Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

The ReliOn Blood Glucose Test Strips are designed to work with ReliOn Prime Glucose Meters only. These ReliOn Glucose Test Strips are offered in a 50-count bottle for your convenience. With the easy-to-handle ReliOn test strips, you test on your fingertip and/or palm. Only a small sample size is needed for accurate results. There is no coding required when using these ReliOn Glucose Test Strips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(205 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
35
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation86%177 out of 205reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
35
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

good product at a great price

12/17/2012
By ,
boca raton, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the price is super, this meter is accurate. not my first meter, i brought this one because of the low price for the test strips and glad i did. using it for 3 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Winner on Accuracy and Price

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did a quick comparison with my old meter sampling large single blood drops for a few days. The average difference was about 3.5 on each set and the averages for the test only differed by about 2.6. My decade or so of experience tells me readings even on a single meter vary by those amounts in tests on separate blood drops (checking meter consistency). Conclusion is same accuracy for about one third the cost, a winner. The worst problem I have found is that the strip is slightly harder to insert into the channel on the meter. Test Results Summary in attached Photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great price! Accuracy iffy.

10/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I went to Walmart one day and noticed their new monitor had strips that were half the price of of my Ultima. It gets difficult to afford my supplies sometimes and this was wonderful news to me. While I have had no issues with using the Prime test strips (the bottle is completely open making them easier to access) I have noticed some issues with accuracy.
My Ultima was always pretty much dead on with me. If I tested several times in a row it would only be a couple points different in either direction. That's ok in my book for the price. However, with the Prime, I can test five times in a row and end up with a 30 point difference across the tests. When my numbers are ideal it drops down to a 10 point difference. It seems to be most accurate from 90-150 but above or below those numbers causes it to vary more.
When you're short on cash it may be just enough to know in general where your numbers are at. As always you get what you pay for, it's up to you to decide what you can afford.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Can't tell if it's correct without solution

04/15/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were by far the best deal on test strips. This is my first foray into glucose testing, so no comparisons, but they seem to work fine, and require very little blood to work.
That said, accuracy is vital to saying if this is a good deal or not, and I have no idea if they're accurate, since you can't buy the testing solution online or in the stores for this meter. You HAVE to go to the Relion website, then give them ALL your personal info, before they will ship it to you free. (Just why do they need my phone and email info, to ship me a product by mail? Can they send it to me via email, or phone?)
I really resent having this solution held hostage until I divulge my personal info to them, for what unknown purpose. Medical info should be kept private, and I shouldn't have to tell anyone my medical history, or private contact info to make sure a product I PURCHASED works properly. They should make the solution available anywhere the product is sold, rather than holding it hostage. Bad form Relion. Bad form.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

alarm E-13, way too many times

06/12/2014
By ,
Lower Burrell, Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used the "one touch" test strips for quite some time. Because of the prohibitive cost I decided to give the "relion" strips a try. "Bad idea"!!!! I really don't like pricking my finger more that once. The relion strips, in spite of an abundance of blood give me the E-13 alarm way to frequently. I have been a faithful customer for everything I have ever bought at Walmart, and Sams, but this product is really a bust. I'm going to return both the Meter and the remaining test strips for a refund. I still love your stores and you other products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

better than I thought

02/05/2014
By ,
Branchville,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went to pick up my 13yr old son's One touch strips $125.00 for 300 strips. With that I was very unhappy. I put them all back.. I've been looking into ReliOn meters and strips. At that moment made my decision to make the purchase .. I was a little nervous in reading the reviews ,but in trying it and making my own decision.. ended up very happy. I tested my sons sugar with his one touch meter and then ReliOn meter and strips a couple of times just to compare ..both tests were the same. I've switched everything to the ReliOn products and I'm saving ALOT of money. The strips are a little bulky and the meter a bit cheaply made but other than that I'm very satisfied .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct
08/30/2013
By ,
Grand Rapids, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About a month ago I saw a Relion Prime glucometer at WM for a low price so I purchased it with a vial of Relion Prime test strips. I tested it against my One Touch Ultra 2 over 12 tests and found that both meters, using their respective strips, gave me exactly the same results +/- 3mg/Dl. I test 5 times a day. Cost: $9 Relion Prime 50ct, $68 One Touch 50ct. I switched immediately. I am also recommending this meter to my Diabetic Educator as a low cost alternative. This is important as I understand that medicare is cutting the test strips unless you are on insulin. Every Cookbook, every book about diabetes says "test your blood sugars and test them often!" These test strips give me back control so that I know when to eat and when to fast throughout the day. Thank You, coyboy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not good enough

