the costs.
I am 5' 8" inches tall, weigh 140 lbs., and used to race bicycles. I mention this because my standards are very high.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Worst meter I have used

02/13/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, Ut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Keep getting error E13, have tried several sizes of blood drops and keep getting the same error. Bought the meter as a backup for when my other test strips run out. Was able to get correct reading on about 6 test strips out of 50 to give me a reading. Don't know if it is the test strips or the meter but see this as a bad buy. Will stick with my other meter even with the strips costing more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

Uses batteries at rate of one per week

03/29/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought meter and thought I had a good products at good price. I found that meter will operate only one week on a battery. Batteries for meter cost about $6.00 for two at Walmart.
Meter is not dependable. Absolute junk. Do Not Buy ReliON Prime Glucose Meter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAID FOR!!!!!!

02/12/2014
By ,
Lafayette, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice price, but that is it. Test strips are good price, but that is it. I use to use the Bayer Contour Meter and need little blood for reading. With this meter, it takes 5 times the amount to get a reading. And sometimes when I get that 5 times the amount compared to my Bayer Meter, IT STILL WON'T PULL BLOOD ON THE TEST STRIP FOR A READING. THIS METER IS A JUST A PIECE OF 100% JUNK!!!!!!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON IT!!!!! I'm going back to my Bayer Contour Meter. Test strips cost more, but it is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

INACCURATE!

02/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have believed the other "bad" reviews because they were right! This meter is horrible! the numbers are so far off. I was very hopeful that this would work because the strips were so reasonable. But if it doesn't give good readings, what's the point. Hopefully they'll go back to the drawing board and come up with an accurate meter with reasonably price strip.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

This meter makes me so angry, I wrote a review.

02/05/2014
By ,
Ashland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picking this meter was a pretty easy decision, since they were out of the strips for my normal Relion Confirm meter, and the strips for this one are half the price. However, when I got it home and conducted several side-by-side tests with my old meter, it became clear to me that this new meter was grossly inaccurate. That was when I could actually get a reading out of it. It constantly throws an E13 error (not enough blood) even though I've put so much blood on it the strip is practically dripping. This causes you to have to use twice as many strips, so forget about saving money. The last time I used it I got five E13 errors in a row. Luckily I had already decided to go back to using my old meter, and had a new box of strips at the ready. I got an accurate reading on the first try, with 1/3 of the blood. I'm glad I kept the receipt, because this piece of junk is going back to the mfg.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

Glucose meter

03/21/2014
By ,
McKeesport, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and the results are fast
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great value/product

02/03/2014
By ,
Parma, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not surprised by the quality of this blood glucose monitoring system. I purchased it based on price alone and the test strips were a great price too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

Great Blood Glucose meter

03/14/2014
By ,
Jasper, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and is very affordable, so are the strips.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

reli on is reliable for me

01/23/2014
By ,
catskill, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i purchased this glucose monitor it does the job the numbers are so easy to read also
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next