Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

The ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and gives accurate results in as little as seven seconds. Easy to use, this ReliOn Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue has a no-code meter and 250-test memory. Fingertip or palm testing can be done with the ReliOn Glucose Monitor, and it has proven accuracy. The instructions are provided in English and Spanish, and it includes one 3-volt battery.
Average Customer Rating:
3.494 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(237 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
43
3 stars
10
2 stars
14
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation68%161 out of 237reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 68 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
43
3 stars
10
2 stars
14
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

High readings

12/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This meter for me has given high and erratic results. My current meter shows my blood sugar about 155. I have confirmed this with my doctor. This meter reads anywhere from 11 to 35 points high.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Maybe mine's defective but....

12/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It read 5 points higher than my OneTouch UltraMini for 2 weeks. At least that was consistent. Suddenly I was getting waking readings in the 120s, and readings of over 100 after 3 hours of fasting. On a hunch I pulled out the OneTouch to discover it was way lower. I did testing over the phone with ReliOn this morning ((102 vs 84) and they are sending a new one out. I can deal with it being off if it's consistent but it lost even though. If they new one doesn't work I hope to get my money back as otherwise it's a complete waste.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Off target

12/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping to save some big dollars on monitoring supplies but I won't be doing it here... If accuracy is important for your diabetic monitoring this one will not do. I have been running tests for the past several days and this monitor has been off from 20-40 mg/dl when compared to a clinically tested high cost monitor.
Not a good buy if it doesn't work right.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Satisfied customer.

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't hesitate to buy this monitor if you need to save money! The monitor works as good as any other and you really can't beat the price of the test strips. I'm so tired of trying to scrape up enough money for the high price of test strips but not anymore!
I have already recommended it to many friends and relatives.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

not very accurate

12/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i have 2 of these meters. I keep one in my camper and one in my truck as a backup. These meters are consistently reading 30-50 points higher than my OneTouch. One of them eventually settled into a comparable range, but i wouldn't want to base an insulin dosage based on these readings. As a backup its fine to give you a general idea of your readings, and you can't beat the price of the test strips!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

good buy

11/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this easy to use (as soon as I understood how to add the blood, that is), and it was recommended as accurate by a number of sources. The price was way better than some other brands.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great product ,reliable and easy.

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great.Love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Test regularly, and have money left for food!

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used the OneTouch Ultra system for years. Great meter/system ... ridiculously overpriced strips. I found myself testing less frequently and/or lurking around on Ebay trying to find better buys on other people's nearly-expired, surplus strips. So, I was naturally DELIGHTED to finally find a maker of a blood glucose monitoring system that isn't robbing its customers blind on the strips. In short, I got: the meter, lancing device, 200 lancets and 200 test strips for less than the retail price of a hundred OneTouch strips ... alone.
I pulled the meter out, turned it on, stuck in a test strip, drew the blood, touched it to the strip, the reservoir took the sample flawlessly, and the meter gave me an accurate reading in a few seconds. Can't understand or explain how/why some people seem to have had numerous "error" readings or other problems, other than thinking they might be handling the meter/strips incorrectly, or received a defective meter and/or batch of strips.
I agree that the pouch included with the meter is only so-so. I'm actually using my old one in its place (mainly because it has a larger, zippered pocket inside for the lancets), but the pouch is a minor quibble with a meter/system that is otherwise so reasonably priced. This meter appears to have all the same function and accuracy as my OneTouch, at a MUCH lower "operating cost." What a godsend ... thank you, Relion and Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

easy to use

10/29/2014
By ,
the colony, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

incomplete

10/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The monitor is great and seems to be able to be used just fine. I am very disappointed though, the applicant sticker did not come with it. Now I have to go out and buy this separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

More errors than readings

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this meter for about 6 months. While this it seems cost-effective and the strips seem inexpensive, you will receive more errors than readings. Many of the errors say not enough blood, but I was practically bathing the end of the strip in blood and still receiving error. The strips work out to about .18 each, when you have to use three or four to get a reading it becomes much less cost effective.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

Good in a pinch

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to pickup one of these meters & strips because I got into a spot where I had to wait for insurance to approve more of my regular strips. The meter works well. I only had a couple screw up & that was really my fault. The only thing that I would like to see changed is where you insert the strip. It is a little tricky sticking it into the meter. Other than that, its a good meter.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great Backup Device .

