Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

The ReliOn Blood Glucose Test Strips are designed to work with ReliOn Prime Glucose Meters only. These ReliOn Glucose Test Strips are offered in a 50-count bottle for your convenience. With the easy-to-handle ReliOn test strips, you test on your fingertip and/or palm. Only a small sample size is needed for accurate results. There is no coding required when using these ReliOn Glucose Test Strips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.26 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(177 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation88%155 out of 177reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 125 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Better than nothing at all

02/27/2014
By ,
Woodinville, Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When my insurance refused to pay for my test strips I looked for a less expensive alternative and I thought that I had found it at Wall Mart. I bought a ReliOn Prime glucose meter and test strips and found them to read about 30 points higher than 3 of my other meters. I went back to the store and bought another meter but the results were the same as the first so I went back again and bought more test strips with different lot numbers but the results were all the same (over 30 points higher). I diabetic freind allowed me to test with his meter and found that there was an even geater disparity (42 points) so it looks like you get what you pay for. This would be disasterous for a first timer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Disappointed

08/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Two-Thirds of the strips gave an error reading, and the ones that worked seemed on the low side comparing to a laboratory results. I cannot recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/13/2013
Error readings seem to be caused mostly by incorrect application of the blood drop. It works by capillary action, touching the END of the strip (not the top or bottom) to the blood drop (which can be pretty tiny). The blood is immediately drawn into the strip...no errors. I've never had an E7 or E3, just the occasional E13, which means I didn't apply the blood correctly.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

ReliOn Blood Test Strips

08/19/2012
By ,
Jeffersonvile IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wasn't going to give it a rating because it don't deserve one--but you can't submit it without a rating. No wonder the strips are so cheap--everyone one I used read either E-3 or E-7 which means the strips are no good. I am very upset with this merchandise. I am calling the company on them.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Would not purchase this product again!

10/30/2012
By ,
Oahu, Hawaii
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased these test strips in order to save money. Not to mention that I had to purchase the meter to go with it...all in all...about $30. Not to mention 50 test strips for about $10 is a really great deal. Unfortunately, having compared these test strips with my regular brand...(testing each at the same time that I check my blood sugar)...the Reli-on brand kept giving me very high and mis-leading readings. I'd say that on average....the Reli-on test strips would read about 20-30 points higher than what the other meter would read. Overall...just plain frustrating and out about $30. I would not purchase this particular brand again...despite the very affordable pricing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Worthless

05/09/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My other meter testing was 80,78,80. At the same time this Relion tested 89,101,82 - Now what am I suppose to do with that? Everyone knows these meters are inaccurate, but they should be CONSISTENT.
The price + strip price seemed too good to be true -- And it was!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Inexpensive but inaccurate

06/26/2013
By ,
New York, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price difference between the ReliOn Prime glucometer's test strips and the Freestyle Lite glucometer I already have led to my buying this. It would be nice to save money testing blood sugar. But this device and the accompanying strips aren't accurate. I tested it on a control solution, and got five different readings, all high, all inconsistent with each other.
Additionally, the amount of blood required by the ReliOn Prime strips is significantly larger than the Freestyle, which is minscule to the point of being magical. The Freestyle uses capillary action to draw a tiny blood dot into the testing chamber. The Prime requires that you smear a larger drop of blood on the bottom of the strip. So for now, I will begrudgingly continue using the (more expensive) Freestyle unit until the next generation of glucometers is available, and I recommend that people avoid this product if they want accurate readings.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Inaccurate

07/13/2013
By ,
gaitersbug md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reli On Prime is a misleading name. It is not a prime product and I cannot rely on it. The readings are very high compared to other meters. Readings are not consistant. I have checked this product several times in a row with varying results each time, as much as 30Mg/l difference in readings. Inexpensive is useless if the meter and test strips are inaccurate.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Very Unhappy

07/24/2013
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Spent $70 purchased ReliOn meter, strips, lance's a week ago "Big Mistake"!! Getting a reading is so hit & miss. When I have managed to get it to work the readings vary. This morning poked myself 4 times and used 8 strips. I never did get a reading. Now I know why strips are so cheap. It takes a dozen of them to get a reading. I should have bought the kit my brother has from a competitor. His strips are $1 a piece but he gets results 100% of the time. You get what you pay for, really shows in this case. So now off to the competitor and spend another $70-$80.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Testing Results

11/04/2013
By ,
sarasota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the test results run 20 to 30 points higher then my other meter, I order another tester to check it, but I have read other reviews and this seems to be a problem others are having with this meter.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Poor quality, I'm a pincushion now

11/08/2013
By ,
Fort myers, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As if I don't stick myself enough,this product would repeatedly fail causing me to have to test up to five times in a row! It's cheaper the strips for my reliable Contour, but not when I go through a box of 50 in four days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Worst Strips I Have Ever Purchased

11/18/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Totally inaccurate reading. Gave my numbers that were 30 to 40 pints higher then my other freestyle meter. Not worth the $9 I spent. I would not spend 9 cents on them now or in the future. Going back to myold meter and strips. I rather pay more then get bogus readings that get me nervous for no reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Who is to blame????????????

