Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

The ReliOn Blood Glucose Test Strips are designed to work with ReliOn Prime Glucose Meters only. These ReliOn Glucose Test Strips are offered in a 50-count bottle for your convenience. With the easy-to-handle ReliOn test strips, you test on your fingertip and/or palm. Only a small sample size is needed for accurate results. There is no coding required when using these ReliOn Glucose Test Strips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(279 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation88%245 out of 279reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 201 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

good product at a great price

12/17/2012
By ,
boca raton, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the price is super, this meter is accurate. not my first meter, i brought this one because of the low price for the test strips and glad i did. using it for 3 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Winner on Accuracy and Price

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did a quick comparison with my old meter sampling large single blood drops for a few days. The average difference was about 3.5 on each set and the averages for the test only differed by about 2.6. My decade or so of experience tells me readings even on a single meter vary by those amounts in tests on separate blood drops (checking meter consistency). Conclusion is same accuracy for about one third the cost, a winner. The worst problem I have found is that the strip is slightly harder to insert into the channel on the meter. Test Results Summary in attached Photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great price! Accuracy iffy.

10/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I went to Walmart one day and noticed their new monitor had strips that were half the price of of my Ultima. It gets difficult to afford my supplies sometimes and this was wonderful news to me. While I have had no issues with using the Prime test strips (the bottle is completely open making them easier to access) I have noticed some issues with accuracy.
My Ultima was always pretty much dead on with me. If I tested several times in a row it would only be a couple points different in either direction. That's ok in my book for the price. However, with the Prime, I can test five times in a row and end up with a 30 point difference across the tests. When my numbers are ideal it drops down to a 10 point difference. It seems to be most accurate from 90-150 but above or below those numbers causes it to vary more.
When you're short on cash it may be just enough to know in general where your numbers are at. As always you get what you pay for, it's up to you to decide what you can afford.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Can't tell if it's correct without solution

04/15/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were by far the best deal on test strips. This is my first foray into glucose testing, so no comparisons, but they seem to work fine, and require very little blood to work.
That said, accuracy is vital to saying if this is a good deal or not, and I have no idea if they're accurate, since you can't buy the testing solution online or in the stores for this meter. You HAVE to go to the Relion website, then give them ALL your personal info, before they will ship it to you free. (Just why do they need my phone and email info, to ship me a product by mail? Can they send it to me via email, or phone?)
I really resent having this solution held hostage until I divulge my personal info to them, for what unknown purpose. Medical info should be kept private, and I shouldn't have to tell anyone my medical history, or private contact info to make sure a product I PURCHASED works properly. They should make the solution available anywhere the product is sold, rather than holding it hostage. Bad form Relion. Bad form.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Reliable and Cheap

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great as an alternative to pricier test strips. Price doesn't necessarily dictate accuracy as test strips are only required to be within 20% anyway, whether they are $1.00 per strip or$0.20. Why pay more if there isn't a marked improvement in accuracy? And at this price, there really is no reason not to test your BS more often. If insurance doesn't cover what the doctor tries to give you, these are an excellent-and affordable-alternative.
I am a Type 1 diabetic and have used these strips to help keep my A1C below 6.0 since my diagnosis just over a year ago. My insurance doesn't cover test strips, and I was forced to take a look at the cheaper brands since I would be paying for everything out of pocket. As it became apparent that testing often was the key to good control, and accuracy was more or less spot on with alternatives, I opted for the relion brand.
The meter isn't flashy, but I can't argue with he price or the results.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Literally the worst tester/strips I've ever used

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My doctor recommended this tester because it's super cheap and he can download the numbers. I was excited about the price so I bought it and have been using it for about a month and a half. It is the WORST tester I've ever used. For the first week it worked okay, but it would get errors more often than other ones, and sometimes I'd have to use 2 test strips before it would work. Then the more I used it the worse it got. Now basically every time I test my blood I have to use at least 2 test strips, and several times I've tested 7 times and it still won't work. It either won't register that I've put my blood in the strip (and there is definitely enough blood in there) or it says says E13E! or something like that. Not sure if the problem is the tester or the strips. It's been extremely difficult to use and I'm definitely switching asap. I'd rather pay more money for something more reliable. I definitely can't "reliOn" this tester.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
User Error
Posted 08/21/2014
You can't rush with this strip, hold it to the drop of blood and allow it to reach the line before pulling back. It appears the strip is not designed to "drop" the blood on to it as is with other strips.
I learned this through trial and error and now I seldom get an error.
Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Reli-on helps me to manage diabetes, saves money!

