Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

The ReliOn Blood Glucose Test Strips are designed to work with ReliOn Prime Glucose Meters only. These ReliOn Glucose Test Strips are offered in a 50-count bottle for your convenience. With the easy-to-handle ReliOn test strips, you test on your fingertip and/or palm. Only a small sample size is needed for accurate results. There is no coding required when using these ReliOn Glucose Test Strips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.249 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(261 Reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
172
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation87%228 out of 261reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 193 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
172
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

good product at a great price

12/17/2012
By ,
boca raton, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the price is super, this meter is accurate. not my first meter, i brought this one because of the low price for the test strips and glad i did. using it for 3 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Winner on Accuracy and Price

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did a quick comparison with my old meter sampling large single blood drops for a few days. The average difference was about 3.5 on each set and the averages for the test only differed by about 2.6. My decade or so of experience tells me readings even on a single meter vary by those amounts in tests on separate blood drops (checking meter consistency). Conclusion is same accuracy for about one third the cost, a winner. The worst problem I have found is that the strip is slightly harder to insert into the channel on the meter. Test Results Summary in attached Photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great price! Accuracy iffy.

10/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I went to Walmart one day and noticed their new monitor had strips that were half the price of of my Ultima. It gets difficult to afford my supplies sometimes and this was wonderful news to me. While I have had no issues with using the Prime test strips (the bottle is completely open making them easier to access) I have noticed some issues with accuracy.
My Ultima was always pretty much dead on with me. If I tested several times in a row it would only be a couple points different in either direction. That's ok in my book for the price. However, with the Prime, I can test five times in a row and end up with a 30 point difference across the tests. When my numbers are ideal it drops down to a 10 point difference. It seems to be most accurate from 90-150 but above or below those numbers causes it to vary more.
When you're short on cash it may be just enough to know in general where your numbers are at. As always you get what you pay for, it's up to you to decide what you can afford.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Can't tell if it's correct without solution

04/15/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were by far the best deal on test strips. This is my first foray into glucose testing, so no comparisons, but they seem to work fine, and require very little blood to work.
That said, accuracy is vital to saying if this is a good deal or not, and I have no idea if they're accurate, since you can't buy the testing solution online or in the stores for this meter. You HAVE to go to the Relion website, then give them ALL your personal info, before they will ship it to you free. (Just why do they need my phone and email info, to ship me a product by mail? Can they send it to me via email, or phone?)
I really resent having this solution held hostage until I divulge my personal info to them, for what unknown purpose. Medical info should be kept private, and I shouldn't have to tell anyone my medical history, or private contact info to make sure a product I PURCHASED works properly. They should make the solution available anywhere the product is sold, rather than holding it hostage. Bad form Relion. Bad form.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Literally the worst tester/strips I've ever used

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My doctor recommended this tester because it's super cheap and he can download the numbers. I was excited about the price so I bought it and have been using it for about a month and a half. It is the WORST tester I've ever used. For the first week it worked okay, but it would get errors more often than other ones, and sometimes I'd have to use 2 test strips before it would work. Then the more I used it the worse it got. Now basically every time I test my blood I have to use at least 2 test strips, and several times I've tested 7 times and it still won't work. It either won't register that I've put my blood in the strip (and there is definitely enough blood in there) or it says says E13E! or something like that. Not sure if the problem is the tester or the strips. It's been extremely difficult to use and I'm definitely switching asap. I'd rather pay more money for something more reliable. I definitely can't "reliOn" this tester.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
User Error
Posted 08/21/2014
You can't rush with this strip, hold it to the drop of blood and allow it to reach the line before pulling back. It appears the strip is not designed to "drop" the blood on to it as is with other strips.
I learned this through trial and error and now I seldom get an error.
Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

better than I thought

02/05/2014
By ,
Branchville,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went to pick up my 13yr old son's One touch strips $125.00 for 300 strips. With that I was very unhappy. I put them all back.. I've been looking into ReliOn meters and strips. At that moment made my decision to make the purchase .. I was a little nervous in reading the reviews ,but in trying it and making my own decision.. ended up very happy. I tested my sons sugar with his one touch meter and then ReliOn meter and strips a couple of times just to compare ..both tests were the same. I've switched everything to the ReliOn products and I'm saving ALOT of money. The strips are a little bulky and the meter a bit cheaply made but other than that I'm very satisfied .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

excellent value and accuracy

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money. I've tested against One Touch Ultra test strips multiple times and the tests are almost always within a few points of each other. Usually the tests do not differ by more than 5, and never more than a 10% difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Economical Meter & Strips for No Insurance

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister was recently diagnosed pre-diabetic. She is not covered under the Diabetes Mandate nor will her insurance cover it unless she was Type 2 (plus she earns a modest salary). She needs to monitor her blood glucose levels because of the way her pre-diabetes affects her acid reflux. When I found a meter and strips she could afford, she was ecstatic. I ordered it for her and she has been happily using it ever since. This diabetes supply is perfect for working class individuals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct
08/30/2013
By ,
Grand Rapids, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About a month ago I saw a Relion Prime glucometer at WM for a low price so I purchased it with a vial of Relion Prime test strips. I tested it against my One Touch Ultra 2 over 12 tests and found that both meters, using their respective strips, gave me exactly the same results +/- 3mg/Dl. I test 5 times a day. Cost: $9 Relion Prime 50ct, $68 One Touch 50ct. I switched immediately. I am also recommending this meter to my Diabetic Educator as a low cost alternative. This is important as I understand that medicare is cutting the test strips unless you are on insulin. Every Cookbook, every book about diabetes says "test your blood sugars and test them often!" These test strips give me back control so that I know when to eat and when to fast throughout the day. Thank You, coyboy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not good enough

09/16/2013
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price.
We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative.
Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time.
First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter.
The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter.
It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light.
Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had.
The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated.
Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Commenting to Wal Mart
Posted 12/01/2013
Hopefully, you have passed on your review to Wal Mart. I am talking about their corporate office not their product review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

good for those on a budget. nor reliable however..

