Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

The ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System requires only a 0.5 microliter sample size and gives accurate results in as little as seven seconds. Easy to use, this ReliOn Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue has a no-code meter and 250-test memory. Fingertip or palm testing can be done with the ReliOn Glucose Monitor, and it has proven accuracy. The instructions are provided in English and Spanish, and it includes one 3-volt battery.
Average Customer Rating:
3.495 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation67%141 out of 210reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Get what you pay for

08/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Reli On Prime may be cheap but it winds up costing a lot more for your strips! A package of 50 strips is only $9, but when you have to use 5,6,7 strips before you can get a reading other than ERROR you are actually paying much more. Also, the readings are not very accurate. I get a reading of 127 and a minute later it reads 96 and a minute after that it is 140. So even when the strips do work, the readings are wrong. So people, once again, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Nice meter and strips at a great price!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a glucose meter that was supplied by the VA, but only a limited number of strips. I picked this up to monitor my glucose levels and I am very pleased with it. I tested both meters from the same blood sample. The meter from the VA showed 140 and the ReliOn meter showed 147...pretty close! I think this is a good bargain and would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Good value

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With insurance I was paying $25 for 50 strips, Without using my insurance I paid $9 for 50
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Excellent choice and very reasonably priced.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After receiving sticker shock for my most recent Acucheck strips order, I turned to Walmart and found the Relion meter and strips. I tested them against my current meter and found the results to be within a few points of one another at a fraction of the cost. i will be purchasing a second meter for work. I highly recommend this meter and the strips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Good Product

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am borderline diabetic and use this to keep watch on blood sugar, works good and very easy to use and read results.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Great Value

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and you certainly can't beat the price. It works as good or better than monitors that cost three times as much or more. I love the fact that the strips are the lowest cost ones I've ever seen as well. I check my blood because of family history and I want to prevent diabetes and to be able to do it for a low cost is fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Frustrating

07/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had a ReliOn Ultimate for several years and it's been very accurate when compared to results at the Dr or on my sister's very expensive monitors. When I saw how affordable the strips for this one were, I bought it. I didn't have much luck with mine. Averaged about 25 pts higher than my Ultimate when it wasn't erroring out. Since I am trying to control pre-diabetes thru diet and exercise, I am constantly testing how different foods effect my readings and a 25 point spread is a little aggrevating when trying to get from a 127 to under 100.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

resonable

07/13/2014
By ,
boxford, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
performs well and reasonable cost
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Test Strip Problems

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I have 3 of these Relion Testers. One for the house, one for the car, and one for work. Because If not I lose them or forget them. What I have found is you can get a bad batch of strips. I will get the E13 error on over 15 strips out of a batch and test 5 on each tester while receiving the same error. However, when I grab a different batch of strips they all work correctly and within the same numbers varying maybe a point at times. The E13 code is for not enough blood but when the batch of strips are bad you can saturate it and you will get the error. I get a received a bad batch of strips about 3 times in the last couple of years.However given the price compared to the competition it still is more cost efficient. Mine have always read on par with the doctor's office.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

might not be accurate

07/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have my doubts as to this item being accurate. Lots of different readings in a short period of time.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Too many error messages

07/09/2014
By ,
Guam
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used glucometers for more than 20 years and this one is the worst. I threw away 6 boxes of strips and the glucometer. I got an average of five error readings for every actual reading.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

I Prefer My ReliOn Prime

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been testing with an Accu-Chek Active meter since 2006. Recently my doctor changed my meds and for a while wants me to test before and after every meal and at bedtime. That's seven times a day and you can run through a lot of strips in a hurry, at $73 for fifty Accu-Chek. I saw the ReliOn advertised on television with fifty strips for 9 bucks, so I bought a ReliOn Prime. For two weeks now I've been testing with both meters side by side, same time, same blood sample, and comparing the readings. The ReliOn consistently reads about 30 points lower than the Accu-Chek. I don't know which one is accurate, or even if either one is accurate, but that doesn't concern me. The reading isn't as important to me as the trending, and with my new meds my readings are trending lower. I prefer my ReliOn Prime because it is easier to use, requires less blood, and is more compact... and of course the strips are more affordable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

I found this meter compares to my Contour EZ

07/02/2014
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this meter at our local Walmart Store. I needed an extra meter to keep in my purse as I keep forgetting to pack my Contour EZ Monitor. It was recommended to me on the ADA website through Community Blog. I also researched and read lots of reviews, good and bad. I decided to give it a try. I compared it to my Contour EZ BG Monitor. I got 133 with the Relion Prime and I got 134 with my Contour EZ. I have tried several times now comparing every so often. I am finding my readings within 3-5 points! I am very happy to find this and save lots on those test strips! Only $18 per 100ct! Compare to $60 per 100ct! Big difference! I am so far happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

not expensive

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
strips are fine costs less
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Not accurate

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not accurate
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

I have both the blue meter and the red one for my

06/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They are both accurate and the test strips and lancets are very reasonably priced. I would recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Good Inexpensive Meter and Test Strips

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using this meter for about 2 months. Readings are accurate to within 10 to 20 when compared to my previous high priced strips. Also I am not sure what is happening with others reporting multiple E13 results. I have had none of these issues. My expereince has been the sample draws into the strip as long as you have a droplet formed for the sample. No meters work by applying large amounts of smeared blood to the strips. I recommend this meter and strips for anyone interested in accuracy and economy. If you want all the bells and whistles, pay the extra for the high priced units. This is a really good basic system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

Excellent product

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

I do like anything about this item.

06/01/2014
By ,
Ball, Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not used the meter or strips, I will be returning it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Monitoring System, Blue

great meter, great strips easy to use and just as

05/31/2014
By ,
raleigh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to keep at work to check my sugar befor lunch and 2 hrs after lunch. I have rallly learned to love the machine, It is affordable and you dont need to bother with insurance. i am use other relion products as well. very good value for the money...
I hope they will have the new short 6mm ultra fine needles soon too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next