Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Relion ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

The ReliOn Blood Glucose Test Strips are designed to work with ReliOn Prime Glucose Meters only. These ReliOn Glucose Test Strips are offered in a 50-count bottle for your convenience. With the easy-to-handle ReliOn test strips, you test on your fingertip and/or palm. Only a small sample size is needed for accurate results. There is no coding required when using these ReliOn Glucose Test Strips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(293 Reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
46
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation88%257 out of 293reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 203 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
46
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Winner on Accuracy and Price

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did a quick comparison with my old meter sampling large single blood drops for a few days. The average difference was about 3.5 on each set and the averages for the test only differed by about 2.6. My decade or so of experience tells me readings even on a single meter vary by those amounts in tests on separate blood drops (checking meter consistency). Conclusion is same accuracy for about one third the cost, a winner. The worst problem I have found is that the strip is slightly harder to insert into the channel on the meter. Test Results Summary in attached Photo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Great price! Accuracy iffy.

10/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I went to Walmart one day and noticed their new monitor had strips that were half the price of of my Ultima. It gets difficult to afford my supplies sometimes and this was wonderful news to me. While I have had no issues with using the Prime test strips (the bottle is completely open making them easier to access) I have noticed some issues with accuracy.
My Ultima was always pretty much dead on with me. If I tested several times in a row it would only be a couple points different in either direction. That's ok in my book for the price. However, with the Prime, I can test five times in a row and end up with a 30 point difference across the tests. When my numbers are ideal it drops down to a 10 point difference. It seems to be most accurate from 90-150 but above or below those numbers causes it to vary more.
When you're short on cash it may be just enough to know in general where your numbers are at. As always you get what you pay for, it's up to you to decide what you can afford.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Can't tell if it's correct without solution

04/15/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were by far the best deal on test strips. This is my first foray into glucose testing, so no comparisons, but they seem to work fine, and require very little blood to work.
That said, accuracy is vital to saying if this is a good deal or not, and I have no idea if they're accurate, since you can't buy the testing solution online or in the stores for this meter. You HAVE to go to the Relion website, then give them ALL your personal info, before they will ship it to you free. (Just why do they need my phone and email info, to ship me a product by mail? Can they send it to me via email, or phone?)
I really resent having this solution held hostage until I divulge my personal info to them, for what unknown purpose. Medical info should be kept private, and I shouldn't have to tell anyone my medical history, or private contact info to make sure a product I PURCHASED works properly. They should make the solution available anywhere the product is sold, rather than holding it hostage. Bad form Relion. Bad form.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Literally the worst tester/strips I've ever used

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My doctor recommended this tester because it's super cheap and he can download the numbers. I was excited about the price so I bought it and have been using it for about a month and a half. It is the WORST tester I've ever used. For the first week it worked okay, but it would get errors more often than other ones, and sometimes I'd have to use 2 test strips before it would work. Then the more I used it the worse it got. Now basically every time I test my blood I have to use at least 2 test strips, and several times I've tested 7 times and it still won't work. It either won't register that I've put my blood in the strip (and there is definitely enough blood in there) or it says says E13E! or something like that. Not sure if the problem is the tester or the strips. It's been extremely difficult to use and I'm definitely switching asap. I'd rather pay more money for something more reliable. I definitely can't "reliOn" this tester.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
User Error
Posted 08/21/2014
You can't rush with this strip, hold it to the drop of blood and allow it to reach the line before pulling back. It appears the strip is not designed to "drop" the blood on to it as is with other strips.
I learned this through trial and error and now I seldom get an error.
Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Reliable and Cheap

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great as an alternative to pricier test strips. Price doesn't necessarily dictate accuracy as test strips are only required to be within 20% anyway, whether they are $1.00 per strip or$0.20. Why pay more if there isn't a marked improvement in accuracy? And at this price, there really is no reason not to test your BS more often. If insurance doesn't cover what the doctor tries to give you, these are an excellent-and affordable-alternative.
I am a Type 1 diabetic and have used these strips to help keep my A1C below 6.0 since my diagnosis just over a year ago. My insurance doesn't cover test strips, and I was forced to take a look at the cheaper brands since I would be paying for everything out of pocket. As it became apparent that testing often was the key to good control, and accuracy was more or less spot on with alternatives, I opted for the relion brand.
The meter isn't flashy, but I can't argue with he price or the results.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct
08/30/2013
By ,
Grand Rapids, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About a month ago I saw a Relion Prime glucometer at WM for a low price so I purchased it with a vial of Relion Prime test strips. I tested it against my One Touch Ultra 2 over 12 tests and found that both meters, using their respective strips, gave me exactly the same results +/- 3mg/Dl. I test 5 times a day. Cost: $9 Relion Prime 50ct, $68 One Touch 50ct. I switched immediately. I am also recommending this meter to my Diabetic Educator as a low cost alternative. This is important as I understand that medicare is cutting the test strips unless you are on insulin. Every Cookbook, every book about diabetes says "test your blood sugars and test them often!" These test strips give me back control so that I know when to eat and when to fast throughout the day. Thank You, coyboy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Not good enough

