Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

The ReliOn Blood Glucose Test Strips are designed to work with ReliOn Prime Glucose Meters only. These ReliOn Glucose Test Strips are offered in a 50-count bottle for your convenience. With the easy-to-handle ReliOn test strips, you test on your fingertip and/or palm. Only a small sample size is needed for accurate results. There is no coding required when using these ReliOn Glucose Test Strips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.26 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(177 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation88%155 out of 177reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 125 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Winner on Accuracy and Price

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did a quick comparison with my old meter sampling large single blood drops for a few days. The average difference was about 3.5 on each set and the averages for the test only differed by about 2.6. My decade or so of experience tells me readings even on a single meter vary by those amounts in tests on separate blood drops (checking meter consistency). Conclusion is same accuracy for about one third the cost, a winner. The worst problem I have found is that the strip is slightly harder to insert into the channel on the meter. Test Results Summary in attached Photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great price! Accuracy iffy.

10/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I went to Walmart one day and noticed their new monitor had strips that were half the price of of my Ultima. It gets difficult to afford my supplies sometimes and this was wonderful news to me. While I have had no issues with using the Prime test strips (the bottle is completely open making them easier to access) I have noticed some issues with accuracy.
My Ultima was always pretty much dead on with me. If I tested several times in a row it would only be a couple points different in either direction. That's ok in my book for the price. However, with the Prime, I can test five times in a row and end up with a 30 point difference across the tests. When my numbers are ideal it drops down to a 10 point difference. It seems to be most accurate from 90-150 but above or below those numbers causes it to vary more.
When you're short on cash it may be just enough to know in general where your numbers are at. As always you get what you pay for, it's up to you to decide what you can afford.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

I can afford to test more often

02/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thank you Walmart for bringing this great product to diabetics! I've been a long time user of a high priced and very accurate product by another manufacturer. I'm also an insulin user-Levemir and Humalog. Finding it harder to get Medicare help on my test strips, I bought this product and am very happy with it.
In comparison tests with my expensive strips, I see negligible differences that would not affect my decision to inject Humalog to cover my readings. The price difference is fantastic and will allow me to test more often than the three times a day with the expensive strips.
Testing more often is more valuable to my health than the very restrictive testing I must do with the expensive strips.
One negative aspect: the strip is a bit more difficult to insert in the meter. So people with vision problems or problems with a neuropathy affecting their fingers may have more difficultly.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Can't tell if it's correct without solution

04/15/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were by far the best deal on test strips. This is my first foray into glucose testing, so no comparisons, but they seem to work fine, and require very little blood to work.
That said, accuracy is vital to saying if this is a good deal or not, and I have no idea if they're accurate, since you can't buy the testing solution online or in the stores for this meter. You HAVE to go to the Relion website, then give them ALL your personal info, before they will ship it to you free. (Just why do they need my phone and email info, to ship me a product by mail? Can they send it to me via email, or phone?)
I really resent having this solution held hostage until I divulge my personal info to them, for what unknown purpose. Medical info should be kept private, and I shouldn't have to tell anyone my medical history, or private contact info to make sure a product I PURCHASED works properly. They should make the solution available anywhere the product is sold, rather than holding it hostage. Bad form Relion. Bad form.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

better than I thought

02/05/2014
By ,
Branchville,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went to pick up my 13yr old son's One touch strips $125.00 for 300 strips. With that I was very unhappy. I put them all back.. I've been looking into ReliOn meters and strips. At that moment made my decision to make the purchase .. I was a little nervous in reading the reviews ,but in trying it and making my own decision.. ended up very happy. I tested my sons sugar with his one touch meter and then ReliOn meter and strips a couple of times just to compare ..both tests were the same. I've switched everything to the ReliOn products and I'm saving ALOT of money. The strips are a little bulky and the meter a bit cheaply made but other than that I'm very satisfied .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct
08/30/2013
By ,
Grand Rapids, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About a month ago I saw a Relion Prime glucometer at WM for a low price so I purchased it with a vial of Relion Prime test strips. I tested it against my One Touch Ultra 2 over 12 tests and found that both meters, using their respective strips, gave me exactly the same results +/- 3mg/Dl. I test 5 times a day. Cost: $9 Relion Prime 50ct, $68 One Touch 50ct. I switched immediately. I am also recommending this meter to my Diabetic Educator as a low cost alternative. This is important as I understand that medicare is cutting the test strips unless you are on insulin. Every Cookbook, every book about diabetes says "test your blood sugars and test them often!" These test strips give me back control so that I know when to eat and when to fast throughout the day. Thank You, coyboy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not good enough