12/24/2013
By ,
Larslan, Montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The fedex person left the package on the door step......FREEZING WEATHER....there was no warning on the package not to do so.............inside, on the manufatures instructions, it clearly says "do not freeze"..........the strips look fine, but will not read, once put in meter. One of those misfortunate incidents that really no one is to blame, but everyone is to blame...........I was hoping this would be the answer to expensive diabetic care, will probably order again, once summer comes, in the mean time I am just out the monies.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

One of my two sets of strips were defective

02/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They were _wildly_ inaccurate, 30-120 points off normal. Another set seems to be okay. Would like to return the bad ones for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Horrific strip and monitor

09/28/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Has to be one of the worst test strips on the market. The testing range is too high. To have a reading of 177 on one test and then ten seconds later a reading of 129 on another strip is just too much of a discrepancy and yes the testing area was sterilized. Also out of a box of 50 the error rate is high. Having 7 to 10 errors per box is unaccpetable. Were talking a 14 to 20% of each box down the tubes. Pretty much negates the $9.00 price and savings compared to other generic strips like Wavesense.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Worst on Market

11/11/2013
By ,
Holts Summit, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only bought because no insurance. I'm pre-diabetic.On my second bottle and the readings are terribly inconsistent and inaccurate. You can literally stand in one place, test your blood sugar seconds apart and get readings 15-20 points apart (try it for yourself#. I've tested these against other strips and strongly believe the ReliOn Primes run 15-20 points higher than the actual blood sugar. I'm going back to buying Bayer strips #which I believe are far and away superior) on ebay if I can find any that aren't sky high in price, a trend lately.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not good enough

09/16/2013
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price.
We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative.
Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time.
First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter.
The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter.
It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light.
Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had.
The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated.
Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Commenting to Wal Mart
Posted 12/01/2013
Hopefully, you have passed on your review to Wal Mart. I am talking about their corporate office not their product review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not a good product

02/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know if it the meter or the strips or both. But the reading is waaaaay off. Yes, the value is good but what's the point if the reading isn't accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Cheap, Inaccurate

10/22/2012
By ,
belleville, mi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First I want to say that I appreciate Wal-mart’s efforts in reducing costs for prescription medicines and diabetes supplies. They were the first to offer $4. prescriptions and first to offer reliable, low-cost test strips. I have used Wal-Mart’s Relion Ultima meter and glucose test strips since 2007. They rated well by a consumer testing agency and my meter results were accurate enough for me to fairly accurately “guess” what my A1C test results would be. The Ultima test strips cost about 1/3 or ¼ of the price of “brand name” strips. Testing 6-7 times per day cost $900.- $1,000.s per year. I was thrilled when Wal-Mart introduced the Prime meter and test strips for half the cost of the Ultima. Unfortunately, the results of the Prime have been somewhat disappointing. For 2 days I ran side-by-side tests on the Ultima and the Prime and the Prime gave consistently higher, and I believe, less accurate results. I set both meters up and pricked my finger and used the same blood sample on both strips. There is a margin of error in any glucose meter but the most dramatic difference was a 70 on the Ultima and a 123 on the Prime. I knew by the fact that I was starting to get the shakes that my blood glucose was going low and the 70 reading was the more accurate result. If I believed the Prime result, I would fail to treat a low before it got really low. Additionally, the opening on the Prime where the strip is inserted is such a tight fit that I think I would be unable to insert it when my glucose was really low. The Ultima has a wider opening and a yellow highlight where the strip is inserted making it much easier. I am halfway through my last box of Ultima test strips and will have to make a tough decision, the Prime price is really great but the results are so unreliable I have to wonder if it’s worth the trade off.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Get what you pay for

12/13/2013
By ,
Dothan, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a hard time with putting some of the strips in the meter and then I've had to retest several times because it wouldn't soak up the blood.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Good enough.

04/09/2014
By ,
Atwood, KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordered these to save a 40 mile trip to the local Walmart, they came in a poorly packaged envelope and the box they come in was totally smashed, but the canister containing the strips was fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next