Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

The ReliOn Blood Glucose Test Strips are designed to work with ReliOn Prime Glucose Meters only. These ReliOn Glucose Test Strips are offered in a 50-count bottle for your convenience. With the easy-to-handle ReliOn test strips, you test on your fingertip and/or palm. Only a small sample size is needed for accurate results. There is no coding required when using these ReliOn Glucose Test Strips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(291 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
195
4 stars
45
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation88%255 out of 291reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 202 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
195
4 stars
45
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Worst Strips I Have Ever Purchased

11/18/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Totally inaccurate reading. Gave my numbers that were 30 to 40 pints higher then my other freestyle meter. Not worth the $9 I spent. I would not spend 9 cents on them now or in the future. Going back to myold meter and strips. I rather pay more then get bogus readings that get me nervous for no reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Meter seems fine but the strips.....

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most strips I have used in the past will draw the blood sample into the test area. I have had 4 errors in ten tries. The blood has to be moved around on the strip way too much before it even tries to read it.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Affordable, and easy to use!

12/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It cost less than the other brands. No coding required!
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Worthless

05/09/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My other meter testing was 80,78,80. At the same time this Relion tested 89,101,82 - Now what am I suppose to do with that? Everyone knows these meters are inaccurate, but they should be CONSISTENT.
The price + strip price seemed too good to be true -- And it was!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

I do not like the design of these strips.

06/01/2014
By ,
Ball, Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not used the meter or the strips. I will be returning them.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

piece of junk

07/14/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolute waste of time, I will be returning the device and the strips for a refund.
this is a piece of junk, does not work, only get E 13 errors
do not waste your time and money on this
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not a good product

02/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know if it the meter or the strips or both. But the reading is waaaaay off. Yes, the value is good but what's the point if the reading isn't accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Disappointed

08/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Two-Thirds of the strips gave an error reading, and the ones that worked seemed on the low side comparing to a laboratory results. I cannot recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/13/2013
Error readings seem to be caused mostly by incorrect application of the blood drop. It works by capillary action, touching the END of the strip (not the top or bottom) to the blood drop (which can be pretty tiny). The blood is immediately drawn into the strip...no errors. I've never had an E7 or E3, just the occasional E13, which means I didn't apply the blood correctly.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Better than nothing at all

02/27/2014
By ,
Woodinville, Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When my insurance refused to pay for my test strips I looked for a less expensive alternative and I thought that I had found it at Wall Mart. I bought a ReliOn Prime glucose meter and test strips and found them to read about 30 points higher than 3 of my other meters. I went back to the store and bought another meter but the results were the same as the first so I went back again and bought more test strips with different lot numbers but the results were all the same (over 30 points higher). I diabetic freind allowed me to test with his meter and found that there was an even geater disparity (42 points) so it looks like you get what you pay for. This would be disasterous for a first timer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Very Unhappy

07/24/2013
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Spent $70 purchased ReliOn meter, strips, lance's a week ago "Big Mistake"!! Getting a reading is so hit & miss. When I have managed to get it to work the readings vary. This morning poked myself 4 times and used 8 strips. I never did get a reading. Now I know why strips are so cheap. It takes a dozen of them to get a reading. I should have bought the kit my brother has from a competitor. His strips are $1 a piece but he gets results 100% of the time. You get what you pay for, really shows in this case. So now off to the competitor and spend another $70-$80.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Worst on Market

11/11/2013
By ,
Holts Summit, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only bought because no insurance. I'm pre-diabetic.On my second bottle and the readings are terribly inconsistent and inaccurate. You can literally stand in one place, test your blood sugar seconds apart and get readings 15-20 points apart (try it for yourself#. I've tested these against other strips and strongly believe the ReliOn Primes run 15-20 points higher than the actual blood sugar. I'm going back to buying Bayer strips #which I believe are far and away superior) on ebay if I can find any that aren't sky high in price, a trend lately.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Literally the worst tester/strips I've ever used