09/16/2013
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price.
We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative.
Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time.
First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter.
The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter.
It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light.
Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had.
The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated.
Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Commenting to Wal Mart
Posted 12/01/2013
Hopefully, you have passed on your review to Wal Mart. I am talking about their corporate office not their product review.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Economical and Accurate

06/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Relion Prime glucose system (meter & test strips) is economical and accurate. I compared test results between the Relion Prime system and the name brand system I have been using for several days and found that the test readings between the two systems differed by only a few points. I consider the performance of the Relion system satisfactory. The lower cost of the Relion Prime test strips is significant. The Relion system is now my primary choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Good product at an unmatched price.

06/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very effecent product that is just as good, if not better than, comparable name brands. It is a part of a quick, accurate system.
Coding out was a problem I found with a lot of name brands for not applying enough blood to the strip within the alotted time. This system always plenty of time and rarely codes out.
Overall it is a great product. The only drawback is, with it being specifically a Wal-Mart brand, it is only available at Wal-Mart or walmart.com. I dropped my rating 1 start in lou of lack of convenience. ,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

too many errors when testing

07/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband was recently diagnosed as a diabetic and has to test blood sugar 3 times a day and takes insulin shots. We purchased a ReliOn Prim and test strips. This machine gives more 'error-15' readings than good blood sugar numbers. We have purchased and used more strips than should have been necessary in the last 2 1/2 months (almost 300 to date). each time he tries to test his blood sugar it takes minimum of 3 strips and sometimes 5 to get a reading and sometimes he just stops at 5 because he has wasted so many strips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Excellent products

07/07/2014
By ,
Anna, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was just what we needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Low costs but not accurate results

07/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price is right but the measure results are consistently 20 or more points higher than my other two monitors. I tested at the same time, using the same finger, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

piece of junk

07/14/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolute waste of time, I will be returning the device and the strips for a refund.
this is a piece of junk, does not work, only get E 13 errors
do not waste your time and money on this
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Good for the price

06/20/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I tested this meter and strips against the Acensia Contour, which I consider pretty accurate. All I can say is you get what you pay for. However, I believe that it is well enough in the ballpark to be useful. Especially at that price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great value!

06/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad Walmart came out with these test strips. The price is right, and although the delivery is a bit slow (just one day) since this is my second order, and the same thing happened with the first order, I just added a couple of days, and everything went very smoothly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Outstanding Item

08/22/2012
By ,
mooresville, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Run don't walk to the nearest Walmart. These strips are top quality, easy to use and handle, and the cost cannot be beat. $9 vs. the $50+ I paid for One Touch strips. Thank you Walmart for making it cheaper for me to monitor my diabetes. As a person too young for Medicare, but with no insurance, I am so thankful to have found these strips and the meter that goes with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hudson Fl
Happy
Posted 08/03/2013
I was happy to read this review. I have been only using one strip per day as the cost was so high. This is great news to me, with no insurance. Thanks Walmart
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

This product works

12/14/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works just as well as any other expensive meter. I have been a diabetic for 40 years and I can tell you any meter can test up to 50 points over or under your actual blood sugar. The only true test is blood taken from the vein at the doctor's office. I have used about every meter made. I have participated in studies so I know that each meter can read differently. Unless you have insurance that will pay for strips I highly recommended this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Accurate and inexpensive!!!

09/16/2012
By ,
Akron. Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accuracy is very important to me, so I tested at the same time for a while on both the Prime and my other tester (which has very expensive strips) in order to evaluate the accuracy of the Prime. The results have been almost exactly the same. At a fraction of the price, these are a great value. I have also had no errors and wonder if the user who did just got a bad batch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct
06/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These test strips are small and not easy to grab just one from the tube BUT you do not need much blood to get your reading. Other test strips I've used require more blood to get a reading and it sometimes is quite difficult to get a reading, resulting in me having to do it twice. I've yet to do that with this. I would definitely recommend that you try this one to compare the difference. You will definitely see the how easy it is!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McHenry Illinois
Very pleased
Posted 11/05/2012
Even if my other ReliOn supplies are paid for by Medicare I tried this newer product an it's so much better I will pay out of pocket to use this upgrade. Less of sample and no silver wrapper to try and rip open. With dry skin, large hands and a little arthritis the older ReliOn strips are sometimes very hard to get at.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next