12/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cheap. strips are $9.00 for a box of 50. most strips are duds. Get E-13 code more than 50% of the time. I'm stingy w my money so I purchase these for the price and only for the price. If you have insurance and can afford different strips then I suggest you go that route..
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

A price breakthrough for diabetics!

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using OneTouch for years. At $1 retail per test/strip, could not afford to test as frequently as I needed to, and frankly, there is no legitimate reason that anyone with this health issue should be in that position. Relion and Walmart have shown that good blood glucose testing meters, strips AND lancets can be manufactured and provided at a fraction of the cost heretofore charged by other American makers.
+/- 20 points of "lab" accurate is NORMAL for ALL these meter/strip blood glucose monitoring systems. I have now done well over 300 tests with Relion Prime, and have found that these strips are just as accurate as what I was used to with OneTouch. It also seems to me that the complaints about "E13" errors (i.e., "not enough blood" or "too much blood") are simply due to poor sampling technique. The strips are a bit more fussy than others, but careful attention to the product instructions, and/or experimentation with your own sampling technique WILL eliminate all such errors, and the dramatic savings are WELL worth the extra effort.
Don't let a few negative reviews prevent you from trying this product. Relion and Walmart have stepped up and broken "big pharma's" pricing stranglehold on the unfortunates among us who must frequently test their blood glucose, and they are to be commended for it! THANK YOU, Relion and Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

I Rely On ReliOn Blood Glucose Test Strips

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these test strips! They are every bit as good as the high dollar strips that other manufacturers have been ripping people off with for decades. I have always felt that people with diabetes have been victims to these companies because these strips are absolutely necessary to determine what your sugar levels are.
I salute Walmart for being the first company to make ReliOn test strips available at a great price for the masses just as Walmart was the forerunner to offer generic drugs to the masses at a terrific price! Please keep it up, Walmart! You show you care about us
And we love and appreciate you for it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

alarm E-13, way too many times

06/12/2014
By ,
Lower Burrell, Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used the "one touch" test strips for quite some time. Because of the prohibitive cost I decided to give the "relion" strips a try. "Bad idea"!!!! I really don't like pricking my finger more that once. The relion strips, in spite of an abundance of blood give me the E-13 alarm way to frequently. I have been a faithful customer for everything I have ever bought at Walmart, and Sams, but this product is really a bust. I'm going to return both the Meter and the remaining test strips for a refund. I still love your stores and you other products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St Augustine, Fl
What!!!
Posted 08/02/2014
I've been using the reli-on confirm meter and test strips for quite some time. I test 2X a day and if I have had 3 error messages in the past year it is a lot. And the 3 that I did have were, no doubt, my fault, not the products.
I will say, that I am not sure of the difference between the "prime" and he "confirm". Maybe you can tell me....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Outstanding Item

08/22/2012
By ,
mooresville, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Run don't walk to the nearest Walmart. These strips are top quality, easy to use and handle, and the cost cannot be beat. $9 vs. the $50+ I paid for One Touch strips. Thank you Walmart for making it cheaper for me to monitor my diabetes. As a person too young for Medicare, but with no insurance, I am so thankful to have found these strips and the meter that goes with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hudson Fl
Happy
Posted 08/03/2013
I was happy to read this review. I have been only using one strip per day as the cost was so high. This is great news to me, with no insurance. Thanks Walmart
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Stiff strip and low blood requirement

06/08/2012
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found these strips a little small to handle (I have very large hands), but the fact that they are a nice stiff material made them pretty easy to use. They also require a very small sample so you don't spend much time trying to "milk" out enough blood to test. The reader I had came with a carrying case and you could insert the strip through the plastic holding the reader - so you didn't even have to remove the reader from the case to take a measurement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Good value hard to get.

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good value. And appears to be very accurate. The only problem is that the Walmart Pharmacy at 3 locations are always out of stock. I had to purchase these online and pay the 3 shipping fee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct
06/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These test strips are small and not easy to grab just one from the tube BUT you do not need much blood to get your reading. Other test strips I've used require more blood to get a reading and it sometimes is quite difficult to get a reading, resulting in me having to do it twice. I've yet to do that with this. I would definitely recommend that you try this one to compare the difference. You will definitely see the how easy it is!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McHenry Illinois
Very pleased
Posted 11/05/2012
Even if my other ReliOn supplies are paid for by Medicare I tried this newer product an it's so much better I will pay out of pocket to use this upgrade. Less of sample and no silver wrapper to try and rip open. With dry skin, large hands and a little arthritis the older ReliOn strips are sometimes very hard to get at.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

too many errors when testing

07/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband was recently diagnosed as a diabetic and has to test blood sugar 3 times a day and takes insulin shots. We purchased a ReliOn Prim and test strips. This machine gives more 'error-15' readings than good blood sugar numbers. We have purchased and used more strips than should have been necessary in the last 2 1/2 months (almost 300 to date). each time he tries to test his blood sugar it takes minimum of 3 strips and sometimes 5 to get a reading and sometimes he just stops at 5 because he has wasted so many strips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

thanks walmart

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a type 1 diabetic for more than 25 years and find that these test strips are as good as any that I have ever used . I tested them against other strips and they came out with the same results. Thanks walmart for helping diabetics to be able to test more and keep the cost down.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next