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like Reli-on prime test strips because they help me to manage diabetes. I test every morning at fasting and record my readings. I have kept a log of fasting, post prandial numbers for breakfast, lunch, dinner and at bedtime to see how certain foods affect my glucose. So sometimes I test 5-8 times a day to learn what foods I can eat without a spike in glucose. I also learn which foods to avoid or eat only once in a great while.
For this reason, the cost of the strips are affordable Strips paid for by insurance can be more costly.
I also like their website, they sent me a free bottle of testing solution.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Price good

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took a little bit of work to figure out how to get your blood on the strip, never had error codes on other strips and seriously went through 20 strips in 2 days. Never have had my blood sugar spike like the readings I am getting with these. I did finally stop getting the error codes, now maybe one in 20, which is too many but better then every other one like the start! Could test 4x in 5 minutes and have a 100 point range from high to low! The price is good but I don't trust the accuracy so am not sure if I will continue to use them.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

better than I thought

02/05/2014
By ,
Branchville,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went to pick up my 13yr old son's One touch strips $125.00 for 300 strips. With that I was very unhappy. I put them all back.. I've been looking into ReliOn meters and strips. At that moment made my decision to make the purchase .. I was a little nervous in reading the reviews ,but in trying it and making my own decision.. ended up very happy. I tested my sons sugar with his one touch meter and then ReliOn meter and strips a couple of times just to compare ..both tests were the same. I've switched everything to the ReliOn products and I'm saving ALOT of money. The strips are a little bulky and the meter a bit cheaply made but other than that I'm very satisfied .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not good enough

09/16/2013
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price.
We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative.
Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time.
First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter.
The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter.
It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light.
Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had.
The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated.
Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Commenting to Wal Mart
Posted 12/01/2013
Hopefully, you have passed on your review to Wal Mart. I am talking about their corporate office not their product review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct
08/30/2013
By ,
Grand Rapids, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About a month ago I saw a Relion Prime glucometer at WM for a low price so I purchased it with a vial of Relion Prime test strips. I tested it against my One Touch Ultra 2 over 12 tests and found that both meters, using their respective strips, gave me exactly the same results +/- 3mg/Dl. I test 5 times a day. Cost: $9 Relion Prime 50ct, $68 One Touch 50ct. I switched immediately. I am also recommending this meter to my Diabetic Educator as a low cost alternative. This is important as I understand that medicare is cutting the test strips unless you are on insulin. Every Cookbook, every book about diabetes says "test your blood sugars and test them often!" These test strips give me back control so that I know when to eat and when to fast throughout the day. Thank You, coyboy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Treatment

01/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

excellent value and accuracy

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money. I've tested against One Touch Ultra test strips multiple times and the tests are almost always within a few points of each other. Usually the tests do not differ by more than 5, and never more than a 10% difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

It's so easy & fast to use!!!

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy are the directions! Fast, almost as you put your sample in you get the results!! I like it so much better then the one that cost more when I started using them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Strip Test

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value at a low price. Beats other brands hands down.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

walmart in honesdale pa does not have them...

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent and I am thankful you carry them on line because my local Walmart says they order them and cannot get them into the store lately...don't know what the problem is...but thanks to your on line store...I am able to order these...excellent product...thank you for your service!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great product

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
at one third the cost of comparative products easy to use and its highly reliable
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

A price breakthrough for diabetics!

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using OneTouch for years. At $1 retail per test/strip, could not afford to test as frequently as I needed to, and frankly, there is no legitimate reason that anyone with this health issue should be in that position. Relion and Walmart have shown that good blood glucose testing meters, strips AND lancets can be manufactured and provided at a fraction of the cost heretofore charged by other American makers.
+/- 20 points of "lab" accurate is NORMAL for ALL these meter/strip blood glucose monitoring systems. I have now done well over 300 tests with Relion Prime, and have found that these strips are just as accurate as what I was used to with OneTouch. It also seems to me that the complaints about "E13" errors (i.e., "not enough blood" or "too much blood") are simply due to poor sampling technique. The strips are a bit more fussy than others, but careful attention to the product instructions, and/or experimentation with your own sampling technique WILL eliminate all such errors, and the dramatic savings are WELL worth the extra effort.
Don't let a few negative reviews prevent you from trying this product. Relion and Walmart have stepped up and broken "big pharma's" pricing stranglehold on the unfortunates among us who must frequently test their blood glucose, and they are to be commended for it! THANK YOU, Relion and Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Affordable test strips

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the meter and strips and paid less than what my insurance covered One Touch product. Meter -$15, Strips (50) - $9. The strips take smaller amount of blood too. So good to have more affordable diabetes tools!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Economical Meter & Strips for No Insurance

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister was recently diagnosed pre-diabetic. She is not covered under the Diabetes Mandate nor will her insurance cover it unless she was Type 2 (plus she earns a modest salary). She needs to monitor her blood glucose levels because of the way her pre-diabetes affects her acid reflux. When I found a meter and strips she could afford, she was ecstatic. I ordered it for her and she has been happily using it ever since. This diabetes supply is perfect for working class individuals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next