09/16/2013
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched over to these new test strips for the very low price.
We are tired of getting ripped off by the drug companies gouging us for up to 50 cents per strip and Walmart has come up with an alternative.
Unfortunately these have too many flaws to be viable at this time.
First like all strip changes you have to buy a new meter.
The new meter is a bit more bulky than my old Relion meter.
It also has No audio prompts and No back light to see your results in dim light.
Come on Walmart would it have been that hard to build that in? Those are just basics that Every meter should have and my old Ultra Relion meter had.
The other big flaw is I continue to get too frequent E13 errors which indicate not enough blood on the strip. Even though I am putting a large dose of blood on. I've found the way around this is to hold the finger with blood drop on the strip until the results are calculated.
Walmart needs to work with the producer of this meter and strips to resolve these basic problems. It's a great price but I cannot recommend this meter or strips until these basic flaws are fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Commenting to Wal Mart
Posted 12/01/2013
Hopefully, you have passed on your review to Wal Mart. I am talking about their corporate office not their product review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

GREAT VALUE

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These test strips are a life saver for those who don't have insurance or your diabetic supplies are not covered by your insurance. When i switched to Reli-On strips I still had some of the strips I had been using before Reli-On. To see if the Reli-On gave me the same reading as the others I had, I tested twice at the same time until the others were used up. The reading on both monitors was within two numbers of each other. So I knew the Reli-On strips were accurate. Now here's the best part; the Reli-On strips are $9.00 for a 50 ct box and the ones I was buying before were $52.00 for a 50 ct. box !!!!
I think we all have a tendency to think the more expensive item must be better or of higher quality. This is true for some things but for the majority of things it is not true. I have no problem buying store brands, especially Walmart, after testing this out myself.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

better than I thought

02/05/2014
By ,
Branchville,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went to pick up my 13yr old son's One touch strips $125.00 for 300 strips. With that I was very unhappy. I put them all back.. I've been looking into ReliOn meters and strips. At that moment made my decision to make the purchase .. I was a little nervous in reading the reviews ,but in trying it and making my own decision.. ended up very happy. I tested my sons sugar with his one touch meter and then ReliOn meter and strips a couple of times just to compare ..both tests were the same. I've switched everything to the ReliOn products and I'm saving ALOT of money. The strips are a little bulky and the meter a bit cheaply made but other than that I'm very satisfied .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Outstanding Item

08/22/2012
By ,
mooresville, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Run don't walk to the nearest Walmart. These strips are top quality, easy to use and handle, and the cost cannot be beat. $9 vs. the $50+ I paid for One Touch strips. Thank you Walmart for making it cheaper for me to monitor my diabetes. As a person too young for Medicare, but with no insurance, I am so thankful to have found these strips and the meter that goes with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hudson Fl
Happy
Posted 08/03/2013
I was happy to read this review. I have been only using one strip per day as the cost was so high. This is great news to me, with no insurance. Thanks Walmart
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

alarm E-13, way too many times

06/12/2014
By ,
Lower Burrell, Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used the "one touch" test strips for quite some time. Because of the prohibitive cost I decided to give the "relion" strips a try. "Bad idea"!!!! I really don't like pricking my finger more that once. The relion strips, in spite of an abundance of blood give me the E-13 alarm way to frequently. I have been a faithful customer for everything I have ever bought at Walmart, and Sams, but this product is really a bust. I'm going to return both the Meter and the remaining test strips for a refund. I still love your stores and you other products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St Augustine, Fl
What!!!
Posted 08/02/2014
I've been using the reli-on confirm meter and test strips for quite some time. I test 2X a day and if I have had 3 error messages in the past year it is a lot. And the 3 that I did have were, no doubt, my fault, not the products.
I will say, that I am not sure of the difference between the "prime" and he "confirm". Maybe you can tell me....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Good Value. Great for managing Diabetes.