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My doctor recommended this tester because it's super cheap and he can download the numbers. I was excited about the price so I bought it and have been using it for about a month and a half. It is the WORST tester I've ever used. For the first week it worked okay, but it would get errors more often than other ones, and sometimes I'd have to use 2 test strips before it would work. Then the more I used it the worse it got. Now basically every time I test my blood I have to use at least 2 test strips, and several times I've tested 7 times and it still won't work. It either won't register that I've put my blood in the strip (and there is definitely enough blood in there) or it says says E13E! or something like that. Not sure if the problem is the tester or the strips. It's been extremely difficult to use and I'm definitely switching asap. I'd rather pay more money for something more reliable. I definitely can't "reliOn" this tester.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
User Error
Posted 08/21/2014
You can't rush with this strip, hold it to the drop of blood and allow it to reach the line before pulling back. It appears the strip is not designed to "drop" the blood on to it as is with other strips.
I learned this through trial and error and now I seldom get an error.
Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Waste of money

08/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In my opinion these test strips are a waste of money. In the month that I've been using them, I have gone thru at least half a container of strips due to error alone. It takes copious amounts of blood to register, causing multiple samples to be taken, and even then they will error. I was hoping the price would help reduce my overall cost. I am greatly disappointed and will be going back to a higher priced strip that I can truly ReliOn.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Testing Results

11/04/2013
By ,
sarasota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the test results run 20 to 30 points higher then my other meter, I order another tester to check it, but I have read other reviews and this seems to be a problem others are having with this meter.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

too many errors when testing

07/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband was recently diagnosed as a diabetic and has to test blood sugar 3 times a day and takes insulin shots. We purchased a ReliOn Prim and test strips. This machine gives more 'error-15' readings than good blood sugar numbers. We have purchased and used more strips than should have been necessary in the last 2 1/2 months (almost 300 to date). each time he tries to test his blood sugar it takes minimum of 3 strips and sometimes 5 to get a reading and sometimes he just stops at 5 because he has wasted so many strips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Horrific strip and monitor

09/28/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Has to be one of the worst test strips on the market. The testing range is too high. To have a reading of 177 on one test and then ten seconds later a reading of 129 on another strip is just too much of a discrepancy and yes the testing area was sterilized. Also out of a box of 50 the error rate is high. Having 7 to 10 errors per box is unaccpetable. Were talking a 14 to 20% of each box down the tubes. Pretty much negates the $9.00 price and savings compared to other generic strips like Wavesense.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

ReliOn Blood Test Strips

08/19/2012
By ,
Jeffersonvile IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't going to give it a rating because it don't deserve one--but you can't submit it without a rating. No wonder the strips are so cheap--everyone one I used read either E-3 or E-7 which means the strips are no good. I am very upset with this merchandise. I am calling the company on them.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Inexpensive but inaccurate

06/26/2013
By ,
New York, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price difference between the ReliOn Prime glucometer's test strips and the Freestyle Lite glucometer I already have led to my buying this. It would be nice to save money testing blood sugar. But this device and the accompanying strips aren't accurate. I tested it on a control solution, and got five different readings, all high, all inconsistent with each other.
Additionally, the amount of blood required by the ReliOn Prime strips is significantly larger than the Freestyle, which is minscule to the point of being magical. The Freestyle uses capillary action to draw a tiny blood dot into the testing chamber. The Prime requires that you smear a larger drop of blood on the bottom of the strip. So for now, I will begrudgingly continue using the (more expensive) Freestyle unit until the next generation of glucometers is available, and I recommend that people avoid this product if they want accurate readings.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not good enough

09/16/2013
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price.
We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative.
Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time.
First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter.
The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter.
It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light.
Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had.
The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated.
Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Commenting to Wal Mart
Posted 12/01/2013
Hopefully, you have passed on your review to Wal Mart. I am talking about their corporate office not their product review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Inaccurate

07/13/2013
By ,
gaitersbug md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reli On Prime is a misleading name. It is not a prime product and I cannot rely on it. The readings are very high compared to other meters. Readings are not consistant. I have checked this product several times in a row with varying results each time, as much as 30Mg/l difference in readings. Inexpensive is useless if the meter and test strips are inaccurate.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 260 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next