09/16/2013
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price.
We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative.
Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time.
First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter.
The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter.
It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light.
Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had.
The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated.
Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Commenting to Wal Mart
Posted 12/01/2013
Hopefully, you have passed on your review to Wal Mart. I am talking about their corporate office not their product review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

This product works

12/14/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works just as well as any other expensive meter. I have been a diabetic for 40 years and I can tell you any meter can test up to 50 points over or under your actual blood sugar. The only true test is blood taken from the vein at the doctor's office. I have used about every meter made. I have participated in studies so I know that each meter can read differently. Unless you have insurance that will pay for strips I highly recommended this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Excellent Glucometer for the Budget Conscious

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister was recently diagnosed prediabetic. When I suggested she get a meter to monitor her blood sugar she was resistant because of the cost of the test strips. On her modest income she just couldn't afford them. When I show the ReliOn Prime in Diabetes Forcast magazine, I knew this was the meter for her. I ordered the meter and the strips and she reimburses me. The strips are reliable and extremely affordable.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

THANK YOU WALMART!

03/15/2014
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a type 1 diabetic for more years than I can remember...test myself 5-7 times daily for Lantus and Humalog insulin injections.
My insurance recently stopped covering One Touch and Free Style test strips. I was a bit panicked, as I was faced with hundreds of dollars per month that I cannot afford.
I saw the commercials for the Relion meter and strips at Walmart. What a wonderful thing. I am 62 years old now and can so much appreciate this because I remember when home testing was not even available.
Thank you, Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Diabetes Management at an Affordable Price

01/20/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When my sister was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes in 2009, I watched her spend a few hundreds on diabetes management tools (meter, strips, lancet devices and lancets) until she figured out how the NY Diabetes Mandate worked. Luckily she earns a good salary which allowed her to purchase her medical needs.
Unfortunately, I make less than half her salary. So when I was diagnosed as pre-diabetic and wanted an affordable meter to monitor my blood glucose levels, my sister suggested ReliOn. I can test as frequently as I want because I can now afford to purchase my on diabetes supplies.
This is a product made for all diabetic low income wage earners!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

EXCELLENT product for Diabetics

02/22/2014
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you so very much for providing low-cost diabetic supplies! As I am sure there are many in this world who are short of cash, this is a much needed and appreciated low-cost diabetic product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great product at a very good price

03/13/2014
By ,
Englewood, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product at a very good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

03/08/2014
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great value. Only $9 per box of 50 as compared to other brands that can run about $1 per strip or more. Awesome for those without health insurance or as a backup in the car for those that could use a backup monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Good enough.

04/09/2014
By ,
Atwood, KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordered these to save a 40 mile trip to the local Walmart, they came in a poorly packaged envelope and the box they come in was totally smashed, but the canister containing the strips was fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Cheap Reliable Test Strips

03/10/2014
By ,
Wenatchee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheapest test strips on the market, and reliable too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Test Strips

03/10/2014
By ,
Del Norte, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very reasonable cost compared to other brands. Work great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great strips at a great price

04/04/2014
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forget about paying $1+ for strips - these are accurate and work just fine. The blood drop needed is probably a BIT larger than the Accu-strips I used in the past, but a 2mm droplet works well, the strip sucks the droplet up and the meter gives an accurate reading in seconds. I compared this with my AccuCheck for 6 different readings over a couple of days and it was within 5% on all readings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Outstanding Item

08/22/2012
By ,
mooresville, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Run don't walk to the nearest Walmart. These strips are top quality, easy to use and handle, and the cost cannot be beat. $9 vs. the $50+ I paid for One Touch strips. Thank you Walmart for making it cheaper for me to monitor my diabetes. As a person too young for Medicare, but with no insurance, I am so thankful to have found these strips and the meter that goes with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hudson Fl
Happy
Posted 08/03/2013
I was happy to read this review. I have been only using one strip per day as the cost was so high. This is great news to me, with no insurance. Thanks Walmart
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Accurate and inexpensive!!!

09/16/2012
By ,
Akron. Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accuracy is very important to me, so I tested at the same time for a while on both the Prime and my other tester (which has very expensive strips) in order to evaluate the accuracy of the Prime. The results have been almost exactly the same. At a fraction of the price, these are a great value. I have also had no errors and wonder if the user who did just got a bad batch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next