03/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The item is as described and is what I needed for managing my diabetes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Stiff strip and low blood requirement

06/08/2012
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found these strips a little small to handle (I have very large hands), but the fact that they are a nice stiff material made them pretty easy to use. They also require a very small sample so you don't spend much time trying to "milk" out enough blood to test. The reader I had came with a carrying case and you could insert the strip through the plastic holding the reader - so you didn't even have to remove the reader from the case to take a measurement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct
06/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These test strips are small and not easy to grab just one from the tube BUT you do not need much blood to get your reading. Other test strips I've used require more blood to get a reading and it sometimes is quite difficult to get a reading, resulting in me having to do it twice. I've yet to do that with this. I would definitely recommend that you try this one to compare the difference. You will definitely see the how easy it is!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McHenry Illinois
Very pleased
Posted 11/05/2012
Even if my other ReliOn supplies are paid for by Medicare I tried this newer product an it's so much better I will pay out of pocket to use this upgrade. Less of sample and no silver wrapper to try and rip open. With dry skin, large hands and a little arthritis the older ReliOn strips are sometimes very hard to get at.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

excellent value and accuracy

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money. I've tested against One Touch Ultra test strips multiple times and the tests are almost always within a few points of each other. Usually the tests do not differ by more than 5, and never more than a 10% difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Economical Meter & Strips for No Insurance

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister was recently diagnosed pre-diabetic. She is not covered under the Diabetes Mandate nor will her insurance cover it unless she was Type 2 (plus she earns a modest salary). She needs to monitor her blood glucose levels because of the way her pre-diabetes affects her acid reflux. When I found a meter and strips she could afford, she was ecstatic. I ordered it for her and she has been happily using it ever since. This diabetes supply is perfect for working class individuals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Low cost great! Ease of use questionable.

11/23/2012
By ,
Lincoln, NE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You certainly can't beat the price. At 9.00 a box (50 ct), the strips are about 18 cents a piece. Name brand strips generally run around a dollar each. That's the good news.
The bad news...the strips are a bit difficult to get into the meter. Someone with poor dexterity, poor vision or suffering from a low blood sugar may struggle to get the strip into the meter. Also, there are no sound cues or light, which could make it difficult or impossible for people with poor vision to use.
I've also noticed many strips (10 or 15 per box) produce an error message. This error seems to be the result of too much or not enough blood. I very seldom get this kind of error message from name brand meters/strips. If these strips are that touchy, then again, they probably aren't going to work for kids or people with dexterity or vision issues. Even though I did get a lot of "bad" strips per box, they are still a lot cheaper than name brand strip...but that can be really frustrating when you're in a rush.
I did notice that they run about 15 to 20 mg/dl higher than my name brand meter, but that difference seems consistent, so this really isn't an issue for me.
If you pay for your own supplies, this might be the answer for you. But if you're purchasing for a child or anyone with dexterity or vision issues they might not be the best choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
springfield or
Wish the strips were easier to use!!!
Posted 10/23/2013
Strips are hard to insert.
Read the instructions before use. When you get your drop of blood DON'T just stick the strip in it. You can't "flood" that test area with blood. You'll get a E13 every time, which means too much blood was used.
You have to just touch the blood with the END of the strip which automatically draws up the blood into that test area. Even so if you get too much blood there you'll get the E13 error message.
I receive that error message MORE than I get test results.
I just purchased the meter and two packages of strips days ago and I'm already on the second package. I love the cheap cost but until I learn how to do this perfectly it costs more than my old meter strips.
This company should make some declaration on the package to READ instructions first.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

This product works

12/14/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works just as well as any other expensive meter. I have been a diabetic for 40 years and I can tell you any meter can test up to 50 points over or under your actual blood sugar. The only true test is blood taken from the vein at the doctor's office. I have used about every meter made. I have participated in studies so I know that each meter can read differently. Unless you have insurance that will pay for strips I highly recommended this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

Test strips

03/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is good I would recommend this item to other people
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Test Strips, 50ct

walking fingers online

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a diabetic I am happy to get this product online. The only problem is you cannot order the larger quantity (100) you only can get a box of 50. Both my sister and I are diabetic and we are not in the best of health, so I order a lot of stuff and have them shipped, but I cannot get this in the bigger quantity, and I was wondering why. Everything else about these strips are great and we are thankful you have them available. Thank you, and keep up the good work at making a lot of things available online and the shipping is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 262 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next