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed another blood tester to better monitor my blood readings at a lower cost per test. Each test with this device saves me $ 1.00 . Now able to make many extra tests to see just what my blood is doing after certain meals or when I feel a certain way such as confused or my vision is sharp or not so sharp . It is a great learning tool for me !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

A+

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as a much more expensive unit and less expensive. To operate
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Readings are consistantlantly high

10/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FreeStyle is fairly accurate but prohibitively expensive. Using same blood sample, ReliOn is 15-40 points higher. Why can't this be corrected? I use ReliOn during the day, but FreeStyle at night.
No other major problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

inaccurate

10/01/2014
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Constantly read 25-30 points higher than two of my other old meters, Call and their answer was it was within 20% accurate and they would send out a test solution, which I have yet to receive. I would be a very good value if it were accurate. I shop at wall mart at the store, and on line, this is a major disappointment,
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue
This review is fromReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Red.

I have 2 now

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been pleased with this meter. I'm pre-diabetic and my blood sugar has recently improved a lot. So I bought a second meter to make sure the first is still working ok. (it checked ok with the test fluid) They are pretty close in their readings and I'm happy with that. I don't need something exact in my situation. The selling point is that the test strips are affordable.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Prime blood monitoring system

09/17/2014
By ,
Taacoma WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is easy to use and offers the same options as an expensive model. I ordered this and picked it up when it came. The test strips weren't available so I had to pay for delivery for them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

ease of use

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the fact keeps past results
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Excellent Value/Great Option to Test More Often

09/08/2014
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I was diagnosed with diabetes my insurance provided me with another brand of meter and strips. I quickly realized that the other brand was going to cost a lot to test as often as I really needed to, at least at the beginning. to get a hold on my disease and being to manage it well. The online community at the ADA highly recommended this meter and strips for it value and reliability, as did a close personal friend so I bought this meter and a pack of strips to try out.
The meter is a pretty basic, no frills model; it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of my other meter or some of the other ones that you can get. But it does the job and it is much cheaper in the long run, even with insurance co-pay, than any other brand/model I'm aware of. I put all of my readings into a paper and electronic (iPhone app) log anyway so the "extras" aren't needed anyway.
The only negative things I can say about the meter/system are in comparison to the Bayer Contour Next EZ that my insurance company started me out with: This system is a little more finicky in that it "wicks" the blood in differently, from the center of the tip of the strip, which took a few tries to get right, and seems ti take a tad more blood to get a reading without getting an error code (E13 I think) for "not enough blood applied" to read. Both the meters say they give you a little time to add more is you don't' get it right the first time without wasting the strip; I have not been successful in getting either to actually do that though yet, so both get a "fail" on this claim in my opinion.
The readings/accuracy from my experience and testimonies from other users seems very good. I have to say that it is a good value and great option for those who want/need to test more often than you doctor or insurance company prescribe/allow for or for those that might not have insurance. In my case, the doctor has allowed for two tests.day but I know that I need to test at least twice, maybe more, than that at this early stage to get a handle on what my body does with different foods and exercise. I couldn't afford to do these extra tests with the Bayer meter because of the cost of the strips/ even with insurance paying toward the Bayer strips, the ReliOn strips are going to be cost me less out of pocket to just but them outright. This system not only work but makes good financial sense, too. And the my local Walmart seems to carry a good, steady supply of the strips so there are no worries about running out and having to wait on mail-order deliveries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next